DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

CANNIFF, WILLIAM – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 18 Oct. 1910 in Belleville, Ont.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

BELL, GEORGE MELROSE, businessman, newspaper publisher, and radio proprietor; b. 6 Sept. 1884 in Brandon, Man., son of George Alexander Bell and Elizabeth Smith; m. there 9 July 1908 Edna Mae Parkin, and they had two sons and two daughters; d. 19 March 1936 in Calgary.

George Melrose Bell grew up in Melita, Man., where his father worked in the agricultural-implement business as an agent for the Massey-Harris Company. The family moved to the District of Saskatchewan in 1903, when George Alexander Bell was appointed homestead inspector for the land district of Estevan. Five years later Bell Sr entered politics as a Liberal; he served as member for Estevan in the Legislative Assembly and as provincial treasurer from 1912 to 1917, as well as minister of telephones from 1913. George Melrose Bell was close to his father, who had been a blacksmith, and would later keep his father’s anvil in a prominent place in his office.

As a young man, he was a keen sportsman. He began his working life as a clerk in the railway mail service and rose quickly to become assistant postmaster for Regina in 1909 at the age of 25. But he soon tired of this career. Together with John Henderson Mitchell, he launched an insurance, real-estate, and financial agency in 1912 under the name Bell and Mitchell Limited, which later opened branches in Winnipeg and Vancouver. In addition, Bell became president of the Sanitary Bakery Limited, Western Implement Limited, Canada West Electric Limited, the Ronald-Smith Cultivator Company, and the Agricultural Insurance Company, as well as a director of other enterprises in Regina. Early in his career he managed paving contracts for the Alberta roads system, an experience that eventually led him to acquire other businesses in Calgary, where he maintained a suite in the Palliser Hotel.

An entrepreneur with a “spirit of adventurousness and interest in new things,” Bell received 4 of the first 21 licences for private commercial broadcasting issued by the radio branch of the federal Department of the Naval Service in 1922: CHCF Winnipeg, CKCK Regina, CFAC Calgary, and CHCA Vancouver. In 1928, through the Albertan Publishing Company, he also procured the licence for CJCJ Calgary when the original owner lost control of the station. Beginning in 1934, he played a major role in the development of Turner Valley and other oilfields in Alberta and in gold-mining in British Columbia.

Bell is best known for his involvement in newspaper publishing. He became president of the Leader Publishing Company in Regina in 1920 and of Star Publishing Limited (Saskatoon) three years later. In 1926, with Charles Edwin Campbell, he purchased the Edmonton Bulletin [see Frank Oliver (Bowsfield)] and the Albertan Publishing Company, which issued the Calgary Albertan. After two years Bell and Campbell divided their interests, Bell keeping the Albertan and the associated semi-monthly Western Farmer. His publishing activities grew when he joined S. L. Ross of Regina in founding the Northern Mail, a weekly in The Pas, Man., in 1928. The following year he expanded into British Columbia through the purchase of the Vancouver Star. This acquisition would leave his estate owing over $400,000.

When Bell and Campbell took over the Albertan, Calgary’s morning newspaper, its situation was fragile. The rival Calgary Daily Herald feared that the Albertan might have to enter the evening market in order to survive. Indeed, between 1932 and 1936 the Herald paid the Albertan a monthly fee not to publish an evening edition. This arrangement was suspended between May and December 1934, when the Albertan unsuccessfully switched to evening publication. Bell negotiated an agreement in 1936 to acquire the Herald, but this plan ultimately failed.

He recognized the importance of the media, particularly radio, in the province’s politics. While nominally a Liberal, he was a staunch supporter of the Social Credit movement and was prepared to use his business acumen to benefit its aspirations as well as his own interests. Before Social Credit came to power in 1935, Bell not only gave the movement and its leader, evangelist William Aberhart*, positive coverage in his newspaper but also invited Aberhart to submit a number of columns. Aberhart saw the Albertan and its associated radio station, CJCJ, as friendly, and Social Credit members negotiated an option to buy the paper and the radio station from its willing owner. The Albertan, upon absorbing the weekly Alberta Social Credit Chronicle, was intended to become the official organ of the Alberta Social Credit League, and for a short while it served that function.

