DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  P00221FP02057

Source: Link

DUBÉ, JOSEPH-EDMOND (baptized Marc-Edmond), physician, professor, author, co-owner and co-director of a medical journal; b. 10 March 1868 in the parish of Notre-Dame in Montreal, son of Pierre Dubé, a carpenter, and Henriette Lévèque; m. there 1 May 1894 Marie-Louise Quintal, and they had four children; d. 25 Nov. 1939 in Montreal.

After pursuing classical studies at the Collège Joliette, Joseph-Edmond Dubé enrolled in the faculty of medicine at the Université Laval in Montreal in 1890, graduating with high honours in 1894. He took two further years of training at the Université de Paris where he was awarded his md in July 1896.

On his return to Montreal, Dubé was appointed in 1897 to the medical staff of the Hôtel-Dieu as head of the microbiology department. There he assisted Dr Amédée Marien in establishing aseptic procedures. In 1898–99 he helped Isaïe Cormier, a physician at Notre-Dame Hospital, to set up the first medical service at the Crèche de la Miséricorde. In 1898 he attained a professorship in the faculty of medicine at the Université Laval in Montreal. In 1908 he had to curtail his professional activities as a result of bilateral detachment of the retina, which kept him at home for about two years. From 1913 to 1921 he held the chair of tubercular medicine; he was the first incumbent. He became a member of the faculty committee in 1921, which he remained until his official retirement with the title of professor emeritus on 29 July 1938.

Very early in his career, Dubé had collaborated in ventures of social medicine. This commitment took several forms: combating infant mortality as well as tuberculosis and alcoholism, and promoting good hygiene. The issue of infant mortality was the first to which he turned his attention. At a conference of the Société Médicale de Montréal in December 1900, he reminded his colleagues of the achievements of Professor Pierre Budin in Paris and George Washington Goler, health officer in Rochester, N.Y., and recommended following their example by setting up a clinic for infants that would provide clean milk in one of the densely populated areas of the city. He believed that through the joint efforts of kind-hearted women and physicians it would be possible to provide this service, which had met with success elsewhere. Despite the prejudices of some colleagues, he was convinced that mothers could learn to care properly for their children and take them to a doctor when there was a problem. He also used the occasion to denounce the lack of support for charitable causes from the Quebec provincial government and the Montreal city council. The project became a reality the following summer with the opening of a consulting clinic for francophones that was part of the movement known as Gouttes de Lait. After eight months of operation, the clinic had to close because of insufficient funding. It would be taken over by Dr Séverin Lachapelle* in 1910. Dubé was involved in the early stages of the Hôpital Sainte-Justine (1907) [see Irma Le Vasseur*], serving as the first president of its medical board in 1908–9.

At the beginning of the 20th century, Dubé also waged a tireless battle against tuberculosis. In a lecture given to the Société Médicale de Montréal in May 1901, he took a firm stand alongside those who held that this bacillary illness was an infectious rather than a hereditary disease. In his view, this fact should be communicated to the general public in every way possible, particularly through the schools. He recommended the creation of dispensaries and sanitariums for tuberculosis victims among the poor, as well as a campaign against alcoholism and squalid housing conditions. He collaborated in the formation (1902) and activities of the Montreal League for the Prevention of Tuberculosis, which sought to popularize the means of protecting the public against infection, and tubercular patients from themselves. In 1904 the league opened its first dispensary, which would become the Royal Edward Institute five years later [see Jeffrey Hale Burland*], and it held a large public exhibition in Montreal in 1908.

The following year Dubé was a member of the royal commission on tuberculosis, which was chaired by Emmanuel-Persillier Lachapelle*. In the report the latter presented in 1910, he recommended, among other things, that popular-education campaigns be launched and dispensaries set up, endeavours to which Dubé would devote the rest of his career. In one of the more than 100 articles he published in L’Union médicale du Canada, he would state in 1919: “Tuberculosis being a social illness, it had to be fought with a medico-social organization, and, just as in any battle, it is necessary to begin by halting the enemy’s progress, [so] we had to think first about prevention.” As far as he was concerned, the best, and most needed, means of prevention was public education. Whenever the opportunity arose, Dubé did not fail to urge the ruling classes to shake off their apathy towards the struggle against tuberculosis.

