DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

DEBARTZCH, PIERRE-DOMINIQUE – Volume VII (1836-1850)

b. 22 Sept. 1782 in Saint-Charles-sur-Richelieu, Que.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

VANIER, JOSEPH-ÉMILE (baptized Émilien), civil engineer, surveyor, teacher, and architect; b. 20 Jan. 1858 in Saint-Louis-de-Terrebonne (Terrebonne), Lower Canada, son of Émilien Vanier, a baker, and Lucie Soucisse (Soucie); m. first 11 July 1881 Olivine Pariseau (d. 29 July 1929) in the parish of Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Montreal, and they had two children; m. there secondly 4 Nov. 1929 Marie-Adrienne Trottier in the parish of Saint-Jacques-le-Majeur; d. 11 Oct. 1934 in Montreal.

Joseph-Émile Vanier was the son of a baker who had become quite a prosperous grain merchant, and thus was able to enrol at the École Normale Jacques-Cartier and the Catholic Commercial Academy in Montreal. While he was a student there in the early 1870s, the academy went through a remarkable expansion. Originally a small school of the Roman Catholic Board of School Commissioners of the City of Montreal, it was transformed under the leadership of its principal, Urgel-Eugène Archambeault*, into one of the educational institutions most sought after by well-established families in the Montreal area. A new building opened in 1872 and, two years later, a scientific and industrial school was set up there with money from a provincial government grant. In 1876 the academy took the name École Polytechnique of Montreal and became the first teaching institution for engineers in French Canada. Vanier was in the initial cohort and, upon earning his degree in 1877, he was part of the first graduating class. The emergence of new training schools, which followed close upon the increasing urbanization of Montreal during the second half of the 19th century, was undoubtedly a determining factor in Vanier’s decision to practise as a professional engineer. Urban development, which intensified in the last quarter of the century, would also play a key role in his career and, above all, give him the ability to establish himself as an important figure in laying down infrastructure and sewer and water-distribution systems in the Montreal region.

In its early days the École Polytechnique, little known to Montrealers, could nevertheless boast of a benefactor, Prudent Beaudry. A brother of Jean-Louis*, an entrepreneur and mayor of Montreal (1862–66, 1877–78, 1881–85), Prudent was an influential Los Angeles developer and builder. After serving as a municipal councillor there, he was its mayor from 1874 to 1876. He had certainly heard about the inauguration of the École Polytechnique from his brother, for in 1875 he donated $2,000 to establish an annual scholarship of $150 there. Two years later he told Archambeault that he needed an engineer for major work on infrastructure in Los Angeles; Archambeault recommended Vanier, who had been a brilliant student. After a stint of a few months as an assistant engineer in Hochelaga (Montreal), Vanier left for California, where there was no shortage of work for him. As an assistant engineer, he oversaw the setting up of the Los Angeles water-distribution system, where his tasks included conducting performance tests on the steam pumps. In addition, he was assigned to the construction of the Rancho San Rafael Tunnel. On his return to Montreal in 1879, he was appointed a provincial surveyor. Armed with his practical experience, especially in hydraulic engineering, he received his first commissions from Montreal’s suburban municipalities. In 1880 he formed an engineering consultancy that would rapidly become one of the largest specializing in municipal engineering in Canada and would employ 16 or 17 in 1893. In 1891, while continuing to run his own business, he was hired as an engineer at the Montreal Water and Power Company (MWPC).

The spectacular development of Montreal in the latter half of the 19th century was responsible in no small measure for the success of Vanier’s firm. The construction of the water mains in the 1850s and the first trunk sewer system in the following decade gave Montrealers municipal services that would soon be demanded by the inhabitants of the small municipalities on the city’s outskirts. Between 1880 and 1915 Vanier’s engineering consultancy oversaw and completed numerous civil-engineering, sewage, and water-distribution projects in Côte Saint-Louis, Sainte-Cunégonde, Saint-Henri, and Maisonneuve (now all part of Montreal). As an MWPC engineer, Vanier designed the water mains of Côte-Saint-Antoine (Westmount) as well as those of Côte-des-Neiges, Côte Saint-Paul, Saint-Louis, Outremont, and Lachine (now all part of Montreal). He also supervised the installation of the water-supply systems of Beauharnois and Salaberry-de-Valleyfield.

