DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PENHALLOW, DAVID PEARCE – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

b. 25 May 1854 in Kittery Point, Maine

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Joseph E. Armstrong
The Canadian Parliament; biographical sketches and photo-engravures of the senators and members of the House of Commons of Canada. Being the tenth Parliament, elected November 3, 1904
Published 1906
Publisher Montreal Perrault Print. Co

Source: Link

ARMSTRONG, Joseph EMANUEL, farmer, oil producer, politician, and manufacturer; b. 9 Nov. 1864 in West York, Upper Canada, son of Elijah Armstrong and Sarah Brown; m. 30 Dec. 1891 Margaret James Phipps (d. 7 Nov. 1936) in West Chester, Pa, and they had three daughters, one of whom died in infancy and another in young adulthood, and a son; d. 31 Jan. 1931 in Petrolia, Ont., and was buried three days later in nearby Sarnia.

Joseph E. Armstrong attended public schools in West York and later the Business College in Toronto. He was also a graduate of the National School of Elocution and Oratory in Philadelphia, where he met his future wife. Sometime in 1888 or 1889 he went with his father to Petrolia; in addition to farming there, the Armstrongs acquired a practical knowledge of oil drilling. Their move occurred at a time when the local oil boom was beginning to falter. Although nine-tenths of Canada’s production of crude oil was concentrated in Petrolia, its drillers and refiners were unable to compete in the domestic market with rival companies in the United States. Nevertheless, there were still profits to be made and Joseph Armstrong amassed a large amount of oil property; one of the leading producers in the district, by the mid 1920s he would have 76 wells in operation. According to his son, James Shelley Phipps, Armstrong also participated in the development of oilfields in Mexico and South America and was an early believer in the tar sands of Alberta, obtaining extensive concessions at Fort McMurray and investigating economic methods of extracting the oil.

During the 1890s a solid middle class succeeded in transforming Petrolia from a rough shanty town into a respectable Victorian community. A Methodist who became a Presbyterian, Armstrong was the embodiment of bourgeois ideals: he held a seat on the town council for three years, took out membership in the local chamber of commerce, and joined several fraternal organizations, including the freemasons, the Orange order, the Knights of Pythias, and the Oddfellows, which provided him with sociability as well as important business and political connections.

The demise of the local oil industry was virtually guaranteed in the summer of 1898 when the American conglomerate Standard Oil secured control of the Imperial Oil Company [see Jacob Lewis Englehart*]. By that time the growth of the Canadian consumer market for petroleum products had far outstripped Petrolia’s ability to supply crude. Its citizens established another firm, the Canadian Oil Refining Company, in 1901 and began to diversify their manufacturing base by shifting to agricultural products, a process in which Armstrong was involved both financially and as an advocate in parliament. In 1902 he and another local entrepreneur, William English, started the Lambton Creamery Company, which was incorporated in 1905; Armstrong would serve as its president for many years. The firm’s output of butter, intended for the English market, quickly reached nearly one ton a day and in 1909 the Glencoe Creamery was acquired as a branch plant. Armstrong also helped found the Petrolia Wagon Works in 1902. Misfortune dogged this enterprise, however, and it would be taken over in 1920 by a company controlled by Henry Cockshutt*; the firm went bankrupt two years later. In 1910 Armstrong was involved with Ernest D’Israeli Smith*, the prominent Winona jam maker and the husband of his sister Christina Ann, in establishing a cannery, the Lambton Packing Company, in Petrolia. The factory, which took over the former premises of the Petrolia Packing Company, began production in 1911, with Armstrong as managing director, and provided local farmers with a market for their peas, beans, and other cash crops. The plant operated until 1915, when it was closed for a time as a result of war conditions. Reopened by 1918, it again fell idle for some years before being sold to Canadian Canners in 1923.

