DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

OLAND, JOHN CULVERWELL, brewer, businessman, and politician; b. 17 Dec. 1849 in Trowbridge, England, son of John James Dunn Oland and Susannah Woodhouse Culverwell; m. first 13 Dec. 1876 Sarah Ann Ruggles (d. 27 Feb. 1915) in Weymouth, N.S., and they had six children; m. secondly 28 Sept. 1917 Emma Mary Ryan, widow of Thomas W. Casey, in Halifax; they had no children; d. 20 July 1937 in Saint John.

The Oland family emigrated to Nova Scotia in the mid 1860s. John J. D. Oland, the son of a solicitor, had failed to make his way in the world, despite marrying above his station into minor gentry. Seemingly a jack of all trades and master of none, he had most recently attempted to become a gentleman farmer when, in 1862, he left England for Truro, N.S. He worked there for the Nova Scotia Railway and then obtained a post in the Crown Lands office in Halifax. Finally, in 1867, with the financial assistance of other partners, he founded a brewery in Dartmouth as John Oland and Company.

Two years earlier he had returned to England to bring out his wife and their seven surviving children, among whom was John Culverwell. Nearly 18 years of age when the brewery was set up, John Jr had his career path determined by the partnership agreement, which stipulated that the three Oland sons then old enough to work would find employment in the business. After his father died in 1870, John assumed management of the operation. Three years later a new partnership, Fraser, Oland, and Company, was established, made up of George Fraser, former manager of Alexander Keith*’s brewery, John Oland, his younger brother Conrad George, and William Lowe, a grocer. In recognition of the large military presence in Halifax, the firm promoted itself as the Army and Navy Brewery. In 1877, after John’s widowed mother, Susannah, had reportedly received an inheritance from relatives in England, she purchased Fraser’s share, and the name of the business was changed to S. Oland, Sons, and Company. By this time it had an office and vaults in Halifax as well as its manufacturing works in Dartmouth. A fire levelled the brewery, as well as John’s house, on 6 Aug. 1878, but a new brick building was soon erected, and the business fully recovered within a year and a half.

As early as 1879 John C. Oland also tried his hand at municipal politics, serving as an alderman in Dartmouth. Between 1892 and 1894 he would be mayor of the town. He was the only member of the family to undertake any form of public service until his great-nephew, Victor de Bedia Oland, became lieutenant governor of Nova Scotia in 1968. A freemason, member of the St George’s Society, and captain of No.4 Battery of the 1st Halifax Garrison Artillery Brigade, John Oland was also active in Christ Church (Anglican) in Dartmouth as a vestryman and churchwarden. His commercial interests were not confined to brewing. In 1891 he was among the promoters and directors of the McDougall Distilling Company Limited.

He was generally more concerned with manufacturing and technological innovation than the marketing and entrepreneurial side of the brewing industry. In 1893 he and his youngest brother, George Woodhouse Culverwell, together with merchant John H. Bauld, George’s father-in-law, incorporated the Oland family business by legislative charter as the Maritime Brewing and Malting Company Limited; John became president and George vice-president and managing director. Two years later an English syndicate, Halifax Breweries Limited, consolidated four breweries in Halifax and one in Charlottetown. The Olands sold out to the new concern, taking shares in consideration, and John was appointed its manager. He held this post until 1901, when, barred from entering into direct competition with his employer, he left to work as a commission merchant specializing in brewing ingredients, supplies, and equipment. He then moved to Sydney. There he established a brewery that ultimately failed because he was unable to obtain a manufacturing licence from the federal government. In 1906–7 he was in Port of Spain (Republic of Trinidad and Tobago) managing a brewery. He spent the next few years in Ontario overseeing operations for the Port Hope Brewing and Malting Company.

In February 1915 Oland’s wife died of cancer in Peterborough, and he returned to Nova Scotia, finding employment as manager and master brewer at the plant in north-end Halifax that his brother George had purchased in 1909. He remarried in September 1917; his bride, Emma Casey, was a wealthy Irish Roman Catholic widow. In December that year his brother Conrad, a master brewer working for the English syndicate at the former family plant, was killed in the Halifax explosion, he himself was severely injured, and the Oland works were destroyed. After George purchased the Red Ball Brewery in New Brunswick to replace the one lost in the explosion, John moved to Saint John in 1918 to serve as master brewer. He retired in 1931 but remained in the city, living on a monthly pension.

John C. Oland had always been the technician in the family. It fell to his entrepreneurial brother George to run the business, which he did with spectacular success. Surviving his younger sibling by four years, John lived long enough to see the Oland family and business split into two feuding branches, based in Saint John and Halifax, but he played no part in the genesis of the dispute or in its outcome.

Barry Cahill

John Culverwell Oland left no will or estate-settlement file. The few personal papers that survive are in the possession of Jennifer Paterson of Chester, N.S., great-granddaughter of George Woodhouse Culverwell Oland and the Oland family’s unofficial historian and archivist. Records of the family business during J. C. Oland’s time are held by DUA in the Oland and Son and Affiliated Companies fonds (MS-4-135).

