DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  William Ernest Ditchburn

Source: Link

Ditchburn, William Ernest, printer, lacrosse player, political organizer, and office holder; b. 11 Dec. 1862 in Ross (Ross-on-Wye), England, fourth of the eight children of Thomas Lee Ditchburn and Eliza Anne Landells; m. 27 Oct. 1897 Ann Lilian Stainsby Blackett in Victoria, and they had three children, one of whom died young; d. there 11 Nov. 1932.

In 1868, when Billy Ditchburn was a small boy, his family emigrated from England to Ontario. There, he attended public schools in Harwood, Cobourg, and Toronto, communities where his father worked as a photographer, telegrapher, and railway-station agent. In 1875, at age 13, he apprenticed as a printer in Toronto. Five years later he got his first job in the trade at the Ladies’ Journal in that city. When the publisher moved to Mount Forest the next year, Ditchburn followed. There he discovered a love of lacrosse and played for the town’s club. He then moved around Ontario, practising his trade with newspapers in Gananoque (1882–84), Brockville (1884–86), and Ottawa (1887–89), each time joining the local lacrosse team. During this period he established a reputation as a star player.

In 1890 Ditchburn decided to move west, stopping in Winnipeg for the summer, where he helped that city’s lacrosse club win the provincial championship. Later that year he worked for a newspaper in Tacoma, Wash., but, disappointed by the absence of a lacrosse team, he moved to Victoria, where he found employment as a printer with the Victoria Daily Times and later with the Daily Colonist. He joined the city’s lacrosse team and dazzled spectators with his vigour, speed and, as one journalist from the Daily Colonist reported, his “flowing black moustache.” In 1893 he was a member of a Victoria team that toured Ontario and Quebec, losing only one exhibition game.

On 27 Oct. 1897 Ditchburn married Ann Lilian Stainsby Blackett, a Victoria resident whose family had emigrated from England. After the wedding he retired as a lacrosse player, but he soon returned to the sport, acting as a referee until the game declined in popularity following World War I. Early in the 20th century he became part of Victoria’s masonic order.

Politically, Ditchburn was active with the city’s Liberals, and in 1908 he was asked to organize the Victoria Liberal Association, which was affiliated with both the federal and provincial parties; the next year, he was elected the association’s president. In 1910 the Department of Indian Affairs abolished the position of superintendent of Indian affairs for British Columbia and divided the province into three administrative districts. As an active member of Sir Wilfrid Laurier*’s governing federal party, Ditchburn was well positioned for a patronage appointment, and was promptly named inspector of Indian agencies for the Southwestern Inspectorate, which had its headquarters in Victoria. At this time he gave up printing. In 1917 he would be promoted to chief inspector for the province, and, in 1923, appointed commissioner of Indian affairs for British Columbia, a role he would fill until his retirement.

His first position made Ditchburn responsible for the Cowichan, Kwahkewlth, Lytton, New Westminster, and West Coast agencies. He was thus charged with conducting tours of inspection and delivering reports to Ottawa on the condition of indigenous communities concerning such matters as health, economic activity, moral conduct (which included liquor use and marriage customs), and education. The quality of houses was of particular interest to him; it was his preferred measure of progress towards what he considered to be civilization. For example, he deplored the fact that in the Kwahkewlth agency many fine canoes were being built but little was being done to improve housing. Conversely, the Songhees, who, under his supervision, moved from a reserve near Victoria to one at Esquimalt Harbour in 1911, took the opportunity to build good houses in their new location. Ditchburn commented on their efforts in his annual report for 1914–15: “A stranger passing by this reserve would not for a moment imagine that the property belonged to Indians.”

Over the years Ditchburn criticized poor attendance at day schools on reserves. He blamed the situation on seasonal migrations related to fishing and harvesting and the tendency to hold potlatches during the winter months. His proposed solution was to expand accommodation in industrial and boarding schools, a strategy adopted by the department after World War I. But as the number of residential institutions grew, he became increasingly aware of their shortcomings [see Peter Henderson Bryce]. In 1920 he would write a report in which he attributed declining student health to poor food, excessive labour, and too many religious exercises in Roman Catholic schools.