Armstrong had entered federal politics in 1896, contesting the riding of Lambton East for the Protestant Protective Association [see D’Alton McCarthy*], but he was narrowly defeated by the Liberal candidate. In a by-election held in 1904 he was selected as the Conservative nominee. He prevailed over his Liberal rival, Charles Jenkins, also an oil producer, by the then-resounding majority of 586 votes. Armstrong sat in the House of Commons continuously until 1921, when he lost to Burt Wendell Fansher, a Euphemia Township farmer and a Progressive. He regained his seat in the 1925 election, but was defeated by Fansher the following year.

In the house Armstrong took a particular interest in transportation and communications. He was, for example, a proponent of the development of cold-storage facilities and in 1907 he castigated the Liberal administration of Sir Wilfrid Laurier* for not moving boldly enough on this issue. More important, he was the parliamentarian largely responsible for persuading Laurier’s government to experiment with free rural mail delivery, raising a question on the matter within a few months of entering parliament in 1904. At his own expense he investigated the workings of the system that had been introduced in the United States, and in the commons he pressed the issue whenever an opportunity presented itself. Outside the house his efforts were complemented from late 1905 by the letter-writing campaign of Ontario farmer George Wilcox. Although the postmaster general, Rodolphe Lemieux, roundly rejected the idea during debate in April 1908, six months later, with an election pending, the government introduced a limited service between Hamilton and Ancaster and indicated its intention to extend delivery to other routes. The system was expanded by Robert Laird Borden’s Conservative administration from 1911, and rural communication was transformed with the closure of thousands of small post offices.

Armstrong also championed government ownership and operation of telephones and telegraph lines. In 1919–20 he would argue unsuccessfully for state control as well over waterborne traffic both inland and along the coasts, with a view to obtaining lower freight rates. He applied himself equally to the matter of supplying coal from the west to central Canada; “on this subject,” the Petrolia Advertiser-Topic would later note, “he acquired and placed before Parliament an immense amount of practical material.” In 1914 he was made co-chair of the special committee of the House of Commons appointed to meet with a similar committee of the Senate to consolidate the Railway Act. Over the years he served on a number of parliamentary committees, including the standing committee on railways, canals, and telegraph lines and that on agriculture and colonization. Three years later he was among those selected by Borden’s Union government to inspect the Canadian Expeditionary Force in England and France.

Though concerned with national issues, Armstrong never forgot the interests of his constituency, and in parliament he was indefatigable in his pursuit of legislation calculated to promote local agriculture and the oil industry. “East Lambton,” one obituary commented, “never had a more faithful, painstaking or conscientious member.” Active in the Crude Oil Producers’ Association after its founding in 1924, Armstrong served at some point as its president. In early 1931 he was preparing to lead a delegation before Prime Minister Richard Bedford Bennett* and other officials to discuss the restoration of the bounty on crude oil that had been eliminated in 1925. He died before he could make the journey, succumbing to a brain haemorrhage that resulted from a fall on an icy pathway. He had suffered financially during the Great Depression and his estate was relatively modest. His wife survived him by five years. Of Quaker ancestry, she was, like her husband, a pillar of St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church in Petrolia, took an informed interest in politics, and was involved in various charitable organizations. The couple’s son, James, would be for many years Ontario’s agent general in the United Kingdom.

Christina Burr

The DCB and the author are grateful to the subject’s grandson Joe C. W. Armstrong and his wife, Kathleen, for contributing family information to this article and for providing newspaper items and other materials relating to Joseph Emanuel Armstrong’s career.

AO, RG 80-8-0-1278, no.20200. Chester County Arch. & Record Services, “Marriage records, 1885–1930,” West Chester, Pa: www.chesco.org/index.aspx?NID=1174 (consulted 21 Sept. 2015). Advertiser-Topic (Petrolia, Ont.), 5, 12 Feb. 1931. London Free Press (London, Ont.), 2 Feb. 1931. Sarnia Canadian Observer (Sarnia, Ont.), 2 Feb. 1931. Christina Burr, Canada’s Victorian oil town: the transformation of Petrolia from a resource town into a Victorian community (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 2006). Can., House of Commons, Debates, 11 Feb. 1926: 926–31. Canadian annual rev., 1904–21, 1925–26. Canadian directory of parl. (Johnson). Victor Lauriston, Lambton’s hundred years, 1849–1949 (Sarnia, [1949]). Edward Phelps, Petrolia, 1874–1974 (Petrolia, 1974). Who’s who in Canada, 1922.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Christina Burr, “ARMSTRONG, JOSEPH EMANUEL,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed May 25, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/armstrong_joseph_emanuel_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/armstrong_joseph_emanuel_16E.html
Author of Article: Christina Burr
Title of Article: ARMSTRONG, JOSEPH EMANUEL
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: May 25, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LEONARD, ELIJAH (1787-1855) – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

