DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

PELLEGRIN, GABRIEL – Volume IV (1771-1800)

d. 19 June 1788 at Brest, France

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

SHORT, HARRY BERNARD, businessman and politician; b. 1 Sept. 1864 in Bear River, N.S., son of William H. Short and his second wife, Maria Clarke; m. 4 Oct. 1891 Flora Kathleen Robinson (d. 22 June 1950) in Hantsport, N.S.; they had no children; d. 14 April 1937 in St Petersburg, Fla.

Harry Short’s father emigrated from England to New Brunswick and worked as a lumber merchant in Saint John. After the death of his first wife, he married into the influential Clarke family of Bear River in 1859 and relocated there. The Clarkes’ interests included lumber, pulp, shipping, and general merchandising. Short died ten years later, and his widow moved with her young son, daughter, and stepchildren to the nearby bustling shire-town of Digby. There she set up Short’s Hotel, which she would run for the rest of her life.

Harry did not follow his mother into the hospitality industry but instead sought employment as an agent for the Bay of Fundy Steamship Company Limited, which operated vessels between Saint John, Digby, Annapolis Royal, N.S., and Boston. Short married in 1891. His mother died suddenly in 1895, the year he decided to become a wholesale fish merchant. He and Captain James Ellis formed Short and Ellis and continued in partnership for 14 years. They then sold the business to the Maritime Fish Corporation Limited when Short launched it in 1910 with Alfred H. Brittain and Harold George Connor. The new firm was based in Montreal; Short was manager of its substantial Digby operations. Maritime Fish was the first company in Atlantic Canada to consolidate successfully the harvesting, processing, and marketing of seafood, and it also introduced steam trawling on a large scale, which would revolutionize the industry.

Though he would not become an mp until 1925, Short was well connected and already had a great deal of political influence. In 1918 he was called upon to give evidence at the American-Canadian Fisheries Conference hearings. He is credited with persuading Ottawa to impose a 0.5 per cent tariff on fish imported from the United States and to lower rates for shipping fresh and processed seafood by rail from the east coast to central Canada. In the late 1920s he would witness the acquisition of the National Fish Company in Halifax by Maritime Fish to create the Maritime National Fish Company, a transaction that laid the groundwork for a merger with other enterprises in 1945 to form National Sea Products. He would also live to see Maritime National lose a case before the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council in 1935. The company was accused of being in breach of a boat-charter agreement and based its defence on “frustration of purpose” owing to a new licensing regulation. The JCPC determined that this argument was not relevant under the circumstances. The decision remains significant in contract law today.

Success as an independent businessman had encouraged Short to try his hand at municipal politics. He became a councillor in 1897 and was elected mayor for 1904–5 and each year from 1911 to 1914. When federal politics beckoned in 1925, he campaigned as a Conservative for Digby-Annapolis, turning out incumbent Liberal mp Lewis Johnstone Lovett. Short won again in 1926 and in 1930, when the Conservatives came to power under Richard Bedford Bennett*. In 1933 redistribution saw his riding combined with that held by Kentville Liberal lawyer James Lorimer Ilsley*. Short, who might have given Ilsley a run for his money, stood down in 1935; the Conservatives were trounced in the general election that October, every seat in Nova Scotia going to the Liberals.

By 1933 Short was retired from active business, though he still contributed to Maritime National in an advisory capacity. He and his wife spent the winter months in Florida, and it was there that he died suddenly of a heart attack in 1937. Short had adhered strictly to Baptist doctrines all his life, so it was not surprising that his principal beneficiary, other than his widow, was the Digby Baptist Church.

Harry Short exemplified the astute, civic-minded businessman who accumulated goodwill and parlayed it into a successful career in politics at both the municipal and federal levels. In 1936 he was considered prominent enough to be included in the first edition of “a ‘who’s who’ of the political, professional, commercial and moral leaders” of Nova Scotia.

