DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

RAMSAY, GEORGE, 9th Earl of DALHOUSIE – Volume VII (1836-1850)

b. 22 Oct. 1770 at Dalhousie Castle, Scotland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

TREMAYNE, WILLIAM ANDREW (until about 1897 he spelled his family name Tremaine), actor, playwright, and stage director; b. 26 Nov. 1864 in Portland, Maine, the second son and third child of James Tremaine, probably a merchant, and Isabella Andrew; d. unmarried 2 Dec. 1939 in Montreal.

William Andrew Tremayne, who would be called Billy by friends throughout his life, was born in the United States. His parents, former residents of Quebec City, returned to Lower Canada with their children in 1866 and settled in Montreal. Tremayne received some education at St John’s School in Montreal [see Edmund Wood*] and from an early age wrote poetry and short stories. He found employment as a clerk; from about 1892 to 1897 he worked in the stores department of the Grand Trunk Railway in Montreal.

By the 1890s Tremayne was acting with local repertory companies as well as with American troupes that performed in Canada and the United States. He achieved some prominence in the touring company of American star James O’Neill. His first one-act play, The notary, was sold to American actor-manager Felix Morris in 1893 (no copy has been located). In collaboration with Logan Fuller he wrote Lost – 24 hours, a comedy on infidelity produced in 1895 by actor-manager Robert Hilliard at Hoyt’s Theatre in New York City. Revised and billed as A New Yorker, it was presented at the same theatre on 17 Jan. 1898.

From the late 1890s onwards Tremayne appears to have made a living from his writing and his work in theatre; it was probably during this period that he was a Montreal correspondent for the New York Dramatic Mirror. At some point during the decade he met actor Robert Bruce Mantell and wrote at least two plays specifically for him. The first, The secret warrant, a romantic story set in Paris in 1720, was produced in Montreal in 1898. The second, The dagger and the cross, adapted from a novel of the same name by Joseph Hatton, was published in 1899 and performed in Toronto the following year. Other pieces dating from this time include The rogue’s daughter, a light-hearted story of an unscrupulous father and his witty daughter, staged in Montreal in 1898, and A free lance, which met with considerable success in England in 1901. The light of other days, a drama which takes place in Ireland and France during the French revolution, was written in collaboration with Irving Lincoln Hall; it opened at Haverley’s 14th Street Theatre in New York on 30 Nov. 1903. In 1906 The triumph of Betty, a melodramatic comedy about a wholesome American girl in a foreign country, was presented at the New Russell Opera House in Ottawa with Adelaide Thurston in the starring role. Sometime before 1912 Tremayne wrote the libretto, and Montreal conductor Herbert Spencer* the music, for the operetta The cavaliers, performed by the Lyric Operatic Society of Montreal. The black feather, first produced at the Grand Opera House in Toronto in 1916 by actor-manager Albert O. Brown, was later mounted in Montreal with Tremayne’s friend Basil Donn in the part of a British intelligence officer during World War I. It was published in Boston in 1918 as The man who went. The alien, staged at the Russell Opera House on 13 and 14 Sept. 1918, featured Paul Cazeneuve [Georges Alba*] and his wife, Orpha Alba, as the leads. Cazeneuve would translate at least one of Tremayne’s plays into French.

Tremayne’s golden years extended from the late 1890s to about 1916. His understanding of commercial theatre enabled him to succeed as a professional playwright. The general public wanted romance, sentiment, and adventure, with high-flown speeches and deeds of gallantry. Popular actors such as Mantell drew audiences and needed plays that showed off their acting style. Tremayne responded with work that catered to contemporary tastes. He did not want to be identified as a specifically Canadian author; he was interested in a larger market and his pieces were applauded in the United States and England as well as Canada. In 1912 George Murray, literary editor for the Montreal Daily Star, was quoted in Canadian men and women of the time [see Henry James Morgan*] as saying that Tremayne was “the most voluminous dramatic author Canada has so far produced.” Four years later an unidentified reviewer for Saturday Night ranked him as “the most successful of all Canadian playwrights.”

While pursuing a career as a playwright, Tremayne had also begun to pen movie scripts. For some time he was under contract to supply a weekly comedy to the Vitagraph Company of America, one of the leading film-makers of the silent era. Among his most noteworthy credits were Captain Jenks’ dilemma (1912), starring noted comedian John Bunny, and Ward’s claim (1914), a one-reel western directed by Ulysses Davis. One 21st-century database lists him as the author or co-author of scripts for 77 films produced in the United States between 1911 and 1916; most were for Vitagraph.

