DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

INGERSOLL, LAURA (Secord) – Volume IX (1861-1870)

d. 17 Oct. 1868, at Chippawa (Niagara Falls, Ont.)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Photograph N. Curry, Montreal, QC, 1910 Wm. Notman & Son 1910, 20th century Silver salts on glass - Gelatin dry plate process 17 x 12 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-178203 © McCord Museum Keywords:  male (26812) , Photograph (77678) , portrait (53878)

Source: Link

CURRY, NATHANIEL, labourer, businessman, politician, and philanthropist; b. 26 March 1851 in Terry’s Creek (Port Williams), N.S., one of the 11 children of Charles Curry, a farmer and vessel owner, and Eunice R. Davidson; m. 17 Sept. 1881 Mary E. Hall in Amherst, N.S., and they had five sons; d. 23 Oct. 1931 in Tidnish, N.S.

After receiving a basic education at schools in rural Kings County, Curry was apprenticed at age 15 to a local carpenter. About 1871 he joined the growing flood of youth moving from the Maritime provinces to New England in search of better economic prospects. He first settled in Boston, but he soon moved west to the frontier mining towns of Virginia City and Carson City, Nev. There he was employed by the Virginia and Truckee Railroad as an assistant foreman and millwright, where he picked up experience that would fundamentally shape his subsequent business career. In 1877 he returned to Nova Scotia, residing in Amherst, where he formed a partnership with his brother-in-law Nelson Admiral Rhodes*.

The two men apparently decided that Amherst, Rhodes’s birthplace, offered major opportunities now that confederation and the construction of the Intercolonial Railway were opening up Cumberland County to major economic expansion, especially in the coalmines of Springhill and nearby towns. Rhodes and Curry first formed a short-lived partnership with Bayard Dodge, a producer of sashes and doors. After Dodge’s departure, the two developed their enterprise, called Rhodes, Curry and Company, into a construction firm with projects in communities located on a network of railways that was expanding across the region. Working with architects such as Nova Scotian James Charles Philip Dumaresq*, the company would be responsible for the construction of thousands of buildings in the Maritimes, including the new main building and the ladies’ seminary building at Acadia College (1878), Halifax’s city hall (1890), and a house near Baddeck for Alexander Graham Bell* (1893). Backed by a consortium of local investors, buoyed by loans from Halifax investors, and having insider connections to the ruling Conservative Party (through Amherst native Sir Charles Tupper*), Rhodes, Curry had become a formidable presence in regional business by the 1890s. In 1891 the partners incorporated their company.

About 1880 Curry had started to repair railway cars, and later he built them. Rhodes appears to have been the dominant figure early in the partnership, but Curry’s ascendency became evident around 1893, after the firm had bought out the railway-car works formerly owned by James Stanley Harris* and moved the business from Saint John to Amherst. Rhodes concentrated on general contracting operations while Curry, drawing on knowledge he had gained in the American west, supervised railcar construction. By 1903 they controlled a sprawling industrial complex spread along the main line’s tracks in downtown Amherst. An integrated array of forges, milling shops, axle works, a rolling mill, and carpentry facilities generated an output of 4,000 freight and 60 passenger cars that year. With assets of $3 million, annual sales of $2.3 million, branches in New Glasgow, Sydney, and Halifax, and a workforce exceeding 1,500, Rhodes, Curry overshadowed all its competitors in the Canadian railcar market, selling not just locally, but also to out-of-region companies such as the Canadian Pacific Railway.

Correspondent with his rise as an entrepreneur, Curry assumed an increasingly prominent place in community affairs. He had championed Amherst’s incorporation in 1889 and subsequently served as mayor in 1894. He also became active in the masonic order and was a pillar of the local Baptist church, which his company built. His wife took a leading role in local charities, notably the Ladies Hospital Aid Society. Indicative of the family’s rising wealth and social status, their eldest son was sent to the Royal Military College of Canada in Kingston, Ont., and eventually achieved the rank of lieutenant-colonel in the Canadian militia. Early in the 20th century Curry built a three-storey wooden mansion in Tidnish, overlooking the Northumberland Strait. There, on an estate that eventually grew to 350 acres, the family spent their summers entertaining, overseeing the operation of a model farm and the landscaping of elaborate gardens, and sailing on their private yacht.

