DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

RAMEZAY, LOUISE DE – Volume IV (1771-1800)

d. 22 Oct. 1776 at Chambly (Que.)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Photo tirée de Biographies Canadiennes-Françaises, de Raphaël Ouimet, 1922.

Courtesy of Jean-Claude Dionne.

Source: Link

GUYON, LOUIS (baptized Pierre-Louis-Henri), author, labourer, insurance agent, union leader, and civil servant; b. 3 July 1853 in Sandy Hill (Hudson Falls), N.Y., son of Henry (Henri) Guyon, a saddler, and Domithilde Desjarlais; m. 19 Sept. 1882 Victoria Lefebvre (d. 11 Nov. 1918) in the parish of Saint-Joseph, Montreal, and they had nine children, six of whom reached adulthood; d. 15 Nov. 1933 in Montreal and was buried there three days later in Notre-Dame-des-Neiges cemetery.

Franco-American by birth, Louis Guyon was the fifth of eight children. Towards the end of the 1850s his family settled in Montreal, where he studied with the Brothers of the Christian Schools and pursued technical training. He was a machinist by 1880 but would leave that job in 1885 to become an insurance agent with the Citizens’ Insurance Company of Canada.

Guyon became involved in the union movement at the beginning of the 1880s when he joined the Knights of Labor [see Olivier-David Benoît*]. He was elected master workman of the Concorde Assembly and secretary of Assembly No. 114 in 1885. On 12 Jan. 1886 he became the first president of the Central Trades and Labor Council of Montreal (CTLC).

It was in 1885 that an act to protect the life and health of persons employed in factories was signed into law under the provincial Conservative government of John Jones Ross*. A misunderstanding surrounding the Knights of Labor, which arose as a result of the pastoral letter issued by Elzéar-Alexandre Taschereau*, archbishop of Quebec, condemning certain organizations, delayed the act’s implementation. In fact, the appointment of factory inspectors, which was necessary if the act was to be brought into force, did not occur until 8 May 1888, the date on which the provincial Liberal government of Honoré Mercier* finally named three inspectors: Charles T. Côté, James Mitchell, and Guyon. Mercier wanted the inspectors to come from management and labour. Guyon, who not only had the support of the leaders of the CTLC but was also a Liberal, was a prime candidate.

With a wealth of experience and knowledge of the working class and labour relations, Guyon soon displayed his leadership qualities within the small team. There was plenty to do: define the powers and duties of inspectors, organize inspections, investigate accidents, distribute copies of regulations to companies, and draw up regulations concerning unsafe factories, industrial establishments, and the minimum hiring age for children. The work was not carried out in a vacuum. The three appointees became members of State Factory Inspectors, which had been founded in the United States in 1887 and was renamed the International Association of Factory Inspectors of North America in 1891. The thirteenth annual convention of the organization took place in Quebec City from 29 to 31 Aug. 1899 and the seventeenth in Montreal from 25 to 27 Aug. 1903. The many exchanges among the participants at the conventions covered all aspects of inspection and safety. In 1910 Guyon was elected president of the association for a one-year period. His faithful attendance at the meetings for more than 20 years and his sound knowledge of labour laws in North America and Europe, among other factors, justified his obtaining the position.

Guyon also kept an eye out for new developments in Europe. A year after his appointment as inspector of factories, he attended the first international congress on workplace accidents, held in Paris. As secretary of its statistics and administration section, he met delegates from a number of countries, including inspectors and directors of museums of accident prevention with whom he would maintain regular correspondence for several years. He brought back to Quebec a splendid illustrated album, entitled Collection de dispositions et d’appareils destinés à éviter les accidents de machines, produced by the Association pour Prévenir les Accidents de Fabrique. It contained many examples of safety mechanisms for transmission belts, hoists, woodworking and textile-industry machines, lifting devices, rolling mills, and construction workshops; the book also included examples of tools for manufacturing paper and handling corrosive liquids as well as tube surrounds for boiler water-level gauges. The volume gave him the idea of organizing an exhibition in Montreal about ways to prevent workplace accidents. Guyon regularly applied for funds from the government and industrialists to obtain the various kinds of safety equipment required to install the displays. In 1900 he travelled to the universal exposition in Paris with the sum of $1,600 ($1,000 from the government and $600 from factory owners). He attended the international congress on workplace accidents and social insurance as well as the first international congress for the legal protection of workers, and he visited an exhibition on accident-prevention methods and devices. On his return to Montreal he carried out his plan for an exhibition. The first of its kind on the North American continent, it opened on 23 Sept. 1901 in the former St Gabriel Street Church, at the corner of Rue Saint-Gabriel and Rue Saint-Jacques, where it remained until 1903. Through a government grant in 1909 the exhibition was designated a museum; it was officially inaugurated in 1910 and installed in the Montreal Technical School the following year.

