DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

RATTIER, JEAN – Volume II (1701-1740)

d. 21 May 1703 at the Hôtel-Dieu of Quebec

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Smithers, Charlotte (Learmont), social reformer; b. 25 Aug. 1845 in Waterford (Republic of Ireland), daughter of Charles Francis Smithers and Martha B. Sherman; m. 6 Dec. 1882 Joseph Bowles Learmont (d. 1914) in Montreal; they had no children; d. there 2 July 1934 and was buried in Mount Royal Cemetery.

Charlotte Smithers immigrated to Montreal with her family in 1847. Her father, an accountant with the Bank of British North America, provided a comfortable life for his wife and children. Seven years after their arrival he became a branch manager in Brantford, Ont., and after two and a half years there, they moved to Saint John. Charlotte received her early schooling in these locations. In 1858 Charles joined the Bank of Montreal and the Smithers family returned to that city where Charlotte attended Hannah Willard Lyman’s young ladies’ academy. Lyman, later principal of Vassar College in Poughkeepsie, N.Y., would be known for her commitment to fostering independence in privileged young women while ensuring that they maintained the standards of propriety that were expected of them. Charlotte’s education was completed in New York City, most likely in 1862–63 when her father headed the bank’s agency there. In the mid 1860s the family again spent several years in Montreal before they returned to New York City, where Charles set up as a private banker. By 1870 the family, with 11 children ranging from Charlotte, aged 24, to the youngest, aged 1, was living there with two servants. Charlotte presumably went back to Montreal with her parents and siblings when her father became general manager of the Bank of Montreal in 1879.

In 1882, at age 37, Charlotte Smithers married widower Joseph Bowles Learmont, who had an 8-year-old son, Holton Hamilton. A native Montrealer, Learmont was a partner in Caverhill, Learmont and Company Limited, a large and lucrative wholesale hardware business. His first wife, Amelia Jane Holton, a daughter of businessman and mp Luther Hamilton Holton*, had died in 1875, two years after their marriage. As his wealth and status had grown through fortunate business ventures and his marriage, Learmont became involved in numerous charitable endeavours and was a director of several organizations that served the community, including the Montreal General Hospital.

Charlotte and Joseph Learmont would have no children together. Freedom from many parental responsibilities and an elevated social position provided her with the time and the financial means to engage in a wide range of voluntary philanthropic activities. Judging traditional charities to be stopgap solutions to the symptoms of poverty, social reformers of the late 19th century were committed to the transformation of these bodies into efficient organizations that addressed the causes of societal problems through education and prevention. Maternal feminists such as Charlotte Learmont justified their social activism by arguing that if ever society was to achieve redemption, it needed what they considered to be women’s natural nurturing ability and superior morality.

Active in Montreal’s Young Women’s Christian Association, Learmont was treasurer, vice-president, and president. Her long years of service would earn her the position of honorary treasurer by 1899; by 1930 she was honorary president. One of her special contributions to the association was the creation of the Montreal Day Nursery in 1888 to care for the children of working mothers. She was involved in the formation of the Montreal Local Council of Women in 1893, and was its vice-president for many years. In 1900 the Local Council substituted a “presidential board,” a group of four or five women, for the position of president. Learmont sat on the first of these boards in 1900–1. In the late 1890s she and her husband had begun to play important roles in the Montreal branch of the Victorian Order of Nurses for Canada, she as chair of the ladies’ committee and he as a director. In 1900 both were among the incorporators of the Charity Organization Society, established to coordinate relief work in the city, and they would serve on the board of directors. In 1904 she founded the Montreal branch of the Needlework Guild of Canada, which provided clothing for the needy. That same year she was one of the prominent citizens who obtained the incorporation of the Parks and Playgrounds Association of Montreal. Her quest for a healthy and beautiful city led her to accept the vice-presidency of the City Improvement League, founded in 1909. She was also a member of the Themis Club, one of the first women’s social clubs in Canada, and of the Royal Montreal Golf Club.

