DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

GIROD, AMURY – Volume VII (1836-1850)

d. 18 Dec. 1837 in Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montreal)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Link

Source: Link

DUMOUCHEL, RAOUL (baptized Joseph-Léandre-Raoul), actor, notary, sports administrator, singer, journalist, and politician; b. 9 Nov. 1870 in the parish of Saint-Enfant-Jésus, Montreal, son of Louis-Napoléon Dumouchel, a notary, and Caroline Leblanc; m. 20 Aug. 1918 Blanche Laplante in Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montreal); d. there 12 Sept. 1931.

Raoul Dumouchel’s first school was the Collège Joliette, where his father had taught for a short time. In 1880–81 he took a bilingual commercial course there and won numerous prizes. The following year he attended the Petit Séminaire de Montréal. Dumouchel finished his classical studies in the period from 1888 to 1890 at the Collège Sainte-Marie. A brilliant student, he won the silver medal awarded by the governor general, Lord Stanley*. In 1891 he was admitted to the faculty of law at the Université Laval in Montreal. He articled with his father’s law office from 1891 to 1893, completed his llb in 1894, and was licenced as a notary on 8 September. He would be in partnership with his father until the latter’s death in 1904.

Throughout his career Dumouchel would never shirk his professional obligations. At the end of his life his minute-book would contain more than 7,000 instruments. According to his contemporaries, his office was one of the busiest in Montreal. But it was his involvement in the field of sports that would secure his claim to fame. Faithful to family tradition, which attached importance to physical fitness (his father had been a soldier), Dumouchel seems to have been able to strike the right balance between physical and mental development. As a student he had played baseball, lacrosse, football, handball, and hockey, among other sports. In the fall of 1896 he went to the Montreal Handball Club to coach the physician Joseph-Pierre Gadbois*, whom he had probably met at the Petit Séminaire de Montréal. Later on, the rapport between the two would be evident on many occasions.

Having worked as a journalist during his classical studies, Dumouchel became a sports editor at La Minerve in 1897, a position he held at several periodicals until 1904. La Minerve, which was attempting to modernize its content in order to compete with the new, French-language popular press, recognized the notary’s vast knowledge of sports and his connections with that world. (It would soon be said that he was a walking encyclopedia.) After La Minerve ceased publication in 1899, Dumouchel worked for Le Journal, the organ of the Conservative Party, which first appeared on 16 December. In 1901 he wrote for the Montreal periodical Le Pionnier and in 1903 for a new weekly published in that city, Le Sport (which would become Le Bulletin). He also penned many articles for La Patrie and La Presse.

At a time when a genuine sports culture was developing among francophones, Dumouchel often refereed important matches. His skills were much sought after by sports enthusiasts. In 1898, when the Montreal branch of the Association Saint-Jean-Baptiste came up with the idea for a grand sports tournament to enliven the French Canadian celebration, Dumouchel was one of the men chosen to organize it. The tournament being a success, the society again put its faith in him the following year and made him a member of its games committee. In September 1899 Dumouchel was a judge at a Labour Day athletic competition. He judged or refereed many matches of lacrosse, one of the most popular sports of the day. It was not only francophone groups that valued his vast knowledge of the game’s rules, but also, oddly, anglophone clubs who respected his impartiality.

His interest in trials of strength and his friendship with Gadbois, who was a supporter of these activities, led him to draw up the contract that would be signed by two strong women, Flosie La Blanche of New York and Magie Cloutier of Sherbrooke, Que. Not limiting himself to his role as notary, Dumouchel participated enthusiastically in lengthy discussions on how to determine the winner of a match: by the total number of points gained or the total number of pounds lifted. He and Gadbois were inclined to favour total weight, which they regarded as the more scientific approach. Dumouchel would maintain a keen interest in strong-men competitions throughout his life. In 1918 Léo Dandurand, who was to become one of the owners of the Canadiens hockey club, would pick Dumouchel to sit on a commission he had set up to organize a weightlifting tournament that would determine the champion strong man of North America.

But above all, it was his role in the administration and development of the Association Athlétique d’Amateurs Nationale that would ensure Dumouchel a certain longevity in the sports world. On 11 May 1895 he joined that important francophone organization founded on 2 April 1894 and better known, after 1918, as the Palestre Nationale. On 15 Dec. 1896 Dumouchel bought a $100 share, which made him a life member. At the annual meeting on 11 Nov. 1897 he was one of the nine members elected to the board of directors on which, until 22 November of the following year, he held the office of secretary (a post that he would again hold from 1912 to 1918). Among the responsibilities his colleagues assigned him was that of setting up activities intended to put money into the association’s coffers.

