DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

CANNIFF, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 18 Oct. 1910 in Belleville, Ont.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

TAOTHA (Ta Otha, Ta-Otha, Ta-o-otha, Ta’Otha, meaning “great huntsman”; born Peter Wesley), Stoney hunter and chief; b. c. 1841 on the Kootenay Plains (Alta), son of Gaotadohâ (meaning “walks against the wind”; called John Wesley); m. Mary ———, and they had several sons and daughters; d. 1 May 1935 near Nordegg, Alta.

Peter Wesley was born during the decade when Methodist missionary Robert Terrill Rundle* was proselytizing among the native peoples in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. He was the grandson of the prominent Stoney leader Man Who Walks against the Wind, who had been given the English name John Wesley by a Methodist missionary, possibly Rundle or his convert Benjamin Sinclair. According to family tradition, Peter was present at treaty discussions at Blackfoot Crossing in 1877 [see John Chiniquay*; Ozîja Thiha*] and served as a messenger between the negotiators and the Stoney camp three miles upstream. Under the terms of Treaty No.7, the Bearspaw, Chiniki, and Jacob’s bands were assigned a reserve in the vicinity of Morleyville (near Morley), initially surveyed in 1879, where they received agricultural implements, seed, and cattle so that they could become farmers.

Wesley first appears on the Jacob’s band membership list in 1884 with a family of eight. He had evidently settled on the reserve during the early 1880s. There he started to raise cattle and horses while continuing to hunt and trap. He earned his esteemed name of Taotha at an early age. Calgary schoolteacher John Lee Laurie, a sympathetic observer of Stoney life, records that, as a young man, Wesley “was considered a great hunter among a tribe of skilled hunters so that, for this reason, he received the name of ‘Moosekiller.’ It might not be amiss to say that he was a ‘professional of the professionals[,]’ which reputation he continued to hold until advanced age made it impossible for him to see clearly the sights of his rifle.”

The 1880s and 1890s and the first decade of the new century were a period of dramatic change for the Stoney people as they were forced to adjust to the new realities of living on a reserve, being subject to the authority of an Indian agent, and facing a growing population of missionaries, teachers, ranchers, North-West Mounted Police, and commercial developers both on the reserve and in their ancestral homelands in the foothills. The mid 1880s brought the Canadian Pacific Railway, which built its main line through the reserve. And Rocky Mountains (Banff) Park, established in 1887 [see William Pearce*], increasingly encroached on the Stoney’s traditional hunting grounds, particularly after it was greatly enlarged in 1902.

Laurie describes Taotha as a “man independent in action and thought. Restrictions irked him and naturally he became weary of the many petty, restrictive irritations and of confinement to the reserve, the game laws of the time, and the gradual encirclement by white settlers.” The reserve at Morley was small, and much of the land was unsuited to agriculture. There was evidently friction between Taotha and the aged chief, Ki‑chi‑pwot (Jacob Goodstoney or Big Stony), and a “dispute with one of the supervisors” (possibly William Graham or Peter Lewis Grasse, the farm instructors). Following the North-West rebellion in 1885 [see Louis Riel*], the federal government had begun to enforce a system requiring natives to obtain a pass from the Indian agent before leaving their reserves [see Hayter Reed]. This regulation was a constant threat to the Stoney, who still hunted big game in the foothills.

Sometime in the early 1890s Taotha reportedly told the local agent: “My children are hungry; they cry in the night. My young men have empty stomachs and there is no meat in my camp. So I and mine go back to the Kootenay Plains. There we shall have meat and the children shall grow fat and happy. Grass grows there for our horses and no snow lies there in winter.” He became the centre of a movement whose members wanted to return to the ancestral lands of the band, now called Jonas’s, after Chief Jonas Goodstoney, Jacob’s brother, on the North Saskatchewan River. Around 1894 Taotha led a group of about 100 who travelled north to hunt. It is clear from the reports of the Indian agents that at this time he lived part of the year at Morley, where in 1897 he is recorded as having “a herd of over seventy cattle, besides a number of horses; he has built a fine story and a half house with good windows, panel doors and shingled roof.” In the report that year the farmer in charge at the reserve observes that after the growing season is over in early September, the Stoney “go off on their annual hunt, which lasts from three to five months. From this they earn their own living while out, and on their return bring quantities of valuable furs to sell to the traders in exchange for clothing, groceries and ammunition.” For band members, the annual migration north came to symbolize an escape, at least temporarily, from the reserve and resumption of a traditional way of life.

