DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Minor Corrections

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  William Gore. From: Windsor Star, 07 June 1934, page 5.

Source: Link

GORE, WILLIAM, civil engineer and inventor; b. 13 April 1871 in West Winch, near King’s Lynn, England, son of John Gore, a shepherd, and Mary Ann Barrett; m. 2 Jan. 1899 Katherine (Katie, Kate) Daisley (d. 6 Dec. 1949) in King’s Lynn, and they had one son; d. 7 June 1934 in Long Branch (Toronto), Ont.

Born in the low-lying Fens of eastern England, William Gore grew up in a landscape of engineered water. First educated at the technical school in King’s Lynn, he was apprenticed and then became assistant engineer at Highgate Iron Works there. He subsequently moved to London to take the course in civil and mechanical engineering at the City and Guilds of London Institute for the Advancement of Technical Education. He graduated in 1896.

Gore’s brilliance as a pupil led to employment with Britain’s leading hydraulic engineers. As chief assistant to George Frederick Deacon and then to the firm of Sir Alexander Binnie, Son and Deacon from 1899 to 1912, he had what he would describe as “responsible charge” for work in England, Wales, Italy, Australia, Greece, Malta, Russia, and India. His projects involved reservoirs, aqueducts, dams, pipelines, filter beds, sewerage, irrigation canals, pumping plants, wells, and underground railways.

Two years after inventing the drifting-sand water filter in 1910, Gore joined London’s Ransome-ver Mehr Machinery Company to develop this technology. A subsidiary, the John ver Mehr Engineering Company, was formed to explore overseas markets and meet the rising interest in purifying water to promote public health. By early 1913 Gore and John Malan ver Mehr were in Toronto demonstrating the new filter to Roland Caldwell Harris*, Toronto’s commissioner of works. Dissatisfied with the capacity and performance of the slow-sand-filter plant completed on Centre Island in 1912, Harris was pushing for a more effective form of water treatment.

Tests conducted by George Gallie Nasmith*, director of laboratories for Toronto’s health department [see Charles John Colwell Orr Hastings], proved Gore’s invention successful, and in 1914 the municipal government of Horatio Clarence Hocken gave the John ver Mehr company a $1.1-million contract to build a drifting-sand-filter plant on Centre Island. The firm attracted both attention and talent, and by this time William Storrie, formerly in charge of waterworks in Ottawa, had joined it as chief engineer. The new undertaking was a bold step. As Canada’s largest and most expensive filtration project and the world’s biggest application of drifting-sand technology, it was closely followed in the North American engineering press. The plant, in partial operation in December 1917 but not completed until the following year, finally assured Torontonians of safe drinking water. At some point during these years, Gore and his wife decided to stay in Canada.

Gore’s “inventive type of mind,” as Storrie would put it, resulted in five Canadian patents being issued between 1913 and 1921. All related to the treatment of water or sewage. In 1915 Gore adapted his filter for wartime use, and it was subsequently employed by the British, French, and American armies. For the ver Mehr company, Gore and Storrie also designed small filtration units for office buildings in Toronto and Montreal. In 1919 Gore built drifting-sand plants in Brampton, Oshawa, and Rockland, Ont., while Storrie was occupied with ver Mehr projects in Britain. October 1919 saw the formation of a new partnership, Gore, Nasmith and Storrie (GNS), which was to consult, the Canadian Engineer reported, on “all forms of public health engineering, including water works, sewerage, sewage disposal and bacteriological research.” Though the firm was said to be active across Canada, all of its enterprises covered by the engineering press were, with one exception, located in Ontario.

For municipal clients, GNS began with a report on potential solutions for a given sanitation problem. The firm then often designed, oversaw construction of, and initially operated any approved works. Its key water-supply projects were at Hamilton, Windsor, Toronto, Belleville, Ottawa, St Thomas, and Calgary, and its major sewage-related operations took place in Toronto, York Township, and Kitchener. The company also consulted widely throughout Ontario. Having already earned Harris’s confidence, GNS obtained its most important assignments in Toronto. The commissioner of works was to rely exclusively on the firm for water-supply and sewage-disposal advice until his death in 1945.