Although Aberhart at first publicly denied any knowledge of plans for the acquisition, he was in fact a partner in the company that held the option to purchase. Furthermore, Charles Read Pearce, secretary-treasurer of Aberhart’s Calgary Prophetic Bible Institute, was made vice-president of the Albertan Publishing Company. Aberhart used his pulpit to persuade Social Crediters to buy shares so that they could exercise their option to buy the paper. The rival Edmonton Journal was outraged. This action on the part of Social Credit was “too much in line with what has been done in Germany and Russia to be to the liking of Canadian citizens.”

Bell’s support for Social Credit was a wise business decision. The change in focus nearly doubled the Albertan’s daily circulation to about 27,000. However, two months after negotiating the deal in 1936, he died of a heart ailment at the early age of 51. The Albertan and its new owners, Bell’s sons Gordon and George Maxwell* (Max), continued to be staunch allies of the Aberhart government, but the paper’s editorial position gradually moderated. Social Credit supporters could never raise enough money to purchase the paper, and the option would be abandoned in 1939.

A Presbyterian, George Melrose Bell was a long-time freemason and a Shriner at the time of his death. Because of the Great Depression, he left his estate in chaos, and it would be his son Max who re-established the family fortunes and built a newspaper empire.

Frits Pannekoek

GA, M 6086, M 7003, M 9336, PA 99, PA 1487, PA 2807, NA 5235; M 6991, file 12. Man., Dept. of Tourism, Culture, Heritage, Sport and Consumer Protection, Vital statistics agency (Winnipeg), no.1908-002884. Albertan (Calgary), 20 March 1936, 24 July 1972. Calgary Daily Herald, 20 March 1936. Alberta, Aberhart, and Social Credit, comp. J. A. Boudreau (Toronto, 1975). Alberta newspapers, 1880–1982: an historical directory, comp. G. M. Strathern (Edmonton, 1988). D. R. Elliott and Iris Miller, Bible Bill: a biography of William Aberhart (Edmonton, 1987). Alvin Finkel, The Social Credit phenomenon in Alberta (Toronto, 1989). A history of Canadian journalism (2v., Toronto, 1908–59), 2 (W. A. Craick, Last years of the Canadian Press Association, 1908–1919 …, 1959). Pioneers and prominent people of Saskatchewan (Winnipeg and Toronto, 1924). H. J. Schultz, “William Aberhart and the Social Credit Party: a political biography” (phd thesis, Duke Univ., Durham, N.C., 1959). Mary Vipond, Listening in: the first decade of Canadian broadcasting, 1922–1932 (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1992). Wireless and Aviation News (Toronto), April 1922: 23.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Frits Pannekoek, “BELL, GEORGE MELROSE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 18, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bell_george_melrose_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bell_george_melrose_16E.html
Author of Article: Frits Pannekoek
Title of Article: BELL, GEORGE MELROSE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: October 18, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BURGESS, COLIN – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

décédé le 20 octobre 1905 à Toronto

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

BELL, GEORGE MELROSE, homme d’affaires, éditeur de journaux et propriétaire de stations de radiodiffusion, né le 6 septembre 1884 à Brandon, Manitoba, fils de George Alexander Bell et d’Elizabeth Smith ; le 9 juillet 1908, il épousa au même endroit Edna Mae Parkin, et ils eurent deux fils et deux filles ; décédé le 19 mars 1936 à Calgary.

George Melrose Bell grandit à Melita, au Manitoba. Son père travaillait alors dans l’industrie du matériel agricole en tant qu’agent pour la Massey-Harris Company. En 1903, quand George Alexander Bell fut nommé inspecteur des concessions statutaires de la circonscription d’Estevan, la famille partit vivre dans le district de Saskatchewan. Cinq ans plus tard, Bell père fit son entrée sur la scène politique aux côtés des libéraux ; il fut membre de l’Assemblée législative pour Estevan, trésorier provincial de 1912 à 1917 et ministre des Services téléphoniques à partir de 1913. George Melrose Bell était proche de son père. Celui-ci avait été forgeron et son enclume occupa plus tard une place d’honneur dans le bureau de son fils.

