DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

CORNISH, ELLEN GERTRUDE (Knights) (she signed most of her literary work Gertrude Cornish Knight), author, journalist, and pageant producer; b. 11 Jan. 1877 in Sandwich (Windsor), Ont., youngest of the five children of John Cornish and Louisa Overton; m. 27 April 1898 Frederick Thomas Knights in Winnipeg, and they had two sons and one daughter; d. 11 Jan. 1933 in Windsor and was buried in Riverside Cemetery, Port Arthur (Thunder Bay), Ont.

In 1882 Ellen Gertrude Cornish’s father, John, a bailiff at Sandwich, relocated his family to Winnipeg, where his brother, the controversial Francis Evans Cornish*, had been the first mayor. John would serve as city bailiff for several years. As early as 1884–85, Gertie and her brother Francis (Frank) Evans were attracting special mention for their recitations at the Baptist Sunday school and at children’s socials sponsored by the Blue Ribbon Society, a branch of the Gospel Temperance Movement. She went on to recite at gatherings of the Loyal Temperance Legion, the children’s branch of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union (WCTU), and, as a young woman, at the Royal Templars of Temperance, Progress Council No.2, where her future husband, Frederick Knights, would play a guitar selection on one occasion in 1895. By 1892 Gertie was composing her own verse and dialogues for social and temperance fund-raising concerts. Sixteen of her best compositions were made available as a booklet by the Trades and Labor Council in 1894. Her work earned a commendation from Lieutenant Governor Sir John Christian Schultz*. The autobiographical story “Betty, or winning him over” reflects aspects of Gertrude’s childhood. It recounts the tale of Betty, a girl who moves from Walkerville (Windsor), Ont., to Winnipeg. Her father becomes “a slave to strong drink,” reducing his prosperous household to poverty. A Sunday-school teacher encourages her to give a recitation for the Christmas festival, which brings her great pleasure. If this account is based on the author’s early years, it explains much about Gertrude’s passion for temperance, and for writing poems and plays in which young people might find solace.

About five years after marrying Fred Knights, who was a locomotive foreman for the Canadian Northern Railway, Gertrude, with her husband and their children, moved to Dauphin and later to Edmonton. In July 1908 Fred was transferred to Port Arthur, a rapidly growing grain and freight trans-shipment port. Gertrude volunteered as a Sunday-school teacher and leader of the youth mission band at Trinity Methodist Church. By 1909 she was training boys and girls in recitations and drills for the medal contests of the West Algoma branch of the WCTU. She became superintendent of juvenile medal contests a year later, and subsequently the branch’s recording secretary and president. She was also an influential founding member of the West Algoma Equal Suffrage Association and the local chapter of the Women’s Canadian Club.

From late 1910 until April 1911 Gertrude, using the pseudonym Miss Helper, edited the women’s page for Port Arthur’s Daily News. This employment brought her into the Twin Cities branch of the Canadian Women’s Press Club [see Catherine Ferguson*; Katherine Angelina Hughes*], the locus of the Lakehead’s literary women, and led to her creation of a Saturday children’s column, which she signed Mrs F. or Mrs F. S. Knight and which ran from January 1911 until June 1914. Both features gave her a means for advancing her views on parenting, especially the raising of boys, and they were the primary outlet for her poetry, which she mostly signed Gertrude Cornish Knight, the pen name she used exclusively after August 1911.

Immersed from childhood in Victorian school and temperance concerts, Gertrude wrote verses intended for recitations. They are typically little stories or lessons, primarily moral, religious, or elegiac; for example, “The children’s friend,” written in 1911, eulogizes Winnipeg politician and judge Thomas Mayne Daly*. Other topics are motherhood, babies, nature, Easter, and light-hearted subjects such as Santa Claus. Although Gertrude was sentimental about infants and youngsters, older children, particularly boys, were exhorted to make the right choices, to develop individuality and self-reliance, and to face the harshness of life – “to carry your load yourself,” as she urged in a 1913 poem. What distinguishes her from some of her contemporaries, such as Edith Sarah Groves [Lelean], is her overtly didactic and evangelical Christian messages.

