DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

BIBAUD, FRANÇOIS-MAXIMILIEN – Volume XI (1881-1890)

b. 23 Oct. 1823 at Montreal, Lower Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

HORWOOD, VICTOR WILLIAM, architect, author, office holder, militia officer, and gentleman farmer; b. 27 Feb. 1874 in Frome, England, son of Harry Horwood and Ellen Mary Long; m. 18 Sept. 1906 Claratina Taylor in Winnipeg; d. 15 March 1939 in Matlock, Man.

Victor William Horwood’s father was a stained-glass artist who immigrated to Canada and set up his business in Prescott, Ont., in 1876. Victor, his mother, and his brothers arrived later, probably in 1881. Victor was educated in the public schools of Prescott and he studied art in New York and Minneapolis, Minn. On his return to Canada, he entered the Ottawa office of his elder brother, architect Edgar Lewis Horwood, and learned the profession. He later worked in Montreal, Toronto, and Chicago for brief periods. As he would explain in an article published in 1932, his “adventuring in search of architectural knowledge throughout the continent” brought him to Winnipeg in February 1904.

In that year Horwood designed a school at Fort William (Thunder Bay), Ont., and a residence for Mrs G. Nagy in Winnipeg. During 1905 his practice became more firmly established with commissions such as residences for businessmen John Sutton, William Chandler Birt, and William G. Bell, and an apartment building known as the Bell Block. His design for a school in Virden would be followed by others for schools in Sintaluta, Sask. (1906), Innisfail, Alta (1907), and Kildonan (Winnipeg) (1908). He became associated with the Riverview Realty Company, which was developing a luxury subdivision in the Fort Rouge area of Winnipeg, and in 1906 he had a house constructed in Riverview in anticipation of his marriage to Claratina, daughter of Thomas William Taylor, mla and former mayor of Winnipeg.

In February 1905 Horwood had begun publishing house designs in the Western Home Monthly. The series, which also included plans for a poultry house, church, and barn, continued until December 1910. During that period Horwood was responsible for a number of substantial Winnipeg apartment blocks for John and William Moxam, including Moxam Court (1907), Waldron Court (1909), MacMillan Court (1910), and the Vansittart apartments (1910), and for the Keewatin Beach Hotel (1909), which may not have been built. He is also known to have been the architect for at least two churches in the city, St Paul’s Presbyterian (1906–7) and the smaller Holy Cross Evangelical Lutheran (1910). Among the municipal buildings he designed were the St Boniface City Hall (1905–6) and nearby Fire Hall No.1 (1907–8). In addition, he provided plans for a tar-paper factory at Elmwood (Winnipeg) for Merrick, Anderson and Company (1908), the Avenue Theatre (1910–11) in Winnipeg, and a number of residences, some designed to client specifications and others intended for resale. Many of his buildings had neoclassical motifs, which were then quite fashionable.

Horwood’s private practice was probably never very large because he had set himself up in competition to many long-established architects such as John Hamilton Gordon Russell*, Joseph Greenfield, and Samuel Frank Peters, whose operations took in much of the available work. Nationally known firms such as Darling and Pearson [see John Andrew Pearson; Frank Darling*], Edward and W. S. Maxwell [see Edward Maxwell*], and Sproatt and Rolph [see Henry Sproatt], and American companies such as Carrère and Hastings and Warren and Wetmore, had also found clients in Winnipeg, leaving the market finely divided. Horwood’s business may have been further limited by his retiring character. Surviving impressions indicate that he was probably not an outgoing person, though he was a charter member of the local lodge of the Knights of Pythias (1906), belonged to the T-Square Society and the Manitoba Society of Artists, and lectured on architecture to the Young Men’s Christian Association.

