DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

BURGESS, COLIN – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 20 Oct. 1905 in Toronto

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Irving, John, steamship captain, company manager, and politician; b. 24 Nov. 1854 at sea en route to Portland (Oreg.), son of William Irving*, a ship’s captain, and Elizabeth Jane Dixon; m. 12 June 1883 Jane Munro in Victoria, and they had two daughters and one son; d. 10 Aug. 1936 in Vancouver.

John Irving was born on the ship Robert D. Carter, under charter to his father, shortly before it arrived in Portland. In 1859, during the Fraser River gold rush, he moved with his family from Portland to New Westminster in the mainland colony of British Columbia. His father established the family’s holdings in shipping, acquiring a share and soon a controlling interest in the British Columbia and Victoria Steam Navigation Company. He sold these assets in 1862 and then formed the Pioneer Line Company to operate vessels on the Fraser River. John, who had received his elementary education in Victoria, soon learned the trade from his father and by working as a deckhand on Pioneer Line ships. Although it seldom had more than a few vessels in service at one time, the firm would dominate the Fraser River trade until the mid 1880s. In addition, during the early 1870s it was active on the Stikine River.

After his father’s death in 1872, John, who was only 17, took over the business with the help of his mother and an uncle. In the spring of 1873 he became captain of the steamer Onward, which plied the lower Fraser. He developed a name for being a skilled, aggressive captain and businessman. In competition with other owners, he frequently outmanoeuvred them by expert piloting, shrewd business strategies, or both; on other occasions he purchased their operations, adding to his reputation for boldness. Historians Norman Rupert Hacking and William Kaye Lamb* describe him as having a “naturally reckless disposition.” According to Hacking, the captain was also colourful. “Well over 6 feet in height, handsome John Irving was a great social favourite, a mighty drinker, and the soul of generosity.”

Irving married Jane Munro, daughter of Hudson’s Bay Company chief factor Alexander Munro, in 1883. They would initially make their home in Victoria, where they had a substantial residence near the legislative buildings, and then move to Vancouver. Their only son, a major in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, would be killed in France in 1916. In addition to his shipping concerns, Irving had interests in a sawmill at Moodyville (North Vancouver) and, after its establishment in 1886, in the Vancouver Water Works Company, a private utility of which he would later be president.

In 1883 Irving and other investors, including Robert Paterson Rithet*, a prominent businessman who had married Jane Munro’s sister, had formed a joint-stock enterprise based in Victoria; the Pioneer Line was merged with the Hudson’s Bay Company’s river and coastal shipping operations to form the Canadian Pacific Navigation Company (not affiliated with the Canadian Pacific Railway). William Charles* of the HBC was named chairman; Irving, who was captain of the Yosemite at the time, also became manager of the new firm, which had an authorized capital of $500,000. He oversaw the purchase or construction of several significant additions to the CPNC’s fleet, including new coastal steamers such as the Premier in 1887 and the luxurious Islander in 1888. These ships significantly improved freight and passenger services between Victoria, Vancouver, New Westminster, and other locations. The expansion of the fleet in the late 1880s put the company in a good position to develop the coastal trade, and it was the largest shipping concern in the region. Irving organized excursions to northern British Columbia and to southern Alaska that promoted the area, emphasizing its resources and scenic attractions. In 1898 he ordered the river steamer Beaver, the first steel-hulled vessel built in the province.

A determined man, Irving was undaunted by difficulties, ready to take business gambles, and impatient with legal niceties. For example, his new steamer the Elizabeth J. Irving, uninsured, was a total loss after a fire on 29 Sept. 1881, and in 1892, after the CPNC’s United States-registered Premier was damaged during a collision in Admiralty Inlet, Wash., he had the vessel brought back to Canada before it could be seized. Renamed the Charmer, it would never return to American waters.