Dans sa jeunesse, Bell fut un grand sportif. Il commença sa vie professionnelle comme employé dans le service postal ferroviaire. Il gravit rapidement les échelons et en 1909, âgé de 25 ans, il devint maître de poste adjoint pour la ville de Regina. Toutefois, il se lassa vite de ses fonctions. En 1912, avec John Henderson Mitchell, il créa l’agence Bell and Mitchell Limited, spécialisée en assurance, en immobilier et en finance. Par la suite, des succursales furent ouvertes à Winnipeg et à Vancouver. Bell devint également président de la Sanitary Bakery Limited, de la Western Implement Limited, de la Canada West Electric Limited, de la Ronald-Smith Cultivator Company et de l’Agricultural Insurance Company, et fut membre du conseil d’administration d’autres entreprises à Regina. Au début de sa carrière, il s’occupa de contrats d’asphaltage pour le réseau routier de l’Alberta, expérience qui l’incita finalement à acquérir d’autres commerces à Calgary, ville où il louait une suite au Palliser Hotel.

L’« esprit d’aventure et l’intérêt pour la nouveauté » de cet entrepreneur lui valurent 4 des 21 premières licences de radio commerciale privées octroyées en 1922 par le service de radiodiffusion du ministère du Service naval : CHCF Winnipeg, CKCK Regina, CFAC Calgary et CHCA Vancouver. En 1928, par l’entremise de l’Albertan Publishing Company, il obtint également la licence pour la station CJCJ Calgary, quand son premier propriétaire en perdit le contrôle. À partir de 1934, il joua un rôle clé dans l’expansion de champs pétrolifères en Alberta, dont celui de Turner Valley, ainsi que dans l’exploitation aurifère en Colombie-Britannique.

Toutefois, Bell serait surtout connu pour son engagement dans la publication de journaux. Il devint président de la Leader Publishing Company à Regina en 1920 et président de la Star Publishing Limited (Saskatoon) trois ans plus tard. En 1926, avec Charles Edwin Campbell, il acheta l’Edmonton Bulletin [V. Frank Oliver (Bowsfield)] et l’Albertan Publishing Company, société éditrice du Calgary Albertan. Deux ans plus tard, Bell et Campbell divisèrent leurs intérêts et Bell garda le Calgary Albertan, ainsi que son bimensuel, le Western Farmer. Sa carrière dans l’édition prit son essor lorsqu’il s’associa avec S. L. Ross, de Regina, pour fonder le Northern Mail, un hebdomadaire dans la ville de The Pas, au Manitoba, en 1928. L’année suivante, il étendit ses activités jusqu’en Colombie-Britannique grâce à l’achat du Vancouver Star. À sa mort, il laisserait plus de 400 000 $ de dettes à cause de cette acquisition.

Lorsque Bell et Campbell avaient repris le Calgary Albertan, le journal du matin de Calgary, sa situation était précaire. Les propriétaires de son concurrent, le Calgary Daily Herald, craignaient que le Calgary Albertan ne doive faire son entrée dans le marché du soir pour assurer son avenir. Ainsi, entre 1932 et 1936, le Calgary Daily Herald verserait une compensation mensuelle au Calgary Albertan qui, en échange, s’en tiendrait à sa publication du matin. Cet arrangement fut suspendu entre mai et décembre 1934, quand ce dernier passa, sans succès, à l’édition du soir. En 1936, Bell négocia un accord pour acquérir le Calgary Daily Herald, plan qui finit par échouer.

