DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PUISAYE, JOSEPH-GENEVIÈVE DE, Comte de PUISAYE – Volume VI (1821-1835)

d. 13 Dec. 1827 near Hammersmith (London), England

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Image courtesy of Whitehern Museum, Hamilton, Ont.

Source: Link

BAKER, MARY JANE (McQuesten), social activist; b. 10 Oct. 1849 in Brantford, Upper Canada, daughter of Thomas Baker and his second wife, Mary-Jane McIlwaine; m. 18 June 1873 Isaac Baldwin McQuesten in Toronto, and they had five daughters, one of whom died in infancy, and two sons; d. 7 Dec. 1934 in Hamilton, Ont.

Mary Baker’s father had been in the Royal Navy before becoming a minister. A Calvinist with a strong missionary spirit, in 1835 he went to Upper Canada to serve at the first Congregational Church in Kingston. Throughout his pastorate, which took him to Paris, Brantford, and Newmarket, he spoke in defence of women’s right to be educated and to participate in church meetings. Religious and military values such as morality, discipline, and social responsibility were impressed upon young Mary, who would develop the courage to be outspoken and to voice her frustration with men of authority. She received a classical education and earned good grades, initially at Newmarket County Grammar School and then at a ladies’ collegiate run by a “Mrs. Dr. Burns” in Toronto.

Mary wedded Isaac Baldwin McQuesten, a young lawyer with excellent prospects and son of wealthy Hamilton industrialist Calvin McQuesten*. The elder McQuesten had retired with some $500,000 in 1857, when he was 56. He gradually passed control of his finances to Isaac. After Calvin’s death in 1885, Isaac inherited Willowbank, his father’s stately home, which Mary promptly renamed Whitehern. But by 1887 the couple’s fortunes had changed. The family assets had been wiped out by Isaac’s bad investments; depressed, he began drinking heavily, a habit that had at least once before threatened his relationship with Mary, and he was probably taking opiates as well. He received treatment from Dr Stephen Lett* at the Homewood Retreat near Guelph. In a letter to his half-brother Calvin Brooks McQuesten, Isaac confessed that he often experienced “unhealthful excitement” followed by “sluggishness”; at least two of his children appear to have suffered from mental illness, and Mary herself would seek treatment after a breakdown in 1897.

Isaac died at home suddenly on 7 March 1888, at the age of 40, reportedly from a combination of medications, sleeping draughts, and alcohol. The death was rumoured to be a suicide, especially since he was bankrupt, with debts totalling $900,000 and assets of $9,000. Left with six children between the ages of 2 and 14, and scarcely anything in the way of resources (some bank stocks and income from a few rental properties), Mary took charge of her family. She believed that Ruby Baker and Thomas Baker* were capable of achieving professional careers, but only the boy was likely to make a good salary and restore the family’s social standing. Since there was little money to pay for his education, Mary decided that Ruby, who was older, would take a job as a teacher at a Presbyterian college in Ottawa – Mary had embraced Presbyterianism after her marriage – and send a large portion of her wages home for Tom’s university tuition. Ruby continued working long after she developed a chronic cough and in 1911, just four years after her brother had graduated and begun to earn an income, she died of tuberculosis.

The McQuesten children, none of whom would ever marry, remained close to Mary and her moral influence throughout their lives. The eldest, Mary Baldwin, was neither scholarly nor “fitted,” her mother declared, for marriage; she took up church work and did the housekeeping with her sister Hilda-Belle, who led a similarly cloistered life. The latter’s one marriage prospect was thwarted by Mary, a fervent temperance advocate, upon learning that the suitor, a salesman, treated other men to alcohol as part of his job. Margaret Edna had won a scholarship to Queen’s College in Kingston in 1904, but was unable to complete her studies because of her fragile mental state. Her “nervous condition” and episodes of hysteria were a frequent cause for concern. In a letter written in 1905, after Edna had been sent away for treatment, Mary, ever conscious of the stigma already surrounding her family, advised her son Calvin that “we do not mention her name unless people ask after her particularly.” Calvin too was psychologically and physically frail. In 1896 he fell under the influence of faith healer John Alexander Dowie in Chicago. He returned to Canada following his “rebirth,” attempted a degree, worked as a journalist, tried homesteading in western Canada, and served as a minister there and in Ontario and Quebec (he resigned two positions in three years because of “insomnia”); two books he wrote on religious themes were never published.