Taotha continued to enhance his reputation as a hunter who supplied other families with meat from his excursions. He was elected chief after the resignation of Jonas Goodstoney, and the band became known by the name Wesley. He would hold the position from 1904 until his death in 1935. Methodist missionary John W. Niddrie comments: “Peter was a man of indomitable energy, ambition and thrift. It was late in life when he came to the chieftainship, but we are sure that he did all in his power to help his band.” He is remembered as a compassionate and trustworthy spiritual leader who held Christian and traditional beliefs and followed the practices of both religions. His legacy is significant. In 1907, together with Stoney chief Moses Bearspaw, he appealed to the federal government against a new provincial game law that limited hunters to “one moose, one caribou, one deer” and required them to obtain a licence, for which they had to pay a fee. Under Taotha’s direction, the Wesley band repeatedly petitioned the authorities for reserve land on the Kootenay Plains and even gained the sympathy of Indian Affairs official David Laird* in 1909. The following year the Department of the Interior agreed to establish a 23,000-acre reserve, but survey work was cancelled in 1911 when the Rocky Mountains Forest Reserve was formed out of what had been parkland [see Frank Oliver] and included within its boundaries the area intended for the reserve. Taotha was instrumental in convincing the government to set aside an additional 12,743 acres for the Stoney north of Morley as the Rabbit Lake Indian Reserve in 1914, but the 5,000-acre Big Horn Reserve near Nordegg would not be created until after his death.

Physically of “somewhat forbidding aspect,” according to Laurie, Taotha was an annual participant in the popular Banff Indian Days, first held in 1894, for which he dressed in full ceremonial regalia. He was often photographed leading the colourful parade on horseback from the Banff Springs Hotel through the town. The week-long event was supported by local businesses as a tourist attraction, but it featured traditional activities, such as spiritual ceremonies, that for the Stoney community demonstrated the self-respect, pride, and independence that Taotha exemplified.

In old age he continued to face many challenges. As Laurie relates, national parks, forest reserves, coalmines, and big-game hunters all circumscribed the lives of his people. But the greatest threat came from the Alberta Natural Resources Act of 1930, which transferred control of natural resources to the province. Band members now feared that they would be driven off the land and hunting and trapping would become impossible. As well, a new highway was projected to run through their territory.

Taotha had seen his band through many profound changes by the time he died, well into his nineties, in May 1935. The Edmonton Bulletin summarized his legacy by saying that “another link with the past was lost in the death here of Chief Peter Wesley.… A man of strong, forceful character, he worked always with the Department of Indian Affairs for the advancement of his people and was an ardent Christian and class leader.… Peter was an Indian of the old school and never learned to speak English.” Yet he sent at least two of his sons to school. For his people he symbolized the effort to preserve the native way of life and to balance the Christianity introduced by missionaries and settlers with traditional spiritual values. His funeral was held according to old Stoney custom, and he was buried in the group’s cemetery near the Bighorn River, “in sight of the mountains he has known so long.” In 1994, on what was believed to be the 100th anniversary of Taotha’s first trek north, members of the Stoney community recreated the journey. The community school that was opened on the Big Horn Reserve in 2009 was named after him.

Ian A. L. Getty in collaboration

The author acknowledges the invaluable assistance of Lloyd (Buddy) Wesley, Chiniki First Nation researcher and Taotha’s great-grandson.