During the late 1890s Dumouchel took issue with the directors who wanted the AAAN to invest all its energy and its meagre resources in lacrosse. He argued in favour of an organization that would encompass a broad range of sports disciplines and would be competitive with the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association [see William George Beers*]. In the spring of 1913 and the spring of 1914 he obtained financial support from the AAAN for the runner Édouard Fabre, who in 1915 became the first French Canadian to win the Boston marathon. That year Dumouchel declared that to make the association better known, all sports should be encouraged. Ever persistent, he would voice this opinion again in November 1921. In his view the list of sports offered to members should be extended to include, among others, tennis, basketball, volleyball, and lawn bowling. He added that French Canadians had a talent for music and that this activity should be included in the AAAN program. In the same spirit, from AAAN’s earliest years, he had supported the proposal to build a huge gymnasium. This idea reappeared regularly on the agenda of the board of directors, but it would not begin to take definite shape until the extraordinary session of 13 Sept. 1913. That day Adolphe-Louis Caron, the president, submitted a proposal to the directors to purchase a large tract of land on Rue Cherrier. Dumouchel applauded this initiative, which, he believed, would enable as many members as possible to exercise.

A democrat at heart, Dumouchel encouraged members to participate in making the administrative decisions of their association. Thus, in May 1906 he had opposed, in vain, the majority of directors, who wanted to reserve directorships for life members. A pillar of the AAAN, Dumouchel attended almost all the general meetings held from 1895 to 1930. He sat on the board of directors as secretary, second vice-president (11 Dec. 1918 to 11 Nov. 1919), first vice-president (12 Nov. 1919 to 9 Nov. 1920) and president (10 Nov. 1920 to 8 Nov. 1921). He became the administrator when this position was created in 1920 and held the post for the remainder of his life. For several years he audited the financial statements. The directors elected him a member, secretary, or chairman of various committees: baseball, lacrosse, hockey, bowling and billiards, water polo, and physical education. He was their delegate to meetings of the National Amateur Lacrosse Union, the Dominion Lacrosse Association, the intermediate hockey league, the football league, and the Amateur Athletic Union of Canada.

On joining the board of the AAAN, Dumouchel had been given a mandate to revive Le National baseball club. This move came at a time when baseball was growing in popularity among French Canadians following the formation in 1896 of the Montreal Baseball Club and its subsequent affiliation in 1897 with the professional Eastern League. During the 1897 season the Montreal team, made up of American players, had drawn crowds to its field at the corner of Rue Sainte-Catherine and Avenue Atwater. That fall, to realize a return on its investment, the team asked Joseph (Joe) Page, an important figure in developing and popularizing baseball in the province of Quebec, to organize a league that would play on the club’s diamond, but the project did not materialize. The best amateur clubs in Montreal feared that the Eastern League would walk off with some of their gate receipts. To counter this risk several proposals for leagues were put forward. In February 1898 Le National considered setting up a provincial league composed of teams from Trois-Rivières, Sorel (Sorel-Tracy), Saint-Jean (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu), Hull (Gatineau), Farnham, and Saint-Hyacinthe. Aided by J.‑A. Marier, the president of the Indépendants de Montréal, Dumouchel sent a circular to several clubs and went in person to encourage those that were ambivalent. On 7 April 1898 the rules of the Ligue de la Province de Québec, commonly referred to as the Ligue Provinciale, were adopted. Dumouchel was named president of the association, which opened its season on 22 May and brought together three clubs from Montreal (National, Mascotte, and Indépendants), as well as teams from Sorel, Saint-Hyacinthe, and Saint-Jean. The new organization, created in response to the arrival of professional baseball in Montreal, may have seen itself as the future farm team of the Montreal club. Indeed, at the request of Charles Dooley, that club’s manager, Dumouchel assembled a team composed of the best players from the Ligue Provinciale, which played on 24 July against the Cuban Giants, a professional club established in New York City and made up entirely of American blacks. In this way Dooley hoped to pick up a few local players in order to attract more francophone spectators.