né le 1er mai 1787, à Taunton, Massachusetts

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Joseph E. Armstrong
The Canadian Parliament; biographical sketches and photo-engravures of the senators and members of the House of Commons of Canada. Being the tenth Parliament, elected November 3, 1904
Published 1906
Publisher Montreal Perrault Print. Co

Provenance : Lien

ARMSTRONG, Joseph EMANUEL, fermier, producteur pétrolier, homme politique et manufacturier, né le 9 novembre 1864 à West York, Haut-Canada, fils d’Elijah Armstrong et de Sarah Brown ; le 30 décembre 1891, il épousa à West Chester, Pennsylvanie, Margaret James Phipps (décédée le 7 novembre 1936), et ils eurent trois filles, dont l’une mourut en bas âge et une autre au début de l’âge adulte, et un fils ; décédé le 31 janvier 1931 à Petrolia, Ontario, et inhumé trois jours plus tard non loin de là, à Sarnia.

Joseph Emanuel Armstrong fréquenta des écoles publiques de West York avant de poursuivre ses études au Business College de Toronto. Il reçut un diplôme de la National School of Elocution and Oratory de Philadelphie, où il rencontra sa future femme. En 1888 ou en 1889, il se rendit avec son père à Petrolia ; tout en s’adonnant à l’agriculture, les Armstrong acquirent des connaissances pratiques sur le forage pétrolier. Ils prirent cette initiative à une époque où le boum pétrolier local commençait à faiblir. Même si les neuf dixièmes de la production canadienne de pétrole brut se concentraient à Petrolia, les foreurs et les raffineurs n’arrivaient pas à concurrencer, sur le marché intérieur, des sociétés rivales des États-Unis. Néanmoins, l’activité était encore rentable et Joseph Emanuel Armstrong accumula un grand nombre de propriétés pétrolifères. Il était l’un des plus importants producteurs de la région et exploiterait 76 puits dès le milieu des années 1920. Selon son fils, James Shelley Phipps, il se livra aussi à l’exploitation de champs pétrolifères au Mexique et en Amérique du Sud, et fut l’un des premiers à croire aux possibilités des sables bitumineux de l’Alberta, où il obtint de vastes concessions au fort McMurray (Fort McMurray) et rechercha des méthodes économiques pour extraire le pétrole.

Durant les années 1890, une solide classe moyenne réussit à transformer Petrolia, bidonville rudimentaire, en une collectivité respectable de l’ère victorienne. Méthodiste converti au presbytérianisme, Armstrong incarnait les idéaux bourgeois : il occupa un siège au conseil municipal pendant trois ans, devint membre de la chambre de commerce de Petrolia et adhéra à plusieurs fraternités, dont la franc-maçonnerie, l’ordre d’Orange, les Knights of Pythias et les Oddfellows, ce qui lui permettait d’entretenir des rapports sociaux, et de nouer d’importantes relations commerciales et politiques.