Gertrude’s passion for providing wholesome ways to engage children led her to create stage productions that would embody in song and story the patriotic and moral themes she believed were important. They were pastiches, with elements found in pageants, melodramas, and comedies. The newspapers characterized these plays as cantatas or operettas because they contained so much music for the marches and drills, as well as the occasional popular tune, hymn, and patriotic song during which the audience could join in. She developed the themes and tableaux, wrote the dialogue, and selected the recitations and songs, some of which she composed. The casts, mostly girls, featured children of all ages, including her own, and a few adults in allegorical roles such as Civilization or John Bull.

Her first and most successful show, “The courtship of Miss Canada,” premiered at Trinity Methodist Church on New Year’s Eve 1912 with more than 70 performers. Through the agency of the Canadian Circulation Company of Toronto, it was produced in over 20 Canadian towns and cities between 1913 and 1917, often with the sponsorship of the local Methodist church or the WCTU. The heroine chooses Christ and the Cross, whereas in Mrs Groves’s secular play The wooing of Miss Canada (Toronto, 1917), she chooses Jack Canuck. “War time in song and story,” which appeared in 1914, enjoyed similar success across Canada. The Dawson Daily News (1915) praised it for “ringing with patriotism and palpitating with good cheer.” The two works netted $10,000 for patriotic and church purposes, not counting what Gertrude received in royalties. The allegorical play “The new empire” followed in 1916. For Christmas she created three plays between 1913 and 1921: in the first Santa Claus is placed on trial; in the second he exhorts children to sacrifice their gifts for the nation’s soldiers; and in the third Mother Nature is wooed by Jack Frost and Father Christmas. In 1918, two years after the imposition of the unpopular Ontario Temperance Act by Premier William Howard Hearst*, Gertrude composed “The hour before the dawn,” in which Squire John Bull must decide between his maid, Temperance, and his valet, Booze.

In her war poems, as well as the patriotic and recruiting lyrics that she wrote in collaboration with local music teachers, young men are expected to do their duty, and parents are expected to bear the sacrifice and loss that war inevitably brings. Such was the message of “It’s the price we pay,” about the death of airman Stanley Wallace Rosevear*. Gertrude’s best patriotic poems, such as “Canada to England,” make stirring recitations, but the worst, like “The slackers,” are jingoistic and unfeeling.

Gertrude’s husband was transferred to the isolated railway town of Sioux Lookout in 1920, and for the next 13 years she led a peripatetic life. She often shuttled between Port Arthur and Los Angeles, where her son Frederick Gordon moved in 1923. Although repulsed by California’s secularism, she would spend approximately six years there as her heart condition worsened; ironically, it was the place she had rejected in her widely printed 1915 poem “Old Ontario is good enough for me,” in response to a booklet touting the state’s many charms. She continued to write verse and plays for children both there and during her visits to Port Arthur. In the summer of 1932 she travelled to Windsor for an extended stay with her brother Frank. There she died of heart failure on her birthday.

Ellen Gertrude Cornish’s literary work bears testimony to her conviction that the woman who “rocks the cradle” is “man’s own equal in heart and brain and mind” and, as a mother, holds in her hands the fate of her land. She made this case in “The cradle and the ballot” and again in “The woman at home,” which contains these lines:

It is she who is ever shaping
The nations yet to be
And in her tender influence lies
A people’s destiny.

A creative voice for maternal feminism, evangelical Christianity and temperance, and English Canadian nationalism, she advanced these ideals in an amusing, cheerful, rhythmic way that appealed to children and adults across Canada. Her field of action was Port Arthur, not Flanders fields, her arms the pen and the stage.

Frederick Brent Scollie

The official birth registration for Ellen Gertrude Cornish (AO, RG 80-2-0-92, no.4520) states that she was born on 4 Jan. 1874; her birth was registered 24 Jan. 1877. The year 1874 must be a clerical error since her brother Francis Evans’s birth was registered 1 Feb. 1874 (AO, RG 80-2-0-52, no.1407), which is less than a month later. (The birth entry immediately preceding Cornish’s bears the date 22 Nov. 1874; it is possible that the clerk copied the year 1874 in error.) According to her daughter, May, she died on her birthday; her death registration (AO, RG 80-8-0-1423, no.14492) records 11 Jan. 1877 as her date of birth.