When her children were studying or working away from home, M. B. McQuesten, as she signed herself, wrote to them constantly and many of her letters are extant. It is in this body of correspondence that her role as strict Victorian matriarch and her efforts to mould the children according to her Presbyterian values are revealed. In one letter she reminded Thomas of the need “to strive and pray earnestly … to attain what our Saviour expects of us.” In another she related local gossip: “Mrs. Bennett tells that Dr. Barclay’s sons are very wild and drink terribly. It is a sad world.” Personal worries, such as the family’s financial and health concerns, were often discussed. But Mary dealt too with more pleasant topics, including her work with missionary societies and the state of her garden. In the spring of 1915 she wrote, “The shrubs are fine this year the winter season was so mild, forsythia very good and japonica, flowering, prune hurrying out too, as well as tulips.”

Despite the many difficulties she faced in raising six children single-handed, Mary devoted much time and energy to religious and social causes. An active member for over half a century of the Woman’s Foreign Missionary Society of the Presbyterian Church in Canada (Western Division) [see Marjory Laing*], she worked tirelessly on its behalf and served for 25 years as president of the Hamilton presbyterial of the WFMS; she was also involved with the Women’s Missionary Society of the MacNab Street Presbyterian Church (where she worshipped) and the Women’s Home Missionary Society. In 1906 Mary journeyed throughout Ontario and the west, establishing WFMS auxiliaries and inspecting mission schools, including that in the File Hills Colony, Sask. [see William Morris Graham]. She helped found the Young Women’s Christian Association in Hamilton to address the needs of young women travelling unaccompanied; it would later become famous for its school of domestic science [see Adelaide Sophia Hunter*]. She also belonged to the National Council of Women of Canada; however, likely because the organization lacked a clear Christian thrust (its members decided not to open their meetings with public prayer), she gave precedence to her other affiliations. In 1923, at age 73, she lectured publicly against church union [see Clarence Dunlop Mackinnon; Ephraim Scott], which she said would dissolve the Presbyterian Church into the United Church of Canada and consign it to “obscurity.” “If we women can’t get into the general assembly and have a vote,” she maintained, “we are going to show them that we can do something to block this church union.” She was probably concerned in particular about the threatened loss of autonomy of women’s mission societies under the proposal. While church union would not be blocked, about one-third of Presbyterian churches, Mary’s included, refused to join the United Church.

Mary died of a cerebral haemorrhage on 7 Dec. 1934. Tom, who had become an mla, a provincial cabinet minister under Mitchell Frederick Hepburn*, and a Hamilton booster known especially for his work in developing the city’s parks, always paid tribute to his mother’s role in shaping his tastes and outlook. As her obituary in the Hamilton Herald noted: “Not the least of her contributions to him was to give him a love for beauty that was large enough to spread out and influence the appearance of a great city.… Large areas of Hamilton are, in the last analysis, a reflection of her love of beauty.” On the death of Calvin, the last surviving member of the family, Whitehern was bequeathed to the city of Hamilton with its contents intact, and it became a museum in 1971. Bearing an Ontario historical plaque, the house stands as a tribute to the indomitable spirit of Mary Baker McQuesten.

Mary J. Anderson

More than 3,000 family letters, many of them written by Mary Jane Baker McQuesten to her children, have been preserved at Whitehern Historic House and Garden in Hamilton, Ont. This correspondence, which provides an unusually detailed look into the personal lives of an upper-middle-class family in the Victorian and Edwardian periods, is invaluable for the historian. Many of the letters can be found on the Whitehern Museum Arch. website, “An online history of the McQuesten family”: www.whitehern.ca (consulted 26 Jan. 2013), as well as in the author’s thesis, “The life writings of Mary Baker McQuesten (1849–1934): Victorian matriarch of Whitehern” (phd thesis, McMaster Univ., Hamilton, 2000), and the book she edited, The life writings of Mary Baker McQuesten: Victorian matriarch (Waterloo, Ont., 2004). The author’s book, Tragedy & triumph: Ruby & Thomas B. McQuesten, was published in Dundas, Ont., in 2011. Another source to consult for information about the family is DHB, vols.3–4; additionally, two full-length books have been written about one of Mary’s sons: Roland Barnsley, Thomas B. McQuesten (Markham, Ont., 1987) and J. C. Best, Thomas Baker McQuesten: public works, politics, and imagination (Hamilton, 1991). Ruth Compton Brouwer, New women for God: Canadian Presbyterian women and India missions, 1876–1914 (Toronto, 1990) and N. K. Clifford, The resistance to church union in Canada, 1904–1939 (Vancouver, 1985) are detailed studies of two of the issues in which Mary was active.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Mary J. Anderson, “BAKER, MARY JANE (McQuesten),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 13, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/baker_mary_jane_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/baker_mary_jane_16E.html
Author of Article: Mary J. Anderson
Title of Article: BAKER, MARY JANE (McQuesten)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: December 13, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BURGESS, COLIN – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 20 octobre 1905 à Toronto