Bell était conscient que les médias, et notamment la radio, jouaient un rôle important dans la vie politique de la province. Quoique nominalement libéral, il fut un fervent partisan du mouvement du Crédit social et était prêt à mettre son sens aigu des affaires au service des aspirations du mouvement et de ses propres intérêts. Avant que le Crédit social ne parvienne au pouvoir, en 1935, Bell fournit non seulement une couverture médiatique positive au mouvement, mais aussi à son dirigeant, l’évangéliste William Aberhart*, qu’il invita à écrire un certain nombre de colonnes dans son journal. Aberhart estimait que le Calgary Albertan et sa station de radio, CJCJ, servaient bien sa cause et Bell consentit à ce que des membres du Crédit social négocient une option pour les acheter. Le Calgary Albertan, en absorbant l’hebdomadaire Alberta Social Credit Chronicle, était censé devenir l’organe officiel de l’Alberta Social Credit League, fonction qu’il remplit pendant une courte période.

Aberhart nia d’abord publiquement être au courant de tout projet relatif à cette acquisition ; il était en fait un associé de la société qui détenait l’option d’achat. De plus, Charles Read Pearce, secrétaire-trésorier du Calgary Prophetic Bible Institute d’Aberhart, fut nommé vice-président de l’Albertan Publishing Company. Aberhart se servit de sa chaire pour convaincre les créditistes d’acheter des actions dans le but de lever leur option et d’acheter le journal. Au sein de la publication rivale l’Edmonton Journal, ce fut l’indignation. Ce que venait de faire le Crédit social était « trop semblable à ce qui s’était fait en Allemagne et en Russie pour être apprécié des citoyens canadiens ».

Le soutien de Bell au Crédit social était une décision commerciale sagace : le changement d’orientation permit de presque doubler le tirage quotidien de l’Albertan (nom que prit le journal le 20 janvier 1936), dont le nombre d’exemplaires s’élevait désormais à environ 27 000. En 1936, deux mois après avoir négocié l’affaire, Bell mourut d’une maladie cardiaque ; il n’était âgé que de 51 ans. L’Albertan et ses nouveaux propriétaires, les fils de Bell, Gordon et George Maxwell*, surnommé Max, restèrent dévoués au gouvernement d’Aberhart, mais la position éditoriale du journal se modéra peu à peu. Les partisans du Crédit social ne parvinrent jamais à amasser assez d’argent pour acheter le journal et l’option serait abandonnée en 1939.

Presbytérien, George Melrose Bell fut franc-maçon pendant longtemps et était également membre des Shriners à la fin de sa vie. Il laissa derrière lui un patrimoine désorganisé à cause de la grande dépression. Ce serait son fils Max qui remettrait sur pied la fortune familiale et bâtirait un empire dans l’industrie de la presse.

Frits Pannekoek

GA, M 6086, M 7003, M 9336, PA 99, PA 1487, PA 2807, NA 5235 ; M 6991, file 12.— Manitoba, Ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture, du Patrimoine, du Sport et de la Protection du consommateur, Bureau de l’état civil (Winnipeg), no 1908-002884.— Albertan (Calgary), 20 mars 1936, 24 juill. 1972.— Calgary Daily Herald, 20 mars 1936.— Alberta, Aberhart, and Social Credit, J. A. Boudreau, compil. (Toronto, 1975).— Alberta newspapers, 1880–1982 : an historical directory, G. M. Strathern, compil. (Edmonton, 1988).— D. R. Elliott et Iris Miller, Bible Bill : a biography of William Aberhart (Edmonton, 1987).— Alvin Finkel, The Social Credit phenomenon in Alberta (Toronto, 1989).— A history of Canadian journalism (2 vol., Toronto, 1908–1959), 2 (W. A. Craick, Last years of the Canadian Press Association, 1908–1919 […], 1959).— Pioneers and prominent people of Saskatchewan (Winnipeg et Toronto, 1924).— H. J. Schultz, « William Aberhart and the Social Credit Party : a political biography » (thèse de ph.d., Duke Univ., Durham, N.C., 1959).— Mary Vipond, Listening in : the first decade of Canadian broadcasting, 1922–1932 (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 1992).— Wireless and Aviation News (Toronto), avril 1922 : 23.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Frits Pannekoek, « BELL, GEORGE MELROSE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 oct. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bell_george_melrose_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bell_george_melrose_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Frits Pannekoek
Titre de l'article:   BELL, GEORGE MELROSE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   20 octobre 2017