DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

McKEAN, GEORGE BURDON – Volume XV (1921-1930)

d. 28 Nov. 1926 in Potters Bar, England

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Title: Toronto East Hospital, Mark Bredin laying cornerstone
Archival citation: Fonds 1266, Item 11952
Date(s) of creation of record(s): October 22, 1927
Physical description of record(s): 1 photonegative : b&w, glass ; 9 x 11 cm
Form of material: Photographs
Forms part of Fonds 1266; Globe and Mail fonds. 
https://gencat.eloquent-systems.com/city-of-toronto-archives-m-permalink.html?key=288363

Source: Link

BREDIN, MARK, baker, businessman, and politician; b. 2 July 1863, probably in Dublin, son of John Bredin and Mary Graham; m. 11 Aug. 1885 Eliza Jane Wilcox (1867–1966), a native Ontarian, in Toronto, and they had nine daughters, two of whom did not survive childhood, and at least five sons; d. there 19 Oct. 1935 and was buried in Mount Pleasant Cemetery.

Mark Bredin was 20 years old when he immigrated with members of his family to Canada, arriving in October 1883. In Ireland he had been an apprentice in a bakery; in Toronto he found employment as a bread-wagon driver, worked his way up to baker, and established his own bread-making business on 1 April 1887. By then he was a family man, with a wife and daughter.

Bredin was quick to adopt new bread-making technologies. By one account, in 1891 he was one of a handful of Toronto bakers to possess a mechanical dough mixer, and seven years later he became one of the first bakers on the continent to own a moulding machine. Throughout his career Bredin would develop and market new types of breads. In a 1934 speech to fellow bakers he would argue that providing “good quality goods, and good service at a fair price,” rather than attempting to appeal to customers through cheap prices, was essential to success in the baking industry. “We know it takes courage at times to ask the right price for a good loaf,” he declared, “but the man who has the foresight and gumption enough to take the public into his confidence will eventually reap the benefits of his business courage.”

In 1896 Bredin and local businessman Joseph Tait began manufacturing bread, cakes, and biscuits under the name of the Tait-Bredin Company, with Tait serving as president and Bredin as secretary-treasurer and manager. In 1900–1 rumours circulated that Tait-Bredin would sell out to prominent Toronto baker George Weston* as part of what the Globe deemed an attempt to obtain a monopoly in the city through the creation of a “bread trust.” Amid accusations in the press of unfair business practices, Tait, who had been less involved in the company since entering the Ontario civil service in 1897, claimed that merger talks had been held without his knowledge. Weston replied with a flat denial that such talks had occurred; Bredin does not seem to have spoken publicly about the matter. Tait and Bredin evidently dissolved their partnership since in December 1901 the company was renamed the Bredin Bread Company. Bredin’s brother William James is listed as president in the 1902 city directory, but Mark, as secretary-treasurer, was the dominant figure in the business, whose brand became locally popular. The firm’s best-known loaf was its heavily promoted Cream Bread. Said by the company to be the product of technologically advanced manufacturing methods, it was praised in advertisements for its nutritive value, quality ingredients, and affordability.

It may be that the idea of a merger continued to appeal to Bredin, and there was interest as well from other bakers in the dominion. In 1911 Bredin, Weston, Henry Charles Tomlin of Toronto, William James Boyd of Winnipeg, and Enoch James Stuart of Montreal combined their infrastructure and assets to form the Canada Bread Company Limited. The consolidated enterprise was coordinated and underwritten by Toronto financier Cawthra Mulock*. Bredin was named vice-president and general manager, at an annual salary of $12,000. By its own estimate, the new company could produce 600,000 loaves of bread a week nationwide. Rather than being labelled a combine that restricted competition, the firm was lauded by the press. This changed attitude may have been a consequence of increasing acceptance of the scientific-management ideas of American engineer Frederick Winslow Taylor. The new organization was seen as one that could employ the latest production techniques and achieve the highest possible sanitary standards. According to the Globe, the ultimate goal of the merger was to establish modern bakeries in all of the country’s large cities, which would allow Canada Bread to “deliver a bread of uniform high-grade quality to consumers at the minimum cost.” In 1918, following Mulock’s untimely death, Bredin was named president. Under his leadership the firm became one of the largest bakeries in the country, with vertical integration being a key element in its success. As of 1 July 1922 its profits were $478,657, and a year later the figure had climbed to $711,696. He relinquished his position as general manager in 1925 to his son William Thomas but briefly resumed the role in 1928, after his son’s resignation. That year Bredin retired from Canada Bread and began operating a separate bakery with his sons. By then the Maple Leaf Milling Company, the forerunner of Maple Leaf Foods, had acquired control of Canada Bread, whose brand name and products would still be popular with Canadian consumers in the early 21st century.

