DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  EN:UNDEF:public_upload_browse_view_title – Dictionary of Canadian Biography

Source: Link

BARNARD, FRANCES MATHILDE (Tessier) (she sometimes signed Fannie M. Barnard), social reformer; b. 29 May 1859 in Albany, N.Y., daughter of Edmund Barnard, a lawyer, and Ellen King Austin; m. 27 June 1882 Jules Tessier in the parish of Notre-Dame in Montreal; they had no children; d. 3 March 1938 in Quebec City and was buried 5 March in Notre-Dame de Belmont cemetery in Sainte-Foy (Quebec City).

Originally from New England (Deerfield, Mass.), where they had settled in the 17th century, the loyalist Barnard family had seen several of their sons move to the province of Quebec as the War of American Independence drew closer. Frances Mathilde Barnard’s paternal great-grandfather, James, had emigrated to Quebec in 1774 and joined his brothers in the region that would later be called the Eastern Townships. Her grandfather Edward, a Roman Catholic convert, was a lawyer, a member of the House of Assembly, and a protonotary in Trois-Rivières, as well as one of the defenders of the Patriotes [see Joseph Barnard], while her father, Edmund, who was also a lawyer, had opened an office in Montreal. Her mother, Ellen King Austin, was the only daughter of Charles Lee Austin, a lawyer and a municipal-court judge in Albany, and Frances Elliott. Her maternal grandparents had studied in religious educational institutions in Quebec in order to learn French, and they had converted to Catholicism. Frances Mathilde’s mother, who was baptized at the age of seven while staying with her family in Rome, had gone to a convent run by the Sisters of the Sacred Heart in Saint-Vincent-de-Paul (Laval) near Montreal.

The eldest of ten children, Frances Mathilde came from a comfortable background, where French and English cultures dwelt together. After studying at the boarding school that her mother had attended, on 27 June 1882 she married Jules Tessier, a lawyer in Quebec City, who would be the mla for Portneuf (1886–1903), the speaker of the Legislative Assembly (1897–1901), and a senator (1903–34). A Quebecer by marriage, she divided her time between the social obligations attendant on her husband’s political career and cultural and charitable works to which she devoted herself all the more because she was childless. In 1891, with other women of Quebec City’s francophone and anglophone elite, she founded the Quebec Ladies Morning Musical Club. The first official season opened in the fall of 1895, the date often attributed to the early endeavours of the group. (It was still in existence at the outset of the 21st century under the name Club Musical de Québec.) On the program were a dozen matinee concerts, which were held in the parlour of the Young Men’s Christian Association, two featuring Mme Tessier. She would also be the club’s second president (it is impossible to establish the exact dates of her term).

In addition to devoting her energies to musical appreciation, in April 1915 she set up Gouttes de Lait. Created to combat infant mortality through free distribution of wholesome milk, medical supervision of babies’ health, and counselling for mothers, the Gouttes de Lait (or similar clinics) existed at the time in most large western cities. The founding meeting of this public-health organization, which took place at Quebec City’s municipal hall with Alice Gouin, the wife of Premier Sir Lomer Gouin*, as honorary president, brought together 32 francophone and anglophone women from local high society, who elected Mme Tessier as chair of the Board of Directors. Her tenure was marked by the opening of a dozen clinics, mainly in the capital’s poorest neighbourhoods, and by the growing professionalism of the services offered (from 1924 the Provincial Bureau of Health required that nurses be hired in exchange for funding). Financial difficulties, as well as a sometimes fierce power struggle with the physicians who sought to be paid for their work at the clinics and to have greater control over their management, also characterized these years. Mme Tessier gave up her post in 1932 for health reasons, but she nevertheless retained her interest in the charity’s fortunes. Gouttes de Lait was active until 1970, when Quebec City authorities finally decided to assume responsibility for this public-health service.

Frances Mathilde Tessier’s interest in the cause of mothers and children, an area in which middle-class women were particularly active at the beginning of the 20th century, was not confined to Gouttes de Lait. In 1919 she lent her support to the creation of Assistance Maternelle de Québec, a charity that provided medical and material aid to impoverished pregnant women and that had existed in Montreal since 1912. The following year she became secretary-treasurer of the Canadian Council on Child Welfare, an organization run by the social worker Charlotte Elizabeth Hazeltyne Whitton*, which brought together representatives of various public and private social agencies concerned about the well-being of children across Canada. She left this position in 1935 when deteriorating health no longer permitted her to pursue these activities.

Frances Mathilde Tessier died in 1938 at the age of 78 from the effects of paralysis, four years after the death of her husband on 6 Jan. 1934. Anna P. Girouard, who wrote her eulogy in Le Journal on 10 March 1938, described her as a “national figure” whose “love for others, [and] good-heartedness,… established her as an … admirable woman of action.”

Denyse Baillargeon

Frances Mathilde Barnard’s birth and baptismal certificates have not been found despite research efforts. The earliest records held by the Vital Statistics office in Albany, N.Y., begin with 1 September 1870.

