DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

LEA, WALTER MAXFIELD, farmer, editor, and politician; b. 10 Feb. 1874 in Tryon, P.E.I., son of William Charles Lea and his second wife, Annie Murphy; m. there 18 Oct. 1899 Helena Esma Maud Mary Rogerson, and they had three sons and two daughters; d. 10 Jan. 1936 in Charlottetown.

Originally from Lincolnshire, England, the Lea family settled in the Tryon area of Prince Edward Island in about 1818, and several of its members became leading farmers in the district. Walter Lea went to school in nearby Victoria (Victoria-by-the-Sea), which was developing as a port and service centre for the area. He took a short course at the Nova Scotia School of Agriculture in Truro and joined his father in working Riverside Farm, the family’s mixed-farming property of more than 200 acres, west of Victoria. High milk and butterfat yields were marks of success at a time when the dairy industry was increasingly important to the province, and the Lea farm, which supplied the local creamery for over three decades, became known for the quality of its Holstein cattle as well as for its Percheron horses. Walter was an early and enthusiastic promoter of dairy cooperatives, and he had a particular interest in the improvement of livestock by better breeding. Respected for his expertise and scientific approach, he frequently served as a livestock judge at agricultural fairs across the Maritimes, as well as in Ontario and Saskatchewan. Lea held a number of executive positions with the Holstein-Friesian Association of Canada, and in 1921, after his herd had to be destroyed because of an outbreak of bovine tuberculosis, he supported the campaign to make the province disease-free, an accomplishment of the Conservative government of James David Stewart two years later.

Lea was 41 years old before he followed his father, who had been a member of the House of Assembly from 1872 to 1879, into public office. He was first elected to the Legislative Assembly (as it was known from 1893) in 1915, representing 4th Prince as a member of the Liberal opposition. He would be returned in 1919, defeated in 1923, and re-elected in 1927, 1931, and 1935. Premier John Howatt Bell*, who also represented the Tryon area, chose Lea as commissioner (minister) of agriculture, a post he held from 1919 to 1923. He was responsible for the establishment of the province’s Agricultural and Technical School, which occupied the Government House site made available by the closure of the Military Hospitals Commission facility in 1920. The school, primarily funded by Ottawa, would be shut down in 1925 by the Stewart government when federal money ran out.

For several years in the mid 1920s Lea was editor of the agriculture section of the Guardian. He found the job pleasing and relinquished it only after his re-election in 1927, when his party returned to power and he was made commissioner of agriculture and provincial secretary-treasurer by Premier Albert Charles Saunders*. The Liberal legislative agenda was heavily weighted towards agricultural issues, and Lea appears to have been deeply involved in the work of his department. He wrote an article on “Improved live stock breeding” for its 1927 annual report, and in 1928 he was a member of a provincial delegation that examined the farming practices of England, Scotland, and Denmark. When Saunders was appointed to the Supreme Court of Prince Edward Island, Lea was called on to form a government, and he took office on 20 May 1930, choosing to serve as both premier and commissioner of agriculture.

The effects of the Great Depression were not felt as immediately on the Island as they were elsewhere in Canada. The loss of agricultural markets was initially seen as temporary and Lea, the province’s first farmer-premier, responded with a program of restraint. In a 1930 article for his department’s annual report, “Economy in production,” he argued that simple measures that could be taken by farmers to keep down costs would overcome their economic difficulties. Lea applied this thinking to the broader situation facing the province, and in the 1931 budget the government reduced its bonded debt. The move was contrary to the expectations of the populace, however, at a time when other provinces were beginning to borrow to pay for much-needed relief. In the 1931 election Lea also faced a Tory opposition that held out the hope of improving the Island’s relations with the Conservative federal government of Richard Bedford Bennett*.

When the poll results of 6 August were counted, the Conservatives, still led by Stewart, had an 18 to 12 majority in the Legislative Assembly. Lea retained his seat, though by only nine votes, and there was no move to oust him as Liberal party leader. Historian Edward MacDonald has noted that the Tory victory, coming at a time when the depression was just beginning to settle in, was “probably the worst thing that could have happened to the Conservatives.” For the next four years Lea was able to use the general public discontent to his party’s advantage. While trying to balance the small revenues and expenditures of the province the Conservatives were hit with the capital costs of replacing two major institutions that burned during the winter of 1931–32, Falconwood Hospital and Prince of Wales College. The economic decline of the province over the previous 60 years meant that there was little appetite among Islanders for more borrowing, and the Liberals were able to attack the Tories for increasing the debt while offering a solution of restraint.

