DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

POZER, GEORGE – Volume VII (1836-1850)

d. 16 June 1848 at Quebec

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

BRANDEAU, ESTHER, young Jewish immigrant to New France, b. c. 1718, probably at Saint-Esprit near Bayonne, France; lived at Quebec 1738–39; d. at a date unknown.

The arrival of Esther Brandeau, a young woman about 20 years old who was disguised as a boy and gave her name as Jacques La Fargue, created a veritable stir at Quebec in September 1738. Chance having disclosed her true identity, Intendant Gilles Hocquart* had her arrested and taken to the Hôpital Général. On 15 September the commissary of Marine, Jean-Victor Varin*, subjected her to an interrogation that is one of the few sources of information about her past. On 21 April 1739 the minister wrote: “I do not know whether one can trust implicitly the declaration made by the so-called Esther Brandeau.” Be that as it may, according to this declaration Esther was the daughter of David Brandeau, a merchant at Saint-Esprit near Bayonne. Around 1733 her parents put her on a Dutch ship to send her to her brother and one of her aunts at Amsterdam. The ship was wrecked, she was saved by one of the crew, and was given shelter by a certain Catherine Churiau, a resident of Biarritz. It was from this time that she decided to wear male clothes. The commissary reporting her words explained her decision: “she [Catherine Churiau] made her eat pork and other kinds of meat that were forbidden to the Jews, and she resolved in due course never to return to the house of her father and mother, in order to enjoy the same liberty as the Christians.”

Subsequently Esther Brandeau led a somewhat nomadic existence. She was in turn a ship’s boy at Bordeaux, an errand boy for a tailor at Rennes, a domestic in the service of the Recollets at Clissoy (Clisson?), in the employ of a baker at Saint-Malo, in the service of a Sieur La Chapelle, an infantry captain at Vitré, arrested for theft at Noisel near Nantes, and finally hired at La Rochelle as a ship’s boy on the Saint-Michel, which was bound for Canada. All this, of course, under different assumed names.

At a period when a monolithic religious structure was firmly established, Brandeaus arrival in New France was a source of intense embarrassment to Intendant Hocquart. Seeking instructions from the minister, he wrote: “Since her arrival at Quebec her conduct has been fairly restrained. She appears desirous of being converted to Catholicism.” The minister replied: “I shall be very gratified to learn of her conversion. You must furthermore treat her in accordance with the way she behaves in the colony.” It seems, however, that the “restrained” conduct of the beginning and the favourable disposition towards conversion did not last long. On 27 Sept. 1739 Hocquart wrote to the minister: “She is so flighty that she has been unable to adapt herself, either in the Hôpital Général or in several other houses . . . Her conduct has not been precisely bad, but she is so fickle, that at different times she has been as much receptive as hostile to the instructions that zealous ecclesiastics have attempted to give her; I have no alternative but to send her away.”

At the time the authorities of the colony considered it important, at least officially, that the inhabitants abide by Catholic orthodoxy. A non-Catholic immigrant in New France could anticipate either conversion or deportation. It was the same for non-orthodox Catholics [see Georges-François Poulet]. The deportation of Esther Brandeau very quickly became an “official matter”; even the king took a hand in it, and decided that the state would pay the young delinquent’s return passage. On 25 Jan. 1740 he wrote to the admiral of France: “My cousin the Sieur Hocquart . . . has embarked at Quebec on the ship Comte de Matignon of La Rochelle the so-called Esther Brandeau, a Jewess whom he had to send back to France in execution of my orders.” After this letter from the king we hear no more of Esther Brandeau. She had most probably re-embarked for France in the autumn of 1739.

Esther Brandeau had remained in the colony only a year – long enough, however, to attract the attention of the highest authorities in New France. She had been considered the first Jewish person to set foot in the colony, but it is likely that Jews who had apparently converted to Christianity privately practiced their religion after coming to New France. Her story has left its mark, especially on the authors and artists who have made her a heroine in literature and the theatre.

Gaston Tisdel

PAC Report, 1886, xxxiii-xxxv. P.-G. Roy, La ville de Québec, I, 147–48. B. G. Sack, History of the Jews in Canada, trans. Ralph Novek (Montreal, [1965]), 6–9. Denis Vaugeois, Les Juifs et la Nouvelle-France (Trois-Rivières, 1968).

Bibliography for the revised version:
Pierre Anctil, Trajectoires juives au Québec (Québec, 2010). Simone Grossman, “Des Marranes au Québec? Tensions identitaires et judéité dans Une Juive en Nouvelle-France de Pierre Lasry,” Quebec Studies, 66 (2018): 121–136. Heather Hermant, “Esther Brandeau/Jacques La Fargue: an eighteenth-century multicrosser in the Canadian cultural archives,” in The Sephardic Atlantic: colonial histories and postcolonial perspectives, ed. Sina Rauschenbach and Jonathan Schorsch (Cham, Switzerland, 2018), 289–331.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Gaston Tisdel, “BRANDEAU, ESTHER,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed June 16, 2024, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brandeau_esther_2E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brandeau_esther_2E.html
Author of Article:   Gaston Tisdel
Title of Article:   BRANDEAU, ESTHER
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 2
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   1969
Year of revision:   2023
Access Date:   June 16, 2024

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

BRANDEAU, ESTHER, jeune juive née vers 1718, probablement à Saint-Esprit près de Bayonne, diocèse de Dax, décédée à une date inconnue ; elle vécut à Québec en 1738–1739.

