DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

HÉBERT, LOUIS-PHILIPPE – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

d. 13 June 1917 in Westmount, Que.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Title: Dr. Caroline Brown, Toronto

Date(s) of creation of record(s): October 27, 1925

Source: City of Toronto Archives, Globe and Mail fonds, Fonds 1266, Item 6490.

Source: Link

BROWN, CAROLINE SOPHIA, teacher, physician, and school-board trustee; b. 30 Jan. 1862 in Derry West (Mississauga), Upper Canada, daughter of David Brown and Margaret Armstrong; d. unmarried 11 Jan. 1936 in Whitby, Ont.

Caroline Sophia Brown’s parents, who were farmers and stock-raisers in Peel County, had nine children, of whom she was the fourth. Her father was a leader in the Presbyterian Church and a prominent Orangeman. Caroline grew up working on her grandfather’s 300-acre farm. As a young girl, she learned to drive a team of horses and was put on the harrow. By age 10 she was milking cows. According to an article in the National encyclopedia of Canadian biography, written shortly before her death, her strong physique had allowed her to work for many years “like a steam engine.”

Brown was inspired by her sisters to become a teacher. After completing public school at Derry West, she attended Jarvis Street Collegiate Institute in Toronto and Brampton Collegiate Institute. She then taught in Halton County and in the village of Palestine (Mississauga), as well as at four schools in Toronto (Dovercourt, Gladstone Avenue, Queen Victoria Public, and Ogden Public).

While working as a teacher, Brown enrolled in the Woman’s Medical College, which had been founded by Michael Barrett* and others with the backing of Dr Emily Howard Stowe [Jennings*] in 1883. (It would become the Ontario Medical College for Women in 1894.) Brown attended lectures after her school day was over and stayed into the evening to do dissections. She graduated from the Ontario Medical College for Women and from Trinity Medical College, with which it was affiliated, on 22 May 1900. After she wrote her licensing examination in 1900, she was told that she had failed to pass in all but two subjects. Undaunted, she continued her studies while teaching school for another nine years. In 1909, as she prepared to retake the examination, the officials reviewed her records and discovered that she had actually passed in all subjects during her first attempt. She received her licence to practise on 22 Oct. 1909.

Brown interned for eight months at the City Hospital in Watertown, N.Y., where she focused on surgical work. She then pursued postgraduate studies in obstetrics and gynaecology at the Rotunda hospital in Dublin. In England she studied at the Great Ormond Street Hospital in London and at hospitals in Birmingham. She completed her postgraduate work in France and Germany, concentrating on general surgery. After her return to Toronto, she served for several months with the medical-inspection staff responsible for the health of schoolchildren. She went on to practise medicine in Toronto for over 25 years, including at Women’s College Hospital [see Minerva Margaret Greenaway*].

Active in community service, Brown took a leading role in many important women’s organizations, including the Local Council of Women. She was especially vigorous in the movement for women’s enfranchisement. A keen public speaker, she was often called upon to give lectures to women’s organizations. During the First World War, she was energetic in recruiting and in soldier welfare. She applied to go overseas herself but was not accepted, so instead she taught first aid and home nursing to a number of young people who were among the first to go abroad. She was a founder and regent of the Sir William Osler chapter of the Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire [see Margaret Smith Polson*], which sent an ambulance to France for the war effort. In recognition of her work in first aid and home nursing during the war, she was made an honorary life member of the St John Ambulance Association [see George Ansel Sterling Ryerson*] in 1916.