Ditchburn considered the potlatch a “deplorable custom” that disrupted school attendance, wasted time and money, and brought together large crowds in unsanitary conditions. In 1913, after a visit to Alert Bay, where the ceremony was often held, he wrote to department headquarters urging that section 149 of the Indian Act, which outlawed the potlatch [see Israel Wood Powell*], be enforced. The new deputy superintendent of Indian affairs, Duncan Campbell Scott*, agreed, and prosecutions immediately followed. This repression discouraged the potlatch for a time but failed to eliminate it. Many indigenous people openly defied the law, particularly the Kwakiutl (Kwakwaka’wakw). Leaders Johnny Bagwany, who offered himself as a “martyr” for the cause, and Ned Harris were tried and found guilty in 1914 but received suspended sentences. Others became adept at evading the law and protested that section 149 should be repealed. A number of anthropologists (including Franz Boas* and Charles Frederic Newcombe*) and politicians (such as Conservative mp Herbert Sylvester Clements) publicly supported indigenous claims for the right to conduct potlatches, but Ditchburn, with the full backing of the department, refused to compromise. In 1931 he wrote that the department’s unambiguous aim was “to eradicate this practice entirely as there appears to be no half-way measures that could be put into effect.”

In 1912 Ditchburn had learned that the owners of sealing vessels were entitled to compensation under the Fur Seal Treaty of 1911, which banned seal hunting in the northern Pacific. Since this treaty deprived many indigenous people of lucrative seasonal employment, he began to press department headquarters to ensure that they also received compensation. Mainly because of his initiative, arrangements were made for indigenous sealers to prepare and submit their claims. Some department officials worried that the legal and travel costs of distributing compensation funds would be greater than the compensation itself, and Ditchburn had to overcome their concerns. After much deliberation, he was given $13,295.25 in 1916 to be divided among 902 indigenous sealers, out of a total of $200,000 received by Canada in compensation from the United States.

Between 1913 and 1916 a royal commission, which came to be known as the McKenna–McBride commission [see James Andrew Joseph McKenna*], had examined the state of reserves in British Columbia and recommended some modifications to their boundaries. The commission was supposed to resolve a long-standing dispute between Ottawa and Victoria over indigenous lands. The federal government wanted to endorse the commission’s recommendations, and Ditchburn’s job was to persuade the reluctant provincial government to do so as well. Victoria considered the recommendations too generous to indigenous people and the matter was stalled until 1920, when a review of the commission’s work was accepted. The review was conducted by Ditchburn, who represented Ottawa, J. W. Clark, who acted for the province, and James Alexander Teit*, a British Columbia ethnographer and political activist who represented indigenous interests. During what came to be known as the Ditchburn inquiry, bands made several requests for additional lands, most of which Ditchburn rejected, but those he considered reasonable were turned down by Clark. Indeed, Ditchburn found Clark to be inflexible and parsimonious, and the final report mainly proposed further reductions to reserves. Victoria and Ottawa endorsed the report of the royal commission as amended by Ditchburn and Clark in 1923 and 1924 respectively. The federal–provincial agreement was unacceptable to many indigenous people. Since the establishment of the Allied Indian Tribes of British Columbia in 1909, they had maintained a persistent agitation – notably through the work of indigenous leaders Peter Reginald Kelly* and Andrew Paull – in the hope that both levels of government would recognize their land claims, a goal that was never achieved.

Deputy Superintendent Scott had full confidence in Ditchburn, knowing that he could be relied on to vigorously apply departmental policy. Ditchburn repaid this confidence with tireless devotion to his job, refusing to take the vacations to which he was entitled. By the 1930s, however, his health was in decline, and in June 1932 he retired from service. He died on 11 November at his home on Linden Avenue in Victoria, and was interred at Ross Bay Cemetery after a funeral service conducted by the masonic order.

William Ernest Ditchburn played a significant role in managing the Department of Indian Affairs in British Columbia for nearly two decades. Although he demonstrated occasional understanding of indigenous rights and needs, for the most part he diligently implemented a policy that was repressive in conception and application.

E. Brian Titley

B.C., Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations (Victoria), file 026076, sect.3. LAC, RG10, vol.3629, file no.6244-2. Daily Colonist (Victoria), 1897–1932. Victoria Daily Times, 1911–32. Can., Parl., Sessional papers, 1912, 1914, 1916 (reports of the Dept. of Indian Affairs, 1911, 1913, 1915). Douglas Cole and Ira Chaikin, An iron hand upon the people: the law against the potlatch on the northwest coast (Vancouver, 1990). J. S. Milloy, A national crime: the Canadian government and the residential school system, 1879 to 1986 (Winnipeg, 1999). D. G. Paterson, “The North Pacific seal hunt, 1886–1910: rights and regulations,” in British Columbia: historical readings, ed. W. P. Ward and R. A. J. McDonald (Vancouver, 1981), 343–66. E. O. S. Scholefield and F. W. Howay, British Columbia from the earliest times to the present (4v., Vancouver, 1914). E. B. Titley, A narrow vision: Duncan Campbell Scott and the administration of Indian Affairs in Canada (Vancouver, 1986).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