BANQ-CAM, CE601-S51, 27 juin 1882. BANQ-Q, P49. Centre for Research on French Canadian Culture (Ottawa), P32. Private arch., Serge Masson (Québec), Doc. sur le Club musical de Québec. L’Événement, 3 mars 1938. Le Journal (Québec), 10 mars 1938. Le Soleil, 3 mars 1938. Denyse Baillargeon, Un Québec en mal d’enfants: la médicalisation de la maternité, 1910–1970 (Montréal, 2004). De La Broquerie Fortier, Au service de l’enfance: l’Association québécoise de la Goutte de lait, 1915–1965 (Québec, 1966); “Les ‘Gouttes de lait’ à Québec, 1905–1970,” Cap-aux-Diamants (Québec), no.28 (hiver 1992): 52–55. Madeleine [A.‑M.] Gleason-Huguenin, Portraits de femmes ([Montréal], 1938), 256–57. Historica Canada, “The Canadian encyclopedia”: www.thecanadianencyclopedia.ca (consulted 18 Aug. 2015). Que., National Assembly, “Québec dictionary of parliamentary biography, from 1792 to the present”: www.assnat.qc.ca/en/membres/notices/index.html (consulted 14 Nov. 2014).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Denyse Baillargeon, “BARNARD, FRANCES MATHILDE (Tessier),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed June 24, 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/barnard_frances_mathilde_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/barnard_frances_mathilde_16E.html
Author of Article: Denyse Baillargeon
Title of Article: BARNARD, FRANCES MATHILDE (Tessier)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: June 24, 2019

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

PELLETIER, WILFRID – Volume XXI (1981-1990)

né le 20 juin 1896 dans la paroisse Sacré-Cœur-de-Jésus, Montréal

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  EN:UNDEF:public_upload_browse_view_title – Dictionary of Canadian Biography

Provenance : Lien

BARNARD, FRANCES MATHILDE (Tessier) (elle signait parfois Fannie M. Barnard), réformatrice sociale, née le 29 mai 1859 à Albany, New York, fille d’Edmund Barnard, avocat, et d’Ellen King Austin ; le 27 juin 1882, elle épousa dans la paroisse Notre-Dame, à Montréal, Jules Tessier, et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédée le 3 mars 1938 à Québec et inhumée le 5 au cimetière Notre-Dame de Belmont, à Sainte-Foy (Québec).

Originaire de la Nouvelle-Angleterre (Deerfield, Massachusetts), où elle s’est établie au xviie siècle, la famille Barnard, loyaliste, a vu plusieurs de ses fils s’installer dans la province de Québec à l’approche de la guerre d’Indépendance américaine. Du côté paternel, l’arrière-grand-père de Frances Mathilde Barnard, James, y a émigré en 1774 et a rejoint ses frères dans la région qui sera connue sous le nom des Cantons-de-l’Est. Son grand-père, Edward, converti au catholicisme, a été avocat, député et protonotaire à Trois-Rivières, et l’un des défenseurs des patriotes [V. Joseph Barnard], tandis que son père, Edmund, lui aussi avocat, a ouvert son bureau à Montréal. Sa mère, Ellen King Austin, était la fille unique de Charles Lee Austin, avocat et juge de la cour municipale d’Albany, et de Frances Elliott. Les grands-parents du côté maternel ont étudié dans des établissements scolaires religieux de la province de Québec afin d’y apprendre le français et ont adopté la religion catholique. La mère de Frances Mathilde, baptisée à l’âge de sept ans tandis qu’elle séjournait avec ses parents à Rome, a fréquenté un couvent tenu par les dames du Sacré-Cœur à Saint-Vincent-de-Paul (Laval), près de Montréal.

Aînée d’une famille de dix enfants, Frances Mathilde est issue d’un milieu aisé, où se côtoient les cultures anglophone et francophone. Après des études au même pensionnat que sa mère, elle épouse, le 27 juin 1882, Jules Tessier, avocat de la ville de Québec, qui sera député de la circonscription provinciale de Portneuf (1886–1903), orateur de l’Assemblée législative (1897–1901) et sénateur (1903–1934). Devenue Québécoise en raison de son mariage, elle partage son temps entre les obligations mondaines que lui crée la carrière politique de son mari et les œuvres culturelles et sociales dans lesquelles elle s’investit d’autant qu’elle n’a jamais eu d’enfants. En 1891, elle fonde, avec d’autres femmes de l’élite francophone et anglophone de Québec, le Quebec Ladies Morning Musical Club. La première saison officielle s’ouvre à l’automne de 1895, date avec laquelle on fait souvent coïncider le commencement de l’association qui existera encore au début du xxie siècle sous le nom de Club musical de Québec. Elle offre une douzaine de concerts qui ont lieu en matinée, dans la salle de la Young Men’s Christian Association ; deux d’entre eux mettent en vedette Mme Tessier. Cette dernière sera également la deuxième présidente du club (il est impossible de préciser les dates exactes de son mandat).

