DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

CAMPBELL, ARCHIBALD GLENLYON – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

d. 21 Oct. 1917 in Camiers, France

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

RUSSELL, BENJAMIN, lawyer, author, professor, politician, and judge; b. 1849, either on 4 January (the date recorded on his baptismal certificate) or on 10 January (the date he provided in his autobiography and in the 1901 census), in Dartmouth, N.S., fourth of the six children of Nathaniel Russell and Agnes D. Bissett (Bissete); m. there 4 Sept. 1872 Louise E. Coleman (d. 7 March 1934), and they had six sons and two daughters; d. 20 Sept. 1935 in Bedford, N.S.

Benjamin Russell’s father, son of a Boston loyalist, became a successful businessman and respected community leader. He helped to found the first Wesleyan church in Dartmouth and served as a justice of the peace for many years. Young Benjamin attended a number of schools, including one run by the historian Elizabeth Murdoch Frame*; he also spent three terms at the Halifax Grammar School. One of his most vivid memories was of singing in the children’s choir assembled to entertain the Prince of Wales during his visit to Halifax in 1860. As an undergraduate at Mount Allison Wesleyan College (ba 1868, ma 1871) in Sackville, N.B., Russell met his lifelong friend and colleague Richard Chapman Weldon*. At the end of his freshman year, when Russell experienced a spiritual crisis resulting in severe depression, Weldon took him to the family farm at Penobsquis, to recover. There, recollected Russell, “the quiet, amiable and delightful family life dissolved the blues, restored my spiritual health and effected a cure for the welt-schmertz that has never been followed by a relapse in all the years of my life.”

Through David Allison*’s lectures on international law and English constitutional history, Weldon and Russell were introduced to the study of law. Weldon went on to achieve a doctorate in political science from Yale College in New Haven, Conn., in 1872, while Russell took a more prosaic course, apprenticing himself to Halifax lawyer Henry Oldright. Called to the bar on 4 Dec. 1872 after four years of clerkship, he supplemented the earnings from his meagre legal practice by reporting the debates of the provincial legislature and the decisions of the Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, and undertaking work as a journalist for the Halifax Citizen.

In 1874 Russell joined with others to incorporate the Halifax Law School, but it existed on paper only owing to a lack of funds. Their efforts would not bear fruit until 1883, when George Munro* endowed a professorship in constitutional and international law at Dalhousie University, enabling the creation of a faculty of law there [see Robert Sedgewick*]. Weldon was named to the chair and appointed founding dean, while Russell taught contracts, initially on a volunteer basis. In 1884 he was made a half-time lecturer at a salary of $1,000 per year, and bills and notes, sale of goods, and equity were added to his teaching load. On the first subject he published his own text in 1909, while on contracts, evidence, and sale of goods he produced Canadian editions of standard English texts. Russell introduced at Dalhousie a version of the case method of legal education, pioneered at Harvard law school in the 1870s. This method involved close and critical analysis of judicial decisions advanced through an active dialogue between teacher and student rather than the traditional lecture during which students remained passive. Russell’s teaching career lasted nearly 40 years: only in 1921, after the law school at last secured two full-time professors in addition to the dean, did he finally agree to retire.

Russell and Weldon were united by their Methodist background and their vision of a professional legal education grounded in the liberal arts, but in other respects they were a study in contrasts. According to John Willis, the impish Benny, as he was generally known, was “only a little bit more than five foot tall, excitable and disputatious. Weldon was six foot two, with a commanding presence and a strong moral sense.” Russell was a Liberal to Weldon’s Conservative, and wrote constantly while Weldon published scarcely a word. With age and illness Weldon became increasingly remote, but Russell’s intimate rapport with the students continued unabated.

Russell carried on his father’s leadership role in Dartmouth, serving variously as an elected councillor, town recorder, and stipendiary magistrate in the final decades of the 1800s. Transportation issues were always on the agenda. The poor service offered by the privately run passenger ferry between Dartmouth and Halifax spurred the people of Dartmouth into revolt in 1890, and the result was the establishment of a publicly owned and provincially regulated ferry. Russell was at the forefront of this agitation, and he particularly relished arranging a boycott of the existing ferry so as to ensure the success of the public venture.