Guyon, who was well known for his knowledge of various aspects of safety and inspection, had been appointed chief inspector of the province’s industrial establishment and public-building inspection branch in December 1900. In 1919 he became the first deputy minister of the Department of Public Works and Labour, an office he would hold until his retirement on 12 Nov. 1931. In addition to dealing with day-to-day tasks associated with the administrative positions he held simultaneously (such as planning and following up on inspection visits, assisting at coroners’ inquests as an expert witness, and making improvements to labour regulations), he gave lectures, delivered some 20 papers to the annual conferences of the International Association of Factory Inspectors of North America, and published at least two articles in the Bulletin sanitaire. A prominent figure in the fields of workplace health and safety in Quebec, Guyon demonstrated great ability, curiosity, initiative, dynamism, commitment, and determination to improve conditions for workers. As a delegate from Quebec and Canada, he took part in several other national and international conferences, including the first session of the International Labor Conference in Washington, held from 29 Oct. to 29 Nov. 1919.

During the four decades of his career as a civil servant, Guyon contributed to the development, modification, and implementation of almost all the laws and regulations within his areas of competence. As soon as he returned from the Paris conference in 1889, he persuaded the government to give royal assent to an act amending the law on the protection of employees in factories, which enabled the appointment of a medical officer of health. In 1904 he supported the bill on industrial accidents [see Sir Horace Archambeault*]. He also took part in drafting the legislation relating to working hours for women and children in some factories (1910) and foundries (1911), and the provision of one day of rest per week for employees in certain industries (1918).

Guyon had shown an interest in the dramatic arts before entering the labour movement. In 1878, at the age of 25, he presented his first stage play, Le secret du rocher noir, in Montreal. The work was very French in style, as were those that followed: La fleur de lys (1879), À la Bastille (1879), Tony l’espion (1881), and Luigi l’empoisonneur (1881). These plays were very successful in Montreal, first at the Salle de l’Opéra and especially at the Theatre Royal, featuring the amateur performers of the Cercle Jacques-Cartier. Guyon wrote nine original plays for the group, of which he was also a member. Some 20 years later Guyon’s productions bore more of a resemblance to the American Broadway model. The first of this series, Denis le patriote, was very well received on 15 Sept. 1902 at the Théâtre National Français in Montreal. The second, Joe Montferrand, was presented on 26 Oct. 1903 at the same theatre. This stunning show was enormously popular: it ran for three consecutive weeks and was staged at least three more times. Similarly, Guyon’s third play, Montcalm, performed at the Théâtre National Français on 25 Nov. 1907, was a resounding success. Several of his dramas were also produced in Quebec City. Indefatigable, Guyon translated into French two comedies, one story, and a play by English and Spanish authors. In addition, he published Étude généalogique sur Jean Guyon et ses descendants in Montreal in 1927. His broad knowledge and his literary qualities won him admission to the Société des Auteurs Français; furthermore, on 1 May 1910 the French government made him a member of the Ordre des Palmes Académiques. A prolific author, Guyon made a remarkable contribution to the development of the theatre in Quebec. The themes of his plays, in the early years of the 20th century, show that he was one of the pioneers of a dramatic art that was inspired by national sentiment.

Louis Guyon died on 15 Nov. 1933, in his home at 3434 Avenue Laval, Montreal, at the age of 80. The funeral service took place in the chapel of the parish of Saint-Louis-de-France. Representatives from political circles, the civil service, the theatre, and the labour movement attended the ceremony. Le Monde ouvrier commented on his death: “We owe to him nearly all the labour legislation in our provincial statutes because for more than forty years he collaborated on all the measures aiming to improve the lot of the working class [, which] has lost a true friend and a devoted protector.”