Acadian Recorder (Halifax), 7 Aug. 1878. Dartmouth Patriot (Dartmouth, N.S.), 1901–37. Evening Times-Globe (Saint John), 1918–37. Morning Chronicle (Halifax), 7 Feb. 1877. M. J. Bellamy, “The Canadian brewing industry’s response to Prohibition, 1874–1920,” Brewery Hist. (Longfield, Eng.), 132 (2009): 2–17. Can., Royal commission on the liquor traffic in Can., Minutes of evidence (6v., Ottawa, 1893–95), 1–5. Jan Forster, “The Maritime Olands,” Chatelaine (Toronto), 47 (1974), no.5: 40–41, 52–54, 56, 58; no.6: 30–31, 48–50, 52–53; no.7: 28–29, 48–51. G. B. Haliburton, What’s brewing: Oland, 1867–1971, a history (Tantallon, N.S., 1994). Craig Heron, Booze: a distilled history (Toronto, 2003). K. L. Johnston, “The Halifax drink trade, 1870–1895” (ba thesis, Dalhousie Univ., Halifax, 1977). Harvey Sawler, Last Canadian beer: the Moosehead story (Halifax, 2008). A. W. Sneath, Brewed in Canada: the untold story of Canada’s 350-year-old brewing industry (Toronto, 2001).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Barry Cahill, “OLAND, JOHN CULVERWELL,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 17, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/oland_john_culverwell_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/oland_john_culverwell_16E.html
Author of Article: Barry Cahill
Title of Article: OLAND, JOHN CULVERWELL
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: November 17, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

ULOQSAQ – Volume XV (1921-1930)

décédé le 24 septembre 1929 à l’établissement de Coppermine (Kugluktuk, Nuvavut)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

OLAND, JOHN CULVERWELL, brasseur, homme d’affaires et homme politique, né le 17 décembre 1849 à Trowbridge, Angleterre, fils de John James Dunn Oland et de Susannah Woodhouse Culverwell ; le 13 décembre 1876, il épousa à Weymouth, Nouvelle-Écosse, Sarah Ann Ruggles (décédée le 27 février 1915), et ils eurent six enfants, puis le 28 septembre 1917, à Halifax, Emma Mary Ryan, veuve de Thomas W. Casey, et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédé le 20 juillet 1937 à Saint-Jean, Nouveau-Brunswick.

La famille Oland immigra en Nouvelle-Écosse au milieu des années 1860. John James Dunn Oland, fils de solicitor, n’avait pas réussi à se faire une place dans le monde, même s’il avait épousé une femme de la petite gentry, condition sociale supérieure à la sienne. Apparemment touche-à-tout, il avait très récemment tenté de devenir gentleman-farmer quand, en 1862, il quitta l’Angleterre pour s’établir à Truro, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il y travailla pour le Nova Scotia Railway et obtint ensuite un poste au département des Terres de la couronne, à Halifax. Enfin, en 1867, avec l’aide financière d’autres associés, il fonda à Dartmouth une brasserie appelée John Oland and Company.

Deux ans auparavant, Oland était retourné en Angleterre pour ramener sa femme et leurs sept enfants survivants, dont John Culverwell. Âgé de près de 18 ans à la fondation de la brasserie, ce dernier vit sa carrière toute tracée par l’accord de partenariat selon lequel les trois fils Oland alors en âge de travailler trouveraient un emploi dans l’entreprise. Après la mort de son père, en 1870, John prit en main la gestion de la brasserie. Trois ans plus tard, George Fraser, ancien directeur de la brasserie d’Alexander Keith*, John Culverwell Oland, son frère cadet Conrad George et William Lowe, épicier, formèrent un nouveau partenariat, la Fraser, Oland, and Company. En reconnaissance de l’importante présence militaire à Halifax, l’entreprise s’annonçait comme l’« Army and Navy Brewery ». En 1877, après que la mère de John, Susannah Woodhouse Culverwell, alors veuve, eut reçu, dit-on, un héritage de parents en Angleterre, elle acheta les actions de George Fraser, et la firme prit le nom de S. Oland, Sons, and Company. À cette époque, la société possédait déjà un bureau et des chambres fortes à Halifax, ainsi que des installations de production à Dartmouth. Un incendie rasa la brasserie ainsi que la maison de John le 6 août 1878, mais on érigea bientôt un nouveau bâtiment de briques, et l’entreprise se redressa entièrement en un an et demi.

Dès 1879, Oland tenta aussi sa chance en politique municipale en occupant un poste de conseiller à Dartmouth. De 1892 à 1894, il serait maire de la ville. Il fut le seul membre de la famille à accéder à la fonction publique jusqu’à ce que son petit-neveu, Victor de Bedia Oland, soit nommé lieutenant-gouverneur de la Nouvelle-Écosse en 1968. Franc-maçon, membre de la St George’s Society et capitaine de la No. 4 Battery de la 1st Halifax Garrison Artillery Brigade, John était également membre actif de la Christ Church (église anglicane), à Dartmouth, dont il était conseiller paroissial et marguillier. Ses intérêts commerciaux ne se limitaient pas à la brasserie. En 1891, il faisait partie des promoteurs et des administrateurs de la McDougall Distilling Company Limited.