In the federal election of 23 June 1896 Russell ran as the Liberal candidate for Halifax. In this two-member constituency, each party traditionally presented one Protestant and one Roman Catholic candidate, and one party would claim both seats. For only the second time since confederation, Haligonians split their ticket, sending Russell and the Conservative Robert Laird Borden to Ottawa, while their Catholic running mates, Thomas Edward Kenny* and Michael Edwin Keefe, were defeated. When the House of Commons was in session, Russell took the train after his Friday class, arrived in Ottawa on Saturday at midnight, went to the Dominion Methodist Church on Sunday, attended to his constituents’ business on Monday, and took the train late in the day, returning to Halifax in time for his Wednesday class. Russell found the “plague of patronage” disheartening, and his inability to manage the demands of his constituents in Halifax prompted him to run instead for Hants in 1900. He won by a majority of 16 votes, upon which “enthusiastic law students joined local Liberals in a torchlight procession through Dartmouth up to [Russell’s home] where … they serenaded their beloved ‘Benny’ with stirring songs and College cheers.” In his new riding, Russell was pleasantly surprised to find that “there seemed to be hardly anybody who wanted anything.”

Russell’s dedication to the law was rewarded with several honours. He was made a qc in 1890, received an honorary dcl from his alma mater in 1893, and served as president of the Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society the following year. His law practice was never large, however, and educating his eight children continued to strain his finances. As a result, he began to seek the security of a judicial appointment; anticipating that he would get one, Russell decided not to run for re-election in 1904. Even before Chief Justice James McDonald* retired from the provincial Supreme Court in January 1904, Russell and his friends undertook a strenuous writing campaign, asking Prime Minister Sir Wilfrid Laurier* and Nova Scotia’s federal cabinet representative William Stevens Fielding* to award him the post. Russell had to be content with a puisne judgeship, to which he was named on 3 October; it was Robert Linton Weatherbe* who was made chief justice in January 1905. Russell’s aspirations were twice more disappointed: upon Weatherbe’s retirement in 1907, when Charles James Townshend* replaced him, and again upon the death of Chief Justice Sir Wallace Nesbit Graham* in 1917, when the much younger Robert Edward Harris got the prize. Russell would retire in 1924. Russell’s colleague Robert Henry Graham thought that his “impulsiveness and changefulness” had marred his otherwise estimable reputation on the court. Probably his finest hour came in the wake of the Halifax explosion of 6 Dec. 1917. Public feeling ran high against the crew of the French munitions ship Mont Blanc and its pilot, Francis Mackey, who were thought to have been responsible for the collision with the Imo and the ensuing disaster. Mackey was charged with manslaughter. When the charge was tested via habeas corpus, Russell agreed that there was insufficient evidence against Mackey and ordered him released.

On his appointment to the bench in 1904, the Halifax Herald had praised Russell’s ability to contribute “clever newspaper correspondence and able public lectures on subjects of social, civic and national importance, and … brilliant and witty addresses on all sorts of public occasions.” He and his sister Mary Chesley were strong supporters of women’s suffrage, and Russell was said to have been solicited by the Halifax Local Council of Women to draft the suffrage bill presented to the legislature in 1917; the siblings were also strong advocates of the League of Nations in the post-war years. In 1929, aged 80, Russell was still socially engaged, campaigning vigorously for the temperance cause during the provincial plebiscite. In 1932 Dalhousie created the Russell Chair in Law in his honour, and on 30 Oct. 1933 Russell spoke at the great banquet marking the 50th anniversary of the law school. After his speech his many students from across Canada, who included premiers Leonard Percy de Wolfe Tilley* of New Brunswick and Angus Lewis Macdonald* of Nova Scotia, as well as judges from most provincial supreme courts in the country, gave him “a great and sincere ovation.” Prime Minister Richard Bedford Bennett*, one of the school’s most distinguished graduates, paid tribute to Russell’s work in his congratulatory letter to the institution.