À l’été de 1898, après qu’un conglomérat américain, la Standard Oil Company, eut mis la main sur l’Imperial Oil Company Limited [V. Jacob Lewis Englehart*], la disparition de l’industrie pétrolière locale était pratiquement assurée. À cette époque, la croissance du marché canadien de la consommation de produits pétroliers avait largement dépassé la capacité de production de brut à Petrolia. En 1901, les citoyens fondèrent une autre société, la Canadian Oil Refining Company Limited, et commencèrent à diversifier leurs activités manufacturières en passant à la production agricole, processus dans lequel Armstrong s’engagea financièrement et qu’il défendit devant le Parlement. En 1902, Armstrong et un autre entrepreneur de la ville, William English, fondèrent la Lambton Creamery Company Limited, qui serait constituée juridiquement en 1905 ; Armstrong en assumerait la présidence pendant de nombreuses années. La production de beurre de l’entreprise, destinée au marché anglais, atteignit rapidement près d’une tonne par jour ; en 1909, la société acheta la Glencoe Creamery pour en faire une succursale. Armstrong aida aussi à fonder la Petrolia Wagon Works, en 1902. Cependant, la malchance poursuivit cette entreprise : elle serait absorbée, en 1920, par une autre dominée par Henry Cockshutt* et ferait faillite deux ans plus tard. En 1910, avec Ernest D’Israeli Smith*, fabricant de confitures bien en vue de Winona, qui était aussi le mari de sa sœur Christina Ann, Armstrong prit part à la création d’une conserverie, la Lambton Packing Company Limited, à Petrolia. L’usine fut installée dans les anciens locaux de la Petrolia Packing Company Limited. Armstrong en assurait la direction générale. Elle commença sa production en 1911 et offrit aux fermiers de la région un débouché pour vendre leurs pois, fèves et autres produits de culture marchande. L’usine demeura en activité jusqu’en 1915, année où l’on ferma ses portes temporairement en raison de la guerre. Rouverte en 1918, elle fut de nouveau mise à l’arrêt durant quelques années avant d’être vendue à la Canadian Canners Limited en 1923.

Armstrong avait fait ses débuts en politique en 1896, en se présentant dans la circonscription fédérale de Lambton East sous la bannière de la Protestant Protective Association [V. D’Alton McCarthy*], mais il avait été battu de justesse par le candidat libéral. À l’élection partielle qui se tint en 1904, on le choisit pour représenter les conservateurs. Il l’emporta sur son rival libéral, Charles Jenkins, lui aussi producteur pétrolier, par une majorité de 586 voix, retentissante pour l’époque. Armstrong siégea sans interruption à la Chambre des communes jusqu’en 1921, année où il perdit au profit de Burt Wendell Fansher, fermier progressiste du canton d’Euphemia. Il reprit son siège aux élections de 1925 et fut défait par Fansher l’année suivante.

En Chambre, Armstrong s’intéressa particulièrement aux transports et aux communications. Par exemple, partisan de la mise en place d’installations frigorifiques, il blâma, en 1907, le gouvernement libéral de sir Wilfrid Laurier* de ne pas agir avec assez de vigueur relativement à ce sujet. Surtout, ce fut en grande partie lui qui convainquit le gouvernement de Laurier de faire l’essai de la livraison gratuite du courrier dans les régions rurales ; Armstrong avait soulevé une question en ce sens quelques mois après son entrée au Parlement en 1904. À ses propres frais, il étudia les rouages du système instauré aux États-Unis ; aux Communes, il insistait sur ce point dès que l’occasion se présentait. À l’extérieur de la Chambre, ses efforts furent étayés, à partir de la fin de 1905, par une campagne épistolaire du fermier ontarien George Wilcox. Même si le maître général des Postes, Rodolphe Lemieux, rejeta catégoriquement cette idée durant les débats en avril 1908, six mois plus tard, à l’approche des élections, le gouvernement créa un service limité entre Hamilton et Ancaster, et annonça son intention d’ajouter d’autres itinéraires de livraison. Le programme fut élargi par le gouvernement conservateur de Robert Laird Borden à compter de 1911 ; la fermeture de milliers de petits bureaux de poste transforma la communication rurale.