The subject signed most of her literary work Gertrude Cornish Knight. Early in her career she used Mrs F. or Mrs F. S. Knight for one of her columns and a few of her poems. It is unknown why she dropped the “s” from Knights in her pen names and why she sometimes used the initial “S” since neither she nor her husband had a middle name beginning with that letter. She was the author of 16 juvenile poems published in booklet form in 1894 by the newspaper of the Trades and Labor Council, Peoples Voice (Winnipeg), and about 174 poems (121 signed, 53 unsigned or unverifiable), written between 1909 and 1931. Most of the poems appeared in the Daily News and News-Chronicle published in Port Arthur (Thunder Bay), Ont.; 117 were collected by the Knights family and compiled in a typewritten anthology. Copies of the family anthology and the author’s anthology of newspaper poems are in the subject file at the DCB. Future research may uncover more of her verse in the publications of the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union and elsewhere.

“When Emmaline Pankhurst dies” was published in The poetry of the Canadian people, ed. N. B. Davis (2v., Toronto, 1976–78), 2 (1900–1950); it originally appeared in Woman’s Century (Toronto), the official organ of the National Council of Women of Canada, probably in June 1913. Other poems mentioned in the biography published in the Daily News are: “The children’s friend,” 30 June 1911; “The woman at home,” 12 Sept. 1912; “Canada to England,” 3 Aug. 1914; and “Old Ontario is good enough for me,” 22 Dec. 1915. “The slackers,” 18 May 1916, and “It’s the price we pay,” 29 April 1918, were published in the News-Chronicle. The poem “The cradle and the ballot,” dated 1911, is included in the anthology compiled by the Knights family. Her story “Betty, or winning him over,” was published in several instalments (the exact number is unknown) in the Daily News, beginning with the issue of 3 Feb. 1912.

Three published patriotic songs, for which she wrote the lyrics, have survived and copies are at LAC: in collaboration with A. J. Barrie, We’ve all got someone at the front: patriotic song (Winnipeg and Toronto, 1915); in collaboration with J. H. Horn, Keep step with Johnny Canuck: a recruiting song (Winnipeg and Toronto, 1915); and in collaboration with Allan Hare, Good luck to Johnny Canuck: song (Toronto, 1916). Her stage works were not published and no scripts are extant. They include: “The courtship of Miss Canada” (first produced in 1912); “The trial of Santa Claus” (1913); “War time in song and story” (1914); “Santa Claus in war time” (1915); “The new empire, or a pageant of modern times” (1916); “The hour before the dawn” (1918); “Mother Nature’s wooing” (1921); and “The master flag” (1922). Known playlets are: “The minister’s bride” (first produced in 1915); “Just a bunch of girls” (1917); “Servants of the flag” (1917); “The snowman’s wedding” (1920); “Disciples of the fine arts” (1923); and “The newly rich pack and missionary box” (1928).

AO, RG 80-2-0-39, no.16828. LAC, R233-36-4, Man., dist. Winnipeg (City) (10), subdist. Ward 5 (E): 4–5; R233-37-6, Man., dist. Winnipeg (City) (12), subdist. Ward 4 (D): 3. Man., Dept. of Justice, Vital statistics agency (Winnipeg), no.1898-001946; no.1900-002048. Border Cities Star (Windsor, Ont.), 12 Jan. 1933. Campbellford Weekly Herald (Campbellford, Ont.), 24 Feb. 1916. Canadian Courier (Toronto), 6 May 1916: 20. Daily News, 1908–16. Dawson Daily News (Dawson City, Y.T.), 31 Dec. 1915. Manitoba Free Press, 1882–98. News-Chronicle, 1916–33. S. A. Cook, “Through sunshine and shadow”: the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, evangelicalism, and reform in Ontario, 1874–1930 (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1995), chap.4. F. B. Scollie, “Wartime in song and story: Gertrude Cornish Knight, motherhood and patriotism, 1910–1921,” Thunder Bay Hist. Museum Soc., Papers and Records, 24 (1996): 12–32.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Frederick Brent Scollie, “CORNISH, ELLEN GERTRUDE (Knights) ,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 19, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/cornish_ellen_gertrude_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/cornish_ellen_gertrude_16E.html
Author of Article: Frederick Brent Scollie
Title of Article: CORNISH, ELLEN GERTRUDE (Knights)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: November 19, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