Barry Cahill

Digby Justice Centre (Digby, N.S.), Probate registry, file A2709. LAC, R233-35-2, N.S., dist. Digby (15), subdist. Digby (C): 1. Digby Weekly Courier, 9 Oct. 1891, 20 Sept. 1895, 16 April 1937. American-Canadian Fisheries Conference, Hearings at Washington, D.C., January 21–25 … St. John, N.B., February 5–6 (Washington, 1918), 340–55. Can., House of Commons, Debates, 1925–35. Heritage remembered: the story of Bear River, ed. E. F. Hall (2nd ed., New Minas, N.S., 1998). Stephen Kimber, Net profits: the story of National Sea (Halifax, 1989). Leaders of Nova Scotia, 1936: a “who’s who” of the political, professional, commercial and moral leaders of the province, ed. R. B. Blauveldt (Yarmouth, N.S., 1936). Maritime National Fish Ltd v. Ocean Trawlers Ltd, [1935] Law Reports, Appeal Cases (London): 524–31 (Privy Council). Maritime reference book: biographical and pictorial record of prominent men and women of the Maritime provinces (Halifax, 1931). Mike Parker, Historic Digby: images of our past (Halifax, 2000). R. B. Powell, Scrap book: Digby town and municipality ([Digby, 1968]).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Barry Cahill, “SHORT, HARRY BERNARD,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed June 19, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/short_harry_bernard_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/short_harry_bernard_16E.html
Author of Article: Barry Cahill
Title of Article: SHORT, HARRY BERNARD
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: June 19, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

HORNBY, JOHN – Volume XV (1921-1930)

né le 21 septembre 1880 à Church Minshull, Angleterre

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

SHORT, HARRY BERNARD, homme d’affaires et homme politique, né le 1er septembre 1864 à Bear River, Nouvelle-Écosse, fils de William H. Short et de sa seconde femme, Maria Clarke ; le 4 octobre 1891, il épousa à Hantsport, Nouvelle-Écosse, Flora Kathleen Robinson (décédée le 22 juin 1950), et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédé le 14 avril 1937 à St Petersburg, Floride.

Le père de Harry Bernard Short quitta l’Angleterre pour s’installer au Nouveau-Brunswick et exerça le métier de commerçant de bois à Saint-Jean. Après la mort de sa première femme, il se maria en 1859 avec une fille de l’influente famille Clarke de Bear River, où il s’établit. Les champs d’activité des Clarke comportaient le bois de sciage, la pâte à papier, l’expédition et la vente de marchandises diverses. William H. Short mourut dix ans plus tard. Sa veuve partit vivre, avec leur jeune fils, leur fille et les enfants de Short issus de sa première union, à Digby, chef-lieu animé du comté du même nom. Elle y ouvrit le Short’s Hotel, qu’elle tiendrait jusqu’à la fin de sa vie.

Harry Bernard ne suivit pas sa mère dans l’industrie hôtelière et chercha plutôt un travail d’agent pour la Bay of Fundy Steamship Company Limited, qui faisait la liaison entre Saint-Jean, Digby, Annapolis Royal et Boston. Il se maria en 1891. Sa mère mourut subitement en 1895. Cette année-là, il décida de se faire poissonnier de gros. Le capitaine James Ellis et lui formèrent la Short and Ellis, et resteraient partenaires 14 ans. Ils vendirent ensuite l’entreprise à la Maritime Fish Corporation Limited, que Short lança officiellement en 1910 avec Alfred H. Brittain et Harold George Connor. Le siège de la nouvelle entreprise se trouvait à Montréal ; Short dirigeait les importantes activités commerciales de Digby. La Maritime Fish Corporation Limited fut la première entreprise des provinces de l’Atlantique qui réussit à réunir récolte, transformation et commercialisation des produits de la mer. Elle introduisit aussi la pêche au chalut à vapeur à grande échelle, ce qui révolutionnerait l’industrie.

