DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

BUCKLAND, GEORGE – Volume XI (1881-1890)

b. 10 Dec. 1804 in England

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

SHARP, MINNIE BELL (Adney), music teacher and businesswoman; b. 12 Jan. 1865 in Upper Woodstock, N.B., daughter of Francis Peabody Sharp* and Maria Shaw; m. 12 Sept. 1899 Edwin Tappan Adney* in Woodstock, N.B., and they had a son; d. there 11 April 1937.

A daughter of Canada’s foremost pomologist of his era, Minnie Bell Sharp recalled a “glorious” childhood when the whole family took part in maintaining her father’s orchard and market garden. “It seemed to me in those days that I lived in a veritable fairyland,” she would write in 1919, adding that she was a “very precocious and very much indulged child” of seemingly well-to-do parents. As early as age five she would be placed “amid the admiring circle” of her father’s workers to read to them. To encourage the musical gifts she began to demonstrate as an adolescent, her father imported what she later claimed was the province’s first Steinway piano.

When she was 14 Minnie attended the Compton Ladies’ College in Quebec for a year and afterwards completed a term at St Margaret’s Hall, Halifax. About 1883 she began studying voice and keyboard in New York City during the winter months; among her instructors was the Liszt-trained performer and composer William Mason. It was there that she launched her own teaching career. When family financial troubles drew her back home, she supported herself by giving lessons, first in Fredericton and then in Woodstock, where she opened a studio in the spring of 1890. The local press hailed as “recherch[é]” and “severely classical” a concert presented by Sharp, her pupils, and a guest artist from New York City. Sharp was credited with introducing the town to “high class music” and was described as “an accomplished musician” with “the rare ability of most effectively imparting instruction according to the best modern methods.”

In 1893 Sharp moved to British Columbia, taking up residence in Victoria, where she acquired the Conservatory of Music and its pupil list for about $1,200. Advertisements named her as the principal; she and the mostly female teachers offered training in music theory, performance, and languages to about 60 pupils. Newspaper notices of concerts were sympathetic. At this time two themes that would be prominent in Sharp’s life came to the fore: she was seriously in debt, unable to finish paying for the conservatory, and she antagonized her peers with extravagant claims about the superiority of her New York–acquired pedagogical technique.

Sharp would stay in Victoria until 1900, but she returned to Upper Woodstock for several summers to help her siblings with the orchard; she would later describe herself as “the working boss.” During her 1897 visit she was arrested for non-payment of local school taxes. The school trustees acknowledged that they were making an example of her because she “had a bicycle and expensive clothing, and went on expensive trips.” She spent the next 17 days in the Carleton County jail. According to her family, she was ill and hysterical much of the time; according to the jailer, she used the telephone without limit, rode her bicycle, and gave lessons. On the 16th day of her captivity Sharp discovered by reading the relevant provincial statute that, as a non-resident, she was immune from arrest. (The trustees’ lawyers, including Frank Broadstreet Carvell*, admitted that they were unaware of a recent change in the legislation.) She was released the following day and brought a suit against the authorities for false imprisonment, claiming $2,500 in damages. Victorious though she was, the jury awarded her only $1 in damages. When she had that verdict overturned on appeal and a new trial was ordered, the trustees attempted unsuccessfully to take the case to the Supreme Court of Canada. The second trial, in April 1900, was decided in Sharp’s favour; she received $75 in damages, though not before the trustees appealed and lost again.

It was during this three-year period of litigation that Sharp wed the artist, naturalist, and Maliseet ethnologist Tappan Adney, an acquaintance from New York, where she had boarded with his mother. His sister had studied at the conservatory in Victoria, and Sharp exhibited his watercolours there. Running her Woodstock School of Music out of studios in several western New Brunswick villages, Minnie continued to win praise, and her husband soon became famous for his book about the Yukon gold rush, The Klondike stampede (New York and London, 1900). Both assisted with the family orchard. Their only child, Francis Glenn, was born in 1902; he would take music lessons from his mother and go on to be a dance-band leader. In general the Adneys’ 38-year marriage was not a conventional or happy one, and it seems that they may not have lived together for nearly half of it: in the early years Tappan worked in Alaska and New York, and was in the army for a time. In Sharp’s autobiographical newspaper article of 1919, she would avoid all mention of her spouse.