Technological innovation fascinated Curry. In 1904 he joined other Amherst notables in founding a firm that pioneered the generation of electricity at the pithead of a coalmine and transmitted it over high-tension wires, an innovation that reduced power costs for Amherst industrialists. In 1906 he spearheaded the establishment of the Malleable Iron Works in the town to facilitate a transition to the manufacture of all-steel railcars for Rhodes, Curry. Such modernization was becoming essential to remaining competitive, but it posed enormous challenges, particularly in raising the needed capital. In 1909 what had begun as a drive to turn the partnership into a widely owned joint-stock company took on a radically different character. Montreal-based William Maxwell Aitken*, a rising star in Canadian high finance who had been shepherding the restructuring of Rhodes, Curry, saw that he had an opportunity to merge the firm with two other railcar factories located in central Canada. The deal meant that Rhodes, Curry became just one component of a new corporate giant, the Canadian Car and Foundry Company Limited, headquartered in Montreal.

Although Curry had been initially hesitant about the loss of autonomy that a merger represented, by 1909 he was ready to cooperate. Rhodes had unexpectedly died earlier that year. Perhaps more persuasive factors were that Curry emerged with nearly $3 million of the $8.5 million capital stock of the new corporation and was further rewarded with the presidency of Canadian Car and Foundry, a post he would retain until 1919. His expanded responsibilities meant that he was obliged to move to Montreal, where he took a long-term lease on a suite of rooms at the Windsor Hotel, returning, however, to his Tidnish estate every summer. He quickly gained acceptance into the inner circle of central Canada’s business elite, ultimately becoming the president of a dozen corporations and serving as director of some 30 firms, including such giants as the Bank of Nova Scotia and the Montreal Trust Company. Even greater recognition came in 1911–12 when he was elected vice-president and then president of the Canadian Manufacturers’ Association (CMA).

Curry became leader of the CMA just as Canada was plunged into the highly divisive election of 1911, fought largely over the issue of easing tariff barriers between Canada and the United States. Curry did not campaign beyond Nova Scotia, but he made it clear through the press and placards erected in his workshops that both he and the CMA wanted no deviation from the protectionist policies put into place 30 years earlier by the government of Sir John A. Macdonald*. His stance against reciprocity ensured that he had no trouble raising money for the Conservative Party. Headed by fellow Nova Scotian Robert Laird Borden, the Tories won, and in 1912 Curry was rewarded for his services in the form of appointment to the Canadian Senate as a representative of his home province. Earlier that May he had received an honorary lld from Acadia University. Dr Curry, as he liked to be addressed, would make the school the major beneficiary of the approximately $200,000 he eventually donated to various institutions of higher education.

Unfortunately, the transformation from an independent company into a part of a larger organization would not prove beneficial to Amherst and the workers whose livelihood had come to depend on the factory complex, which was also known as Canada Car. Although never subjected to the opportunistic and buccaneering leadership style found in the coal and steel industries of Cape Breton Island, the Amherst facility fell prey to the problem of being a branch plant operation located in a region characterized by relative economic underdevelopment.

On leaving for Montreal, Curry had told his employees that their future was secure and assured them that new investment would allow them to manufacture all-steel cars and perhaps diversify into the production of locomotives. He was probably sincere, but events conspired against his plans. When Canada Car finally modernized in 1912, it chose to build its new all-steel car facility in Thunder Bay, Ont., near the prairie west, where demand for rolling stock was greatest. This decision was followed by a sharp downturn in the Canadian economy in 1913, and the next year the Great War broke out in Europe, temporarily stifling new investment. Seeking compensation for the business lost to the new plant in Ontario, Curry used his political connections in Ottawa to secure munitions contracts [see Sir Joseph Wesley Flavelle] for the company’s eastern plants, including the one in Amherst. Although these contracts allowed the town’s facility to temporarily increase its workforce, the boost was not nearly enough to restore it to its former glory. The fact that many local Canada Car buildings were lent to the government rent-free during the war was emblematic of the ongoing decline of the company and of the local manufacturing economy. Once hostilities ended in 1918, the plant faced an uncertain future, with much of its equipment obsolete.