In 1911 Dubé was actively involved in founding the Institut Bruchési, the first antituberculosis dispensary for francophones, serving on the governing council – he would be its director from 1936 to 1939 – and as president of the medical board. He helped create the dispensary’s fresh-air camps for children who had come into contact with relatives suffering from the disease. With his social connections, his strong philanthropic convictions, and his unflagging enthusiasm, he managed to raise the funds required for the charitable works that he undertook to support.

According to Dubé, the fight against tuberculosis would never succeed without a simultaneous attack on the related problem of alcoholism, the other scourge that, as he stated in an article published in L’Union médicale du Canada on 1 Dec. 1910, “is the principal cause of tuberculosis.” In 1909 and 1910, at the invitation of the temperance committee of the Fédération Nationale Saint-Jean-Baptiste [see Marie Lacoste*], he gave more than 100 public lectures across the province to explain the harmful effects of alcohol on health.

Dubé believed that promotion of hygiene as a means of preventing infectious diseases was to be done through families and schools. Thus, in a paper he gave in 1906 to the convention of the Association des Médecins de Langue Française de l’Amérique du Nord, he spelled out the rules of hygiene recommended for children of seven or older. In an address to the meeting of the Canadian Association for the Prevention of Consumption and Other Forms of Tuberculosis held in Quebec City in September 1916, he declared that, to make up for years of neglect of preventive measures to combat tuberculosis and other infectious diseases, it was necessary to teach hygiene in the primary schools, colleges and convents, seminaries and normal schools, and technical schools and universities.

From early in his career, Dubé took a keen interest in the medical press, the ongoing training of doctors, and their professional organization. In 1900 he became one of the seven co-owners and co-directors of L’Union médicale du Canada; he would serve in these capacities until the end of his career. During the same year he was actively involved in reviving the Société Médicale de Montréal, of which he was president in 1902. That year he also helped found the Association des Médecins de Langue Française de l’Amérique du Nord [see Michel-Delphis Brochu]; he was its president from 1920 to 1922, and chair of the organizing committee for the 1922 convention. In 1934 and 1935 he held the presidency of the Société de Gastro-entérologie.

Dubé also believed strongly in promoting the nursing profession. Thus, in 1925, while representing the committee of the faculty of medicine on the board of governors, he collaborated in establishing the École d’Hygiène Sociale Appliquée at the Université de Montréal, whose purpose was to train nurse-hygienists. Later he was one of the most active members on the Commission des Gardes-Malades in the university’s faculty of medicine.

After the 1921 enactment of the law establishing the Quebec Bureau of Public Charities, which included a provision to share the costs of hospital care for the poor, hospital physicians, who usually provided free treatment for the underprivileged in wards and dispensaries, began to challenge this state of affairs. To back up their demands, they founded the Association des Médecins des Hôpitaux de Montréal in 1935, which, with Albert Le Sage as president and Dubé as vice-president, began a long campaign to obtain the right for its members to be paid for their work. Moreover, noting that the francophone hospital network was insufficiently developed compared to the one serving the anglophone minority, Dubé insisted that the public authorities intervene to support the private health-care initiatives of the religious and lay communities.

Dubé took every opportunity to stand up for the sick or the injured who were victims of abuse or neglect. Therefore, as early as 1906, in an article published in L’Union médicale du Canada, he had pointed out that Montreal had become a major industrial centre employing thousands of people, which inevitably led to an increase in workplace accidents. He asked whether workers were operating in safe environments, and whether employers would look after them if a problem occurred and would offer them fair compensation. His answer was in the negative. Dubé described how, whenever workers sued for damages in the courts, the advantage lay with the employers because they could afford the best lawyers and medical experts. In the same article he declared that workers’ associations could form “defence committees” that would give workers more power in court.