Russell died of old age at home on 20 Sept. 1935 and was buried at Mount Hermon Cemetery in his native Dartmouth. The Autobiography of Benjamin Russell is a somewhat rambling account of his life, and reveals the author’s wry wit and his taste for literature. This latter quality inspired a posthumous entry on Russell in the diary of Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King*, who recorded in 1945 a “vision” involving the late judge, “a great student of Matthew Arnold.”

Benjamin Russell was well known in his time for his political and judicial careers. Although his work in these fields has left little trace, through his and Weldon’s “little law school” he has had a profound and lasting influence on legal education in Canada.

Philip Girard

Benjamin Russell left no personal papers, but he was unusual among early-20th-century judges in having published a substantial memoir, the Autobiography of Benjamin Russell (Halifax, 1932). His principal legal publication was A commentary on the Bills of Exchange Act … with references to English, Canadian and American cases, and the opinions of eminent jurists (Halifax, 1909). He also wrote Canadian footnotes for standard legal texts by distinguished English jurists. For context, see Philip Girard, “The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia: confederation to the twenty-first century,” in The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, 1754–2004: from imperial bastion to provincial oracle, ed. Philip Girard et al. (Toronto, 2004), 140–203. In later years he published essays on legal and political figures in the Dalhousie Rev. (Halifax), including “The career of Sir John Thompson,” 1 (1921–22): 188–201; “Reminiscences of a legislature,” 3 (1923–24): 5–16; “What we owe to Francis Parkman,” 3: 330–41; “Reminiscences of the Nova Scotia judiciary,” 5 (1925–26): 499–512; “John Thomas Bulmer,” 9 (1929–30): 68–78; “Recollections of W. S. Fielding,” 9: 326–40; and “A suggestive retrospect,” 10 (1930–31): 75–82, in which he issues an eloquent plea for the avoidance of war.

Russell’s contributions to legal education are well covered in John Willis, A history of Dalhousie law school (Toronto, 1979). The Sir Wilfrid Laurier fonds at LAC contains some two dozen letters from Russell to Laurier, many with replies (R10811-0-X, 3697-12, 4387-8, 44318-20, 48628-33, 66892-98, 69651-53, 78607-11, 78796-804, 81958-65, 122259-64).

LAC, “Diaries of William Lyon Mackenzie King,” 25 Sept. 1925: www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/politics-government/prime-ministers/william-lyon-mackenzie-king/Pages/diaries-william-lyon-mackenzie-king.aspx (consulted 9 April 2014). NSA, MG 2, vol.509 (W. S. Fielding papers), no.28; MG 100, vol.216, no.22 (Mr Justice R. H. Graham, “Honourable Benjamin Russell”); RG 39, M, 5 (bar admission case files), no.10. Dalhousie Gazette (Halifax), 27 Oct. 1932, 2 Nov. 1933. Halifax Chronicle, 21 Sept. 1935. Halifax Daily Star, 19 Oct. 1929. Halifax Herald, 3 Oct. 1904, 21 Sept. 1935. Morning Chronicle, 4 April 1913. C. L. Cleverdon, The woman suffrage movement in Canada, intro. Ramsay Cook (2nd ed., Toronto, 1974). In re Frank Mackey (1918–19), Nova Scotia Reports (Halifax), 52: 165–81. J. P. Martin, The story of Dartmouth (Dartmouth, N.S., 1957; repr. 1981). J. M. and L. J. Payzant, Like a weaver’s shuttle: a history of the Halifax–Dartmouth ferries (Halifax, 1979).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Philip Girard, “RUSSELL, BENJAMIN,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 21, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/russell_benjamin_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/russell_benjamin_16E.html
Author of Article: Philip Girard
Title of Article: RUSSELL, BENJAMIN
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: October 21, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Dans le cadre de l’accord de financement entre le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada et le Musée canadien de l’histoire, nous vous invitons à participer à un court sondage.

