DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

WARD, SAMUEL RINGGOLD – Volume IX (1861-1870)

b. 17 Oct. 1817 in Maryland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

HAYWORTH, MARGARET JANET, schoolgirl; b. 21 Aug. 1929 in Hamilton, Ont., the elder daughter of John Smith Ward Hayworth and Georgina Wright; d. at sea 9 Sept. 1939 aboard the freighter City of Flint.

Margaret Janet Hayworth was born in Mount Hamilton Hospital to Scottish immigrants who lived in Burlington, Ont., where she attended Lakeshore Public School and Knox Presbyterian Church Sunday school. In 1939 the family was preparing for a move. They had decided to sell their house, spend the summer with relatives in Scotland, and relocate to Hamilton Beach (Hamilton), on the eastern side of Hamilton Harbour, after their trip. Both Margaret and her five-year-old sister, Jacqueline Anne, would then go to A. M. Cunningham School.

On 23 June, once Margaret had finished Grade 5, the family sailed from Montreal for Glasgow aboard the Donaldson Atlantic Line passenger ship Athenia. After visiting his and his wife’s parents in Falkirk and Aberdeen, John returned home to work at the Firestone Tire and Rubber Company. Georgina and the girls stayed on, intending to travel back to Canada in mid September on the Athenia’s sister ship, Letitia. (The Hayworths knew both ships, for John had immigrated to Canada in 1925 on the Athenia and Georgina in 1927 on the Letitia.) As the threat of war intensified in the weeks following, John wired Georgina, urging her to depart immediately. She replied that she had booked an earlier passage.

The Hayworths left Glasgow aboard the Athenia midday on 1 September. The ship stopped to pick up more passengers, first in Belfast that evening and in Liverpool the next day, then set out across the north Atlantic with over 1,400 aboard; most were Canadians and Americans escaping the mounting turmoil in Europe. Two days after the Athenia’s departure, Great Britain and France declared war on Germany. That evening, 3 September, as the vessel was cruising 200 miles west of the Hebrides, the Hayworths were enjoying the air on deck. Georgina was thinking of taking the girls to the cabin but decided that it was too beautiful an evening to go inside early. Suddenly there was a massive explosion. The ship had been torpedoed by a German submarine, which some of the passengers had spotted just moments before. (It was later identified as U-30 under the command of Fritz-Julius Lemp. He would deny that he had known the vessel was a passenger ship.) Flying debris struck Margaret on the head, knocking her unconscious. Georgina, with Jacqueline holding onto her skirt, carried her bleeding daughter to the nearest lifeboat station. Georgina managed to get Margaret into a boat and climb in, too. She turned back towards the deck and shouted to a man to hand her Jacqueline, but in the confusion he picked up the wrong child. She called to another man, but he too handed over someone else’s child. The crew started to lower the lifeboat, and the family was separated.

Having received the ship’s SOS, rescuers started arriving within a few hours. Georgina and Margaret were among the more than 200 who were taken aboard the Southern Cross, a private yacht owned by a Swedish millionaire. All of them were later transferred to the small American freighter City of Flint. (Jacqueline, the Hayworths would eventually find out, was helped by another Canadian woman with a young daughter, and they were among those saved by a vessel that returned to Scotland. She was reunited with her grandparents, and a family friend brought her back to Canada in October.)

The City of Flint was ill equipped to handle passengers, but the deck was cleared so that makeshift shelters could be erected. Margaret and the other injured were put in the care of Richard L. Jenkins, a physician who had come aboard from an American liner that donated supplies. Initially, Margaret’s health seemed to improve, but on the fifth day she developed a fever and began drifting into unconsciousness, occasionally waking up crying or singing bits of hymns. On 8 September she asked for Jacqueline, then slipped into unconsciousness for the last time and died in the early hours of the 9th.