Learmont was involved in the conceptualization and realization of two major expositions in Montreal. The first, the Montreal Tuberculosis Exhibition, was held from 18 to 29 Nov. 1908 and was visited by approximately 55,000 people, many of whom were children. The 12-day presentation was designed to educate through experience, with demonstrations, lectures by medical professionals, and many images related to tuberculosis. Visitors, who were admitted free of charge, could view three storeys of interactive displays which informed them that tuberculosis was both preventable and curable. A section explained the spread of the disease through an extensive collection of pathological specimens and X-rays, while the top floor was dedicated to life-size representations of healthy and unhealthy housing. In his opening address, Dr John George Adami, chairman of the exhibition committee, credited Learmont with being “the actual leader of this movement.” The following year the Montreal League for the Prevention of Tuberculosis affiliated with the newly established Royal Edward Institute, and Learmont became a director of the institute.

The second exposition, the Child Welfare Exhibit, which was much larger in scope, opened on 8 Oct. 1912 and continued for two weeks. Visited by close to half a million individuals and billed by the Gazette (Montreal) as the “greatest event of its kind ever attempted in the Dominion,” the CWE was the project of various social-welfare organizations, including the Victorian Order of Nurses, the Local Council of Women, the City Improvement League, and the Fédération Nationale Saint-Jean-Baptiste. Like the earlier exposition, it sought to educate the working classes on hygiene, housing, discipline, nutrition, and work. When Adami declared that the City Improvement League (of which he was president) was responsible for the success of the event, members of the Local Council of Women, including Learmont, were indignant. They took particular offence at Adami’s insinuation that, because the LCW represented only one sex, it could have produced only a “partial success” in such an endeavour. They responded by sending a letter to the press, claiming that the exhibit was the LCW’s idea and demanding an acknowledgement of the project’s cooperative nature.

With her husband, Learmont worshipped at Emmanuel Congregational Church, where he was superintendent of the Sunday school for two decades. After living on Mackay Street during the early years of their marriage, the couple commissioned prominent Montreal architect Edward Maxwell* to design a home for them in 1892. Erected in 1893–94 on McGregor Street (Dr Penfield Avenue), it was notable for Joseph’s library, considered one of the most sophisticated and diverse personal collections in Canada. He took a special interest in Canadian art and history and also had numerous valuable prints; his books and prints would be auctioned in 1918, after his death. In 1913 he purchased Quebec House in Westerham, England, the birthplace of James Wolfe*, with the intention of donating it to the Canadian government as a museum, but he died before the transaction was completed. Five years later Charlotte donated it to England’s National Trust and endowed it with a fund of $20,000 for the upkeep and another of $30,000 to acquire artefacts related to Wolfe and his life.

A talented, inspired, and productive woman, Charlotte Learmont was an extraordinary worker. Describing her personal motivation in the 1920s, she explained that she had “always been interested in the moral and spiritual betterment of humanity, through education and other uplifting influences, and particularly in preventive measures against disease.” She strongly believed in “the importance of training the young in the care of their health, morality, and in Love to God and their fellow creatures, which will make for the good of this and future generations.” She died in her home seven and a half weeks short of her 89th birthday.

Elizabeth Kirkland

BANQ-CAM, CE601-S91, 6 déc. 1882; P32, S1, SS1, D55; P653. LAC, R2866-0-6; R2915-0-7. Mount Royal Cemetery Company (Outremont, Quebec), Burial reg. “Les écoliers à l’exposition,” La Presse, 19 nov. 1908. Gazette (Montreal), 3 July 1934. “School children take possession of the exhibition,” Montreal Daily Star, 19 Nov. 1908. “The voice of the child cries out against you,” Montreal Daily Star, 19 Oct. 1912. W. H. Atherton, Montreal, 1534–1914 (3v., Montreal, 1914), 2, 3. Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan; 1912). Terry Copp, The anatomy of poverty: the condition of the working class in Montreal, 1897–1929 (Toronto, 1974). Merrill Denison, Canada’s first bank: a history of the Bank of Montreal (2v., Toronto and Montreal, 1966–67). Directory, Montreal, 1850–95. Micheline Dumont et al. (Le Collectif Clio), L’histoire des femmes au Québec depuis quatre siècles (éd. rév., Montréal, 1992). Valerie Minnett, “Disease and domesticity on display: the Montreal Tuberculosis Exhibition, 1908,” Canadian Bull. of Medical Hist. (Waterloo, Ont.), 23 (2006): 381–400. Prominent people of the province of Quebec, 1923–24 (Montreal, n.d.). François Rémillard and Brian Merrett, Mansions of the Golden Square Mile, Montreal, 1850–1930, trans. Joshua Wolfe (Montreal, 1987). The storied province of Quebec: past and present, ed. W. [C. H.] Wood et al. (5v., Toronto, 1931–32), 3: 14. Robert Sweeny, “Building for power: the Maxwell practice and the Montreal business community”: cac.mcgill.ca/maxwells/essay/04.htm (consulted 1 Feb. 2012). Mariana Valverde, The age of light, soap, and water: moral reform in English Canada, 1885–1925 (Toronto, 1991). Women of Canada (Montreal, 1930).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Elizabeth Kirkland, “SMITHERS, CHARLOTTE (Learmont),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed May 21, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/smithers_charlotte_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/smithers_charlotte_16E.html
Author of Article: Elizabeth Kirkland
Title of Article: SMITHERS, CHARLOTTE (Learmont)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: May 21, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