Expanding his shipping interests, Irving had formed the Columbia and Kootenay Steam Navigation Company Limited in 1890. The firm had an authorized capital of $100,000. Among the investors were John Andrew Mara and Frank Stillman Barnard, who, with Irving, soon gained control of the company. This venture had sternwheelers on the lakes and rivers of southern British Columbia, providing connecting services to the recently completed CPR at Revelstoke. The area was becoming a significant mining region and, because of its close proximity to the United States, the company played an important role in retaining the traffic in the province. In 1896–97 the firm, consisting of a tug, six sternwheelers, and ten barges as well as shipyards and other facilities, was sold to the CPR; it would become the CPR’s British Columbia Lake and River Service. In another enterprise, Irving, with partners Senator James Reid and businessman Stephen Tingley, had the steamer Charlotte built at Quesnel in 1896 for service on the upper Fraser to Fort George (Prince George). Operating as the Northern British Columbia Navigation Company, they would run the steamer until 1910, when it was wrecked.

At the time of the Klondike gold rush during the winter of 1897–98, the CPNC sent steamers twice monthly to northern communities and the Queen Charlotte Islands (Haida Gwaii), weekly to southern Alaska, three times a week to Barkley Sound and the west coast of Vancouver Island, thrice weekly between Victoria and New Westminster (also serving the Gulf Islands), and daily (except Monday) on a return service between Victoria and Vancouver. In 1898 Irving had the river steamer Yukoner outfitted for the CPNC by Alexander Watson in St Michael (Alaska), near the mouth of the Yukon River. That year, in one of his most famous exploits, Irving took the steamer, with a full and boisterous crowd of passengers and a substantial cargo, upstream to Dawson, Y.T., in a record 14 days. After returning to St Michael, for reasons that are not known, he sold the vessel, apparently at a loss. The following year he founded the John Irving Navigation Company, which operated sternwheelers in the southern Yukon and northern British Columbia on Tagish and Atlin lakes.

A Presbyterian, Irving was elected a Conservative member of the Legislative Assembly of British Columbia in July 1894 and again in July 1898 for Cassiar, in the northwestern part of the province. Despite his strong support of the mining industry, he failed to retain his seat in 1900. He would run again, in Atlin in 1907 and 1909, but would lose both contests to Henry Esson Young.

In 1901, apparently financially overextended, Irving sold his coastal shipping interests. By this time the CPNC was coming under growing criticism because of its aging fleet and the need for expanded services. Irving and his associates lacked the resources to make the investments. The CPR purchased the CPNC for $531,000, and his upper Yukon River system vessels, the sternwheelers Gleaner and Scotia, changed ownership. Given a lifetime permit for the CPR’s coastal steamships, he was welcome on board and travelled often. After the sale of his shipping interests, his fortune declined despite his investments in mining and other ventures. During 1911–12, a period of high real-estate prices and speculation, he worked as a real-estate agent. He lost or gave away much of his wealth. Hacking, who knew Irving late in life, remembered him as “poor in everything but friends.” He died in Vancouver in 1936. His wife then moved to England to live near her daughters and died there in March 1955.

John Irving’s role in the development of coastal and inland shipping services in British Columbia during the late 1800s was significant, and he was certainly one of the most outstanding and most colourful figures in the transportation industry during this period.

Robert D. Turner

BCA, GR-2951, no.1936-09-517278 (mfm.); GR-2962, no.1883-09-002608 (mfm.); MS-1033. British Columbian (New Westminster, B.C.), 11 Aug. 1936. Daily Colonist, 11 Aug. 1936, 30 March 1955. Vancouver Daily Province, 11 Nov. 1926, 11 Aug. 1936. Victoria Daily Times, 11 Aug. 1936. British Columbia: pictorial and biographical (2v., Winnipeg, 1914), 2: 692–95. “Capt. John Irving, m.p.p.,” Mining Record (Victoria), 2 (1896), no.11: 14–15. A century of paddlewheelers in the Pacific northwest, the Yukon and Alaska, comp. E. L. Affleck (Vancouver, 2000). Art Downs, Paddlewheels on the frontier: the story of British Columbia and Yukon sternwheel steamers (Sidney, B.C., 1972). N. R. Hacking, “British Columbia steamboat days, 1870–1883,” British Columbia Hist. Quarterly (Victoria), 11 (1947): 69–111. N. R. Hacking and W. K. Lamb, The “Princess” story: a century and a half of west coast shipping (Vancouver, 1974). J. B. Kerr, Biographical dictionary of well-known British Columbians, with a historical sketch (Vancouver, 1890), 204–5. Lewis & Dryden’s marine history of the Pacific northwest; an illustrated review of the growth and development of the maritime industry …, ed. E. W. Wright (Portland, Oreg., 1895; repr. Seattle, Wash., 1967). Archie Miller and Valerie Francis, Irving House, a family history (New Westminster, 1988). R. D. Turner, Sternwheelers and steam tugs: an illustrated history of the Canadian Pacific Railway’s British Columbia Lake and River Service (Victoria, 1984).

