DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

DAUTH, Gaspard (baptized Jean-Alexandre-Gaspard), teacher, Roman Catholic priest, author, editor and owner of periodicals, school administrator, and office holder; b. 10 Aug. 1863 in Saint-Ignace-du-Coteau-du-Lac (Coteau-du-Lac), Lower Canada, son of Gaspard Dauth, a physician, and Mary Elizabeth Bermingham; d. 23 March 1940 in Montreal and was buried six days later in Saint-Ignace-du-Coteau-du-Lac.

Gaspard Dauth’s father settled in the parish of Saint-Ignace-du-Coteau-du-Lac around 1850. He married Mary Elizabeth Bermingham in July 1860. The couple had seven daughters and four sons. Two of the boys would take up their father’s vocation, another would become a veterinarian, and Gaspard would enter religious life. In the autumn of 1875 Gaspard left the family home for the Séminaire de Saint-Hyacinthe. A good pupil, awarded numerous prizes in several disciplines, he completed his classical studies there at the beginning of 1883, and then, in September, he began training for the priesthood. Without financial support from his parents, he had to make a living by teaching belles-lettres at the Séminaire de Saint-Hyacinthe while continuing his education. Through the helpful intervention of his uncle Louis-Élie Dauth, the curé of Saint-Guillaume, he was able to pursue his studies at the Grand Séminaire de Montréal from the beginning of his second year. Dauth was ordained priest in August 1886 on his 23rd birthday. He would receive his doctorate in theology from the Université Laval in Montreal in 1908.

At the invitation of Jean-Remi Ouellette, the superior of the Séminaire de Saint-Hyacinthe, Dauth once again became a teacher of belles-lettres there in the autumn of 1886, a post he would hold until 1890. He subsequently embarked on a study tour, which took him to Europe and the Holy Land. He attended the Institut Catholique de Paris for a few months as an auditing student. Upon his return to Montreal in 1892 he worked for about a year as general secretary of the Université Laval in Montreal. During this period, he was curate and then priest in charge of the parish of Saint-Lin. He was also chaplain of the Académie Saint-Antoine in Montreal. In 1893 he was appointed assistant notary at the preliminary hearing for the beatification of Abbé Jean-Jacques Olier. He was called to the archiepiscopate of Montreal and in 1894 served as chaplain of the chapter. Assistant notary of the Concile Provincial in Montreal in 1895, he was named titular canon of the Montreal cathedral and secretary of the chapter three years later. He would receive the title of domestic prelate in 1914.

Abbé Dauth was interested in education, and in 1897 he assumed the post of examiner in the organization that would become the Catholic Central Board of Examiners the following year. He would remain a member of the board for 42 years. In 1897 he was also an ecclesiastical visitor to the educational institutions run by religious communities in the archdiocese of Montreal. From 1898 he took on the task of drafting the curriculum for the Roman Catholic schools of the province of Quebec, a project that would not be completed until 1920 because of the many revisions and critiques. He taught the history of philosophy at the Université Laval in Montreal in 1901, and he was president of the Catholic School Commission in the same city (1905–10). In the spring of 1914 he gave courses in the theory and practice of commercial law at the Association des Femmes d’Affaires de Montréal.

Dauth was elected vice-rector of the Montreal campus of the Université Laval in 1904 and retained the office until 1917. Throughout this period he worked to expand the institution. He kept a tight rein on the university budget and organized various fund-raising campaigns, including that of the “million de piastres” in 1913. Under his leadership the four faculties of the university (theology, law, medicine, and arts) experienced significant growth, notably through the addition of buildings, programs, and courses. Three schools were affiliated with the institution: the Institut Agricole d’Oka (1908), the École d’Enseignement Supérieur pour les Jeunes Filles (1908) [see Marie-Aveline Bengle], and the École des Hautes Études Commerciales de Montréal (1915). In addition, Dauth established the École de Chirurgie Dentaire de l’Université Laval à Montréal (1904) and the École de Pharmacie Laval à Montréal (1906). New fields of study were also developed during this period: architecture, public health, decorative and industrial arts, and education. In 1915 Dauth was the guiding force behind the creation of the military hospital that, in December, was designated No.6 Canadian General Hospital of the Université Laval [see Gustave Archambault]; it would help train young French Canadian doctors during World War I. From 1916 to 1919 he was dean of the faculty of arts. It is thought that, anticipating the independence of the Montreal campus of the Université Laval, he also chose Université de Montréal as the name for the new university.