PARKIN, JOHN BUCKWORTH – Volume X (1871-1880)

décédé à Québec le 16 décembre 1875

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Smithers, Charlotte (Learmont), réformatrice sociale, née le 25 août 1845 à Waterford (république d’Irlande), fille de Charles Francis Smithers et de Martha B. Sherman ; le 6 décembre 1882, elle épousa à Montréal Joseph Bowles Learmont (mort en 1914), et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédée le 2 juillet 1934 au même endroit et inhumée au cimetière Mont-Royal à Outremont (Montréal).

Charlotte Smithers immigra à Montréal avec sa famille en 1847. Son père, comptable pour la Banque de l’Amérique septentrionale britannique, assura une vie confortable à sa femme et ses enfants. En 1854, il devint administrateur d’une succursale à Brantford, dans le Haut-Canada, puis, deux ans plus tard, emmena les siens vivre à Saint-Jean, au Nouveau-Brunswick. Charlotte alla à l’école primaire dans ces deux endroits. En 1858, Charles Francis entra à la Banque de Montréal et les Smithers retournèrent dans cette ville, où Charlotte fréquenta l’académie pour jeunes filles d’Hannah Willard Lyman. Cette dernière, qui dirigerait le Vassar College à Poughkeepsie, dans l’État de New York, serait reconnue pour son souci d’encourager l’indépendance des jeunes femmes de milieux privilégiés, tout en veillant à ce qu’elles maintiennent les standards de bienséance appropriés à leur rang. Charlotte termina ses études à New York, probablement en 1862–1863, quand son père y était directeur de l’agence de la banque. Au milieu des années 1860, les Smithers passèrent à nouveau plusieurs années à Montréal avant de retourner à New York, où Charles Francis s’établit comme banquier privé. En 1870, la famille, qui comprenait 11 enfants, de Charlotte âgée de 24 ans au benjamin âgé d’un an, y vivait avec deux domestiques. Charlotte revint sans doute à Montréal avec ses parents, ses frères et ses sœurs, quand son père devint directeur général de la Banque de Montréal en 1879.

En 1882, à 37 ans, Mlle Smithers épousa Joseph Bowles Learmont, veuf et père d’un fils de huit ans, Holton Hamilton. Natif de Montréal, Learmont était un associé au sein de la Caverhill, Learmont and Company Limited, grande et lucrative entreprise de quincaillerie en gros. Il avait perdu sa première femme, Amelia Jane Holton, fille de l’homme d’affaires et député Luther Hamilton Holton*, en 1875, deux ans après leur union. Learmont avait bâti sa fortune et atteint un rang social élevé grâce à des affaires prospères et à son mariage ; il s’engagea dans de nombreuses œuvres de charité et, à titre d’administrateur, dans plusieurs organisations communautaires, dont le Montreal General Hospital.

Charlotte et Joseph Bowles n’eurent pas d’enfants. L’absence d’obligations parentales et sa position sociale privilégiée laissèrent à Mme Learmont le temps et les moyens financiers de participer à une grande variété d’activités philanthropiques bénévoles. Parce qu’ils jugeaient que les œuvres caritatives traditionnelles ne constituaient que des palliatifs aux symptômes de la pauvreté, les réformistes sociaux de la fin du xixe siècle voulaient les transformer en organisations qui s’attaqueraient efficacement à la cause des problèmes sociaux par l’éducation et la prévention. Les adeptes du féminisme maternel, telle Charlotte Learmont, justifiaient leur activisme social en soutenant que si jamais la société obtenait sa rédemption, elle aurait besoin de ce qu’elles considéraient comme l’aptitude nourricière naturelle et la moralité supérieure des femmes.

