DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

CAMPBELL, ARCHIBALD GLENLYON – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

d. 21 Oct. 1917 in Camiers, France

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Brock, Reginald Walter, geologist, university professor, office holder, army officer, and university administrator; b. 10 Jan. 1874 in Perth, Ont., son of the Reverend Thomas Brock, a Methodist minister, and Marian Jenkins; m. 28 Nov. 1900 Mildred Gertrude Britton in Kingston, Ont., and they had five sons; d. 30 July 1935 at Alta Lake, B.C.

A minister’s child, Reginald Brock moved with his family from town to town in southwestern Ontario as his father accepted different charges. After Thomas’s death in 1886 the family settled in Ottawa, and Brock graduated from the Ottawa Collegiate Institute in 1890. He entered the University of Toronto that year, became known for his prowess in hockey, and obtained a summer appointment as a field assistant to Robert Bell*, chief geologist of the Geological Survey of Canada (GSC).

Bell was one of Canada’s most distinguished geological explorers, and his continued patronage over subsequent summers greatly encouraged Brock, whose initial work was more that of a camp manager than of a scientist-in-training. For instance, in 1893 his duties included tending a vegetable garden at Spanish Mills (near Spanish) on the northern shore of Lake Huron. Nonetheless, he quickly developed an interest in geology under the guidance of Bell and another geologist who profoundly influenced him, Willet Green Miller. Back in Toronto Brock experienced a setback when he had to leave university after two years because of an illness that weakened his eyesight and made extensive reading impossible. By 1893 he was working as a reporter for the Evening Star (Toronto). When Miller obtained a teaching position at the new School of Mining and Agriculture affiliated with Queen’s College in Kingston, he encouraged Brock to transfer there and pursue laboratory courses in chemistry and mineralogy so that he could complete his degree and “graduate without reading.”

After he entered Queen’s in January 1894 Brock flourished, touring with the varsity hockey team (which Principal George Monro Grant* half suspected was what had really attracted him) and developing scientific skills under Miller’s guidance. He graduated in May 1895 with an ma in geology and medals in mineralogy and chemistry, and immediately set out for advanced training in microscopic petrography with Karl Heinrich Ferdinand Rosenbusch at the Rupert Charles University of Heidelberg in Germany. The following year he returned to serve on the staff at the School of Mining, where he performed assays and taught prospectors. In addition, he and Miller experimented with the rays discovered by Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, later known as X-rays. In January 1897 he described himself as “the hardest worked man about the institution.”

Brock’s career moved another step forward with his permanent appointment to the Geological Survey of Canada that year. Until 1907 he conducted fieldwork in the mining districts of Boundary Creek, Rossland, Lardeau, and west Kootenay in the southern and southeastern interior of British Columbia. At the request of the federal government he and Richard George McConnell investigated the cataclysmic Turtle Mountain landslide of 1903 at Frank (Alta), which killed 70 people. His familiarity with the needs of miners and engineers bolstered his reputation among them as an eminently practical geologist in a profession that was often seen as too preoccupied with purely scientific matters.

In 1900 Brock had married Mildred Britton, a daughter of a Kingston Liberal mp and future judge, Byron Moffatt Britton, and a granddaughter of politician Luther Hamilton Holton*. The couple travelled to Heidelberg, where Brock intended to resume his studies and earn a doctorate before returning to the field. However, he failed to obtain the necessary leave of absence from Bell, who had become the acting director of the GSC early in 1901, and in order to retain his post he was obliged to return to Canada without the diploma. After Miller left Queen’s in 1902 to become chief geologist of the province of Ontario, Brock requested permission to assume Miller’s professorial duties while continuing as a GSC employee in the summers, explaining that teaching was the best way of “polishing up and crystallizing” his scientific knowledge. Brock taught at Queen’s until 1906, but at the expense of his relationship with Bell, who in 1905 refused to grant him any further winter leave on the grounds that he had also taken time off from the GSC to work privately for Rossland mine owners.

Ultimately, however, the support of the mining industry led to Brock’s nomination at the helm of the GSC; he took over from Albert Peter Low* in December 1907. As director, he decisively overhauled the organization by expanding the staff, forming specialized divisions such as topography, photography, anthropology, and biology, and giving new attention to mining regions. In his introduction to George Albert Young’s A descriptive sketch of the geology, and economic minerals of Canada (Ottawa, 1909), produced by the GSC to meet a growing public demand for information, he proclaimed that “the mining industries of the country may be said to have only just begun.” He also oversaw the survey’s move into the newly constructed Victoria Memorial Museum in Ottawa, and co-organized the 12th International Geological Congress, held in Toronto in 1913, which reinforced Canada’s scientific reputation. On 1 Jan. 1914 he was appointed deputy minister of mines, an office he held until 30 November.