E. Brian Titley, “DITCHBURN, WILLIAM ERNEST,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 10, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ditchburn_william_ernest_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ditchburn_william_ernest_16E.html
Author of Article: E. Brian Titley
Title of Article: DITCHBURN, WILLIAM ERNEST
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2019
Year of revision: 2019
Access Date: December 10, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

FRAME, ELIZABETH MURDOCH – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédée célibataire le 17 novembre 1904 à Shubenacadie, Nouvelle-Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  William Ernest Ditchburn

Provenance : Lien

Ditchburn, William Ernest, imprimeur, joueur de crosse, organisateur politique et fonctionnaire, né le 11 décembre 1862 à Ross (Ross-on-Wye, Angleterre), quatrième des huit enfants de Thomas Lee Ditchburn et d’Eliza Anne Landells ; le 27 octobre 1897, il épousa à Victoria Ann Lilian Stainsby Blackett, et ils eurent trois enfants, dont un mourut jeune ; décédé le 11 novembre 1932 dans cette ville.

En 1868, quand William Ernest Ditchburn, que l’on appelait Billy, était un petit garçon, sa famille quitta l’Angleterre pour l’Ontario. Il fréquenta alors des écoles publiques à Harwood, à Cobourg et à Toronto, villes où son père exerça les métiers de photographe, télégraphiste et chef de gare. En 1875, à l’âge de 13 ans, il devint apprenti imprimeur à Toronto. Cinq ans plus tard, il y obtint son premier emploi dans le domaine, au Ladies’ Journal. Lorsque l’éditeur partit s’installer à Mount Forest l’année d’après, Ditchburn le suivit. Il se découvrit une passion pour la crosse et joua dans l’équipe de la ville. Il vécut ensuite à divers endroits en Ontario : il travailla pour des journaux à Gananoque (1882–1884), à Brockville (1884–1886) et à Ottawa (1887–1889), où il se joignit chaque fois à l’équipe de crosse locale. Durant cette période, il acquit une réputation de joueur étoile.

En 1890, Ditchburn décida de partir dans l’Ouest ; il fit escale à Winnipeg pour l’été, où il aida l’équipe de crosse à remporter le championnat provincial. Plus tard cette année-là, il travailla pour un journal de Tacoma, dans l’État de Washington. Déçu de l’absence d’une équipe de crosse, il s’installa à Victoria, où le Victoria Daily Times puis le Daily Colonist l’embauchèrent comme imprimeur. Il se joignit à l’équipe de crosse de la ville, et éblouit le public avec son énergie, sa vitesse et, comme le dit un journaliste du Daily Colonist, sa « moustache noire ondoyante ». En 1893, il était membre d’une équipe de Victoria qui, en tournée en Ontario et au Québec, ne perdit qu’un match hors concours.

Le 27 octobre 1897, Ditchburn épousa Ann Lilian Stainsby Blackett, résidente de Victoria dont la famille avait émigré d’Angleterre. Après son mariage, il cessa de jouer, mais revint vite à la crosse à titre d’arbitre, jusqu’à ce que la popularité du sport décline, après la Première Guerre mondiale. Au début du xxe siècle, il adhéra à l’ordre maçonnique de Victoria.

En politique, Ditchburn appuyait activement les libéraux de la ville. En 1908, on lui demanda d’être l’organisateur de la Victoria Liberal Association, affiliée au Parti libéral fédéral et provincial ; l’année suivante, il fut élu président de l’association. En 1910, le ministère des Affaires indiennes abolit le poste de surintendant des Affaires indiennes de la Colombie-Britannique et divisa la province en trois districts administratifs. Membre actif du parti fédéral au pouvoir de sir Wilfrid Laurier*, Ditchburn était bien placé pour obtenir une nomination partisane : il fut vite nommé inspecteur des agences indiennes pour le bureau d’inspection du Sud-Ouest, dont le siège se trouvait à Victoria. Il abandonna l’imprimerie. En 1917, il serait promu inspecteur en chef provincial et, en 1923, nommé commissaire des Affaires indiennes de la Colombie-Britannique, poste qu’il occuperait jusqu’à sa retraite.