The 1935 campaign was a difficult one for Lea. Suffering from illness, he was forced to delegate much of the work to Thane Alexander Campbell*, a Summerside lawyer and member of the Legislative Assembly. Campbell has often been given most of the credit for winning the election, but Lea’s role was not that of a bystander. Although he was in hospital at the start of the contest and remained ill for much of the campaign, the Liberal plan of attack, which he had been actively involved in developing, had been made public in early April, more than three months before the election was held. Lea made only one appearance on the stump, but he did make radio addresses, and he was aided by the enthusiastically biased Charlottetown Patriot.

It is unlikely that the Conservatives could have continued in office even without a substantive opposition campaign, or that the shift in party loyalties of the electorate was dependent on the campaign itself. The depression had eroded public confidence in the ability of the Conservatives in both Ottawa and Charlottetown to effect change, and the economic problems of the Island would have been blamed on whichever party was in power. Additionally, a change of premiers in midterm gave the Liberals an easy target. William Joseph Parnell MacMillan*, a successful doctor from the capital, had succeeded Stewart upon his death in office in 1933, and his posturing in the legislature contrasted with the rural modesty of Lea. MacMillan was a capable speaker and debater, but his brash style alienated average voters, many of whom saw his government as aloof and inefficient.

The surprise of 23 July 1935, then, was not the fact of the Liberal victory, but its magnitude. In a province where majorities were usually quite small and the popular vote seldom strayed far above 51 per cent for the winning side, the Liberals had scored almost 60 per cent, with many victors obliterating their opponents. For what was believed to be the first time in the history of the British Commonwealth, no opposition members had been elected; Lea’s party had taken all 30 seats in the Legislative Assembly. “Island votes for Liberal dictatorship,” warned the Guardian, which had supported the Conservatives, while the Summerside Journal, also a Tory organ, did not even bother to report the stunning loss. The party would not win another provincial election for more than two decades.

The first session of the new government began on 25 Sept. 1935 and lasted but one day. Lea assumed the portfolios of agriculture and provincial secretary-treasurer in addition to the premiership, and Campbell became attorney general. A number of financial measures were passed, including the coverage of an overdraft created by the Conservatives and the recall of a high-interest bond issue. The total lack of opposition resulted in the smooth and rapid passage of legislation, and the Liberals were jubilant.

Lea appears to have been back in form for this short session, and in December he travelled to Ottawa for the Dominion–Provincial Conference hosted by Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King*. By the next month, however, he was critically ill, and on 10 Jan. 1936 Walter Lea died of pneumonia in Charlottetown’s Prince Edward Island Hospital. Obituary notices dropped the usual partisanship and MacMillan, his political rival, praised him as “a true son of the soil he loved so well for many years … without doubt the leading agriculturist of this Island province.”

Walter Lea’s political legacy may have been his rebuilding of the Liberal Party, but as the Island’s first farmer-premier his influence on agriculture, which he supported and promoted as the primary industry of the province, was even more significant. Both inside and outside of government he advocated a professional and scientific approach to farming, and he did so with credibility because of his own success and leadership in the field. Perhaps most telling is the inscription on Lea’s gravestone in the Tryon People’s Cemetery: “The People Trusted Him.”

Harry Tinson Holman

Walter Maxfield Lea is the author of two articles in the provincial Dept. of Agriculture’s Annual report (Charlottetown): “Improved live stock breeding” (1927): 29–31; and “Economy in production” (1930): 25–28.

