DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIN, JOSEPH – Volume IX (1861-1870)

b. 19 Oct. 1794 in Dumfriesshire, Scotland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Dorion, FRANÇOIS-xAVIER-Jules (he signed F.‑X.‑Jules Dorion and Jules Dorion), physician, journalist, and newspaper manager; b. 9 Oct. 1870 in the parish of Saint‑Roch in Quebec City, son of Édouard Dorion, a carpenter, and Marie-Émilie Chabot; m. first 12 July 1897 Émélie Bernier (d. 1 March 1907) in the same city, and they had three sons and three daughters; m. there secondly 21 April 1914 Valérine Guay, widow of Joseph-Odilon Turgeon; d. there 13 March 1939.

Born into modest circumstances, François-Xavier-Jules Dorion pursued his classical studies at the Petit Séminaire de Québec from 1880 to 1889. He obtained his doctorate in medicine in 1893 at the Université Laval in Quebec City, and then opened a practice in the Saint‑Roch district. At the age of 26, despite the scepticism of older doctors who had witnessed previous unsuccessful attempts, he proposed establishing a new medical society in the city. His perseverance met with success and he became the first secretary-treasurer (1897–1902) of the Société Médicale de Québec, founded on 14 Jan. 1897.

A committed Roman Catholic who was sensitive to the new social realities caused by industrialization and urbanization, Dorion in 1905 joined the Société d’Économie Sociale et Politique de Québec, set up by Abbé Stanislas-Alfred Lortie*, a friend since the days at the Petit Séminaire. From the society’s discussion groups emerged the idea of creating a large organization for Catholic social action in the archdiocese of Quebec. The archbishop, Louis-Nazaire Bégin*, approved the project and established the Action Sociale Catholique and the Œuvre de la Presse Catholique through a pastoral letter published on 31 March 1907. Abbé Paul-Eugène Roy*, appointed director of the Action Sociale Catholique, and Abbé Lortie asked Dorion to run what was to be the core of the Œuvre de la Presse Catholique: the daily newspaper L’Action sociale (which became L’Action catholique on 9 June 1915).

The proposal was surprising because Dorion had only limited journalistic experience. He had been on the editorial staff of the Bulletin médical de Québec from 1899 to 1905. He had also participated in founding La Libre Parole of Quebec City [see Jacques-Édouard Plamondon*] in 1905 and had contributed columns from January 1906 to September 1907. Still affected by the recent death of his wife, Dorion accepted the offer and decided to abandon his medical career to run the paper; he received an annual salary of $2,000 for his work. The first issue of L’Action sociale was published in Quebec City on 21 Dec. 1907. Dorion set out its program in his editorial. Taking up the main ideas in Archbishop Bégin’s pastoral letter, he proposed that the newspaper be instructive and independent of political parties. The goals were to disseminate Catholic doctrine and religious news, and to promote a spiritual society and the Catholic trade-union movement. Dorion also wanted to provide readers with news about municipal, national, and international matters. Two subjects, international current events and Prohibition, particularly interested him, and were topics, moreover, on which he would produce numerous editorials. The journal’s beginnings were promising, and, in a letter to Bégin on 4 Jan. 1908, Roy rejoiced in having chosen Dorion.

Dorion did not work alone. He was supported by the editorial committee, which met every month under the authority of the director of the Action Sociale Catholique to discuss finances and publication content, the latter of which evolved to maintain the paper’s position in a competitive market. It was distributed in Quebec City, but especially in rural areas around and to the east of the capital. It had a circulation of 13,100 in 1913, and then of 40,000 in 1921. It was slow to adopt the practices of its competitors, however, and its readership dwindled. From 1924 to 1930 its circulation was to fall to 17,327.

The appearance of L’Action catholique changed in many ways in the course of those years. Initially it had a very sober look and was comparable to its main rival in Quebec City, Le Soleil. The front page was crowded, and the layout, without illustrations or headlines, was more reminiscent of the austere 19th-century newspapers of opinion than of the new journals of the 20th century. To face up to the competition and to win readers, Dorion did away with the severe layout and gradually adopted the measures that ensured the success of mass-circulation papers: headlines and subheadings, illustrations and photographs, and more feature columns. All topics were now covered in the daily, from politics to sports, and short news items, articles for women, and entertainment pages were also included. Archbishop Bégin’s decision in 1923 to distance himself from the content and the management of the paper was probably related to this development. In 1931 the accession of Eugène L’Heureux to the position of subeditor brought new impetus to the publication. L’Heureux had thought about the importance of offering a Catholic press that was “up to date,” as he stated during a lecture in November 1936, and he worked actively to modernize the newspaper. Success would come and, in 1938, sales of L’Action catholique, with its circulation of 52,611, exceeded for the first time those of Le Soleil, as they would for a few more years. On the eve of World War II, L’Action catholique would thus compare favourably to other large news dailies.