Jean-Claude Dionne

At the annual convention of the International Assoc. of Factory Inspectors of North America, Louis Guyon delivered, among other speeches, the following: “Emery wheels: their use and misuse,” Proc. (Toronto, 1896), 25–28, and “Can our methods of handling belts be improved?,” Proc. (Detroit, 1897), 46–49. He wrote at least two technical articles: “Des dangers dans la fabrication des allumettes,” Bull. sanitaire (Montréal), 10 (1910): 101–7, and “Conditions d’insalubrité des établissements industriels,” Bull. sanitaire, 16 (1916): 86–92. He is also the author of the play Un mariage à la gaumine (Montréal, 1904) and the melodrama Les ceintures fléchées (s.l., 1928).

BANQ-CAM, CE601-S38, 19 sept. 1882. BANQ-MCQ, CE401-S15, 21 juill. 1855. FD, Notre-Dame (Montréal), 13 nov. 1918, 18 nov. 1933. Le Devoir, 16 nov. 1933. Labor World (Montreal), 18 Nov. 1933. La Patrie, 23 sept. 1901, 27 août 1903. Violette Allaire, “Notes bio-bibliographiques sur Louis Guyon …” (travail de ba, univ. de Montréal, 1953). Archidiocèse de Québec, Mandement de Monseigneur E.‑A. Taschereau, archevêque de Québec, sur certaines sociétés défendues, 19 avril 1886 ([Québec?, 1886?]). BCF, 1920. Jean Béraud, 350 ans de théâtre au Canada français (Ottawa, 1958). J.‑C. Dionne, “Notes de recherche: documents pour l’étude des expositions et musées pour la prévention des accidents et des maladies du travail au Québec au début du siècle,” Labour (St John’s), 40 (1997): 199–211. Jean Doat, Anthologie du théâtre québécois (Québec, 1973). Bernard La Mothe, “Naissance de la prévention au Québec: visite guidée … dans le temps,” Prévention au travail (Montréal), 15 (hiver 2002), no.1: 7–14. Éric Leroux, “Louis Guyon,” Regroupement des Chercheurs-Chercheures en Hist. des Travailleurs et Travailleuses du Québec, Bull. (Montréal), 21 (1995), no.3: 3–4. Que., Parl., Sessional papers, 1890 (reports of the factory inspector, 1888–90); 1899–1901 (reports of the industrial establishments and public buildings inspector, 1898–1900); 1903–5, 1907–9 (reports of the chief inspector, 1902–4, 1906–9); 1919–20, 1923–24, 1931–32 (reports of the Deputy Minister of Labour, 1918–19, 1922–23, 1930–31). Soc. for the Prevention of Accidents in Factories, Collection de dispositions et d’appareils destinés à éviter les accidents de machines (Mulhouse, France, 1889). La vie littéraire au Québec, sous la dir. de Maurice Lemire et al. (6v. parus, Sainte-Foy [Québec], 1991–    ), 4, 5.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jean-Claude Dionne, “GUYON, LOUIS (baptized Pierre-Louis-Henri),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 22, 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/guyon_louis_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/guyon_louis_16E.html
Author of Article:   Jean-Claude Dionne
Title of Article:   GUYON, LOUIS (baptized Pierre-Louis-Henri)
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2020
Year of revision:   2020
Access Date:   October 22, 2020

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

FLETCHER, JAMES – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2020

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Photo tirée de Biographies Canadiennes-Françaises, de Raphaël Ouimet, 1922.

Avec l’aimable autorisation de Jean-Claude Dionne.

Provenance : Lien

GUYON, LOUIS (baptisé Pierre-Louis-Henri), auteur, ouvrier, agent d’assurance, chef syndical et fonctionnaire, né le 3 juillet 1853 à Sandy Hill (Hudson Falls, New York), fils de Henry (Henri) Guyon, sellier, et de Domithilde Desjarlais ; le 19 septembre 1882, il épousa dans la paroisse Saint-Joseph, Montréal, Victoria Lefebvre (décédée le 11 novembre 1918), et ils eurent neuf enfants, dont six atteignirent l’âge adulte ; décédé le 15 novembre 1933 à Montréal et inhumé trois jours plus tard au cimetière Notre-Dame-des-Neiges, dans la même ville.