On 17 Jan. 1911 Horwood was appointed assistant to the provincial architect, Samuel Hooper*. His Conservative leanings and the influence of his father-in-law may have helped him obtain the position. He closed his private practice. The appointment gave him a steady income and allowed Horwood and his wife to move to the more upper-class Wellington Crescent, where they built a new house during 1911–12. After Hooper’s sudden death Horwood was confirmed as provincial architect on 2 Nov. 1911, and, according to a contemporary source, he became responsible for “all the architectural work and building construction undertaken by the province, involving the expenditure of millions of dollars yearly.” At that time, the Conservative government of Rodmond Palen Roblin was in the second phase of an ambitious building program initiated by Hooper during 1905–6. This phase entailed the completion of a new agricultural college at St Vital (Winnipeg) and the erection of new structures in other cities and towns. An important part of the program involved the construction in Winnipeg of the new Law Courts Building (1913–16) and the neighbouring Central Power House (1915), both of which were designed by Horwood. The most important commission was not to be his, however. After a competition held throughout the British empire early in 1912, the contract for the design of a new legislative building was awarded to English architect Frank Worthington Simon and his partner, Henry Boddington. The provincial architect’s office would provide staff and perform routine tasks for Simon and would act as a buffer between him and local politicians. Horwood wrote an article on the project, which appeared in the November 1912 issue of Construction.

In July 1913 Horwood was appointed supervising architect on the legislative project in lieu of Simon. Supporters of the government insisted that the nomination was to placate Canadian architects who had objected to the presence of non-Canadians in the competition. Critics of the government would later allege that the assignment had given the Conservative Party complete control of the project.

Work on the legislative buildings began in August 1913. The following year, when the government announced that the structure, initially to cost about $2.8 million, would require an additional $1.75 million, Tobias Crawford Norris’s Liberal opposition, which had suspected negligence and corruption, demanded an investigation. The royal commission appointed to inquire into certain matters relating to the new parliament buildings was established on 1 April 1915 and headed by Chief Justice Thomas Graham Mathers. There were difficulties: the government had destroyed key documents; the contractor, Thomas Kelly, was not cooperative; and Horwood, an important witness, had left for Rochester, Minn., to have a malignant growth removed from his face, and was involved in keeping another witness, William Salt, assistant inspector of the buildings, in the United States. Nonetheless, the commission uncovered evidence of shoddy construction and government cover-ups. Kelly had grossly overcharged for materials and work and had made substantial kickbacks to the Conservative Party. Salt had falsified his records of caisson inspections at the urging of Horwood, who, in turn, had acted on the orders of his superiors. The provincial architect had probably assumed the role of cat’s paw for his political masters. The Roblin government resigned on 12 May; Horwood followed on 27 May. While recovering in Minneapolis, he stated to a Winnipeg Telegram reporter that he felt that he had been made the “goat” in the scandal. He added that he had been ruined financially and professionally; he would never practise again. Granted immunity from prosecution, he testified before commission members in Minneapolis against his former employers, incriminating several people.

Horwood and his wife sold their home on Wellington Crescent in the spring of 1916 and took up homesteading west of Matlock, where he remained, leading the life of a gentleman farmer. An officer in the militia since at least 1907, he had resigned his commission as captain of G Company in the 90th (Winnipeg) Battalion of Rifles in March 1914, citing his exacting duties as provincial architect, but he would remain a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the freemasons until his death. Occasionally, he contributed a short story, poem, or artwork to the Winnipeg Evening Tribune, the Manitoba Free Press, or the Western Home Monthly. In August 1919 he began to publish another series of plans for residences and other structures in the Farmer’s Advocate and Home Journal. These would run until 1924. The home series resumed in the Nor’-West Farmer in February 1926 and continued until the end of April 1936, restarted in the Country Guide and Nor’-West Farmer of May 1937 and ended in February 1938. The articles appear to have provided him with a modest income. Aside from this output, he had prepared an unpublished 100-page history of the Manitoba Association of Architects. He died in 1939 and was buried in the Taylor family plot at Brookside Cemetery in Winnipeg. A competent architect in a crowded professional field, he had fallen victim to political gamesmanship.