Bredin, like other prosperous businessmen of the time, was involved in several concerns, being a director of the United Empire Bank of Canada and board chairman of Canadian Canners. He also entered politics, winning election to Toronto’s city council in 1908. He represented Ward 3 along with future mayor Samuel McBride and cartoonist John Wilson Bengough*. During his two one-year terms as an alderman, Bredin does not appear to have championed any major initiatives or become involved in any significant controversies. Federally, he supported Sir Wilfrid Laurier*’s Liberal Party and was occasionally seen at campaign rallies. During the First World War, however, Bredin, whose son William was an officer in the Canadian Expeditionary Force, publicly backed the Union government of Sir Robert Laird Borden.

Bredin, who occupied an elevated position in Toronto society, was involved in numerous professional organizations and charitable bodies. He was a life governor of the American Bakers Association, head of the Canada Bread and Cake Bakers’ Association, founding board president and governor of Toronto East General Hospital, and president of the Toronto Open-Air Parade Association. He belonged to prestigious clubs, such as the Empire Club of Canada and the Royal Canadian Yacht Club. His charitable activities included serving on the executive of the Irish Protestant Benevolent Society and participating in various relief efforts during the Great Depression.

Described in Charles Davies’s history of the Weston family business as being in midlife a “balding, genial-looking Irishman with a salt-and-pepper mustache that resembled a street sweeper’s broom,” Mark Bredin died on 19 Oct. 1935 in Toronto at the age of 72. The cause of death was listed as acute pyelonephritis due to an enlarged prostate. According to his probated will, he left his family a substantial estate valued at $364,744.43. In several respects he was a representative of what many Canadians of his era regarded as progressive businessmen. He was quick to adapt to the technology of large-scale production, and eventually combined his resources with those of others engaged in similar endeavours to maximize their market share and limit, if not eliminate, competition. In doing so, Bredin helped usher in a new era of industrial capitalism and, correspondingly, consumerism.

Kerry Badgley

Mark Bredin is the author of “Bakers always come back to need of organization,” Baker and Confectioner (London), October 1934: 23, 35. Photographs of Bredin can be found in the City of Toronto Arch., Fonds 1266, images 11952, 30590, 33885, and in the Toronto Daily Star, 24 Aug. 1904.

AO, RG 22-305, no.78472; RG 80-5-2-139, no.014128; RG 80-8-0-1560, no.006482. LAC, R233-36-4, Ont., dist. Toronto (119), subdist. St John’s Ward (E), 64–65. Globe, 5 Dec. 1900; 5 Jan. 1901; 9, 14 Aug. 1911; 16 April 1912; 27 Sept. 1923; 29 June 1925; 31 Aug., 30 Nov. 1928; 21 Oct. 1935. Toronto Daily Star, 28 July 1898; 4 Dec. 1900; 7 Jan. 1901; 24 Jan., 17, 25 Oct. 1906; 2 Jan., 15 May 1908; 9 Aug. 1911; 15 Dec. 1917; 6 Dec. 1918; 6, 21 May 1931; 17 Oct. 1932; 25 Jan. 1933; 10 Jan. 1934; 19 Oct. 1935. Can., Dept. of Labour, Combines Investigation Act: investigation into an alleged combine in the bread-baking industry in Canada … (Ottawa, 1931). Celebrating 100 years of service as Canada’s leading bakery (n.p., [2011?]). Charles Davies, Bread men: how the Westons built an international empire (Toronto, 1987). J. E. Middleton, Municipality of Toronto: a history (3v., Toronto and New York, 1923).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Kerry Badgley, “BREDIN, MARK,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 28, 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bredin_mark_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bredin_mark_16E.html
Author of Article:   Kerry Badgley
Title of Article:   BREDIN, MARK
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2022
Year of revision:   2022
Access Date:   November 28, 2022

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

KELLY, JEAN-BAPTISTE – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

né le 5 octobre 1783 à Québec

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Title: Toronto East Hospital, Mark Bredin laying cornerstone
Archival citation: Fonds 1266, Item 11952
Date(s) of creation of record(s): October 22, 1927
Physical description of record(s): 1 photonegative : b&w, glass ; 9 x 11 cm
Form of material: Photographs
Forms part of Fonds 1266; Globe and Mail fonds. 
https://gencat.eloquent-systems.com/city-of-toronto-archives-m-permalink.html?key=288363

Provenance : Lien

BREDIN, MARK, boulanger, homme d’affaires et homme politique, né le 2 juillet 1863, probablement à Dublin, fils de John Bredin et de Mary Graham ; le 11 août 1885, il épousa à Toronto Eliza Jane Wilcox (1867–1966), née en Ontario, et ils eurent neuf filles, dont deux moururent en bas âge, et au moins cinq fils ; décédé le 19 octobre 1935 dans cette ville et inhumé au cimetière Mount Pleasant.