Brown’s interest in education had led her to run for the local school board. In 1915 she was elected as a Conservative candidate for the Toronto Board of Education, the only woman trustee at that time. In 1917 she was joined on the board by Ada Mary Courtice [Brown*] (no relation), who, the previous year, had founded the Toronto Home and School Council, a middle-class school-reform organization that sought to assist women in running for public office and to promote their involvement in local educational politics. In 1919 Mrs Edith Sarah Groves [Lelean] also became a member. Brown was re-elected in 1917, 1918, 1919, 1923, and 1925 (by acclamation in 1918 and 1923). In 1918 she was chosen to chair the property committee and was the first woman to serve in that role. During the war, when prices were rising, she had advocated higher salaries for teachers. (She also promoted the installation of sinks in schools so that students could wash their hands.) In 1924 she represented the board at the League of the Empire’s Imperial Education Conference in London, England. While in London, she was invited to be the Canadian delegate to the meeting of the Medical Women’s International Association, also being held there.

In federal politics Brown chaired the Ward Five Women’s Liberal-Conservative Association from 1920 to 1923 and was nominated as its candidate for the federal riding of Toronto Northwest. She ran as an independent Conservative in the election of 29 Oct. 1925 but lost to the official Conservative candidate, the former mayor of Toronto, Thomas Langton Church*.

Brown was known for her keen intellect and seemingly inexhaustible physical vigour. She was a member of the Ladies’ Orange Benevolent Association and was drawn to British Israelism, a movement whose members believed that the British were descended from one of the ten lost tribes of Israel [see Joseph Wild*]. In her later years her activities were greatly curtailed by illness; she fractured her foot in 1926 and subsequently developed osteomyelitis, from which she did not recover. The cause of her sudden death in hospital was recorded as myocardial failure, complicated by exhaustion from cerebral arteriosclerosis.

Caroline Sophia Brown’s advocacy of women’s rights and her concern for the welfare of children are evident in her many achievements in education, medicine, and public service. She regarded children as the citizens of tomorrow and believed the care of their physical fitness and spiritual well-being to be the highest calling.

Alison Li

AO, RG 80-8-0-1680, no.026516. LAC, R233-34-0, Ont., dist. Peel (39), subdist. Toronto (A), div. 4: 15; R233-35-2, Ont., dist. Peel (140), subdist. Toronto (A), div. 4: 13; R233-37-6, Ont., dist. York West (131), subdist. Toronto, Ward 6 (G), div. 4: 12. “Conservatives capture every seat in Toronto and York,” Globe, 30 Oct. 1925: 13. Globe, 13 Jan. 1936. Kari Dehli, “For intelligent motherhood and national efficiency: the Toronto Home and School Council, 1916–1930,” in Gender and education in Ontario: an historical reader, ed. Ruby Heap and Alison Prentice (Toronto, 1991), 147–63. “Dr. Caroline Sophia Brown,” Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 34 (January–June 1936): 356. National encyclopedia of Canadian biography, ed. J. E. Middleton and W. S. Downs (2v., Toronto, 1935–37), 1.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Alison Li, “BROWN, CAROLINE SOPHIA,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed June 13, 2024, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brown_caroline_sophia_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brown_caroline_sophia_16E.html
Author of Article:   Alison Li
Title of Article:   BROWN, CAROLINE SOPHIA
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2023
Year of revision:   2023
Access Date:   June 13, 2024

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

RAIZENNE, MARIE-CLOTILDE, Marie de l’Incarnation – Volume VI (1821-1835)

née le 12 avril 1766 à la mission de Lac-des-Deux-Montagnes (Oka, Québec)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Title: Dr. Caroline Brown, Toronto

Date(s) of creation of record(s): October 27, 1925

Source: City of Toronto Archives, Globe and Mail fonds, Fonds 1266, Item 6490.

Provenance : Lien

BROWN, CAROLINE SOPHIA, institutrice, médecin et commissaire d’école; née le 30 janvier 1862 à Derry West (Mississauga, Ontario), fille de David Brown et de Margaret Armstrong ; décédée célibataire le 11 janvier 1936 à Whitby, Ontario.