Throughout his professional career, Joseph-Edmond Dubé distinguished himself by his social commitment. He was at once a well-respected clinician and professor, an apostle for preventive and social medicine, a promoter of ongoing medical training, a defender of the right of hospital physicians to receive fair pay, and an ardent supporter of the development of the hospital network. In the days following his death, several leading public figures paid tribute to him, underscoring his remarkable contribution. Social medicine, defined in the tradition instituted by the German physician and politician Rudolf Virchow as the search for the social causes of illness and intervention in the socio-economic field, found in Dubé one of its most illustrious exponents in the province of Quebec.

Georges Desrosiers

Between 1896 and 1939 Joseph‑Edmond Dubé wrote numerous articles, several of which were consulted in the preparation of this biography. In L’Union médicale du Canada (Montréal), he published: “La mortalité infantile et les moyens de la diminuer,” 30 (1901): 12–26; “Les accidents de travail: l’ouvrier et les grandes compagnies,” 35 (1906): 77–81; “Alcoolisme et tuberculose,” 39 (1910): 720–26; “Montréal la plus importante ville du dominion se doit d’être au premier rang dans la lutte antituberculeuse,” 48 (1919): 572–82; “Nos hôpitaux: le passé, leur évolution, le présent,” 61 (1932): 148–234; “Les débuts de la lutte contre la mortalité infantile à Montréal: fondation de la première ‘Goutte de lait,’” 65 (1936): 879–91, 986–93, 1088–1102; and “La lutte pour notre survivance économique,” 68 (1939): 1322–25. In L’Action médicale (Montréal), he published “La situation hospitalière à Montréal,” 4 (1928), no.9: 208–14; no.11: 263–64; no.12: 269–75. In collaboration with Albert Le Sage, he wrote “Les hôpitaux et les médecins: rapport au conseil des ministres de la province de Québec,” L’Union médicale du Canada, 64 (1935): 1183–1200.

BANQ-CAM, CE601-S51, 12 mars 1868, 1er mai 1894. Le Devoir, 27 nov. 1939. La Presse, 1er déc. 1939. E.‑P. Benoît, “Joseph‑Edmond Dubé,” L’Union médicale du Canada, 68 (1939): 1285–86. Marcel Cadotte, “Historique du laboratoire de pathologie de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal: de sa création en 1896 à l’arrivée du professeur Pierre Masson en 1928,” L’Union médicale du Canada, 108 (1979): 479–94. Rita Desjardins, “Hôpital Sainte-Justine, Montréal, Québec (1907–1921)” (mémoire de ma, univ. de Montréal, 1989); “L’institutionnalisation de la pédiatrie en milieu franco-montréalais, 1880–1980: les enjeux politiques, sociaux et biologiques” (thèse de phd, univ. de Montréal, 1998). Sara Gosselin, Camp David-Perron de l’Institut Bruchési de Montréal inc.: notes historiques ([Montréal?, 1931?]). Denis Goulet, “Des miasmes aux germes: l’impact de la bactériologie sur la pratique médicale au Québec (1870–1930)” (thèse de phd, univ. de Montréal, 1992). Denis Goulet et André Paradis, Trois siècles d’histoire médicale au Québec: chronologie des institutions et des pratiques (1639–1939) (Montréal, 1992). Guy Grenier, 100 ans de médecine francophone: histoire de l’Association des médecins de langue française au Canada (Sainte-Foy [Québec], 2002). Yves Lajoie, “Histoire de l’Institut Bruchési et son engagement dans la lutte contre la tuberculose à Montréal (1911–1945)” (mémoire de ma, univ. de Montréal, 2002). Albert Le Sage, “In memoriam: Dubé,” L’Union médicale du Canada, 68 (1939): 1277–84; “Une chaire de phtisiothérapie à Laval, de Montréal,” L’Union médicale du Canada, 42 (1913): 311–15.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Georges Desrosiers, “DUBÉ, JOSEPH-EDMOND (baptized Marc-Edmond),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 19, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dube_joseph_edmond_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dube_joseph_edmond_16E.html
Author of Article: Georges Desrosiers
Title of Article: DUBÉ, JOSEPH-EDMOND (baptized Marc-Edmond)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: November 19, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LABATT, JOHN – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