Writing was an integral part of Dauth’s life. In 1893 he edited the Annales de la propagation de la foi pour les provinces de Québec et de Montréal, published in Montreal. In 1895 he became owner, director, and editor of La Semaine religieuse de Montréal. He wrote and published various texts, among them pieces that appeared in the Bulletin du parler français au Canada (1902–18), Le Canada français (from 1918), Corrigeons-nous! (1930), and the Glossaire du parler français au Canada (1930), all published in Quebec City. Le diocèse de Montréal à la fin du dix-neuvième siècle …, which he wrote with Abbé Joseph-Alexandre-Stanislas Perron and which was released in Montreal in 1900, was his principal work. The volume contains information on the parishes, buildings, religious communities, educational establishments, charitable works, and important figures in the archdiocese of Montreal.

In his memoirs Dauth notably confided that it was his habit to pray “in the elegant and gracious manner of the good people of the grand siècle,” that is to say, in rhyme. In addition, he admitted his love for Bordeaux wine, Oka sparkling cider, Port du Salut cheese, and chocolate. Furthermore, he enjoyed smoking Benson and Hedges cigars. He mentioned various people who moved in his circle. He also kept up a correspondence with, among others, his friend Archbishop Paul Bruchési. It is said that his personal library, which focused mainly on education, was remarkable.

Dauth had been appointed honorary lieutenant-colonel in the militia in 1912, and at the same time had become an agricultural diocesan missionary. In 1913 he joined the Union Expérimentale des Agriculteurs de Québec, and was, as well, a co-founder and director of the Comptoir Coopératif de Montréal.

A major rupture occurred in 1919 when Dauth withdrew from the archdiocese of Montreal. The archives offer no explanation for his departure, and Dauth drew a veil over it in his memoirs. Little is known of his activities during the last 21 years of his life, other than that he had health problems and that he ended his days at the Retraite Saint-Benoît, Rue Notre-Dame Est.

Relatively unknown at the beginning of the 21st century, Gaspard Dauth was a man of the church, who, through major contributions in the field of education, was engaged in shaping the future of his province. An individual of great intellectual rigour, he found much satisfaction in human relationships, especially within the academic community, which he held in high esteem. In the village where he was born a public park honours his memory.

Nathalie Villeneuve

The author wishes to thank Hector Besner of the Soc. d’Hist. de Coteau-du-Lac for putting her on the track of Gaspard Dauth’s personal documents. Thanks are also extended to the Little Daughters of St Joseph for their warm welcome.

The memoirs of Gaspard Dauth were consulted. The first part of the memoirs is held at the Arch. of the Congrégation des Petites Filles de Saint-Joseph (Montréal) and the second at the Dép. des Arch. of the Univers Culturel de Saint-Sulpice (Montréal), P1 (fonds Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal), 11 (enseignement), 6 (univ. de Montréal), 95.