The fullest picture of Taotha is captured in the writings of John Lee Laurie, which are on deposit in his fonds at GA in Calgary. Laurie drafted a history of the Stoney people and wrote many articles and stories based on oral accounts provided by the elders (M 656, files 18, 22, and 25), some of which were published in Canadian Cattlemen (Calgary), between 1950 and 1958. He profiled Taotha in “Peter Wesley: the rebel,” in “The Stony [Stoney] Indians of Alberta,” (M 4390, vol.1: 71–75) and in the article “Home on the Kootenay Plains,” Canadian Cattlemen, 13 (1950), no.8: 22–23. After his death, Taotha was eulogized in several Alberta newspapers; the most detailed obituary appeared as “Aged Stony chief dies at Nordegg,” Edmonton Bulletin, 2 May 1935.

Albertan (Calgary), 14 July 1933. Edmonton Journal, 7 Aug. 1994. Mountaineer (Rocky Mountain House, Alta), 10 Aug. 1994, 5 May 2009. Theodore (Ted) Binnema and Melanie Niemi, “‘Let the line be drawn now’: wilderness, conservation, and the exclusion of aboriginal people from Banff National Park in Canada,” Environmental Hist. (Durham, N.C.), 11 (2006): 724–50. Can., Parl., Sessional papers, 1896–1915 (reports of the Dept. of Indian Affairs, 1894/95–1913/14). J. W. Niddrie, Niddrie of the North-West: memoirs of a pioneer Canadian missionary, ed. J. W. and J. J. Chalmers, (Edmonton, 2000), 62–63. John Snow, These mountains are our sacred places: the story of the Stoney Indians (Toronto and Sarasota, Fla, 1977). Treaty 7 Elders et al., The true spirit and original intent of Treaty 7 (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1995).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Ian A. L. Getty in collaboration, “TAOTHA (Ta Otha, Ta-Otha, Ta-o-otha, Ta'Otha; Peter Wesley),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 18, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/taotha_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/taotha_16E.html
Author of Article: Ian A. L. Getty in collaboration
Title of Article: TAOTHA (Ta Otha, Ta-Otha, Ta-o-otha, Ta'Otha; Peter Wesley)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: October 18, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LÉVESQUE, RENÉ – Volume XXI (1981-1990)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2017

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Peter Wesley, Stoney, at Banff, Alberta. Image courtesy of Glenbow Museum, Calgary, Alberta.

Provenance : Lien

TAOTHA (Ta Otha, Ta-Otha, Ta-o-otha, Ta’Otha, qui signifie « grand chasseur » ; né Peter Wesley), chasseur et chef stonie, né vers 1841 dans les plaines Kootenay (Alberta), fils de Gaotadohâ (qui signifie « [celui qui] marche contre le vent » ; appelé John Wesley) ; il épousa une prénommée Mary, et ils eurent plusieurs fils et filles ; décédé le 1er mai 1935 près de Nordegg, Alberta.

Peter Wesley naquit durant la décennie où le missionnaire méthodiste Robert Terrill Rundle* évangélisait les peuples autochtones des contreforts des montagnes Rocheuses. Il était le petit-fils de l’éminent chef stonie Man Who Walks against the Wind, auquel un missionnaire méthodiste – peut-être Rundle ou son converti, Benjamin Sinclair – avait donné le nom anglais de John Wesley. Selon la tradition familiale, Peter assista à des discussions sur un traité à Blackfoot Crossing en 1877 [V. John Chiniquay* ; Ozîja Thiha*], et servit de messager entre les négociateurs et le camp stonie situé trois milles en amont. En vertu du traité no 7, les bandes Bearspaw et Chiniki et la bande de Jacob furent affectées à une réserve aux environs de Morleyville (près de Morley), arpentée initialement en 1879, où leurs membres reçurent des instruments aratoires, des semences et du bétail pour qu’ils puissent devenir fermiers.