At this critical juncture labour militancy added further complications to the situation in Amherst. On 19 May 1919 workers at Canada Car, frustrated by years of relatively low wages, seasonal layoffs, and management’s persistent refusal to countenance collective bargaining, went on strike. Their walk-out led to a general work stoppage by most of Amherst’s industrial labourers, just days after the Winnipeg General Strike began [see Mike Sokolowiski*]. Their old master proved unsympathetic. Seeing himself as a model for others, in the Halifax Herald of 20 Sept. 1911 Curry boasted that “the employee of today may be the employer of tomorrow.” Oblivious to the ways in which industrial consolidation had undermined workers’ prospects, Curry insisted that labour unrest essentially derived from “Bolsheviki”-led conspiracies.

Even if he had been favourably disposed towards Amherst workers, Curry was no longer in control of policymaking at Canada Car. In 1919 he was elevated to the relatively titular position of chairman of the board. He was almost 70, his friend Sir Robert Borden retired in 1920, and Curry lost much of his corporate leverage. His waning influence was a factor in the decision to separate the construction operations of the former Rhodes, Curry company from Canada Car that year. By the middle of the decade the Amherst railway-car installation, still part of Canada Car, had been reduced to a ramshackle repair facility with a tiny workforce. Depopulation and debt stalked what had once been “busy Amherst,” as it had been known in the Maritimes; between 1921 and 1931, the town lost about a quarter of its population.

After World War I Curry’s personal life remained, at least superficially, enjoyable. Known to his friends as Nat, he acquired a winter home in Bermuda and travelled extensively, taking a world tour with his wife. A gregarious man with a lively passion for yachting, hunting, and fishing, Curry belonged to elite social clubs in Montreal (Mount Royal, Engineers’, Canadian), Ottawa (Rideau), Toronto (National, Albany), Halifax (Halifax), and Amherst (Marshlands). Yet tragedy haunted the family. In 1907 he and his wife had lost a son with a promising future to pneumonia. In 1915 a second son became a casualty of war. Local oral tradition suggests that late in life Curry had an uneasy relationship with his three surviving sons. Alcohol abuse seems to have been a major problem, particularly with Curry himself. In his last years he often needed private nursing care as he struggled to regain his health.

In 1931 Curry died of a heart attack. In his will he assigned all his wealth to his wife and set up trusts for their grandchildren. His capital could not be touched by his sons. Ironically, his efforts to dispose of his estate as he wished ultimately proved useless because his stock portfolio was wiped out in the early months of the Great Depression by unwise investment decisions. Little remained for the heirs other than a life-insurance policy and the estate at Tidnish.

Nathaniel Curry liked to think of himself as a self-made man. Reality was more complex. He gained fame and wealth largely because of the role played by Canada’s corporate-led restructuring in the early-20th-century economy. The process of shifting industrial investment from the Maritimes to central Canada, compounded by the onset of the Great Depression, brought ruin both to him and to the town where he had once been the leading captain of industry.

David A. Sutherland

LAC, R233-37-6, N.S., dist. Cumberland (30), subdist. Amherst (A): 34. NSA, Cumberland County Court of Probate, file 2915 (Nathaniel Curry); Cumberland County registry of deeds, vol.36, file 531; vol.37, files 483–84; vol.46, files 222–23; MG 1, vol.800, nos.5, 9–11, 17 (S. L. Shannon papers). Halifax Herald, 17 Sept. 1894, 20 Sept. 1911, 23, 24 Oct. 1931. Biographical review … of leading citizens of the province of Nova Scotia, ed. Harry Piers (Boston, 1900). Can., Royal commission on the relations of capital and labor in Canada, Report: evidence – Nova Scotia (Ottawa, 1889), 310–13; Senate, Debates, 1913–14, 1919–23, 1925, 1930. C. E. Goad, “Insurance plan, town of Amherst” (n.p., [1914]; available at NSA). A. R. Lamy, “The development and decline of Amherst as an industrial centre: a study of economic conditions” (ba thesis, Mount Allison Univ., Sackville, N.B., 1930). G. P. Marchildon, Profits and politics: Beaverbrook and the Gilded Age of Canadian finance (Toronto, 1996). National cyclopædia of American biography … (63v., New York, [etc.], 1892–1984), 17. J. N. Reilly, “Emergence of class consciousness in industrial Nova Scotia: Amherst 1891–1925” (phd thesis, Dalhousie Univ., Halifax, 1983).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

David A. Sutherland, “CURRY, NATHANIEL,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 17, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/curry_nathaniel_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/curry_nathaniel_16E.html
Author of Article: David A. Sutherland
Title of Article: CURRY, NATHANIEL
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2019
Year of revision: 2019
Access Date: October 17, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