Arch. de la Chancellerie de l’Archevêché de Montréal, 421.534 (Gaspard Dauth, dossier personnel), 885-1; 912-4; 919. Arch. of the Congrégation des Petites Filles de Saint-Joseph, Biographies de Mary Birmingham et de Gaspard Dauth, père. BANQ-CAM, CE601-S31, 10 août 1863. Centre d’Hist. de Saint-Hyacinthe, Québec, CH001, ASE010; ASE017. FD, Saint-Ignace (Coteau-du-Lac, Québec), 29 mars 1940. LAC, R10811-0-X. Univers Culturel de Saint-Sulpice, Dép. des arch., P1 (fonds Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal), 11 (enseignement), 6 (univ. de Montréal), 56 and 96. Univ. de Montréal, Div. des arch., D35; P5. L’Album universel (Montréal), 1er oct. 1904; 13 mars, 22 sept. 1906. Le Devoir, 23, 26 mars 1940. Le Monde illustré (Montréal), 7 avril 1900. René Bacon et Hélène Doth, Gaspard Dauth à Ste-Anne de la Pérade (1783–1809): regards sur sa descendance au Québec et en Ontario (Montréal, 2005). Isabelle Laperle-Dionne et Hélène Perron, Inventaire analytique du fonds Gaspard-Dauth (P5): supplément (Montréal, 1978). Monique Thériault, Inventaire analytique du fonds Gaspard-Dauth (P5) (Montréal, 1975).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Nathalie Villeneuve, “DAUTH, GASPARD (baptized Jean-Alexandre-Gaspard),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed April 19, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dauth_gaspard_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dauth_gaspard_16E.html
Author of Article: Nathalie Villeneuve
Title of Article: DAUTH, GASPARD (baptized Jean-Alexandre-Gaspard)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2019
Year of revision: 2019
Access Date: April 19, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MILLS, THOMAS WESLEY – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

né le 22 février 1847 à Brockville, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

DAUTH, Gaspard (baptisé Jean-Alexandre-Gaspard), professeur, prêtre, auteur, directeur et propriétaire de périodiques, administrateur scolaire et fonctionnaire, né le 10 août 1863 à Saint-Ignace-du-Coteau-du-Lac (Coteau-du-Lac, Québec), fils de Gaspard Dauth, médecin, et de Mary Elizabeth Bermingham ; décédé le 23 mars 1940 à Montréal et inhumé six jours plus tard à Saint-Ignace-du-Coteau-du-Lac.

Le père de Gaspard Dauth s’installa dans la paroisse Saint-Ignace-du-Coteau-du-Lac vers 1850. Il épousa Mary Elizabeth Bermingham en juillet 1860. Le couple eut sept filles et quatre fils. Deux des garçons suivraient la vocation paternelle, un autre deviendrait vétérinaire, et Gaspard entrerait en religion. À l’automne de 1875, ce dernier quitta la maison familiale pour le séminaire de Saint-Hyacinthe. Bon élève, récompensé par de nombreux prix dans plusieurs disciplines, il y termina ses études classiques au début de l’année 1883, puis, en septembre, y entreprit sa formation ecclésiastique. Sans soutien financier parental, il dut, pour assurer sa subsistance, enseigner les belles-lettres au séminaire de Saint-Hyacinthe tout en étudiant. L’intervention secourable de son oncle Louis-Élie Dauth, curé de Saint-Guillaume, lui permit de poursuivre ses études au grand séminaire de Montréal dès sa deuxième année. Dauth reçut l’ordination en août 1886, le jour de son vingt-troisième anniversaire. Il obtiendrait son doctorat en théologie en 1908 à l’université Laval à Montréal.

À l’invitation du supérieur Jean-Remi Ouellette, Dauth redevint professeur de belles-lettres au séminaire de Saint-Hyacinthe à l’automne de 1886, poste qu’il occupa jusqu’en 1890. Il effectua ensuite un voyage d’études qui le mena en Europe et en Terre sainte. Il fréquenta l’Institut catholique de Paris pendant quelques mois à titre d’étudiant libre. De retour à Montréal en 1892, il exerça pendant environ une année la tâche de secrétaire général de l’université Laval à Montréal. Il fut simultanément vicaire, puis desservant de la paroisse de Saint-Lin. Il fut aussi aumônier de l’académie Saint-Antoine à Montréal. En 1893, il fut nommé notaire adjoint au procès préparatoire pour la béatification de l’abbé Jean-Jacques Olier. Il fut appelé à l’archevêché de Montréal et occupa, en 1894, le poste de chapelain du chapitre. Il fut notaire adjoint du Concile provincial de Montréal en 1895 et il fut nommé chanoine titulaire de la cathédrale de Montréal et secrétaire du chapitre en 1898. Il recevrait le titre de prélat domestique en 1914.