né le 11 décembre 1838 dans le canton de Westminster, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  P00221FP02057

Provenance : Lien

DUBÉ, JOSEPH-EDMOND (baptisé Marc-Edmond), médecin, professeur, auteur, copropriétaire et codirecteur d’une revue médicale, né le 10 mars 1868 dans la paroisse Notre-Dame, à Montréal, fils de Pierre Dubé, menuisier, et d’Henriette Lévèque ; le 1er mai 1894, il épousa au même endroit Marie-Louise Quintal, et ils eurent quatre enfants ; décédé le 25 novembre 1939 à Montréal.

Après des études classiques au collège Joliette, Joseph-Edmond Dubé entre en 1890 à la faculté de médecine de l’université Laval à Montréal, qui lui délivre un diplôme avec grande distinction en 1894. Pendant deux ans, il poursuit sa formation à l’université de Paris, où il obtient le titre de docteur en médecine en juillet 1896.

De retour à Montréal, Dubé est nommé en 1897 médecin à l’Hôtel-Dieu, chargé de la microbiologie. Il y appuie le médecin Amédée Marien dans l’établissement de la méthode aseptique. En 1898–1899, il assiste Isaïe Cormier, médecin de l’hôpital Notre-Dame, dans la mise en place du premier service médical à la crèche de la Miséricorde. En 1898, il accède au poste de professeur à la faculté de médecine de l’université Laval à Montréal. En 1908, il doit réduire considérablement son activité professionnelle à cause d’un décollement bilatéral de la rétine qui le confine à la maison pendant environ deux années. De 1913 à 1921, il occupe la chaire de phtisiologie, dont il est premier titulaire. Il devient membre du conseil de la faculté en 1921 et le reste jusqu’à sa retraite, qu’il prend officiellement le 29 juillet 1938 avec le titre de professeur émérite.

Très tôt dans sa carrière, Dubé a collaboré à des œuvres médico-sociales. Cet engagement revêt plusieurs formes : lutte contre la mortalité infantile, la tuberculose et l’alcoolisme, et promotion de l’hygiène. C’est d’abord dans le combat contre la mortalité infantile qu’il s’investit. Dans une conférence à la Société médicale de Montréal en décembre 1900, il rappelle les réalisations du professeur Pierre Budin, à Paris, et de l’officier de santé George Washington Goler, à Rochester, dans l’État de New York, et propose de suivre leur exemple en fondant une clinique de consultation pour nourrissons, avec distribution de lait sain, dans un des quartiers populeux de la ville. Avec la collaboration de femmes charitables et de médecins, il croit possible de mettre sur pied ce service qui, ailleurs, obtient de bons résultats. En dépit des préjugés de certains collègues, il est persuadé que les mères peuvent apprendre à donner les soins appropriés à leurs enfants et à les amener voir un médecin en cas de problème. Il profite aussi de cette conférence pour dénoncer le manque d’appui du gouvernement de la province de Québec et du conseil de la ville de Montréal aux œuvres de charité. Avec l’ouverture d’une clinique de consultation, pour les francophones, appartenant au mouvement des Gouttes de lait, le projet se réalise dès l’été suivant. À cause d’un financement insuffisant, la clinique de consultation doit fermer après huit mois de fonctionnement. La relève sera assurée en 1910 par le médecin Séverin Lachapelle*. Dubé participe aux débuts de l’hôpital Sainte-Justine (1907) [V. Irma Le Vasseur*] en devenant le premier président de son bureau médical en 1908–1909.