John Hayworth was first informed that his wife and both daughters had survived, but en route to Halifax to meet the City of Flint he learned of Margaret’s death. While many on the dock celebrated joyful reunions, John greeted his distraught wife. They purchased a small coffin in Halifax, and began preparations for the journey home and a quiet burial. A family friend selected a plot in Hamilton’s Woodland Cemetery. Meanwhile, arrangements were being taken out of their hands. Ontario premier Mitchell Frederick Hepburn*, eagerly grasping any opportunity to bolster support for the war, decided that the girl should have a public funeral. The Hayworths were simple, private people who disliked ostentation. Friends were diplomatic, telling the press that the couple had never wanted a public funeral but “will understand what has prompted it.”

A flock of dignitaries, including Hepburn and provincial Conservative leader George Alexander Drew*, attended a special session of Hamilton City Council, where they used the occasion to transform the young victim into a martyr for the Allied cause. By the time the body arrived in Hamilton at 6:40 p.m. on the 15th, five days after Canada had entered the war, Margaret Hayworth was an international celebrity, eulogized in the Times of London and the New York Times (after the funeral a commemorative poem by Dr Jenkins would be published in Time magazine). Crowds lined the streets to the funeral home, where the plain pine coffin was replaced with a silk-lined one for the open-casket visitation organized by the politicians (the press referred to it as a lying-in-state). A small posy from one of Margaret’s schoolmates and two rosebuds were placed in her hands.

Hundreds processed through the funeral home on the evening of the 15th and again the next morning. There was then a service at the home of close friends, one of the few times the Hayworths could grieve privately, before the public funeral that afternoon at St Andrew’s Presbyterian Church, which was filled to capacity; thousands more gathered outside to listen via loudspeakers. Margaret’s parents, schoolmates, and family friends sat in the front, followed by rows of politicians and other dignitaries, including Lieutenant Governor Albert Edward Matthews*, the premier, and most members of city council. Georgina chose hymns that Margaret had sung before losing consciousness for the last time, and the pall-bearers were friends, but almost every other aspect of the funeral – from the military honour guard to the Ontario Provincial Police motorcycle escort to the government cameraman who filmed the event – was someone else’s doing, with Hepburn being the chief orchestrator. He had even contacted all the other provincial governments to suggest they follow Ontario’s lead and fly flags on public buildings at half mast on the day of the funeral. Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King*, who learned of Hepburn’s actions from a newspaper report, grumbled in his diary on 15 September that the premier “has tried to put me in the position of either following him as a jingo or refusing to follow, and being unpatriotic. I do not intend to have this war run on the basis of stunts and on the basis of hatred and the like.” King decided that the federal government’s participation would be more modest: an official representative and a tasteful wreath, sent on behalf of the people of Canada.

King’s hopes that the death of Margaret Hayworth would remain above wartime rhetoric were dashed: because the funeral was a public event, it was also a propaganda gold mine. Journalists likened the sinking of the Athenia to that of the Lusitania in 1915 and compared Margaret to Edith Louisa Cavell, the British nurse executed during World War I. The child’s death was incontrovertible proof of the evil of Nazism, observed the Reverend Charles Lynch Cowan, one of the clergymen presiding at the service; the torpedo that sank the Athenia, he stated, “smashed our placid, self-confident pacifism and leeringly reminded us that heartless force is still to be reckoned with.” That her loss proved the absolute necessity of prosecuting the war must be clear everywhere, he continued, not just in Canada and the British empire. For Conservative leader George Drew, the casualty was an argument against American isolationism: “The symbol of this child’s death will go from the bounds of this Dominion as a challenge to all democratic nations.… The people of the United States have as direct a concern as we have as to the course of the conflict.”

Margaret Hayworth was not the first Canadian to die in the war – that sad honour belongs to more than 50 others who perished when the Athenia was hit or in the chaotic hours that followed – but she was the first whose body was brought home for burial. Before the hasty departure from Scotland, Georgina Hayworth had decided not to tell her daughters about the impending war, believing that they were too young to understand. It is ironic that Margaret became one of the initial victims in a battle she could scarcely have comprehended.