The growing popularity of baseball created a demand for rules written in French. At the end of the 19th century there was nothing readily available in the province of Quebec except Spalding’s base ball guide  and Reach’s official base ball guide, published respectively in Chicago and Philadelphia. To remedy this situation Dumouchel, with the help of Joseph Marier, sports editor at La Patrie, and J.‑P.‑R. Drouin, the manager of the Montagnard baseball club, published in June 1900 Canadas first book on sports written in French. Entitled Le Sport, guide official  (Montréal), it devoted 48 of its 234 pages to the rules of baseball, “as adopted by the National League and the American Association.”

Dumouchel was also among those calling for the incorporation of the Richelieu Athletic Club, which was accomplished on 21 June 1900 with a social fund of $5,000. About two months later he was elected to the board of directors of the Association des Francs-Tireurs de Montréal, where he rubbed shoulders with Gadbois and Arthur Lamalice. In 1904 he was president of the Royal, one of the better Montreal bowling clubs. On 2 April 1914 he was present at the founding of the Ligue Provinciale de Crosse. In the late winter of 1918 the owners of billiard halls and bowling alleys in Montreal formed an association; regarding Dumouchel as a loyal supporter of these two sports, they elected him president. In that year Dumouchel also presided over the increasingly uncertain fate of the National Amateur Lacrosse Union. In 1921 he headed a group working to send the swimmer Omer Perrault to England to swim across the English Channel.

With the resurgence of nationalism among many francophones, Dumouchel put his journalistic pen to work for French Canadian athletes, whom he considered unfairly attacked by some anglophones. He fought to have the national lacrosse team designated the only one authorized to sign francophone players. He also wanted to increase the popularity of athletic activities. For him sports, a source of pleasure and a school for discipline and solidarity, contributed to the physical improvement of a race, trained men of action, and served as a safeguard against vice. Dumouchel believed that if the men he cited as heroes of New France had accomplished such great things, it was because they combined exceptional physical qualities with courage and intelligence. He said that he was proud of the success of his contemporaries (Louis Cyr*, for example) and was delighted by the notably large part that sports played in the lives of French Canadians.

Dumouchel was also interested in the arts and literature. He was born into a family in which everyone – particularly his uncles Léandre-Arthur and Édouard Dumouchel – loved music. From his earliest childhood he studied piano and singing. In 1896 he was the secretary of the choir of Le Gesù, where he took courses given by the conductor, Alexandre-Marie Clerk. Choir members sang at musical events organized by the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association on 16, 17, and 18 Feb. 1897 at the Academy of Music. Dumouchel sang the tenor role in Gounod’s L’affût in the company of Lamalice, A. Comtois, and Raoul Masson. In 1900–1 he was a member of the singing group the Soirées de Famille, which performed plays and music. When he left the Collège Sainte-Marie, he joined the Cercle Ville-Marie, which was run by the Sulpicians. From 1891 to 1894 he had roles in at least eight comedies mounted by that group, including Les deux timides by Eugène Labiche and Marc-Michel, and two operettas. Like his father, he had a passion for Canadian history and especially for the rebellion of 1837–38, in which his grandfather, Ignace Dumouchel, had taken an active part, even giving shelter to the Patriote leader, Louis-Joseph Papineau*.

Dumouchel was also interested in politics. He helped Gadbois win a seat on the city council in Montreal’s Saint-Louis Ward in 1906. He himself would be elected a municipal councillor in Pointe-aux-Trembles, where he lived after his marriage in 1918. He was active in the federal Conservative Party, for which he was an unsuccessful candidate in the riding of Maisonneuve in the election of 1926.

Raoul Dumouchel was one of those worthy French Canadians – notaries, physicians, journalists, hoteliers, small businessmen – who, at the end of the 19th and the beginning of the 20th centuries, established clubs and associations and encouraged participation in sports. They also played a part in developing a sports culture among their fellow citizens.

Gilles Janson

The gist of Raoul Dumouchel’s biography is drawn from newspapers, particularly Le Devoir, 1910–31, La Patrie, 1898–1901, 1920–31, and La Presse, 1893–1931. The following newspapers were also used: L’Autorité nouvelle (Montréal), 26 avril 1914; Le Canada (Montréal), 29 août 1903; 6 mars, 15 avril, 17, 28 août 1918; 26 mai 1924; Le Journal (Montréal), 18 déc. 1899–28 sept. 1901; La Minerve (Montréal), 11 oct. 1897; Le Monde illustré (Montréal), 11 juin 1898; Le Nationaliste (Montréal), 21 févr. 1911, 14 nov. 1920; and Le Réveil (Montréal), 15 sept. 1915.