Randy R. Rostecki

Victor William Horwood is the author of “Designs for stable,” Canadian Architect and Builder (Toronto), 19 (1906): 134–35, “The new legislative and executive building, Winnipeg, Manitoba,” Construction (Toronto), 5 (1912): 69–78, and “Down the years,” Nor’-West Farmer and Farm and Home (Winnipeg), 20 June 1932. He also published architectural plans for residences and other structures in Western Home Monthly (Winnipeg) from February 1905 to December 1910, Farmer’s Advocate and Home Journal (Winnipeg) from August 1919 to April 1924, Nor’-West Farmer (Winnipeg) and the publication that succeeded it, Nor’-West Farmer and Farm and Home (Winnipeg), from February 1926 to April 1936, and the Country Guide and Nor’-West Farmer (Winnipeg) from May 1937 to February 1938.

AM, D 309 (Knights of Pythias), f.2; P 6837 (Winnipeg T-Square Society). City of Winnipeg, Arch. and records control branch, City Clerk’s dept., building permits, 1906–10. GRO, Reg. of births, Frome, 9 April 1874. LAC, R233-37-6, Ottawa, Central Ward, dist.100, subdist.b-4. Man., Dept. of Tourism, Culture, Heritage, Sport and Consumer Protection, Vital statistics agency (Winnipeg), no.1906-001784. Manitoba Free Press, 28 May, 16 July, 15 Aug. 1904; 6 April, 6, 17 May, 8, 29 July 1905; 28 June 1906; 1 April 1907; 23 May, 14 Nov. 1908; 13 March, 29 May 1909; 1 Nov. 1911; 21 April, 28 May 1915; 9 Aug. 1930. Manitoba Gazette (Winnipeg), 28 Jan., 18 Nov. 1911. La Minerve (Montréal), 3 janv. 1881. Winnipeg Telegram, 5 Oct. 1907; 1 Oct. 1910; 9 March 1914; 21 April, 6, 27, 28, 31 May, 10–11 June 1915. Winnipeg Tribune, 25 April 1906, 5 Aug. 1907, 4 May 1909, 20 March 1937, 15 March 1939, 27 Jan. 1940. Marilyn Baker, Symbol in stone: the art and politics of a public building: Manitoba’s third legislative building (Winnipeg, 1986). Man., Royal commission to inquire into certain matters relating to the new parliament buildings, Report (Winnipeg, 1915). Provincial government of Manitoba: various public buildings (Winnipeg, [1911?]). F. H. Schofield, The story of Manitoba (3v., Winnipeg, 1913). Who’s who in Canada, 1922.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Randy R. Rostecki, “HORWOOD, VICTOR WILLIAM,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 23, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/horwood_victor_william_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/horwood_victor_william_16E.html
Author of Article: Randy R. Rostecki
Title of Article: HORWOOD, VICTOR WILLIAM
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: October 23, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MURRAY, LOUISA ANNIE – Volume XII (1891-1900)

née le 23 mai 1818 à Carisbrooke, Angleterre

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

HORWOOD, VICTOR WILLIAM, architecte, auteur, fonctionnaire, officier de milice et gentleman-farmer, né le 27 février 1874 à Frome, Angleterre, fils de Harry Horwood et d’Ellen Mary Long ; le 18 septembre 1906, il épousa à Winnipeg Claratina Taylor ; décédé le 15 mars 1939 à Matlock, Manitoba.

Le père de Victor William Horwood était un artiste en vitraux qui immigra au Canada et établit son affaire à Prescott, en Ontario, en 1876. Victor William arriva plus tard, probablement en 1881, avec sa mère et ses frères. Il fréquenta les écoles publiques de Prescott et fit des études en art à New York et à Minneapolis, au Minnesota. À son retour au Canada, il entama son apprentissage dans le bureau de son frère aîné, l’architecte Edgar Lewis Horwood, installé à Ottawa. Il travailla ensuite à Montréal, Toronto et Chicago pendant de courtes périodes. Comme il l’expliquerait dans un article publié en 1932, ses « voyages en quête de connaissances en architecture partout sur le continent » l’amenèrent à Winnipeg en février 1904.