Jonathan F. Vance

The author wishes to thank Jacqueline Hayworth Bullock of Burlington, Ont., for sharing the few family records in her possession and her memories of her sister.

City of Toronto Arch., Fonds 1266, images 60728; 60735; 60737. Hamilton Public Library, Special Coll. Dept. (Ont.), Clipping files, Hamilton biog. LAC, “Diaries of William Lyon Mackenzie King,” 15 Sept. 1939: www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/politics-government/prime-ministers/william-lyon-mackenzie-king/Pages/diaries-william-lyon-mackenzie-king.aspx (consulted 9 April 2014); “Passenger lists and border entries, 1925–1935 – Nominal indexes”: www.bac-lac.gc.ca/eng/discover/immigration/immigration-records/passenger-lists-border-entry-1925-1935/Pages/introduction.aspx (consulted 9 April 2014). Evening Telegram (Toronto), 16 Sept. 1939. Globe and Mail, 14, 16, 18 Sept. 1939. Hamilton Spectator, 4, 8, 11, 14, 15, 16, 18 Sept. 1939. New York Times, 10, 14, 17 Sept. 1939. Times (London), 11 Sept. 1939. Toronto Daily Star, 13, 16 Sept., 23 Oct. 1939. “Canada: peace,” Time (New York), 25 Sept. 1939. F. M. Carroll, “The first shot was the last straw: the sinking of the T.S.S. Athenia in September 1939 and British naval policy in the Second World War,” Diplomacy & Statecraft (London), 20 (2009): 403–13. Max Caulfield, A night of terror: the story of the “Athenia” affair (London, 1958); repr. as Tomorrow never came: the story of the S.S. “Athenia” (New York, 1959). Twilight of an era (1934–1939), produced, directed, and written by William Weintraub (short film, [Ottawa], 1960; available online at www.nfb.ca/film/twilight_of_an_era).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Jonathan F. Vance, “HAYWORTH, MARGARET JANET,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 17, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/hayworth_margaret_janet_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/hayworth_margaret_janet_16E.html
Author of Article: Jonathan F. Vance
Title of Article: HAYWORTH, MARGARET JANET
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: October 17, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

McDOWELL, EUGENE ADDISON – Volume XII (1891-1900)

décédé le 21 février 1893 à Bloomingdale, New York

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

HAYWORTH, MARGARET JANET, écolière, née le 21 août 1929 à Hamilton, Ontario, fille aînée de John Smith Ward Hayworth et de Georgina Wright ; décédée en mer le 9 septembre 1939 à bord du cargo City of Flint.

Margaret Janet Hayworth naquit au Mount Hamilton Hospital dans une famille d’immigrants écossais résidant à Burlington, en Ontario, où elle fréquenta la Lakeshore Public School et l’école du dimanche de l’église presbytérienne Knox. En 1939, ses parents se préparaient à déménager. Ils avaient décidé de vendre la maison, de passer l’été chez des membres de la famille en Écosse et de s’installer à Hamilton Beach (Hamilton), du côté est du port de Hamilton, après le voyage. Il fut prévu que Margaret et sa sœur âgée de cinq ans, Jacqueline Anne, iraient à l’A. M. Cunningham School.

Le 23 juin, après que Margaret eut terminé sa cinquième année, la famille partit de Montréal pour se rendre à Glasgow à bord de l’Athenia, navire de passagers de la Donaldson Atlantic Line. Après avoir rendu visite à ses parents et à ceux de sa femme à Falkirk et à Aberdeen, John rentra à la maison pour travailler à la Firestone Tire and Rubber Company. Georgina et ses filles restèrent en Écosse, avec l’intention de revenir au Canada à la mi-septembre à bord du paquebot jumeau de l’Athenia, le Letitia. (Les Hayworth connaissaient ces deux bateaux, car John avait immigré au Canada en 1925 à bord de l’Athenia et Georgina en 1927 à bord du Letitia.) Comme la menace d’une guerre s’intensifia au cours des semaines suivantes, John envoya un télégramme à Georgina, lui conseillant vivement de partir sans tarder. Elle lui répondit qu’elle avait déjà réservé des places pour revenir plus tôt.