The company’s outstanding project was the Toronto Water Works Extension. Harris’s vision was to achieve water security for the city by duplicating the major supply, distribution, and storage elements of the existing system. In 1925 he retained Gore and Henry Girdlestone Acres* to plan the work. The $14.3-million solution – at the time the country’s most extensive water purification/distribution works – included a rapid-sand-filter plant that would feature a new spiral-mixing technology of Gore’s invention, a reservoir, two pumping stations, and a 9.5-mile filtered-water tunnel. At the time of Gore’s death only the reservoir and the tunnel were finished; the works, eventually known as the R. C. Harris Water Treatment Plant, would not become fully operational until 1941.

GNS also helped solve Toronto’s sewage-treatment woes. The North Toronto waste-water project, finished in 1929 and described as “the largest complete system ever put in at one time in Canada,” linked 13.5 miles of main sewers to a $1-million treatment plant. The plant, initially designed to accommodate the needs of 50,000 people, had a unique combination of features, including primary and secondary sedimentation tanks, heated digestion tanks, and glass-covered sludge-drying beds; the application of heat to speed up digestion had never before been attempted in Ontario. GNS’s expansion of the works, completed in 1935, would serve 100,000 people. The North Toronto plant handled only one-tenth of Toronto’s sewage, however. The rest went largely untreated into Lake Ontario (the sewage-disposal plant at Ashbridges Bay, completed in 1914, removed the sludge but did not further treat the effluent). Harris hoped to remedy this situation when he again retained Gore’s firm in 1931. City Council baulked at the $20.4-million plan proposed two years later for a primary- and secondary-treatment works at the mouth of Highland Creek in Scarborough (Toronto). More studies and political indecision followed. Eventually a larger primary-treatment plant was begun at Ashbridges Bay in 1944.

The exception to GNS’s Ontario-centred work was the creation of a new water-supply system for Calgary, the greatest of the firm’s projects finished in Gore’s lifetime. With the city facing a water famine in 1929, Gore pronounced the current system obsolete. His solution involved buying 2,400 acres along the Elbow River to create a dam, a reservoir, a pumping station powered by hydraulic turbines, a rapid-sand-filter plant, and 8.5 miles of water mains. In 1933 Calgarians gained an ample supply of quality drinking water, flood protection, and a major recreational space. The availability of irrigation water led to “fine gardens, beautiful parks and tidy boulevards” throughout the city, municipal officials noted.

Illness in early 1934 prevented Gore from delivering a major paper on the Calgary project. He would not live to see the unprecedented attention lavished on the Glenmore Water Works System – fitting, perhaps, because Gore was, as the Toronto Daily Star noted after his death, “as retiring as he was able.” Although “little known outside his profession,” the paper continued, he was “esteemed in the engineering world as one of its most brilliant men,” and his passing merited lengthy obituaries in many Canadian and American engineering journals. Even the New York Times acknowledged Gore as “an engineer and inventor with an international reputation,” though his role in using technology to enhance the health and well-being of Canadians went unremarked.

Wayne Reeves

William Gore is the author or co-author of “The Toronto drifting sand water purification plant,” Engineering Instit. of Can., Journal (Montreal), 2 (1919): 701–13 (with William Storrie); “Purification of sewage – sludge digestion,” Canadian Engineer (Toronto), 48 (January–June 1925): 579–81 (with G. G. Nasmith); “The Border Cities’ new filter plant,” Contract Record and Engineering Rev. (Toronto), 3 March 1926: 202–6 (with J. C. Keith); City of Toronto report on proposed extensions to the water works system, May 15th, 1926 ([Toronto, 1926]) (with H. G. Acres); “Supply, intakes and storage,” American Water Works Assoc., Journal (Baltimore, Md), 15 (January–June 1926): 531–45; “Fourteen million dollar extension to Toronto’s water supply system,” Contract Record and Engineering Rev., 19 June 1929: 726–30; “Ottawa’s water purification problems,” Contract Record and Engineering Rev., 19 March 1930: 343–45; “Modern water works pumping stations,” Canadian Engineer, 22 March 1932: 5–8; “A $4,000,000 water supply system for the city of Calgary: part 1 – the dam, reservoir, screen house and pumping plant,” Engineering and Contract Record (Toronto), 48 (1934): 359–68; and “Calgary’s new water works system,” American Water Works Assoc., Journal, 26 (1934): 977–1014. A complete listing of his articles in the above journals as well as in the American Soc. of Civil Engineers, Proc. (New York), Engineering News (New York), and Instit. of Civil Engineers, Minutes of proc. (London) is available in the DCB/DBC offices.

