DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PÉAN, MICHEL-JEAN-HUGUES – Volume IV (1771-1800)

d. 21 Aug. 1782 at Cangey (dept of Indre-et-Loire), France

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Caroline Louisa Josephine Irwin Wells. Courtesy of the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario, Toronto, Ontario.

Source: Link

IRWIN, CAROLINE LOUISA JOSEPHINE (Wells), homemaker and dentist; b. 5 Aug. 1856 in Aurora, Upper Canada, daughter of Charles Irwin and Catharine (Catherine) Tyson; m. there 7 March 1877 John Wells, and they had two daughters and three sons; d. 17 March 1939 in Toronto and was buried in Aurora, Ont.

Josephine Wells was the first woman licensed in the profession of dentistry in Ontario, and one of the first in Canada, and she was a Canadian pioneer of dental care in mental hospitals. She had a career in both private practice and institutional settings for approximately 35 years. As was the case for many women of her time, her life had been fundamentally shaped by her family ties; it was her roles as a wife and mother that led her to become a path-breaker for women in dentistry.

The eldest of six children in a family that originally adhered to the New Connexion Methodist Church but later joined the Disciples of Christ, Irwin grew up in Aurora, where her father worked as a miller. According to the records of the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario [see Barnabas W. Day*], she received “a good public school education in her youth.” In 1877, at the age of 20, she married a local farmer, 24-year old John Wells, who shared her Disciples faith. Within a few years, John, who had left farming for teaching, was enrolled at the School of Dentistry in Toronto, run by the RCDS; he graduated at the top of his class in 1882. At the time Josephine was busy with their growing family: daughter Mabel had been born in 1880 and son Charles Pearson the following year; Arthur Tyson would follow in 1883 (he was to die the month after his birth) and Edith Muriel in 1884. After graduation, John practised his profession in Meaford and then in Aurora.

Around 1889 the Wellses moved to Toronto, where John opened an office in their home. His health declined, and it soon became clear he could not sustain the business and support the family on his own. John and Josephine contacted members of the Ontario dentists’ regulatory board to seek her entry to its school. The hope was that she could join or perhaps take over John’s practice. Although it was not uncommon for wives to assist their dentist husbands by fulfilling various support duties, Josephine appears (like some others) to have done more: in her petition for admission in 1891 she stated, the board noted, “that for some years she has performed most of the work in the office.” She asked that she be accepted despite the absence of “any Certificate of Qualification that would admit her to Matriculation.”

Wells seems to have been the first woman to seek admission at the school. While the entry of women such as Emily Howard Jennings* Stowe and Jenny Kidd Gowanlock* Trout into medicine in the 1860s and 1870s had met with considerable opposition, as was Clara Brett Martin*’s acceptance into the legal profession in the early 1890s, there is no record of any controversy over Josephine’s application to study dentistry. She would later comment on the support she had received from James Branston Willmott*, the head of the school, and say that she had encountered “nothing else but kindness and help and encouragement from everybody.” The school’s leaders were willing to assist John Wells – their friend, colleague, and former star student – in his time of need. The board agreed in March 1891 to grant Josephine matriculation, and she was officially apprenticed to her husband. During her two years at the school, she relied on relatives and friends to help care for her three young children.

In the final examinations Wells did well in practical dentistry, probably because of her experience in her husband’s office, but given her limited education in science she found the other courses a challenge. Nevertheless, after taking supplementary tests, she completed the dental program in the fall of 1893, obtained her licence on 20 October, and began treating patients in the family home. Two years later she was unanimously welcomed into the Ontario Dental Society. In recognition of her status as “the first lady dentist on our list,” she was elected an honorary member with voting privileges, a move on the part of her male colleagues, who strove to be “gentlemen,” that was perhaps designed to save her the cost of the regular fees. In the 1930s she would recall that while practising in Toronto she worked also in Aurora, Woodbridge, King (King City), and Maple, devoting a day a month to each place. “It was,” she said, “a stern struggle – but I kept our home together and really enjoyed the work I had taken up.”

Wells passed the examinations to obtain her dds degree from Trinity College in 1899, a year after the death of her younger daughter. She then took a break from her career with the birth of her fifth child, Dalton Courtright, in 1900. In 1903 she published a brief paper on the care of children’s teeth that she had read before the Toronto Dental Society. After John’s death from heart failure the following year, she continued to offer dental services out of her house at College and Spadina avenues, then on Bathurst Street, and later on Boustead Avenue.