The Sharps’ business had suffered drastic reverses in the 1890s [see Francis Peabody Sharp]. Minnie had “great success” in teaching, as she claimed in 1919, but the Adneys’ earnings were not enough to salvage the family property, which was sold – “stolen,” she declared – in 1904, the year after her father died. By the second decade of the century, when people were still willing to extend credit to her, Minnie was often before the courts for breach of contract with piano wholesalers whose merchandise she had agreed to advertise and sell on commission. Both Robert Sloane Gourlay’s company and Amherst Pianos Limited experienced difficulties in dealing with her; it became necessary to terminate agreements and repossess instruments. There were also legal difficulties with landlords, pupils, and the Woodstock Choral Society, prolonged litigation with creditors over family lands, and cases involving her husband. Apparently alone, she frequently lacked food and firewood. On 27 April 1920 she would use the Woodstock Press to advertise “Mrs. Adney’s Donation Party,” informing the community that “I have waited long for a benefit suited to the magnitude of my services and meritorious work in your behalf.” Three days later, in the Carleton Sentinel, she detailed offerings sought, from food to a “Ford 4 passenger car” to “money that talks.” Her signature was preceded by the words “respectfully and hopefully.”

In 1919 this gifted, troubled, and by now decidedly eccentric woman announced her candidacy for parliament after Carvell resigned his Victoria and Carleton seat. Sharp’s positive motivation was to secure “adequate recompense” for soldiers who had returned from overseas after the end of World War I. The negative force that drew her and many others into the new politics of the post-war period was dissatisfaction with hypocrisy and corruption in politics. The press often referred to her as the “women’s candidate,” but the only vaguely feminist concern she expressed was creating an economy in which children could be reared properly. She had no doubt of her potential: declaring that from her earliest years she had “unlimited faith in my power for great achievements,” she announced, “If I am elected, as I shall be, I shall accomplish the greatest work of all.” When her name failed to be listed on the ballot, she attributed the omission to malversation, but the truth was that women, though allowed to vote in federal elections by this time [see Sir Robert Laird Borden], could not yet run for the House of Commons. In 1921 she failed to raise the $200 required to file the nomination papers and complained that the Liberal Party should have funded her. The last and best organized of Sharp’s four attempts at elective office was the federal campaign of 1925; her name appeared on the ballot alongside those of James Kidd Flemming* and Thomas Wakem Caldwell. “By their fruits ye shall know them” was her slogan, a characteristically witty allusion to her heritage. Denied the Conservative Party nomination, which went to Flemming, she stood as a “candidate by the grace of God,” and under that banner she won 84 votes.

Not much is known about the Adneys’ circumstances after the mid 1920s. Their son, who was studying to be an actuary at McGill University while continuing to lead a dance band, sent his parents money regularly and repeatedly urged his father to put his mother in an asylum.

In 1930 Sharp had surgery in Montreal to treat a degenerative eye disease. She lived another seven years, near Montreal and in Woodstock, poor, blind, and furious. Yet even in her misery she could affirm that musicians can transcend greed and materialism and finally “scale the heights and walk in God’s gardens in Paradise.”