Arch. de l’Univ. du Québec à Montréal, 1P. Arch. du Séminaire de Joliette, Québec, Fichier des anciens élèves. BANQ-CAM, CE601-S21, 10 nov. 1870; CE601-S45, 20 sept. 1839; CE601-S51, 10 sept. 1867; MSS125, 2006-10-001/772; 2006-10-001/1053. FD, Saint-Enfant-Jésus-de-la-Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montréal), 20 août 1918. Annuaire sportif national (Montréal), 1 (1919), 1, special no. titled Numéro souvenir: l’inauguration du Palestre de l’A. A. d’A. nationale de Montréal. BCF, 1926: 492–93. Collège Joliette, Directory (Joliette), 1880–81. Directory, Montreal, 1866–1912. A.‑C. Dugas, Gerbes de souvenirs ou mémoires, épisodes, anecdotes et réminiscences du collège Joliette (2v., Montréal, 1914), 2: 106–7. Alfred Dumouchel, “Notes d’Alfred Dumouchel sur la rébellion de 1837–38 à Saint-Benoît,” BRH, 35 (1929): 31–51. Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada (Kallmann et al.), 1: 975. Jean Hétu, Album souvenir, 1878–1978: centenaire de la faculté de droit de l’université de Montréal (Montréal, 1978). J.‑M. Larrue, Le théâtre à Montréal à la fin du XIXe siècle (Montréal, 1981). Olivier Maurault, Le collège de Montréal, 1767–1967, Antonio Dansereau, édit. (2e éd., Montréal, 1967). Quebec Provincial Board of Notaries, Tableau général des notaires de la province de Québec ([Montréal], 1928), 95. Quebec Official Gazette, 1900: 1380. Répertoire et compte rendu des noces d’or du collège Joliette, 1846–1897 (Joliette, 1897). R.‑L. Séguin, Le mouvement insurrectionnel dans la presqu’île de Vaudreuil, 1837–1838 (Montréal, 1955). “Soirées de famille,” L’Annuaire théâtral (Montréal, 1909), 58–65.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Gilles Janson, “DUMOUCHEL, RAOUL (baptized Joseph-Léandre-Raoul),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 18, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dumouchel_raoul_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dumouchel_raoul_16E.html
Author of Article: Gilles Janson
Title of Article: DUMOUCHEL, RAOUL (baptized Joseph-Léandre-Raoul)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: December 18, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LÉVESQUE, RENÉ – Volume XXI (1981-1990)

Semaine de l’histoire du Canada 2017

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Lien

Provenance : Lien

DUMOUCHEL, RAOUL (baptisé Joseph-Léandre-Raoul), comédien, notaire, administrateur sportif, chanteur, journaliste et homme politique, né le 9 novembre 1870 dans la paroisse Saint-Enfant-Jésus, Montréal, fils de Louis-Napoléon Dumouchel, notaire, et de Caroline Leblanc ; le 20 août 1918, il épousa à Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montréal) Blanche Laplante ; décédé le 12 septembre 1931 dans la même ville.

Raoul Dumouchel s’inscrit d’abord au collège Joliette, où son père a enseigné pendant peu de temps. Il y suit, en 1880–1881, un cours commercial bilingue et décroche de nombreux prix. L’année suivante, on le retrouve au petit séminaire de Montréal. De 1888 à 1890, Dumouchel termine ses études classiques au collège Sainte-Marie. Élève brillant, il obtient la médaille d’argent du gouverneur général lord Stanley*. En 1891, il est admis à la faculté de droit de l’université Laval à Montréal. Il fait son stage de clerc à l’étude de son père de 1891 à 1893 et achève son baccalauréat en 1894. Il est reçu notaire le 8 septembre. Il sera l’associé de son père jusqu’en 1904, année de la mort de ce dernier.