CUILLERIER, MARIE-ANNE-VÉRONIQUE – Volume III (1741-1770)

née à Montréal le 13 novembre 1680

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Photograph N. Curry, Montreal, QC, 1910 Wm. Notman & Son 1910, 20th century Silver salts on glass - Gelatin dry plate process 17 x 12 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-178203 © McCord Museum Keywords:  male (26812) , Photograph (77678) , portrait (53878)

Provenance : Lien

CURRY, NATHANIEL, ouvrier, homme d’affaires, homme politique et philanthrope, né le 26 mars 1851 à Terry’s Creek (Port Williams, Nouvelle-Écosse), un des 11 enfants de Charles Curry, fermier et propriétaire de navires, et d’Eunice R. Davidson ; le 17 septembre 1881, il épousa à Amherst, Nouvelle-Écosse, Mary E. Hall, et ils eurent cinq fils ; décédé le 23 octobre 1931 à Tidnish, Nouvelle-Écosse.

Après avoir reçu une éducation de base dans des écoles du comté rural de Kings, Nathaniel Curry devint, à 15 ans, apprenti chez un charpentier du coin. Vers 1871, il se joignit au flot grandissant de jeunes qui quittaient les provinces Maritimes pour la Nouvelle-Angleterre en quête de meilleures perspectives économiques. Il s’établit d’abord à Boston, mais partit vite pour l’Ouest américain. À Virginia City et à Carson City, villes minières de pionniers au Nevada, il fut employé par la Virginia and Truckee Railroad comme contremaître adjoint et mécanicien de moulins. Il y acquit une expérience qui serait déterminante pour sa future carrière dans les affaires. En 1877, il retourna en Nouvelle-Écosse et s’installa à Amherst, où il s’associa rapidement avec son beau-frère, Nelson Admiral Rhodes*.

Les deux hommes convinrent apparemment qu’Amherst, lieu de naissance de Rhodes, offrait de grandes possibilités depuis que la Confédération et la construction du chemin de fer Intercolonial avaient ouvert la voie à un important essor économique dans le comté de Cumberland, particulièrement dans les mines de charbon de Springhill et des villes avoisinantes. Rhodes et Curry formèrent d’abord un partenariat éphémère avec Bayard Dodge, fabricant de châssis et de portes. Après le départ de Dodge, les deux hommes transformèrent leur société, nommée Rhodes, Curry and Company, en une entreprise de construction, afin de réaliser des projets dans des communautés situées le long d’un réseau ferroviaire alors en pleine expansion dans toute la région. Avec le concours d’architectes comme le Néo-Écossais James Charles Philip Dumaresq*, la firme bâtirait des milliers d’édifices dans les Maritimes, dont le nouveau pavillon central et le pensionnat de jeunes filles de l’Acadia College (1878), l’hôtel de ville de Halifax (1890) et une maison près de Baddeck pour Alexander Graham Bell* (1893). Grâce à l’appui d’un groupe d’investisseurs locaux, des prêts consentis par des investisseurs de Halifax et des liens politiques internes avec le Parti conservateur au pouvoir par l’entremise de sir Charles Tupper*, originaire de la région d’Amherst, la Rhodes, Curry and Company avait déjà, à l’aube des années 1890, pris une place formidable dans le milieu des affaires de la région. En 1891, les associés constituèrent juridiquement leur entreprise.

Vers 1880, avant de fabriquer des wagons, Curry s’était mis à en réparer. Au début, Rhodes semble avoir été la figure dominante du tandem. L’influence de Curry devint indéniable vers 1893, après que l’entreprise eut racheté la manufacture de wagons de chemin de fer ayant appartenu à James Stanley Harris*, et la déplaça de Saint-Jean à Amherst. Rhodes se concentrait sur les opérations générales de l’entreprise, tandis que Curry, puisant dans ses connaissances acquises dans l’Ouest américain, supervisait la construction des wagons. En 1903, ils étaient à la tête d’un complexe industriel qui s’étendait le long des rails de la ligne principale au centre-ville d’Amherst. Cette année-là, un ensemble de forges, d’ateliers de fraisage, d’ateliers de fabrication d’essieux, de laminoir et d’installations de menuiserie permit de produire 4 000 wagons de marchandises et 60 véhicules pour le transport des voyageurs. Avec des actifs de 3 millions de dollars, des ventes annuelles de 2,3 millions de dollars, des succursales à New Glasgow, Sydney et Halifax, et plus de 1 500 employés, la Rhodes, Curry and Company dominait le marché des wagons au Canada ; ses clients étaient non seulement des entreprises locales, mais aussi des sociétés à l’extérieur de la région, comme la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique.