L’arrivée d’Esther Brandeau, jeune fille d’une vingtaine d’années déguisée en garçon qui se faisait appeler Jacques La Fargue, créa tout un émoi à Québec en septembre 1738. Le hasard ayant mis à jour sa véritable identité, l’intendant Hocquart* la fit arrêter et conduire à l’Hôpital Général. Le 15 septembre elle fut soumise par le commissaire de la marine, Jean-Victor Varin* de La Marre, à un interrogatoire qui seul peut nous éclairer sur son passé. Le comte de Maurepas [Phélypeaux] écrira à ce sujet le 21 avril 1739 : « Je ne sais si l’on doit ajouter une foy entière à la déclaration faite par la nommée Esther Brandeau ». Quoi qu’il en soit, d’après cette déclaration, Esther serait la fille de David Brandeau, négociant à Saint-Esprit près de Bayonne. Vers 1733, ses parents l’embarquèrent sur un navire hollandais à destination d’Amsterdam où se trouvaient une de ses tantes et son frère. Le navire ayant fait naufrage, elle fut sauvée par un membre de l’équipage et hébergée par une dame Catherine Churiau demeurant à Biarritz. C’est à partir de ce moment qu’elle décida de porter des vêtements masculins. Le commissaire, rapportant ses paroles, explique ainsi sa décision : « elle [Catherine Churiau] luy fit manger du porc et d’autres viandes dont l’usage est défendu parmi les Juifs et qu’elle prit la résolution dans le temps de ne plus retourner chez son père et sa mère pour jouir de la même liberté que les chrétiens. »

Par la suite, Esther Brandeau mena une vie plutôt instable. Elle fut successivement mousse à Bordeaux, garçon de course chez un tailleur à Rennes, domestique au service des Récollets de Clissoy (?), à l’emploi d’un boulanger à Saint-Malo, au service d’un sieur La Chapelle, capitaine d’infanterie à Vitré, arrêtée pour vol à Noisel près de Nantes, et enfin engagée comme mousse à La Rochelle sur le Saint-Michel en partance pour le Canada. Tout cela, bien entendu, sous différents noms d’emprunt.

À une époque où le monolithisme religieux était si bien établi, son arrivée en Nouvelle-France embarrassa au plus haut point l’intendant Hocquart. Tout en demandant des instructions au ministre, il écrit : « Depuis son arrivée à Québec, elle a eu une conduite assez retenue. Elle paraît vouloir se convertir au catholicisme ». Le ministre répond : « je serai bien aise d’apprendre sa conversion. Vous devez au surplus en agir à son égard selon la conduite qu’elle tiendra dans la colonie ». Cependant, il semble que la conduite « retenue » du début et les bonnes dispositions à la conversion ne durèrent pas longtemps. Le 27 septembre 1739, Hocquart écrit au ministre : « Elle est si volage qu’elle n’a pu s’accomoder, ny à l’Hôpital Général, ny dans plusieurs autres maisons [...] Elle n’a pas tenu absolument une mauvaise conduite, mais elle a tant de légèreté qu’elle a été en différents temps aussi docile que revêche aux instructions que*des ecclésiastiques zélés ont voulu luy donner ; je n’ay d’autre party à prendre que de la renvoyer. »

À l’époque, il importait aux autorités de la colonie que les habitants vivent, officiellement du moins, dans l’orthodoxie catholique. Un immigrant non catholique ne pouvait s’attendre en Nouvelle-France qu’à la conversion ou à la déportation. Il en était de même pour les catholiques non orthodoxes [V. Poulet]. La déportation d’Esther Brandeau devint très vite une « affaire officielle » ; Louis XV même s’en mêla et décida que l’État paierait le passage de retour de la jeune délinquante. Le 25 janvier 1740 il écrira à l’amiral de France : « Mon cousin le Sr Hocquart [... a] fait embarquer à Québec sur le Navire Le Comte de Matignon de La Rochelle la noée Esther Brandeau Juive qu’il avait à renvoyer en France en exécution de mes ordres ». Après cette lettre du roi, nous n’entendons plus parler de la demoiselle Brandeau. Elle s’est très probablement rembarquée à l’automne de 1739.

Esther Brandeau n’était restée dans la colonie qu’une seule année, suffisamment cependant pour faire parler d’elle par les plus hautes autorités de la Nouvelle-France. Elle fut sûrement la première personne juive – et, à l’époque, peut-être la seule – à mettre les pieds dans la colonie.

Gaston Tisdel

RAC, 1886 : xxxvi, xxxvii.— P.-G. Roy, Ville de Québec, I : 147s.— B. G. Sack, History of the Jews in Canada, traduit par Ralph Novek (Montréal, [1965]), 6–9.— Denis Vaugeois, Les Juifs et la Nouvelle-France (Trois-Rivières, 1968).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Gaston Tisdel, « BRANDEAU, ESTHER », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 26 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brandeau_esther_2F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brandeau_esther_2F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Gaston Tisdel
Titre de l'article:   BRANDEAU, ESTHER
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1969
Année de la révision:   1969
Date de consultation:   26 juillet 2014