DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PUISAYE, JOSEPH-GENEVIÈVE DE, Comte de PUISAYE – Volume VI (1821-1835)

d. 13 Dec. 1827 near Hammersmith (London), England

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Long Lance, Indian author and newspaperman [ca. 1920s]. Photographer/Illustrator: McDermid Studio, Calgary, Alberta. Image courtesy of Glenbow Museum, Calgary, Alberta.

Source: Link

LONG, Sylvester Clark, known as Sylvester Chahuska Long Lance, Buffalo Child, and Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance, soldier, journalist, lecturer, author, and actor; b. 1 Dec. 1890 in Winston (Winston-Salem), N.C., son of Joseph Sylvester Long and Sallie Malinda Carson; d. unmarried 20 March 1932 in Arcadia, Calif.

Sylvester C. Long’s parents had both been born slaves. Joe Long thought that his father was white and his mother Eastern Cherokee. Sallie Carson had been told that her ancestry was also aboriginal (Croatan, now known as Lumbee) and European. Regardless of what Joe and Sallie believed, they were not federally recognized Indians and consequently had no legal status as Native Americans. Even had it been otherwise, in Winston there were only two racial classifications, white and coloured, and as non-whites the Longs lived in the African American community and suffered much of the discrimination faced by their black neighbours.

In 1897 Sylvester learned the full implications of being labelled coloured. Although his father worked as a janitor at an elementary school only three blocks from their home, the six-year-old could not enrol there since the institution was for white children. He must attend the Depot Street School for Negroes two miles away. The colour line in Winston was indelibly drawn, and he would come to resent the daily humiliations it imposed.

From an early age Long fantasized about Indians. As a boy of 13 and again when he was 17 or 18 he joined wild west shows, where, with his straight jet-black hair, high cheekbones, and copper skin, he was taken to be a Native American. In 1909, falsifying the extent of his Indian ancestry and capitalizing on his appearance and the fact that he had learned some Cherokee while on the road, Long applied to and was accepted by the famous Indian Industrial School in Carlisle, Pa.

At this federally supported institution, whose student body included members of nearly 100 aboriginal groups from across the United States and whose football team brought it nationwide attention, Long excelled both in his studies and in sports. The school completely altered his life. There he put himself forward as an Eastern Cherokee. This portrayal was not entirely a distortion, given his father’s presumed ancestry. Moreover, at the time a number of Croatan, the people from whom his mother claimed descent, were presenting themselves as Eastern Cherokee, a group that had, unlike the Croatan, received federal recognition. The school also opened up new opportunities. Having achieved a fine record there, Long gained entrance in 1912 to Conway Hall in Carlisle, the preparatory school for Dickinson College. After a year he won a scholarship to St John’s Military Academy in Manlius, N.Y., where he Indianized his name to Sylvester Chahuska Long Lance. He completed his high-school education in 1915, at age 24, and spent an additional year of study there. His time at school had not been free of suspicions about his origins, and such questions would continue to dog him.

Perhaps in search of adventure, or regular pay, Long Lance travelled north to Montreal in early 1916 and enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force. Eventually he saw four months’ action in France in 1917. Wounded twice, he was hospitalized in England on the second occasion and subsequently assigned to non-combat duties. Upon his return to Canada in 1919, he boarded a troop train heading west and took his discharge in Calgary, far from the American South he was trying to escape. Introducing himself as a Cherokee from Oklahoma, that is, a Western Cherokee, the first major distortion of his identity, he obtained a job as a reporter for the Calgary Daily Herald.

During his three years with the paper Long Lance made frequent visits to reserves in southern Alberta. The accomplished war veteran was adopted by the Blood, one of the four nations in the Blackfoot Confederacy, as an honorary chief in February 1922 and given the name Buffalo Child. When he left for Vancouver two months later, having been fired from the Herald because of a reckless practical joke, he took with him his new name and his new Plains Indian identity. If asked, he described himself usually as a Blackfoot, sometimes as a Blood. He was not, of course, in any way a legal member of either group.