Following in the footsteps of such pioneers of public dental health as John Gennings Curtis Adams*, Wells soon became interested in providing dental services to the underprivileged and institutionalized. In the early 1900s she began working in provincial institutions, at first part-time, providing care to patients in mental hospitals in Toronto, Mimico, Orillia, and Hamilton, as well as to inmates of the Andrew Mercer Ontario Reformatory for Females and the Alexandra School for Girls, both in Toronto. In her sixties she closed her private practice and focused on her hospital work; at some point she was made head of dental services for all provincial hospitals in Ontario. She retired in 1928, at the age of 72, although she would remain connected with her colleagues and especially with other women dentists until her death on 17 March 1939. Asked in 1937 about “the secret of youth at four-score years and one,” she replied, “I’m not taken in … by all that nonsense about my youth. But, even so, I’ll give you my opinion: the way to keep young … is to keep busy and to think of others.”

Not only was Josephine Wells the first woman licensed to practise dentistry in Ontario and a founder of mental-hospital dentistry in Canada, but she was also the first Canadian woman to publish in a dental journal and likely the first to earn a dds degree. Although few women followed her into dental practice immediately (just four others entered the profession in Ontario prior to 1910), she led the way in this field. Dentistry was not an easy career for women in the late 19th and early 20th centuries. The profession was viewed as inappropriate for them at the time and patients were therefore scarce. Moreover, the high cost of establishing and maintaining a private practice, given the specialized equipment, furniture, and tools required, limited women’s involvement and forced even the most persistent to form partnerships with male dentists or share office space with them, as Wells herself did for a time. These difficulties make Wells’s achievements truly remarkable. Also among her accomplishments must be counted her children: of the three who survived to adulthood, Mabel worked as a teacher before her marriage; Charles Pearson was in the employ of the federal Post Office Department for 50 years; and Dalton Courtright became a lawyer and chief justice of the Supreme Court of Ontario.

Tracey L. Adams

Writing as Josephine Wells, Caroline Louisa Josephine Irwin published “Don’ts on children’s teeth,” Dominion Dental Journal (Toronto), 15 (1903): 360.

AO, RG 22-305, no.88081; RG 80-5-0-70, no.12455; RG 80-8-0-300, no.31310. UTARMS, A1973-0026 (Univ. of Toronto, dept. of graduate records), box 505, file 27 (Wells’s clippings); A1982-0003 (Univ. of Toronto, faculty of dentistry), box 002 (minutes of the board), pp.290–91, 350, 371, 387; box 009 (student and licentiate reg. (1868–1924)). “‘Be busy, think of others’: young octogenarian’s tip,” Toronto Daily Star, 5 June 1937: 18. “First woman dentist dies,” Globe and Mail, 18 March 1939: 4. “First woman to get dental degree dies,” Toronto Daily Star, 18 March 1939: 30. T. L. Adams, A dentist and a gentleman: gender and the rise of dentistry in Ontario (Toronto, 2000). D. W. Gullett, A history of dentistry in Canada (Toronto, 1971). Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ont., Dispatch anniversary issue … (Toronto, 1993).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Tracey L. Adams, “IRWIN, CAROLINE LOUISA JOSEPHINE (Wells),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed August 21, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/irwin_caroline_louisa_josephine_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/irwin_caroline_louisa_josephine_16E.html
Author of Article: Tracey L. Adams
Title of Article: IRWIN, CAROLINE LOUISA JOSEPHINE (Wells)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: August 21, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BANTING, sir FREDERICK GRANT – Volume XVII (1941-1950)

Semaine de l'histoire du Canada 2018

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Caroline Louisa Josephine Irwin Wells. Courtesy of the Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario, Toronto, Ontario.

Provenance : Lien

IRWIN, CAROLINE LOUISA JOSEPHINE (Wells), maîtresse de maison et dentiste, née le 5 août 1856 à Aurora, Haut-Canada, fille de Charles Irwin et de Catharine (Catherine) Tyson ; le 7 mars 1877, elle épousa au même endroit John Wells, et ils eurent deux filles et trois fils ; décédée le 17 mars 1939 à Toronto et inhumée à Aurora, Ontario.

Caroline Louisa Josephine Irwin (Wells), première femme autorisée à pratiquer la dentisterie en Ontario et l’une des premières au Canada, fut aussi une pionnière des soins dentaires dans les hôpitaux psychiatriques au pays. Elle poursuivit une carrière d’environ 35 ans en milieu privé et en milieu institutionnel. Sa vie, comme celle de bien des femmes de son époque, avait été façonnée essentiellement par ses liens familiaux ; ce furent ses rôles d’épouse et de mère qui la menèrent à devenir une précurseure des femmes en dentisterie.