Wesley apparut pour la première fois sur la liste des membres de la bande de Jacob en 1884, avec une famille de huit personnes. À l’évidence, il s’était établi dans la réserve au début des années 1880. Il commença à y élever du bétail et des chevaux tout en continuant de chasser et de piéger. Il mérita le nom honorable de Taotha dès son jeune âge. John Lee Laurie, instituteur de Calgary et observateur bienveillant de la vie des Stonies, rapporte que, dans sa jeunesse, Wesley « était considéré comme un grand chasseur au sein d’une tribu de chasseurs chevronnés et, pour cette raison, reçut le nom de “Tueur d’orignaux” [traduction de Laurie pour Taotha]. Il ne serait pas inapproprié de dire qu’il était un “professionnel parmi les professionnels”, réputation qu’il garda jusqu’à ce que son âge avancé ne lui permette plus de voir nettement les cibles dans la mire de sa carabine. »

Pendant les années 1880 et 1890 ainsi que pendant la première décennie du xxe siècle, les Stonies connurent une période de changements radicaux, car ils furent obligés de s’adapter aux nouvelles réalités de la vie dans une réserve, sous l’autorité d’un agent des Affaires indiennes et en présence d’une population grandissante de missionnaires, d’enseignants, d’éleveurs de bétail, d’officiers de la Police à cheval du Nord-Ouest et de promoteurs commerciaux, tant dans la réserve que sur leurs terres ancestrales des contreforts. Le milieu des années 1880 amena le chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique, dont la ligne principale traversait la réserve. En outre, le parc canadien des montagnes Rocheuses (qui deviendrait le parc national Banff), créé en 1887 [V. William Pearce*], empiéta de plus en plus sur les territoires de chasse traditionnels des Stonies, en particulier après qu’il eut été considérablement agrandi en 1902.

Laurie décrit Taotha comme un « homme indépendant dans ses actes et sa pensée. Les contraintes l’ennuyaient et il devint naturellement agacé par les nombreuses tracasseries et restrictions de même que par le confinement dans la réserve, les lois de l’époque sur la chasse et l’encerclement graduel par des colons blancs. » À Morley, la réserve était petite et une grande partie des terres était impropre à la culture. Il y eut manifestement des frictions entre Taotha et le vieux chef, Ki-chi-pwot (Jacob Goodstoney ou Big Stony), et une « dispute avec l’un des superviseurs » (peut-être William Graham ou Peter Lewis Grasse, les instructeurs agricoles). À la suite de la rébellion du Nord-Ouest, en 1885 [V. Louis Riel*], le gouvernement fédéral avait commencé à mettre en vigueur un système selon lequel les autochtones devaient se procurer un laissez-passer auprès de l’agent des Affaires indiennes avant de quitter leur réserve [V. Hayter Reed]. Ce règlement représentait une menace constante pour les Stonies, qui chassaient toujours le gros gibier dans les contreforts.

Au début des années 1890, Taotha aurait dit à l’agent local : « Mes enfants ont faim ; ils pleurent la nuit. Mes jeunes hommes ont l’estomac vide et il n’y a pas de viande dans mon campement. Les miens et moi retournons donc aux plaines Kootenay. Là, nous aurons de la viande et les enfants deviendront gras et heureux. L’herbe y pousse pour nos chevaux et, l’hiver, la neige ne recouvre pas [la terre]. » Il devint le fer de lance d’un mouvement dont les membres souhaitaient revenir sur les terres ancestrales de la bande, désormais appelée la bande de Jonas, en l’honneur du chef Jonas Goodstoney, frère de Jacob, au bord de la rivière Saskatchewan-du-Nord. Vers 1894, Taotha mena un groupe d’environ 100 personnes vers le nord pour chasser. D’après les rapports des agents des Affaires indiennes, il est clair qu’à cette époque il vivait une partie de l’année à Morley où, en 1897, il possédait « un troupeau de plus de 70 bovins, outre un certain nombre de chevaux ; il a[vait] bâti une jolie maison d’un étage et demi munie de bonnes fenêtres, de portes à panneaux et d’un toit de bardeaux ». Dans le rapport de cette année-là, le fermier en chef à la réserve fait observer qu’une fois la saison des récoltes terminée, au début de septembre, les Stonies « partent pour leur chasse annuelle, qui dure de trois à cinq mois. Grâce à cette chasse, ils subviennent à leurs propres besoins pendant [qu’ils sont] à l’extérieur et, à leur retour, ils apportent des quantités de précieuses fourrures qu’ils vendront aux trafiquants en échange de vêtements, de provisions et de munitions. » Pour les membres de la bande, la migration annuelle vers le nord en vint à symboliser une évasion de la réserve, à tout le moins temporaire, et la reprise d’un mode de vie traditionnel.