General Bibliography

Citations

Robert D. Turner, “IRVING, JOHN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 20, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/irving_john_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/irving_john_16E.html
Author of Article: Robert D. Turner
Title of Article: IRVING, JOHN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: October 20, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MURRAY, LOUISA ANNIE – Volume XII (1891-1900)

née le 23 mai 1818 à Carisbrooke, Angleterre

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Irving, John, capitaine de navire à vapeur, directeur d’entreprise et homme politique, né le 24 novembre 1854 en mer, en route vers Portland (Oregon), fils de William Irving*, capitaine de navire, et d’Elizabeth Jane Dixon ; le 12 juin 1883, il épousa à Victoria Jane Munro, et ils eurent deux filles et un fils ; décédé le 10 août 1936 à Vancouver.

John Irving naquit sur le Robert D. Carter, bateau affrété pour le compte de son père, peu avant son arrivée à Portland. En 1859, pendant la ruée vers l’or dans la région du fleuve Fraser, sa famille et lui quittèrent Portland pour s’installer à New Westminster, dans la colonie continentale de la Colombie-Britannique. Son père assit les intérêts de la famille dans la marine marchande en achetant des actions de la British Columbia and Victoria Steam Navigation Company, dont il devint rapidement le principal actionnaire. Il vendit ces actifs en 1862 et fonda ensuite la Pioneer Line Company pour exploiter des navires sur le fleuve Fraser. Irving, qui avait fait ses études primaires à Victoria, apprit tôt le commerce maritime en travaillant avec son père et comme matelot de pont sur des bateaux de la Pioneer Line Company. Même si elle n’avait rarement plus de quelques navires en service à la fois, l’entreprise dominerait le commerce sur le fleuve Fraser jusqu’au milieu des années 1880. En outre, au début des années 1870, elle exerça ses activités sur le fleuve Stikine.

Après la mort de son père en 1872, Irving, qui n’avait que 17 ans, reprit l’entreprise, aidé de sa mère et d’un oncle. Au printemps de 1873, il devint le capitaine du vapeur Onward, qui naviguait sur le cours inférieur du Fraser. Grâce à son habileté et son dynamisme, il bâtit sa réputation de capitaine et d’homme d’affaires. Il se trouvait en concurrence avec d’autres propriétaires. Souvent, il les éclipsa par son expertise en pilotage, par d’astucieuses stratégies d’affaires, ou par les deux à la fois ; à d’autres occasions, il acheta leurs entreprises, ce qui le fit paraître encore plus audacieux. Les historiens Norman Rupert Hacking et William Kaye Lamb* diraient de lui qu’il avait une « tendance naturelle à l’intrépidité ». Selon Hacking, le capitaine était également haut en couleur. « Mesurant plus de six pieds, le beau John Irving était un invité très populaire, un formidable buveur, et la générosité même. »

Irving épousa Jane Munro, fille d’Alexander Munro, agent principal de la Hudson’s Bay Company, en 1883. Ils s’installeraient d’abord à Victoria, dans une imposante résidence près des édifices législatifs, avant de partir pour Vancouver. Leur seul fils, major dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien, serait tué en France en 1916. En plus de ses intérêts dans la marine marchande, Irving avait des parts dans une scierie à Moodyville (North Vancouver) et, après sa création en 1886, dans la Vancouver Water Works Company, entreprise de service privé dont il deviendrait président.