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Image courtesy of Whitehern Museum, Hamilton, Ont.

Provenance : Lien

BAKER, MARY JANE (McQuesten), militante sociale, née le 10 octobre 1849 à Brantford, Haut-Canada, fille de Thomas Baker et de sa deuxième femme, Mary-Jane McIlwaine ; le 18 juin 1873, elle épousa à Toronto Isaac Baldwin McQuesten, et ils eurent cinq filles, dont l’une mourut en bas âge, et deux fils ; décédée le 7 décembre 1934 à Hamilton, Ontario.

Le père de Mary Jane Baker avait servi dans la marine royale avant de devenir ministre du culte. Calviniste animé d’un fervent esprit missionnaire, il se rendit en 1835 dans le Haut-Canada pour œuvrer au sein de la première église congrégationaliste à Kingston. Tout au long de son ministère, qui l’amena à Paris, Brantford et Newmarket, il défendit le droit des femmes à l’instruction et à la participation aux réunions ecclésiales. Imprégnée de valeurs religieuses et militaires, notamment la moralité, la discipline et la responsabilité sociale, la jeune Mary Jane acquerrait le courage d’user d’un franc-parler et d’exprimer ses frustrations envers les hommes d’autorité. Elle reçut une éducation classique et décrocha de bonnes notes, d’abord à la Newmarket County Grammar School, puis dans un collège de jeunes filles dirigé par une certaine « Mme Dr Burns » à Toronto.

Mary Jane épousa Isaac Baldwin McQuesten, jeune avocat prometteur et fils d’un industriel prospère de Hamilton, Calvin McQuesten*. En 1857, ce dernier avait pris sa retraite, à 56 ans, avec une fortune évaluée à environ 500 000 $. Il confia graduellement la gestion de ses finances à Isaac Baldwin qui, après la mort de son père en 1885, hérita de son imposante maison, Willowbank, que Mary Jane eut tôt fait de renommer Whitehern. Cependant, dès 1887, la situation financière du couple avait changé. Les avoirs familiaux avaient fondu à la suite des mauvais placements d’Isaac Baldwin ; en proie à la dépression, celui-ci se mit à boire, habitude qui, au moins une fois auparavant, avait mis en péril sa relation avec sa femme. Il prenait probablement aussi des opiacés. Il fut traité par le docteur Stephen Lett* à la Homewood Retreat, près de Guelph. Dans une lettre à son demi-frère Calvin Brooks McQuesten, il avoua qu’il avait souvent fait l’expérience d’une « excitation malsaine » suivie de « torpeur » ; au moins deux de ses enfants semblent avoir souffert de maladie mentale et Mary Jane elle-même demanderait des traitements après une dépression nerveuse en 1897.

Isaac Baldwin McQuesten mourut subitement à son domicile le 7 mars 1888, à l’âge de 40 ans. Sa mort serait attribuable à la prise combinée de médicaments, de somnifères et d’alcool. La rumeur courut qu’il s’agissait d’un suicide, en particulier parce qu’il était ruiné, avec des dettes totalisant 900 000 $ et des actifs de 9 000 $. Laissée seule avec six enfants âgés de 2 à 14 ans et disposant de peu de ressources (des titres bancaires et des revenus de location de quelques propriétés), Mme McQuesten prit sa famille en main. Elle croyait que ses enfants Ruby Baker et Thomas Baker* étaient capables d’embrasser des carrières professionnelles, mais que seul le garçon avait des chances de toucher un bon salaire et de restaurer le statut social de la famille. Comme elle avait peu d’argent pour le faire instruire, elle décida que Ruby Baker, plus âgée, enseignerait dans un collège presbytérien d’Ottawa – Mme McQuesten s’était convertie au presbytérianisme après son mariage – et enverrait à la maison une bonne partie de sa rémunération pour payer les frais universitaires de Thomas Baker. Ruby Baker continua de travailler bien longtemps après avoir contracté une toux chronique et mourut de tuberculose en 1911. Tout juste quatre ans auparavant, son frère avait obtenu son diplôme et commencé à jouir d’un revenu.