Vanier was active in Ontario as well, in Brockville and Prescott county, where he executed civil-engineering projects, and in the Maritimes, especially in New Brunswick. As chief engineer, he did some of the preparatory work for constructing the Montreal and Western Railway that served the northern end of the metropolitan region. A versatile engineer, he also drew up the plans for the Montreal streetcar system and was in charge of the installation and distribution of electric lighting in Salaberry-de-Valleyfield. In addition, he turned his hand to architecture, drafting the blueprints for several public buildings, including the town halls of Saint-Louis and Côte Saint-Paul, and for numerous churches, among them Saint-Jean-Baptiste in Montreal.

Vanier’s career was exceptional in many respects. At the time, few French-speaking engineers were as successful, especially in the private sector. Indeed, nearly all the principal Canadian engineers were anglophones. Moreover, in the last quarter of the 19th century, the graduates of the École Polytechnique generally practised professionally with the federal government, while their counterparts from the faculty of applied sciences at McGill University mostly had jobs in major industries. In contrast, Vanier, at the head of an engineering consultancy, maintained close relationships with political figures and his firm negotiated several contracts with elected civic officials. As an MWPC engineer, he was also often sought out by town councils. In addition, towards the end of the century he was the municipal engineer for Saint-Louis and for Lachine. His status, therefore, was not that of an entirely independent professional. His involvement in laying down urban infrastructure permitted him to develop close ties to town councillors and to private firms providing public services. His French Canadian origins, his standing as a qualified engineer (which was quite rare for that generation of engineers), and his experience in the United States consequently gave him an advantage in the expanding markets of infrastructure and urban services.

In French Canada Vanier’s success as an engineer and entrepreneur had a considerable impact on the development of a new social group composed of engineers. Knowing that he was greatly indebted to his alma mater and to the profession for which it had prepared him, the prosperous engineer was totally dedicated to the École Polytechnique and missed no opportunity to favour its graduates. First of all, he taught topography and geodesy at the school from 1879 to 1896. He thus made it possible for the students of an institution struggling for survival to benefit from his wealth of experience. In addition, at the end of the 1880s Vanier had also supported an amendment to the 1882 Act respecting the land surveyors of the province of Quebec and the survey of lands that would have allowed the graduates of the École Polytechnique to be recognized as engineers and surveyors without writing a qualifying exam. Despite his efforts, the amendment was not part of the Act amending the law respecting the land surveyors and survey of lands that was enacted in 1889. His engineering consultancy also provided employment for a large number of graduates. In 1895, for example, Vanier had hired 44 of the 71 graduates of the school for varying durations. As well, many engineering consultants and municipal engineers owed the start of their careers to him. Vanier donated his services for drawing up the plans for the school’s new building, which was inaugurated in 1905. That year he helped the Corporation de l’École Polytechnique with an 11th-hour donation of $1,500. In 1909 he solved a number of financial problems for a group of the institution’s alumni. As a result, the Association des Anciens Élèves de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal was formed and obtained a charter the following year. Vanier was its president in 1913. At the beginning of the 1920s, to ensure the development of the honours program in industrial chemistry [see Alfred Fyen], he gave $25,000 to the Corporation de l’École Polytechnique, on which he had been serving as alumni representative for several years. In 1923 he proposed to the corporation that Augustin Frigon* be appointed principal of the École Polytechnique, and under his leadership the school would experience an unprecedented expansion.

In the 1920s Vanier became president of the Laurin and Leitch Engineering and Construction Company Limited. In 1915 the firm had acquired land in Saint-Vincent-de-Paul (Laval) on the Île Jésus near Montreal. It then obtained from the municipal council a permit to work a quarry. The following year the organization ceded its rights and properties to the Montreal Crushed Stone Company Limited, of which Vanier became secretary-treasurer in 1922. He invested his time and money in the firm. However, the economic depression slowed many of the enterprise’s activities, and in 1931 the business was handed over to its creditors. It was in bankruptcy the following year. In 1932 Vanier opened an engineering consultancy, but his health began to deteriorate, a development that did not bode well for his company.

