DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

LEVASSEUR, NOËL, master wood-carver, b. 1680 at Quebec, son of Noël Levasseur, carpenter, and Marguerite Guay and grandson of Jean Levasseur*, dit Lavigne, carpenter; m. 3 April 1701 Marie-Madeleine Turpin (she signed Marie Tuqin) in Montreal; d. 12 Dec. 1740 at Quebec, and was buried there the following day.

Little is known about Noël Levasseur’s apprenticeship years, but it can be supposed that he learned the trade of carpentry with his father and that he was introduced to wood-carving by the masters of the school at Saint-Joachim. By his marriage contract with Marie-Madeleine Turpin, dated 3 April 1701, we can place him at Montreal, where he had probably been living for some time to complete his training. Indeed he was in Montreal and in such close contact with the carver Charles Chaboulié, who was at the time a bachelor, that the latter undertook in 1702 to leave all his property to the first-born of the Levasseur couple. Unfortunately, none of Chaboulié’s work permits an assessment of his possible influence upon Noël Levasseur.

After finally settling at Quebec in 1703, Noël Levasseur raised a family of 13 children, and acquired a clientele among the parishes and communities of Quebec and the surrounding districts. He also worked for individuals, however; for example, Levasseur “promises and undertakes to set out immediately for Cap Saint-Ignace, in which place he will do all the carving and ornamentation required for the ship which the said [Captain Louis] Prat is having built there. . . .” Although no trace has come down to us of ship-carvings of the 18th century, we must not forget that secular carving was practised in the French colony. Moreover, to Noël Levasseur are attributed two scrolls in polychrome carved wood representing the royal coat of arms of France; one of these is in the Musée du Québec, the other in the Public Archives of Canada. Scrolls are supposed to have been ordered by Gaspard-Joseph Chaussegros* de Léry in 1727 to embellish the gates and administrative buildings of the town of Quebec.

Although the name of Levasseur is to be found in the account books of many parishes around Quebec, unfortunately few examples remain to testify to his work. This is the case at Saint-Laurent (Île d’Orléans), where he made a retable in 1711, at Lauson, where he carried out the same kind of work from 1730 to 1733, at Saint-Augustin, where he worked in 1731, at Notre-Dame in Quebec in 1732, and at Beauport in 1733. He had also worked at Varennes in 1726, at Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montreal) in 1727, and at Boucherville in 1729. It is difficult to trace today the “Vierge à l’Enfant” at Notre-Dame de la Jeune-Lorette, which bore an inscription beginning as follows: “I am given by Noël Levasseur, wood-carver, and his wife Marie Madeleine Turpin on 1 March 1729, to be carried in the procession of the scapular and the rosary . . . .” Likewise, we cannot track down “two wooden figures representing the Holy Virgin and St Joseph and two others representing the ox and the ass,” which were carved in 1733 for the church of Sainte-Croix de Lotbinière.

Besides the high altar of L’Islet, probably created by Noël Levasseur in 1728, one work of outstanding importance has survived which we can attribute to him with certainty: the high altar in the chapel of the Hôpital Général in Quebec (1722). Levasseur was no doubt helped by his eldest son, François-Noël*, and younger son Jean-Baptiste-Antoine*, who owed their entire training to their father and worked with him until his death. The family venture continued for a long time, for after 1740 the Levasseur sons shared the same workshop and carried on their craft in the same places.

The tabernacle of the high altar in the chapel of the Hôpital Général is unique among works of its kind. It is an architectural structure in gilded wood, of great simplicity of design: on a predella is a forepart, which extends forward in steps; it has a curved arch supported by ten Corinthian columns; this forepart is surmounted by a dome, a lantern-tower, and a flying angel, and has two incurvated wings at the base of which are eight niches set in between Corinthian columns, the upper portion being made up of three levels embellished with open-work decorative motifs. The base of the forepart bears the arms of Bishop Saint-Vallier [La Croix], who donated this high altar to the nuns of the Hôpital Général. The eight niches in the wings and the five in the dome contain statuettes which are still a puzzle today: they were not done by the same carver. The statuettes of the dome seem to have been entrusted to one carver and those of the wings to another; one of the two might have been Noël Levasseur. This is only a hypothesis, however, for the necessary studies of the styles have not yet been carried out and documentation is lacking.

Through his two sons, François-Noël and Jean-Baptiste-Antoine, and their cousin Pierre-Noël*, Noël Levasseur was to dominate Canadian wood-carving in the 18th century long after his death.