Taotha continua de raffermir sa réputation de chasseur qui fournissait aux autres familles de la viande rapportée de ses expéditions. Il fut élu chef après la démission de Jonas Goodstoney et la bande fut connue sous le nom de Wesley. Il garderait cette position de 1904 jusqu’à sa mort, en 1935. Le missionnaire méthodiste John W. Niddrie commenta : « Peter était un homme d’une énergie, d’une ambition et d’un sens de l’économie indomptables. Ce fut tard dans la vie qu’il accéda au titre de chef, mais nous sommes certains qu’il fit tout [ce qui était] en son pouvoir pour aider sa bande. » On se souvient de lui comme d’un chef spirituel compatissant et digne de confiance qui nourrissait des convictions chrétiennes et traditionnelles, et observait les usages des deux religions. Son legs est important. En 1907, de concert avec le chef stonie Moses Bearspaw, il en appela au gouvernement fédéral contre une nouvelle loi provinciale sur la chasse qui limitait les chasseurs à « un orignal, un caribou, un chevreuil » et exigeait qu’ils se procurent un permis moyennant des frais. Sous la direction de Taotha, la bande Wesley adressa plusieurs pétitions aux autorités en vue d’obtenir des terres pour la réserve dans les plaines Kootenay et gagna même la sympathie du représentant des Affaires indiennes, David Laird*, en 1909. L’année suivante, le ministère de l’Intérieur accepta d’établir une réserve de 23 000 acres, mais l’arpentage en fut annulé en 1911 quand la réserve forestière des montagnes Rocheuses fut créée à partir d’un territoire qui avait été un parc [V. Frank Oliver] et incluait dans ses limites la région destinée à la réserve. Taotha joua un rôle de premier plan pour convaincre le gouvernement de réserver un territoire supplémentaire de 12 743 acres pour les Stonies au nord de Morley en vue de constituer la réserve indienne de Rabbit Lake en 1914, mais la réserve Big Horn de 5 000 acres, près de Nordegg, ne verrait le jour qu’après sa mort.

Homme à « l’allure quelque peu sévère » selon Laurie, Taotha participait chaque année aux populaires Banff Indian Days, tenus pour la première fois en 1894, pour lesquels il revêtait ses plus beaux habits de cérémonie. Il fut souvent photographié à cheval, en tête du défilé coloré qui s’ébranlait au Banff Springs Hotel et traversait la ville. Les célébrations, d’une durée d’une semaine, étaient parrainées par les commerces locaux à titre d’attraction touristique, mais elles comprenaient des activités traditionnelles, telles que des cérémonies spirituelles qui, pour la communauté stonie, reflétaient le respect de soi, la fierté et l’autonomie qu’incarnait Taotha.

Déjà avancé en âge, Taotha continua de relever de nombreux défis. Comme Laurie le relata, les parcs nationaux, réserves forestières, mines de charbon et chasseurs de gros gibier restreignaient tous la vie de son peuple. Mais la plus grande menace vint de la Loi des ressources naturelles de l’Alberta de 1930, qui transféra la mainmise des ressources naturelles à la province. Des membres de la bande craignirent alors d’être évincés de leurs terres et de ne plus pouvoir chasser ni piéger. De plus, on projetait de construire une nouvelle autoroute qui traverserait leur territoire.