Durant sa carrière, Dumouchel ne négligera jamais les obligations de sa profession ; à la fin de sa vie, son minutier renfermera plus de 7 000 actes. Selon ses contemporains, son bureau est l’un des plus fréquentés de Montréal. Mais c’est son implication dans le domaine du sport qui assurera sa renommée. Fidèle à la tradition familiale qui accorde de l’importance à la bonne condition physique (son père a été militaire), Dumouchel aurait apparemment su garder un juste équilibre entre le développement du corps et de l’esprit. Étudiant, il a entre autres pratiqué le baseball, la crosse, le football, le handball et le hockey. À l’automne de 1896, il se rend au Montreal Handball Club pour entraîner le médecin Joseph-Pierre Gadbois*, qu’il a probablement rencontré au petit séminaire de Montréal. Par la suite, cette complicité se manifestera à plusieurs occasions.

Ayant pratiqué le journalisme pendant ses études classiques, Dumouchel entre à la Minerve en 1897 comme rédacteur sportif, fonction qu’il exercera pour plusieurs périodiques jusqu’en 1904. Ce journal, qui tente de moderniser son contenu pour concurrencer la nouvelle presse populaire francophone, reconnaît les vastes connaissances du notaire dans le domaine sportif et ses liens avec le milieu (on dira bientôt qu’il est une encyclopédie vivante). Après la disparition de ce quotidien en 1899, Dumouchel travaille pour le Journal, organe du Parti conservateur qui paraît pour la première fois le 16 décembre. Il collabore en 1901 au périodique montréalais le Pionnier et, en 1903, à un hebdomadaire récent publié dans la même ville, le Sport (qui deviendra le Bulletin). Il produira également plusieurs textes pour la Patrie et la Presse.

Au moment où se développe une véritable culture sportive chez les francophones, Dumouchel arbitre souvent des matchs importants. Tous les férus de sports veulent profiter de ses compétences. En 1898, l’Association Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Montréal a lancé l’idée d’un grand tournoi athlétique dans le but de dynamiser la fête nationale des Canadiens français. Dumouchel se retrouve parmi les hommes choisis pour l’organiser. Devant le succès du tournoi, la société lui renouvelle sa confiance l’année suivante et le nomme membre de son comité des jeux. Au mois de septembre 1899, Dumouchel est juge pendant un tournoi athlétique préparé pour la fête du Travail. Il juge ou arbitre maintes parties de crosse, l’un des sports les plus populaires de l’époque. Non seulement les groupes francophones estiment sa connaissance approfondie des règlements de ce jeu, mais, chose plutôt inhabituelle, les clubs anglophones apprécient aussi cet homme impartial.

Son intérêt pour les concours de force et son amitié avec Gadbois, défenseur de cette activité, amènent Dumouchel à rédiger le contrat que signeront les femmes fortes Flosie La Blanche, de New York, et Magie Cloutier, de Sherbrooke, au Québec. Dumouchel ne se contente pas de son rôle de notaire et participe activement aux longues discussions sur la façon de déterminer la gagnante : le total des points ou des livres. Gadbois et lui penchent pour la somme des livres, selon eux plus scientifique. Tout au long de sa vie, Dumouchel suivra avec intérêt les nombreux concours d’hommes forts. En 1918, Léo Dandurand, qui sera l’un des propriétaires du club de hockey Canadien, choisira Dumouchel pour siéger à une commission qu’il a mise sur pied dans le but d’organiser un tournoi de poids et haltères qui décidera du champion des hommes forts d’Amérique du Nord.

C’est cependant surtout son rôle dans l’administration et le développement de l’Association athlétique d’amateurs nationale (AAAN) qui assurera à Dumouchel une certaine longévité dans le sport. Le 11 mai 1895, Dumouchel devient membre de cette importante organisation francophone créée le 2 avril 1894 et mieux connue, après 1918, sous le nom de Palestre nationale. Le 15 décembre 1896, Dumouchel achète une action de 100 $, somme qui le range dans la catégorie des membres à vie. À l’assemblée annuelle du 11 novembre 1897, il est l’un des neuf membres élus au bureau de direction ; jusqu’au 22 novembre de l’année suivante, il occupe le poste de secrétaire (fonction qu’il assumera de nouveau de 1912 à 1918). Ses collègues lui donnent entre autres pour mandat d’organiser des activités susceptibles d’alimenter la caisse de l’association.