Yet, in order to guide readers along the right path, Dorion made sure that there was always a Catholic perspective to the news. Advertising continued to be closely monitored by the directors of the Action Sociale Catholique and major constraints were imposed in this respect: advertisements for alcohol or the cinema were not tolerated. To compensate for the low advertising revenues, the archdiocese of Quebec provided appropriate funding.

Even though he worked at the newspaper almost ten hours a day, Dorion found time to carry out other duties that were close to his heart. He was an officer of the credit committee of the Caisse Populaire de Québec-Est from its founding, on 23 June 1910, in his native parish. Dorion was also a commander of the Papal Zouaves of Quebec City. Although he no longer practised medicine regularly, he remained attached to his profession. He used the pseudonym Le Vieux Docteur for his scientific chats entitled “Machine humaine” in the Quebec City review L’Apôtre, published by the Action Sociale Catholique from 1921 to 1931, and sometimes treated the poorest in his community free of charge. From 1933 to 1938 he lectured on the history of Catholic journalism at the École de Sciences Sociales at the Université Laval, the institution that granted him an honorary doctorate on 1 July 1937. Between 1936 and 1939 he commentated on religious affairs for the weekly radio program L’Heure dominicale, broadcast by Radio-Canada, the French-language network of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. In recognition of the quality of his work as a journalist, he was honoured by the papacy, being named a commander of the Order of St Gregory the Great.

François-Xavier-Jules Dorion’s health gradually began to fail. In 1931 he was off work for several months. He died in harness, at the age of 68, of heart failure. He had directed the Catholic daily for 32 years. When his death was announced, nearly every newspaper in the province of Quebec paid him tribute. They emphasized his humility, charitable nature, patriotism, and perseverance in defending Christ and the church. His determination and, above all, the solid financial backing of the archdiocese had enabled him to make L’Action catholique a serious news daily and an important vehicle of Catholic thought.

Dominique Marquis

Readers interested in the ideas of the newspaper under the direction of François-Xavier-Jules Dorion should refer to Richard Jones’s study L’idéologie de “L’Action catholique” (1917–1939) (Québec, 1974). To better understand the paper’s evolution, it would be helpful to read the author’s “La presse catholique au Québec: 1910–1940” (thèse de phd, univ. du Québec à Montréal, 1999) and the book that drew upon it, Un quotidien pour l’Église: “L’Action catholique,” 1910–1940 (Montréal, 2004). Dorion’s contribution to the newspaper is also underlined in the biography by P.‑É. Roy, Tâcheron de la plume: Louis-Philippe Roy, m.d.: commandeur de l’ordre de St‑Grégoire le Grand (Beauport [Québec], 2003).

There are no archival collections dedicated to Dorion, but some sources that trace his work with L’Action catholique are located at AAQ, 50 CF (L’Action sociale catholique et L’Action sociale Ltée), I: 4 janv. 1908, 12 avril 1917, 1er juin 1919; 26 CP (diocèse de Montréal), XV: 47, 51; 1 N (L’Action sociale catholique et L’Action sociale Ltée). To understand some aspects of Dorion’s relationship with the members of the clergy and the editors of the newspaper, the reader can consult Musée de la Civilisation (Québec), Fonds d’arch. du séminaire de Québec, fichier général, and Centre de Référence de l’Amérique Française (Québec), Dépôt du séminaire de Québec, P7, P7/8/6 (séances des comités de rédaction et de direction du journal L’Action catholique). The Almanach de l’Action sociale catholique (Québec), 1917–40, gives a partial account of the activities of the newspaper. Jules Dorion: type achevé de l’apôtre laïque ([Québec?, 1939?]), a collection of various tributes to the journalist at the time of his death, provides a measure of his importance in the media landscape of the province of Quebec.

As well as many articles and editorials, Dorion is the author of La bicyclette (Québec, 1898) and Impressions d’un passant aux bords de l’Europe, de l’Asie et de l’Afrique (Québec, 1934).