Armstrong défendit également l’acquisition et l’exploitation, par le gouvernement, de lignes téléphoniques et télégraphiques. En 1919–1920, il soutiendrait sans succès que, en vue d’obtenir une diminution du fret, la mainmise de l’État devait s’étendre aussi au trafic maritime dans les eaux intérieures et côtières. Il s’appliqua de la même manière à la question de l’approvisionnement du centre du Canada en charbon de l’Ouest ; l’Advertiser-Topic de Petrolia ferait plus tard observer que, « sur ce sujet, il recueillit une immense quantité de documents pratiques qu’il présenta devant le Parlement ». En 1914, Armstrong fut nommé coprésident du comité spécial de la Chambre des communes institué pour siéger avec un comité semblable du Sénat aux fins de refondre la Loi des chemins de fer. Au fil des ans, il participa à un certain nombre de comités parlementaires, dont le comité permanent sur les chemins de fer, canaux et lignes télégraphiques, et celui sur l’agriculture et la colonisation. Trois ans plus tard, il compta parmi les personnes choisies par le gouvernement unioniste de Borden pour inspecter le Corps expéditionnaire canadien en Angleterre et en France.

Même s’il se préoccupait des problèmes d’ordre national, Joseph Emanuel Armstrong n’oubliait jamais les intérêts de ses électeurs et, au Parlement, il se montrait infatigable dans son désir de voir adopter des lois conçues pour promouvoir l’agriculture locale et l’industrie pétrolière. Selon une notice nécrologique, « Lambton East n’eut jamais de député plus fidèle, plus minutieux ni plus consciencieux ». Actif au sein de la Crude Oil Producers’ Association après sa fondation en 1924, Armstrong assuma, à une certaine époque, la présidence de cette organisation. Au début de 1931, il se préparait à diriger une délégation qui allait se présenter devant le premier ministre Richard Bedford Bennett* et des fonctionnaires afin de discuter du rétablissement de la prime sur le pétrole brut éliminée en 1925. Il mourut avant d’entreprendre le voyage, succombant à une hémorragie cérébrale causée par une chute sur un chemin verglacé. Il avait connu des problèmes financiers durant la grande dépression et, de ce fait, sa succession fut relativement modeste. Sa femme lui survécut cinq ans. Issue d’ancêtres quakers, elle était, tout comme son mari, un pilier de l’église presbytérienne St Andrew de Petrolia, s’intéressait à la politique de façon éclairée et participait aux activités de diverses œuvres de bienfaisance. Le fils du couple, James Shelly Phipps, occuperait pendant de nombreuses années le poste d’agent général de l’Ontario au Royaume-Uni.

Christina Burr

Nous remercions Joe C. W. Armstrong, petit-fils du sujet, et sa femme Kathleen, de nous avoir fourni de l’information sur leur famille, ainsi que des articles de journaux et d’autres documents relatifs à la carrière de Joseph Emanuel Armstrong.

AO, RG 80-8-0-1278, no 20200.— Chester County Arch. & Record Services, « Marriage records, 1885–1930 », West Chester, Pa : www.chesco.org/index.aspx?NID=1174 (consulté le 21 sept. 2015).— Advertiser-Topic (Petrolia, Ontario), 5, 12 févr. 1931.— London Free Press (London, Ontario), 2 févr. 1931.— Sarnia Canadian Observer (Sarnia, Ontario), 2 févr. 1931.— Christina Burr, Canada’s Victorian oil town : the transformation of Petrolia from a resource town into a Victorian community (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 2006).— Canada, Chambre des communes, Débats, 11 févr. 1926 : 926–931.— Canadian annual rev., 1904–1921, 1925–1926.— Canadian directory of parl. (Johnson).— Victor Lauriston, Lambton’s hundred years, 1849–1949 (Sarnia, [1949]).— Edward Phelps, Petrolia, 1874–1974 (Petrolia, 1974).— Who’s who in Canada, 1922.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Christina Burr, « ARMSTRONG, JOSEPH EMANUEL », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 1 mai 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/armstrong_joseph_emanuel_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/armstrong_joseph_emanuel_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Christina Burr
Titre de l'article:   ARMSTRONG, JOSEPH EMANUEL
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   1 mai 2017