DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

ALLAN, WILLIAM MUNDEN – Volume XIII (1901-1910)

d. 21 July 1910 in Harbour Grace, Nfld.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

HÉBERT, CHARLES-DAVID (often called Charles or Charles‑D.), professor, school inspector, and Acadian patriot; b. 7 Dec. 1874 in Cap-Pelé, N.B., son of Narcisse Hébert, a merchant, and Margaret Mulryne; m. 24 June 1907 Alma Léger (d. 4 July 1920), a teacher, in Cocagne, N.B., and they had seven children, three of whom died in infancy; d. 2 Aug. 1932 in Cap-Pelé.

In September 1889 Charles-David Hébert left Cap-Pelé, where he was born, to enrol in the College of St Joseph [see Camille Lefebvre*] in Memramcook. At this institution of higher education he was first a student and then, from 1894, while continuing his studies, a professor. He very quickly attracted attention as a brilliant pupil whose scholastic achievements earned him many prizes, which is almost certainly why he became a professor two years before completing his classical studies. In 1900, while he was still on the faculty, the college granted him an ma. After the 1901–2 academic year he entered the Normal School in Fredericton [see Alphée Belliveau*], where he received his grammar-school teaching certificate in 1902. The following year he was appointed inspector of schools for the counties of Westmorland, Kent, Albert, and part of the county of Northumberland. He thus became one of the first Acadians to hold such a position in the province of New Brunswick.

Most of the schools in the area for which Hébert was responsible being Acadian, he soon noticed that there was a dearth of French-language textbooks. From 1904 he represented New Brunswick on an interprovincial commission set up to prepare French readers for the Acadian schools of the Maritime provinces. He was charged with developing a reader, while Father Philéas-Frédéric Bourgeois* was given the task of writing a history of Canada. Thus, around 1907, Hébert published Deuxième livre de lecture, a work that was approved for use in Acadian schools in the Maritimes. With fellow inspector Jean-Flavien Doucet and Professor J.‑Théodule Lejeune, Hébert also succeeded in obtaining authorization for textbooks in supplementary French grammar and Canadian history for New Brunswick’s Acadian schools. In 1923 he released a pedagogical treatise on the phonetic method of teaching students how to read. He was appointed to a commission of inquiry to study the New Brunswick school system in 1931, but, since he died the following year, he participated only briefly. In 1914 he had been involved in organizing, at Cap-Pelé, one of the first Acadian teachers’ conferences in the province.

After his marriage to Alma Léger, Hébert had in fact returned to that village of farmer-fishermen and to the house he had inherited through marriage from his wife’s grandfather, Ambroise Dupuis, one of the notables of the community. “Inspector Hébert,” as he was known to his family and friends, was the parish organist for more than 40 years. He was an active member of the Jolicœur branch in Dupuis Corner (Cap-Pelé) of the Société l’Assomption (also known as the Société Mutuelle l’Assomption) [see Rémi Benoît*]. For example, he organized a theatrical performance that took place on 9 May 1915 and starred members of the branch: farmer-fishermen and women who worked in the fish shops. Although he was close to the people, Hébert was equally a highly influential member of the Acadian nationalist elite from early in the 20th century.

Living near Moncton, which was establishing itself at the time as the nerve centre of Acadian institutions, Hébert worked alongside the pioneers of Acadian nationalism, including Pierre-Amand Landry*, Pascal Poirier, and Abbé Marcel-François Richard*. Like Antoine‑J. Léger, a young lawyer, and Henri‑P. Le Blanc, an office clerk with the Intercolonial Railway, Hébert represented the new blood that the members of the old elite, veterans of the first Acadian national conventions, were seeking as their successors. And so, beginning in 1913, he acted as secretary of the Société Nationale l’Assomption [see Pascal Poirier], where he set up the Fonds pour l’Éducation des Institutrices. In 1915, within less than a year, the sum of $2,500 was raised to help Acadian women teachers follow a more comprehensive course of studies at the normal school and obtain first- and second-class teaching certificates instead of merely the local licence. Hébert was also secretary of the Société Acadienne de Colonisation, d’Agriculture et de Rapatriement (from 1913), as well as of a committee formed to purchase and develop the land for the commemorative church in Grand Pré, N.S., in 1921 [see David-Vital Landry*].

During the 1920s the Société Nationale l’Assomption began to lose momentum and it gave way to the Société l’Assomption, which increasingly focused on Acadian national causes. In L’Évangéline (June 1926), Aubin-Edmond Arsenault*, a Prince Edward Island judge, went so far as to chide Hébert when he failed to attend a meeting of the Société Nationale l’Assomption; a national assembly planned for that summer had been on the agenda. The ninth Convention Nationale des Acadiens did not take place until the following year in Moncton. It was the last that Hébert would attend, since Alfred‑N. Roy, the editor of L’Évangéline, replaced him as secretary, having received twice as many votes as he did.

Charles-David Hébert was widowed in 1920. He himself died on 2 Aug. 1932 at the age of 57, leaving four children. The cause of death was cancer, for which he had been treated and operated on in Montreal. He was still in office as a school inspector. With his passing, Acadia lost a man who had served it well by contributing to the advancement of his people, especially in developing the education sector.