Arch. de la Fédération des Caisses Desjardins du Québec (Lévis, Québec), Fonds Alphonse-Desjardins, 0.22: 4d-1 (lettre d’Alphonse Desjardins à Jules Dorion, 23 janv. 1913); 32410101 (dossiers constitutifs). BANQ-Q, CE301-S22, 10 oct. 1870, 12 juill. 1897, 21 avril 1914. FD, Cimetière Saint-Charles (Québec), 16 mars 1939. L’Action catholique (Québec), 1907–40. Le Devoir, 14, 16, 22 mars 1939. Denis Goulet et André Paradis, Trois siècles d’histoire médicale au Québec: chronologie des institutions et des pratiques (1639–1939) (Montréal, 1992), 354, 356. Guy Grenier, 100 ans de médecine francophone: histoire de l’Association des médecins de langue française du Canada (Sainte‑Foy [Québec], 2002). J. Hamelin et al., La presse québécoise, vols.4–6. Dominique Marquis, “Être journaliste catholique au xxe siècle, un apostolat: les exemples de Jules Dorion et Eugène L’Heureux,” CCHA, Études d’hist. religieuse, 73 (2007): 31–47. [P.‑E. Roy], L’Action sociale catholique et l’Œuvre de la presse catholique: motifs, programme, organisation, ressources (Québec, 1907). Univ. Laval, Annuaire, 1880–93, 1932–38.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Dominique Marquis, “DORION, FRANÇOIS-XAVIER-JULES (F.-X.-Jules Dorion, Jules Dorion),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 19, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dorion_francois_xavier_jules_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dorion_francois_xavier_jules_16E.html
Author of Article: Dominique Marquis
Title of Article: DORION, FRANÇOIS-XAVIER-JULES (F.-X.-Jules Dorion, Jules Dorion)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: October 19, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

HUBERT, JEAN-FRANÇOIS – Volume IV (1771-1800)

né à Québec le 23 février 1739

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Dorion, FRANÇOIS-xAVIER-Jules (il signait F.-X.-Jules Dorion et Jules Dorion), médecin, journaliste et directeur de journal, né le 9 octobre 1870 dans la paroisse Saint-Roch, à Québec, fils d’Édouard Dorion, menuisier, et de Marie-Émilie Chabot ; le 12 juillet 1897, il épousa à Québec Émélie Bernier (décédée le 1er mars 1907), et ils eurent trois garçons et trois filles, puis le 21 avril 1914, dans la même ville, Valérine Guay, veuve de Joseph-Odilon Turgeon ; décédé le 13 mars 1939 à Québec.

Issu d’un milieu modeste, François-Xavier-Jules Dorion fait ses études classiques au petit séminaire de Québec de 1880 à 1889. Il obtient son doctorat en médecine en 1893 à l’université Laval, à Québec, puis il ouvre un cabinet dans le quartier Saint-Roch. À l’âge de 26 ans, malgré le scepticisme de médecins plus âgés, témoins d’essais infructueux, il propose la création d’une nouvelle société médicale à Québec. Son insistance porte ses fruits et il devient le premier secrétaire-trésorier (1897–1902) de la Société médicale de Québec, fondée le 14 janvier 1897.

Catholique engagé et sensible aux nouvelles réalités sociales engendrées par l’industrialisation et l’urbanisation, Dorion adhère, en 1905, à la Société d’économie sociale et politique de Québec, constituée par l’abbé Stanislas-Alfred Lortie*, son ami depuis le petit séminaire. De ces ateliers émerge l’idée de créer une grande organisation d’action sociale catholique dans l’archidiocèse de Québec. Louis-Nazaire Bégin*, archevêque de Québec, approuve le projet et instaure l’Action sociale catholique et l’Œuvre de la presse catholique par la publication d’une lettre pastorale le 31 mars 1907. L’abbé Paul-Eugène Roy*, nommé directeur de l’Action sociale catholique, et l’abbé Lortie demandent à Dorion de diriger ce qui sera le cœur de l’Œuvre de la presse catholique : le quotidien l’Action sociale (qui deviendra l’Action catholique le 9 juin 1915).

Cette offre est étonnante puisque Dorion n’a qu’une petite expérience du journalisme. Il a fait partie du bureau de rédaction du Bulletin médical de Québec de 1899 à 1905. Il a aussi participé à la fondation de la Libre Parole de Québec [V. Jacques-Édouard Plamondon*] en 1905 et il y a rédigé des chroniques de janvier 1906 à septembre 1907. Dorion, encore affecté par le récent décès de sa femme, accepte l’invitation et décide d’abandonner sa carrière médicale pour diriger le quotidien ; pour son travail, il reçoit alors un salaire annuel de 2 000 $. Le premier numéro de l’Action sociale paraît à Québec le 21 décembre 1907. Dorion en présente le programme dans son éditorial. Reprenant les grandes idées de la lettre pastorale de Mgr Bégin, il propose un journal d’information instructif et indépendant des partis politiques. Les objectifs sont la diffusion de la doctrine catholique et de l’actualité religieuse, et la promotion de la société spirituelle et du mouvement syndical catholique. Dorion veut aussi offrir aux lecteurs des nouvelles de la vie municipale, nationale et internationale. Deux sujets l’intéressent davantage : l’actualité internationale et la prohibition, thèmes sur lesquels il produira d’ailleurs de nombreux éditoriaux. Les débuts du journal sont prometteurs et, dans une lettre adressée à Mgr Bégin le 4 janvier 1908, Roy se réjouit d’avoir choisi Dorion.