HAMOND, sir ANDREW SNAPE – Volume VI (1821-1835)

né le 17 décembre 1738 à Blackheath (Londres)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

CORNISH, ELLEN GERTRUDE (Knights) (la plupart de ses œuvres littéraires sont signées Gertrude Cornish Knight), auteure, journaliste et productrice de spectacles, née le 11 janvier 1877 à Sandwich (Windsor, Ontario), dernière des cinq enfants de John Cornish et de Louisa Overton ; le 27 avril 1898, elle épousa à Winnipeg Frederick Thomas Knights, et ils eurent deux fils et une fille ; décédée le 11 janvier 1933 à Windsor et inhumée au cimetière Riverside à Port Arthur (Thunder Bay, Ontario.)

En 1882, le père d’Ellen Gertrude Cornish, huissier à Sandwich, installa sa famille à Winnipeg, où son frère, le controversé Francis Evans Cornish*, avait été le premier maire. John occuperait le poste d’huissier municipal pendant plusieurs années. En 1884–1885, Gertrude et son frère Francis Evans, respectivement surnommés Gertie et Frank, s’attiraient déjà des mentions spéciales pour leurs récitations à l’école du dimanche baptiste et dans des fêtes pour enfants commanditées par la Blue Ribbon Society, section du Gospel Temperance Movement. Gertie fit également des récitations dans des rencontres de la Loyal Temperance Legion, section pour enfants de la Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, puis, devenue jeune femme, pour les Royal Templars of Temperance, Progress Council No.2, où son futur mari, Frederick Thomas Knights, présenterait des morceaux choisis à la guitare en 1895. En 1892, Gertie composait déjà ses propres poèmes et dialogues pour des concerts au profit d’œuvres sociales et de tempérance. En 1894, le Trades and Labor Council publia 16 de ses meilleures compositions dans une plaquette. Son travail mérita un éloge du lieutenant-gouverneur, sir John Christian Schultz*. Le récit autobiographique « Betty, or winning him over » évoque des aspects de l’enfance de Gertrude. Il raconte l’histoire de Betty, jeune fille dont la famille quitte Walkerville (Windsor) pour élire domicile à Winnipeg. Son père devient « esclave des boissons fortes », réduisant à la pauvreté un ménage auparavant prospère. Un professeur de l’école du dimanche l’encourage à présenter une récitation pour le festival de Noël, ce qui lui procure un grand plaisir. Si cette histoire est basée sur les années de jeunesse de l’auteure, elle explique en grande partie pourquoi Gertrude mit tant de passion à défendre la tempérance, et à écrire des poèmes et des pièces de théâtre où des jeunes pouvaient trouver un réconfort.

Environ cinq ans après avoir épousé Frederick Thomas Knights, contremaître de locomotive à la Canadian Northern Railway Company, Gertrude s’installa avec son mari et ses enfants à Dauphin, au Manitoba, puis à Edmonton. En juillet 1908, Frederick Thomas fut muté à Port Arthur, port de transbordement de grain et de fret en plein essor. Gertrude se porta volontaire pour enseigner à l’école du dimanche et diriger le groupe missionnaire pour jeunes de l’église méthodiste Trinity. En 1909, elle entraînait filles et garçons à la récitation et aux exercices en vue des concours de médaille de la section de West Algoma de la Woman’s Christian Temperance Union. Un an plus tard, on la nomma surintendante des concours de médaille pour les jeunes et, par la suite, secrétaire archiviste et présidente de la section. Elle eut également une grande influence comme membre fondatrice de la West Algoma Equal Suffrage Association et du chapitre de Port Arthur du Women’s Canadian Club.

