DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

BURGESS, COLIN – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 20 Oct. 1905 in Toronto

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Link

Conrad Kain at Alpine Club of Canada camp at Mount Robson, 1913. Detail of photograph by Bryon Harmon. V263/NA-1046 Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies.

Source: Link

KAIN, CONRAD (Konrad), mountain guide, surveyor, trapper, and farmer; b. 10 Aug. 1883 in Nasswald (Austria), eldest child of an Austrian father and an Italian mother; m. June 1917 Henriquita Ferreira (d. 7 Feb. 1933), née Granito, in Wilmer, B.C; they had no children; d. 2 Feb. 1934 in Cranbrook, B.C.

About 80 kilometres southwest of Vienna, Nasswald lies next to a mountain called the Raxalpe. A six-hour walk from the nearest railway, the village – founded by Protestant woodcutters in 1731 – was a place of unremitting poverty in the late 19th century. Early life was not easy for Konrad Kain. His father was killed in a mining accident in 1892, leaving his mother, Franziska, alone with four young children. Konrad was 14 when he left school, having learned little with only 1 teacher for more than 100 students, and he took employment as a goatherd in the local hills. Later, he worked as a quarryman, a livelihood he supplemented by poaching game.

Kain’s attraction to climbing mountains grew from his boyhood wanderings. In 1903 he began leading Viennese tourists on venturesome outings. Over the next six years he trained himself as a guide and established a reputation throughout the Alps. Many of the great mountains of Austria, Switzerland, Italy, France, and Corsica were ascended by him. In 1906 he was formally designated a professional guide when the German and Austrian Alpine Club granted him his führerbuch, the official logbook in which he would record his mountaineering activities. Two years later he took a guiding course in Villach to improve his status and began studying English.

Longing for travel and adventure, in 1909 Kain took passage to Canada, where, upon referral by Dr Erich Pistor of Vienna’s board of trade, he found work near Banff, Alta, with the Alpine Club of Canada as its first official guide. He soon developed a pattern of seasonal employment: he guided and surveyed in the summer, often with club president Arthur Oliver Wheeler, a dominion land surveyor, and he trapped and farmed during the winter. At the end of 1909 he was able to send money to his mother. The young guide (who now spelled his name Conrad) became popular within the club and impressed the residents of Banff by building a ski-run down the slopes of Tunnel Mountain and onto Cariboo Street in the spring of 1910. One of the earliest promoters of skiing in the Rocky Mountains, he was instrumental in the formation of Banff’s first ski club in February 1911.

Over the next 20 years, Kain achieved renown as the outstanding mountaineer of his era in Canada: “the prince of Canadian alpine guides,” in the estimate of historian Esther Fraser. He made more than 50 first ascents of named peaks in the Rocky and Purcell mountains, a record surpassed only by Edward Feuz Jr. Kain holds the distinction of having led the first ascent of the highest mountain in each range – Mount Robson, the “monarch” of the Rockies, in 1913 and Mount Farnham in the Purcells in 1914 – and he was the earliest climber to reach the summits of the three loftiest peaks in the Rockies: Robson, Columbia, and North Twin. In 1916, at the pinnacle of his career, he led the first ascent of Bugaboo Spire and Mount Louis, among a dozen others.

Kain made a name for himself as well outside Canada and Europe. His initial venture was modest. In the summer of 1912 he joined a scientific expedition to the Altai Mountains on the Siberian–Mongolian border, where he helped collect small vertebrates for the United States National Museum of Natural History and the Museum of Comparative Zoology at Harvard University. It was a long way to go “to trap mice,” Kain thought, but he was unable to resist the call of adventure. Subsequently, after visiting his homeland for the last time, he sailed to Australia and New Zealand. Although he returned to western Canada in 1913, he went back to New Zealand during the Canadian winter of 1913–14 and spent the next three summer climbing seasons there in the Southern Alps. By his count he scaled 59 mountains, with 29 of these climbs being first ascents. His grand traverse in 1916 of Mount Cook, the highest peak in the Southern Alps, with veteran mountaineer Jane Thomson, was described as a “marvellous feat unequalled for daring” in the history of those mountains. Foreign contemporaries credited him with being one of the greatest living mountain guides.

In Canada, Kain had begun working in the spring of 1915 at the ranch of his client and friend Albert Henry MacCarthy, close to Wilmer, B.C. He spent the winter of 1916–17 trapping near the headwaters of the Simpson River, on the western side of the divide. It was during this lonely period that he first considered giving up guiding. In June 1917 he married a Guianese widow, Hetta Ferreira, and later that summer they settled on a small fur farm overlooking the Columbia valley near Wilmer. Although Kain’s guiding career was far from over, it had passed its zenith. He continued to climb and guide into the summer of 1933, by which time his ascents were less frequent and challenging. His wife passed away early that year, and not long afterwards he began to suffer from depression. He died alone in a Cranbrook hospital of encephalitis lethargica in 1934.