Tremayne also made his mark as a director with amateur-theatre groups in Montreal. Appointed stage director of the Trinity Players in 1911, he would continue in that position until 1925. At various times he also directed the Weredale Players of St Stephen’s Church, the Emmanuel Church Players, the Xmas Tree League Players of Saint-Lambert, the troupe of the Young Men’s–Young Women’s Hebrew Association, the Court Players, the Dickens’ Fellowship, the Community Players, and the Little Theatre Players.

Although some 20 plays are known to have been written by Tremayne after 1916, fewer of his pieces were staged and no scripts seem to have been filmed. As the tradition of the actor-manager disappeared, interest in his work declined. Unable to adapt his style to the new realism of theatre and film, he retired about 1929. He apparently had few savings and he survived with the help of friends and the occasional sale of radio scripts to Rupert Caplan, a drama producer for the Canadian Radio Broadcasting Commission and later the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. He continued to promote amateur theatre in Montreal. Before 1900 he had lived with his sister; from at least 1901 he shared lodgings with three aunts, and he spent his final years in rented single rooms. He died after a two-year illness, forgotten by the theatre world. Yet in his day he had been considered one of the best-known and most prolific playwrights in Canada.

Murray D. Edwards

Some of William Andrew Tremayne’s plays are held at the Univ. of Guelph Library, Archival and Special Coll. (Ont.), L. W. Conolly Theatre Arch., Coll. 128 (Murray D. Edwards Theatre hist. coll.), but many of his original writings were burned shortly after his death. See the author’s account of the destruction in M. D. Edwards, “A playwright from the Canadian past: W. A. Tremayne (1864–1939),” Theatre Hist. in Canada (Toronto and Kingston, Ont.), 3 (1982): 43–50. Several of his plays are mentioned in the “Internet Broadway database”: www.ibdb.com (consulted 2 May 2013). The “Internet movie database”: www.imdb.com (consulted 2 May 2013) lists Tremayne as the author or co-author of scripts for at least 77 silent films produced between 1911 and 1916.

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Geneal. Soc., International geneal. index. LAC, R233-37-6, Montreal, Saint-Laurent Ward, subdist.A-31: 1. Gazette (Montreal), 4 Dec. 1939. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1912). Directory, Montreal, 1891–1939. M. D. Edwards, A stage in our past, English-language theatre in eastern Canada from the 1790s to 1914 ([Toronto], 1968). The “New York Times” theatre reviews, 1870–1919 (6v., New York, 1975), 3. The Oxford companion to Canadian theatre, ed. Eugene Benson and L. W. Conolly (Toronto, 1989). “Music and drama,” Saturday Night, 9 Sept. 1916. Herbert Whittaker, Setting the stage: Montreal theatre, 1920–1949, ed. Jonathan Rittenhouse (Montreal, 1999). “William A. Tremayne,” Variety (New York), 13 Dec. 1939: 54.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Murray D. Edwards, “TREMAYNE (Tremaine), WILLIAM ANDREW,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 22, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/tremayne_william_andrew_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/tremayne_william_andrew_16E.html
Author of Article: Murray D. Edwards
Title of Article: TREMAYNE (Tremaine), WILLIAM ANDREW
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: October 22, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

RIGALI, MICHELE – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

né vraisemblablement le 26 mai 1841 en Toscane (Italie)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

TREMAYNE, WILLIAM ANDREW (jusqu’en 1897 environ, il écrivit son nom de famille Tremaine), comédien, dramaturge et metteur en scène, né le 26 novembre 1864 à Portland, Maine, deuxième fils et troisième enfant de James Tremaine, probablement marchand, et d’Isabella Andrew ; décédé célibataire le 2 décembre 1939 à Montréal.

William Andrew Tremayne, que ses amis appelleraient Billy tout au long de sa vie, naquit aux États-Unis. Ses parents, anciens résidents de Québec, retournèrent au Bas-Canada avec leurs enfants en 1866 et s’établirent à Montréal. Tremayne fit des études à la St John’s School de Montréal [V. Edmund Wood*], et écrivit des poèmes et des nouvelles dès son jeune âge. Il travailla comme commis, notamment dans les magasins du chemin de fer du Grand Tronc à Montréal de 1892 à 1897 environ.