D. G. Bell

LAC, R233-34-0, N.B., dist. Carleton (180), subdist. Woodstock (a): 11. Peabody Essex Museum (Salem, Mass.), E 7 (E. Tappan Adney papers), box 21, M. B. Adney to S. True, 16 March 1931. PANB, MC339 (Minnie Bell Adney campaign poster); RS43 (Court of Appeal records), Adney v. Gourlay, 1914; Adney v. Gourlay, 1915; Amherst Pianos Ltd v. Adney, 1915; RS48 (Supreme Court: causes, 1903–79), Adney v. Gourlay, 1913-105; Amherst Pianos Ltd v. Adney, 1915-4. Carleton Observer (Hartland, N.B.), 24 June, 30 Sept., 28 Oct., 4 Nov. 1925. Carleton Sentinel (Woodstock, N.B.), 16 Sept. 1899; 28 April 1900; 10, 24 Oct. 1919; 30 April 1920; 19, 23 June, 7 July, 16, 27, 28 Oct. 1925. Daily Colonist, 10 Jan. 1896, 31 March 1900. Dispatch (Woodstock), 19, 26 Oct., 5, 9, 12 Nov. 1898; 25 April 1900; 8 July 1914. Press (Woodstock), 5, 12 May 1914; 9 Sept., 7, 21 Oct. 1919; 27 April 1920; 1 Nov., 13 Dec. 1921; 23 June, 7 July, 3, 10 Nov. 1925. Sentinel Press (Woodstock), 8 Aug. 1957. Victoria Daily Times, 5 Sept. 1893. Woodstock Press, 2 June 1886, 26 April 1887, 14 April, 27 Oct. 1890. E. T. Adney, The Sharp family, descendants of Alexander Sharp, of Edinburgh, Scotland, and the province of New Brunswick (Saint John, 1908). Amherst Pianos, Ltd v. Adney (1915–17), New Brunswick Reports (Toronto), 44: 7–11. D. [G.] Bell, “The lady music teacher as entrepreneur: Minnie Sharp and the Victoria Conservatory of Music in the 1890s,” BC Studies (Vancouver), no.191 (autumn 2016): 85–110. In the Supreme Court of Canada, on appeal from the Supreme Court of New Brunswick, the trustees of School District No.6, in the parish of Woodstock, in the county of Carleton (defendant), appellant and Minnie A. Sharp (plaintiff), respondent (n.p., [1898?]; privately printed, copy held at the Carleton County Hist. Soc., Woodstock). R. D. McIntosh, A documentary history of music in Victoria, British Columbia (2v., Victoria, 1981), 1 (1850–1899). M. H. Miller, History of Upper Woodstock (Saint John, 1940). S. M. Risk, “‘The magnitude of my services’: Minnie Bell Adney and the women of Woodstock” in Making up the state: women in 20th-century Atlantic Canada, ed. Janet Guildford and Suzanne Morton (Fredericton, 2010), 35–44. Sharp v. Trustees of School District No.6, Woodstock (1899–1902), New Brunswick Reports (Saint John), 35: 243–48. A souvenir of musical Toronto, comp. H. H. Godfrey (Toronto, 1897).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

D. G. Bell, “SHARP, MINNIE BELL (Adney),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 10, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/sharp_minnie_bell_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/sharp_minnie_bell_16E.html
Author of Article: D. G. Bell
Title of Article: SHARP, MINNIE BELL (Adney)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: December 10, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CALEFF, JOHN – Volume V (1801-1820)

décédé le 23 octobre 1812 à St Andrews, Nouveau-Brunswick

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

SHARP, MINNIE BELL (Adney), professeure de musique et femme d’affaires, née le 12 janvier 1865 à Upper Woodstock, Nouveau-Brunswick, fille de Francis Peabody Sharp* et de Maria Shaw ; le 12 septembre 1899, elle épousa à Woodstock, Nouveau-Brunswick, Edwin Tappan Adney*, et ils eurent un fils ; décédée le 11 avril 1937 dans cette ville.

Fille du plus éminent pomologue canadien de son temps, Minnie Bell Sharp gardait le souvenir d’une enfance « glorieuse », où toute la famille participait à l’entretien du verger et du jardin maraîcher de son père. « J’avais l’impression à cette époque-là de vivre dans un véritable monde féérique », écrirait-elle en 1919, ajoutant qu’elle était une « enfant très précoce et très gâtée » de parents apparemment aisés. Dès l’âge de cinq ans, on la plaça « au centre du cercle admiratif » des employés de son père pour qu’elle leur fasse la lecture. Afin d’encourager les talents musicaux qu’elle manifesta à l’adolescence, son père importa ce qu’elle prétendrait être le premier piano Steinway de la province.