De la fin de 1910 jusqu’au mois d’avril 1911, sous le pseudonyme de Miss Helper, Gertrude fut rédactrice en chef de la page féminine du Daily News de Port Arthur. Cet emploi lui ouvrit les portes de la section des Twin Cities du Canadian Women’s Press Club [V. Catherine Ferguson* ; Katherine Angelina Hughes*], lieu de rencontre des femmes lettrées de la région du Lakehead, et l’amena à créer une chronique du samedi pour les enfants, sous le nom de Mrs F. ou Mrs F. S. Knight, qu’elle publia de janvier 1911 à juin 1914. La page féminine et sa chronique du samedi lui fournirent la possibilité de promouvoir ses vues sur le rôle des parents, particulièrement dans l’éducation des garçons, et furent le principal débouché de sa poésie, qu’elle signait le plus souvent Gertrude Cornish Knight, seul nom de plume qu’elle utiliserait après le mois d’août 1911.

Plongée dès l’enfance dans les concerts de l’ère victorienne à l’école et pour la cause de la tempérance, Gertrude écrivait des vers destinés à être déclamés. Il s’agissait typiquement de brèves histoires ou leçons, avant tout morales, religieuses ou élégiaques ; par exemple, The children’s friend, texte rédigé en 1911, faisait le panégyrique de Thomas Mayne Daly*, juge et homme politique de Winnipeg. L’auteure abordait aussi la maternité, les bébés, la nature, Pâques, ainsi que des sujets joyeux comme le père Noël. Même si elle éprouvait de la tendresse toute sentimentale envers les nouveau-nés et les bambins, elle exhortait les enfants plus âgés, particulièrement les garçons, à faire les bons choix, à développer leur individualité et leur autonomie et à affronter les difficultés de la vie, à « porter [eux-mêmes leur] fardeau », comme elle l’exprimait dans un poème de 1913. Son message ouvertement didactique et chrétien évangélique la distingue de certaines de ses contemporaines, comme Edith Sarah Groves [Lelean].

Avide de trouver des manières saines de rejoindre les enfants, Gertrude créa des productions théâtrales qui incarnaient, dans des chansons et des récits, les thèmes patriotiques et moraux qui lui tenaient à cœur. Ces pastiches renfermaient des éléments de spectacle, de mélodrame et de comédie. Les journaux les présentaient comme des cantates ou des opérettes, parce qu’ils comportaient beaucoup de musique pour accompagner des marches et des exercices, ainsi que, à l’occasion, des airs populaires, des hymnes et des chansons patriotiques que l’auditoire pouvait entonner. Elle élaborait les thèmes et les tableaux, écrivait le dialogue et choisissait les récitations et les chansons, dont certaines étaient de sa composition. Parmi les participants, principalement des filles, on trouvait des enfants de tous âges, y compris les siens, et quelques adultes qui tenaient des rôles allégoriques comme la Civilisation ou John Bull.

La première du premier spectacle de Gertrude, et celui qui eut le plus de succès, The courtship of Miss Canada, fut présentée à l’église méthodiste Trinity, la veille du Nouvel An 1912, avec plus de 70 acteurs. Par l’entremise de la Canadian Circulation Company de Toronto, on le produisit dans plus de 20 villes canadiennes entre 1913 et 1917, souvent avec le patronage de l’église méthodiste locale ou de la Woman’s Christian Temperance Union. L’héroïne choisit le Christ et la Croix, tandis que, dans la pièce profane d’Edith Sarah Groves The Wooing of Miss Canada, publiée à Toronto en 1917, elle choisit Jack Canuck. La pièce War time in song and story, créée en 1914, connut un succès similaire dans tout le Canada. En 1915, le Dawson Daily News la louangea en écrivant qu’elle était « claironnante de patriotisme et palpitante de bonne humeur ». Les deux œuvres permirent d’amasser 10 000 $ pour l’église et des œuvres patriotiques, sans compter les droits touchés par l’auteure. La pièce allégorique The new empire suivit en 1916. Entre 1913 et 1921, elle conçut trois pièces pour la fête de Noël. Dans la première, le père Noël est mis en accusation ; dans la deuxième, il exhorte les enfants à sacrifier leurs cadeaux pour les soldats du pays ; dans la troisième, mère Nature est courtisée par Jack Frost et père Noël. En 1918, deux ans après l’imposition de l’impopulaire Ontario Temperance Act par le premier ministre William Howard Hearst*, Gertrude composa la pièce The hour before the dawn dans laquelle le propriétaire terrien John Bull doit choisir entre sa gouvernante Temperance et son valet Booze.