Les Hayworth quittèrent Glasgow à bord de l’Athenia le 1er septembre, à midi. Le navire s’arrêta à Belfast le soir même, puis à Liverpool le lendemain, pour prendre d’autres passagers avant d’entreprendre la traversée de l’Atlantique Nord avec plus de 1 400 personnes ; la plupart étaient des Canadiens et des Américains qui fuyaient l’agitation grandissante en Europe. Deux jours après le départ de l’Athenia, la Grande-Bretagne et la France déclarèrent la guerre à l’Allemagne. Ce soir-là, le 3 septembre, pendant que le bateau naviguait à 200 milles à l’ouest des Hébrides, les Hayworth prenaient l’air sur le pont. Georgina pensa ramener ses filles à la cabine, mais décida que la soirée était trop belle pour rentrer si tôt. Soudain, il y eut une énorme explosion. Le navire avait été torpillé par un sous-marin allemand, que certains passagers avaient aperçu quelques instants auparavant. (Le sous-marin fut ultérieurement identifié comme étant le U-30, sous le commandement de Fritz-Julius Lemp. Ce dernier déclarerait ignorer que le bateau était un navire de passagers.) Margaret fut frappée à la tête par des projections de débris et perdit connaissance. Georgina, suivie de Jacqueline qui s’accrochait à sa jupe, porta sa fille ensanglantée jusqu’au poste de canots de sauvetage le plus proche. Elle réussit à faire embarquer Margaret sur un bateau à bord duquel elle monta également. Elle se tourna vers le pont et cria à un homme de lui donner Jacqueline, mais, dans la confusion, celui-ci prit un autre enfant. Elle demanda à un autre homme de l’aider, qui lui tendit lui aussi l’enfant de quelqu’un d’autre. L’équipage commença à mettre le canot de sauvetage à la mer et la famille fut séparée.

Ayant reçu le SOS du navire, des sauveteurs commencèrent à arriver en quelques heures. Georgina et Margaret comptèrent parmi les 200 personnes et plus accueillies à bord du Southern Cross, yacht privé appartenant à un millionnaire suédois. Tous ces passagers furent transbordés par la suite au City of Flint, petit cargo américain. (Les Hayworth apprendraient finalement qu’une autre Canadienne accompagnée de sa petite fille aida Jacqueline et qu’elles se trouvaient parmi les gens secourus par un bateau qui retourna en Écosse. Jacqueline retrouva ses grands-parents et un ami de la famille la ramena au Canada en octobre.)

Le City of Flint était mal équipé pour accueillir des passagers, mais le pont fut dégagé pour y installer des abris de fortune. Margaret et les autres blessés furent confiés aux soins de Richard L. Jenkins, médecin venu d’un paquebot américain qui fournit également des provisions. La santé de Margaret sembla d’abord s’améliorer, puis, au cinquième jour, la fillette commença à faire de la fièvre et à sombrer dans l’inconscience, se réveillant parfois en pleurant ou en chantant des passages d’hymnes. Le 8 septembre, elle demanda à voir Jacqueline, perdit connaissance pour la dernière fois et mourut aux premières heures du jour suivant.

John Hayworth fut d’abord informé que sa femme et ses deux filles avaient survécu. En route vers Halifax pour l’arrivée du City of Flint, il apprit toutefois la mort de Margaret. Tandis que de nombreuses personnes se réjouissaient de se retrouver sur le quai, il accueillit sa femme éperdue. Ils achetèrent un petit cercueil à Halifax, et entamèrent les préparatifs pour le retour à la maison et un enterrement dans l’intimité. Un ami de la famille choisit un lot au cimetière Woodland de Hamilton. Pendant ce temps, des dispositions étaient prises sans leur consentement. Le premier ministre de l’Ontario, Mitchell Frederick Hepburn*, qui saisissait toutes les occasions de renforcer le soutien à la guerre, décida que la fillette devait avoir des funérailles publiques. Les Hayworth étaient des gens simples qui tenaient à préserver leur vie privée et n’aimaient pas l’ostentation. Des amis se montrèrent diplomates et dirent à la presse que le couple n’avait jamais souhaité la tenue d’une cérémonie publique, mais qu’il « comprendr[ait] ce qui l’a[vait] motivée ».