PARO, Acc. 4077 (The Lea family of Prince Edward Island). Charlottetown Patriot, 10, 11 Jan. 1936. [G.] E. MacDonald, If you’re stronghearted: Prince Edward Island in the twentieth century (Charlottetown, 2000). W. E. MacKinnon, The life of the party: a history of the Liberal Party in Prince Edward Island ([Charlottetown], 1973). R. W. Manning, “Cows and convalescents: Government House as health and education centre, 1917–1924,” Island Magazine (Charlottetown), no.24 (fall/winter 1988): 19–24. Minding the house (Weeks). Walter Shaw, Tell me the tales (Charlottetown, 1975).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Harry Tinson Holman, “LEA, WALTER MAXFIELD,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 15, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/lea_walter_maxfield_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/lea_walter_maxfield_16E.html
Author of Article: Harry Tinson Holman
Title of Article: LEA, WALTER MAXFIELD
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: July 15, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Dans le cadre de l’accord de financement entre le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada et le Musée canadien de l’histoire, nous vous invitons à participer à un court sondage.

Je veux participer maintenant.

Je participerai plus tard.

Je ne veux pas participer.

J’ai déjà répondu au sondage

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

LEA, WALTER MAXFIELD, cultivateur, rédacteur en chef et homme politique, né le 10 février 1874 à Tryon, Île-du-Prince-Édouard, fils de William Charles Lea et de sa deuxième femme, Annie Murphy ; le 18 octobre 1899, il épousa au même endroit Helena Esma Maud Mary Rogerson, et ils eurent trois fils et deux filles ; décédé le 10 janvier 1936 à Charlottetown.

Originaire du Lincolnshire, en Angleterre, la famille Lea s’installa vers 1818 dans la région de Tryon, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, et plusieurs de ses membres devinrent des cultivateurs importants du district. Walter Maxfield Lea fréquenta l’école dans la ville voisine de Victoria (Victoria-by-the-Sea), qui se développait comme port et centre de services de la région. Il suivit une courte formation à la Nova Scotia School of Agriculture de Truro, puis il rejoignit son père pour travailler à la Riverside Farm, propriété familiale de plus de 200 acres, à l’ouest de Victoria, où l’on pratiquait une agriculture mixte. Une production abondante de lait et de matières grasses du lait était un gage de succès à une époque où l’industrie laitière se trouvait en plein essor dans la province. La ferme Lea, qui fournit la crémerie locale pendant plus de trois décennies, se signala par la qualité de ses bovins holsteins et ses chevaux percherons. Walter Maxfield fut très tôt un partisan enthousiaste des coopératives laitières et portait un intérêt particulier à l’amélioration du bétail par un élevage sélectif. Reconnu pour sa compétence et sa vision scientifique, il exerçait souvent la fonction de juge de concours de bétail dans des foires agricoles des Maritimes, ainsi qu’en Ontario et en Saskatchewan. Lea occupa un certain nombre de postes de direction au sein de la Holstein-Friesian association of Canada et, en 1921, après que son troupeau dut être abattu à cause d’une épidémie de tuberculose bovine, il soutint la campagne pour éradiquer cette maladie dans la province, opération que le gouvernement conservateur de James David Stewart réaliserait deux ans plus tard.

Lea avait 41 ans lorsqu’il brigua une charge publique, suivant les traces de son père, membre de la Chambre d’assemblée de 1872 à 1879. En 1915, il fut élu pour la première fois à l’Assemblée législative (comme on l’appelait depuis 1893), en tant que député de l’opposition libérale pour la circonscription de 4th Prince. Il reviendrait en 1919, serait défait en 1923, puis réélu en 1927, 1931 et 1935. Le premier ministre John Howatt Bell*, qui représentait également la région de Tryon, désigna Lea comme commissaire (ministre) de l’Agriculture, poste qu’il détiendrait de 1919 à 1923. Il fut chargé de la création de l’Agricultural and Technical School de la province, installée sur le site de la résidence du lieutenant-gouverneur, libéré par la cessation des activités de la Commission des hôpitaux militaires en 1920. Principalement financée par Ottawa, l’école serait fermée en 1925 par le gouvernement Stewart, lorsque les fonds fédéraux firent défaut.

