DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Important Notices
Terms of Use

These terms of use govern your (“You”) use of the Dictionary of Canadian Biography Online website (the “Website”) which is made available by the University of Toronto and Université Laval (“We”, “Our” or “Us”).

By using or visiting the Website, You agree to these terms of use.

Rights in the Website and its Content

The Website and all content provided on it (“Content”) is protected by copyright, trademark and other applicable intellectual property and proprietary rights laws and is owned, controlled and/or licensed by the University of Toronto and Université Laval. All rights not expressly granted herein are reserved.

Copyright in the biographies provided on the Website (“Biography” or “Biographies”) is owned by the University of Toronto and Université Laval.

Notwithstanding the foregoing and where applicable, copyright in any non-text Content that appears on the Website may be within the public domain or owned by the rights holder(s) indicated for that content. Any and all trademarks appearing on the Website are the property of the University of Toronto and/or Université Laval, or their respective owners.

Use of the Website and its Content for an Electronic Medium (for example, reproduction on the Internet or a CD-ROM)

The Biographies have been provided with the intent that they be readily available for personal and public noncommercial use, without cost, and You may use and reproduce any Biography, in whole or in part and by any means, for that purpose, provided that You:

You may not:

Any modification to a Biography, including a translation, requires Our prior written permission. Requests for permission should be sent to dcb.admin@utoronto.ca.

Use of the Website and its Content for a Print Medium (for example, reproduction in a book, an article in a newspaper or magazine, a brochure, or an advertisement)

To use or reproduce Content from the Website in a print medium, You require written permission from University of Toronto Press

Links

Linking to any page of the Website other than to http://www.biographi.ca through a plain text link is prohibited.

The Website may contain links to third party websites and resources (“Linked Sites”), which are provided in good faith and for information only. We do not endorse the content on such Linked Sites and We make no representations or warranties regarding the correctness, accuracy, performance or quality of any content, software, service, or application found at any Linked Site. You access Linked Sites at your own risk.

Revisions

Although care has been taken to ensure the accuracy, completeness and reliability of the Biographies, some information on the Website may be incomplete, out of date or inaccurate and may contain technical inaccuracies or typographical errors, and We assume no responsibility for that information. We may revise the Website, or revise or remove any Biography, at any time in Our sole discretion.

We may revise these terms of use at any time in Our sole discretion without advance notice to You. You are bound by such revisions by continuing to use or visit the Website after the revised terms of use are posted online.

Governing Law

These terms of use and all disputes or other matters arising in connection with them and Your use of the Website shall be governed by the laws of the Province of Ontario, Canada and dealt with by a court of competent jurisdiction in the City of Toronto, unless they concern the Université Laval, in which case they shall be governed by the laws of the Province of Quebec, Canada and dealt with by a court of competent jurisdiction in the City of Quebec.

Languages

All information on the Website is available in both English and French, except where information from external sources is available only in the language in which it was provided.

Questions

Questions or comments regarding the Website may be submitted to dcb.admin@utoronto.ca.

Collection and Use of Personal Information

The Dictionary of Canadian Biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada collects and uses the personal information provided by registered users for only the following purposes:

The DCB/DBC does not share personal information provided by registered users.

If you have questions concerning collection and use of personal information provided by registered users, please contact the Executive Officer, Dictionary of Canadian Biography, at robert.fraser@utoronto.ca.

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
Avis importants
Conditions d’utilisation

Votre (« Vous » ou « Vos ») utilisation du site Web du Dictionnaire biographique du Canada en ligne (le « site Web »), mis à la disposition du public par l’université Laval et la University of Toronto (« Nous » ou « Notre »), est régie par les présentes conditions d’utilisation.

En utilisant ou en visitant le site Web, Vous acceptez de Vous conformer aux présentes conditions d’utilisation.

Droits sur le site Web et son Contenu

Le site Web et tout son contenu (« Contenu ») sont protégés par des droits d'auteur, des droits de marques de commerce et d’autres droits de propriété et de propriété intellectuelle applicables, et sont détenus, contrôlés ou utilisés sous licence par l’université Laval et la University of Toronto. Tous les droits non expressément précisés dans ce document sont réservés.