On the national scene Vanier had been, in 1887, one of the first members of the Canadian Society of Civil Engineers. He belonged to several professional associations around the world. These memberships enabled him to keep abreast of the work being conducted on the production and distribution of electricity (notably the efforts of Thomas Alva Edison, George Westinghouse, Nikola Tesla, Zénobe Gramme, and Antonio Pacinotti), an activity that characterized industrialized countries at the time. Nonetheless, he also took an interest in his immediate cultural milieu. He was one of the first directors of the Opéra Français, which was founded in Montreal in 1893. In politics, Vanier supported the Conservative Party both federally and provincially.

As for his personal life, Vanier had married Olivine Pariseau on 11 July 1881. They had two children, of whom one son, George, followed in his father’s footsteps. He was, indeed, a member of the 1910 graduating class of the École Polytechnique and continued his studies in France at the École Nationale des Beaux-Arts. Subsequently he pursued a career as an engineer and architect in that country. In 1927 he became vice-president of the Montreal Crushed Stone Company. Joseph-Émile Vanier died in Montreal on 11 Oct. 1934 at the age of 76.

Through his involvement in the Corporation de l’École Polytechnique, the Association des Anciens Élèves de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal, and the Canadian Society of Civil Engineers, Joseph-Émile Vanier played a major role in raising the profile of engineers. It was, however, through his oversight of major public works in the Montreal area that he made his mark on the history of Canada and modern-day Quebec.

Robert Gagnon

Arch. de l’École Polytechnique de Montréal, Lettre de J.‑Émile Vanier à U.‑E. Archambault, 9 nov. 1895; Travaux de génie civil exécutés par J.‑Émile Vanier, février 1889. BANQ-CAM, CE601-S35, 11 juill. 1881; CE606-S24, 22 janv. 1858. FD, Saint-Jacques, cathédrale de Montréal [Saint-Jacques-le-Majeur], 4 nov. 1929. VM-SA, P49. Le Devoir, 12 oct. 1934. BCF, 1920: 166. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1898). Robert Gagnon, Histoire de l’école Le Plateau (1856–1996) ([Montréal], 1997); Questions d’égouts: santé publique, infrastructures et urbanisation à Montréal au XIXe siècle ([Montréal], 2006). Robert Gagnon et A.‑J. Ross, Histoire de l’École polytechnique, 1873–1990: la montée des ingénieurs francophones (Montréal, 1991). Montreal illustrated, 1894 … (Montreal, [1894]), 132. Claire Poitras, “Construire les infrastructures d’approvisionnement en eau en banlieue montréalaise au tournant du XXe siècle: le cas de Saint-Louis,” RHAF, 52 (1998–99): 507–31. Vieux-Rouge [P.‑A.‑J. Voyer], Les contemporains: série de biographies des hommes du jour (2v., Montréal, 1898–99), 1.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Robert Gagnon, “VANIER, JOSEPH-ÉMILE (baptized Émilien),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed September 22, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/vanier_joseph_emile_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/vanier_joseph_emile_16E.html
Author of Article: Robert Gagnon
Title of Article: VANIER, JOSEPH-ÉMILE (baptized Émilien)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: September 22, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

PARKIN, JOHN BUCKWORTH – Volume X (1871-1880)

décédé à Québec le 16 décembre 1875

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

VANIER, JOSEPH-ÉMILE (baptisé Émilien), ingénieur civil, arpenteur, professeur et architecte, né le 20 janvier 1858 à Saint-Louis-de-Terrebonne (Terrebonne, Québec), fils d’Émilien Vanier, boulanger, et de Lucie Soucisse (Soucie) ; le 11 juillet 1881, il épousa dans la paroisse Saint-Jean-Baptiste, Montréal, Olivine Pariseau (décédée le 29 juillet 1929), et ils eurent deux enfants, puis le 4 novembre 1929, dans la paroisse Saint-Jacques-le-Majeur, à Montréal, Marie-Adrienne Trottier ; décédé le 11 octobre 1934 à Montréal.