Taotha avait aidé sa bande à faire face à de nombreux et profonds changements avant de mourir, bien au delà de ses 90 ans, en mai 1935. L’Edmonton Bulletin résuma son héritage comme suit : « un autre lien avec le passé a été perdu avec la mort du chef Peter Wesley […] Homme de caractère fort et énergique, il travailla toujours avec le ministère des Affaires indiennes pour le progrès de son peuple et était un fervent chrétien et un grand leader […] Peter était un Indien de l’ancienne école et n’a jamais appris à parler anglais. » Pourtant, il envoya au moins deux de ses fils à l’école. Pour son peuple, il symbolisa les efforts pour préserver le mode de vie autochtone et pour équilibrer le christianisme introduit par les missionnaires et les colons avec des valeurs spirituelles traditionnelles. Ses obsèques se déroulèrent selon l’ancienne coutume stonie et il fut inhumé dans le cimetière du groupe près de la rivière Bighorn, « avec vue sur les montagnes qu’il connaissait depuis si longtemps ». En 1994, année présumée du centième anniversaire de la première excursion de Taotha vers le nord, des membres de la communauté stonie refirent le voyage. L’école communautaire ouverte dans la réserve Big Horn en 2009 porte son nom.

En collaboration avec Ian A. L. Getty

Nous tenons à souligner la précieuse collaboration de Lloyd (Buddy) Wesley, chercheur de la Première Nation Chiniki et arrière-petit-fils de Taotha.

Les écrits de John Lee Laurie, conservés dans son fonds aux GA à Calgary, présentent le portrait le plus complet de Taotha. Laurie a rédigé une histoire du peuple stonie et a écrit de nombreux articles et récits fondés sur des témoignages oraux des aînés (M 656, files 18, 22 et 25), dont certains ont été publiés dans Canadian Cattlemen (Calgary) entre 1950 et 1958. Il a établi le profil de Taotha dans « Peter Wesley : the rebel », dans « The Stony [Stoney] Indians of Alberta » (M 4390, vol. 1 : 71–75), et dans l’article « Home on the Kootenay Plains », Canadian Cattlemen, 13 (1950), no 8 : 22–23. Plusieurs journaux de l’Alberta ont fait l’éloge de Taotha après sa mort ; la notice nécrologique la plus détaillée est « Aged Stony chief dies at Nordegg », Edmonton Bulletin, 2 mai 1935.

Albertan (Calgary), 14 juill. 1933.— Edmonton Journal, 7 août 1994.— Mountaineer (Rocky Mountain House, Alberta), 10 août 1994, 5 mai 2009.— Theodore (Ted) Binnema et Melanie Niemi, « “Let the line be drawn now” : wilderness, conservation, and the exclusion of aboriginal people from Banff National Park in Canada », Environmental Hist. (Durham, N.C.), 11 (2006) : 724–750.— Canada, Parl., Doc. de la session, 1896–1915 (rapports du dép. des Affaires indiennes, 1894–1914).— J. W. Niddrie, Niddrie of the North-West : memoirs of a pioneer Canadian missionary, J. W. et J. J. Chalmers, édit. (Edmonton, 2000), 62–63.— John Snow, These mountains are our sacred places : the story of the Stoney Indians (Toronto et Sarasota, Fla, 1977).— Treaty 7 Elders et al., The true spirit and original intent of Treaty 7 (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 1995).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

En collaboration avec Ian A. L. Getty, « TAOTHA (Ta Otha, Ta-Otha, Ta-o-otha, Ta'Otha ; Peter Wesley) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 nov. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/taotha_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/taotha_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   En collaboration avec Ian A. L. Getty
Titre de l'article:   TAOTHA (Ta Otha, Ta-Otha, Ta-o-otha, Ta'Otha ; Peter Wesley)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   21 novembre 2017