Dans les années 1890, et peut-être avant, Tremayne faisait du théâtre avec des troupes de répertoire locales et des troupes américaines qui se produisaient au Canada et aux États-Unis. Il acquit une certaine célébrité dans les tournées de la troupe de la vedette américaine James O’Neill. Sa première pièce en un acte, The notary, fut vendue en 1893 à Felix Morris, comédien-directeur américain (aucun exemplaire n’a été retrouvé). En collaboration avec Logan Fuller, il écrivit une comédie sur le thème de l’infidélité, Lost - 24 hours, produite en 1895 par le comédien-directeur Robert Hilliard au Hoyt’s Theatre de New York. Revue et annoncée sous le titre A New Yorker, elle fut présentée au même théâtre le 17 janvier 1898.

À partir de la fin des années 1890, Tremayne semble avoir vécu de sa plume et de son activité théâtrale ; ce fut probablement au cours de cette période qu’il travailla comme correspondant à Montréal du New York Dramatic Mirror. Il fit la connaissance du comédien Robert Bruce Mantell et écrivit au moins deux pièces expressément pour lui. La première, The secret warrant, récit romantique situé dans le Paris de 1720, fut produite à Montréal en 1898. La deuxième, The dagger and the cross, adaptation d’un roman du même titre de Joseph Hatton, fut publiée en 1899 et jouée à Toronto l’année suivante. Parmi les autres pièces datant de cette période figurent The rogue’s daughter, histoire joyeuse d’un père sans scrupules et de sa fille pleine d’esprit, mise en scène à Montréal en 1898, et A free lance, qui connut un succès considérable en Angleterre en 1901. The light of other days, drame se déroulant en Irlande et en France pendant la Révolution française, fut écrit en collaboration avec Irving Lincoln Hall ; la première eut lieu le 30 novembre 1903 au Haverley’s 14th Street Theatre de New York. En 1906, The triumph of Betty, comédie mélodramatique sur une jeune et saine Américaine à l’étranger, fut à l’affiche du New Russell Opera House à Ottawa, avec Adelaide Thurston dans le premier rôle. Avant 1912, Tremayne écrivit le livret d’une opérette intitulée The cavaliers, dont la musique fut composée par le chef d’orchestre montréalais Herbert Spencer* et qui fut présentée par la Lyric Operatic Society de Montréal. La pièce The black feather, jouée pour la première fois en 1916 au Grand Opera House de Toronto par le comédien-directeur Albert O. Brown, fut montée plus tard à Montréal, avec Basil Donn, ami de Tremayne, dans le rôle d’un officier de renseignements britannique pendant la Première Guerre mondiale. Elle fut publiée à Boston en 1918, sous le titre The man who went. La pièce The alien, mise en scène au New Russell Opera House les 13 et 14 septembre 1918, mettait en vedette Paul Cazeneuve [Georges Alba*] et sa femme, Orpha Alba, dans les rôles principaux. Cazeneuve traduirait en français au moins une des pièces de Tremayne.

Les années de gloire de Tremayne s’étendirent de la fin des années 1890 jusqu’en 1916 environ. Sa compréhension du théâtre commercial lui assura le succès comme dramaturge professionnel. Le grand public voulait des histoires romantiques, sentimentales et d’aventures, avec des tirades emphatiques et des exploits chevaleresques. Les comédiens populaires, tels que Mantell, attiraient les spectateurs et requéraient des pièces mettant en valeur leur style d’interprétation. Tremayne répondait à ce besoin en créant des œuvres au goût du jour. Il ne voulait pas être identifié comme un auteur strictement canadien ; il s’intéressait à un plus grand marché et ses pièces furent acclamées tant aux États-Unis et en Angleterre qu’au Canada. En 1912, Canadian men and women of the time [V. Henry James Morgan*] cita George Murray, rédacteur littéraire au Montreal Daily Star, pour dire que Tremayne était « le dramaturge le plus prolifique que le Canada ait produit jusqu’à maintenant ». Quatre ans plus tard, un chroniqueur anonyme du Saturday Night le désigna comme « le plus brillant de tous les dramaturges canadiens ».