Jean Trudel

IOA, Dossiers Levasseur. Jug. et délib., I, III, IV, V. Tanguay, Dictionnaire, V, 387f. Ramsay Traquair, The old architecture of Quebec (Toronto, 1947). Marius Barbeau, “Les Le Vasseur, maîtres menuisiers, sculpteurs et statuaires (Québec, circa 1648–1818),” Les Archives de Folklore (Québec), III (1948), 35–49. Gérard Morisset, “Une dynastic d’artisans: Les Levasseur,” La Patrie (Montréal), 8 janv. 1950.

Revisions based on:
Arch. du Monastère des Ursulines (Québec), MQ/1E/1/9, 4, 4.1 (Construction contract between the Ursulines and Pierre-Noël Levasseur for the building of the retable of the high altar and the balustrade, 13 June 1730).​ Bibliothèque et Arch. Nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de Québec, CE301-S1, 13 déc. 1740; Centre d’arch. du Vieux-Montréal, CE601-S51, 3 avril 1701.​ F.-M. Gagnon, “Trudel, Jean, Un chef-d’œuvre de l’art ancien du Québec ... [compte rendu],” RHAF, 27 (1973–1974): 118–19. Jean Trudel, La chapelle des ursulines de Québec (Québec, 2005); Un chef-d’œuvre de l’art ancien du Québec: la chapelle des ursulines (Québec, 1972).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jean Trudel, “LEVASSEUR, NOËL,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 13, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/levasseur_noel_2E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/levasseur_noel_2E.html
Author of Article: Jean Trudel
Title of Article: LEVASSEUR, NOËL
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1969
Year of revision: 2019
Access Date: December 13, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

décédée le 14 décembre 1923 à Halifax

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

LEVASSEUR, NOËL, maître sculpteur, né à Québec en 1680, fils de Noël Levasseur, menuisier, et de Marguerite Guay ; le 3 avril 1701, il épousa à Montréal Marie-Madeleine Turpin, qui signa Marie Tuqin ; décédé le 12 décembre 1740 et inhumé le jour suivant à Québec. Petits-fils du maître menuisier Jean Levasseur* dit Lavigne.

On sait peu de chose des années d’apprentissage de Noël Levasseur, mais on peut supposer qu’il apprit le métier de menuisier avec son père et s’initia à la sculpture avec les maîtres de l’école de Saint-Joachim. Son contrat de mariage avec Marie-Madeleine Turpin, daté du 3 avril 1701, le situe à Montréal. Il y vivait probablement depuis quelque temps afin de parfaire sa formation. Il fut en effet, à Montréal, en contact assez étroit avec le sculpteur Charles Chaboulié pour que ce dernier, alors célibataire, se soit engagé en 1702 à laisser tout son avoir au premier-né des époux Levasseur. Malheureusement, aucune œuvre de Chaboulié ne permet de juger de son influence possible sur Noël Levasseur.

Établi définitivement à Québec en 1703, où il éleva une famille de 13 enfants, Noël Levasseur se fit une clientèle parmi les curés et les communautés de Québec et des environs. Mais il lui arriva aussi de travailler pour des particuliers ; en 1715, par exemple, Levasseur « promet et soblige de partir incessamment pour se rendre au Cap St-Ignace, auquel lieu il fera toutte la sculpture et ornements qui seront nécessaires au navire que led. [capitaine Louis Prat] Prat fait construire aud. lieu ». Si rien ne nous est parvenu des sculptures des vaisseaux du xviiie siècle, il ne faut pas oublier qu’il y eut une sculpture profane dans la colonie française. On attribue d’ailleurs à Noël Levasseur deux cartouches en bois sculpté polychrome, l’un au Musée du Québec, l’autre aux Archives publiques du Canada, représentant les armoiries royales de France. Ces cartouches auraient été commandés par Gaspard-Joseph Chaussegros* de Léry en 1727 pour orner les portes et les édifices administratifs de la ville de Québec.