Franco-Américain de naissance, Louis Guyon est le cinquième de huit enfants. Vers la fin des années 1850, sa famille s’installe à Montréal, où il étudie chez les Frères des écoles chrétiennes et s’oriente vers une formation technique. Ouvrier machiniste en 1880, il délaissera cet emploi en 1885 pour celui d’agent d’assurance à la Compagnie d’assurance des citoyens du Canada.

Guyon s’implique au sein du mouvement syndical dès le commencement des années 1880, lorsqu’il adhère aux Chevaliers du travail [V. Olivier-David Benoît*]. Il est élu maître ouvrier de l’assemblée la Concorde et secrétaire de l’assemblée no 114 en 1885. Le 12 janvier 1886, il devient le premier président du Conseil central des métiers et du travail de Montréal.

L’Acte pour protéger la vie et la santé des personnes employées dans les manufactures a été sanctionné en 1885 sous le gouvernement provincial conservateur de John Jones Ross*. Le malentendu créé autour des Chevaliers du travail par le mandement sur certaines sociétés défendues de Mgr Elzéar-Alexandre Taschereau*, archevêque de Québec, retarde sa mise en œuvre. En effet, la nomination des inspecteurs des manufactures, nécessaire à son application, n’a lieu que le 8 mai 1888, date à laquelle le gouvernement provincial libéral d’Honoré Mercier* en désigne enfin trois : Charles T. Côté, James Mitchell et Guyon. Mercier désire que les inspecteurs proviennent des milieux patronal et syndical. Guyon, ayant l’appui des dirigeants du Conseil central des métiers et du travail de Montréal et, de surcroît, d’allégeance libérale, est un candidat de premier choix.

Guyon, fort de son expérience et de ses connaissances du monde ouvrier et des relations de travail, manifeste rapidement son leadership au sein de la petite équipe. Tout est à faire : définir les pouvoirs et les devoirs des inspecteurs, organiser des inspections, enquêter sur des accidents, distribuer les textes des règlements dans les entreprises, élaborer des règlements sur les manufactures insalubres, les établissements industriels et l’âge minimum d’embauche des enfants. Ces travaux ne se font pas en vase clos. Les trois inspecteurs deviennent membres de la State Factory Inspectors, créée aux États-Unis en 1887 et renommée International Association of Factory Inspectors of North America en 1891. Le treizième congrès annuel de l’organisation a lieu à Québec du 29 au 31 août 1899 et le dix-septième, à Montréal du 25 au 27 août 1903. Les nombreux échanges entre les participants y englobent tous les aspects de l’inspection et de la prévention. Guyon est élu président de l’association en 1910, et ce, pour un an. Sa présence constante aux réunions pendant plus de 20 ans et sa profonde connaissance des lois sur le travail en Amérique du Nord et en Europe, notamment, justifient son accession à ce poste.

Guyon est également à l’affût des nouveautés européennes. Un an après sa nomination comme inspecteur des manufactures, il a assisté à Paris au premier Congrès international des accidents du travail. Secrétaire de la section de statistique et d’administration, il rencontre des délégués de plusieurs pays, des inspecteurs et des directeurs de musées de prévention avec qui il entretiendra une correspondance régulière pendant plusieurs années. Il rapporte au Québec un magnifique album illustré, intitulé Collection de dispositions et d’appareils destinés à éviter les accidents de machines et produit par l’Association pour prévenir les accidents de fabrique. On y trouve de nombreux dispositifs de sûreté pour les courroies de transmission, les monte-charges, les machines pour travailler le bois et pour l’industrie textile, les appareils de levage, les laminoirs, les ateliers de construction, la fabrication du papier, le maniement des liquides corrosifs et l’entourage des tubes indicateurs du niveau d’eau des chaudières. De là lui vient l’idée d’organiser à Montréal une exposition sur les moyens de prévenir les accidents du travail. Guyon sollicite régulièrement des fonds auprès du gouvernement et des industriels afin de se procurer les diverses machines de prévention nécessaires à sa réalisation. En 1900, il se rend à l’Exposition universelle de Paris avec une somme de 1 600 $ (1 000 $ proviennent du gouvernement et 600 $, des propriétaires de manufactures). Il assiste au Congrès international des accidents du travail et des assurances sociales, au premier Congrès international pour la protection légale des travailleurs et visite une exposition sur les moyens et dispositifs de prévention. À son retour à Montréal, il concrétise son projet d’exposition. Celle-ci – la première du genre sur le continent nord-américain – ouvre ses portes le 23 septembre 1901 dans l’ancienne église St Gabriel Street, à l’angle des rues Saint-Gabriel et Saint-Jacques. Elle se poursuit jusqu’en 1903, puis, grâce à l’octroi de fonds gouvernementaux en 1909, devient un musée dont l’inauguration officielle a lieu en 1910 et qu’on installe à l’école technique de Montréal l’année suivante.