À 14 ans, Minnie Bell fréquenta pendant une année le Collège des dames de Compton, au Québec, avant de passer un semestre au St Margaret’s Hall, à Halifax. Vers 1883, elle commença à étudier la voix et le clavier à New York durant les mois d’hiver ; un de ses maîtres était l’interprète et compositeur William Mason, ancien élève de Liszt. Ce fut là qu’elle entama sa propre carrière de professeure. Quand elle dut rentrer à la maison, à cause de problèmes financiers familiaux, elle subvint à ses besoins en donnant des leçons à Fredericton, puis à Woodstock, où elle ouvrit un studio au printemps de 1890. La presse loua un concert « recherch[é] » et « rigoureusement classique » qu’elle présenta avec ses élèves et un artiste invité de New York. On attribuait à Mlle Sharp le mérite d’avoir fait découvrir à la ville la « musique raffinée » et la dépeignait comme « une musicienne accomplie » douée du « rare talent de transmettre de la manière la plus efficace [son] enseignement selon les meilleures méthodes modernes ».

En 1893, Mlle Sharp partit vivre en Colombie-Britannique ; elle élut domicile à Victoria, où elle fit l’acquisition du Conservatory of Music et de sa liste d’élèves pour environ 1 200 $. Décrite dans les annonces publicitaires comme la directrice de l’établissement, Mlle Sharp, avec son personnel enseignant majoritairement féminin, offrait une formation en théorie musicale, en interprétation et en langues à quelque 60 élèves. Dans les journaux, les critiques de concerts étaient favorables. À cette époque surgirent deux problèmes qui seraient récurrents dans la vie de Mlle Sharp : elle était sérieusement obérée, incapable de finir de payer sa dette pour le conservatoire, et elle se mit ses pairs à dos en revendiquant de façon extravagante la supériorité de sa technique pédagogique apprise à New York.

Mlle Sharp resterait à Victoria jusqu’en 1900, mais retourna à Upper Woodstock plusieurs étés pour aider ses frères et sœurs à entretenir le verger ; elle se décrirait comme « la patronne qui mettait la main à la pâte ». Au cours de sa visite en 1897, elle fut arrêtée pour non-paiement des taxes scolaires locales. Les conseillers scolaires reconnurent qu’ils en firent un exemple parce qu’elle « avait une bicyclette et des vêtements dispendieux, et qu’elle faisait des voyages coûteux ». Elle passa les 17 jours suivants à la prison du comté de Carleton. D’après sa famille, elle fut malade et hystérique la plupart du temps ; selon le geôlier, elle fit un usage immodéré du téléphone, conduisit sa bicyclette et donna des leçons. Le seizième jour de sa détention, Mlle Sharp découvrit en lisant la loi provinciale applicable que, à titre de non-résidente, elle ne pouvait être arrêtée. (Les avocats des conseillers scolaires, dont faisait partie Frank Broadstreet Carvell*, admirent qu’ils ignoraient un changement récent dans la loi.) Libérée le lendemain, elle intenta une poursuite contre les autorités pour détention illégale et réclama 2 500 $ en dommages. Elle eut gain de cause, mais le jury ne lui accorda que 1 $ en dommages. Ce verdict fut annulé en appel ; quand un nouveau procès fut ordonné, les conseillers scolaires tentèrent, sans succès, de porter l’affaire devant la Cour suprême du Canada. En avril 1900, la plaignante gagna le second procès et reçut 75 $ en dommages, mais seulement après que les conseillers scolaires eurent encore interjeté appel et perdu.

Pendant le litige, qui dura trois ans, Mlle Sharp épousa Edwin Tappan Adney, artiste, naturaliste et ethnologue malécite. Elle l’avait rencontré à New York, quand elle était en pension chez la mère de celui-ci, et avait exposé ses aquarelles au conservatoire à Victoria, où la sœur de l’artiste avait d’ailleurs enseigné quelque temps. Mme Adney créa sa Woodstock School of Music, donna des cours dans des studios situés dans plusieurs villages de l’ouest du Nouveau-Brunswick et continua de s’attirer des éloges ; quant à son mari, il connut bientôt la célébrité pour son livre sur la ruée vers l’or du Yukon, The Klondike stampede, publié à New York et à Londres en 1900. Tous deux apportaient leur aide au verger familial. Leur seul enfant, Francis Glenn, naquit en 1902 ; sa mère lui montrerait la musique et il deviendrait le chef d’un orchestre de danse. Le mariage des Adney, qui dura 38 ans, ne fut en général ni conventionnel ni heureux. Les époux vécurent peut-être séparément près de la moitié de cette période : Adney travailla en Alaska et à New York au début, et il fut dans l’armée un certain temps. Dans son article de journal autobiographique paru en 1919, Mme Adney ne ferait aucune allusion à son mari.