Je veux participer maintenant.

Je participerai plus tard.

Je ne veux pas participer.

J'ai déjà participé au sondage.

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BURWASH, NATHANAEL – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

décédé le 30 mars 1918 à Toronto et inhumé à Baltimore, Ontario

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

RUSSELL, BENJAMIN, avocat, auteur, professeur, homme politique et juge, né en 1849, soit le 4 janvier (date inscrite sur son acte de baptême), soit le 10 janvier (date figurant dans son autobiographie et dans le recensement de 1901), à Dartmouth, Nouvelle-Écosse, quatrième des six enfants de Nathaniel Russell et d’Agnes D. Bissett (Bissete) ; le 4 septembre 1872, il épousa au même endroit Louise E. Coleman (décédée le 7 mars 1934), et ils eurent six fils et deux filles ; décédé le 20 septembre 1935 à Bedford, Nouvelle-Écosse.

Le père de Benjamin Russell, fils d’un loyaliste bostonien, devint un homme d’affaires prospère et un chef de file respecté dans son milieu. Il contribua à la fondation de la première église wesleyenne à Dartmouth et assuma les fonctions de juge de paix pendant de nombreuses années. Le jeune Benjamin fréquenta plusieurs écoles, dont l’une était dirigée par l’historienne Elizabeth Murdoch Frame* ; il passa également trois trimestres à la Halifax Grammar School. Selon l’un de ses souvenirs les plus vivaces, il chanta dans le chœur d’enfants organisé pour divertir le prince de Galles lors de sa visite à Halifax en 1860. Lorsqu’il était étudiant de premier cycle au Mount Allison Wesleyan College (où il obtiendrait un baccalauréat ès arts en 1868 et une maîtrise ès arts en 1871) de Sackville, au Nouveau-Brunswick, Russell fit la connaissance de celui qui serait toute sa vie un ami et un collègue, Richard Chapman Weldon*. Au terme de sa première année d’études, Russell vécut une crise spirituelle qui entraîna une grave dépression. Weldon l’emmena se rétablir dans la ferme de sa famille à Penobsquis. Là-bas, comme se le rappellerait Russell, « la tranquillité, l’amabilité et le charme de la vie familiale effacèrent [s]es idées noires, rétablirent [s]a santé spirituelle et constituèrent une cure contre la mélancolie qui ne fut suivie d’aucune rechute durant le reste de [s]a vie ».

Les conférences de David Allison* sur le droit international et l’histoire constitutionnelle de l’Angleterre initièrent Weldon et Russell à l’étude du droit. Weldon poursuivit ses études et, en 1872, obtint un doctorat en science politique au Yale College de New Haven, au Connecticut, tandis que Russell emprunta la voie plus prosaïque d’apprenti auprès de Henry Oldright, avocat de Halifax. Il fut reçu au barreau le 4 décembre 1872, après quatre années de stage. Pour arrondir ses maigres revenus d’avocat, il transcrivait les débats de l’Assemblée législative et les décisions de la Cour suprême de la Nouvelle-Écosse, et travaillait comme journaliste pour le Halifax Citizen.

En 1874, Russell se joignit à des collègues pour constituer en société la Halifax Law School, mais l’établissement n’exista que sur papier en raison d’un manque de fonds. Les efforts du groupe ne portèrent leurs fruits qu’en 1883, lorsque George Munro* dota une chaire de droit constitutionnel et international à la Dalhousie University, permettant ainsi la fondation d’une faculté de droit [V. Robert Sedgewick*]. Weldon fut nommé titulaire de la chaire et doyen fondateur, tandis que Russell donnait des cours sur les contrats, d’abord à titre bénévole. En 1884, il fut engagé comme chargé de cours à mi-temps au salaire annuel de 1 000 $ et on ajouta à sa tâche d’enseignement les instruments négociables, la vente de biens et l’equity. Sur les instruments négociables, il publia son propre manuel en 1909, tandis que sur les contrats, la preuve et la vente de biens, il produisit des éditions canadiennes d’ouvrages de référence anglais. Russell présenta, dans la formation en droit à Dalhousie, une variante de l’étude de cas lancée à l’école de droit de la Harvard University dans les années 1870. Selon cette méthode, le professeur et l’étudiant faisaient, en dialoguant, une analyse rigoureuse et critique des décisions judiciaires, ce qui contrastait avec le cours magistral traditionnel où les étudiants restaient passifs. La carrière d’enseignant de Russell s’étendrait sur presque 40 ans : ce ne fut qu’en 1921, quand l’école de droit aurait enfin obtenu deux postes de professeur à plein temps en plus de celui de doyen, qu’il accepterait de se retirer de l’enseignement.