Tout en poursuivant sa carrière de dramaturge, Tremayne avait également commencé à rédiger des scénarios de films. Il fut sous contrat pendant quelque temps avec la Vitagraph Company of America, l’une des entreprises de cinéma muet les plus réputées, à laquelle il devait fournir une comédie par semaine. Parmi ses créations les plus remarquables figurent Captain Jenks’ dilemma (1912), mettant en vedette le célèbre comédien John Bunny, et Ward’s claim (1914), court métrage western réalisé par Ulysses Davis. Dans une base de données du xxie siècle, Tremayne est cité comme l’auteur ou le coauteur de 77 scénarios de films produits aux États-Unis de 1911 à 1916, la plupart pour la Vitagraph Company of America.

Tremayne se fit aussi un nom en tant que directeur de troupes de théâtre amateur à Montréal. Nommé metteur en scène des Trinity Players en 1911, il occupa ce poste jusqu’en 1925. Il dirigea aussi les Weredale Players de l’église St Stephen, les Emmanuel Church Players, les Xmas Tree League Players de Saint-Lambert, la troupe de la Young Men’s-Young Women’s Hebrew Association, les Court Players, le Dicken’s Fellowship, les Community Players et les Little Theatre Players.

Il existe une vingtaine de pièces reconnues comme ayant été écrites par William Andrew Tremayne après 1916, mais peu d’entre elles furent mises en scène et aucun scénario ne semble avoir abouti à un film. Avec la disparition de la fonction de comédien-directeur, l’intérêt envers le travail de Tremayne déclina. Incapable d’adapter son style au nouveau courant réaliste, tant au théâtre qu’au cinéma, il prit sa retraite vers 1929. Il avait apparemment peu d’économies et survécut grâce au soutien d’amis et à la vente occasionnelle de textes pour la radio à Rupert Caplan, producteur de pièces de théâtre pour la Canadian Radio Broadcasting Commission, puis pour la Canadian Broadcasting Corporation. Il continua de promouvoir le théâtre amateur à Montréal. Avant 1900, il avait vécu avec sa sœur ; à partir de 1901, sinon plus tôt, il partagea un logement avec trois tantes, puis passa les dernières années de sa vie dans des chambres louées. Il mourut des suites d’une maladie qui dura deux ans, oublié du monde du théâtre. À son époque, il fut pourtant considéré comme l’un des dramaturges les plus connus et les plus prolifiques au Canada.

Murray D. Edwards

Quelques-unes des pièces de théâtre de William Andrew Tremayne sont conservées à la Univ. of Guelph Library, Arch. and Special Coll. (Guelph, Ontario), L. W. Conolly Theatre Arch., coll. 128 (Murray D. Edwards Theatre Hist. Coll.), mais un grand nombre de ses écrits originaux furent brûlés peu de temps après sa mort. Nous donnons un compte rendu de cette destruction dans notre article intitulé « A playwright from the Canadian past : W. A. Tremayne (1864–1939) », Hist. du théâtre au Canada (Toronto et Kingston, Ontario), 3 (1982) : 43–50. Le site Web « Internet Broadway database » mentionne plusieurs des pièces de Tremayne : www.ibdb.com (consulté le 9 juill. 2007). Sur le site Web « Internet movie database », accessible à l’adresse www.imdb.com (consulté le 9 juill. 2007), Tremayne figure comme auteur ou coauteur d’au moins 77 films muets produits entre 1911 et 1916.

BAC, R233-37-6, Montréal, quartier Saint-Laurent, subdist. A-31 : 1.— Église de Jésus-Christ des saints des derniers jours, Geneal. Soc., International geneal. index.— Gazette (Montréal), 4 déc. 1939.— Annuaire, Montréal, 1891–1939.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1912).— M. D. Edwards, A stage in our past, English-language theatre in eastern Canada from the 1790s to 1914 ([Toronto], 1968).— « Music and drama », Saturday Night (Toronto), 9 sept. 1916.— The New York Times theatre reviews, 1870–1919 (6 vol., New York, 1975), 3.— The Oxford companion to Canadian theatre, Eugene Benson et L. W. Conolly, édit. (Toronto, 1989).— Herbert Whittaker, Setting the stage : Montreal theatre, 1920–1949, Jonathan Rittenhouse, édit. (Montréal, 1999).— « William A. Tremayne », Variety (New York), 13 déc. 1939 : 54.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Murray D. Edwards, « TREMAYNE (Tremaine), WILLIAM ANDREW », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 26 mai 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/tremayne_william_andrew_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/tremayne_william_andrew_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Murray D. Edwards
Titre de l'article:   TREMAYNE (Tremaine), WILLIAM ANDREW
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   26 mai 2017