À l’aube du xxe siècle, Dubé a également entrepris une lutte sans merci contre la tuberculose. Au cours d’une conférence prononcée devant la Société médicale de Montréal en mai 1901, il se range résolument dans le camp de ceux qui considèrent que cette maladie bacillaire se transmet par contagion, et non par hérédité. Il faut, selon lui, communiquer cette vérité au grand public par tous les moyens d’information possibles, notamment par l’école. Dubé préconise la création de dispensaires et de sanatoriums pour les tuberculeux pauvres, de même que la lutte contre l’alcoolisme et les habitations insalubres. Il collabore à la fondation (1902) et aux œuvres de la Montreal League for the Prevention of Turberculosis (connue officieusement en français sous les noms de Ligue anti-tuberculeuse ou Ligue anti-tuberculose de Montréal), dont le but est de vulgariser les moyens de protéger la population contre la contagion et le tuberculeux contre lui-même. L’association ouvre un premier dispensaire en 1904 (qui deviendra le Royal Edward Institute en 1909 [V. Jeffrey Hale Burland*]) et tient une importante exposition à Montréal en 1908.

En 1909, Dubé est membre de la commission royale de la tuberculose, présidée par Emmanuel-Persillier Lachapelle*. Dans son rapport, déposé en 1910, ce dernier recommande entre autres le lancement de campagnes d’éducation populaire et l’établissement de dispensaires, ce à quoi Dubé se consacrera durant tout le reste de sa carrière. Dans l’un de ses nombreux articles (plus d’une centaine) publiés dans l’Union médicale du Canada, Dubé déclarera en 1919 que « la tuberculose étant une maladie sociale, il fallait pour la combattre une organisation médico-sociale, et comme dans toute lutte il faut commencer par arrêter les progrès de l’ennemi, il nous a fallu penser d’abord à prévenir ». Pour lui, la première forme de prévention, la plus indispensable, est l’éducation populaire. Chaque fois que Dubé en a l’occasion, il ne manque pas d’inviter la classe dirigeante à secouer son apathie par rapport à la lutte antituberculeuse.

En 1911, l’Institut Bruchési, premier dispensaire antituberculeux pour les francophones, est fondé avec la participation active de Dubé comme membre du conseil d’administration (il le dirigera de 1936 à 1939) et président du bureau médical. Dubé collabore à la création des camps de santé du dispensaire pour les enfants en contact avec des parents tuberculeux. Par ses relations sociales, son grand esprit de philanthropie et son enthousiasme inlassable, il réussit à obtenir les fonds nécessaires pour les œuvres qu’il accepte de patronner.

Selon Dubé, on ne peut pas combattre efficacement la tuberculose sans s’attaquer en même temps à l’alcoolisme, cet autre fléau qui, a-t-il affirmé dans un article publié le 1er décembre 1910 dans l’Union médicale du Canada, « est la plus grande cause de la tuberculose ». À l’invitation du comité de tempérance de la Fédération nationale Saint-Jean-Baptiste [V. Marie Lacoste*], il a prononcé, en 1909 et en 1910, plus d’une centaine de conférences populaires un peu partout dans la province pour expliquer les effets néfastes de l’alcoolisme sur la santé.

Dubé considère que la promotion de l’hygiène comme moyen de prévention des maladies infectieuses passe par la famille et l’école. Ainsi, dans une communication au congrès de l’Association des médecins de langue française de l’Amérique du Nord en 1906, il a énoncé les règles d’hygiène pour les enfants âgés de sept ans et plus. En septembre 1916, dans une conférence prononcée à la réunion de l’Association canadienne pour l’enrayement de la tuberculose, tenue à Québec, il affirme que, pour rattraper le retard en matière de prévention de la tuberculose et des autres maladies infectieuses, il faut enseigner l’hygiène dans les écoles primaires, les collèges et les couvents, les séminaires et les écoles normales, les écoles techniques et les universités.