Russell et Weldon étaient liés par leurs origines méthodistes et leur vision d’une formation professionnelle en droit reposant sur les arts libéraux, mais, à d’autres égards, ils différaient complètement. Selon John Willis, l’espiègle Benny, comme on l’appelait, mesurait « à peine un peu plus de cinq pieds, était excitable et raisonneur. Weldon mesurait six pieds deux pouces, possédait une allure imposante et un fort sens moral. » Russell était libéral et Weldon, conservateur ; Russell écrivait constamment, tandis que Weldon ne publia guère. Avec l’âge et la maladie, Weldon deviendrait de plus en plus distant, alors que le rapport intime de Russell avec les étudiants resterait inchangé.

Russell poursuivit le rôle de chef de file de son père à Dartmouth, où, au cours des dernières décennies des années 1800, il occupa diverses fonctions : conseiller élu, juge municipal et magistrat rémunéré. Les questions liées au transport figuraient toujours au programme. Le piètre service de traversier offert par une entreprise privée pour le transport des passagers entre Dartmouth et Halifax souleva la population de Dartmouth en 1890, révolte qui entraîna la création d’un service public de traversier soumis aux règlements provinciaux. Russell fut au premier plan de cette campagne et trouva un certain plaisir à organiser le boycottage du traversier existant afin d’assurer le succès de l’entreprise publique.

Aux élections fédérales du 23 juin 1896, Russell se porta candidat pour les libéraux dans Halifax. Dans cette circonscription qui comptait deux députés, chaque parti présentait traditionnellement un candidat protestant et un catholique, et l’un des partis obtenait les deux sièges. Pour la deuxième fois seulement depuis la Confédération, les Haligoniens divisèrent leurs voix, envoyant Russell et le conservateur Robert Laird Borden à Ottawa, tandis que leurs opposants catholiques, Thomas Edward Kenny* et Michael Edwin Keefe, furent défaits. Pendant les sessions de la Chambre des communes, Russell prenait le train après son cours du vendredi, arrivait à Ottawa le samedi à minuit, se rendait à l’église méthodiste Dominion le dimanche, s’occupait des affaires des habitants de sa circonscription le lundi et reprenait le train en fin de journée pour arriver à temps à son cours du mercredi à Halifax. Russell trouvait la « plaie du favoritisme » décourageante et son incapacité à gérer les exigences de ses électeurs l’amena à se présenter plutôt dans la circonscription de Hants en 1900. Il remporta la victoire avec une majorité de 16 voix ; à cette occasion, les « enthousiastes étudiants en droit se joignirent aux libéraux locaux dans un défilé aux flambeaux dans Dartmouth jusqu’au [domicile de Russell] où […] ils entonnèrent chansons vibrantes et vivats universitaires en l’honneur de leur cher “Benny” ». Dans sa nouvelle circonscription, Russell eut l’agréable surprise de constater que « presque personne ne semblait avoir quelque chose à demander ».