Ronnie-Gilles LeBlanc

Centre d’Études Acadiennes Anselme-Chiasson, Univ. de Moncton, N.B., 679. L’Évangéline (Weymouth Bridge, N.S.), 9 avril 1903; later published in Moncton, 29 avril 1914; 13 janv., 3 févr., 19 mai 1915; 18 avril 1917; 25 sept. 1919; 5 juill. 1923; 16 oct. 1924; 17, 24 juin 1926; 11 août 1927; 2, 4 août 1932. Le Moniteur acadien (Shédiac, N.B.), 14 mai 1895, 8 déc. 1896. Maurice Basque, De Marc Lescarbot à l’AEFNB: histoire de la profession enseignante acadienne au Nouveau-Brunswick (Edmundston, N.B., 1994). College of St Joseph, Calendar (Saint John), 1889–96. Gilberte Couturier LeBlanc et al., “French education in the Maritimes, 1604–1992,” in Acadia of the Maritimes: thematic studies from the beginning to the present, ed. Jean Daigle (Moncton, 1995), 523–62. A.‑J. Savoie, Un siècle de revendications scolaires au Nouveau-Brunswick, 1871–1971 (2v., [Edmundston], 1978–80), 1. Univ. of St Joseph’s College, Calendar (Saint John), 1897–1902.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Ronnie-Gilles LeBlanc, “HÉBERT, CHARLES-DAVID,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed July 21, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/hebert_charles_david_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/hebert_charles_david_16E.html
Author of Article: Ronnie-Gilles LeBlanc
Title of Article: HÉBERT, CHARLES-DAVID
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: July 21, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

McCULLY, JONATHAN – Volume X (1871-1880)

décédé dans sa maison de Halifax le 2 janvier 1877

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

HÉbert, Charles-david (souvent prénommé Charles ou Charles-D.), professeur, inspecteur d’écoles et patriote acadien, né le 7 décembre 1874 à Cap-Pelé, Nouveau-Brunswick, fils de Narcisse Hébert, marchand, et de Margaret Mulryne ; le 24 juin 1907, il épousa à Cocagne, Nouveau-Brunswick, Alma Léger (décédée le 4 juillet 1920), institutrice, et ils eurent sept enfants, dont trois moururent en bas âge ; décédé le 2 août 1932 à Cap-Pelé.

En septembre 1889, Charles-David Hébert quitta Cap-Pelé, où il naquit, pour s’inscrire au collège Saint-Joseph [V. Camille Lefebvre*], à Memramcook. Dans cet établissement d’enseignement supérieur, il fut d’abord collégien, puis, à partir de 1894, professeur tout en poursuivant des études. Très rapidement, il se fit remarquer : étudiant brillant, ses résultats scolaires lui méritèrent de nombreux prix. Ce fut sans doute la raison pour laquelle il devint professeur au collège deux ans avant d’obtenir son baccalauréat ès arts. En 1900, tandis qu’il occupait toujours son poste de professeur, le collège lui délivra une maîtrise ès arts. Après l’année scolaire de 1901–1902, il s’inscrivit à la Normal School de Fredericton [V. Alphée Belliveau*] où, en 1902, il fut diplômé du brevet d’école de grammaire avant d’être nommé, l’année suivante, inspecteur d’écoles pour les comtés de Westmorland, de Kent et d’Albert, et pour une partie du comté de Northumberland. Il devenait ainsi un des premiers Acadiens à occuper ces fonctions dans la province du Nouveau-Brunswick.

Les écoles acadiennes composant la majeure partie du territoire dont il était responsable, Hébert ne tarda pas à y constater la déficience des manuels scolaires en langue française. D’ailleurs, à partir de 1904, il représenta le Nouveau-Brunswick au sein d’une commission interprovinciale chargée de préparer des manuels de lecture en langue française pour les écoles acadiennes des provinces Maritimes. Il fut mandaté pour préparer un livre de lecture et le père Philéas-Frédéric Bourgeois* fut chargé de rédiger une histoire du Canada. Ainsi, vers 1907, Hébert publia un ouvrage autorisé pour les écoles acadiennes des provinces Maritimes et intitulé Deuxième livre de lecture. Avec son homologue Jean-Flavien Doucet et le professeur J.-Théodule Lejeune, Hébert réussit de plus à faire adopter des manuels supplémentaires de grammaire française et d’histoire du Canada pour les écoles acadiennes du Nouveau-Brunswick. En 1923, il publia un traité de pédagogie traitant de la méthode phonétique pour l’apprentissage de la lecture. En 1931, il fut nommé au sein d’une commission d’enquête qui avait comme mandat d’étudier le système scolaire du Nouveau-Brunswick, mais sa participation à cette commission fut de courte durée puisqu’il mourut l’année suivante. Enfin, en 1914, il avait participé à l’organisation, à Cap-Pelé, d’un des premiers congrès pédagogiques acadiens au Nouveau-Brunswick.