En général, Oland se préoccupait davantage de la production et de l’innovation technologique que de la mise en marché et de l’aspect entrepreneurial de l’industrie brassicole. En 1893, son frère cadet, George Woodhouse Culverwell, et lui, en collaboration avec le marchand John H. Bauld, beau-père de George, constituèrent en société l’entreprise familiale des Oland par charte législative sous le nom de Maritime Brewing and Malting Company Limited. John en devint président, et George vice-président et administrateur délégué. Deux ans plus tard, un consortium anglais, la Halifax Breweries Limited, fusionna quatre brasseries de Halifax et une autre de Charlottetown. Les Oland vendirent leurs intérêts à la nouvelle société, mais devinrent actionnaires en guise de compensation ; John fut nommé directeur. Il exerça ces fonctions jusqu’en 1901, année où, empêché d’entrer en concurrence directe avec son employeur, il partit pour occuper un poste de marchand commissionnaire spécialisé dans les ingrédients, les fournitures et l’équipement de brasserie. Il s’installa ensuite à Sydney. Il y établit une brasserie qui finit par déposer son bilan parce qu’il fut incapable d’obtenir un permis de production du gouvernement fédéral. En 1906–1907, il géra une brasserie à Port of Spain (république de Trinité-et-Tobago). Il passa les quelques années suivantes en Ontario à superviser les activités de la Port Hope Brewing and Malting Company.

En février 1915, la femme d’Oland mourut d’un cancer à Peterborough. John retourna en Nouvelle-Écosse, où il trouva un emploi de gestionnaire et maître brasseur de l’usine située à l’extrémité nord de Halifax, que son frère George avait achetée en 1909. Il se remaria en septembre 1917. Sa femme, Emma Mary Casey, était une riche veuve irlandaise catholique. En décembre de cette année-là, son frère Conrad George, maître brasseur travaillant pour le consortium anglais à l’ancienne usine de la famille, périt dans l’explosion de Halifax. John subit de graves blessures, et les installations des Oland furent détruites. Après que George eut acheté la Red Ball Brewery Limited au Nouveau-Brunswick pour remplacer la brasserie perdue lors de l’explosion, John s’installa à Saint-Jean en 1918 à titre de maître brasseur. Il prit sa retraite en 1931, mais resta dans la ville, subsistant grâce à une pension mensuelle.

John Culverwell Oland avait toujours été le technicien de la famille. Il incombait à son frère George, qui avait l’esprit d’entreprise, de diriger la société, ce qu’il fit avec un succès spectaculaire. Survivant de quatre ans à son frère cadet, John vécut assez longtemps pour voir la famille et l’entreprise Oland se diviser en deux branches ennemies, l’une établie à Saint-Jean et l’autre à Halifax, mais il ne joua aucun rôle dans la genèse du conflit ni dans son dénouement.

Barry Cahill

John Culverwell Oland n’a laissé aucun testament ni de dossier de règlement de succession. Les quelques papiers personnels qui ont subsisté sont en possession de Jennifer Paterson, de Chester, N.-É., arrière-petite-fille de George Woodhouse Culverwell Oland et historienne archiviste non officielle de la famille Oland. Des dossiers de l’entreprise familiale à l’époque de John sont déposés aux DUA, dans l’Oland and Son and Affiliated Companies fonds (MS-4-135).

Acadian Recorder (Halifax), 7 août 1878.— Dartmouth Patriot (Dartmouth, N.-É.), 1901–1937.— Evening Times-Globe (Saint-Jean, N.-B.), 1918–1937.— Morning Chronicle (Halifax), 7 févr. 1877.— M. J. Bellamy, « The Canadian brewing industry’s response to Prohibition, 1874–1920 », Brewery Hist. (Longfield, Angleterre), 132 (2009) : 2–17.— Canada, Commission royale d’enquête sur le commerce de l’alcool au Canada, Minutes of evidence (6 vol., Ottawa, 1893–1895), 1–5.— Jan Forster, « The Maritime Olands », Chatelaine (Toronto), 47 (1974), no 5 : 40–41, 52–54, 56, 58 ; no 6 : 30–31, 48–50, 52–53 ; no 7 : 28–29, 48–51.— G. B. Haliburton, What’s brewing : Oland, 1867–1971, a history (Tantallon, N.-É., 1994).— Craig Heron, Booze : a distilled history (Toronto, 2003).— K. L. Johnston, « The Halifax drink trade, 1870–1895 » (travail de b.a., Dalhousie Univ., Halifax, 1977).— Harvey Sawler, Last Canadian beer : the Moosehead story (Halifax, 2008).— A. W. Sneath, Brewed in Canada : the untold story of Canada’s 350-year-old brewing industry (Toronto, 2001).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Barry Cahill, « OLAND, JOHN CULVERWELL », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 24 sept. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/oland_john_culverwell_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/oland_john_culverwell_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Barry Cahill
Titre de l'article:   OLAND, JOHN CULVERWELL
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   24 septembre 2017