Joseph-Émile Vanier est le fils d’un boulanger devenu négociant de grains plutôt prospère, ce qui lui permet de s’inscrire à l’école normale Jacques-Cartier et à l’académie commerciale catholique de Montréal. Au moment où il la fréquente, au début des années 1870, l’académie connaît un développement remarquable. Petite école du Bureau des commissaires d’écoles catholiques romaines de la cité de Montréal, elle se transforme, sous la gouverne de son directeur Urgel-Eugène Archambeault*, en l’un des établissements scolaires les plus prisés par les bonnes familles de la région montréalaise. Un nouvel édifice ouvre ses portes en 1872 et, deux ans plus tard, une école scientifique et industrielle est inaugurée en son sein grâce à une subvention du gouvernement provincial. En 1876, l’académie prend le nom d’École polytechnique de Montréal et devient le premier établissement d’enseignement pour les ingénieurs au Canada français. Vanier est de la cohorte initiale et, avec son diplôme obtenu en 1877, fait partie de la première promotion. L’émergence de nouveaux lieux de formation, dans la foulée du processus d’urbanisation qui touche Montréal dans la deuxième moitié du xixe siècle, a certes été déterminante dans sa décision d’exercer le métier d’ingénieur. L’urbanisation, qui s’accentue dans le dernier quart du siècle, jouera d’ailleurs un rôle de premier plan dans sa carrière et, surtout, lui permettra de s’imposer comme un acteur important dans la mise en place des infrastructures et des réseaux d’égouts et de distribution d’eau de la région montréalaise.

À ses débuts, l’École polytechnique, à peine connue des Montréalais, peut tout de même se targuer d’avoir un bienfaiteur en la personne de Prudent Beaudry. Frère de Jean-Louis*, entrepreneur et maire de Montréal (1862–1866, 1877–1878, 1881–1885), Prudent est un promoteur et constructeur influent de Los Angeles. Après avoir été conseiller municipal de la ville californienne, il en est maire de 1874 à 1876. Il a sûrement entendu parler de l’inauguration de l’École polytechnique par son frère puisque, en 1875, il donne 2 000 $ pour la fondation d’une bourse annuelle de 150 $ dans cet établissement. Deux ans plus tard, Prudent Beaudry informe Archambeault qu’il a besoin d’un ingénieur pour de grands travaux d’infrastructures à Los Angeles ; ce dernier recommande Vanier, élève brillant. Après avoir occupé pendant quelques mois le poste d’aide-ingénieur à Hochelaga (Montréal), Vanier part pour la Californie. Il n’y chôme pas. En tant qu’aide-ingénieur, il voit à la mise en place du réseau de distribution d’eau de Los Angeles en effectuant, notamment, des essais de rendement des pompes à vapeur. De plus, il est affecté à la construction du tunnel du Rancho San Rafael. De retour à Montréal en 1879, il est reçu arpenteur provincial. Fort de son expérience acquise sur le terrain, particulièrement dans le domaine du génie hydraulique, il décroche ses premières commandes des villes de la banlieue montréalaise. En 1880, il fonde un bureau de génie-conseil qui deviendra rapidement l’un des plus importants dans le secteur du génie municipal au Canada et qui emploiera, en 1893, 16 ou 17 personnes. En 1891, tout en continuant de diriger son entreprise, il est engagé comme ingénieur à la Montreal Water and Power Company (MWPC).

Le développement spectaculaire de Montréal dans la seconde moitié du xixe siècle n’est pas étranger au succès de la firme de Vanier. La construction du grand réseau de distribution d’eau dans les années 1850 et d’un premier réseau d’égouts collecteurs dans la décennie suivante a doté les Montréalais de services urbains que réclameront bientôt les citadins des petites villes qui composent la banlieue de la métropole. Entre 1880 et 1915, le bureau d’ingénieurs-conseils de Vanier dirige et réalise de nombreux travaux de génie civil, de réseaux d’égouts et de distribution d’eau à Côte Saint-Louis (Montréal), Sainte-Cunégonde (Montréal), Saint-Henri (Montréal) et Maisonneuve (Montréal). À titre d’ingénieur de la MWPC, Vanier conçoit les réseaux de distribution d’eau de Côte-Saint-Antoine (Westmount), Côte-des-Neiges (Montréal), Côte Saint-Paul (Montréal), Saint-Louis (Montréal), Outremont (Montréal) et Lachine (Montréal). Il supervise aussi la mise en place des réseaux de distribution d’eau de Beauharnois et de Salaberry-de-Valleyfield.