Josephine, comme on l’appelait, était l’aînée des six enfants d’une famille membre de l’Église méthodiste New Connexion, qui joignit ensuite les Disciples du Christ. Elle grandit à Aurora, où son père travaillait comme meunier. Selon les archives du Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario [V. Barnabas W. Day*], elle reçut « une bonne instruction publique pendant sa jeunesse ». En 1877, à 20 ans, elle épousa un agriculteur de la région, John Wells, âgé de 24 ans, qui partageait sa foi dans les Disciples du Christ. En quelques années, ce dernier, qui avait abandonné l’agriculture pour l’enseignement, fut admis à la School of Dentistry de Toronto, dirigée par le Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario ; il obtint son diplôme en terminant premier de sa promotion en 1882. À cette époque, Josephine s’occupait de leur famille grandissante. Leur fille Mabel était née en 1880 et leur fils Charles Pearson l’année d’après ; Arthur Tyson arriverait en 1883 (il allait mourir dans le mois suivant sa naissance) et Edith Muriel, en 1884. Une fois diplômé, John exerça à Meaford, puis à Aurora.

Vers 1889, les Wells partirent vivre à Toronto, où John ouvrit un cabinet dans leur résidence. Sa santé déclina et il devint vite apparent qu’il ne pouvait plus assurer la survie de son entreprise et pourvoir aux besoins de sa famille tout seul. Le couple contacta des membres du conseil de réglementation des dentistes de l’Ontario pour inscrire Mme Wells à la School of Dentistry, espérant qu’elle puisse se joindre au cabinet de son mari ou peut-être en prendre les commandes. Même s’il n’était pas rare que les femmes assistent leur mari dentiste en exécutant diverses tâches de soutien, Mme Wells (parmi d’autres) en faisait apparemment davantage : dans sa demande d’admission, en 1891, elle expliqua, comme le nota le conseil, « que depuis quelques années, elle [avait] accompli la majeure partie du travail au cabinet ». Elle désirait être acceptée malgré l’absence de « tout certificat de compétence qui justifierait son inscription ».

Mme Wells semble avoir été la première femme à solliciter son admission à cette école. L’entrée en médecine de certaines femmes, dont Emily Howard Jennings* Stowe et Jenny Kidd Gowanlock* Trout dans les années 1860 et 1870, avait suscité une forte opposition, tout comme l’inscription en droit de Clara Brett Martin* au début des années 1890. Aucune archive ne suggère cependant que Mme Wells souleva la controverse avec sa demande d’admission en dentisterie. Elle témoignerait du soutien qu’elle reçut de James Branston Willmott*, directeur de l’école, et affirmerait qu’elle n’avait connu « que de la gentillesse, de l’aide et de l’encouragement de la part de tous ». Les dirigeants de l’école voulaient prêter main-forte à John Wells – leur ami, collègue et ancien étudiant émérite – en ces temps difficiles. Le conseil de réglementation accepta la demande d’inscription de Mme Wells en mars 1891 et celle-ci devint officiellement l’apprentie de son mari. Durant ses deux années à l’école, elle s’appuya sur l’aide de parents et d’amis pour s’occuper de ses trois jeunes enfants.

Mme Wells obtint de bons résultats à ses examens finaux en dentisterie appliquée, probablement grâce à l’expérience qu’elle avait acquise au cabinet de son mari, mais sa formation limitée en sciences lui causa des problèmes dans les autres cours. Néanmoins, après avoir passé des épreuves supplémentaires, elle termina le programme de médecine dentaire à l’automne de 1893, obtint sa licence le 20 octobre et commença à traiter des patients à son domicile. Deux ans plus tard, elle fut accueillie unanimement au sein de l’Ontario Dental Society. Pour saluer son statut de « première dame dentiste sur [sa] liste », elle fut élue membre honoraire avec droit de vote, initiative de ses collègues masculins qui s’efforçaient d’être des « gentlemen », peut-être afin qu’elle soit exemptée des frais d’adhésion ordinaires. Dans les années 1930, Mme Wells se souviendrait que, tout en exerçant à Toronto, elle travaillait aussi à Aurora, à Woodbridge, à King (King City) et à Maple, à raison d’une journée par mois à chaque endroit. « Ce fut, dit-elle, un rude combat – mais je gardai notre famille unie et j’aimais réellement le travail que j’avais entrepris. »

Mme Wells réussit les examens et décrocha un doctorat en chirurgie dentaire au Trinity College en 1899, un an après la mort de sa fille cadette. Elle interrompit ensuite temporairement sa carrière en 1900 pour mettre au monde son cinquième enfant, Dalton Courtright. En 1903, elle publia un court article sur les soins dentaires chez les enfants, qu’elle avait lu devant la Toronto Dental Society. Après la mort de son mari, victime d’une défaillance cardiaque l’année suivante, elle continua d’exercer de chez elle, à l’intersection de la rue College et de l’avenue Spadina, puis rue Bathurst et, plus tard, avenue Boustead.