Dorion ne travaille pas seul. Il est appuyé par le comité de rédaction du journal qui se réunit chaque mois, sous l’autorité du directeur de l’Action sociale catholique, pour discuter des finances et du contenu de la publication, lequel évolue pour se maintenir dans un marché compétitif. Le journal est distribué dans la ville de Québec, mais surtout dans les zones rurales en périphérie et à l’est de Québec. Son tirage est de 13 100 exemplaires en 1913, puis de 40 000 en 1921. Cependant, le journal tarde à adopter les pratiques de ses concurrents et la clientèle est de moins en moins au rendez-vous. De 1924 à 1930, le nombre d’exemplaires vendus diminuera pour atteindre 17 327.

Le visage de l’Action catholique connaît de nombreuses modifications au cours de toutes ces années. D’abord d’allure très sobre, le journal est comparable à son principal concurrent à Québec, le Soleil. La une est dense et la mise en pages, sans illustrations ni gros titres, rappelle davantage l’austérité des journaux d’opinion du xixe siècle que la nouvelle presse d’information du xxe siècle. Pour faire face à la concurrence et pour gagner des lecteurs, Dorion supprime la mise en pages sévère et adopte peu à peu les techniques qui assurent le succès des journaux de masse : gros titres et sous-titres, illustrations et photographies, multiplication des chroniques. Tous les sujets sont dorénavant abordés dans le quotidien, de la politique aux sports en passant par les faits divers, les chroniques féminines et les pages de divertissement. Le fait que Mgr Bégin décide, en 1923, de prendre ses distances par rapport au contenu et à la direction du journal n’est sans doute pas étranger à cette évolution. En 1931, l’arrivée d’Eugène L’Heureux au poste de secrétaire de rédaction donne un nouvel élan à la publication. Ce dernier a réfléchi à l’importance de proposer une presse catholique « bien à la page », comme il le mentionnera au cours d’une conférence en novembre 1936, et travaille activement à moderniser le journal. Le succès sera au rendez-vous et, en 1938, les ventes de l’Action catholique dépasseront, pour la première fois et pour encore quelques années, celles du Soleil avec un tirage de 52 611 exemplaires. À l’aube de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale, l’Action catholique sera donc comparable à d’autres grands quotidiens d’information.

Dorion veille cependant à ce qu’un éclairage catholique soit toujours apporté à l’information afin de bien guider les lecteurs. La publicité demeure étroitement surveillée par les dirigeants de l’Action sociale catholique et des contraintes importantes sont imposées à cet égard : aucune annonce d’alcool ou de cinéma n’est tolérée. Pour pallier la faiblesse des revenus publicitaires, l’archevêché de Québec assure un financement approprié.

Même en travaillant au journal près de dix heures par jour, Dorion a trouvé le temps pour exercer d’autres fonctions qui lui tenaient à cœur. Il est officier de la commission de crédit de la Caisse populaire de Québec-Est dès sa fondation, le 23 juin 1910, dans sa paroisse natale. Dorion est aussi commandant des zouaves pontificaux de Québec. Bien qu’il ne pratique plus régulièrement la médecine, il reste attaché à sa profession : du pseudonyme Le Vieux Docteur, il signe les causeries scientifiques intitulées « Machine humaine » dans la revue l’Apôtre de Québec, publication de l’Action sociale catholique, de 1921 à 1931. De plus, il soigne parfois gratuitement les plus pauvres de sa communauté. De 1933 à 1938, il est chargé du cours d’histoire du journalisme catholique à l’École de sciences sociales de l’université Laval, établissement qui lui décerne un doctorat honorifique le 1er juillet 1937. Entre 1936 et 1939, il commente l’actualité religieuse à l’émission de radio hebdomadaire l’Heure dominicale, diffusée par la Société Radio-Canada. En reconnaissance de la qualité de son travail de journaliste, il reçoit l’honneur pontifical d’être fait commandeur de l’ordre de Saint-Grégoire-le-Grand.