On retrouve également Vanier en Ontario, à Brockville et dans le comté de Prescott, où il effectue des travaux de génie civil, et du côté des Maritimes, notamment au Nouveau-Brunswick. En tant qu’ingénieur en chef, il participe aux travaux préliminaires à la construction du chemin de fer de Montréal et Occidental qui dessert le nord de la région métropolitaine. Ingénieur polyvalent, il prépare aussi les plans pour le réseau de tramways de Montréal et s’occupe de l’installation et de la distribution de l’éclairage électrique à Salaberry-de-Valleyfield. Il touche également à l’architecture. Il dresse les plans de plusieurs édifices publics, dont les hôtels de ville de Saint-Louis et de Côte Saint-Paul, tout comme de nombreuses églises, dont l’église Saint-Jean-Baptiste à Montréal.

La carrière de Vanier est exceptionnelle à bien des égards. Peu d’ingénieurs francophones réussissent à cette époque à connaître autant de succès, notamment dans le secteur privé. En effet, les principaux ingénieurs canadiens sont presque tous des anglophones. Dans le dernier quart du xixe siècle, le gouvernement fédéral constitue d’ailleurs le premier lieu d’exercice de la profession chez les diplômés de l’École polytechnique, contrairement à ceux de la faculté des sciences appliquées de la McGill University qui œuvrent, pour la plupart, dans les grandes industries. À la tête d’un bureau d’ingénieurs-conseils, Vanier entretient cependant des liens étroits avec les acteurs de la scène politique et son entreprise négocie plusieurs contrats avec des élus municipaux. Comme ingénieur à la MWPC, il est également souvent sollicité par des comités municipaux. Il est aussi ingénieur des villes de Saint-Louis et de Lachine vers la fin du xixe siècle. Sa position n’est donc pas celle d’un professionnel complètement indépendant. Son engagement dans la mise en place des infrastructures urbaines l’a amené à développer des relations privilégiées avec les élus municipaux et les entreprises privées pourvoyeuses de services publics. Ses origines canadiennes-françaises, son statut d’ingénieur diplômé (plutôt rare pour cette génération d’ingénieurs) et son expérience acquise aux États-Unis représentent alors des atouts dans le marché en expansion qu’est celui des infrastructures et des services urbains.

Au Canada français, la réussite de Vanier comme ingénieur et entrepreneur a des effets non négligeables sur le développement du nouveau groupe social que sont les ingénieurs. Conscient qu’il doit beaucoup à son alma mater et à la profession à laquelle elle l’a destiné, l’ingénieur prospère est dévoué tout entier à l’École polytechnique et ne manquera pas une occasion de favoriser ses diplômés. D’abord, de 1879 à 1896, il y enseigne la topographie et la géodésie. Il fait ainsi profiter de sa riche expérience les élèves d’un établissement qui peine à survivre. À la fin des années 1880, Vanier a également appuyé une modification à l’Acte concernant les arpenteurs de la province de Québec et les arpentages (sanctionné en 1882) selon lequel les diplômés de l’École polytechnique pourraient être reconnus comme ingénieurs et arpenteurs sans avoir à passer un examen d’admission. Malgré ses efforts, le changement ne fait pas partie de l’Acte amendant la loi relative aux arpenteurs et arpentages sanctionné en 1889. De plus, son bureau d’ingénieurs-conseils procure un emploi à bon nombre de diplômés. À titre d’exemple, en 1895, Vanier embauche, pour une période plus ou moins longue, 44 des 71 diplômés de l’école. Bien des ingénieurs-conseils et ingénieurs municipaux lui doivent aussi l’origine de leur carrière. Vanier offre gratuitement ses services pour dresser les plans du nouvel édifice de l’école, inauguré en 1905. Cette année-là, il aide la Corporation de l’École polytechnique avec un don de dernière minute de 1 500 $. En 1909, il résout plusieurs problèmes financiers d’un regroupement d’anciens élèves de l’école. Par conséquent, l’Association des anciens élèves de l’École polytechnique de Montréal peut s’organiser et obtenir sa charte l’année suivante. Vanier préside l’association en 1913. Au début des années 1920, afin d’assurer le développement de l’année de cours de spécialisation en chimie industrielle [V. Alfred Fyen], il remet 25 000 $ à la Corporation de l’École polytechnique, dont il fait partie depuis plusieurs années comme représentant des diplômés. En 1923, il y propose la nomination d’Augustin Frigon* à la direction de l’École polytechnique qui, sous les commandes de ce dernier, connaîtra un essor sans précédent.