Cette année-là, Horwood dressa les plans d’une école à Fort William (Thunder Bay), en Ontario, et d’une résidence pour Mme G. Nagy, à Winnipeg. Au cours de l’année 1905, son cabinet prospéra grâce à des commandes pour concevoir entre autres des résidences pour les hommes d’affaires John Sutton, William Chandler Birt et William G. Bell, et un immeuble d’habitation connu sous le nom de Bell Block. Il dessina les plans d’une école à Virden, puis d’autres écoles à Sintaluta, en Saskatchewan (1906), à Innisfail, en Alberta (1907), et à Kildonan (Winnipeg) (1908). Il s’associa à la Riverview Realty Company, qui mettait sur pied un quartier résidentiel de luxe dans le district de Fort Rouge à Winnipeg et, en 1906, se fit construire une maison à Riverview en prévision de son mariage avec Claratina, fille de Thomas William Taylor, député provincial et ancien maire de Winnipeg.

En février 1905, Horwood avait commencé à publier des modèles de maisons dans le Western Home Monthly. La série, qui comprenait également des plans pour un poulailler, une église et une grange, continua jusqu’en décembre 1910. Au cours de cette période, Horwood conçut de nombreux grands immeubles d’habitation pour John et William Moxam, notamment Moxam Court (1907), Waldron Court (1909), MacMillan Court (1910) et les appartements Vansittart (1910), ainsi que l’hôtel Keewatin Beach (1909), qui ne fut peut-être pas construit. Il fut également l’architecte d’au moins deux églises de la ville, de l’église presbytérienne St Paul (1906–1907) et de l’église évangélique luthérienne Holy Cross (1910), plus petite. Il créa également des édifices municipaux, notamment l’hôtel de ville de Saint-Boniface (1905–1906) et la caserne de pompiers no 1 (1907–1908) située à proximité. De plus, il réalisa des plans pour une usine de papier goudronné à Elmwood (Winnipeg), commandés par la société Merrick, Anderson and Company (1908), ainsi que pour l’Avenue Theatre (1910–1911) de Winnipeg et pour un grand nombre de résidences, certaines répondant aux besoins du client, d’autres destinées à la revente. Beaucoup de ses constructions affichaient une ornementation néoclassique alors très en vogue.

Le cabinet de Horwood ne fut probablement jamais très florissant, car il se trouvait en compétition avec de nombreux architectes bien établis, tels John Hamilton Gordon Russell*, Joseph Greenfield et Samuel Frank Peters, qui récoltaient une grande partie des contrats. Des firmes reconnues à l’échelon national, comme la Darling and Pearson [V. John Andrew Pearson ; Frank Darling*], l’Edward and W. S. Maxwell [V. Edward Maxwell*] et la Sproatt and Rolph [V. Henry Sproatt], ainsi que des sociétés américaines telles que la Carrère and Hastings et la Warren and Wetmore, avaient elles aussi trouvé des clients à Winnipeg, divisant davantage le marché. Les affaires de Horwood souffrirent peut-être aussi de son tempérament réservé. Même s’il fut membre fondateur de la section locale des Knights of Pythias en 1906, membre de la T-Square Society et de la Manitoba Society of Artists, et même s’il donnait des conférences sur l’architecture à la Young Men’s Christian Association, il laissa l’impression de ne pas être extraverti de nature.