La santé de François-Xavier-Jules Dorion devient peu à peu chancelante. En 1931, il s’est absenté du travail durant plusieurs mois. Il meurt en fonction, à l’âge de 68 ans, des suites d’une faiblesse cardiaque. Il a dirigé le quotidien catholique durant 32 ans. Dès l’annonce de son décès, presque tous les journaux de la province de Québec lui rendent hommage. On souligne son humilité, son caractère charitable, son patriotisme et sa persévérance à défendre le Christ et l’Église. Sa détermination et, surtout, le solide appui financier de l’archevêché lui ont permis de faire de l’Action catholique un quotidien d’information sérieux et un important véhicule de la pensée catholique.

Dominique Marquis

Nous renvoyons le lecteur qui s’intéresse aux idées du journal sous la direction de François-Xavier-Jules Dorion à l’étude de Richard Jones, l’Idéologie de l’Action catholique (1917–1939) (Québec, 1974). Pour mieux comprendre l’évolution du périodique, il profitera de la lecture de notre thèse de doctorat, « la Presse catholique au Québec : 1910–1940 » (thèse de ph.d., univ. du Québec à Montréal, 1999), et du livre qui en a été tiré : Un quotidien pour l’Église : l’Action catholique, 1910–1940 (Montréal, 2004). La biographie de Louis-Philippe Roy souligne aussi l’apport de Dorion au journal : P.-É. Roy, Tâcheron de la plume : Louis-Philippe Roy, m.d. : commandeur de l’ordre de St-Grégoire le Grand (Beauport [Québec], 2003).

Il n’existe pas de fonds d’archives consacré à Dorion, mais certaines sources qui traitent de son travail à l’Action catholique se trouvent aux AAQ, 50 CF (l’Action sociale catholique et l’Action sociale Ltée), I : 4 janv. 1908, 12 avril 1917, 1er juin 1919 ; 26 CP (diocèse de Montréal), XV : 47, 51 ; 1 N (l’Action sociale catholique et l’Action sociale Ltée). Pour saisir quelques fragments de ses relations avec les membres du clergé et les rédacteurs du journal, le lecteur pourra consulter : Musée de la civilisation (Québec), Fonds d’arch. du séminaire de Québec, fichier général et Centre de référence de l’Amérique française (Québec), Dépôt du séminaire de Québec, P7, P7/8/6 (séances des comités de rédaction et de direction du journal l’Action catholique). L’Almanach de l’Action sociale catholique (Québec), 1917–1940, rend partiellement compte des activités du journal. Jules Dorion : type achevé de l’apôtre laïque ([Québec ?, 1939 ?]), recueil des différents hommages rendus au journaliste au moment de son décès, permet de mesurer son importance dans le paysage médiatique de la province de Québec.

En plus de ses nombreux articles et éditoriaux, Dorion est l’auteur de : la Bicyclette (Québec, 1898) et Impressions d’un passant aux bords de l’Europe, de l’Asie et de l’Afrique (Québec, 1934).

Arch. de la Fédération des caisses Desjardins du Québec (Lévis, Québec), Fonds Alphonse-Desjardins, 0.22 : 4d-1 (lettre d’Alphonse Desjardins à Jules Dorion, 23 janv. 1913) ; 32410101 (dossiers constitutifs).— BAnQ-Q, CE301-S22, 10 oct. 1870, 12 juill. 1897, 21 avril 1914.— FD, Cimetière Saint-Charles (Québec), 16 mars 1939.— L’Action catholique (Québec), 1907–1940.— Le Devoir, 14, 16, 22 mars 1939.— Denis Goulet et André Paradis, Trois siècles d’histoire médicale au Québec : chronologie des institutions et des pratiques (1639–1939) (Montréal, 1992), 354, 356.— Guy Grenier, 100 ans de médecine francophone : histoire de l’Association des médecins de langue française du Canada (Sainte-Foy [Québec], 2002).— J. Hamelin et al., la Presse québécoise, vol. 4–6 .— Dominique Marquis, « Être journaliste catholique au xxe siècle, un apostolat : les exemples de Jules Dorion et Eugène L’Heureux », SCHEC, Études d’hist. religieuse, 73 (2007) : 31–47.— [P.-E. Roy], l’Action sociale catholique et l’Œuvre de la presse catholique : motifs, programme, organisation, ressources (Québec, 1907).— Univ. Laval, Annuaire, 1880–1893 ; 1932–1938.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Dominique Marquis, « DORION, FRANÇOIS-XAVIER-JULES (F.-X.-Jules Dorion, Jules Dorion) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 févr. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dorion_francois_xavier_jules_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dorion_francois_xavier_jules_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Dominique Marquis
Titre de l'article:   DORION, FRANÇOIS-XAVIER-JULES (F.-X.-Jules Dorion, Jules Dorion)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   23 février 2017