DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PELLEGRIN, GABRIEL – Volume IV (1771-1800)

d. 19 June 1788 at Brest, France

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

ROLET (Rollet), MARIE (Dufeu; Hébert; Hubou), daughter of Jehan Rollet, king’s gunner, and of Anne Cogu; m. first François Dufeu; m. secondly on 19 Feb. 1601 Louis Hébert (d. 1627) in the parish of Saint-Sulpice, Paris, and they had a son and two daughters; m. thirdly on 16 May 1629 Guillaume Hubou at Quebec; they had no children; d. 1649 at Quebec.

In 1617, with her husband and three children she came from Paris to Quebec, where she found starvation, sickness, and conflicts with indigenous people. A year after their arrival, says Sagard, the first marriage solemnized in Canada with the rites of the church took place, that of their daughter Anne and Étienne Jonquet. Anne died in childbirth the following year, but there is no record of the child.

Marie Rolet aided her husband in caring for the sick and shared his interest in indigenous people, concerning herself especially with the education of their children. In 1627, at the baptism of Chomina’s son, Naneogauchit, which the priests were striving to make an impressive occasion, she fed a crowd of visitors from her big brewing kettle. Her name appears as godmother for this baptism and for the baptisms of many others who were converted.

On 16 May 1629, two years after the death of Louis Hébert, she married Guillaume Hubou at Quebec. After seeking Champlain’s advice, she and her family (i.e., her third husband, her 15-year-old son Guillaume, her surviving daughter, Guillemette Hébert, and her son-in-law Guillaume Couillard) remained in Quebec during the English occupation and kept alive among their indigenous neighbours the memory of French friendship. After the return of the French in 1632, her house became the home of indigenous girls given to the Jesuits for training. She died in 1649, leaving her husband, her daughter, and a number of grandchildren. She was buried at Quebec on 27 May 1649.

Ethel M. G. Bennett

[For bibliography, see Louis Hébert.]

Revisions based on:
The spelling of Marie Rolet’s name was determined from her signature on a deed of sale dated 19 Feb. 1601 (see below).

Arch. Nationales (Paris, Fontainebleau et Pierrefitte-sur-Seine), LL//958, 19 févr. 1601; Minutier central, XXIII, no.113. Bibliothèque et Arch. Nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de Québec, CE301-S1, 16 mai 1629, 27 mai 1649.

General Bibliography

Notes

This biography was first published with terms that were regarded as appropriate at the time and are now considered offensive. These terms have been amended.

Citations

Ethel M. G. Bennett, “ROLET (Rollet), MARIE (Dufeu; Hébert; Hubou),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 1, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed June 19, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/rollet_marie_1E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/rollet_marie_1E.html
Author of Article: Ethel M. G. Bennett
Title of Article: ROLET (Rollet), MARIE (Dufeu; Hébert; Hubou)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 1
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1966
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: June 19, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

ROLET (Rollet), MARIE (Dufeu ; Hébert ; Hubou), fille de Jehan Rollet, canonnier du roi, et d’Anne Cogu ; elle épousa François Dufeu, puis le 19 février 1601, dans la paroisse Saint-Sulpice, Paris, Louis Hébert (décédé en 1627), et de ce mariage naquirent un fils et deux filles, et finalement le 16 mai 1629, à Québec, Guillaume Hubou, et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédée à Québec en 1649.

En 1617, avec son mari, Louis Hébert, et ses trois enfants, elle arriva de Paris à Québec, pour y trouver la famine, la maladie et les conflits avec des Amérindiens. L’année suivante, rapporte Sagard, eut lieu le premier mariage célébré au Canada selon les rites de l’Eglise, celui de leur fille Anne avec Étienne Jonquet. Anne mourut l’année suivante en donnant naissance à un enfant qui n’est pas porté sur les registres de la paroisse.

Marie Rolet aida son mari à soigner les malades et partagea l’intérêt qu’il portait aux Amérindiens, en s’occupant spécialement de l’instruction des plus jeunes d’entre eux. En 1627, lors du baptême du fils de Chomina, Naneogauchit, que le clergé voulait célébrer en grande pompe, une foule d’Amérindiens venus pour cette occasion se régalèrent du contenu de sa grosse marmite. Son nom figure comme marraine à ce baptême, ainsi qu’à ceux de plusieurs autres Amérindiens convertis.

Le 16 mai 1629, deux ans après la mort de Louis Hébert, elle convolait avec Guillaume Hubou à Québec. Après avoir demandé l’avis de Champlain, elle et sa famille (c’est-à-dire son troisième époux, son fils Guillaume de 15 ans, sa seule fille survivante, Guillemette Hébert, et son gendre, Guillaume Couillard) demeurèrent à Québec durant l’occupation anglaise et perpétuèrent chez les Amérindiens du voisinage la mémoire de l’amitié française. Après le retour des Français, en 1632, sa maison devint le foyer des jeunes Amérindiennes confiées aux Jésuites pour leur éducation. Elle mourut en 1649, en laissant son mari, sa fille et de nombreux petits-enfants. Elle fut inhumée à Québec le 27 mai 1649.

Ethel M. G. Bennett

Pour la bibliographie, V. celle de Louis Hébert.

Bibliographie de la version révisée :
Nous avons établi l’orthographe du nom de Marie Rolet selon sa signature sur un acte de vente daté du 19 février 1601 (V. ci-dessous).

Arch. nationales (Paris, Fontainebleau et Pierrefitte-sur-Seine), LL//958, 19 févr. 1601 ; Minutier central, XXIII, no 113. Bibliothèque et Arch. nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de Québec, CE301-S1, 16 mai 1629, 27 mai 1649.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Ethel M. G. Bennett, « ROLET (Rollet), MARIE (Dufeu ; Hébert ; Hubou) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 1, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 juill. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rollet_marie_1F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rollet_marie_1F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Ethel M. G. Bennett
Titre de l'article:   ROLET (Rollet), MARIE (Dufeu ; Hébert ; Hubou)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 1
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1966
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   20 juillet 2018