Les parents de Caroline Sophia Brown, quatrième de neuf enfants, exercèrent les métiers de fermier et d’éleveur dans le comté de Peel. Son père, éminent orangiste, occupa de plus une place importante au sein de l’Église presbytérienne. Caroline Sophia grandit en participant aux travaux de la ferme de 300 acres de son grand-père. Jeune fille, elle apprit à conduire un attelage de chevaux et se vit confier le passage de la herse. À l’âge de dix ans, elle trayait déjà les vaches. Selon un article de la National encyclopedia of Canadian biography rédigé peu avant sa mort, elle avait pu, grâce à sa forte stature, travailler de nombreuses années « telle une machine à vapeur ».

Caroline Sophia, inspirée par ses sœurs, voulait devenir institutrice. À sa sortie de l’école publique de Derry West, elle fréquenta le Jarvis Street Collegiate Institute de Toronto et le Brampton Collegiate Institute. Elle enseigna ensuite dans le comté de Halton et dans le village de Palestine (Mississauga), de même que dans quatre écoles torontoises (Dovercourt, Gladstone Avenue, Queen Victoria Public et Ogden Public).

Tout en enseignant, Mlle Brown s’inscrivit au Woman’s Medical College – fondé en 1883 par Michael Barrett*, entre autres, avec l’appui de la docteure Emily Howard Stowe [Jennings*] –, qui deviendrait l’Ontario Medical College for Women en 1894. Elle y suivit des cours après les heures de classe et y restait le soir pour pratiquer des dissections. Le 22 mai 1900, elle reçut un diplôme de l’établissement, ainsi que du Trinity Medical College, auquel il était affilié. La même année, après son examen pour obtenir son permis, Mlle Brown apprit qu’elle avait échoué dans toutes les matières sauf deux. Nullement découragée, elle continua à étudier et à enseigner pendant neuf ans. En 1909, alors qu’elle se préparait à repasser son examen, le bureau d’autorisation révisa son dossier et découvrit que, en fait, elle avait précédemment réussi partout. Elle reçut son permis d’exercer le 22 octobre 1909.

Mlle Brown effectua huit mois d’internat au City Hospital de Watertown, dans l’État de New York, où elle se concentra sur les interventions chirurgicales. Elle entreprit ensuite des études postdoctorales en obstétrique et en gynécologie à l’hôpital Rotunda de Dublin. En Angleterre, elle étudia au Great Ormond Street Hospital de Londres et dans des hôpitaux de Birmingham. Elle termina sa formation postdoctorale en France et en Allemagne, où elle se spécialisa en chirurgie générale. À son retour à Toronto, elle travailla plusieurs mois avec l’équipe d’inspection médicale responsable de la santé des écoliers. Elle pratiqua la médecine à Toronto pendant plus de 25 ans, notamment au Women’s College Hospital [V. Minerva Margaret Greenaway*].

Dévouée aux services communautaires, Mlle Brown joua un rôle prépondérant dans de nombreuses organisations féminines importantes, dont le Local Council of Women. Elle s’impliqua de façon particulièrement dynamique dans le mouvement pour le droit de vote des femmes. Les organisations féminines la sollicitaient souvent pour livrer des discours, car elle s’exprimait avec enthousiasme. Durant la Première Guerre mondiale, elle participa activement au recrutement et veilla au bien-être des soldats. Quand on rejeta sa demande de servir outre-mer, elle donna des cours de soins infirmiers à domicile et des leçons de secourisme à des jeunes gens qui comptaient parmi les premiers à partir à l’étranger. Elle participa à la fondation et agit à titre de présidente du chapitre Sir William Osler de l’Imperial Order Daughters of the Empire [V. Margaret Smith Polson*], qui envoya une ambulance en France pour contribuer à l’effort de guerre. En 1916, elle reçut le titre de membre honoraire à vie de l’Association ambulancière Saint-Jean [V. George Ansel Sterling Ryerson*], en reconnaissance de son travail dans le secourisme et les soins infirmiers à domicile durant la guerre.