De fait, après son mariage à Alma Léger, Hébert était revenu dans ce village d’agriculteurs-pêcheurs, dans la maison dont il avait hérité de son grand-père par alliance, Ambroise Dupuis, un des notables de la place. « L’inspecteur Hébert », comme il était connu parmi les siens, fut l’organiste de la paroisse pendant plus de 40 ans. Il s’engagea activement dans la succursale Jolicœur de Dupuis Corner (Cap-Pelé) de la Société l’Assomption (aussi appelée Société mutuelle l’Assomption) [V. Rémi Benoît*] en organisant, par exemple, un spectacle théâtral qui eut lieu le 9 mai 1915 et qui mettait en vedette les membres de la succursale, c’est-à-dire des agriculteurs-pêcheurs et des ouvrières de poissonneries. Près du peuple, Hébert n’en occupait pas moins une place prépondérante au sein de l’élite nationaliste acadienne du début du xxe siècle.

Demeurant à proximité de Moncton, qui s’imposait alors comme le centre névralgique des institutions acadiennes, Hébert côtoya des pionniers du nationalisme acadien, notamment Pierre-Amand Landry*, Pascal Poirier et l’abbé Marcel-François Richard*. Comme Antoine-J. Léger, jeune avocat, et Henri-P. Le Blanc, commis aux bureaux du chemin de fer Intercolonial, Hébert représentait la relève que la vieille élite, celle des premières conventions nationales acadiennes, cherchait à assurer. Il occupa ainsi les fonctions de secrétaire de la Société nationale l’Assomption [V. Pascal Poirier] à partir de 1913, où il mit sur pied le Fonds pour l’éducation des institutrices. En 1915, soit en moins d’un an, on recueillit 2 500 $ dans le but d’aider les institutrices acadiennes à suivre un cours plus complet à l’école normale et à obtenir des brevets de première et de seconde classe au lieu du simple brevet local. Hébert fut également secrétaire de la Société acadienne de colonisation, d’agriculture et de rapatriement (à partir de 1913), de même que du comité formé en vue d’acquérir et d’aménager le terrain de l’église commémorative de Grand-Pré, en Nouvelle-Écosse, en 1921 [V. David-Vital Landry*].

Au cours des années 1920, la Société nationale l’Assomption commença à s’essouffler et céda le pas à la Société l’Assomption, qui s’occupa alors de plus en plus des causes nationales acadiennes. En juin 1926, dans l’Évangéline, le juge Aubin-Edmond Arsenault*, de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, interpella même Hébert en raison de son absence à une réunion de la Société nationale l’Assomption, où l’on devait discuter de la tenue du congrès national prévu pour cet été-là. La neuvième Convention nationale des Acadiens n’eut lieu que l’année suivante, à Moncton, et ce fut la dernière à laquelle assista Hébert, car Alfred-N. Roy, rédacteur de l’Évangéline, le remplaça comme secrétaire après avoir récolté deux fois plus de votes que lui.

Charles-David Hébert était devenu veuf en 1920. Il quitta à son tour ses quatre enfants le 2 août 1932, à l’âge de 57 ans. Il succomba à un cancer, après avoir été soigné et opéré à Montréal. Il occupait encore son poste d’inspecteur d’écoles. L’Acadie perdait ainsi un homme qui l’avait bien servie en contribuant à l’avancement des siens, et, notamment, au développement du secteur de l’éducation.

Ronnie-Gilles LeBlanc

Centre d’études acadiennes Anselme-Chiasson, Univ. de Moncton, N.-B., 679.— L’Évangéline (Weymouth Bridge, N.-É.), 9 avril 1903 ; publié par la suite à Moncton, 29 avril 1914 ; 13 janv., 3 févr., 19 mai 1915 ; 18 avril 1917 ; 25 sept. 1919 ; 5 juill. 1923 ; 16 oct. 1924 ; 17, 24 juin 1926 ; 11 août 1927 ; 2, 4 août 1932.— Le Moniteur acadien (Shédiac, N.-B.), 14 mai 1895, 8 déc. 1896.— Maurice Basque, De Marc Lescarbot à l’AEFNB : histoire de la profession enseignante acadienne au Nouveau-Brunswick (Edmundston, N.-B., 1994).— Collège Saint-Joseph, Annuaire (Saint-Jean, N.-B.), 1889–1896.— Gilberte Couturier LeBlanc et al., « l’Enseignement français dans les Maritimes, 1604–1992 », dans l’Acadie des Maritimes : études thématiques des débuts à nos jours, sous la dir. de Jean Daigle (Moncton, 1993), 543–585.— A.-J. Savoie, Un siècle de revendications scolaires au Nouveau-Brunswick, 1871–1971 (2 vol., [Edmundston], 1978–1980), 1.— Univ. du collège Saint-Joseph, Annuaire (Saint-Jean), 1897–1902.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Ronnie-Gilles LeBlanc, « HÉBERT, CHARLES-DAVID », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 25 juill. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/hebert_charles_david_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/hebert_charles_david_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Ronnie-Gilles LeBlanc
Titre de l'article:   HÉBERT, CHARLES-DAVID
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   25 juillet 2017