À titre de simple inspecteur, Ditchburn était responsable des agences de Cowichan, de Kwahkewlth, de Lytton, de New Westminster et de la côte Ouest. Il devait donc fournir à Ottawa des rapports sur les conditions de vie des communautés autochtones, sur des questions telles que la santé, les activités économiques, la conduite morale (notamment la consommation d’alcool et les coutumes matrimoniales) et l’éducation. Il s’intéressait particulièrement à la qualité des demeures ; c’était là, selon lui, le meilleur outil pour évaluer leur progrès vers ce qu’il considérait comme la civilisation. Par exemple, il déplorait le fait qu’on fabriquait beaucoup d’excellents canots à l’agence de Kwahkewlth, mais qu’on faisait peu pour améliorer le logement. À l’inverse, les Songhees, qui, sous son autorité, quittèrent une réserve près de Victoria pour s’installer en 1911 dans une autre au havre d’Esquimalt, profitèrent de l’occasion pour y construire de bonnes maisons. Dans son rapport annuel pour l’année 1914–1915, Ditchburn commenta le résultat de leurs efforts : « Un étranger traversant cette réserve n’imaginerait pas un instant que ces maisons appartiennent à des Indiens. »

Au fil des ans, Ditchburn critiqua la faible fréquentation des écoles de jour dans les réserves. Il en imputa la faute aux migrations saisonnières des Autochtones pour la pêche et la cueillette, et à la tenue de potlatchs pendant les mois d’hiver. Pour remédier à cette situation, il proposa d’accroître l’hébergement dans les écoles industrielles et les pensionnats, stratégie que les Affaires indiennes adoptèrent après la Première Guerre mondiale. Cependant, au fur et à mesure que le nombre d’établissements résidentiels augmentait, il en constata les lacunes [V. Peter Henderson Bryce]. En 1920, il rédigerait un rapport où il attribuerait la santé déclinante des élèves à la mauvaise qualité de la nourriture, au travail excessif et aux trop nombreux exercices religieux dans les écoles catholiques.

Ditchburn considérait le potlatch comme une « coutume déplorable » qui nuisait à la fréquentation scolaire, faisait perdre temps et argent, et rassemblait de larges foules dans des conditions d’hygiène douteuses. En 1913, après une visite à Alert Bay, où se tenait souvent cette cérémonie, il écrivit au siège du ministère pour recommander vivement l’application de l’article 149 de la Loi sur les Indiens, qui interdisait le potlatch [V. Israel Wood Powell*]. Le nouveau surintendant adjoint des Affaires indiennes, Duncan Campbell Scott*, était du même avis, et des poursuites furent immédiatement engagées ; cette répression découragea les potlatchs pour un temps, sans pour autant les faire disparaître. Beaucoup d’Autochtones défièrent ouvertement la loi, en particulier les Kwakiutls (Kwakwaka’wakws). Leurs chefs Ned Harris et Johnny Bagwany, qui se sacrifia en « martyr » pour la cause, subirent un procès et furent reconnus coupables en 1914, mais leur peine fut suspendue. D’autres prirent l’habitude de contourner la loi et réclamèrent l’abrogation de l’article 149. Un certain nombre d’anthropologues (comme Franz Boas* et Charles Frederic Newcombe*) et d’hommes politiques (notamment le député conservateur Herbert Sylvester Clements) appuyèrent publiquement les Autochtones qui revendiquaient le droit de tenir des potlatchs. Ditchburn, avec le soutien total du ministère, demeura malgré tout intraitable. En 1931, il écrivit que le ministère visait explicitement à « éradiquer complètement cette pratique, puisqu’aucune mesure intermédiaire ne semblait pouvoir être mise en œuvre ».

En 1912, Ditchburn avait appris que les propriétaires de phoquiers avaient droit à une indemnité en vertu du traité pour la protection des phoques de 1911 qui interdisait la chasse au phoque dans le Pacifique Nord. Ce traité privant beaucoup d’Autochtones d’un emploi saisonnier lucratif, il commença à faire pression sur l’administration centrale du ministère pour qu’on les dédommage eux aussi. Principalement grâce à ses efforts, on prit des dispositions pour que les chasseurs de phoque puissent préparer et soumettre leurs demandes. Certains fonctionnaires craignaient que les frais juridiques et de déplacement nécessaires à la distribution des indemnités n’en dépassent le montant même ; Ditchburn dut dissiper leurs inquiétudes. Après beaucoup de discussion, il reçut 13 295,25 $ en 1916, à diviser entre 902 chasseurs de phoque autochtones, sur un total de 200 000 $ versés en indemnités au Canada par les États-Unis.