Dans les poèmes de guerre de Gertrude, tout comme dans les paroles des chansons patriotiques et de recrutement qu’elle écrivit en collaboration avec des professeurs de musique locaux, les jeunes hommes étaient appelés à faire leur devoir et les parents à accepter les sacrifices et les pertes que la guerre entraîne inévitablement. Tel était le message de It’s the price we pay, portant sur la mort de l’aviateur Stanley Wallace Rosevear*. Les meilleurs poèmes patriotiques de Gertrude, tel Canada to England, se prêtaient à des déclamations pleines d’émotion, mais les pires, comme The slackers, étaient chauvins et sans pitié.

En 1920, le mari de Gertrude fut muté à Sioux Lookout, ville ferroviaire isolée ; elle mena une vie itinérante pendant les 13 années suivantes. Elle faisait souvent la navette entre Port Arthur et Los Angeles, où son fils Frederick Gordon s’était installé en 1923. Même si elle détestait la laïcité de la Californie, elle y vécut environ six ans, tandis que l’état de son cœur se détériorait. Ironiquement, c’était cet endroit même qu’elle rejetait en 1915 dans son poème largement diffusé, Old Ontario is good enough for me, écrit en réaction à une brochure vantant les nombreux charmes de l’État. Elle continua à composer des vers et des pièces de théâtre pour les enfants en Californie et pendant ses visites à Port Arthur. Durant l’été de 1932, elle se rendit à Windsor pour un long séjour auprès de son frère Frank. Elle y mourut d’insuffisance cardiaque, le jour de son anniversaire.

Les œuvres littéraires d’Ellen Gertrude Cornish (Knights) témoignent de sa conviction que la femme qui « berce l’enfant » est « l’égale de l’homme dans [son] cœur et [son] cerveau et [son] esprit », et que, dans son rôle de mère, elle tient dans ses mains le sort de son pays. Elle défendit cette idée dans The cradle and the ballot et à nouveau dans The woman at home, où l’on trouve ces lignes :

C’est elle qui toujours façonne
Les nations à venir
Et dans sa tendre influence repose
La destinée d’un peuple.

Voix créative du féminisme maternel, du christianisme évangélique, de la tempérance et du nationalisme canadien-anglais, elle défendit ces idéaux d’une manière amusante, joyeuse et rythmée qui plaisait aux enfants et aux adultes de tout le Canada. Son champ d’action était Port Arthur, et non les champs de la Flandre, et ses armes le stylo et la scène.

Frederick Brent Scollie

La naissance d’Ellen Gertrude Cornish a été enregistrée le 24 janvier 1877, mais la date de naissance inscrite sur l’acte officiel (AO, RG 80-2-0-92, no 4520) est le 4 janvier 1874, ce qui est sans aucun doute une erreur administrative, puisque la naissance de son frère Francis Evans a été enregistrée le 1er février 1874 (AO, RG 80-2-0-52, no 1407), soit moins d’un mois plus tard. (Dans les registres, la naissance qui précède celle de Cornish est datée du 22 novembre 1874 ; le greffier a peut-être recopié l’année 1874 par erreur.) Selon sa fille, May, Gertrude est morte le jour de son anniversaire ; sur son acte de décès (AO, RG 80-8-0-1423, no 14492) figure, comme date de naissance, le 11 janvier 1877.

Ellen Gertrude Cornish (Knights) a signé la plupart de ses œuvres littéraires du nom de Gertrude Cornish Knight. Au début de sa carrière, elle a utilisé Mrs F. ou Mrs F. S. Knight pour l’une de ses rubriques et quelques poèmes. On ignore pourquoi, dans son nom de plume, elle a laissé tomber le « s » de Knights et a parfois utilisé l’initiale « S. », puisque ni son mari ni elle n’avaient un deuxième prénom commençant par cette lettre. Elle est l’auteure de 16 poèmes destinés aux jeunes, qui ont paru en 1894 sous forme de livret dans le journal du Trades and Labor Council, Peoples Voice (Winnipeg), et de quelque 174 poèmes écrits entre 1909 et 1931 (121 signés, 53 non signés ou dont la signature ne peut être confirmée). La plupart ont paru dans le Daily News et le News-Chronicle de Port Arthur (Thunder Bay, Ontario) ; la famille Knights en a recueilli 117 et les a colligés dans une anthologie dactylographiée. Des copies de celle-ci et des exemplaires de notre anthologie de poèmes parus dans les journaux sont conservés au DCB. Des recherches ultérieures permettront éventuellement la découverte d’autres poèmes dans les publications de la Woman’s Christian Temperance Union et ailleurs.