Active dans l’Association chrétienne des jeunes femmes de Montréal, Mme Learmont en fut trésorière, vice-présidente et présidente. Ses longues années de service lui vaudraient le poste de trésorière honoraire en 1899 ; elle en serait présidente honoraire en 1930. Elle contribua à l’association notamment en établissant la Montreal Day Nursery, en 1888, pour prendre soin des enfants des mères au travail. Elle participa à la création du Local Council of Women (LCW) de Montréal en 1893 et en fut vice-présidente pendant de nombreuses années. En 1900, le LCW remplaça le poste de présidente par un « conseil présidentiel », formé de quatre ou cinq femmes ; Mme Learmont siégea au premier en 1900–1901. À la fin des années 1890, Mme Learmont et son mari avaient commencé à jouer des rôles importants dans la section montréalaise du Victorian Order of Nurses, respectivement à titre de présidente du comité des dames et d’administrateur. En 1900, ils participèrent à la constitution de la Charity Organization Society, mise en place pour coordonner les activités d’aide dans la ville, et firent ensuite partie du conseil d’administration. En 1904, elle créa la section montréalaise de la Needlework Guild of Canada, qui fournissait des vêtements aux nécessiteux. La même année, elle figura parmi les notables qui firent constituer officiellement la Parks and Playgrounds Association of Montreal. Sa quête d’une ville saine et belle l’amena à accepter la vice-présidence de la City Improvement League, fondée en 1909. Elle était aussi membre du Themis Club, un des premiers clubs sociaux pour femmes au Canada, et du Royal Montreal Golf Club.

Mme Learmont participa à la conception et à la réalisation de deux expositions de premier plan à Montréal. La première, l’Exposition anti-tuberculose, se tint du 18 au 29 novembre 1908 et attira environ 55 000 personnes, dont bon nombre d’enfants. D’une durée de 12 jours, l’exposition voulait éduquer de façon pratique, à l’aide de démonstrations, de conférences par des professionnels du corps médical et de nombreuses présentations visuelles. Les visiteurs, admis gratuitement, avaient accès à trois étages d’installations interactives qui montraient que l’on pouvait prévenir et guérir la tuberculose. Dans une partie, on expliquait la propagation de la maladie grâce à une vaste collection de spécimens pathologiques et de radiographies, et au dernier étage, on présentait des exemples grandeur nature d’habitations saines et malsaines. Dans son discours d’ouverture, le Dr John George Adami, président du comité de l’exposition, qualifia Mme Learmont de « véritable tête dirigeante du mouvement ». L’année suivante, la Montreal League for the Prevention of Tuberculosis, connue officieusement en français sous les noms de Ligue anti-tuberculeuse ou Ligue anti-tuberculose de Montréal, s’affilia au Royal Edward Institute, récemment créé, et Mme Learmont en devint une administratrice.

La deuxième exposition, l’Exposition pour le bien-être des enfants, d’une portée beaucoup plus ambitieuse, s’ouvrit le 8 octobre 1912 et se poursuivit pendant deux semaines. Visitée par près d’un demi-million de personnes et, selon la Gazette de Montréal, le « plus grand événement de sa catégorie jamais entrepris dans le dominion », elle fut rendue possible grâce à diverses organisations d’assistance sociale, dont le Victorian Order of Nurses, le LCW, la City Improvement League et la Fédération nationale Saint-Jean-Baptiste. Tout comme l’exposition précédente, elle visait à sensibiliser la classe ouvrière en matière d’hygiène, d’habitation, de discipline, de nutrition et de travail. Quand Adami déclara que la City Improvement League, qu’il présidait, était responsable du succès de l’événement, les membres du LCW, y compris Mme Learmont, s’indignèrent. L’insinuation d’Adami selon laquelle, parce qu’il ne représentait qu’un seul sexe, le LCW n’aurait pu obtenir qu’un « succès partiel » les offensa particulièrement. Elles répondirent par une lettre aux journaux où elles affirmaient que le LCW était à l’origine du projet et exigeaient la reconnaissance de sa nature coopérative.