Pendant plusieurs années, au milieu des années 1920, Lea fut rédacteur en chef de la section agricole du Guardian. Il aimait ce travail et n’y renonça qu’à la suite de sa réélection en 1927, quand son parti reprit le pouvoir et que le premier ministre Albert Charles Saunders* le nomma commissaire de l’Agriculture et secrétaire-trésorier de la province. Le programme législatif des libéraux accorda une place prépondérante aux questions liées à l’agriculture, et Lea sembla s’investir profondément dans les travaux de son ministère. Il rédigea un article intitulé « Improved live stock breeding » pour son rapport annuel de 1927 et, en 1928, il fit partie d’une délégation provinciale qui examina les pratiques agricoles en Angleterre, en Écosse et au Danemark. Après la nomination de Saunders à la Cour suprême de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Lea fut appelé à former un gouvernement et il entra en fonction le 20 mai 1930, choisissant de cumuler les fonctions de premier ministre et de commissaire de l’Agriculture.

Les effets de la grande dépression ne se firent pas sentir à l’île aussi rapidement qu’ailleurs au Canada. Au début, on considéra la perte de marchés agricoles comme temporaire et Lea, premier agriculteur à diriger la province, réagit par un programme de restrictions. Dans « Economy in production », article publié dans le rapport annuel de son ministère pour 1930, il soutint que les agriculteurs pouvaient adopter des mesures simples qui les aideraient à réduire les coûts et, ainsi, à surmonter leurs difficultés économiques. Lea appliqua cette idée à la situation plus générale de la province et, dans le budget de 1931, le gouvernement diminua sa dette obligataire. Cette initiative allait cependant à l’encontre des attentes de la population, au moment où d’autres provinces commençaient à emprunter pour financer une aide pressante. Aux élections de 1931, Lea affronta également une opposition tory qui entretenait l’espoir d’améliorer les relations de l’île avec le gouvernement fédéral conservateur de Richard Bedford Bennett*.

Après le décompte des voix aux élections du 6 août, les conservateurs, toujours conduits par Stewart, remportèrent une majorité de 18 contre 12 à l’Assemblée législative. Lea conserva son siège par neuf votes seulement ; son leadership du Parti libéral ne fut pas remis en question. L’historien Edward MacDonald a fait remarquer que la victoire des tories, au moment où la dépression commençait tout juste à sévir, était « probablement la pire chose qui eût pu arriver aux conservateurs ». Au cours des quatre années suivantes, Lea sut utiliser le mécontentement populaire à l’avantage de son parti. Tout en s’efforçant d’équilibrer les petits revenus et les dépenses de la province, les conservateurs durent engager des frais d’investissement pour la reconstruction de deux importantes installations détruites par le feu durant l’hiver de 1931–1932, le Falconwood Hospital et le Prince of Wales College. En raison du déclin économique de la province durant les 60 années précédentes, les habitants de l’île étaient peu favorables à de nouveaux emprunts, et les libéraux purent attaquer les tories pour avoir accru la dette tout en préconisant un programme de restrictions.

La campagne de 1935 fut difficile pour Lea. Malade, il dut déléguer une bonne partie du travail à Thane Alexander Campbell*, avocat de Summerside et membre de l’Assemblée législative. On a souvent attribué une grande part du mérite de la victoire électorale à Campbell, mais Lea y avait joué plus qu’un rôle secondaire. Même s’il était hospitalisé au commencement de l’affrontement et demeura indisposé durant presque toute la campagne, il avait activement contribué à élaborer le plan d’attaque des libéraux, divulgué au début d’avril, soit plus de trois mois avant la tenue des élections. Lea ne fit qu’une apparition publique pendant la tournée électorale ; il prit toutefois la parole à la radio et fut soutenu avec une partialité enthousiaste par le Charlottetown Patriot.

Les conservateurs n’auraient vraisemblablement pas pu se maintenir au pouvoir, et ce, même sans une solide campagne de l’opposition ; d’ailleurs, la campagne elle-même ne fut probablement pas la cause du changement d’allégeance de l’électorat. La crise avait entamé la confiance du public en la capacité des conservateurs à réaliser des améliorations tant à Ottawa qu’à Charlottetown et, peu importe le parti au pouvoir, il aurait été blâmé pour les problèmes économiques de l’île. De plus, le remplacement du premier ministre à mi-mandat offrit aux libéraux une cible facile. William Joseph Parnell MacMillan*, médecin réputé de la capitale, avait succédé à Stewart après son décès dans l’exercice de ses fonctions en 1933, et son attitude à l’Assemblée législative contrastait avec la modestie campagnarde de Lea. MacMillan était un bon orateur et un débatteur habile, mais son style impétueux déplaisait aux électeurs moyens, dont beaucoup considéraient son gouvernement comme distant et inefficace.