Mark Bredin avait 20 ans quand, en octobre 1883, il immigra au Canada avec des membres de sa famille. En Irlande, il avait été apprenti dans une boulangerie ; à Toronto, il trouva un emploi de conducteur de voiture de livraison de pain à cheval et gravit les échelons jusqu’à devenir boulanger. Le 1er avril 1887, déjà marié et père d’une fillette, il ouvrit sa propre boulangerie.

Bredin adopta rapidement de nouvelles technologies de panification. D’après un observateur, en 1891, il figurait parmi les rares boulangers de Toronto à posséder un pétrin mécanique, et, sept ans plus tard, il fut l’un des premiers sur le continent à avoir une façonneuse à pâte. Durant sa carrière, Bredin créerait et commercialiserait plusieurs types de pain. En 1934, dans un discours prononcé devant des collègues boulangers, il ferait valoir qu’offrir « des produits et un service de qualité à un prix équitable », plutôt que d’essayer d’attirer les consommateurs avec de bas prix, s’avérait essentiel au succès dans l’industrie boulangère : « Nous savons qu’il faut parfois du courage pour demander le juste prix pour un bon pain, mais celui qui est assez prévoyant et intelligent pour gagner la confiance du public finira par récolter les fruits de son courage en affaires. »

En 1896, Bredin et Joseph Tait, homme d’affaires local, lancèrent la Tait-Bredin Company, entreprise de fabrication de pain, de gâteaux et de biscuits. Tait en était le président et Bredin le secrétaire-trésorier et l’administrateur. En 1900–1901, le bruit courut que l’important boulanger torontois George Weston* acquerrait la Tait-Bredin Company, dans le cadre de ce que le Globe qualifia de tentative d’établissement d’un monopole dans la ville par la création d’un « trust du pain ». Face aux accusations, dans la presse, de pratiques anticoncurrentielles, Tait, moins impliqué dans l’entreprise depuis son entrée dans la fonction publique de l’Ontario en 1897, soutint que les pourparlers de fusion avaient eu lieu à son insu ; Weston nia formellement l’existence de ces pourparlers. Quant à Bredin, il ne se prononça vraisemblablement pas publiquement sur la question. Tait et Bredin mirent apparemment fin à leur association puisque, en décembre 1901, on renomma l’entreprise Bredin Bread Company. William James Bredin, frère de Mark, figure à titre de président dans le répertoire de la ville de 1902 ; Mark, secrétaire-trésorier, tenait néanmoins le rôle principal dans l’entreprise, dont la marque devint populaire dans la région. Le « pain crémeux », produit vedette fortement publicisé, résultait, selon la société, de méthodes de production techniquement avancées ; les annonces publicitaires vantaient sa valeur nutritive, la qualité de ses ingrédients et son prix abordable.

L’idée d’une fusion continua probablement d’attirer Bredin, ainsi que d’autres boulangers du dominion. En 1911, Bredin, Weston, le Torontois Henry Charles Tomlin, le Winnipegois William James Boyd et le Montréalais Enoch James Stuart combinèrent leurs infrastructures et leurs actifs pour former la Canada Bread Company Limited. Le financier de Toronto Cawthra Mulock* administra l’entreprise consolidée et s’en porta garant. Bredin, nommé vice-président et directeur général, recevait un salaire annuel de 12 000 $. Selon ses propres estimations, la nouvelle entreprise pouvait produire 600 000 miches de pain par semaine à l’échelle nationale. Au lieu de la qualifier de trust qui limitait la concurrence, la presse en fit l’éloge. Ce changement d’attitude découlait peut-être d’une ouverture de plus en plus large aux idées de gestion scientifique de l’ingénieur américain Frederick Winslow Taylor. On considérait que la nouvelle organisation avait la capacité d’utiliser les plus récentes techniques de production et d’atteindre les normes sanitaires les plus élevées possibles. Selon le Globe, la fusion visait finalement l’établissement de boulangeries modernes dans toutes les grandes villes du pays, permettant ainsi à la Canada Bread Company Limited d’« offrir aux consommateurs un pain de qualité supérieure uniforme au coût minimal ». En 1918, après la mort prématurée de Mulock, on nomma Bredin à la présidence. Sous sa direction, la boulangerie devint l’une des plus importantes au Canada, grâce à l’élément clé d’intégration verticale. Au 1er juillet 1922, par exemple, elle avait engendré des profits de 478 657 $, chiffre qui, en l’espace d’un an, grimpa à 711 696 $. Bredin abandonna ses fonctions de directeur général en 1925 au profit de son fils William Thomas, qui démissionna en 1928. Mark reprit alors provisoirement la direction, puis, la même année, quitta lui aussi la compagnie et commença à exploiter une boulangerie indépendante avec ses fils. À cette époque-là, la Maple Leaf Milling Company Limited, ancêtre des Aliments Maple Leaf, avait acquis le contrôle de la Canada Bread Company Limited, dont la marque et les produits connaîtraient encore beaucoup de popularité auprès des consommateurs canadiens au début du xxie siècle.