À l’instar de pionniers en matière de soins dentaires publics, tel que John Gennings Curtis Adams*, Mme Wells s’intéressa rapidement au traitement des personnes démunies et en institution. Au début des années 1900, elle commença à travailler, d’abord à temps partiel, dans des établissements provinciaux où elle prodiguait des soins aux patients d’hôpitaux psychiatriques à Toronto, à Mimico, à Orillia et à Hamilton, ainsi qu’aux détenues de l’Andrew Mercer Ontario Reformatory for Females à Toronto et, dans la même ville, aux filles de l’Alexandra School for Girls. Dans la soixantaine, elle ferma son cabinet privé et se concentra sur son travail dans les hôpitaux ; à un moment donné, elle se vit confier la direction des soins dentaires de tous les hôpitaux provinciaux de l’Ontario. Elle prit sa retraite en 1928, à 72 ans, mais, jusqu’à sa mort, le 17 mars 1939, elle resterait en contact avec ses collègues et, surtout, avec d’autres femmes dentistes. Lorsque, en 1937, on l’interrogea sur « le secret de la jeunesse à 81 ans », elle répondit : « Je ne suis pas dupe […] de toutes ces bêtises sur ma jeunesse. Mais, toutefois, je vais vous donner mon avis : la recette pour rester jeune […] est de se tenir occupé et de penser aux autres. »

Caroline Louisa Josephine Wells fut non seulement la première femme autorisée à exercer la dentisterie en Ontario et une instigatrice de la prestation de soins dentaires dans les hôpitaux psychiatriques au Canada, mais aussi la première Canadienne à publier dans une revue d’odontologie et, probablement, à obtenir un doctorat en chirurgie dentaire. Même si peu de femmes suivirent immédiatement ses traces (seulement quatre autres intégrèrent la profession en Ontario avant 1910), elle leur fraya le chemin. La dentisterie n’était pas une carrière facile pour les femmes à la fin du xixe siècle et au début du xxe. On jugeait la profession inappropriée pour celles-ci à l’époque ; par conséquent, les patients étaient rares. De plus, étant donné l’équipement spécialisé, le mobilier et les outils nécessaires, les coûts entourant la création et la gestion d’un cabinet étaient élevés ; cela restreignait la participation des femmes et forçait même les plus tenaces à s’associer à des hommes dentistes ou à partager avec eux leur bureau, ce que fit Mme Wells pendant quelque temps. Ces difficultés rendent ses réalisations vraiment remarquables. Ses enfants doivent également être considérés parmi ses accomplissements : des trois qui atteignirent l’âge adulte, Mabel travailla comme enseignante avant de se marier, Charles Pearson fut au service du ministère fédéral des Postes pendant 50 ans, et Dalton Courtright devint avocat et juge en chef de la Cour suprême de l’Ontario.

Tracey L. Adams

Caroline Louisa Josephine Irwin a publié, sous le nom de Josephine Wells, « Don’ts on children’s teeth », Dominion Dental Journal (Toronto), 15 (1903) : 360.

AO, RG 22-305, no 88081 ; RG 80-5-0-70, no 12455 ; RG 80-8-0-300, no 31310.— UTARMS, A1973-0026 (Univ. of Toronto, dept. of graduate records), box 505, file 27 (Wells’s clippings) ; A1982-0003 (Univ. of Toronto, faculty of dentistry), box 002 (minutes of the board), pp.290–291, 350, 371, 387 ; box 009 (student and licentiate reg. (1868–1924)).— « “Be busy, think of others” : young octogenarian’s tip », Toronto Daily Star, 5 juin 1937 : 18.— « First woman dentist dies », Globe and Mail, 18 mars 1939 : 4.— « First woman to get dental degree dies », Toronto Daily Star, 18 mars 1939 : 30.— T. L. Adams, A dentist and a gentleman : gender and the rise of dentistry in Ontario (Toronto, 2000).— D. W. Gullett, A history of dentistry in Canada (Toronto, 1971).— Royal College of Dental Surgeons of Ontario, Dispatch anniversary issue […] (Toronto, 1993).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Tracey L. Adams, « IRWIN, CAROLINE LOUISA JOSEPHINE (Wells) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 19 nov. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/irwin_caroline_louisa_josephine_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/irwin_caroline_louisa_josephine_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Tracey L. Adams
Titre de l'article:   IRWIN, CAROLINE LOUISA JOSEPHINE (Wells)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   19 novembre 2018