Les affaires des Sharp avaient subi d’importants revers dans les années 1890 [V. Francis Peabody Sharp]. Mme Adney avait « beaucoup de succès » comme professeure, selon ce qu’elle affirma en 1919, mais les revenus du couple étaient insuffisants pour sauver la propriété familiale, qui fut vendue – « volée », déclara-t-elle – en 1904, l’année après la mort de son père. À partir de 1920, quand les portes du crédit lui étaient encore ouvertes, elle fut souvent poursuivie devant les tribunaux pour rupture de contrat par des grossistes de pianos dont elle s’était engagée à promouvoir et à vendre les produits en échange d’une commission. L’entreprise de Robert Sloane Gourlay et l’Amherst Pianos Limited eurent des relations d’affaires difficiles avec elle ; leurs ententes durent être résiliées et les commerçants reprirent possession de leurs instruments. Outre les litiges prolongés avec les créanciers au sujet des terres familiales et des affaires concernant son mari, Mme Adney connut des déboires juridiques avec des propriétaires, des élèves et la Woodstock Choral Society. Apparemment seule, elle manqua souvent de nourriture et de bois de chauffage. Le 27 avril 1920, elle mit une petite annonce dans le Woodstock Press pour la « fête de charité de Mme Adney ». « J’ai attendu longtemps une œuvre caritative à la hauteur [des] services et [du] travail méritoire [que j’ai effectués] en votre nom », informait-elle la communauté. Trois jours plus tard, dans le Carleton Sentinel, elle décrivait les dons qu’elle souhaitait recevoir, de la nourriture à « une automobile Ford à 4 places », en passant par des « sommes d’argent significatives ». Elle écrivit, avant de signer : « avec respect et espoir ».

L’année précédente, cette femme douée, anxieuse et maintenant franchement originale avait annoncé sa candidature au Parlement après la démission de Carvell dans la circonscription fédérale de Victoria and Carleton. La motivation positive de Mme Adney était de veiller à ce que les soldats revenus d’outre-mer après la Première Guerre mondiale obtiennent une « compensation convenable ». L’élément négatif qui l’attira, comme beaucoup d’autres, dans la politique de l’après-guerre était le mécontentement devant l’hypocrisie et la corruption qui régnaient dans ce milieu. La presse l’appela souvent la « candidate des femmes » ; toutefois, la seule préoccupation vaguement féministe qu’elle exprima touchait la création d’une économie qui permettrait de bien élever les enfants. Elle ne doutait pas de son propre potentiel. Affirmant que, depuis ses jeunes années, elle avait « une foi infinie dans [sa] capacité d’accomplir de grandes choses », elle annonça : « Si je suis élue, comme je le dois, je réaliserai la plus grande œuvre qui soit. » Son nom ne fut pas inscrit sur les bulletins de vote, oubli qu’elle attribua à des malversations ; en vérité, même si les femmes avaient alors le droit de voter aux élections fédérales [V. sir Robert Laird Borden], elles ne pouvaient pas encore être candidates à la Chambre des communes. En 1921, elle ne réussit pas à récolter les 200 $ nécessaires au dépôt de sa mise en candidature et allégua que le Parti libéral aurait dû la financer. La dernière, et la mieux organisée, des quatre tentatives de Mme Adney pour se faire élire eut lieu pendant la campagne fédérale de 1925 ; sur le bulletin de vote, son nom côtoyait ceux de James Kidd Flemming* et de Thomas Wakem Caldwell. Son slogan, Vous les reconnaîtrez à leurs fruits, constituait une allusion particulièrement astucieuse à son héritage. Le Parti conservateur lui ayant refusé l’investiture au profit de Flemming, elle se présenta comme « candidate par la grâce de Dieu » et obtint 84 voix.

On sait peu de chose de la vie des Adney après le milieu des années 1920. Leur fils, qui étudiait à la McGill University pour devenir actuaire tout en continuant de diriger un orchestre de danse, envoyait régulièrement de l’argent à ses parents et insista à plusieurs reprises pour que son père place sa mère dans un établissement psychiatrique.