L’intérêt de Dubé pour la presse médicale, la formation continue des médecins et l’organisation professionnelle s’est manifesté très tôt. En 1900, il devient un des sept copropriétaires et directeurs de l’Union médicale du Canada, fonctions qu’il conservera jusqu’à la fin de sa carrière. Pendant cette même année, il participe activement à la renaissance de la Société médicale de Montréal, qu’il préside en 1902. C’est également en 1902 qu’il compte parmi les fondateurs de l’Association des médecins de langue française de l’Amérique du Nord [V. Michel-Delphis Brochu], dont il est président en 1920–1922 ; il prend la direction du comité d’organisation du congrès de 1922. Durant les années 1934–1935, il assume la présidence de la Société de gastro-entérologie.

Dubé a aussi à cœur la promotion de la profession d’infirmière. C’est ainsi que, comme représentant du conseil de la faculté de médecine auprès du comité de direction, il a participé à la fondation de l’école d’hygiène sociale appliquée de l’université de Montréal en 1925, destinée à former des infirmières-hygiénistes. Dubé est par la suite l’un des membres les plus actifs de la commission des gardes-malades de la faculté de médecine de l’université.

Après la sanction, en 1921, de la Loi établissant le service de l’assistance publique de Québec, qui prévoyait notamment la prise en charge partagée du coût de l’hospitalisation des indigents, les médecins hospitaliers, qui avaient l’habitude de soigner gratuitement les personnes défavorisées dans les salles publiques et les dispensaires, ont commencé à remettre en cause cette situation. Pour appuyer leurs réclamations, ils fondent en 1935 l’Association des médecins des hôpitaux de Montréal qui, sous la présidence d’Albert Le Sage et la vice-présidence de Dubé, s’engage dans une longue lutte pour obtenir le droit à la rémunération. Par ailleurs, remarquant que le réseau hospitalier francophone est insuffisamment développé par rapport à celui de la minorité anglophone, Dubé réclame avec insistance l’intervention des pouvoirs publics pour soutenir l’initiative privée des communautés religieuses et des laïques.

Dubé ne manque pas une occasion de se porter à la défense des malades ou des accidentés, victimes d’abus ou de négligence. Ainsi, déjà en 1906, dans un article publié dans l’Union médicale du Canada, il a constaté que Montréal est devenu un grand centre industriel donnant de l’emploi à des milliers de personnes, ce qui a fatalement conduit à la multiplication des accidents de travail. Il se demande si l’ouvrier travaille dans un milieu sécuritaire et si, en cas de problème, ses employeurs s’occupent bien de lui et offrent une juste compensation. Sa réponse est non. Dubé décrit comment les procès pour dommages intentés par des ouvriers tournent à l’avantage des patrons, parce que ces derniers se paient les meilleurs avocats et médecins experts. Les associations ouvrières pourraient former des « bureaux de défense » qui, affirme-t-il dans le même article, rendraient l’ouvrier plus fort devant les tribunaux.

Joseph-Edmond Dubé s’est distingué tout au long de sa carrière professionnelle par son engagement social. Il a été à la fois un clinicien et un professeur respecté, un apôtre de la médecine préventive et sociale, un promoteur de l’éducation médicale continue, un défenseur du droit des médecins hospitaliers à une juste rémunération et un ardent partisan du développement du réseau hospitalier. Dans les jours qui ont suivi son décès, plusieurs personnalités ont tenu à lui rendre hommage en soulignant sa contribution remarquable. La médecine sociale, définie, selon la tradition de Rudolf Virchow, médecin et homme politique allemand, comme la recherche des causes sociales des maladies et l’intervention dans le domaine socioéconomique, a trouvé chez Dubé un de ses plus illustres représentants dans la province de Québec.