En 1883, Irving et d’autres investisseurs, dont Robert Paterson Rithet*, éminent homme d’affaires qui avait épousé la sœur de Jane Munro, avaient fondé une société par actions à responsabilité limitée dont le siège social se trouvait à Victoria ; la Pioneer Line Company et la section de navigation fluviale et côtière de la Hudson’s Bay Company fusionnèrent pour former la Canadian Pacific Navigation Company (CPNC) (sans lien avec la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique). William Charles*, de la Hudson’s Bay Company, fut nommé président ; Irving, qui était capitaine du Yosemite, devint aussi directeur de la nouvelle entreprise, dont le capital autorisé était de 500 000 $. Il supervisa l’achat ou la construction de plusieurs navires importants pour la flotte de la CPNC, y compris de nouveaux vapeurs côtiers comme le Premier, en 1887, et le luxueux Islander, en 1888. Ces bateaux améliorèrent considérablement le service de transport de marchandises et de passagers entre Victoria, Vancouver, New Westminster et d’autres localités. Grâce à l’expansion de la flotte à la fin des années 1880, l’entreprise put développer le commerce côtier et devint la plus grande entreprise de transport maritime de la région. Irving organisa des excursions dans le nord de la Colombie-Britannique et le sud de l’Alaska, afin de promouvoir ces endroits en faisant valoir leurs ressources et leurs paysages. En 1898, il commanda le vapeur fluvial Beaver, premier navire à coque d’acier construit dans la province.

Déterminé, Irving ne se laissait pas démonter par les difficultés ; il était prêt à prendre des risques en affaires et s’impatientait lorsqu’il était question de subtilités légales. Par exemple, son nouveau vapeur, l’Elizabeth J. Irving, qui n’était pas assuré, fut une perte totale à la suite d’un incendie, le 29 septembre 1881 ; en 1892, après que le Premier, navire appartenant à la CPNC et enregistré aux États-Unis, eut été endommagé à la suite d’une collision dans l’Admiralty Inlet, dans l’État de Washington, il fit revenir le bateau au Canada avant qu’il ne puisse être saisi. Renommé le Charmer, il ne retournerait jamais en eaux américaines.

Élargissant ses intérêts dans la marine marchande, Irving avait fondé la Columbia and Kootenay Steam Navigation Company Limited en 1890. L’entreprise avait un capital autorisé de 100 000 $. Parmi les investisseurs se trouvaient John Andrew Mara et Frank Stillman Barnard, qui, avec Irving, prirent bientôt le contrôle de l’entreprise. Cette dernière exploitait des vapeurs à roue arrière sur les lacs et les fleuves du sud de la Colombie-Britannique, fournissant des services d’accès au chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique à Revelstoke, achevé depuis peu. La région devenait un important site d’exploitation minière ; comme les États-Unis étaient à proximité, l’entreprise contribua grandement au maintien du trafic dans la province. Constituée d’un remorqueur, de six vapeurs à roue arrière, de dix barges, de chantiers navals et d’autres installations, elle fut vendue à la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique en 1896–1897 et deviendrait le British Columbia Lake and River Service. Dans une autre entreprise, Irving et ses associés, le sénateur James Reid et l’homme d’affaires Stephen Tingley, firent construire le vapeur Charlotte à Quesnel, en 1896, pour desservir le cours supérieur du Fraser jusqu’à Fort George (Prince George). Sous le nom de Northern British Columbia Navigation Company, ils dirigeraient le vapeur jusqu’à ce qu’il sombre en 1910.

À l’hiver de 1897–1898, au moment de la ruée vers l’or du Klondike, la CPNC envoya des vapeurs deux fois par mois dans les communautés du Nord et les îles de la Reine-Charlotte (Haida Gwaii), une fois par semaine dans le sud de l’Alaska, et trois fois par semaine dans le détroit Barkley et sur la côte ouest de l’île de Vancouver, ainsi qu’entre Victoria et New Westminster (en desservant aussi les îles du Golfe) ; elle offrit également tous les jours (sauf le lundi) un service d’aller-retour entre Victoria et Vancouver. En 1898, Irving fit équiper le vapeur fluvial Yukoner pour la CPNC par Alexander Watson à St Michael (Alaska), près de l’embouchure du fleuve Yukon. Cette même année, il accomplit un de ses plus célèbres exploits en menant le vapeur, avec à son bord une foule de passagers tapageurs et une cargaison considérable, en amont jusqu’à Dawson, dans le Territoire du Yukon, en un temps record de 14 jours. Après son retour à St Michael, pour des raisons inconnues, il vendit le navire, à perte, semble-t-il. L’année suivante, il fonda la John Irving Navigation Company, qui exploita des vapeurs à roue arrière dans le sud du Yukon et le nord de la Colombie-Britannique, sur les lacs Tagish et Atlin.