Même s’il ne deviendrait pas député avant 1925, Short avait de nombreuses relations et, déjà, une influence politique considérable. En 1918, il fut appelé à témoigner aux audiences de la conférence américano-canadienne sur les pêcheries. On lui attribue le mérite d’avoir persuadé Ottawa d’imposer un tarif de 0,5 % sur le poisson importé des États-Unis et d’avoir abaissé le tarif sur l’expédition par train des produits de la mer, frais et transformés, de la côte est vers le centre du Canada. À la fin des années 1920, il fut témoin de l’acquisition de la National Fish Company, à Halifax, par la Maritime Fish Corporation Limited, pour créer la Maritime National Fish Company. Cette transaction servirait d’assise à une fusion avec d’autres entreprises en 1945 pour former la National Sea Products. Par ailleurs, il vit la Maritime National Fish Company perdre une cause devant le comité judiciaire du Conseil privé en 1935. L’entreprise était accusée de violation d’un accord d’affrètement et fonda sa défense sur la notion d’« inexécutabilité finalitaire » en raison d’un nouveau règlement concernant les permis. Le comité judiciaire établit que cet argument n’était pas pertinent dans les circonstances. La décision garderait un rôle important dans le droit contractuel.

Le succès de Short comme homme d’affaires indépendant l’avait poussé à tenter sa chance en politique municipale. Il devint conseiller municipal en 1897 avant d’être élu maire en 1904–1905 ainsi que chaque année de 1911 à 1914. Quand il fut invité à monter sur la scène politique fédérale, en 1925, il fit campagne en tant que candidat conservateur de Digby-Annapolis, l’emportant sur le député libéral sortant Lewis Johnstone Lovett. Il remporta encore la victoire en 1926 et en 1930, année où les conservateurs prirent le pouvoir avec Richard Bedford Bennett* à leur tête. En 1933, un redécoupage électoral fut à l’origine de la fusion de sa circonscription avec celle de l’avocat libéral de Kentville, James Lorimer Ilsley*. Short, qui aurait pu donner à Ilsley du fil à retordre, se retira en 1935 ; les conservateurs subirent une cuisante défaite aux élections générales d’octobre, tous les sièges de la Nouvelle-Écosse revenant aux libéraux.

En 1933, Short avait quitté le milieu des affaires, mais servait toujours de consultant pour la Maritime National Fish Company. Sa femme et lui passaient les mois d’hiver en Floride, et ce fut là qu’il mourut soudainement d’une crise cardiaque en 1937. Short avait adhéré strictement aux doctrines baptistes toute sa vie. Sans surprise, son bénéficiaire principal, après sa femme, fut l’église baptiste Digby.

Harry Bernard Short incarna l’homme d’affaires avisé, doté d’un esprit civique, qui sut accumuler un capital de relations et le réinvestir dans une brillante carrière politique municipale et fédérale. En 1936, on le considéra comme un personnage assez marquant pour l’inclure dans la première édition d’« un annuaire des leaders politiques, professionnels, commerciaux et moraux » de la Nouvelle-Écosse.

Barry Cahill

BAC, R233-35-2, Digby, N.-É., dist. 15, subdist. C, div. 1 : 1.— Digby Justice Centre, Probate registry, file A2709.— Digby Weekly Courier, 9 oct. 1891, 20 sept. 1895, 16 avril 1937.— American-Canadian Fisheries Conference, Hearings at Washington, D.C., January 21–25 […] St. John, N.B., February 5–6 (Washington, 1918), 340–355.— Canada, Chambre des communes, Débats, 1925–1935.— Heritage remembered : the story of Bear River, E. F. Hall, édit. (2e éd., New Minas, N.-É., 1998).— Stephen Kimber, Net profits : the story of National Sea (Halifax, 1989).— Leaders of Nova Scotia, 1936 : a “who’s who” of the political, professional, commercial and moral leaders of the province, R. B. Blauveldt, édit. (Yarmouth, N.-É., 1936).— Maritime National Fish Ltd c. Ocean Trawlers Ltd, [1935] Law Reports, Appeal Cases (Londres) : 524–531 (Conseil privé).— Maritime reference book : biographical and pictorial record of prominent men and women of the Maritime provinces (Halifax, 1931).— Mike Parker, Historic Digby : images of our past (Halifax, 2000).— R. B. Powell, Scrap book : Digby town and municipality ([Digby, 1968]).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Barry Cahill, « SHORT, HARRY BERNARD », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 sept. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/short_harry_bernard_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/short_harry_bernard_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Barry Cahill
Titre de l'article:   SHORT, HARRY BERNARD
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   21 septembre 2018