Accounts of Kain reveal a thoroughly personable and professional guide. Standing five feet five inches, he was stockily built with broad shoulders; his moustache and pipe were constant features. In camp and on the trail he could be charming, harmlessly flirtatious, and an entertaining storyteller. An expert axeman and cook with a great capacity for carrying weight, he was patient with novices and discreet in his treatment of over-zealous climbers disinclined to appreciate natural splendours. In the estimate of mountaineering authority James Monroe Thorington, “On rock, in his prime, Kain was unquestionably a finished performer. On snow and ice his judgment was sound, with step-cutting unfailingly conforming to the needs of his party. The latter factor determined his use or non-use of rope: he had no fixed procedure.” His knack for finding routes was “almost unique.”

Today five mountains bear the impress of Kain’s presence. He himself gave his name to a spire in the Mount Robson area. Nasswald Peak, in the southern Rockies near the Assiniboine group, one of his many first ascents, was named for his birthplace. He climbed Birthday Peak in the Purcells on his 42nd birthday. Another peak there, closer to the Vowell group, bears his Christian name, and Mount Conrad honours his memory in New Zealand.

Zac Robinson

Conrad Kain’s autobiography was published as Where the clouds can go, ed. J. M. Thorington (New York, 1935; 3rd ed., 1979). Kain also wrote “The first ascent of Mt. Robson, the highest peak of the Rockies (1913),” Canadian Alpine Journal (Winnipeg), 6 (1914–15): 19–28.

Bruce Fairley, The Canadian mountaineering anthology (Edmonton, 1994). Esther Fraser, The Canadian Rockies: early travels and explorations (Edmonton, 1969). N. Hollister, “Camps in the Altai,” Canadian Alpine Journal, 5 (1913): 73–81. Chris Jones, Climbing in North America (Berkeley, Calif., 1976; new ed., Seattle, Wash., 1997). W. S. Ladd and J. M. Thorington, “A mountaineering journey to the Columbia Icefield,” Canadian Alpine Journal (Calgary), 14 (1924): 34–47. A. H. MacCarthy, “First ascents of Mt. Farnham and Mt. Farnham Tower (1914),” “The Howser and Bugaboo spires, Purcell Range,” and “The first ascent of Mount Louis,” Canadian Alpine Journal (Winnipeg), 6: 112–28, 8 (1917): 17–29, and 8: 79–86, respectively. Zac Robinson, “Storming the heights: Canadian frontier nationalism and the making of manhood in the conquest of Mount Robson, 1906–13,” International Journal of the Hist. of Sport (London), 22 (2005): 415–33. Chic Scott, Pushing the limits: the story of Canadian mountaineering (Calgary, 2000). J. M. T[horington], “Conrad Kain, 1883–1934,” Canadian Alpine Journal ([Banff?]), 22 (1934): 199–203.

General Bibliography

Citations

Zac Robinson, “KAIN, CONRAD (Konrad),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 20, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/kain_conrad_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/kain_conrad_16E.html
Author of Article: Zac Robinson
Title of Article: KAIN, CONRAD (Konrad)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: October 20, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CREASE, sir HENRY PERING PELLEW – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

né le 20 août 1823 au Ince Castle, près de Plymouth, Angleterre

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Lien

Conrad Kain au camp de l’Alpine Club of Canada au mont Robson, 1913. Détail d’une photographie de Bryon Harmon. V263/NA-1046 Whyte Museum of the Canadian Rockies.

Provenance : Lien

KAIN, CONRAD (Konrad), guide de montagne, arpenteur, trappeur et fermier, né le 10 août 1883 à Nasswald (Autriche), enfant aîné d’un père autrichien et d’une mère italienne ; en juin 1917, il épousa à Wilmer, Colombie-Britannique, Henriquita Ferreira, née Granito (décédée le 7 février 1933), et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédé le 2 février 1934 à Cranbrook, Colombie-Britannique.

Nasswald se situe à environ 80 kilomètres au sud-ouest de Vienne, près d’une montagne appelée Raxalpe. Ce village fut fondé en 1731 par des bûcherons protestants. D’une extrême pauvreté vers la fin du xixe siècle, ce lieu se trouvait à six heures de marche du plus proche chemin de fer. Konrad Kain y passa une enfance difficile. Son père perdit la vie dans un accident de mine en 1892, laissant sa mère, Franziska, seule avec quatre jeunes enfants. À l’âge de 14 ans, Konrad quitta l’école sans y avoir appris grand-chose, car il n’y avait qu’un instituteur pour plus d’une centaine d’élèves. Il se mit alors à garder des chèvres dans les collines de la région. Plus tard, il travailla comme carrier, tout en braconnant du gibier afin d’arrondir ses fins de mois.