Le dévouement de Russell pour le droit fut récompensé par plusieurs distinctions honorifiques. Il fut nommé conseiller de la reine en 1890, reçut un doctorat honorifique en droit de son alma mater en 1893 et devint président de la Nova Scotia Barristers’ Society l’année suivante. Son cabinet d’avocat ne prit cependant jamais d’ampleur et l’éducation de ses huit enfants constituait une lourde charge financière. Voilà pourquoi il commença à chercher une nomination judiciaire, gage de sécurité ; presque certain d’en obtenir une, il décida de ne pas se porter candidat aux élections de 1904. Avant même que le juge en chef, James McDonald*, ne se retire de la Cour suprême provinciale en janvier 1904, Russell et ses amis entreprirent une campagne écrite acharnée pour demander au premier ministre, sir Wilfrid Laurier*, et au représentant de la Nouvelle-Écosse dans le cabinet fédéral, William Stevens Fielding*, d’accorder le poste à Russell. Ce dernier dut se contenter du poste de juge puîné, auquel il fut nommé le 3 octobre, tandis que Robert Linton Weatherbe* fut désigné juge en chef en janvier 1905. Les aspirations de Russell furent déçues à deux autres reprises : lorsque Weatherbe prit sa retraite en 1907, Charles James Townshend* le remplaça, puis, en 1917, après la mort du juge en chef sir Wallace Nesbit Graham*, Robert Edward Harris, beaucoup plus jeune, obtint le poste. Comme juge, Russell partirait à la retraite en 1924. Son collègue, Robert Henry Graham, était d’avis que « son caractère impulsif et inconstant » avait gâché sa réputation par ailleurs digne d’estime dans le milieu judiciaire. Russell connut probablement son heure de gloire à la suite de l’explosion qui se produisit à Halifax le 6 décembre 1917. L’opinion publique s’éleva contre l’équipage du bateau de munitions français, le Mont blanc, et son pilote, Francis Mackey, qu’on croyait responsable de la collision avec l’Imo et du désastre qui en résulta. Mackey fut accusé d’homicide involontaire. Lorsqu’on invoqua l’habeas corpus, Russell reconnut qu’il n’y avait pas de preuves suffisantes contre Mackey et ordonna sa libération.

Lorsque Russell avait accédé à la magistrature en 1904, le Halifax Herald avait loué sa capacité à livrer « une correspondance journalistique astucieuse et des conférences publiques intelligentes sur des sujets d’importance sociale, municipale et nationale, ainsi que […] des allocutions brillantes et spirituelles dans toutes sortes d’événements publics ». Sa sœur, Mary Rebecca Chesley, et lui étaient de solides partisans du suffrage féminin ; Russell aurait d’ailleurs été sollicité par le Halifax Local Council of Women pour préparer le projet de loi sur le droit de vote présenté à l’Assemblée législative en 1917. Tous deux furent également d’ardents défenseurs de la Société des nations pendant l’après-guerre. En 1929, âgé de 80 ans, Russell était toujours engagé sur le plan social et mena une vigoureuse campagne pour la cause de la tempérance à l’occasion du plébiscite provincial. En 1932, la Dalhousie University créa la chaire de droit Russell en son honneur et, le 30 octobre 1933, Russell fit un discours au grand banquet marquant le cinquantenaire de l’école de droit. Après son allocution, ses nombreux étudiants de tout le Canada, dont Leonard Percy de Wolfe Tilley* et Angus Lewis Macdonald*, respectivement premiers ministres du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse, de même que les juges de la plupart des cours suprêmes provinciales du pays, lui firent une « ovation nourrie et sincère ». Le premier ministre du Canada, Richard Bedford Bennett*, l’un des diplômés les plus distingués de l’école de droit, rendit hommage au travail de Russell dans sa lettre de félicitations adressée à l’établissement.

Russell mourut de vieillesse à son domicile le 20 septembre 1935 et fut inhumé au cimetière Mount Hermon, dans sa ville natale de Dartmouth. L’ouvrage intitulé Autobiography of Benjamin Russell constitue un compte rendu quelque peu désordonné de sa vie et révèle son intelligence empreinte d’ironie et son goût pour la littérature. Cette dernière qualité inspira une note posthume sur Russell dans le journal intime du premier ministre du pays, William Lyon Mackenzie King*, qui y inscrivit en 1945 une « vision » du regretté juge, « brillant disciple de Matthew Arnold ».