Bredin, administrateur de la United Empire Bank of Canada et président du conseil d’administration de la Canadian Canners Limited, s’impliquait, comme nombre d’hommes d’affaires prospères de son temps, dans plusieurs entreprises. Il se lança aussi en politique et remporta l’élection au conseil de ville de Toronto en 1908. Il représenta le quartier no 3 aux côtés du futur maire Samuel McBride et du caricaturiste John Wilson Bengough*. Durant ses deux mandats d’un an à titre de conseiller municipal, Bredin ne soutint apparemment aucune initiative importante et ne se trouva mêlé à aucune controverse notable. À l’échelle fédérale, il appuya le Parti libéral de sir Wilfrid Laurier* et assista occasionnellement à des rassemblements de campagnes électorales. Au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, cependant, Bredin, dont le fils William Thomas était officier dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien, soutint publiquement le gouvernement d’union de sir Robert Laird Borden.

Bredin, qui occupait un rang élevé dans la société torontoise, s’associa à de nombreuses organisations professionnelles et œuvres charitables. Il fut gouverneur à vie de l’American Bakers Association, directeur de la Canada Bread and Cake Bakers’ Association, président fondateur du conseil d’administration et gouverneur du Toronto East General Hospital, et président de la Toronto Open-Air Parade Association. Il appartint également à des clubs prestigieux, dont l’Empire Club of Canada et le Royal Canadian Yacht Club. Sa participation au conseil de l’Irish Protestant Benevolent Society et à divers efforts de secours humanitaire durant la grande dépression compte parmi ses activités de bienfaisance.

Charles Davies, auteur d’une histoire de l’entreprise familiale Weston, décrivit Mark Bredin au milieu de sa vie comme un « Irlandais un peu chauve et à l’air aimable, avec une moustache poivre et sel ressemblant à un balai de balayeur de rues ». Bredin mourut le 19 octobre 1935 à Toronto, à l’âge de 72 ans, d’une pyélonéphrite aiguë due à une inflammation de la prostate. Selon son testament homologué, il légua à sa famille une fortune considérable, évaluée à 364 744,43 $. À plusieurs égards, il correspondait à l’image que beaucoup de Canadiens de son temps se faisaient d’un homme d’affaires progressiste. Il s’adapta promptement à la technologie de production de masse et combina finalement ses ressources avec celles d’autres entrepreneurs de son domaine d’activité, afin de maximiser leur part de marché et de limiter, sinon d’éliminer, la concurrence. Bredin contribua ainsi à l’avènement d’une nouvelle phase du capitalisme industriel et, par conséquent, de la société de consommation.

Kerry Badgley

Mark Bredin est l’auteur de « Bakers always come back to need of organization », Baker and Confectioner (Londres), octobre 1934 : 23, 35. On trouve des photographies de Bredin aux City of Toronto Arch., Fonds 1266, images 11952, 30590, 33885, et dans le Toronto Daily Star, 24 août 1904.

AO, RG 22-305, n78472 ; RG 80-5-2-139, n014128 ; RG 80-8-0-1560, no 006482.— BAC, R233-36-4, Ontario, dist. Toronto (119), sous-dist. St John’s Ward (E), 64–65.— Globe, 5 déc. 1900 ; 5 janv. 1901 ; 9, 14 août 1911 ; 16 avril 1912 ; 27 sept. 1923 ; 29 juin 1925 ; 31 août, 30 nov. 1928 ; 21 oct. 1935.— Toronto Daily Star, 28 juill. 1898 ; 4 déc. 1900 ; 7 janv. 1901 ; 24 janv. ; 17, 25 oct. 1906 ; 2 janv., 15 mai 1908 ; 9 août 1911 ; 15 déc. 1917 ; 6 déc. 1918 ; 6, 21 mai 1931 ; 17 oct. 1932 ; 25 janv. 1933 ; 10 janv. 1934 ; 19 oct. 1935.— Canada, Dép. du Travail, Combines Investigation Act : investigation into an alleged combine in the bread-baking industry in Canada […] (Ottawa, 1931).— Cent ans de service en tant que boulangerie et chef de file au Canada (s.l., [2011 ?]).— Charles Davies, Bread men : how the Westons built an international empire (Toronto, 1987).— J. E. Middleton, Municipality of Toronto : a history (3 vol., Toronto et New York, 1923).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Kerry Badgley, « BREDIN, MARK », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 5 oct. 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bredin_mark_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bredin_mark_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Kerry Badgley
Titre de l'article:    BREDIN, MARK
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2022
Année de la révision:    2022
Date de consultation:    5 octobre 2022