Bien que le nom de Levasseur apparaisse dans les livres de comptes de beaucoup de paroisses des environs de Québec, il reste malheureusement peu d’ouvrages pour témoigner de son œuvre. Il en est ainsi pour Saint-Laurent (île d’Orléans) où il construisit un retable en 1711, pour Lauson où il exécuta le même genre de travail de 1730 à 1733, pour Saint-Augustin où il œuvra en 1731, pour Notre-Dame de Québec en 1732, pour Beauport en 1733. Il avait aussi travaillé à Varennes en 1726, à la Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montréal) en 1727, à Boucherville en 1729. Il est impossible de retracer aujourd’hui la Vierge à lEnfant de Notre-Dame de la Jeune-Lorette qui portait une inscription commençant ainsi : « Je suis donné par Noël Levasseur sculpteur et son épouse Marie Madeleine Turpin le 1er mars 1729, pour faire la procession du scapulaire et du rosaire [...] ». Impossible non plus de retracer « deux figures de bois représentant la Ste-Vierge et St-Joseph et deux autres représentant le bœuf et l’âne » sculptées en 1733 pour la paroisse de Sainte-Croix de Lotbinière.

Il nous reste, outre le maître-autel de l’Islet exécuté probablement par Noël Levasseur en 1728, une œuvre capitale que nous pouvons lui attribuer avec certitude : le maître-autel de la chapelle de l’Hôpital Général de Québec (1722). Levasseur fut sans doute aidé par son fils aîné, François-Noël*, qui, avec son fils cadet, Jean-Baptiste-Antoine*, durent toute leur formation à leur père et collaborèrent avec lui jusqu’à sa mort. L’entreprise familiale dura encore longtemps, puisqu’après 1740 les fils Levasseur partagèrent le même atelier et travaillèrent aux mêmes endroits.

Le tabernacle du maître-autel de la chapelle de l’Hôpital Général constitue une œuvre unique en son genre. C’est une construction architecturale de bois doré d’une grande simplicité : sur une prédelle, un avant-corps, s’avançant par décrochements avec un arc cintré soutenu par dix colonnes corinthiennes, est surmonté d’un dôme, d’une lanterne et d’un ange volant. Cet avant-corps est flanqué de deux ailes incurvées à la base desquelles se trouvent huit niches encastrées entre des colonnes corinthiennes, la partie supérieure étant construite en trois étages ornés de motifs décoratifs ajourés. La base de l’avant-corps porte les armes de Mgr de Saint-Vallier [La Croix] qui fit don de ce maître-autel aux religieuses de l’Hôpital Général. Les huit niches des ailes et les cinq niches du dôme renferment des statuettes qui restent encore aujourd’hui une énigme : elles n’ont pas toutes été faites par le même sculpteur. Il semble bien qu’on ait confié les statuettes du dôme à un sculpteur et celles des ailes à un autre. L’un d’eux pourrait être Noël Levasseur, sans qu’on sache lesquelles lui attribuer, faute d’étude suffisante des styles et de documentation.

Continué par ses deux fils, François-Noël et Jean-Baptiste-Antoine, et son cousin Pierre-Noël*, Noël Levasseur domina, bien au-delà de sa mort, la sculpture canadienne du xviiie siècle.

Jean Trudel

IOA, Dossiers Levasseur.— Jug. et délib., I, III, IV, V.— Tanguay, Dictionnaire, V : 387s.— Ramsay Traquair, The old architecture of Quebec (Toronto, 1947), passim.— Marius Barbeau, Les Le Vasseur, maîtres menuisiers, sculpteurs et statuaires (Québec, circa 1648–1818), Les Archives de folklore (Montréal), III (1948) : 35–49.— Gérard Morisset, Une dynastie d’artisans : Les Levasseur, La Patrie (Montréal), 8 janv. 1950.

Bibliographie de la version révisée :
Arch. du monastère des ursulines (Québec), MQ/1E/1/9, 4, 4.1 (Marché de construction entre les ursulines et Pierre-Noël Levasseur pour la construction du retable du maitre-autel et de la balustrade, 13 juin 1730).​— Bibliothèque et Arch. nationales du Québec, Centre darch. de Québec, CE301-S1, 13 déc. 1740 ; Centre d’arch. du Vieux-Montréal, CE601-S51, 3 avril 1701.​— F.-M. Gagnon, « Trudel, Jean, Un chef-dœuvre de lart ancien du Québec [...] [compte rendu] », RHAF, 27 (1973–1974) : 118–119.Jean Trudel, la Chapelle des ursulines de Québec (Québec, 2005) ; Un chef-dœuvre de lart ancien du Québec : la chapelle des ursulines (Québec, 1972).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jean Trudel, « LEVASSEUR, NOËL », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 14 déc. 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/levasseur_noel_2F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/levasseur_noel_2F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Jean Trudel
Titre de l'article:   LEVASSEUR, NOËL
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1969
Année de la révision:   2019
Date de consultation:   14 décembre 2019