Le 17 janvier 1911, Horwood fut nommé assistant de l’architecte provincial, Samuel Hooper*. Ses tendances politiques conservatrices et l’influence de son beau-père l’aidèrent probablement à obtenir ce poste. Il ferma son cabinet. Cette nomination lui procura un revenu régulier et lui permit de s’installer avec sa femme à Wellington Crescent, quartier plus chic, où ils se firent construire une nouvelle maison en 1911–1912. Après la mort subite de Hooper, la nomination de Horwood au poste d’architecte provincial fut confirmée le 2 novembre 1911 et, selon une source contemporaine, il devint responsable de « tous les travaux d’architecture et de construction entrepris par la province, entraînant des dépenses annuelles de millions de dollars ». À cette époque, le gouvernement conservateur de Rodmond Palen Roblin poursuivait la deuxième phase d’un ambitieux programme de construction lancé par Hooper en 1905–1906. Cette phase comprenait l’achèvement d’un nouveau collège d’agriculture à Saint-Vital (Winnipeg) et l’érection de nouvelles structures dans d’autres villes. Une grande partie du programme consistait en la construction d’un nouveau palais de justice à Winnipeg, qui durerait de 1913 à 1916, et de la centrale électrique voisine, qui serait terminée en 1915 ; ces deux édifices furent conçus par Horwood. La commande la plus importante ne lui fut toutefois pas accordée. À la suite d’un concours tenu dans tout l’Empire britannique au début de 1912, le contrat pour la conception de nouveaux édifices du Parlement fut adjugé à l’architecte anglais Frank Worthington Simon et à son partenaire, Henry Boddington. Le bureau de l’architecte provincial fournirait le personnel, exécuterait des tâches de routine pour Simon et agirait comme intermédiaire entre celui-ci et les hommes politiques locaux. Horwood écrivit un article sur le projet, qui fut publié dans le numéro de novembre 1912 de Construction.

En juillet 1913, Horwood fut engagé, au lieu de Simon, comme architecte coordinateur du projet de palais législatif. Les partisans du gouvernement firent valoir que cette nomination avait pour but d’apaiser les architectes canadiens qui s’étaient opposés à la présence de non-Canadiens dans le concours. Les critiques du gouvernement allégueraient ultérieurement que la nomination avait donné au Parti conservateur un pouvoir absolu sur le projet.

Les travaux de construction commencèrent en août 1913. L’année suivante, lorsque le gouvernement annonça que la structure, qui devait coûter au départ 2,8 millions de dollars, nécessiterait 1,75 million supplémentaire, l’opposition libérale de Tobias Crawford Norris, ayant flairé la négligence et la corruption, réclama une enquête. La commission royale, mise sur pied le 1er avril 1915 pour examiner certaines questions relatives aux nouveaux édifices parlementaires, était présidée par le juge en chef Thomas Graham Mathers. Des difficultés surgirent : le gouvernement avait détruit des documents clés ; l’entrepreneur, Thomas Kelly, n’était pas coopératif ; Horwood, témoin important, était parti à Rochester, au Minnesota, pour se faire enlever une excroissance maligne du visage et avait contribué à maintenir aux États-Unis un autre témoin, William Salt, inspecteur adjoint des édifices. Néanmoins, la commission découvrit des preuves que la construction était de mauvaise qualité et que le gouvernement avait procédé à des dissimulations. Kelly avait grossièrement surfacturé les matériaux et la main-d’œuvre et avait versé de substantielles ristournes au Parti conservateur. Salt avait falsifié ses dossiers d’inspection des caissons à la demande pressante de Horwood qui, de son côté, avait agi sur l’ordre de ses supérieurs. L’architecte provincial avait probablement été dupé par ses maîtres politiques. Le gouvernement Roblin démissionna le 12 mai, puis Horwood le 27 mai. Pendant sa convalescence à Minneapolis, il déclara à un journaliste du Winnipeg Telegram qu’il avait l’impression d’avoir été le bouc émissaire dans ce scandale. Il ajouta qu’il avait été ruiné financièrement et professionnellement : jamais plus il n’exercerait sa profession. Jouissant d’une immunité contre les poursuites judiciaires, il témoigna devant les membres de la commission à Minneapolis contre ses anciens employeurs, incriminant plusieurs personnes.

