DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

LAFLAMME, JOSEPH-CLOVIS-KEMNER – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

b. 19 Sept. 1849 in Saint-Anselme, Lower Canada

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Sports and Canadian Nationalism
Original title:  Team Canada 1908 London

Source: Link

 

The sports organizer and journalist Henry John Prescott Wilshere GOOD worked to stoke national pride by drawing attention to athletic achievements, which he considered a symbol of the country’s dynamism:

“Throughout his long career, Good stressed three values that have been mainstays of Canadian amateur sport: purposeful recreation, respectable masculinity, and nationalism. He promoted sports for the health, the civic virtues, and the friendships that they encourage.… He abhorred brawling in hockey and had a low opinion of boxing. Probably the most distinctive feature of Good’s writing was his Canadianism. He covered not just Ontario sports, but the prospects and achievements of athletes from the Maritimes, Quebec, and the west, and of immigrants and the First Nations. His columns were replete with suggestions for boosting home-grown talent. He regularly regaled his readers with Canadian victories abroad, and complained when outstanding athletes such as the Toronto Lacrosse Club’s star runner, George Washington Orton, went to the United States. (Orton was the first Canadian to win an Olympic gold medal, in the steeplechase in 1900, but he did so in the uniform of the University of Pennsylvania.) Success in sports was a barometer of national vitality, Good argued, and Canada should seek to become one of the foremost of nations.”

 

Montreal dentist William George BEERS worked hard to raise lacrosse to the status of Canada’s national sport:

“His promotion of lacrosse revealed Beers’s fervent nationalism. ‘If the Republic of Greece was indebted to the Olympic Games; if England had cause to bless the game of cricket, so may Canada be proud of Lacrosse,’ he asserted. ‘It has raised a young manhood throughout the Dominion to active healthy exercise;. . . and has perhaps done more than anything else to involve the sentiment of patriotism among young men in Canada.’ So successful was Beers as a promoter that his claim lacrosse had been declared the national game of Canada by act of parliament became a myth both long and widely held. Nevertheless, lacrosse did become the national game of Canada by the end of the century.”

 

The following biographies provide additional information about the role of sports and the ways in which athletic achievement contributed to the birth and flourishing of Canadian nationalism:

 

◀◀  6 7 8 10 11 12  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

RIGALI, MICHELE – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

né vraisemblablement le 26 mai 1841 en Toscane (Italie)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Sport et nationalisme canadien
Titre original :  Team Canada 1908 London

Provenance : Lien


L’organisateur et journaliste sportifs Henry John Prescott Wilshere Good a travaillé à attiser la fierté nationale en soulignant les prouesses des athlètes, qu’il considérait comme un symbole du dynamisme du pays :

Durant sa longue carrière, Henry John Prescott Wilshere Good mit l’accent sur trois valeurs qui ont fait la force du sport amateur au Canada : le divertissement de bon aloi, les belles qualités viriles et le nationalisme. Il faisait la promotion des sports parce qu’ils favorisent la santé, les vertus civiques et l’amitié […] Il exécrait la bagarre au hockey et avait une piètre opinion de la boxe. Sans doute ses textes se distinguent-ils surtout par leur teneur canadienne. Good parlait non seulement des sports ontariens, mais aussi des exploits et des perspectives d’avenir des athlètes des Maritimes, de la province de Québec et de l’Ouest, ainsi que des immigrants et des Premières Nations. Ses articles regorgeaient de suggestions pour mousser les talents issus du pays. Régulièrement, il régalait ses lecteurs en leur parlant des victoires canadiennes à l’étranger et se plaignait quand des athlètes de haut calibre – par exemple le coureur étoile du Toronto Lacrosse Club, George Washington Orton – s’en allaient aux États-Unis. (Orton fut le premier Canadien à remporter une médaille d’or olympique, à la course d’obstacles en 1900, mais il portait l’uniforme de la University of Pennsylvania.) La réussite sportive, affirmait Good, était un indice de la vitalité d’une nation, et le Canada devait viser à se classer dans le peloton de tête.

 

Le dentiste montréalais William George Beers a travaillé sans relâche à l’accession de la crosse au statut de sport national canadien :

La volonté de Beers de donner une impulsion à la crosse révélait un ardent nationalisme. « Si la république de Grèce fut redevable aux Jeux Olympiques, si l’Angleterre avait des motifs de louer le jeu de cricket, le Canada peut, quant à lui, s’enorgueillir de la crosse », affirmait-il. « Elle a amené des jeunes gens de tout le dominion à faire un exercice sain ; [...] et [elle] a peut-être contribué plus que n’importe quoi à instiller le sentiment de patriotisme chez les jeunes hommes du Canada. » Beers fit si bien pour promouvoir la crosse qu’il parvint à implanter et à répandre le mythe selon lequel ce jeu avait été déclaré sport national du Canada par une loi du Parlement. Ce rang de sport national reviendrait tout de même à la crosse vers la fin du siècle.

 

Les biographies suivantes permettent d’en savoir davantage sur le rôle du sport et des réalisations des athlètes dans la formation et le maintien d’un nationalisme canadien.

◀◀  6 7 8 10 11 12  ▶▶