DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Ross, Katherine (Queen), socialist and feminist; b. 14 Feb. 1885 in Black Isle, Scotland, daughter of William Ross; m. 25 June 1908 John Queen* in Winnipeg, and they had three daughters and two sons; d. there 10 Sept. 1934.

Shortly after Katherine Ross’s birth, her parents relocated to Inverness, where she grew up. During her late teens she moved to Glasgow; there she made what would be a lifelong commitment to the labour movement. After joining labour and socialist circles in the city, she met her future husband, John Queen, a cooper.

Few details about their early years together survive. John travelled to Canada in 1906. Apparently impressed by the abundance of jobs in Winnipeg, he decided to settle there; he found work as a cooper for the Prairie City Oil Company. In 1907, at age 22, Katherine followed him to western Canada, and the couple married the following year. She soon became a moving force in the Social Democratic Party of Canada, which espoused a moderate, reform-oriented socialism. Under its banner her husband would be a successful candidate for alderman in the civic election of 1916. As he entered politics (he would later serve as mla and mayor), Katherine also set out to make her mark on her adopted city. During World War I she joined the Winnipeg branch of the Women’s Labor League, headed by Helen Armstrong [Jury*], and she fought for a minimum-wage law for women. Like such progressive Winnipeggers as Armstrong, Frederick John Dixon, and Francis Marion Beynon*, she opposed conscription. While she no doubt shared their general disdain for militarism, she had also experienced significant personal loss because of the war. As she explained in August 1917 to an audience of women assembled to support conscription, three of her brothers had been killed at the front and a fourth had entered military service, while “the men who make war” – meaning most politicians, industrialists, and other businessmen – “had not suffered.”

Concluding that social inequities were responsible for the hardships experienced by many working people, Katherine would be described in the Winnipeg Free Press as “a firm believer in the necessity of the cooperative commonwealth” and as having taken “a strenuous part in the fight” to achieve it after the war. She became a key organizer and president of the Labour Women of Greater Winnipeg. According to journalist Lillian Gibbons, one of this group’s goals was “to raise money for campaign expenses and to help the men [who ran for socialist and labour parties] at election time.” Though she assisted in coordinating bazaars, teas, and whist drives and she sold labour buttons and dollar bonds, she was a strong-minded individual who was not content to serve as an aide to men. As president of the Labour Women she pushed for the establishment of birth-control clinics and campaigned for a provincial program of medical insurance, government-run health facilities, and “equal opportunities and rewards for men and women.”

Apparently Katherine did not find her socialist convictions incompatible with eugenics. Although social and economic restructuring was important, the creation of positive change also involved ensuring that certain individuals did not reproduce. Thus, the Labour Women pressed for laws that would require men and women to undergo examinations and receive certificates of good health before they could marry and have children. To guarantee that persons with undesirable traits did not pass them on to future generations, under her presidency the organization supported the forced sterilization of those considered unfit.

When she was not preoccupied with the Labour Women, Katherine helped to set up young people’s groups to assist participants in articulating their concerns, and she taught at a labour Sunday school in Brooklands (Winnipeg) from just after the Winnipeg General Strike [see Mike Sokolowiski*] in June 1919 until the late 1920s or early 1930s. She was instrumental in starting a mothers’ allowance auxiliary, which aimed at helping poor women, particularly widows, obtain the allowances to which they were entitled. During the early years of the Great Depression she was part of a prairiewide effort to develop a political movement for “common people.” In an endeavour to launch this movement, she represented the Winnipeg–West End for the Independent Labor Party at a Calgary conference attended by farmer, labour, and socialist parties in 1932. Her change in political allegiance no doubt reflected that of her husband, who had become leader of the party in 1923. Like other delegates, she called for “the socialization of economic life in the country.”

Though the extent and range of Katherine Queen’s attempts to promote social justice throughout the early 20th century are impressive, they are particularly so in light of the fact that a heart condition hampered her from time to time. On 10 Sept. 1934 she collapsed, fell down a flight of stairs, and was taken to hospital, where she died of heart failure. As she had wished, a red flag was draped over her coffin.