In the early and mid 1920s, now calling himself Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance, the talented writer penned articles, based on personal investigations, about aboriginal people in British Columbia, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba. Major North American newspapers and magazines bought these pieces, in which he aired a positive interpretation of the history of the First Nations in Canada and reviewed their contemporary situation. In 1927, having travelled widely in the west and elsewhere pursuing stories, covering boxing matches, and giving lectures, he moved to New York City, where, a year later, he published Long Lance, a work he intended as a piece of historical fiction but one his publisher insisted should appear as autobiography. The critics generally praised it. Writing in the New York Herald-Tribune on 14 Oct. 1928, Paul Radin, a well-known American anthropologist, described it as “authentic” and an “unusually faithful account of childhood and early manhood.… I cannot think of any work that could act as a better corrective of the ridiculous notions still prevailing about the Indians.” At this point Sylvester Long’s reinvention of his identity became complete.

Long Lance’s “autobiography” brought wide public recognition, entry into New York’s highest literary and social circles, and an invitation to take a leading role in a film, The silent enemy, about the life of the Ojibwa in northern central Canada before the arrival of the Europeans (the “silent enemy” was hunger). Upon its release in 1930 Variety (New York) praised his performance in its issue of 21 May: “Chief Long Lance is an ideal picture Indian, because he is a full-blooded one … an author of note in Indian lore, and now an actor in fact.”

Yet, at the height of his fame, Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance’s stature as a public figure began to decline. Notoriety had aroused curiosity, and it was increasingly difficult to avoid investigations into his origins. Rumours began to circulate in New York that he was African American. Although he had continued to send money home to Winston-Salem, a reappearance there would mean certain discovery and he was unwilling in any case to live again in the ghetto. The strain of imminent exposure started to tell on him, and he turned to alcohol. In 1931 he moved to California, to act as secretary and bodyguard to a wealthy heiress embarking on a trip to Europe. Something happened during this journey to unsettle him further; he suffered bouts of depression and continued to drink heavily. After his return in November he became increasingly unstable, and on 20 March 1932 he took his own life, by gunshot, at his patron’s home in Arcadia, near Los Angeles.

Long’s legacy is his writings on the First Nations, in which he did good work in combating many negative stereotypes of aboriginal people. For these articles he carried out, as historian Hugh A. Dempsey has noted, “valuable field work at a time when few ethnologists, and even fewer journalists, were concerned about the history of the Indian.”

Donald B. Smith

This article is based on the author’s full-length biography of Sylvester Clark Long, Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance: the glorious imposter (rev. ed., Red Deer, Alta, 1999). The GA holds the most complete collection of writings by and about Long (M 690, M 6240, M 6348, M 6426, NA 1811 (1–22), NA 3264, NA 3771, NB 25, PA 1086, PB 310, PE 38, S 28). Long’s “autobiography,” Long Lance, first appeared in New York in 1928. The latest edition is that published in 1995 by the University Press of Mississippi in Jackson. Roberta Forsberg compiled Redman echoes: comprising the writings of Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance, and biographical sketches by his friends (Los Angeles, 1933). This book also appears in the National Library of Can., Peel bibliography on microfiche ([Ottawa], 1975–    ), no.3328.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Donald B. Smith, “LONG, SYLVESTER CLARK (Sylvester Chahuska Long Lance, Buffalo Child, Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 13, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/long_sylvester_clark_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/long_sylvester_clark_16E.html
Author of Article: Donald B. Smith
Title of Article: LONG, SYLVESTER CLARK (Sylvester Chahuska Long Lance, Buffalo Child, Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: December 13, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

AFFLECK, ANNIE EMMA – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

née le 26 juin 1845 à Halifax

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

LONG, SYLVESTER CLARK, dit Sylvester Chahuska Long Lance, Buffalo Child et Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance, soldat, journaliste, conférencier, auteur et acteur, né le 1er décembre 1890 à Winston (Winston-Salem, Caroline du Nord), fils de Joseph Sylvester Long et de Sallie Malinda Carson ; décédé célibataire le 20 mars 1932 à Arcadia, Californie.

Les parents de Sylvester Clark Long étaient tous deux nés esclaves. Joseph Sylvester Long pensait que son père était Blanc et sa mère, Eastern Cherokee. On avait dit à Sallie Malinda Carson que ses ancêtres étaient également autochtones (Croatans, qui seraient connus sous le nom de Lumbees) et européens. En dépit de ce qu’ils croyaient, ils n’étaient pas reconnus par le gouvernement fédéral comme Amérindiens et, par conséquent, ils n’avaient aucun statut juridique en tant qu’autochtones. Même s’il en avait été autrement, Winston n’était divisé qu’en deux catégories raciales : les Blancs et les personnes de couleur. En tant que non-Blancs, les Long vivaient au sein de la communauté afro-américaine et subissaient en grande partie la discrimination dont étaient victimes leurs voisins noirs.