Une foule de dignitaires, dont Hepburn et le chef des conservateurs provinciaux, George Alexander Drew*, assistèrent à une séance spéciale du conseil municipal de Hamilton, où ils profitèrent de l’occasion pour transformer la jeune victime en martyre de la cause des Alliés. Quand sa dépouille arriva à Hamilton, le 15 septembre, à six heures quarante du soir, cinq jours après que le Canada fut entré en guerre, Margaret était connue à l’échelle internationale. On lui rendit un grand hommage dans le Times de Londres et le New York Times (après les funérailles, un poème commémoratif du docteur Jenkins serait publié dans la revue Time). Une foule se massa le long des rues menant au salon funéraire, où le simple cercueil en pin fut remplacé par un autre doublé de soie pour exposer la dépouille selon les directives des hommes politiques (la presse décrivit l’événement comme une « exposition en chapelle ardente »). Un petit bouquet de fleurs offert par l’une des camarades de classe de Margaret et deux boutons de rose furent placés dans les mains de la fillette.

Des centaines de personnes défilèrent dans le salon funéraire le soir du 15, de même que le lendemain matin. Un service fut ensuite célébré chez des amis proches, l’un des rares moments où les Hayworth purent vivre leur deuil dans l’intimité, avant les funérailles publiques qui se tinrent cet après-midi-là, à l’église presbytérienne St Andrew, remplie à craquer ; des milliers d’autres personnes se rassemblèrent à l’extérieur pour écouter la cérémonie grâce à des haut-parleurs. Les parents, des camarades de classe et des amis de la famille de Margaret prirent place à l’avant, tandis que les rangées suivantes accueillaient des hommes politiques et d’autres dignitaires, dont le lieutenant-gouverneur Albert Edward Matthews*, le premier ministre Hepburn, ainsi que la plupart des membres du conseil municipal. Georgina choisit des hymnes que Margaret avait chantés avant de glisser dans l’inconscience pour la dernière fois et des amis portèrent le cercueil, mais presque tous les autres aspects des funérailles – de la garde d’honneur militaire à l’escorte de motocyclistes de l’Ontario Provincial Police, en passant par le caméraman du gouvernement qui filma l’événement – relevèrent d’autres personnes sous la direction de Hepburn. Ce dernier avait même contacté tous les gouvernements provinciaux pour leur suggérer de suivre l’exemple de l’Ontario en mettant en berne les drapeaux des édifices publics le jour des funérailles. Le premier ministre du Canada, William Lyon Mackenzie King*, qui entendit parler des initiatives de Hepburn dans un reportage journalistique, manifesta son aigreur dans son journal le 15 septembre : le premier ministre de l’Ontario « a essayé de me placer devant le dilemme de le suivre comme un chauvin ou de ne pas emboîter le pas et de me montrer antipatriotique. Je ne veux pas que cette guerre soit gérée sur la base de coups de publicité et sur la base de la haine et d’autres éléments de ce genre ». Il décida que la participation du gouvernement fédéral serait plus modeste : un représentant officiel et une couronne funéraire de bon goût seraient envoyés au nom du peuple canadien.