Les droits d’auteurs de toutes les Biographies qui figurent sur le site Web (« Biographie » ou « Biographies ») appartiennent à l’université Laval et à la University of Toronto.

Nonobstant ce qui précède et selon le cas, les droits d’auteurs de tout Contenu non textuel figurant sur le site Web peuvent faire partie du domaine public ou appartenir au(x) titulaire(s) des droits indiqué(s) pour ce contenu. Toutes les marques de commerce qui figurent sur le site Web appartiennent à l’université Laval ou à la University of Toronto, ou à leurs propriétaires respectifs.

Utilisation du site Web et de son Contenu

Les Biographies sont diffusées dans le but de les rendre facilement utilisables à des fins personnelles et publiques non commerciales, gratuitement, et Vous pouvez utiliser et reproduire toute Biographie, en entier ou en partie, et de quel que moyen que ce soit, dans ce but, à condition :

Vous n’êtes pas autorisé :

Toute modification apportée à une Biographie, y compris une traduction, requiert Notre permission accordée préalablement par écrit. Les demandes de permission doivent être envoyées à biographi.ca@dbc.ulaval.ca.

Liens

La création de liens vers une page quelconque du site Web autre que http://www.biographi.ca en lien texte en clair est strictement interdite.

Le site Web peut contenir des liens vers des sites Web ou des ressources de tierces parties (« Sites reliés »), qui sont fournis en toute bonne foi et uniquement à titre d’information. Nous n’assumons aucune responsabilité quant au contenu de ces Sites reliés et Nous ne faisons aucune déclaration ou n’offrons aucune garantie en ce qui concerne l’exactitude, la performance ou la qualité d’aucun contenu, logiciel, service ou application figurant sur ces Sites reliés. Vous accédez à ces Sites reliés à Vos propres risques.

Révisions

Bien que Nous portions une attention soignée à l’exactitude, l’exhaustivité et la fiabilité des Biographies, il se peut que de l’information sur le site Web soit incomplète, obsolète ou incorrecte, et contienne des imprécisions techniques ou des erreurs typographiques. Nous n’assumons aucune responsabilité quant à cette information. En tout temps, Nous pouvons réviser le site Web, réviser ou supprimer toute Biographie, à Notre entière discrétion.

Nous pouvons réviser les présentes conditions d’utilisation à tout moment, à Notre entière discrétion et sans préavis. Vous êtes tenus de respecter ces révisions si Vous continuez à utiliser ou à visiter le site Web après la mise en ligne de conditions modifiées.

Lois applicables

Ces conditions d’utilisation et tous les litiges ou autres questions en découlant ou découlant de Votre utilisation du site Web sont régis par les lois applicables dans la Province de l’Ontario, Canada, et sont du ressort exclusif d’un tribunal compétent situé dans le district judiciaire de Toronto, sauf s’ils concernent seulement l’Université Laval, auquel cas sont régis par les lois applicables dans la Province de Québec, Canada, et sont du ressort exclusif d’un tribunal compétent situé dans le district judiciaire de Québec.

Langues

Toute information sur le site Web est présentée en français et en anglais, sauf quand l’information provenant de sources externes n’est disponible que dans la langue où elle Nous est fournie.

Questions

Vous pouvez nous faire parvenir vos questions et commentaires sur le site Web à biographi.ca@dbc.ulaval.ca.

Collecte et utilisation des renseignements personnels

Le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada/Dictionary of Canadian Biography (DBC/DCB) ne recueille et n’utilise les renseignements personnels fournis par les utilisateurs inscrits qu’aux fins suivantes :

Le DBC/DCB ne partage pas les renseignements personnels fournis par les utilisateurs inscrits.

Si vous avez des questions au sujet de la cueillette et de l’utilisation des renseignements personnels fournis par les utilisateurs inscrits, veuillez communiquer avec la directrice de la rédaction du Dictionnaire biographique du Canada : biographi.ca@dbc.ulaval.ca