En 1897, Sylvester Clark apprit tout ce qu’être étiqueté comme personne de couleur signifiait. Son père travaillait comme concierge dans une école primaire située à trois pâtés de maisons seulement de leur domicile, mais le garçon de six ans ne pouvait s’y inscrire, car l’établissement n’acceptait que des enfants blancs. Il dut fréquenter la Depot Street School for Negroes à deux milles de la maison. À Winston, la ligne de démarcation raciale était indélébile et Sylvester Clark aurait du mal à accepter les humiliations quotidiennes qu’elle imposait.

Les Amérindiens avaient peuplé le monde imaginaire de Long dès son jeune âge. À 13 ans, puis à 17 ou 18 ans, il participa à des spectacles du Far West, où ses cheveux raides, noirs comme jais, ses pommettes saillantes et sa peau cuivrée le faisaient passer pour un autochtone. En 1909, falsifiant son ascendance amérindienne, misant sur son apparence et sur le fait qu’il avait appris un peu de cherokee au cours de ses pérégrinations, Long fit une demande d’inscription à la renommée Indian Industrial School de Carlisle, en Pennsylvanie, et y fut accepté.

Dans cet établissement financé par le gouvernement fédéral, la population étudiante incluait des membres de près de 100 groupes aborigènes des quatre coins des États-Unis et l’équipe de football avait attiré l’attention de tout le pays. Long excella autant dans ses études que dans les sports. Cette école changea complètement sa vie. Il disait être Eastern Cherokee, ce qui n’était pas tout à fait faux, étant donné les ancêtres présumés de son père. En outre, à l’époque, un certain nombre de Croatans, dont sa mère se réclamait, se présentaient eux-mêmes comme étant Eastern Cherokees, groupe qui, contrairement aux Croatans, jouissait de la reconnaissance fédérale. L’école offrait également de nouveaux débouchés. Grâce à ses bons résultats, Long fut admis, en 1912, au Conway Hall de Carlisle, école préparatoire au Dickinson College. Après un an, il décrocha une bourse d’études à la St John’s Military Academy à Manlius, dans l’État de New York, où il « autochtonisa » son nom en Sylvester Chahuska Long Lance. Il termina ses études secondaires en 1915, à l’âge de 24 ans, et étudia au même endroit une année de plus. Pendant ce temps passé à l’école, il ne put éviter des soupçons quant à ses origines ; ces questions continueraient de le poursuivre.

Peut-être en quête d’aventure ou d’un salaire régulier, Long Lance mit le cap vers le Nord et, au début de 1916, arriva à Montréal où il s’enrôla dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien. En 1917, il se trouva dans le feu de l’action pendant quatre mois en France. Blessé à deux reprises, il fut hospitalisé en Angleterre la deuxième fois, puis affecté à des tâches de non-combattant. À son retour au Canada en 1919, il monta à bord d’un train militaire à destination de l’Ouest et reprit la vie civile à Calgary, loin du Sud américain qu’il tentait de fuir. Se présentant comme Cherokee de l’Oklahoma, c’est-à-dire Western Cherokee, première déformation importante de son identité, il fut engagé comme reporter au Calgary Daily Herald.

Au cours de ses trois années de service pour ce quotidien, Long Lance fit de fréquentes visites dans les réserves du sud de l’Alberta. Vétéran accompli, il fut adopté en février 1922 par les Gens-du-Sang, l’une des quatre nations de la confédération des Pieds-Noirs, à titre de chef honoraire ; on lui donna alors le nom de Buffalo Child. Lorsqu’il partit pour Vancouver deux mois plus tard, après avoir été congédié du Calgary Daily Herald à cause d’une farce imprudente, il emporta avec lui son nouveau nom et sa nouvelle identité d’Amérindien des Plaines. Si on lui demandait qui il était, il disait en général qu’il était Pied-Noir, parfois Gens-du-Sang. Bien entendu, il n’était d’aucune façon membre en règle ni d’un groupe, ni de l’autre.