GRO, Reg. of marriages, King’s Lynn, Norfolk, 2 Jan. 1899. LAC, R3492-0-5, vol.91, membership file for William Gore. New York Times, 8 June 1934: 21. Toronto Daily Star, 8 June 1934: 4. Letty Anderson, “Water-supply,” in Building Canada: a history of public works, ed. N. R. Ball (Toronto and Buffalo, N.Y., 1988), 195–220. M. N. Baker, “Highlights reflecting Canadian waterworks practice,” Engineering News-Record (New York), 5 June 1941: 77. A. E. Berry, “Developments in Canadian waterworks practice, 1850–1940,” Water and Sewage (Toronto), 78 (1940), no.12: 9–18, 42–45. Canadian Intellectual Property Office, “Canadian patents database,” patent nos.146827, 148307, 159657, 176682, 213108: www.ic.gc.ca/opic-cipo/cpd/eng/introduction.html (consulted 6 June 2017). Tom Davey, Recollections of water pollution control in Ontario (Aurora, Ont., 1985). William Storrie, “William Gore, M. Am. Soc. C. E.,” American Soc. of Civil Engineers, Trans. (New York), 100 (1935): 1660–62.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Wayne Reeves, “GORE, WILLIAM,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 8, 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/gore_william_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:


Permalink:   http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/gore_william_16E.html
Author of Article:   Wayne Reeves
Title of Article:   GORE, WILLIAM
Publication Name:   Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher:   University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication:   2022
Year of revision:   2022
Access Date:   December 8, 2022

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies modifiées

Biographie du jour

DOUGLAS, DAVID – Volume VI (1821-1835)

né le 25 juin 1799 à Scone, Écosse

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  William Gore. From: Windsor Star, 07 June 1934, page 5.

Provenance : Lien

GORE, WILLIAM, ingénieur civil et inventeur, né le 13 avril 1871 à West Winch, près de King’s Lynn, Angleterre, fils de John Gore, berger, et de Mary Ann Barrett ; le 2 janvier 1899, il épousa à King’s Lynn Katherine (Katie, Kate) Daisley (décédée le 6 décembre 1949), et ils eurent un fils ; décédé le 7 juin 1934 à Long Branch (Toronto).

Né dans les Fens, basses terres de l’est de l’Angleterre, William Gore grandit dans un paysage parsemé d’ouvrages hydrauliques. Après avoir fréquenté la King’s Lynn Technical School, il devint apprenti, puis ingénieur adjoint à la fonderie Highgate Iron Works, dans la même ville. Il s’installa ensuite à Londres pour suivre le cours de génie civil et mécanique du City and Guilds of London Institute for the Advancement of Technical Education. Il obtint son diplôme en 1896.

Grâce à des études brillantes, Gore trouva du travail auprès des meilleurs ingénieurs hydrauliques de Grande-Bretagne. À titre d’adjoint principal de George Frederick Deacon, puis au sein de la firme Sir Alexander Binnie, Son and Deacon de 1899 à 1912, il avait la « responsabilité directe », selon ses dires, de travaux en Angleterre, au pays de Galles, en Italie, en Australie, en Grèce, à Malte, en Russie et en Inde. Parmi ses projets figuraient des réservoirs, des aqueducs, des barrages, des pipelines, des lits filtrants, des égouts, des canaux d’irrigation, des stations de pompage, des puits et des chemins de fer souterrains.