Les enfants McQuesten resteraient proches de leur mère et de son influence morale tout au long de leur vie. Aucun d’eux ne se marierait. L’aînée, Mary Baldwin, qui, d’après Mme McQuesten, n’était pas douée pour les études ni « faite » pour le mariage, se dévoua pour son église et s’occupa des tâches ménagères avec sa sœur Hilda-Belle, qui connut une vie de réclusion semblable. Le seul projet de mariage de cette dernière fut contrecarré par sa mère, fervente partisane de la tempérance, après qu’elle eut appris que le soupirant offrait de l’alcool à d’autres hommes dans l’exercice de ses fonctions de vendeur. Margaret Edna avait obtenu une bourse pour étudier au Queen’s College de Kingston en 1904, mais elle fut incapable de terminer ses études en raison de la fragilité de son état mental. Sa « condition nerveuse » et ses épisodes d’hystérie étaient une source fréquente de préoccupation. Dans une lettre écrite en 1905, après qu’on eut envoyé Margaret Edna en thérapie, Mme McQuesten, toujours consciente du déshonneur qui affligeait déjà sa famille, informa son fils Calvin : « nous ne mentionnons pas son nom à moins que des gens ne demandent particulièrement de ses nouvelles ». Calvin était lui aussi vulnérable physiquement et mentalement. En 1896, il subit l’influence du guérisseur John Alexander Dowie, à Chicago. De retour au Canada après sa « renaissance », il entreprit des études universitaires, travailla comme journaliste, tâta de l’agriculture dans l’Ouest canadien et exerça un ministère dans cette région ainsi qu’en Ontario et au Québec (il démissionna de deux postes en trois ans pour cause d’« insomnie ») ; deux livres qu’il écrivit sur des thèmes religieux ne furent jamais publiés.

Lorsque ses enfants étudiaient ou travaillaient à l’extérieur de la ville, Mme McQuesten – elle signait M. B. McQuesten – leur écrivait constamment. Nombre de ses lettres ont été conservées. Ce corpus de correspondance révélerait son rôle de matriarche victorienne stricte et ses efforts pour modeler ses enfants d’après ses valeurs presbytériennes. Dans une lettre, elle rappela à Thomas Baker le besoin « de faire son possible et de prier avec ferveur […] pour répondre aux attentes de notre Sauveur ». Dans une autre, elle raconta un potin local : « Mme Bennett dit que les fils du Dr Barclay sont des fêtards et des buveurs invétérés. Quel triste monde. » Les préoccupations personnelles, notamment les ennuis d’argent et de santé de la famille, faisaient souvent l’objet de discussions. Mais Mme Questen abordait aussi des sujets plus agréables, comme son travail au sein d’organismes missionnaires et l’état de son jardin. Au printemps de 1915, elle écrivit : « Les arbustes sont beaux cette année, l’hiver a été si doux, le forsythia [va] très bien et le japonica [est] en fleurs, le prunier bourgeonne aussi, de même que les tulipes. »