Georges Desrosiers

Entre 1896 et 1939, Joseph-Edmond Dubé a rédigé de nombreux articles, dont plusieurs ont été utiles à la préparation de cette biographie. Dans l’Union médicale du Canada (Montréal), il a publié : « la Mortalité infantile et les moyens de la diminuer », 30 (1901) : 12–26 ; « les Accidents de travail : l’ouvrier et les grandes compagnies », 35 (1906) : 77–81 ; « Alcoolisme et tuberculose », 39 (1910) : 720–726 ; « Montréal la plus importante ville du dominion se doit d’être au premier rang dans la lutte antituberculeuse », 48 (1919) : 572–582 ; « Nos hôpitaux : le passé, leur évolution, le présent », 61 (1932) : 148–234 ; « les Débuts de la lutte contre la mortalité infantile à Montréal : fondation de la première “Goutte de lait” », 65 (1936) : 879–891, 986–993, 1088–1102 ; « la Lutte pour notre survivance économique », 68 (1939) : 1322–1325. Dans l’Action médicale (Montréal), il a fait paraître : « la Situation hospitalière à Montréal », 4 (1928), no 9 : 208–214 ; no 11 : 263–264 ; no 12 : 269–275. En collaboration avec Albert Le Sage, il a écrit : « Les hôpitaux et les médecins : rapport au conseil des ministres de la province de Québec », l’Union médicale du Canada, 64 (1935) : 1183–1200.

BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S51, 12 mars 1868, 1er mai 1894.— Le Devoir, 27 nov. 1939.— La Presse, 1er déc. 1939.— E.-P. Benoît, « Joseph-Edmond Dubé », l’Union médicale du Canada, 68 (1939) : 1285–1286.— Marcel Cadotte, « Historique du laboratoire de pathologie de l’Hôtel-Dieu de Montréal : de sa création en 1896 à l’arrivée du professeur Pierre Masson en 1928 », l’Union médicale du Canada, 108 (1979) : 479–494.— Rita Desjardins, « Hôpital Sainte-Justine, Montréal, Québec (1907–1921) » (mémoire de m.a., univ. de Montréal, 1989) ; « l’Institutionnalisation de la pédiatrie en milieu franco-montréalais, 1880–1980 : les enjeux politiques, sociaux et biologiques » (thèse de ph.d., univ. de Montréal, 1998).— Sara Gosselin, Camp David-Perron de l’Institut Bruchési de Montréal inc. : notes historiques ([Montréal ?, 1931 ?]).— Denis Goulet, « Des miasmes aux germes : l’impact de la bactériologie sur la pratique médicale au Québec (1870–1930) » (thèse de ph.d., univ. de Montréal, 1992).— Denis Goulet et André Paradis, Trois siècles d’histoire médicale au Québec : chronologie des institutions et des pratiques (1639–1939) (Montréal, 1992).— Guy Grenier, 100 ans de médecine francophone : histoire de l’Association des médecins de langue française au Canada (Sainte-Foy [Québec], 2002).— Yves Lajoie, « Histoire de l’Institut Bruchési et son engagement dans la lutte contre la tuberculose à Montréal (1911–1945) » (mémoire de m.a., univ. de Montréal, 2002).— Albert Le Sage, « In memoriam : Dubé », l’Union médicale du Canada, 68 (1939) : 1277–1284 ; « Une chaire de phtisiothérapie à Laval, de Montréal », l’Union médicale du Canada, 42 (1913) : 311–315.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Georges Desrosiers, « DUBÉ, JOSEPH-EDMOND (baptisé Marc-Edmond) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 11 déc. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dube_joseph_edmond_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dube_joseph_edmond_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Georges Desrosiers
Titre de l'article:   DUBÉ, JOSEPH-EDMOND (baptisé Marc-Edmond)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   11 décembre 2018