Au début et au milieu des années 1920, le talentueux écrivain Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance – comme il se désignait désormais – signa des articles étayés de ses recherches personnelles sur les peuples aborigènes de la Colombie-Britannique, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba. Des journaux et magazines importants d’Amérique du Nord achetaient ces textes dans lesquels l’auteur donnait une interprétation positive de l’histoire des Premières Nations du Canada et faisait état de leur situation contemporaine. En 1927, après de nombreux voyages dans l’Ouest et ailleurs pour chercher matière à reportages, couvrir des matches de boxe et donner des conférences, il s’installa à New York où, un an plus tard, il fit paraître Long Lance, ouvrage qu’il voyait comme roman historique, mais que son éditeur insista pour publier comme autobiographie. Le livre fut dans l’ensemble loué par la critique. Dans un article du New York Herald-Tribune daté du 14 octobre 1928, Paul Radin, anthropologue américain bien connu, le qualifia d’« authentique » et de « compte rendu exceptionnellement fidèle d’une enfance et d’une jeunesse […] Je ne peux imaginer aucun autre ouvrage qui pourrait mieux rectifier les idées ridicules qui circulent encore au sujet des Amérindiens. » Dès lors, la réinvention de l’identité de Long fut complète.

L’« autobiographie » de Long Lance lui valut d’être largement reconnu, d’accéder aux milieux littéraires et sociaux les plus en vue de New York, et d’être invité à jouer un des rôles principaux dans un film, The silent enemy (l’« ennemi silencieux » étant la faim), sur la vie des Sauteux du centre-nord du Canada avant l’arrivée des Européens. Au lancement du film en 1930, le magazine Variety, de New York, loua la performance de l’acteur dans son numéro du 21 mai : « Chief Long Lance est un portrait idéal de l’Indien, car il en est un de race pure […] auteur éminent sur les coutumes indiennes, et maintenant acteur consacré. »

Pourtant, à l’apogée de sa gloire, Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance vit l’envergure de sa personnalité publique se mettre à décliner. Sa notoriété avait éveillé la curiosité et il devint de plus en plus difficile d’éviter les enquêtes sur ses origines. Des rumeurs commencèrent à circuler à New York selon lesquelles il était afro-américain. Bien qu’il ait continué à envoyer de l’argent à sa famille à Winston-Salem, un retour là-bas aurait été une révélation assurée ; or, il ne voulait aucunement vivre à nouveau dans un ghetto. L’angoisse de se faire démasquer à tout moment commença à peser sur lui et il se mit à boire. En 1931, il s’installa en Californie pour travailler comme secrétaire et garde du corps d’une riche héritière qui s’embarquait pour l’Europe. Quelque chose l’ébranla davantage au cours de ce voyage ; il connut des épisodes de dépression et continua de consommer beaucoup d’alcool. Après son retour, en novembre, il devint de plus en plus instable et, le 20 mars 1932, il se donna la mort d’un coup de fusil, dans la résidence de sa patronne, à Arcadia, près de Los Angeles.

Sylvester Clark Long laissa en héritage ses écrits sur les Premières Nations, dans lesquels il mena une bonne lutte contre de nombreux stéréotypes négatifs sur les peuples aborigènes. Comme l’a noté l’historien Hugh A. Dempsey, pour écrire ces articles, il effectua « de précieuses enquêtes sur le terrain à une époque où peu d’ethnologues et encore moins de journalistes s’intéressaient à l’histoire des Amérindiens ».

Donald B. Smith

Cet article s’inspire principalement de notre biographie exhaustive de Sylvester Clark Long, intitulée Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance : the glorious imposter (éd. rév., Red Deer, Alberta, 1999). Les GA conservent la collection la plus complète de documents écrits par et sur Long (M 690, M 6240, M 6348, M 6426, NA 1811 (1–22), NA 3264, NA 3771, NB 25, PA 1086, PB 310, PE 38, S 28). L’« autobiographie » de Long, Long Lance, a d’abord paru à New York en 1928. La plus récente édition est celle qu’ont publiée en 1995 les University Press of Mississippi à Jackson. Roberta Forsberg a compilé Redman echoes : comprising the writings of Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance, and biographical sketches by his friends (Los Angeles, 1933). Ce livre est également mentionné dans Bibliothèque nationale du Canada, « Bibliographie Peel sur microfiche » (Ottawa, 1975–    ), no 3328.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Donald B. Smith, « LONG, SYLVESTER CLARK (Sylvester Chahuska Long Lance, Buffalo Child, Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 26 juin 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/long_sylvester_clark_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/long_sylvester_clark_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Donald B. Smith
Titre de l'article:   LONG, SYLVESTER CLARK (Sylvester Chahuska Long Lance, Buffalo Child, Chief Buffalo Child Long Lance)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   26 juin 2017