Malgré les nombreuses difficultés que Mme McQuesten dut affronter pour élever seule ses six enfants, elle consacra beaucoup de temps et d’énergie à des causes religieuses et sociales. Membre active de la Woman’s Foreign Missionary Society (WFMS) de l’Église presbytérienne au Canada (division de l’Ouest) [V. Marjory Laing*] pendant plus d’un demi-siècle, elle travailla inlassablement pour cette société et assura pendant 25 ans la présidence de l’organisation presbytérale de la WFMS à Hamilton ; elle apporta également sa contribution à la Women’s Missionary Society de l’église presbytérienne MacNab Street (où elle pratiquait ses dévotions) et à la Women’s Home Missionary Society. En 1906, elle parcourut l’Ontario et l’Ouest afin d’établir des sections auxiliaires de la WFMS et d’inspecter les écoles de mission, entre autres celle de la colonie des monts File, en Saskatchewan [V. William Morris Graham]. Elle participa à la fondation de la Young Women’s Christian Association à Hamilton pour répondre aux besoins des jeunes femmes voyageant seules ; l’organisme deviendrait célèbre pour son école de sciences domestiques [V. Adelaide Sophia Hunter*]. Mme McQuesten était également membre du National Council of Women of Canada ; cependant, sans doute en raison du manque d’orientation clairement chrétienne de l’organisme (ses membres avaient décidé de ne pas commencer les réunions par une prière commune), elle accorda sa préférence à ses autres affiliations. En 1923, à l’âge de 73 ans, elle prononça des conférences publiques contre l’union des Églises [V. Clarence Dunlop Mackinnon ; Ephraim Scott], arguant que cette décision aurait pour effet de dissoudre l’Église presbytérienne dans l’Église unie et de la reléguer dans « l’obscurité ». « Si nous, les femmes, ne pouvons participer à l’assemblée générale et voter, soutenait-elle, nous allons leur montrer que nous pouvons faire quelque chose pour bloquer cette union des Églises. » Elle était probablement préoccupée par la menace de perte d’autonomie que le projet faisait peser sur les sociétés missionnaires féminines. Même si l’unification des Églises ne serait pas empêchée, environ le tiers des églises presbytériennes, dont celle de Mme McQuesten, refusèrent d’y adhérer.

Mary Jane McQuesten succomba à une hémorragie cérébrale le 7 décembre 1934. Thomas Baker, qui était devenu député, ministre dans le gouvernement provincial de Mitchell Frederick Hepburn* et une personnalité importante de Hamilton, en particulier grâce à son travail dans l’aménagement des parcs municipaux, ne manquait jamais de rendre hommage à sa mère pour le rôle qu’elle avait joué dans la formation de ses goûts et de sa vision des choses. Dans la notice nécrologique que le Hamilton Herald consacra à Mme McQuesten , on lut : « Parmi les valeurs qu’elle lui a transmises, un amour pour la beauté n’est pas la moindre, [et ce sentiment] était suffisamment intense pour se déployer et influencer l’aspect d’une grande ville […] De vastes secteurs de Hamilton reflètent, en dernière analyse, son amour de la beauté. » Au décès de Calvin, dernier survivant de la famille, Whitehern fut léguée à la ville de Hamilton avec tout son contenu et, en 1971, devint un musée. La maison, qui porte une plaque historique de l’Ontario, est un hommage à l’esprit tenace de Mary Jane McQuesten.

Mary J. Anderson

Plus de 3 000 lettres de famille, dont un grand nombre que Mary Jane Baker (McQuesten) a écrites à ses enfants, sont conservées à la Whitehern Historic House and Garden à Hamilton, en Ontario. Cette correspondance, qui donne un portrait exceptionnellement détaillé de la vie personnelle des membres d’une famille de la haute bourgeoisie au cours des périodes victorienne et édouardienne, est infiniment précieuse pour les historiens. Une grande partie de ces lettres se trouvent à Whitehern Museum Archives, « An online history of the McQuesten family » : www.whitehern.ca (consulté le 26 janv. 2013), ainsi que dans notre thèse de doctorat, « The life writings of Mary Baker McQuesten (1849–1934) : Victorian matriarch of Whitehern » (thèse de ph.d., McMaster Univ., Hamilton, 2000), et dans le livre que nous avons édité, The life writings of Mary Baker McQuesten : Victorian matriarch (Waterloo, Ontario, 2004). Nous avons par ailleurs publié Tragedy & triumph : Ruby & Thomas B. McQuesten à Dundas, en Ontario, en 2011. Le DHB, vol. 3–4, est une autre source de renseignements sur la famille ; de plus, deux livres portent sur l’un des fils de Mme McQuesten : Roland Barnsley, Thomas B. McQuesten (Markham, Ontario, 1987) et J. C. Best, Thomas Baker McQuesten : public works, politics, and imagination (Hamilton, 1991). Ruth Compton Brouwer, New women for God : Canadian Presbyterian women and India missions, 1876–1914 (Toronto, 1990), et N. K. Clifford, The resistance to church union in Canada, 1904–1939 (Vancouver, 1985), étudient en détail deux des causes dans lesquelles Mme McQuesten s’est activement engagée.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Mary J. Anderson, « BAKER, MARY JANE (McQuesten) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/baker_mary_jane_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/baker_mary_jane_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Mary J. Anderson
Titre de l'article:   BAKER, MARY JANE (McQuesten)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   20 octobre 2017