Dès cette époque, Dumouchel s’oppose aux directeurs qui voudraient voir l’AAAN investir toutes ses énergies et ses maigres moyens dans le jeu de crosse. Il plaide pour une organisation qui occuperait un large éventail de disciplines sportives et qui rivaliserait avec l’Association des gymnastes amateurs de Montréal [V. William George Beers*]. Aux printemps de 1913 et de 1914, il obtient que l’organisation accorde son appui financier au coureur Édouard Fabre. En 1915, ce dernier devient le premier Canadien français à gagner le marathon de Boston. Cette année-là, Dumouchel déclare qu’il faut, pour faire connaître l’association, encourager tous les sports. Obstiné, il reprendra cette idée au mois de novembre 1921. Il faut, selon lui, allonger la liste des sports offerts aux membres pour inclure, entre autres, le tennis, le basketball, le volleyball et le boulingrin. Il ajoute que les Canadiens français sont doués pour la musique et que l’AAAN devrait joindre cette activité à son programme. Dans le même esprit, dès les premières années d’existence de l’AAAN, il a défendu le projet de construction d’un très grand gymnase. Cette idée revient à l’ordre du jour du bureau de direction de façon récurrente, mais il faut attendre l’assemblée extraordinaire du 13 septembre 1913 pour voir les débuts de sa réalisation. Ce jour-là, le président, Adolphe-Louis Caron, soumet aux directeurs le projet d’achat d’un vaste terrain, rue Cherrier. Dumouchel applaudit cette initiative qui, selon lui, permettra au plus grand nombre possible de membres de faire de l’exercice.

Démocrate, Dumouchel encourage la participation des membres aux décisions administratives de leur association. Ainsi, au mois de mai 1906, il s’est opposé en vain à la majorité des directeurs qui voulaient réserver les postes de directeurs aux membres à vie. Pilier de l’AAAN, Dumouchel assiste à presque toutes les assemblées générales de 1895 à 1930. Il siège au bureau de direction à titre de secrétaire, de deuxième vice-président (11 décembre 1918–11 novembre 1919), de premier vice-président (12 novembre 1919–9 novembre 1920) et de président (10 novembre 1920–8 novembre 1921). Il devient administrateur dès la création de ce titre en 1920, et le restera jusqu’à sa mort. Pendant plusieurs années, il vérifie les états financiers. Les directeurs l’élisent membre, secrétaire ou président de différents comités : baseball, crosse, hockey, quilles et billard, polo aquatique, éducation physique. Ils le délèguent aux réunions de la National Amateur Lacrosse Union, de la Dominion Lacrosse Association, de la ligue intermédiaire de hockey, de la ligue de football et de l’Amateur Athletic Union of Canada.

Dès son entrée au bureau de direction de l’AAAN, Dumouchel a reçu le mandat de raviver le club de baseball le National. Cette initiative s’inscrit dans le contexte d’une montée de la popularité de ce sport chez les Canadiens français à la suite de la création, en 1896, du club Montréal et de son affiliation, en 1897, à la ligue de l’Est, association professionnelle. Pendant la saison de 1897, le club Montréal, composé de joueurs américains, a attiré les foules à son terrain situé à l’angle de la rue Sainte-Catherine et de l’avenue Atwater. Afin de rentabiliser ses investissements, l’équipe demande dès l’automne à Joseph (Joe) Page, acteur important dans le développement et la diffusion du baseball dans la province de Québec, de créer une ligue qui jouerait sur le terrain du club Montréal, projet qui ne se concrétisera pas. Les meilleurs clubs amateurs de Montréal craignent que la ligue de l’Est ne s’empare d’une partie de leurs recettes. Pour contrer ce risque, plusieurs projets de ligues naissent. Au mois de février 1898, le National songe à mettre sur pied une ligue provinciale composée des équipes de Trois-Rivières, Sorel (Sorel-Tracy), Saint-Jean (Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu), Hull (Gatineau), Farnham et Saint-Hyacinthe. Assisté de J.-A. Marier, président du club Indépendant de Montréal, Dumouchel expédie une circulaire à plusieurs équipes et se rend sur place pour stimuler ceux qui hésitent. Le 7 avril 1898, les règlements de la Ligue de la province de Québec, désignée généralement sous le nom de Ligue provinciale, sont adoptés. Dumouchel est nommé président de l’association, qui amorce sa saison le 22 mai et rassemble trois clubs de Montréal (le National, le Mascotte et l’Indépendant), en plus des équipes de Sorel, Saint-Hyacinthe et Saint-Jean. La nouvelle organisation, créée en réaction à l’arrivée du baseball professionnel à Montréal, se voit peut-être comme le futur club-école du club Montréal. En effet, à la demande de Charles Dooley, gérant de ce dernier, Dumouchel organise une équipe composée des meilleurs joueurs de la Ligue provinciale, qui, le 24 juillet, joue contre les Cuban Giants, club professionnel fondé à New York et recruté uniquement parmi les Noirs américains. Dooley espère ainsi dénicher quelques joueurs locaux afin d’attirer plus de spectateurs francophones.