When Emmaline Pankhurst dies a paru dans The poetry of the Canadian people, N. B. Davis, édit. (2 vol., Toronto, 1976–1978), 2 (19001950) ; ce poème a été publié pour la première fois dans Woman’s Century (Toronto), organe officiel du National Council of Women of Canada, probablement en juin 1913. D’autres poèmes mentionnés dans la biographie ont paru dans le Daily News (The children’s friend, 30 juin 1911 ; The woman at home, 12 sept. 1912 ; Canada to England, 3 août 1914 ; et Old Ontario is good enough for me, 22 déc. 1915) ou dans le News-Chronicle (The slackers, 18 mai 1916, et It’s the price we pay, 29 avril 1918). The cradle and the ballot, daté de 1911, figure dans l’anthologie de la famille Knights. Son histoire intitulée « Betty, or winning him over » a été publiée en plusieurs livraisons (on ne sait pas combien exactement) dans le Daily News à partir du 3 févr. 1912.

BAC conserve des exemplaires de trois chansons patriotiques dont Gertrude a écrit les paroles, qui ont fait l’objet de publication et qui ont survécu : en collaboration avec A. J. Barrie, We’ve all got someone at the front : patriotic song (Winnipeg et Toronto, 1915) ; en collaboration avec J. H. Horn, Keep step with Johnny Canuck : a recruiting song (Winnipeg et Toronto, 1915) ; et, en collaboration avec Allan Hare, Good luck to Johnny Canuck : song (Toronto, 1916). Les pièces de théâtre de Gertrude n’ont pas été publiées et il n’en subsiste aucune transcription. En voici une liste : The courtship of Miss Canada (créée en 1912) ; The trial of Santa Claus (1913) ; War time in song and story (1914) ; Santa Claus in war time (1915) ; The new empire, or a pageant of modern times (1916) ; The hour before the dawn (1918) ; Mother Nature’s wooing (1921) ; et The master flag (1922). Parmi les saynètes dont on connaît l’existence figurent : The minister’s bride (créée en 1915) ; Just a bunch of girls (1917) ; Servants of the flag (1917) ; The snowman’s wedding (1920) ; Disciples of the fine arts (1923) ; et The newly rich pack and missionary box (1928).

AO, RG 80-2-0-39, no 16828.— BAC, R233-36-4, Manitoba, dist. Winnipeg (City) (10), sous-dist. Ward 5 (E) : 4–5 ; R233-37-6, Manitoba, dist. Winnipeg (City) (12), sous-dist. Ward 4 (D) : 3.— Manitoba, Ministère de la Justice, Bureau de l’état civil (Winnipeg), no 1898-001946 ; no 1900-002048.— Border Cities Star (Windsor, Ontario), 12 janv. 1933.— Campbellford Weekly Herald (Campbellford, Ontario), 24 févr. 1916.— Canadian Courier (Toronto), 6 mai 1916 : 20.— Daily News, 1908–1916.— Dawson Daily News (Dawson City, Yukon), 31 déc. 1915.— Manitoba Free Press, 1882–1898.— News-Chronicle, 1916–1933.— S. A. Cook, « Through sunshine and shadow » : the Woman’s Christian Temperance Union, evangelicalism, and reform in Ontario, 18741930 (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 1995), chap. 4.— F. B. Scollie, « Wartime in song and story : Gertrude Cornish Knight, motherhood and patriotism, 1910–1921 », Thunder Bay Hist. Museum Soc., Papers and Records, 24 (1996) : 12–32.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Frederick Brent Scollie, « CORNISH, ELLEN GERTRUDE (Knights) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 17 déc. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/cornish_ellen_gertrude_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/cornish_ellen_gertrude_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Frederick Brent Scollie
Titre de l'article:   CORNISH, ELLEN GERTRUDE (Knights)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   17 décembre 2018