En 1912, deux ans après son invention de la filtration à sable mouvant, Gore se joignit à la Ransome-ver Mehr Machinery Company de Londres dans le but de développer cette technologie. L’entreprise créa une filiale, la John ver Mehr Engineering Company Limited, afin d’explorer les marchés étrangers et de répondre à la demande croissante de purification d’eau pour promouvoir la santé publique. Au début de 1913, à Toronto, Gore et John Malan ver Mehr présentèrent le nouveau filtre à Roland Caldwell Harris*, commissaire des travaux publics de la ville. Insatisfait de la capacité et du rendement de l’usine de filtration lente sur sable terminée en 1912 sur l’île Centre, Harris préconisait fortement l’adoption d’une méthode de traitement de l’eau plus efficace.

Les essais que réalisa George Gallie Nasmith*, à la tête des laboratoires du département de santé de Toronto [V. Charles John Colwell Orr Hastings], confirmèrent la performance de l’invention de Gore et, en 1914, la municipalité, sous la direction du maire Horatio Clarence Hocken, accorda à la compagnie de ver Mehr un contrat de 1,1 million de dollars pour construire une usine de filtration à sable mouvant sur l’île Centre. La firme suscita l’attention et attira des gens talentueux. À ce moment-là, elle avait engagé comme ingénieur en chef William Storrie, auparavant responsable des travaux hydrauliques à Ottawa. Audacieux, le projet de filtration serait le plus gros et le plus coûteux au Canada, et constituerait la plus importante application de la technologie de filtration à sable mouvant au monde. La presse d’ingénierie nord-américaine suivit donc attentivement son déroulement. L’usine, partiellement en service en décembre 1917, mais terminée l’année d’après, permit enfin aux Torontois de jouir d’un approvisionnement d’eau potable sécuritaire. Au cours de ces années, Gore et sa femme décidèrent de rester au Canada.

Entre 1913 et 1921, Gore obtint cinq brevets canadiens, fruits de son « esprit de type inventif », comme le décrivait Storrie. Tous concernaient le traitement de l’eau ou de l’eau des égouts. En 1915, Gore adapta son filtre pour l’utilisation en temps de guerre ; les armées britannique, française et américaine l’employèrent subséquemment. Gore et Storrie conçurent également pour la compagnie de ver Mehr de petites unités de filtration destinées à des immeubles de bureaux à Toronto et Montréal. En 1919, Gore construisit des usines de filtration à sable mouvant à Brampton, Oshawa et Rockland, en Ontario, tandis que Storrie s’occupait de projets de ver Mehr en Grande-Bretagne. En octobre 1919 naquit une nouvelle association, la Gore, Nasmith and Storrie, qui offrait, selon le Canadian Engineer, des services-conseils sur « toutes formes de génie de santé publique, notamment les travaux hydrauliques, les égouts, l’évacuation des eaux usées et la recherche bactériologique ». En principe active partout au Canada, la firme réalisa cependant tous ses projets mentionnés dans la presse d’ingénierie en Ontario, sauf un.

Pour ses clients municipaux, la Gore, Nasmith and Storrie rédigeait d’abord un rapport sur les solutions possibles à un problème sanitaire particulier. Une fois le projet approuvé, elle concevait souvent les installations, en supervisait la construction, puis en assurait le fonctionnement pendant une certaine période. Elle réalisa ses plus importants ouvrages d’approvisionnement en eau à Hamilton, Windsor, Toronto, Belleville, Ottawa, St Thomas et Calgary, et ses plus grands travaux d’égouts à Toronto, dans le canton d’York et à Kitchener. La compagnie effectuait également de nombreuses consultations dans toute la province. Ayant déjà gagné la confiance de Harris, la Gore, Nasmith and Storrie obtint ses plus gros contrats à Toronto. Le commissaire aux travaux publics s’en remettrait exclusivement aux conseils de la firme en matière d’approvisionnement en eau et de l’évacuation des eaux usées jusqu’à sa mort en 1945.

La Toronto Water Works Extension constitua le projet le plus remarquable de la compagnie. Harris proposait de sécuriser l’approvisionnement en eau de la ville en dupliquant les principaux éléments d’approvisionnement, de distribution et d’entreposage du système existant. En 1925, il engagea Gore et Henry Girdlestone Acres* pour en réaliser les plans. Le projet de 14,3 millions de dollars – le plus imposant système de purification et de distribution d’eau courante au pays à l’époque – comprenait une usine de filtration rapide sur sable, qui utiliserait une nouvelle technologie de brassage en spirale inventée par Gore, un réservoir, deux stations de pompage et un tunnel d’eau filtrée de 9,5 milles. À la mort de Gore, on avait achevé le réservoir et le tunnel seulement ; l’installation de filtration, plus tard nommée la R. C. Harris Water Treatment Plant, n’entra entièrement en service qu’en 1941.