Benjamin Russell fut bien connu à son époque pour sa carrière politique et judiciaire. Son travail dans ces domaines laissa peu de traces, mais il exerça une influence profonde et durable sur la formation juridique au Canada grâce à la « petite école de droit » à laquelle Weldon et lui contribuèrent grandement.

Philip Girard

Benjamin Russell n’a laissé aucun papier personnel, mais, fait inhabituel parmi les juges du début du xxe siècle, il a publié une importante autobiographie : Autobiography of Benjamin Russell (Halifax, 1932). Sa principale publication juridique s’intitule A commentary on the Bills of exchange act […] with references to English, Canadian and American cases, and the opinions of eminent jurists (Halifax, 1909). Il a également écrit des notes en bas de page appropriées au Canada pour des textes juridiques standards rédigés par d’éminents juristes anglais. Nous renvoyons les lecteurs qui voudraient en savoir davantage sur le contexte à notre article intitulé « The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia : confederation to the twenty-first century », dans The Supreme Court of Nova Scotia, 1754–2004 : from imperial bastion to provincial oracle, Philip Girard et al., édit. (Toronto, 2004), 140–203. Russell a publié des essais sur des personnages des milieux juridique et politique dans la Dalhousie Rev. (Halifax), dont « The career of Sir John Thompson », 1 (1921–1922) : 188–201 ; « Reminiscences of a legislature », 3 (1923–1924) : 5–16 ; « What we owe to Francis Parkman », 3 : 330–341 ; « Reminiscences of the Nova Scotia judiciary », 5 (1925–1926) : 499–512 ; « John Thomas Bulmer », 9 (1929–1930) : 68–78 ; « Recollections of W. S. Fielding », 9 : 326–340 ; et « A suggestive retrospect », 10 (1930–1931) : 75–82, dans lequel il fait un éloquent plaidoyer contre l’entrée en guerre.

Les contributions de Russell au monde de l’éducation juridique sont bien décrites dans John Willis, A history of Dalhousie law school (Toronto, 1979). Le fonds sir Wilfrid Laurier à BAC contient environ deux douzaines de lettres de Russell à Laurier et de nombreuses réponses (R10811-0-X, 3697-12, 4387-8, 44318-20, 48628-33, 66892-98, 69651-53, 78607-11, 78796-804, 81958-65, 122259-64).

BAC, « Journal personnel de William Lyon Mackenzie King », 25 sept. 1925 : www.bac-lac.gc.ca/fra/decouvrez/politique-gouvernement/premier-ministres/william-lyon-mackenzie-king/Pages/journal-mackenzie-king.aspx (consulté le 9 avril 2014).— NSA, MG 2, vol. 509, no 28 ; MG 100, vol. 216, no 22 ; RG 39, M, 5, no 10.— Dalhousie Gazette (Halifax), 27 oct. 1932, 2 nov. 1933.— Halifax Chronicle, 21 sept. 1935.— Halifax Daily Star, 19 oct. 1929.— Halifax Herald, 3 oct. 1904, 21 sept. 1935.— Morning Chronicle, 4 avril 1913.— C. L. Cleverdon, The woman suffrage movement in Canada, introd. par Ramsay Cook (2e éd., Toronto, 1974).— In re Frank Mackey (1918–1919), Nova Scotia Reports (Halifax), 52 : 165–181.— J. P. Martin, The story of Dartmouth (Dartmouth, N.-É., 1957 ; réimpr. 1981).— J. M. et L. J. Payzant, Like a weaver’s shuttle : a history of the Halifax-Dartmouth ferries (Halifax, 1979).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Philip Girard, « RUSSELL, BENJAMIN », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 30 mars 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/russell_benjamin_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/russell_benjamin_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Philip Girard
Titre de l'article:   RUSSELL, BENJAMIN
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   30 mars 2017