Having achieved so much and still only 40 years of age, Brock then left the federal government to become professor of geology and dean of applied sciences at the recently established University of British Columbia in Vancouver. The First World War intervened. Brock, initially an officer in the 72nd Battalion (Seaforth Highlanders), became major of the 196th (Western Universities) Infantry Battalion; he sailed for Great Britain in 1916. In England the 196th was broken up. Brock was assigned the 19th and later the 15th Reserve battalions and was stationed at the headquarters of the Canadian military camp in Seaford. There, with educator Edward Annand Corbett, he headed a college of the Khaki University of Canada. At the war’s end he was seconded for service with the British Foreign Office and the Board of Trade as a geological intelligence officer under General Edmund Henry Hynman Allenby in Palestine. He obtained his demobilization on 10 Sept. 1919.

On his return to Canada Brock took up his post as dean at the university. There he introduced the first Canadian bsc degree in nursing, advocated a broadly based engineering curriculum for geologists, and inaugurated the teaching of geography as a discipline. His travels and scientific work in the 1920s and 1930s took him to China, Fiji, and Scandinavia, and he contributed two seasons of fieldwork to the geological survey of Hong Kong. The University of Hong Kong awarded him an honorary lld in 1933. He was elected president of the Royal Society of Canada for 1935–36.

In 1922 the Brock family had moved into a grand waterfront home designed by architect Samuel Maclure* and situated near the university; the dean and his wife were among Vancouver’s leading citizens, serving in a wide range of voluntary organizations. Their sudden deaths following an airplane crash on 30 July 1935 near their summer home at Alta Lake (he was killed instantly; she died the next day en route to a hospital) made front-page news for three days. Crowds filled the streets for their funeral procession.

Brock’s life, though too short at 61 years, spanned a period of fundamental transformation in geologists’ professional identities. He began his career in the era of the heroic generalist explorer, but as survey director he required that geologists have phds and work on specialized subjects. Tall, virile, and athletic (according to an anecdote he had once wrestled a wild wolf), Brock easily played the role of the rugged outdoorsman, but ultimately his greatest geological contributions were made indoors, in government and university administrative offices.

Brian C. Shipley

A bibliography of Reginald Walter Brock’s publications appears in M. Y. Williams, “Memorial of Reginald Walter Brock,” Geological Soc. of America, Proc. (New York), 1935: 157–70.

AO, RG 80-5-0-278, no.6504. BCA, GR-2951, nos.1935-09-504272, 1935-09-504273. LAC, R7346-0-4; RG 150, Acc. 1992-93/166, box 1087-58. Univ. of B.C. Library, Univ. Arch. (Vancouver), Reginald Walter Brock fonds. F. D. Adams, “Obituary notices,” Geological Soc. of London, Quarterly Journal, 92 (1936): ci–civ. Can., Parl., Sessional papers, 1904 (report of the Dept. of the Interior, 1902/3). Morris Zaslow, Reading the rocks: the story of the Geological Survey of Canada, 1842–1972 (Toronto and Ottawa, 1975).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Brian C. Shipley, “BROCK, REGINALD WALTER,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 21, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brock_reginald_walter_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brock_reginald_walter_16E.html
Author of Article: Brian C. Shipley
Title of Article: BROCK, REGINALD WALTER
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: October 21, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BLANCHARD, HIRAM – Volume X (1871-1880)

décédé à Halifax le 17 décembre 1874

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Brock, Reginald Walter, géologue, professeur d’université, fonctionnaire, officier de l’armée et administrateur d’université, né le 10 janvier 1874 à Perth, Ontario, fils du révérend Thomas Brock, ministre méthodiste, et de Marian Jenkins ; le 28 novembre 1900, il épousa à Kingston, Ontario, Mildred Gertrude Britton, et ils eurent cinq fils ; décédé le 30 juillet 1935 à Alta Lake, Colombie-Britannique.

Enfant, Reginald Walter Brock se déplaça avec sa famille de ville en ville dans le sud-ouest de l’Ontario selon les différentes affectations de son père, ministre du culte. Après la mort de ce dernier, en 1886, la famille s’installa à Ottawa et Brock reçut son diplôme de l’Ottawa Collegiate Institute en 1890. Il entra à la University of Toronto la même année, se fit connaître par ses prouesses au hockey et obtint un stage d’été comme assistant de terrain de Robert Bell*, géologue en chef de la Commission géologique du Canada (CGC).