L’intérêt de Mlle Brown pour l’éducation l’avait poussée à se porter candidate au conseil scolaire local. En 1915, elle remporta un siège à titre de conservatrice au Toronto Board of Education, où elle était la seule femme. Ada Mary Courtice [Brown*] (aucun lien de parenté avec elle) se joignit à l’organisme en 1917 ; l’année précédente, elle avait mis sur pied le Toronto Home and School Council, organisation de réforme éducative de la classe moyenne, qui visait à aider les femmes à briguer une charge publique et à s’impliquer en politique scolaire locale. En 1919, Edith Sarah Groves [Lelean] s’ajouta également aux membres du conseil. Mlle Brown fut réélue en 1917, 1918, 1919, 1923 et 1925 (sans opposition en 1918 et en 1923). En 1918, elle devint la première femme à être choisie pour présider le comité de propriété. Durant la guerre, devant la hausse des prix, elle avait plaidé en faveur de meilleurs salaires pour les enseignants. (Elle appuya aussi l’installation de lavabos dans les écoles pour permettre aux élèves de se laver les mains.) En 1924, elle représenta le Toronto Board of Education à l’Imperial Education Conference de la League of the Empire tenue à Londres. Pendant son séjour, on l’invita, en qualité de déléguée du Canada, au rassemblement de la Medical Women’s International Association, dans la même ville.

En politique fédérale, Mlle Brown présida la Ward Five Women’s Liberal-Conservative Association de 1920 à 1923 ; l’organisation la désigna candidate pour la circonscription de Toronto Northwest. Elle se présenta comme conservatrice indépendante aux élections du 29 octobre 1925, mais le candidat conservateur officiel et ex-maire de Toronto, Thomas Langton Church*, gagna la bataille.

Mlle Brown était connue pour son esprit vif et sa force physique apparemment inépuisable. Elle fit partie de la Ladies’ Orange Benevolent Association et s’intéressa à l’israélisme britannique, mouvement dont les membres croyaient que les Britanniques tiraient leur origine de l’une des dix tribus disparues d’Israël [V. Joseph Wild*]. Dans ses dernières années, Mlle Brown vit la maladie limiter considérablement ses activités. Elle se fractura un pied en 1926, puis développa une ostéomyélite dont elle ne se remit jamais. Dans son dossier d’hôpital, on attribua sa mort soudaine à une défaillance myocardique, compliquée par un épuisement dû à une artériosclérose cérébrale.

Les nombreuses réalisations de Caroline Sophia Brown en éducation, en médecine et en service public témoignent clairement de sa lutte pour les droits des femmes et de ses préoccupations pour le bien-être de la jeune génération. Elle considérait les enfants comme les citoyens de demain ; veiller à leur bien-être physique et spirituel constituait à ses yeux la plus noble vocation.

Alison li

AO, RG 80-8-0-1680, no 026516.— BAC, R233-34-0, Ontario, dist. Peel (39), sous-dist. Toronto (A), div. 4 : 15 ; R233-35-2, Ontario, dist. Peel (140), sous-dist. Toronto (A), div. 4 : 13 ; R233-37-6, Ontario, dist. York Ouest (131), sous-dist. Toronto, quartier 6 (G), div. 4 : 12.— « Conservatives capture every seat in Toronto and York », Globe, 30 oct. 1925 : 13.— Globe, 13 janv. 1936.— Kari Dehli, « For intelligent motherhood and national efficiency : the Toronto Home and School Council, 1916–1930 », dans Gender and education in Ontario : an historical reader, Ruby Heap et Alison Prentice, édit. (Toronto, 1991), 147–163.— « Dr. Caroline Sophia Brown », Canadian Medical Assoc., Journal (Toronto), 34 (janvier–juin 1936) : 356.— National encyclopedia of Canadian biography, J. E. Middleton et W. S. Downs, édit. (2 vol., Toronto, 1935–1937), 1.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Alison li, « BROWN, CAROLINE SOPHIA », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 12 avril 2024, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brown_caroline_sophia_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brown_caroline_sophia_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Alison li
Titre de l'article:    BROWN, CAROLINE SOPHIA
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2023
Année de la révision:    2023
Date de consultation:    12 avril 2024