La montée de la popularité du baseball crée une demande pour des règlements rédigés en français. À la fin du xixe siècle, on ne trouve facilement dans la province de Québec que le Spalding’s base ball guide [...] et le Reach’s official base ball guide, parus respectivement à Chicago et à Philadelphie. Pour remédier à cette situation, Dumouchel, aidé par Joseph Marier, rédacteur sportif à la Patrie, et J.-P.-R. Drouin, gérant du club de baseball le Montagnard, publie à Montréal, en juin 1900, le premier livre sur le sport écrit en français au Canada. Intitulé le Sport, guide officiel [...], ce livre de 234 pages en accorde 48 aux règlements du baseball, « tels qu’adoptés par la Ligue Nationale et l’ASSOCIATION AMÉRICAINE ».

Dumouchel est aussi au nombre de ceux qui demandent la constitution en société du Richelieu Athletic Club, ce qui est fait le 21 juin 1900 avec un fonds social de 5 000 $. Environ deux mois plus tard, le voilà élu au bureau de direction de l’Association des francs-tireurs de Montréal, où il côtoie Gadbois et Arthur Lamalice. En 1904, il est président du Royal, l’un des bons clubs de quilles de Montréal. Le 2 avril 1914, il assiste à la création de la Ligue provinciale de crosse. À la fin de l’hiver de 1918, les propriétaires de salles de billard et de quilles de Montréal se regroupent en association ; le considérant comme un dévoué défenseur de ces deux sports, ils élisent Dumouchel à la présidence. Cette année-là, Dumouchel préside également les destinées de plus en plus incertaines de la National Amateur Lacrosse Union. En 1921, il prend la tête d’un mouvement organisé pour envoyer le nageur Omer Perrault en Angleterre faire la traversée de la Manche.

Avec le réveil du nationalisme chez de nombreux francophones, Dumouchel met sa plume de journaliste au service des athlètes canadiens-français, selon lui injustement attaqués par certains anglophones. Il se bat pour que l’équipe de crosse le National soit la seule autorisée à engager des joueurs francophones. Il veut également répandre le goût pour l’athlétisme. Pour lui, le sport, source de plaisir, école de discipline et de solidarité, concourt à l’amélioration physique d’une lignée, forme des hommes d’action et lutte efficacement contre le vice. Dumouchel croit que si ceux qu’il nomme les héros de la Nouvelle-France ont accompli de si grandes choses, c’est qu’à la valeur du cœur et de l’intelligence ils alliaient des qualités physiques exceptionnelles. Il se dit orgueilleux des succès de ses contemporains, Louis Cyr*, par exemple, et se réjouit de la place considérable prise par le sport chez les Canadiens français.

Dumouchel s’intéresse aussi aux arts et aux lettres. Il est né dans une famille – particulièrement ses oncles Léandre-Arthur et Édouard Dumouchel – où l’on adore la musique. Il apprend le piano et le chant dès sa plus tendre enfance. En 1896, il est secrétaire du chœur du Gesù, où il suit les cours donnés par le directeur, Alexandre-Marie Clerk. Des membres de ce chœur chantent pendant des activités musicales organisées par l’Association des gymnastes amateurs de Montréal les 16, 17 et 18 février 1897, à l’Académie de musique. Dumouchel, ténor, y chante l’Affût de Gounod en compagnie de Lamalice, d’A. Comtois et de Raoul Masson. En 1900–1901, il fait partie des chanteurs des Soirées de famille, qui présentent des pièces de théâtre et de la musique. Dès sa sortie du collège Sainte-Marie, il est devenu membre du Cercle Ville-Marie, dirigé par les sulpiciens. De 1891 à 1894, il joue dans au moins huit comédies organisées par ce groupe, dont les Deux Timides, d’Eugène Labiche et Marc-Michel, et deux opérettes. Comme son père, il se passionne pour l’histoire du Canada, plus particulièrement pour les troubles de 1837–1838, où son grand-père Ignace Dumouchel a exercé un rôle actif. Ce dernier a même hébergé le chef des patriotes, Louis-Joseph Papineau*.