Mme Learmont et son mari fréquentaient l’Emmanuel Congregational Church, où celui-ci fut surintendant de l’école du dimanche pendant deux décennies. Après avoir vécu dans la rue Mackay pendant les premières années de leur mariage, le couple engagea, en 1892, l’architecte montréalais bien en vue Edward Maxwell* pour concevoir les plans de leur nouvelle maison. Construite en 1893–1894 dans la rue McGregor (avenue Dr Penfield), elle était remarquable ; la bibliothèque de Joseph Bowles contenait, disait-on, l’une des collections personnelles les plus riches et raffinées au Canada. Ce dernier portait un intérêt spécial à l’art et à l’histoire canadiens, et possédait aussi de nombreuses gravures de grande valeur. Ses livres et ses gravures seraient mises aux enchères en 1918, après sa mort. En 1913, il acheta la Quebec House à Westerham, en Angleterre, lieu de naissance de James Wolfe*, avec l’intention de l’offrir au gouvernement canadien pour créer un musée, mais il disparut avant que la transaction ne soit terminée. Cinq ans plus tard, Mme Learmont en fit don au National Trust d’Angleterre et la dota de deux fonds : l’un de 20 000 $ pour les dépenses d’entretien et l’autre de 30 000 $ pour l’acquisition d’artefacts liés à Wolfe et à sa vie.

Femme talentueuse, inspirée et productive, Charlotte Learmont était une travailleuse extraordinaire. Dans les années 1920, elle expliqua qu’elle s’était « toujours intéressée à l’amélioration morale et spirituelle de l’humanité, grâce à l’éducation et autres influences édifiantes, et particulièrement aux mesures de prévention contre la maladie ». Elle croyait fortement en « l’importance d’enseigner aux jeunes le soin de leur santé et de leur moralité ainsi que l’amour de Dieu et de leurs semblables, propres à assurer le bien de cette [génération] et des générations futures ». Elle mourut dans sa maison sept semaines et demie avant son quatre-vingt-neuvième anniversaire.

Elizabeth Kirkland

BAC, R2866-0-6 ; R2915-0-7.— BAnQ-CAM, CE601-S91, 6 déc. 1882 ; P32, S1, SS1, D55 ; P653.— Compagnie du cimetière du Mont-Royal (Outremont [Montréal]), Burial reg.— « Les Écoliers à l’exposition », la Presse, 19 nov. 1908.— Gazette (Montréal), 3 juill. 1934.— « School children take possession of the exhibition », Montreal Daily Star, 19 nov. 1908.— « The voice of the child cries out against you », Montreal Daily Star, 19 oct. 1912.— Annuaire, Montréal, 1850–1895.— W. H. Atherton, Montreal, 1534–1914 (3 vol., Montréal, 1914), 2, 3.— Canadian men and women of the time (Morgan ; 1912).— Terry Copp, The anatomy of poverty : the condition of the working class in Montreal, 1897–1929 (Toronto, 1974).— Merrill Denison, la Première Banque au Canada : histoire de la Banque de Montréal, P.-A. Horguelin et J.-P. Vinay, trad. (2 vol., Toronto et Montréal, 1966–1967).— Micheline Dumont et al. (le Collectif Clio), l’Histoire des femmes au Québec depuis quatre siècles (éd. rév., Montréal, 1992).— Valerie Minnett, « Disease and domesticity on display : the Montreal Tuberculosis Exhibition, 1908 », Bull. canadien d’hist. de la médecine (Waterloo, Ontario), 23 (2006) : 381–400.— Prominent people of the province of Quebec, 1923–24 (Montréal, s.d.).— François Rémillard et Brian Merrett, Demeures bourgeoises de Montréal : le Mille carré doré, 1850–1930 (Montréal, 1986).— The storied province of Quebec : past and present, W. [C. H.] Wood et al., édit (5 vol., Toronto, 1931–1932), 3 : 14.— Robert Sweeny, « Building for power : the Maxwell practice and the Montreal business community » : cac.mcgill.ca/maxwells/essay/04.htm (consulté le 1er févr. 2012).— Mariana Valverde, The age of light, soap, and water : moral reform in English Canada, 1885–1925 (Toronto, 1991).— Women of Canada (Montréal, 1930).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Elizabeth Kirkland, « SMITHERS, CHARLOTTE (Learmont) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 16 déc. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/smithers_charlotte_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/smithers_charlotte_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Elizabeth Kirkland
Titre de l'article:   SMITHERS, CHARLOTTE (Learmont)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   16 décembre 2018