En 1930, Minnie Bell Adney subit une chirurgie à Montréal pour traiter une maladie dégénérative des yeux. Elle vécut encore sept ans, près de Montréal et à Woodstock, pauvre, aveugle et furieuse. Cependant, même dans la détresse, elle affirmait que les musiciens pouvaient transcender la cupidité et le matérialisme, et finalement « gravir les sommets et marcher dans les jardins de Dieu au paradis ».

D. G. Bell

APNB, MC339 (Minnie Bell Adney campaign poster) ; RS43 (Court of Appeal records), Adney c. Gourlay, 1914 ; Adney c. Gourlay, 1915 ; Amherst Pianos Ltd c. Adney, 1915 ; RS48 (Supreme Court : causes, 1903–1979), Adney c. Gourlay, 1913-105 ; Amherst Pianos Ltd c. Adney, 1915-4.— BAC, R233-34-0, N.-B., dist. Carleton (180), sous-dist. Woodstock (a) : 11.— Peabody Essex Museum (Salem, Mass.), E 7 (E. Tappan Adney papers), box 21, M. B. Adney to S. True, 16 mars 1931.— Carleton Observer (Hartland, N.-B.), 24 juin, 30 sept., 28 oct., 4 nov. 1925.— Carleton Sentinel (Woodstock, N.-B.), 16 sept. 1899 ; 28 avril 1900 ; 10, 24 oct. 1919 ; 30 avril 1920 ; 19, 23 juin, 7 juill., 16, 27, 28 oct. 1925.— Daily Colonist, 10 janv. 1896, 31 mars 1900.— Dispatch (Woodstock), 19, 26 oct., 5, 9, 12 nov. 1898 ; 25 avril 1900 ; 8 juill. 1914.— Press (Woodstock), 5, 12 mai 1914 ; 9 sept., 7, 21 oct. 1919 ; 27 avril 1920 ; 1er nov., 13 déc. 1921 ; 23 juin, 7 juill., 3, 10 nov. 1925.— Sentinel Press (Woodstock), 8 août 1957.— Victoria Daily Times, 5 sept. 1893.— Woodstock Press, 2 juin 1886 ; 26 avril 1887 ; 14 avril, 27 oct. 1890.— E. T. Adney, The Sharp family, descendants of Alexander Sharp, of Edinburgh, Scotland, and the province of New Brunswick (Saint-Jean, N.-B, 1908).— Amherst Pianos, Ltd c. Adney (1915–1917), New Brunswick Reports (Toronto), 44 : 7–11.— D. [G.] Bell, « The lady music teacher as entrepreneur : Minnie Sharp and the Victoria Conservatory of Music in the 1890s », BC Studies (Vancouver), no 191 (automne 2016) : 85–110.— In the Supreme Court of Canada, on appeal from the Supreme Court of New Brunswick, the trustees of School District No.6, in the parish of Woodstock, in the county of Carleton (defendant), appellant and Minnie A. Sharp (plaintiff), respondent (s.l., [1898 ?] ; publié à compte d’auteur, exemplaire conservé à la Carleton County Hist. Soc., Woodstock).— R. D. McIntosh, A documentary history of music in Victoria, British Columbia (2 vol., Victoria, 1981), 1 (1850–1899).— M. H. Miller, History of Upper Woodstock (Saint-Jean, 1940).— S. M. Risk, « “The magnitude of my services” : Minnie Bell Adney and the women of Woodstock », dans Making up the state : women in 20th-century Atlantic Canada, Janet Guildford et Suzanne Morton, édit. (Fredericton, 2010), 35–44.— Sharp c. Trustees of School District No.6, Woodstock (1899–1902), New Brunswick Reports (Saint-Jean), 35 : 243–248.— A souvenir of musical Toronto, H. H. Godfrey, compil. (Toronto, 1897).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

D. G. Bell, « SHARP, MINNIE BELL (Adney) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 oct. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/sharp_minnie_bell_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/sharp_minnie_bell_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   D. G. Bell
Titre de l'article:   SHARP, MINNIE BELL (Adney)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   23 octobre 2018