Dans les années 1920, Vanier a accédé au poste de président de la Laurin and Leitch Engineering and Construction Company, Limited, propriétaire, depuis 1915, de terrains à Saint-Vincent-de-Paul (Laval), sur l’île Jésus, près de Montréal. La compagnie obtient alors du conseil municipal un permis pour exploiter une carrière. L’année suivante, elle cède ses droits et ses terrains à la Montreal Crushed Stone Company, Limited, dont Vanier devient le secrétaire-trésorier en 1922. Vanier y investit son temps et son argent. La dépression économique ralentit cependant beaucoup les activités de la firme qui, en 1931, est remise à ses créanciers. La faillite est en vigueur l’année suivante. En 1932, Vanier ouvre un bureau d’ingénieurs-conseils, mais sa santé commence à décliner, ce qui n’augure rien de bon pour son entreprise.

Sur le plan national, Vanier a été, en 1887, l’un des premiers membres de la Société canadienne des ingénieurs civils. Il fait partie de plusieurs associations professionnelles à travers le monde. Il se tient ainsi au courant des travaux sur la production et la diffusion de l’électricité (notamment ceux de Thomas Alva Edison, George Westinghouse, Nikola Tesla, Zénobe Gramme et Antonio Pacinotti), qui marquent alors les pays industrialisés. Il ne manque cependant pas de s’intéresser au milieu culturel qui l’entoure. Il est un des premiers directeurs de l’Opéra français, fondé à Montréal en 1893. En politique, Vanier appuie le Parti conservateur, tant au fédéral qu’au provincial.

Sur le plan personnel, Vanier a épousé Olivine Pariseau le 11 juillet 1881. Deux enfants sont nés de cette union, dont un fils qui a suivi les traces de son père. George a en effet fait partie de la promotion de 1910 de l’École polytechnique. Il a poursuivi ses études en France, à l’École nationale des beaux-arts, puis mené une carrière d’ingénieur et d’architecte dans l’Hexagone. En 1927, il est devenu vice-président de la Montreal Crushed Stone Company, Limited. Joseph-Émile Vanier est mort à Montréal le 11 octobre 1934, à l’âge de 76 ans.

Par son implication dans la Corporation de l’École polytechnique, dans l’Association des anciens élèves de l’École polytechnique de Montréal et dans la Société canadienne des ingénieurs civils, Joseph-Émile Vanier a joué un rôle important dans la promotion de l’identité de l’ingénieur. C’est cependant par la supervision de grands travaux publics dans la région de Montréal qu’il a contribué à marquer l’histoire du Canada et du Québec moderne.

Robert Gagnon

Arch. de l’École polytechnique de Montréal, Lettre de J.-Émile Vanier à U.-E. Archambault, 9 nov. 1895 ; Travaux de génie civil exécutés par J.-Émile Vanier, février 1889.— BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S35, 11 juill. 1881 ; CE606-S24, 22 janv. 1858.— FD, Saint-Jacques, cathédrale de Montréal [Saint-Jacques-le-Majeur], 4 nov. 1929.— VM-SA, P49.— Le Devoir, 12 oct. 1934.— BCF, 1920 : 166.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1898).— Robert Gagnon, Histoire de l’école Le Plateau (1856–1996) ([Montréal], 1997) ; Questions d’égouts : santé publique, infrastructures et urbanisation à Montréal au xixe siècle ([Montréal], 2006).— Robert Gagnon et A.-J. Ross, Histoire de l’École polytechnique, 1873–1990 : la montée des ingénieurs francophones (Montréal, 1991).— Montreal illustrated, 1894 [...] (Montréal, [1894]), 132.— Claire Poitras, « Construire les infrastructures d’approvisionnement en eau en banlieue montréalaise au tournant du xxe siècle : le cas de Saint-Louis », RHAF, 52 (1998–1999) : 507–531.— Vieux-Rouge [P.-A.-J. Voyer], les Contemporains : série de biographies des hommes du jour (2 vol., Montréal, 1898–1899), 1.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Robert Gagnon, « VANIER, JOSEPH-ÉMILE (baptisé Émilien) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 16 déc. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/vanier_joseph_emile_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/vanier_joseph_emile_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Robert Gagnon
Titre de l'article:   VANIER, JOSEPH-ÉMILE (baptisé Émilien)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   16 décembre 2018