Bell était l’un des explorateurs géologues les plus réputés du Canada. Son patronage continu au cours des étés suivants encouragea beaucoup Brock, dont le travail initial était davantage celui d’un chef de camp que celui d’un scientifique en formation. Par exemple, en 1893, ses tâches comprenaient l’entretien d’un jardin potager à Spanish Mills (près de Spanish) sur la rive nord du lac Huron. Malgré tout, il s’intéressa rapidement à la géologie, sous la direction de Bell et d’un autre géologue qui l’influença profondément, Willet Green Miller. De retour à Toronto, Brock dut malheureusement quitter l’université après deux années d’études à cause d’une maladie qui avait affaibli sa vision et l’empêchait de lire de manière soutenue. En 1893, il travaillait comme journaliste pour l’Evening Star de Toronto. Quand Miller obtint un poste d’enseignant à la nouvelle School of Mining and Agriculture, affiliée au Queen’s College à Kingston, il encouragea Brock à s’y inscrire et à suivre des cours de laboratoire en chimie et minéralogie afin de terminer son programme et d’« obtenir son diplôme sans lecture ».

Après son admission au Queen’s College en janvier 1894, Brock s’épanouit, voyageant avec l’équipe de hockey de l’université (le directeur George Monro Grant* se doutait à moitié que c’était ce qui l’avait vraiment attiré) et développant des compétences scientifiques sous la direction de Miller. Il obtint son diplôme de maîtrise en géologie en mai 1895, avec des médailles en minéralogie et chimie, et se lança immédiatement dans une formation avancée en pétrographie microscopique avec Karl Heinrich Ferdinand Rosenbusch à l’université Rupert Charles de Heidelberg en Allemagne. L’année suivante, il retourna à la School of Mining and Agriculture, en tant que membre du personnel ; il y effectua des tests et enseigna aux prospecteurs. De plus, avec Miller, il fit des expériences sur les rayons découverts par Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen, qui seraient connus sous le nom de rayons X. En janvier 1897, il se décrivit lui-même comme « l’homme [ayant] le plus durement travaillé dans l’établissement ».

La même année, il y eut une autre avancée dans la carrière de Brock quand celui-ci obtint un poste permanent à la CGC. Jusqu’en 1907, il dirigea le travail de terrain dans les districts miniers de Boundary Creek, Rossland, Lardeau et l’ouest de Kootenay dans le sud et le sud-est de l’intérieur de la Colombie-Britannique. À la demande du gouvernement fédéral, il enquêta, avec Richard George McConnell, sur le glissement de terrain cataclysmique de 1903 qui avait eu lieu à la montagne Turtle, à Frank (Alberta), et qui avait tué 70 personnes. Sa familiarité avec les besoins des mineurs et des ingénieurs contribua à établir parmi eux sa réputation de géologue à l’esprit très pratique, dans une profession qui était souvent perçue comme trop centrée sur des questions purement scientifiques.

En 1900, Brock avait épousé Mildred Gertrude Britton, fille du député libéral et futur juge de Kingston Byron Moffatt Britton et petite-fille de l’homme politique Luther Hamilton Holton*. Le couple se rendit à Heidelberg, où Brock avait l’intention de reprendre ses études et d’acquérir un doctorat avant de revenir sur le terrain. Cependant, il ne put obtenir le congé nécessaire de Bell, directeur par intérim de la CGC depuis le début de 1901 ; pour conserver son poste, il dut rentrer au Canada sans son diplôme. Après que Miller eut quitté le Queen’s College en 1902 pour devenir géologue en chef de la province de l’Ontario, Brock demanda la permission d’assumer les tâches professorales de Miller tout en demeurant à l’emploi de la CGC pendant l’été, invoquant que l’enseignement était la meilleure façon de « polir et [de] cristalliser » son savoir scientifique. Brock enseigna au Queen’s College jusqu’en 1906, mais aux dépens de sa relation avec Bell, qui lui avait refusé, en 1905, des vacances hivernales supplémentaires (il avait déjà pris des congés de la CGC afin de travailler à son compte pour les propriétaires de la mine Rossland).

Le soutien de l’industrie minière finit cependant par conduire Brock à la tête de la CGC ; il succéda à Albert Peter Low* en décembre 1907. Devenu directeur, il transforma l’organisme de manière décisive en augmentant le personnel, en créant des divisions spécialisées, notamment en topographie, en photographie, en anthropologie et en biologie, et en donnant une nouvelle prépondérance aux régions minières. Dans l’introduction du livre de George Albert Young, intitulé A descriptive sketch of the geology, and economic minerals of Canada (Ottawa, 1909), que la CGC avait publié pour répondre à une demande d’information grandissante de la part du public, il proclama : « on peut dire que l’industrie minière du pays n’en est qu’à ses débuts ». Il supervisa également le transfert de la CGC au Musée commémoratif Victoria à Ottawa, récemment construit, et participa à l’organisation du douzième Congrès international de géologie, qui se tint à Toronto en 1913 et qui renforça la réputation scientifique du Canada. Le 1er janvier 1914, il fut nommé sous-ministre des Mines, poste qu’il occupa jusqu’au 30 novembre.