Kain acquit un goût pour l’escalade en montagne dès sa jeunesse, au gré de ses vagabondages. En 1903, il commença à mener des touristes viennois dans des randonnées aventureuses. Au cours des six années qui suivirent, il se forma lui-même au métier de guide et s’établit une bonne réputation dans toutes les Alpes. Il escalada un grand nombre des plus célèbres montagnes d’Autriche, de Suisse, d’Italie, de France et de Corse. En 1906, le Club alpin austro-allemand le nomma officiellement guide professionnel, tout en lui remettant son führerbuch, le journal de bord réglementaire qui lui servirait à consigner ses activités en montagne. Deux ans plus tard, il suivit un cours de guide à Villach, afin d’améliorer ses compétences, et il commença à apprendre l’anglais.

Rêvant de voyages et d’aventures, Kain s’embarqua pour le Canada en 1909. Grâce aux recommandations du docteur Erich Pistor, du Bureau de commerce de Vienne, il fut engagé comme premier guide officiel de l’Alpine Club of Canada, près de Banff, en Alberta. Il établit rapidement un cycle d’emplois saisonniers : en été, il était guide et arpenteur, et travaillait souvent avec le président du club, Arthur Oliver Wheeler, lui-même arpenteur des terres du dominion, et, en hiver, il était trappeur et fermier. Vers la fin de 1909, il avait gagné assez d’argent pour pouvoir en envoyer à sa mère. La popularité du jeune guide (qui écrivait désormais son prénom Conrad) grandit au sein du club. Il fit également grande impression auprès des résidents de Banff au printemps de 1910, quand il construisit, sur les pentes du mont Tunnel, une piste de ski qui descendait jusqu’à la rue Cariboo. Il fut l’un des premiers à promouvoir le ski dans les montagnes Rocheuses et il eut une influence déterminante dans la création du premier club de ski de Banff, en février 1911.

Au cours des 20 années suivantes, Kain serait reconnu comme le plus remarquable des alpinistes de son époque au Canada : « le prince des guides alpins canadiens », d’après l’historienne Esther Fraser. Il effectua plus de 50 premières ascensions de pics portant un nom, dans les Rocheuses et dans les montagnes Purcell. Edward Feuz fils serait le seul à surpasser ce record. Kain se distingua tout particulièrement pour avoir mené la première ascension du plus haut sommet de ces deux chaînes de montagnes – le mont Robson, le « roi » des Rocheuses, en 1913, et le mont Farnham, dans les montagnes Purcell, en 1914 – et il fut le premier grimpeur à atteindre la cime des trois pics les plus élevés des Rocheuses : Robson, Columbia et North Twin. En 1916, à l’apogée de sa carrière, il fit une douzaine de premières ascensions, dont celles du Bugaboo Spire et du mont Louis.

La réputation de Kain dépassa les frontières du Canada et de l’Europe. Sa première expédition fut cependant modeste. À l’été de 1912, il se rendit dans l’Altaï, à la frontière de la Sibérie et de la Mongolie, avec un groupe de scientifiques qu’il aida à ramasser de petits vertébrés pour le National Museum of Natural History des États-Unis et pour le Museum of Comparative Zoology de la Harvard University. Kain trouvait que c’était un bien long voyage pour aller « capturer des souris », mais il ne put résister à l’appel de l’aventure. Par la suite, après avoir visité sa terre natale pour la dernière fois, il prit le bateau pour l’Australie et la Nouvelle-Zélande. Il revint dans l’ouest du Canada en 1913, mais repartit pour la Nouvelle-Zélande pendant l’hiver canadien de 1913–1914 et passa les trois saisons estivales d’alpinisme suivantes dans les Alpes du Sud. Selon ses notes, il effectua 29 premières ascensions sur les 59 montagnes qu’il escalada. En 1916, sa grande traversée du mont Cook, le plus haut sommet des Alpes du Sud, en compagnie de l’alpiniste chevronnée Jane Thomson, fut décrite comme un « exploit extraordinaire d’une audace inégalée » dans toute l’histoire de ces montagnes. Certains de ses contemporains étrangers le considéraient comme l’un des plus grands guides de montagne de son époque.