Dumouchel s’intéresse également à la politique. Il aide Gadbois à se faire élire conseiller municipal du quartier Saint-Louis, à Montréal, en 1906. Lui-même sera élu à ce titre à Pointe-aux-Trembles, où il s’établit après son mariage en 1918. Il milite au sein du Parti conservateur fédéral, pour lequel il se présente d’ailleurs aux élections de 1926 dans la circonscription de Maisonneuve (il est battu).

Raoul Dumouchel appartient à ces notables canadiens-français – notaires, médecins, journalistes, hôteliers, petits entrepreneurs – qui, à la fin du xixe siècle et au début du xxe siècle, créent des clubs et des associations et encouragent la pratique des sports. Ils participent ainsi au développement d’une culture sportive chez leurs compatriotes.

Gilles Janson

La substance de cette biographie de Raoul Dumouchel est tirée de journaux, particulièrement du Devoir, 1910–1931, de la Patrie, 1898–1901, 1920–1931, et de la Presse, 1893–1931. Nous avons également puisé dans les journaux suivants : l’Autorité nouvelle (Montréal), 26 avril 1914 ; le Canada (Montréal), 29 août 1903 ; 6 mars, 15 avril, 17, 28 août 1918 ; 26 mai 1924 ; le Journal (Montréal), 18 déc. 1899–28 sept. 1901 ; la Minerve (Montréal), 11 oct. 1897 ; le Monde illustré (Montréal), 11 juin 1898 ; le Nationaliste (Montréal), 21 févr. 1911, 14 nov. 1920 ; et le Réveil (Montréal), 15 sept. 1915.

Arch. de l’univ. du Québec à Montréal, 1P.— Arch. du séminaire de Joliette, Québec, Fichier des anciens élèves.— BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S21, 10 nov. 1870 ; CE601-S45, 20 sept. 1839 ; CE601-S51, 10 sept. 1867 ; MSS125, 2006-10-001/772 ; 2006-10-001/1053.— FD, Saint-Enfant-Jésus-de-la-Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montréal), 20 août 1918.— Annuaire, Montréal, 1866–1912.— Annuaire sportif national (Montréal), 1 (1919), 1, numéro spécial intitulé Numéro souvenir : l’inauguration du Palestre de l’A. A. d’A. nationale de Montréal.— BCF, 1926 : 492–493.— Chambre des notaires de la prov. de Québec, Tableau général des notaires de la province de Québec ([Montréal], 1928), 95.— Collège Joliette, Annuaire (Joliette), 1880–1881.— A.-C. Dugas, Gerbes de souvenirs ou mémoires, épisodes, anecdotes et réminiscences du collège Joliette (2 vol., Montréal, 1914), 2 : 106–107.— Alfred Dumouchel, « Notes d’Alfred Dumouchel sur la rébellion de 1837–38 à Saint-Benoît », BRH, 35 (1929) : 31–51.— Encyclopédie de la musique au Canada (Kallmann et al.), 1 : 975.— Gazette officielle de Québec, 1900 : 1380.— Jean Hétu, Album souvenir, 1878–1978 : centenaire de la faculté de droit de l’université de Montréal (Montréal, 1978).— J.-M. Larrue, le Théâtre à Montréal à la fin du xixe siècle (Montréal, 1981).— Olivier Maurault, le Collège de Montréal, 1767–1967, Antonio Dansereau, édit. (2e éd., Montréal, 1967).— Répertoire et compte rendu des noces d’or du collège Joliette, 1846–1897 (Joliette, 1897).— R.-L. Séguin, le Mouvement insurrectionnel dans la presqu’île de Vaudreuil, 1837–1838 (Montréal, 1955).— « Soirées de famille », l’Annuaire théâtral (Montréal, 1909), 58–65.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Gilles Janson, « DUMOUCHEL, RAOUL (baptisé Joseph-Léandre-Raoul) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 nov. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dumouchel_raoul_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dumouchel_raoul_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Gilles Janson
Titre de l'article:   DUMOUCHEL, RAOUL (baptisé Joseph-Léandre-Raoul)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   21 novembre 2017