Outre son engagement dans le domaine de la diffusion de la culture musicale, Frances Mathilde Tessier institue, en avril 1915, les Gouttes de lait. Créées dans le but de combattre la mortalité infantile en distribuant gratuitement du lait sain, en assurant une surveillance médicale de la santé des bébés et en conseillant les mères, les Gouttes de lait (ou d’autres cliniques du même genre) existent alors dans la plupart des grandes villes occidentales. La réunion de fondation de cette œuvre sociosanitaire, qui se déroule à l’hôtel de ville de Québec sous la présidence d’honneur d’Alice Gouin, femme du premier ministre sir Lomer Gouin*, regroupe 32 dames, francophones et anglophones, de la haute société de Québec, qui élisent Mme Tessier présidente du conseil d’administration. Sa présidence est marquée par l’ouverture d’une douzaine de cliniques, principalement dans les quartiers les plus pauvres de la capitale, et par une professionnalisation croissante des services offerts (le Service provincial d’hygiène de la province de Québec exige l’embauche d’infirmières en échange de subventions à compter de 1924). Des difficultés financières, de même qu’une lutte de pouvoir parfois féroce avec les médecins qui cherchent à obtenir une rémunération pour leur travail dans les cliniques et à exercer un plus grand contrôle sur leur gestion, caractérisent aussi ces années. Délaissant la présidence en 1932 pour des raisons de santé, Mme Tessier continuera néanmoins de s’intéresser aux destinées de l’œuvre. Les Gouttes de lait poursuivront leurs activités jusqu’en 1970, année où l’administration de la ville de Québec décidera finalement de prendre en charge ce service de santé publique.

L’intérêt de Frances Mathilde Tessier pour la cause des mères et des enfants, créneau où les dames de la bourgeoisie ont été particulièrement actives au début du xxe siècle, ne s’est pas arrêté aux Gouttes de lait. En 1919, elle encourage la création de l’Assistance maternelle de Québec, œuvre qui fournit une aide médicale et matérielle aux femmes enceintes pauvres et qui existait déjà à Montréal depuis 1912. L’année suivante, elle devient la secrétaire-trésorière du Conseil canadien pour la sauvegarde de l’enfance, organisme dirigé par la travailleuse sociale Charlotte Elizabeth Hazeltyne Whitton* et qui réunit des représentants des diverses agences sociales privées et publiques préoccupées par le bien-être des enfants à l’échelle du Canada. Elle quitte cette fonction en 1935, quand sa santé déclinante ne lui permet plus de poursuivre ses activités.

Frances Mathilde Tessier meurt en 1938, à l’âge de 78 ans, des suites d’une paralysie, quatre années après le décès de son mari le 6 janvier 1934. Anna P. Girouard, qui fait son éloge dans le Journal le 10 mars 1938, la présente comme une « figure nationale » dont « l’amour pour les autres, [l’]extrême bonté de cœur […] en avaient fait une […] admirable femme d’action ».

Denyse Baillargeon

Nos recherches ne nous ont pas permis de trouver l’acte de naissance ou de baptême de Frances Mathilde Barnard. Les premiers documents enregistrés au bureau de l’état civil d’Albany, dans l’État de New York, datent du 1er septembre 1870.

Arch. privées, Serge Masson (Québec), Doc. sur le Club musical de Québec.— BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S51, 27 juin 1882.— BAnQ-Q, P49.— Centre de recherche en civilisation canadienne-française (Ottawa), P32.— L’Événement, 3 mars 1938.— Le Journal (Québec), 10 mars 1938.— Le Soleil, 3 mars 1938.— Denyse Baillargeon, Un Québec en mal d’enfants : la médicalisation de la maternité, 1910–1970 (Montréal, 2004).— De La Broquerie Fortier, Au service de l’enfance : l’Association québécoise de la Goutte de lait, 1915–1965 (Québec, 1966) ; « les “Gouttes de lait” à Québec, 1905–1970 », Cap-aux-Diamants (Québec), no 28 (hiver 1992) : 52–55.— Madeleine [A.-M.] Gleason-Huguenin, Portraits de femmes ([Montréal], 1938), 256–257.— Historica Canada, « l’Encyclopédie canadienne » : www.encyclopediecanadienne.ca (consulté le 18 août 2015).— Québec, Assemblée nationale, « Dictionnaire des parlementaires québécois depuis 1792 » : www.assnat.qc.ca/fr/membres/notices/index.html (consulté le 14 nov. 2014).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Denyse Baillargeon, « BARNARD, FRANCES MATHILDE (Tessier) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 juin 2019, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/barnard_frances_mathilde_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/barnard_frances_mathilde_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Denyse Baillargeon
Titre de l'article:   BARNARD, FRANCES MATHILDE (Tessier)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   20 juin 2019