Après avoir accompli tant de choses et à peine âgé de 40 ans, Brock quitta le gouvernement fédéral pour devenir professeur de géologie et doyen des sciences appliquées dans la nouvelle University of British Columbia à Vancouver. La Première Guerre mondiale survint. Brock, initialement officier dans le 72nd Battalion (Seaforth Highlanders), devint major du 196th (Western Universities) Infantry Battalion ; il vogua vers la Grande-Bretagne en 1916. En Angleterre, le 196th fut démantelé. Brock fut assigné au 19th, puis au 15th Reserve Battalion, et posté au quartier général du camp militaire canadien à Seaford. Avec l’éducateur Edward Annand Corbett, il y dirigea un college de la Khaki University of Canada. À la fin de la guerre, il fut détaché pour servir au ministère des Affaires étrangères britannique et au Board of Trade en tant qu’officier du renseignement en géologie, sous le général Edmund Henry Hynman Allenby, en Palestine. Il fut démobilisé le 10 septembre 1919.

À son retour au Canada, Brock reprit son poste de doyen à la University of British Columbia. Il y introduisit la première licence ès sciences en infirmerie, promut un vaste programme d’étude en ingénierie pour les géologues et inaugura l’enseignement de la géographie en tant que discipline. Ses voyages et ses travaux scientifiques dans les années 1920 et 1930 le conduisirent en Chine, dans les îles Fidji et dans les pays scandinaves, et il contribua pendant deux saisons au travail de terrain pour la commission géologique de Hong Kong. La University of Hong Kong lui décerna un doctorat honorifique en droit en 1933. Il fut président élu de la Société royale du Canada en 1935–1936.

En 1922, la famille Brock s’était installée dans une grande maison au bord de l’eau, conçue par l’architecte Samuel Maclure* et située près de l’université. Le doyen et sa femme faisaient partie de l’élite des citoyens de Vancouver et contribuaient à une grande variété d’organismes bénévoles. Leur mort soudaine, suite à un écrasement d’avion, le 30 juillet 1935, près de leur maison d’été à Alta Lake (il fut tué sur le coup et elle succomba le lendemain en route vers l’hôpital), fit la une des journaux pendant trois jours. Des foules remplirent les rues pour suivre leur cortège funèbre.

Bien que disparu trop tôt à 61 ans, Reginald Walter Brock vécut pendant une période où l’identité professionnelle des géologues subit une transformation fondamentale. Il entreprit sa carrière à l’époque des explorateurs généralistes héroïques ; devenu directeur de la CGC, il exigeait cependant que les géologues aient des doctorats et qu’ils travaillent à des sujets spécialisés. Grand, viril et athlétique (selon une anecdote, il se serait une fois battu avec un loup sauvage), Brock joua aisément le rôle de l’amateur de plein air robuste, mais, au bout du compte, ce fut dans les bureaux administratifs du gouvernement ou de l’université qu’il réalisa ses plus importantes contributions à la géologie.

Brian C. Shipley

Une bibliographie des publications de Reginald Walter Brock figure dans M. Y. Williams, « Memorial of Reginald Walter Brock », Geological Soc. of America, Proc. (New York), 1935 : 157–170.

AO, RG 80-5-0-278, no 6504.— BAC, R7346-0-4 ; RG 150, Acc. 1992-93/166, boîte 1087-58.— BCA, GR-2951, nos 1935-09-504272, 1935-09-504273.— Univ. of B.C. Library, Univ. Arch. (Vancouver), Reginald Walter Brock fonds.— F. D. Adams, « Obituary notices », Geological Soc. of London, Quarterly Journal, 92 (1936) : ci–civ.— Canada, Parl., Doc. de la session, 1904 (rapport du dép. de l’Intérieur, 1902–1903).— Morris Zaslow, Reading the rocks : the story of the Geological Survey of Canada, 1842–1972 (Toronto et Ottawa, 1975).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Brian C. Shipley, « BROCK, REGINALD WALTER », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 17 déc. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brock_reginald_walter_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brock_reginald_walter_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Brian C. Shipley
Titre de l'article:   BROCK, REGINALD WALTER
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   17 décembre 2017