DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_new_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_updated_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_sidebar_bio_of_the_day_caption

ROSS, Sir JAMES CLARK – Volume IX (1861-1870)

b. 15 April 1800, possibly in Scotland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

EN:UNDEF:public_special_conferences_1864_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_essays_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_acadians_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_explorers_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_war_of_1812_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_wartime_pms_caption

EN:UNDEF:public_special_ww1_caption

RODRIGUE, JEAN-BAPTISTE (sometimes called Jean de Fonds (Fond)), king’s pilot, fisherman, merchant, churchwarden of Louisbourg parish; b. apparently in the 1670s in Portugal, probably at Viana do Castelo, son of Jean de Fond and Anne Manet; d. between 15 Sept. and 16 Nov. 1733 at Quebec.

Rodrigue probably came to Acadia after 1700; in 1707 he married Anne, daughter of Alexandre Le Borgne* de Belle-Isle and Marie de Saint-Étienne de La Tour, both of prominent Acadian families. Rodrigue and his wife had at least eight children.

Rodrigue served as king’s pilot at Port-Royal (Annapolis Royal, N.S.) as late as March 1709. By August 1710 he had moved to Placentia (Plaisance) whence he made raids on British shipping and engaged in trade. While cruising in Acadian waters in October 1710, he met the English invasion fleet led by Francis Nicholson, and it was he who dispatched messengers to Port-Royal with the news. In March 1712, Rodrigue was still engaged in trade at Placentia. He then served as a pilot at Dunkirk, as later reported by Le Normant* de Mézy, presumably sometime between the latter date and November 1713, when he is referred to as a merchant of Quebec. In 1714 he settled at Louisbourg in the new French colony of Île Royale (Cape Breton Island). After assisting in the evacuation of Placentia, ceded to Great Britain in 1713, Rodrigue prospered in fishing, coasting, and local trade. The censuses and the admiralty records of Île Royale give an idea of Rodrigue’s involvement in fishing and trade; he had only one employee in 1715, 20 in 1716, 15 in 1717, 20 in 1720, and 30 in 1724. At the time of his death in 1733 he was one of the principal merchants of the colony.

Following his death, which occurred while he was in Quebec on business in the fall of 1733, his widow and two eldest sons, Michel and Pierre, carried on the family enterprise. In 1738 his widow married Jean Duperié (or Duperier) of Louisbourg, who in 1731 had been first mate on a fishing vessel from Saint-Jean-de-Luz.

Bernard Pothier

Archives de la Charente-Maritime (La Rochelle), Amirauté de Louisbourg, B 265, B 266–67, B 268, ff.160–64; B 277. AN, Col., C11B, 1–14; C11C, 7, ff.54ff.; 15; Section Outre-Mer, G1, 406, 467; G3, 2040, 15 May 1707, 17 March 1709; 2046; 2054, pièce 52, 14 Aug. 1710; pièce 55, 18 Aug. 1710; 2055, pièce 2, 22 Feb. 1712; pièce 118, 16 [Nov.] 1713. PANS, MS docs., XXVI (parish register of Port-Royal), 21.

General Bibliography

Citations

EN:UNDEF:public_citation_style_default

Information to be used in other citation formats

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/rodrigue_jean_baptiste_2E.html
Author of Article:   Bernard Pothier
Title of Article:   RODRIGUE, JEAN-BAPTISTE
Publication Name:   EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publication, vol. 2
Publication Details:   EN:UNDEF:public_citation_publisher, 1969
Year of publication:   1969
Year of revision:   1982
Access Date:   April 15, 2021

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

RODRIGUE, JEAN-BAPTISTE (appelé quelquefois Jean de Fonds (Fond)), pilote du roi, pêcheur, marchand, marguillier de la paroisse de Louisbourg ; né selon toute apparence entre 1670 et 1680 au Portugal, vraisemblablement à Viana do Castelo, fils de Jean de Fond et d’Anne Manet, décédé entre le 15 septembre et le 16 novembre 1733, à Québec.

Rodrigue est sans doute arrivé en Acadie après 1700. En 1707 il épousait Anne Le Borgne dont les parents, Alexandre Le Borgne* de Belle-Isle et Marie de Saint-Étienne de La Tour, appartenaient à d’éminentes familles acadiennes. Rodrigue et sa femme eurent au moins huit enfants.

En mars 1709, Rodrigue remplissait encore la fonction de pilote du roi à Port-Royal (Annapolis Royal, N.-É.) mais dès août 1710 il était installé à Plaisance (Placentia) où il faisait du commerce et d’où il partait pour aller piller les navires anglais. Alors qu’il naviguait au large de l’Acadie, en octobre 1710, il rencontra la flotte d’invasion anglaise commandée par Francis Nicholson et c’est lui qui fit porter la nouvelle à Port-Royal. En mars 1712, Rodrigue faisait toujours du commerce à Plaisance. Comme le prouve un rapport ultérieur de Le Normant* de Mézy, il servit ensuite à titre de pilote à Dunkerque, selon toute vraisemblance entre mars 1712 et novembre 1713 puisque les documents le désignent à cette date comme marchand de Québec. Il alla s’installer à Louisbourg dans la nouvelle colonie française de l’île Royale (île du Cap-Breton) en 1714. On sait qu’il aida à l’évacuation de Plaisance qui avait été cédée à l’Angleterre en 1713. Par la suite, ses affaires prospérèrent alors qu’il s’occupait de pêche, de cabotage et de commerce local. Les recensements et les archives de l’Amirauté de l’île Royale nous renseignent sur l’évolution de ses entreprises, du moins en ce qui concerne la pêche et le commerce : il n’avait qu’une personne à son emploi en 1715, 20 en 1716, 15 en 1717, 20 en 1720 et 30 en 1724. À sa mort, il était un des principaux marchands de la colonie.

Après sa mort, survenue au cours d’un voyage d’affaires à Québec à l’automne de 1733, sa femme et deux de ses fils, Michel et Pierre, administrèrent l’entreprise familiale. En 1738, sa veuve épousa Jean Duperié (ou Duperier) de Louisbourg. Ce Duperié avait été second sur un navire de pêche de Saint-Jean-de-Luz en 1731.

Bernard Pothier

Archives de la Charente-Maritime (La Rochelle), Amirauté de Louisbourg, B 265 ; B 266s, ; B 268, ff.160–164 ; B 277.— AN, Col., C11B, 1–14 ; Col., C11C, 7, ff.54ss ; 15 ; Section Outre-Mer, G1, 406, 467 ; Section Outre-Mer, G3, 2 040, 15 mai 1707, 17 mars 1709 ; 2 046 ; 2 054, pièce 52, 14 août 1710 ; pièce 55, 18 août 1710 ; 2 055, pièce 2, 22 févr. 1712 ; pièce 118, 16 [nov.] 1713.— PANS, mss docs., XXVI (registre paroissial de Port-Royal), 21,

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Bernard Pothier, « RODRIGUE, JEAN-BAPTISTE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 29 juill. 2014, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rodrigue_jean_baptiste_2F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/rodrigue_jean_baptiste_2F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Bernard Pothier
Titre de l'article:   RODRIGUE, JEAN-BAPTISTE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 2
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1969
Année de la révision:   1969
Date de consultation:   29 juillet 2014