Parallèlement à son ascension en tant qu’entrepreneur, Curry tint une place de plus en plus importante dans les affaires communautaires. En 1889, il avait soutenu la constitution en municipalité d’Amherst, dont il fut maire en 1894. Il s’engagea aussi dans l’ordre maçonnique et fut un pilier de l’église baptiste locale, construite par son entreprise. Sa femme joua un rôle phare dans les organismes de charité locaux, notamment la Ladies’ Hospital Aid Society. Signe de la fortune et de l’élévation du statut social de la famille, le fils aîné de Curry étudia au collège militaire royal du Canada, à Kingston, en Ontario, et obtiendrait le rang de lieutenant-colonel dans la milice canadienne. Au début du xxe siècle, Curry bâtit, sur un terrain dont la superficie atteindrait 350 acres, une résidence de bois à trois étages, surplombant le détroit de Northumberland. La famille passa ses étés dans ce domaine de Tidnish, où elle divertit des invités, veilla aux opérations d’une ferme modèle et à l’aménagement paysager de jardins complexes, et navigua sur son yacht privé.

L’innovation technologique fascinait Curry. En 1904, il se joignit à d’autres notables d’Amherst pour fonder une entreprise qui compta parmi les premières à générer de l’électricité sur le carreau d’une mine de charbon et à la faire circuler dans des lignes à haute tension, ce qui réduisit les coûts énergétiques pour les industriels de l’endroit. En 1906, il mit sur pied la Malleable Iron Works, pour faciliter le passage de la Rhodes, Curry and Company aux wagons tout en acier. Une telle modernisation s’imposait pour que l’entreprise reste concurrentielle, mais comportait d’énormes défis, surtout celui de réunir les capitaux nécessaires. En 1909, ce qui avait commencé comme un effort pour transformer l’entreprise des deux partenaires en société par actions ouverte prit une toute nouvelle tournure : le résident de Montréal William Maxwell Aitken*, étoile montante de la haute finance canadienne qui avait dirigé la restructuration de la Rhodes, Curry and Company, y vit une occasion de fusionner avec deux usines ferroviaires du centre du Canada. La Rhodes, Curry and Company fut ainsi intégrée à la Canadian Car and Foundry Company Limited, nouveau géant du secteur manufacturier dont le siège social se trouvait à Montréal.

À cause de la perte d’autonomie que représentait une fusion, Curry avait d’abord hésité, mais, en 1909, il était prêt à coopérer. Rhodes était mort subitement plus tôt la même année. Les motifs les plus persuasifs furent probablement les suivants : Curry retira de la transaction près de 3 millions de dollars sur les 8,5 millions en capital-actions de la nouvelle société, et se vit confier la présidence de la Canadian Car and Foundry Company Limited, qu’il occuperait jusqu’en 1919. Ses responsabilités accrues l’obligèrent à s’installer à Montréal, où il loua à long terme une suite à l’hôtel Windsor ; il retournait cependant chaque été à sa propriété de Tidnish. Il ne tarda pas à s’intégrer au cercle restreint de l’élite commerciale du centre du Canada ; il deviendrait également président d’une douzaine d’associations professionnelles et directeur d’une trentaine d’entreprises, y compris de géants comme la Banque de la Nouvelle-Écosse et la Montreal Trust Company. Il reçut une marque de reconnaissance encore plus grande en 1911–1912, quand il fut élu vice-président, puis président de l’Association des manufacturiers canadiens (AMC).