Intéressé par les questions d’éducation, l’abbé Dauth accéda en 1897 au poste d’examinateur dans l’organisme qui prendrait le nom, l’année suivante, de Bureau central des examinateurs catholiques. Il en resterait membre durant 42 années. Il fut aussi visiteur ecclésiastique des établissements scolaires tenus par des religieux dans l’archidiocèse de Montréal en 1897. Il s’attaqua, à compter de 1898, à la rédaction du programme des écoles catholiques de la province de Québec, tâche qui s’échelonnerait jusqu’en 1920 en raison des nombreuses révisions et critiques. Il enseigna l’histoire de la philosophie à l’université Laval à Montréal en 1901. Il fut également président de la Commission des écoles catholiques de Montréal de 1905 à 1910. Au printemps de 1914, il donna des cours théoriques et pratiques de droit commercial à l’Association des femmes d’affaires de Montréal.

Élu vice-recteur de la succursale montréalaise de l’université Laval en 1904, Dauth occupa cette fonction jusqu’en 1917. Tout au long de ces années, il œuvra à l’essor de l’établissement. Il tint une comptabilité serrée du budget universitaire et organisa diverses campagnes de financement, dont celle du million de piastres de 1913. Sous son commandement, les quatre facultés de l’université (théologie, droit, médecine et arts) connurent une importante croissance, notamment en ce qui concerne le développement des édifices, des programmes et des cours. Trois écoles furent affiliées à l’établissement : l’Institut agricole d’Oka (1908), l’École d’enseignement supérieur pour les jeunes filles (1908) [V. Marie-Aveline Bengle] et l’École des hautes études commerciales de Montréal (1915). Dauth créa également l’École de chirurgie dentaire de l’université Laval à Montréal (1904) et l’École de pharmacie Laval à Montréal (1906). De nouveaux champs d’études furent aussi organisés pendant cette période : l’architecture, l’hygiène publique, les arts décoratifs et industriels, et l’enseignement. En 1915, Dauth pilota la création de l’hôpital militaire qui prit la désignation, en décembre, de 6e hôpital général canadien de l’université Laval [V. Gustave Archambault] et qui devait contribuer à la formation des jeunes médecins canadiens-français pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. De 1916 à 1919, il fut le doyen de la faculté des arts. En prévision de l’indépendance de la succursale montréalaise de l’université Laval, il aurait aussi choisi le nom de la nouvelle université, soit l’université de Montréal.

L’écriture faisait partie intégrante de la vie de Dauth. En 1893, il dirigea, à Montréal, les Annales de la propagation de la foi pour les provinces de Québec et de Montréal. En 1895, il devint propriétaire, directeur et rédacteur de la Semaine religieuse de Montréal. Il rédigea différents textes qu’il publia notamment, à Québec, dans le Bulletin du parler français au Canada (1902 à 1918), le Canada français (à partir de 1918), Corrigeons-nous ! (1930) et le Glossaire du parler français au Canada (1930). Le Diocèse de Montréal à la fin du dix-neuvième siècle [...], paru à Montréal en 1900, fut son principal ouvrage, qu’il écrivit avec l’abbé Joseph-Alexandre-Stanislas Perron. Le volume contient de l’information sur les paroisses, les édifices, les communautés religieuses, les maisons d’éducation, les œuvres de charité et les personnages importants de l’archidiocèse de Montréal.

Dans ses mémoires, Dauth confia notamment son habitude de prier « à la mode élégante et gracieuse des honnêtes gens du grand siècle », c’est-à-dire en rimant. Il avoua aussi son amour pour le vin de Bordeaux, le cidre pétillant d’Oka, le fromage Port du Salut et le chocolat. Il aimait aussi fumer des cigares Benson and Hedges. Il y présenta différentes personnes qui gravitaient autour de lui. Il entretint également une correspondance, entre autres avec son ami Mgr Paul Bruchési. On dit de sa bibliothèque personnelle, principalement axée sur l’éducation, qu’elle était remarquable.