Guyon, dont les connaissances sur divers aspects liés à la prévention et à l’inspection sont reconnues, a été nommé inspecteur en chef du Service d’inspection des établissements industriels et des édifices publics en décembre 1900. En 1919, il devient le premier sous-ministre des Travaux publics et du Travail, fonction qu’il exercera jusqu’à sa retraite, le 12 novembre 1931. Outre les tâches courantes associées à ces postes de direction qu’il occupe simultanément (comme la planification et le suivi des visites d’inspection, la contribution à des enquêtes de coroners à titre de témoin expert et la bonification des règlements sur le travail), il donne des conférences, présente une vingtaine de communications aux congrès annuels de l’International Association of Factory Inspectors of North America et publie au moins deux articles dans le Bulletin sanitaire. Figure marquante dans les domaines de la santé et de la sécurité au travail au Québec, Guyon fait preuve d’envergure, de curiosité, d’initiative, de dynamisme, d’engagement et de détermination pour améliorer les conditions de travail des ouvriers. À titre de délégué de la province de Québec et du Canada, il participe à plusieurs autres congrès nationaux et internationaux, dont la première session de la Conférence internationale du travail à Washington, du 29 octobre au 29 novembre 1919.

Au cours des quatre décennies de sa carrière de fonctionnaire, Guyon a contribué à l’élaboration, aux modifications et à l’application de la quasi-totalité des lois et règlements relatifs à ses domaines de compétence. Dès son retour du congrès de Paris de 1889, il convainc le gouvernement de sanctionner l’Acte amendant la loi concernant la protection des employés dans les manufactures, qui permet la nomination d’un médecin hygiéniste. En 1904, il appuie le projet de loi sur les accidents du travail [V. sir Horace Archambeault*]. Il participe aussi à la rédaction des lois sur les heures de travail des femmes et des enfants dans certaines manufactures (1910), sur les fonderies (1911) et sur un jour de repos par semaine pour les employés dans certaines industries (1918).

Guyon a manifesté de l’intérêt pour les arts dramatiques avant son entrée dans le milieu syndical. À l’âge de 25 ans, en 1878, il présente à Montréal sa première pièce de théâtre, le Secret du rocher noir. Celle-ci est de style très français, comme les suivantes : la Fleur de lys (1879), À la Bastille (1879), Tony l’espion (1881), Luigi l’empoisonneur (1881). Ces œuvres remportent beaucoup de succès à Montréal, d’abord à la salle de l’Opéra, mais surtout au Theatre Royal, auprès des amateurs du cercle Jacques-Cartier. Guyon écrit par ailleurs neuf pièces inédites pour ce groupe, dont il est aussi membre. Une vingtaine d’années plus tard, les productions de Guyon suivent plutôt le modèle de l’école américaine de Broadway. La première de cette série, Denis le patriote, est très bien accueillie le 15 septembre 1902 au Théâtre national français de Montréal. La deuxième, Joe Montferrand, est présentée le 26 octobre 1903 au National. Ce spectacle saisissant fait fureur. Il tient l’affiche trois semaines consécutives et est monté au moins trois fois de plus. Sa troisième œuvre, Montcalm, jouée au Théâtre national français le 25 novembre 1907, a également un franc succès. Plusieurs de ses pièces sont aussi mises en scène à Québec. Inlassable, Guyon traduit en français deux comédies, un conte et une pièce de théâtre d’auteurs anglais et espagnols. En 1927, il publie en outre à Montréal une Étude généalogique sur Jean Guyon et ses descendants. Sa grande culture et ses qualités littéraires lui ouvrent les portes de la Société des auteurs français ; de plus, le gouvernement français lui remet les Palmes académiques le 1er mai 1910. Auteur prolifique, Guyon contribue de façon remarquable à l’essor du théâtre au Québec. Les thèmes de ses pièces, en ce début du xxe siècle, montrent qu’il est un des pionniers d’une dramaturgie inspirée par le sentiment national.