Curry prit la tête de l’AMC au moment même où le Canada était plongé dans les élections très conflictuelles de 1911, dont l’abaissement des barrières tarifaires entre le Canada et les États-Unis constituait l’un des enjeux principaux. La campagne de Curry ne dépassa pas les frontières de la Nouvelle-Écosse, mais il affirma clairement, dans la presse et sur les affiches placardées dans ses ateliers, que l’AMC et lui souhaitaient la poursuite des politiques protectionnistes mises en place 30 ans auparavant par le gouvernement de sir John Alexander Macdonald*. Ses positions contre la réciprocité lui assurèrent l’appui financier des conservateurs. Ces derniers, dirigés par son concitoyen néo-écossais Robert Laird Borden, l’emportèrent ; en 1912, une nomination au Sénat, à titre de représentant de sa province d’origine, récompensa les services de Curry. Plus tôt, en mai de la même année, il avait reçu un doctorat honorifique en droit de l’Acadia University, que « Docteur » Curry, comme il aimait qu’on l’appelle, désignerait comme principal bénéficiaire du don d’environ 200 000 $ qu’il accorderait à divers établissements d’enseignement supérieur.

Malheureusement, l’intégration d’une entreprise indépendante à une plus grande société ne s’avérerait profitable ni à Amherst ni aux travailleurs, dont la subsistance avait fini par dépendre du complexe industriel aussi connu sous le nom de Canada Car. L’usine d’Amherst ne fut jamais soumise au style de direction opportuniste et sans scrupules qui avait cours dans les industries houillère et sidérurgique de l’île du Cap-Breton, mais elle souffrit de son statut de succursale dans une région relativement sous-développée économiquement.

Au moment de son départ pour Montréal, Curry avait rassuré ses employés sur leur avenir et avait déclaré que l’apport de capital leur permettrait de fabriquer des wagons tout en acier et, peut-être, de diversifier leur production en fabriquant des locomotives. Il était probablement sincère ; toutefois, les événements conspirèrent à faire échouer ses plans. Quand la Canada Car se modernisa finalement, en 1912, elle décida de construire sa nouvelle usine de wagons tout en acier à Thunder Bay, en Ontario, près des Prairies, où la demande de matériel roulant était la plus grande. Suivirent, en 1913, un ralentissement marqué de l’économie canadienne, puis, l’année d’après, le début de la Grande Guerre en Europe, qui freina temporairement les nouveaux investissements. Curry chercha à compenser les activités commerciales perdues au profit de la nouvelle usine ontarienne en usant de ses relations politiques à Ottawa. Il obtint ainsi des contrats de munitions [V. sir Joseph Wesley Flavelle] pour les usines de l’entreprise dans l’Est, dont celle d’Amherst. Cela permit à l’usine de la ville d’embaucher, pour un temps, davantage de main-d’œuvre, mais ne suffit pas à restaurer sa gloire d’antan. Durant la guerre, la Canada Car prêta sans frais au gouvernement plusieurs de ses bâtiments de la région, signe du déclin continu de l’entreprise et de l’économie manufacturière locale. Après la cessation des hostilités en 1918, l’avenir de l’usine, dont une bonne partie de l’équipement tombait en désuétude, paraissait incertain.

À ce moment critique, le militantisme ouvrier aggrava la situation à Amherst. Le 19 mai 1919, frustrés par des années de salaires relativement bas, de mises en disponibilité saisonnières et de refus obstiné des gestionnaires d’ouvrir la porte aux négociations collectives, les travailleurs de la Canada Car débrayèrent, entraînant un arrêt de travail de la plupart des travailleurs industriels d’Amherst, quelques jours seulement après le début de la grève générale de Winnipeg [V. Mike Sokolowiski*]. Leur ancien maître resta sourd à leurs réclamations. Se voyant comme un modèle, Curry fanfaronna, dans le Halifax Herald du 20 septembre 1911, que « l’employé d’aujourd’hui [pouvait] être l’employeur de demain ». Indifférent aux façons dont la consolidation industrielle avait compromis les perspectives des travailleurs, Curry soutint que les désordres ouvriers résultaient principalement de complots menés par des bolchéviques.

Même s’il avait été bien disposé à l’égard des travailleurs d’Amherst, Curry n’aurait pu user de son pouvoir en leur faveur, car il ne contrôlait plus l’élaboration des politiques à la Canada Car. En 1919, il fut promu au poste plutôt honorifique de président du conseil. Âgé de près de 70 ans et privé de l’appui de son ami sir Robert Laird Borden, qui prit sa retraite en 1920, il perdit beaucoup de son influence dans l’entreprise, déclin qui, cette année-là, compta considérablement dans la décision de dissocier les activités de production de l’ancienne Rhodes, Curry and Company. Au milieu de la décennie, l’usine d’Amherst de la Canada Car fut réduite à un atelier de réparation délabré au personnel très réduit. Le dépeuplement et les dettes grevaient la ville autrefois dynamique ; « busy Amherst », comme on la surnommait dans les Maritimes, perdit environ le quart de sa population entre 1921 et 1931.