Ainsi, le 23 juillet 1935, la victoire libérale surprit moins que son ampleur. Dans une province où les majorités étaient habituellement plutôt étroites et où le vote populaire dépassait rarement 51 % pour le parti gagnant, les libéraux obtinrent presque 60 %, anéantissant leurs adversaires dans bien des cas. Pour la première fois dans l’histoire du British Commonwealth of Nations, croyait-on, aucun membre de l’opposition ne fut élu ; le parti de Lea obtint les 30 sièges de l’Assemblée législative. « L’île vote pour une dictature libérale », prévint le Guardian, qui avait soutenu les conservateurs, tandis que le Summerside Journal, journal tory lui aussi, ne prit même pas la peine de rapporter l’effarante défaite. Le parti ne remporterait aucune autre élection provinciale pendant plus de deux décennies.

La première session du nouveau gouvernement commença le 25 septembre 1935 et ne dura qu’une journée. Lea devint premier ministre, ministre de l’Agriculture et secrétaire-trésorier de la province, et Campbell, procureur général. Un certain nombre de mesures financières furent approuvées, notamment la couverture d’un découvert créé par les conservateurs et l’annulation d’une émission d’obligations à intérêts élevés. L’absence complète d’opposition permit une adoption rapide et facile des projets de loi ; les libéraux jubilaient.

Lea semblait bien rétabli durant cette courte session et, en décembre, il se rendit à Ottawa pour participer à la conférence fédérale-provinciale convoquée par le premier ministre William Lyon Mackenzie King*. Un mois plus tard, cependant, il était gravement malade et, le 10 janvier 1936, il mourut d’une pneumonie au Prince Edward Island Hospital, à Charlottetown. Les notices nécrologiques délaissèrent la partisanerie habituelle, et MacMillan, son rival politique, le louangea comme « un vrai fils de la terre qu’il aima tant pendant de nombreuses années [...] sans aucun doute le plus remarquable agriculteur de cette province insulaire ».

L’héritage politique de Walter Maxfield Lea est probablement sa reconstruction du Parti libéral, mais à titre de premier agriculteur à diriger la province, son influence sur l’agriculture, qu’il encouragea et promut comme principale industrie de l’île, fut encore plus importante. Aussi bien à l’intérieur qu’à l’extérieur du gouvernement, il défendit une conception scientifique et professionnelle de l’agriculture, et il le fit avec la crédibilité que lui conféraient son propre succès et son autorité en la matière. L’hommage le plus éloquent reste peut-être l’épitaphe gravée sur sa tombe, au cimetière Tryon People : « Les gens lui faisaient confiance ».

Harry Tinson Holman

Walter Maxfield Lea est l’auteur de deux articles, « Improved live stock breeding » et « Economy in production », parus dans Î.-P.-É., Dept. of Agriculture, Annual report (Charlottetown), respectivement en 1927 : 29–31 et 1930 : 25–28.

PARO, Acc. 4077 (The Lea family of Prince Edward Island).— Charlottetown Patriot, 10–11 janv. 1936.— [G.] E. MacDonald, If you’re stronghearted : Prince Edward Island in the twentieth century (Charlottetown, 2000).— W. E. MacKinnon, The life of the party : a history of the Liberal Party in Prince Edward Island ([Charlottetown], 1973).— R. W. Manning, « Cows and convalescents : Government House as health and education centre, 1917–1924 », Island Magazine (Charlottetown), no 24 (automne–hiver 1988) : 19–24.— Minding the house (Weeks).— Walter Shaw, Tell me the tales (Charlottetown, 1975).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Harry Tinson Holman, « LEA, WALTER MAXFIELD », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 mars 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/lea_walter_maxfield_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/lea_walter_maxfield_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Harry Tinson Holman
Titre de l'article:   LEA, WALTER MAXFIELD
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   23 mars 2019