Kurt Korneski

City of Winnipeg, Arch. and records control branch, Vert. files, John Queen. Man., Dept. of Tourism, Culture, Heritage, Sport and Consumer Protection, Vital statistics agency (Winnipeg), no.1934-036124; Legislative Library (Winnipeg), Biog. scrapbooks, B9: 201. Univ. of Man. Libraries, Dept. of Arch. and Special Coll. (Winnipeg), mss 24, Personality file, John Queen. Lillian Gibbons, “Mrs. Queen finds labor her dominating interest,” Winnipeg Tribune, 15 Oct. 1932. Winnipeg Free Press, 11 Sept. 1934. Winnipeg Tribune, 10 Sept. 1934. J. M. Bumsted, Dictionary of Manitoba biography (Winnipeg, 1999). “Katherine Queen,” in Brookside Cemetery: a celebration of life (2v. to date, Winnipeg, 2003–    ), 2: 69. Linda Kealey, Enlisting women for the cause: women, labour, and the left in Canada, 1890–1920 (Toronto, 1998). [George Siamandas], “John Queen, Winnipeg’s forgotten mayor,” in Brookside Cemetery: a celebration of life, 1: 71–72.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Kurt Korneski, “ROSS, KATHERINE (Queen),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 15, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ross_katherine_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/ross_katherine_16E.html
Author of Article: Kurt Korneski
Title of Article: ROSS, KATHERINE (Queen)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2014
Year of revision: 2014
Access Date: December 15, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CREASE, sir HENRY PERING PELLEW – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

né le 20 août 1823 au Ince Castle, près de Plymouth, Angleterre

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Ross, Katherine (Queen), socialiste et féministe, née le 14 février 1885 à Black Isle, Écosse, fille de William Ross ; le 25 juin 1908, elle épousa à Winnipeg John Queen*, et ils eurent trois filles et deux fils ; décédée le 10 septembre 1934 dans cette ville.

Peu après la naissance de Katherine Ross, ses parents partirent vivre à Inverness, en Écosse, où elle grandit. À la fin de l’adolescence, elle s’installa à Glasgow, où elle s’engagea dans le mouvement ouvrier, auquel elle resterait liée toute sa vie. Après s’être jointe aux cercles ouvriers et socialistes de la ville, elle rencontra son futur mari, John Queen, qui était tonnelier.

Il existe peu d’information sur les premières années de leur relation. John Queen se rendit au Canada en 1906. Apparemment impressionné par l’abondance de travail à Winnipeg, il décida de s’y établir ; il trouva un emploi de tonnelier pour la Prairie City Oil Company. En 1907, à l’âge de 22 ans, Katherine le suivit dans l’Ouest du Canada et le couple se maria l’année suivante. Elle devint rapidement une figure influente du Parti social-démocrate du Canada, lequel épousait un socialisme modéré et axé sur la réforme. Son mari serait élu conseiller aux élections municipales de 1916 sous l’égide de ce parti. Tandis que ce dernier s’engageait dans l’arène politique (il deviendrait député provincial et maire), Mme Queen entreprit également de s’imposer dans sa ville adoptive. Au cours de la Première Guerre mondiale, elle se joignit à la section de Winnipeg de la Women’s Labor League, dirigée par Helen Armstrong [Jury*], et milita pour la création d’une loi sur un salaire minimum pour les femmes. À l’instar d’autres Winnipegois progressistes, dont Mme Armstrong, Frederick John Dixon et Francis Marion Beynon*, elle s’opposait à la conscription. Elle partageait sans équivoque leur dédain général pour le militarisme ; de plus, elle avait vécu des deuils importants à cause de la guerre. Comme elle le raconta en août 1917 à une assemblée de femmes pour appuyer la conscription, après que trois de ses frères eurent été tués au front et quun quatrième eut commencé son service militaire, « les hommes qui cré[aient] la guerre », c’est-à-dire la plupart des hommes politiques, industriels et autres hommes d’affaires, « n’avaient pas souffert ».

Mme Queen avait conclu que les inégalités sociales étaient la source de la misère vécue par de nombreux ouvriers. Ainsi, le Winnipeg Free Press la décrirait comme une personne « fermement convaincue de la nécessité de la coopération communautaire » et ayant participé « avec acharnement à la lutte » afin de concrétiser cette aspiration après la guerre. Elle devint l’une des principales organisatrices et la présidente de la Labour Women of Greater Winnipeg. Selon la journaliste Lillian Gibbons, l’un des objectifs de ce groupe était de « recueillir des fonds pour les dépenses électorales et aider les hommes [qui étaient candidats pour des partis socialistes et ouvriers] au moment des élections ». Même si Mme Queen participait à l’organisation d’activités de financement telles que des bazars, des thés, des tournois de whist, la vente de macarons et d’obligations, elle était une femme déterminée qui ne se contentait pas d’être au service des hommes. À titre de présidente de la Labour Women of Greater Winnipeg, elle préconisa l’ouverture de cliniques de régulation des naissances ; de plus, elle milita pour la création d’un programme provincial d’assurance médicale pour des établissements de santé administrés par le gouvernement, ainsi que pour « l’égalité [en matière] d’accès à l’emploi et de reconnaissance au travail pour les hommes et les femmes ».