Après la Première Guerre mondiale, la vie personnelle de Curry resta agréable, du moins en apparence. Celui que ses amis appelaient Nat fit l’acquisition d’une résidence d’hiver dans les Bermudes et voyagea beaucoup, faisant le tour du monde avec sa femme. Homme sociable, passionné par la navigation de plaisance, la chasse et la pêche, Curry était membre de clubs réservés à l’élite sociale à Montréal (Club Mont-Royal, Engineers’ Club, Club canadien), à Ottawa (Rideau Club), à Toronto (National Club, Albany Club), à Halifax (Halifax Club) et à Amherst (Marshlands Club). Cependant, des événements tragiques avaient secoué sa famille. En 1907, sa femme et lui avaient perdu un fils à l’avenir prometteur, mort des suites d’une pneumonie. En 1915, un autre périt à la guerre. Selon les dires de gens du coin, il eut des relations difficiles, dans ses vieux jours, avec ses trois fils survivants. L’abus d’alcool semble avoir constitué un problème majeur, surtout pour lui-même. Dans ses dernières années, il lutta pour recouvrer la santé et eut souvent recours à des soins de santé privés.

En 1931, Curry mourut d’un infarctus. Dans son testament, il légua toute sa fortune à sa femme, créa des fiducies pour ses petits-enfants et ne laissa à ses fils aucun accès à ses capitaux. Ironiquement, ses efforts pour distribuer ses biens selon ses volontés furent vains, puisque son portefeuille d’actions disparut dans les premiers mois de la grande dépression, à la suite de placements malavisés. En dehors de la police d’assurance-vie et de la propriété de Tidnish, ses héritiers n’eurent pas grand-chose.

Nathaniel Curry aimait se qualifier de fils de ses œuvres. La réalité était plus complexe. Il devait sa renommée et sa fortune en grande partie au rôle des entreprises dans la restructuration de l’économie canadienne au début du xxe siècle. Le transfert des investissements industriels des Maritimes vers le centre du Canada, combiné au début de la grande dépression, mena à sa ruine et à celle de la ville dont il avait été le leader industriel.

David A. Sutherland

BAC, R233-37-6, N.-É., dist. Cumberland (30), sous-dist. Amherst (A) : 34.— NSA, Cumberland County Court of Probate, file 2915 (Nathaniel Curry) ; Cumberland County registry of deeds, vol. 36, file 531 ; vol. 37, files 483–484 ; vol. 46, files 222–223 ; MG 1, vol. 800, nos 5, 9–11, 17 (S. L. Shannon papers).— Halifax Herald, 17 sept. 1894 ; 20 sept. 1911 ; 23–24 oct. 1931.— Biographical review […] of leading citizens of the province of Nova Scotia, Harry Piers, édit. (Boston, 1900).— Canada, Commission royale d’enquête sur les rapports qui existent entre le capital et le travail au Canada : Nouvelle-Écosse, Rapport (Ottawa, 1889), 368–371 ; Sénat, Débats, 1913–1914, 1919–1923, 1925, 1930.— C. E. Goad, « Insurance plan, town of Amherst » (s.l., [1914] ; accessible aux NSA).— A. R. Lamy, « The development and decline of Amherst as an industrial centre : a study of economic conditions » (travail de ba, Mount Allison Univ., Sackville, N.-B., 1930).— G. P. Marchildon, Profits and politics : Beaverbrook and the Gilded Age of Canadian finance (Toronto, 1996).— National cyclopædia of American biography […] (63 vol., New York, [etc.], 1892–1984), 17.— J. N. Reilly, « Emergence of class consciousness in industrial Nova Scotia : Amherst 1891–1925 » (thèse de ph.d., Dalhousie Univ., Halifax, 1983).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

David A. Sutherland, « CURRY, NATHANIEL », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 13 nov. 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/curry_nathaniel_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/curry_nathaniel_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   David A. Sutherland
Titre de l'article:   CURRY, NATHANIEL
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2019
Année de la révision:   2019
Date de consultation:   13 novembre 2019