Victor William Horwood et sa femme vendirent leur maison de Wellington Crescent au printemps de 1916 et acquirent une ferme à l’ouest de Matlock ; Horwood y passerait le reste de sa vie, menant une existence de gentleman-farmer. Officier de milice depuis au moins 1907, il avait démissionné de sa charge de capitaine de la compagnie G du 90th (Winnipeg) Battalion of Rifles en mars 1914, invoquant ses tâches astreignantes à titre d’architecte provincial, mais il resterait membre de l’Independent Order of Odd Fellows et franc-maçon jusqu’à sa mort. À l’occasion, il envoyait une nouvelle, un poème ou une œuvre graphique au Winnipeg Evening Tribune, au Manitoba Free Press ou au Western Home Monthly. Du mois d’août 1919 jusqu’en 1924, il publia une autre série de plans de maisons et de différentes structures dans le Farmer’s Advocate and Home Journal. La publication reprit dans le Nor’-West Farmer en février 1926, se poursuivit jusqu’à la fin d’avril 1936, recommença dans le Country Guide and Nor’-West Farmer en mai 1937 et se termina en février 1938. Ces articles semblent lui avoir procuré un modeste revenu. Il avait en outre préparé un ouvrage de 100 pages, qui demeura inédit, sur l’histoire de la Manitoba Association of Architects. Il mourut en 1939 et fut inhumé dans le lot de la famille Taylor au cimetière Brookside de Winnipeg. Architecte compétent dans un secteur professionnel encombré, Horwood était devenu la victime de stratagèmes politiques.

Randy R. Rostecki

Victor William Horwood est l’auteur de « Designs for stable », Canadian Architect and Builder (Toronto), 19 (1906) : 134–135, « The new legislative and executive building, Winnipeg, Manitoba », Construction (Toronto), 5 (1912) : 69–78, et « Down the years », Nor’-West Farmer and Farm and Home (Winnipeg), 20 juin 1932. Il a également publié des plans d’architecture de résidences et d’autres structures dans Western Home Monthly (Winnipeg), de février 1905 à décembre 1910, Farmer’s Advocate and Home Journal (Winnipeg), d’août 1919 à avril 1924, Nor’-West Farmer (Winnipeg) et la publication qui lui a succédé, Nor’-West Farmer and Farm and Home (Winnipeg), de février 1926 à avril 1936, et Country Guide and Nor’-West Farmer (Winnipeg), de mai 1937 à février 1938.

AM, D 309 (Knights of Pythias), f.2 ; P 6837 (Winnipeg T-Square Society).— BAC, R233-37-6, Ottawa, Central Ward, dist. 100, subdist. b-4.— GRO, Reg. of births, Frome, 9 avril 1874.— Manitoba, Ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture, du Patrimoine, du Sport et de la Protection du consommateur, Bureau de l’état civil (Winnipeg), no 1906-001784.—Ville de Winnipeg, Dir. des arch. et des doc. publics, City Clerk’s dept., building permits, 1906–1910.— Manitoba Free Press, 28 mai, 16 juill., 15 août 1904 ; 6 avril, 6, 17 mai, 8, 29 juill. 1905 ; 28 juin 1906 ; 1er avril 1907 ; 23 mai, 14 nov. 1908 ; 13 mars, 29 mai 1909 ; 1er nov. 1911 ; 21 avril, 28 mai 1915 ; 9 août 1930.— Manitoba Gazette (Winnipeg), 28 janv., 18 nov. 1911.— La Minerve (Montréal), 3 janv. 1881.— Winnipeg Telegram, 5 oct. 1907 ; 1er oct. 1910 ; 9 mars 1914 ; 21 avril, 6 mai, 27–28, 31 mai, 10–11 juin 1915.— Winnipeg Tribune, 25 avril 1906, 5 août 1907, 4 mai 1909, 20 mars 1937, 15 mars 1939, 27 janv. 1940.— Marilyn Baker, Symbol in stone : the art and politics of a public building : Manitoba’s third legislative building (Winnipeg, 1986).— Manitoba, Royal commission to inquire into certain matters relating to the new parliament buildings, Report (Winnipeg, 1915).— Provincial government of Manitoba : various public buildings (Winnipeg, [1911 ?]).— F. H. Schofield, The story of Manitoba (3 vol., Winnipeg, 1913).— Who’s who in Canada, 1922.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Randy R. Rostecki, « HORWOOD, VICTOR WILLIAM », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 mai 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/horwood_victor_william_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/horwood_victor_william_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Randy R. Rostecki
Titre de l'article:   HORWOOD, VICTOR WILLIAM
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   23 mai 2017