Apparemment, pour Mme Queen, les convictions socialistes n’étaient pas incompatibles avec l’eugénique. La restructuration sociale et économique était importante, mais, pour arriver à des changements positifs, il fallait également s’assurer que certains individus ne se reproduisent pas. Ainsi, la Labour Women of Greater Winnipeg réclamait des lois qui obligeraient les hommes et les femmes à passer des examens médicaux et à obtenir un certificat attestant leur bonne santé avant de pouvoir se marier et avoir des enfants. Pour faire en sorte que les personnes dotées de caractéristiques indésirables ne les transmettent pas aux générations futures, l’organisme, sous la présidence de Mme Queen, recommandait la stérilisation forcée des gens déclarés inaptes.

Quand Mme Queen ne se consacrait pas à la Labour Women of Greater Winnipeg, elle prenait part à la fondation de groupes de jeunes ayant comme objectif d’aider les participants à exprimer leurs préoccupations. Elle enseigna aussi dans une école du dimanche pour la classe ouvrière à Brooklands (Winnipeg), du lendemain de la grève générale de Winnipeg [V. Mike Sokolowiski*], en juin 1919, jusqu’à la fin des années 1920 ou au début des années 1930. Elle contribua à la mise sur pied d’une équipe de bénévoles pour aider les femmes pauvres, en particulier les veuves, à obtenir les allocations maternelles auxquelles elles avaient droit. Durant les premières années de la grande dépression, Mme Queen et des militants de partout dans les Prairies s’efforcèrent de créer un mouvement politique pour « les gens ordinaires ». Ce fut dans ce but qu’en 1932 elle représenta le West End de Winnipeg pour l’Independent Labor Party à un congrès réunissant à Calgary des partis agricoles, ouvriers et socialistes. Ce changement d’allégeance politique découlait sans aucun doute de celui de son mari, qui était devenu chef du parti en 1923. Comme d’autres délégués, elle exigeait « la socialisation de la vie économique dans le pays ».

L’ampleur et la diversité des efforts fournis par Katherine Queen pour promouvoir la justice sociale au début du xxe siècle sont impressionnantes, d’autant plus qu’elle souffrait d’une affection cardiaque qui l’incommodait de temps à autre. Le 10 septembre 1934, elle eut un grave malaise et tomba dans un escalier. Elle fut conduite à l’hôpital, où elle mourut d’une insuffisance cardiaque. Selon ses souhaits, on plaça un drapeau rouge sur son cercueil.

Kurt Korneski

Manitoba, Legislative Library (Winnipeg), Biog. scrapbooks, B9 : 201 ; Ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture, du Patrimoine, du Sport et de la Protection du consommateur, Bureau de l’état civil (Winnipeg), no 1934-036124.— Univ. of Manitoba Libraries, Dept. of Arch. and Special Coll. (Winnipeg), mss 24, Personality file, John Queen.— Ville de Winnipeg, Dir. des arch. et des doc. publics, Vert. files, John Queen.— Lillian Gibbons, « Mrs. Queen finds labor her dominating interest », Winnipeg Tribune, 15 oct. 1932.— Winnipeg Free Press, 11 sept. 1934.— Winnipeg Tribune, 10 sept. 1934.— J. M. Bumsted, Dictionary of Manitoba biography (Winnipeg, 1999).— « Katherine Queen », dans Brookside Cemetery : a celebration of life (2 vol. parus, Winnipeg, 2003–    ), 2 : 69.— Linda Kealey, Enlisting women for the cause : women, labour, and the left in Canada, 1890–1920 (Toronto, 1998).— [George Siamandas], « John Queen, Winnipeg’s forgotten mayor », dans Brookside Cemetery : a celebration of life, 1 : 71–72.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Kurt Korneski, « ROSS, KATHERINE (Queen) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 août 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/ross_katherine_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/ross_katherine_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Kurt Korneski
Titre de l'article:   ROSS, KATHERINE (Queen)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2014
Année de la révision:   2014
Date de consultation:   20 août 2017