Au printemps de 1915, Kain commença à travailler au ranch de son client et ami, Albert Henry MacCarthy, près de Wilmer, en Colombie-Britannique. Il passa l’hiver de 1916–1917 à trapper près des sources de la rivière Simpson, du côté ouest de la ligne de partage des eaux. Ce fut pendant cette période solitaire qu’il pensa pour la première fois abandonner le métier de guide. En juin 1917, il épousa une veuve d’origine guyanaise, Hetta (prénom sous lequel elle était connue) Ferreira, et, plus tard cet été-là, ils s’installèrent dans une petite ferme d’élevage d’animaux à fourrure qui dominait la vallée du fleuve Columbia, près de Wilmer. La carrière de Kain en tant que guide était loin d’être terminée, mais ses heures de gloire étaient derrière lui. Il continua à grimper et à mener des excursions jusqu’à l’été de 1933, mais ses ascensions devinrent moins fréquentes et moins difficiles. Sa femme mourut au début de cette même année ; il se mit à souffrir de dépression peu de temps après. Il succomba à une encéphalite léthargique en 1934, seul dans un hôpital de Cranbrook.

Les récits sur Kain révèlent qu’il était un guide des plus professionnels et des plus avenants. Il mesurait cinq pieds cinq pouces, il était trapu et avait de larges épaules, il portait la moustache et ne se séparait jamais de sa pipe. Au camp et sur la piste, il savait se montrer charmant, flirter gentiment et raconter des histoires divertissantes. Il maniait habilement la hache, était un excellent cuisinier et pouvait transporter de lourds fardeaux. Il était tout aussi discret avec les novices qu’avec les grimpeurs trop pressés qui ne prenaient pas le temps d’admirer les splendeurs de la nature. James Monroe Thorington, expert en alpinisme, dit de lui : « Sur les rochers, dans ses plus beaux jours, Kain était indéniablement un artiste accompli. Sur la neige et sur la glace, ses décisions étaient judicieuses, adaptant toujours la taille de marches aux besoins de son groupe. Ce dernier facteur déterminait s’il fallait s’encorder ou non : il n’avait aucune marche à suivre déterminée. » Il avait un flair « presque unique » pour dénicher des itinéraires.

De nos jours, cinq montagnes portent encore l’empreinte de Conrad Kain. Il donna lui-même son nom à une cime dans les environs du mont Robson. Le pic Nasswald, dans le sud des Rocheuses, près de l’ensemble géologique Assiniboine, l’une des ses nombreuses premières ascensions, fut baptisé d’après le nom de son village natal. Il escalada le pic Birthday, dans les montagnes Purcell, le jour de son quarante-deuxième anniversaire. Un autre pic dans ces environs, plus près de l’ensemble géologique Vowell, porte son prénom et, enfin, le mont Conrad honore sa mémoire en Nouvelle-Zélande.

Zac Robinson

L’autobiographie de Conrad Kain a été publiée sous le titre Where the clouds can go, J. M. Thorington, édit. (New York, 1935 ; 3e éd., 1979). Kain a aussi écrit « The first ascent of Mt. Robson, the highest peak of the Rockies (1913) », Canadian Alpine Journal (Winnipeg), 6 (1914–1915) : 19–28.

Bruce Fairley, The Canadian mountaineering anthology (Edmonton, 1994).— Esther Fraser, The Canadian Rockies : early travels and explorations (Edmonton, 1969).— N. Hollister, « Camps in the Altai », Canadian Alpine Journal, 5 (1913) : 73–81.— Chris Jones, Climbing in North America (Berkeley, Calif., 1976 ; nouv. éd., Seattle, Wash., 1997).— W. S. Ladd et J. M. Thorington, « A mountaineering journey to the Columbia Icefield », Canadian Alpine Journal (Calgary), 14 (1924) : 34–47.— A. H. MacCarthy, « First ascents of Mt. Farnham and Mt. Farnham Tower (1914) », « The Howser and Bugaboo spires, Purcell Range » et « The first ascent of Mount Louis », Canadian Alpine Journal (Winnipeg), 6 : 112–128, 8 (1917) : 17–29 et 8 : 79–86, respectivement.— Zac Robinson, « Storming the heights : Canadian frontier nationalism and the making of manhood in the conquest of Mount Robson, 1906–13 », International Journal of the Hist. of Sport (Londres), 22 (2005) : 415–433.— Chic Scott, Pushing the limits : the story of Canadian mountaineering (Calgary, 2000).— J. M. T[horington], « Conrad Kain, 1883–1934 », Canadian Alpine Journal ([Banff ?]), 22 (1934) : 199–203.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Zac Robinson, « KAIN, CONRAD (Konrad) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 20 août 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/kain_conrad_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/kain_conrad_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Zac Robinson
Titre de l'article:   KAIN, CONRAD (Konrad)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   20 août 2017