Presbytérien, Irving fut élu membre conservateur de l’Assemblée législative de la Colombie-Britannique en juillet 1894 et en juillet 1898 pour Cassiar, dans le nord-ouest de la province. Malgré son appui sans réserve pour l’industrie minière, il perdit son siège en 1900. Il se présenterait encore, à Atlin, en 1907 et en 1909, mais serait battu les deux fois par Henry Esson Young.

En 1901, ayant apparemment des problèmes financiers, Irving vendit son entreprise de transport côtier. Vers cette époque, la CPNC faisait de plus en plus l’objet de critiques, à cause de sa flotte vieillissante et du besoin de services plus étendus. Irving et ses associés n’avaient pas les ressources pour réaliser les investissements nécessaires. La CPNC fut achetée par la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique pour la somme de 531 000 $ ; ses navires qui desservaient la partie supérieure du fleuve Yukon, les vapeurs à roue arrière Gleaner et Scotia, changèrent de propriétaire. Irving reçut un laissez-passer permanent pour les vapeurs côtiers de la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique, à bord desquels il était le bienvenu, et il voyagea souvent. Après la vente de ses parts dans la marine marchande, en dépit de ses investissements dans l’exploitation minière et dans d’autres entreprises, la chance lui sourit moins. Durant les années 1911 et 1912, période où les prix des biens immobiliers et la spéculation étaient à la hausse, il travailla comme agent immobilier. Il perdit ou donna une bonne partie de sa fortune. Hacking, qui connut Irving vers la fin de sa vie, se souviendrait qu’il était « pauvre en tout sauf en amis ». Irving mourut à Vancouver en 1936. Sa femme partit en Angleterre pour vivre près de ses filles, où elle s’éteignit en mars 1955.

John Irving joua un rôle important dans le développement des services de transport maritime côtier et intérieur en Colombie-Britannique à la fin des années 1800. Il fut assurément un des personnages les plus remarquables et hauts en couleur de cette industrie à l’époque.

Robert D. Turner

BCA, GR-2951, no 1936-09-517278 (mfm) ; GR-2962, no 1883-09-002608 (mfm) ; MS-1033.— British Columbian (New Westminster, C.-B.), 11 août 1936.— Daily Colonist (Victoria), 11 août 1936, 30 mars 1955.— Vancouver Daily Province, 11 nov. 1926, 11 août 1936.— Victoria Daily Times, 11 août 1936.— British Columbia : pictorial and biographical (2 vol., Winnipeg, 1914), 2 : 692–695.— « Capt. John Irving, m.p.p. », Mining Record (Victoria), 2 (1896), no 11 : 14–15.— A century of paddlewheelers in the Pacific northwest, the Yukon and Alaska, E. L. Affleck, compil. (Vancouver, 2000).— Art Downs, Paddlewheels on the frontier : the story of British Columbia and Yukon sternwheel steamers (Sidney, C.-B., 1972).— N. R. Hacking, « British Columbia steamboat days, 1870–1883 », British Columbia Hist. Quarterly (Victoria), 11 (1947) : 69–111.— N. R. Hacking et W. K. Lamb, The Princess story : a century and a half of west coast shipping (Vancouver, 1974).— J. B. Kerr, Biographical dictionary of well-known British Columbians, with a historical sketch (Vancouver, 1890), 204–205.— Lewis & Dryden’s marine history of the Pacific northwest ; an illustrated review of the growth and development of the maritime industry [...], E. W. Wright, édit. (Portland, Oreg., 1895 ; réimpr. Seattle, Wash., 1967).— Archie Miller et Valerie Francis, Irving House, a family history (New Westminster, 1988).— R. D. Turner, Sternwheelers and steam tugs : an illustrated history of the Canadian Pacific Railway’s British Columbia Lake and River Service (Victoria, 1984).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Robert D. Turner, « IRVING, JOHN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 mai 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/irving_john_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/irving_john_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Robert D. Turner
Titre de l'article:   IRVING, JOHN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   23 mai 2017