Louis Guyon meurt le 15 novembre 1933, à son domicile du 3434 avenue Laval à Montréal, à l’âge de 80 ans. Le service funèbre a lieu en la chapelle de la paroisse Saint-Louis-de-France. Des représentants du monde politique, de la fonction publique, du théâtre et du milieu syndical y assistent. Le Monde ouvrier souligne ainsi son décès : « On lui doit presque toute la législation ouvrière que nous avons dans nos statuts provinciaux car pendant plus de quarante ans il collabora à toutes les mesures tendant à améliorer le sort de la classe ouvrière [qui] perd un ami sincère et un protecteur dévoué. »

Jean-Claude Dionne

Au congrès annuel de l’International Assoc. of Factory Inspectors of North America, Louis Guyon a donné notamment ces conférences : « Emery wheels : their use and misuse », Proc. (Toronto, 1896), 25–28, et « Can our methods of handling belts be improved ? », Proc. (Detroit, 1897), 46–49. Il a écrit au moins deux articles techniques : « Des dangers dans la fabrication des allumettes », Bull. sanitaire (Montréal), 10 (1910) : 101–107, et « Conditions d’insalubrité des établissements industriels », Bull. sanitaire, 16 (1916) : 86–92. Il est également l’auteur de la pièce de théâtre intitulée Un mariage à la gaumine (Montréal, 1904) et du mélodrame les Ceintures fléchées (s.l., 1928).

BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S38, 19 sept. 1882.— BAnQ-MCQ, CE401-S15, 21 juill. 1855.— FD, Notre-Dame (Montréal), 13 nov. 1918, 18 nov. 1933.— Le Devoir, 16 nov. 1933.— Le Monde ouvrier (Montréal), 18 nov. 1933.— La Patrie, 23 sept. 1901, 27 août 1903.— Violette Allaire, « Notes bio-bibliographiques sur Louis Guyon [...] » (travail de b.a., univ. de Montréal, 1953).— Archidiocèse de Québec, Mandement de Monseigneur E.-A. Taschereau, archevêque de Québec, sur certaines sociétés défendues, 19 avril 1886 ([Québec ?, 1886 ?]).— Assoc. pour prévenir les accidents de fabrique, Collection de dispositions et d’appareils destinés à éviter les accidents de machines (Mulhouse, France, 1889).— BCF, 1920.— Jean Béraud, 350 ans de théâtre au Canada français (Ottawa, 1958).— J.-C. Dionne, « Notes de recherche : documents pour l’étude des expositions et musées pour la prévention des accidents et des maladies du travail au Québec au début du siècle », le Travail (St John’s), 40 (1997) : 199–211.— Jean Doat, Anthologie du théâtre québécois (Québec, 1973).— Bernard La Mothe, « Naissance de la prévention au Québec : visite guidée... dans le temps », Prévention au travail (Montréal), 15 (hiver 2002), no 1 : 7–14.— Éric Leroux, « Louis Guyon », Regroupement des chercheurs-chercheures en hist. des travailleurs et travailleuses du Québec, Bull. (Montréal), 21 (1995), no 3 : 3–4.— Québec, Parl., Doc. de la session, 1890 (rapports de l’inspecteur des manufactures, 1888–1890) ; 1899–1901 (rapports de l’inspecteur des établissements industriels et des édifices publics, 1898–1900) ; 1903–1905, 1907–1909 (rapports de l’inspecteur en chef, 1902–1904, 1906–1909) ; 1919–1920, 1923–1924, 1931–1932 (rapports du sous-ministre du Travail, 1918–1919, 1922–1923, 1930–1931).— La Vie littéraire au Québec, sous la dir. de Maurice Lemire et al. (6 vol. parus, Sainte-Foy [Québec], 1991–    ), 4–5.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jean-Claude Dionne, « GUYON, LOUIS (baptisé Pierre-Louis-Henri) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 29 nov. 2020, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/guyon_louis_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/guyon_louis_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Jean-Claude Dionne
Titre de l'article:    GUYON, LOUIS (baptisé Pierre-Louis-Henri)
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2020
Année de la révision:    2020
Date de consultation:    29 novembre 2020