Les espoirs de King, qui voulait que la mort de Margaret reste au-dessus de la rhétorique de temps de guerre, furent anéantis : étant donné le caractère public des funérailles, ce fut aussi une mine d’or en matière de propagande. Les journalistes comparèrent la destruction de l’Athenia à celle du Lusitania, en 1915, et firent un rapprochement entre Margaret et Edith Louisa Cavell, infirmière britannique exécutée durant la Première Guerre mondiale. La mort de l’enfant était une preuve irréfutable du mal du nazisme, fit observer le révérend Charles Lynch Cowan, l’un des célébrants du service ; la torpille qui avait coulé l’Athenia, déclara-t-il, « a[vait] brisé [le] pacifisme tranquille, plein d’assurance [du pays] et nous avait rappelé sournoisement [qu’il] fallait toujours affronter des forces cruelles ». Il continua en disant que la perte de la fillette prouvait que la nécessité absolue de poursuivre la guerre devait être évidente partout, et non pas seulement au Canada et dans l’Empire britannique. Pour le chef des conservateurs, George Alexander Drew, ce décès était un argument contre l’isolationnisme américain : « Le symbole de la mort de cette enfant traversera les frontières du dominion comme un défi à toutes les démocraties […] Le peuple des États-Unis est concerné aussi directement que nous quant au cours de ce conflit. »

Margaret Janet Hayworth ne fut pas la première victime canadienne de la guerre – ce triste honneur revient à plus de 50 autres personnes qui périrent quand l’Athenia fut touché ou pendant les heures de chaos qui suivirent –, mais elle fut la première personne dont le corps fut rapatrié au Canada pour y être enterré. Avant son départ précipité de l’Écosse avec ses filles, Georgina avait décidé de ne pas leur parler de la guerre imminente, croyant qu’elles étaient trop jeunes pour comprendre. Il est ironique de penser que Margaret devint l’une des premières victimes d’un conflit dont elle n’aurait guère pu saisir le sens.

Jonathan F. Vance

Nous aimerions remercier Jacqueline Anne Hayworth Bullock de Burlington, Ontario, qui a bien voulu partager avec nous les quelques dossiers de famille en sa possession et les souvenirs qu’elle garde de sa sœur.

BAC, « Journal personnel de William Lyon Mackenzie King », 15 sept. 1939 : www.bac-lac.gc.ca/fra/decouvrez/politique-gouvernement/premier-ministres/william-lyon-mackenzie-king/Pages/journal-mackenzie-king.aspx (consulté le 9 avril 2014) ; « Listes de passagers et entrées par la frontière, 1925–1935 – Répertoires nominatifs » : www.bac-lac.gc.ca/fra/decouvrez/immigration/documents-immigration/listes-passagers-entrees-frontiere-1925-1935/Pages/introduction.aspx (consulté le 9 avril 2014).— City of Toronto Arch., Fonds 1266, images 60728 ; 60735 ; 60737.— Hamilton Public Library, Special Coll. Dept., Ontario, Clipping files, Hamilton biog.— Evening Telegram (Toronto), 16 sept. 1939.— Globe and Mail, 14, 16, 18 sept. 1939.— Hamilton Spectator, 4, 8, 11, 14–16, 18 sept. 1939.— New York Times, 10, 14, 17 sept. 1939.— Times (Londres), 11 sept. 1939.— Toronto Daily Star, 13, 16 sept., 23 oct. 1939.— « Canada : peace », Time (New York), 25 sept. 1939.— F. M. Carroll, « The first shot was the last straw : the sinking of the T.S.S. Athenia in September 1939 and British naval policy in the Second World War », Diplomacy & Statecraft (Londres), 20 (2009) : 403–413.— Max Caulfield, A night of terror : the story of the Athenia affair (Londres, 1958) ; publié sous le titre Tomorrow never came : the story of the S.S. Athenia (New York, 1959).— La Fin d’une époque (1934–1939), production, réalisation et scénario de William Weintraub (court métrage, [Ottawa], 1960 ; accessible en ligne à www.onf.ca/film/fin_dune_epoque_1934_1939).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Jonathan F. Vance, « HAYWORTH, MARGARET JANET », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 21 févr. 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/hayworth_margaret_janet_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/hayworth_margaret_janet_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Jonathan F. Vance
Titre de l'article:   HAYWORTH, MARGARET JANET
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   21 février 2017