Nommé lieutenant-colonel honoraire dans la milice en 1912, Dauth avait également été, à partir de ce moment, missionnaire agricole diocésain. En 1913, il devint membre de l’Union expérimentale des agriculteurs de Québec, ainsi que cofondateur et directeur du Comptoir coopératif de Montréal.

Une cassure importante survint en 1919, quand Mgr Dauth quitta l’archevêché de Montréal. Les archives ne l’expliquent pas et Dauth l’occulta complètement dans ses mémoires. On sait peu de chose de ses activités pendant les 21 dernières années de sa vie, mis à part qu’il éprouva des problèmes de santé et qu’il termina ses jours à la retraite Saint-Benoît, rue Notre-Dame Est.

Relativement peu connu au début du xxie siècle, Gaspard Dauth fut un homme d’Église engagé, par ses contributions majeures au monde de l’éducation, dans le devenir de sa province. Homme d’une grande rigueur intellectuelle, il trouvait une importante satisfaction dans les rapports humains, notamment au sein du milieu universitaire, qu’il admirait. Dans son village natal, un parc public honore sa mémoire.

Nathalie Villeneuve

Nous remercions Hector Besner de la Soc. d’hist. de Coteau-du-Lac pour nous avoir mise sur la piste des documents personnels de Gaspard Dauth. Nous tenons également à remercier les Petites Filles de Saint-Joseph pour leur accueil chaleureux.

Nous avons consulté les mémoires de Gaspard Dauth, dont la première partie est conservée aux Arch. de la congrégation des Petites Filles de Saint-Joseph (Montréal) et l’autre, au dép. des arch. de l’Univers culturel de Saint-Sulpice (Montréal), P1 (fonds Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal), 11 (enseignement), 6 (univ. de Montréal), 95.

Arch. de la chancellerie de l’archevêché de Montréal, 421.534 (Gaspard Dauth, dossier personnel), 885-1 ; 912-4 ; 919.— Arch. de la congrégation des Petites Filles de Saint-Joseph, Biographies de Mary Birmingham et de Gaspard Dauth, père.— BAC, R10811-0-X.— BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S31, 10 août 1863.— Centre d’hist. de Saint-Hyacinthe, Québec, CH001, ASE010 ; ASE017.— FD, Saint-Ignace (Coteau-du-Lac, Québec), 29 mars 1940.— Univers culturel de Saint-Sulpice, Dép. des arch., P1 (fonds Prêtres de Saint-Sulpice de Montréal), 11 (enseignement), 6 (univ. de Montréal), 56 ; 96.— Univ. de Montréal, Div. des arch., D 35 ; P 5.— L’Album universel (Montréal), 1er oct. 1904 ; 13 mars, 22 sept. 1906.— Le Devoir, 23, 26 mars 1940.— Le Monde illustré (Montréal), 7 avril 1900.— René Bacon et Hélène Doth, Gaspard Dauth à Ste-Anne de la Pérade (1783–1809) : regards sur sa descendance au Québec et en Ontario (Montréal, 2005).— Isabelle Laperle-Dionne et Hélène Perron, Inventaire analytique du fonds Gaspard-Dauth (P5) : supplément (Montréal, 1978).— Monique Thériault, Inventaire analytique du fonds Gaspard-Dauth (P5) (Montréal, 1975).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Nathalie Villeneuve, « DAUTH, GASPARD (baptisé Jean-Alexandre-Gaspard) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 22 févr. 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dauth_gaspard_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dauth_gaspard_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Nathalie Villeneuve
Titre de l'article:   DAUTH, GASPARD (baptisé Jean-Alexandre-Gaspard)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2019
Année de la révision:   2019
Date de consultation:   22 février 2019