Entre 1913 et 1916, une commission royale, connue sous le nom de commission McKenna-McBride [V. James Andrew Joseph McKenna*], s’était penchée sur l’état des réserves en Colombie-Britannique. Censée résoudre un conflit de longue date entre Ottawa et Victoria au sujet de territoires autochtones, elle avait recommandé certaines modifications à leurs frontières. Le gouvernement fédéral souhaitait approuver les modifications proposées par la commission, et Ditchburn devait convaincre le gouvernement provincial, peu enthousiaste, d’en faire autant. Victoria jugeait les recommandations trop généreuses à l’égard des Autochtones. L’affaire resta en suspens jusqu’en 1920, année où on accepta de revoir le rapport de la commission. Cette révision fut menée par Ditchburn, représentant Ottawa, J. W. Clark, représentant la province, et James Alexander Teit*, ethnographe et militant politique de la Colombie-Britannique, représentant les peuples autochtones. Durant ce qu’on appellerait l’enquête Ditchburn, les nations autochtones firent plusieurs demandes de terres supplémentaires ; Ditchburn rejeta la plupart d’entre elles, et celles qu’il estimait raisonnables essuyèrent le refus de Clark. En effet, ce dernier s’avéra intransigeant et parcimonieux aux yeux de Ditchburn, et le rapport final proposa principalement une réduction encore plus draconienne des réserves. Victoria et Ottawa approuvèrent le rapport de la commission royale modifié par Ditchburn en 1923 et par Clark en 1924. L’accord fédéral-provincial était inacceptable pour bon nombre d’Autochtones, qui, depuis la fondation en 1909 de l’Allied Indian Tribes of British Columbia, avaient maintenu une agitation permanente – notamment par l’action des militants amérindiens Peter Reginald Kelly* et Andrew Paull – dans l’espoir que les deux ordres de gouvernement reconnaissent leurs revendications territoriales, en vain.

Le surintendant adjoint Scott avait pleinement confiance en Ditchburn. Il savait qu’on pouvait compter sur lui pour appliquer avec force les politiques du ministère. Ditchburn fit honneur à cette confiance : il se dévoua sans relâche à son travail, refusant même de prendre les vacances auxquelles il avait droit. Au début des années 1930, cependant, sa santé était déclinante, et, en juin 1932, il partit à la retraite. Il mourut le 11 novembre chez lui, sur l’avenue Linden, à Victoria, et fut enseveli au cimetière Ross Bay, après un service funèbre conduit par l’ordre maçonnique.

William Ernest Ditchburn joua un rôle important dans la gestion du ministère des Affaires indiennes en Colombie-Britannique durant près de 20 ans. Même s’il se montra à l’occasion sensible aux droits et aux besoins des Autochtones, il mit surtout en œuvre une politique de conception et d’application répressives.

E. Brian Titley

BAC, RG10, vol. 3629, dossier no 6244-2.— C.-B., Ministry of Forests, Lands and Natural Resource Operations (Victoria), file 026076, sect. 3.— Daily Colonist (Victoria), 1897–1932.— Victoria Daily Times, 1911–1932.— Canada, Parl., Doc. de la session, 1912, 1914, 1916 (rapports du dép. des Affaires indiennes, 1911, 1913, 1915).— Douglas Cole et Ira Chaikin, An iron hand upon the people : the law against the potlatch on the northwest coast (Vancouver, 1990).— J. S. Milloy, A national crime : the Canadian government and the residential school system, 1879 to 1986 (Winnipeg, 1999).— D. G. Paterson, « The North Pacific seal hunt, 1886–1910 : rights and regulations », dans British Columbia : historical readings, W. P. Ward et R. A. J. McDonald, édit. (Vancouver, 1981), 343–366.— E. O. S. Scholefield et F. W. Howay, British Columbia from the earliest times to the present (4 vol., Vancouver, 1914).— E. B. Titley, A narrow vision : Duncan Campbell Scott and the administration of Indian Affairs in Canada (Vancouver, 1986).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

E. Brian Titley, « DITCHBURN, WILLIAM ERNEST », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 17 nov. 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/ditchburn_william_ernest_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/ditchburn_william_ernest_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   E. Brian Titley
Titre de l'article:   DITCHBURN, WILLIAM ERNEST
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2019
Année de la révision:   2019
Date de consultation:   17 novembre 2019