La Gore, Nasmith and Storrie contribua aussi à résoudre les problèmes de traitement des eaux usées de Toronto. Le projet de traitement des eaux usées de North Toronto, achevé en 1929 et présenté comme « le plus grand système complet jamais réalisé en une fois au Canada », reliait 13,5 milles d’égouts principaux à une usine de traitement d’une valeur de un million de dollars. Initialement conçue pour répondre aux besoins de 50 000 habitants, l’usine comprenait un ensemble unique d’éléments, dont des bassins de sédimentation primaire et secondaire, des cuves de digestion chauffées et des lits de séchage de boue couverts de verre ; en Ontario, jamais, jusque-là, on n’avait tenté d’utiliser la chaleur pour accélérer la digestion. L’agrandissement de l’ouvrage que la Gore, Nasmith and Storrie termina en 1935 desservirait 100 000 personnes. Cependant, l’usine de North Toronto ne traitait qu’un dixième des égouts de la ville. Le reste s’en allait dans le lac Ontario pratiquement sans traitement (la station d’évacuation des eaux usées de la baie d’Ashbridges, mise en marche en 1914, retirait les boues, mais ne traitait pas les effluents). Harris espérait remédier à cette situation quand il retint à nouveau les services de la firme de Gore en 1931. Le conseil municipal écarta le plan de 20,4 millions de dollars proposé deux ans plus tard pour une installation de traitement primaire et secondaire à l’embouchure du ruisseau Highland, à Scarborough (Toronto). D’autres études et tergiversations politiques suivirent. Finalement, la construction d’une plus grande usine de traitement primaire démarra à la baie d’Ashbridges en 1944.

Le seul ouvrage que la Gore, Nasmith and Storrie effectua à l’extérieur de l’Ontario – et le plus ambitieux projet que l’entreprise réalisa du vivant de Gore – fut un nouveau système d’approvisionnement en eau pour Calgary. En 1929, alors que la ville faisait face à une pénurie d’eau, Gore constata la désuétude du système existant. Afin de remédier au problème, il proposa l’achat de 2 400 acres de terrain le long de la rivière Elbow dans le but de construire un barrage, un réservoir, une station de pompage alimentée par des turbines hydrauliques, une usine de filtration rapide sur sable et 8,5 milles de conduites principales d’eau. En 1933, les habitants de Calgary acquirent ainsi un approvisionnement abondant d’eau potable de qualité, une protection contre les inondations et un important espace récréatif. L’accès à l’eau d’irrigation permit, comme le notèrent des responsables municipaux, de créer « de magnifiques jardins, de beaux parcs et des boulevards soignés » partout dans la ville.

Au début de 1934, la maladie empêcha William Gore de présenter comme prévu une communication majeure sur le projet de Calgary. Il ne vécut pas assez longtemps pour voir l’intérêt sans précédent que suscita le Glenmore Water Works System. Cela valait peut-être mieux, car Gore, selon ce qu’on écrivit dans le Toronto Daily Star après sa mort, « était aussi timide que compétent ». « [P]eu connu en dehors de sa profession », continuait-on, il était toutefois « estimé dans le monde de l’ingénierie comme un de ses hommes les plus brillants ». Beaucoup de journaux d’ingénierie au Canada et aux États-Unis soulignèrent son décès dans des nécrologies détaillées. Même le New York Times reconnut en Gore « un ingénieur et un inventeur de réputation internationale » ; le rôle qu’il avait joué en utilisant la technologie pour améliorer la santé et le bien-être des Canadiens passa néanmoins inaperçu.

Wayne Reeves

William Gore est l’auteur ou le coauteur des publications suivantes : « The Toronto drifting sand water purification plant », Engineering Instit. of Canada, Journal (Montréal), 2 (1919) : 701–713 (avec William Storrie) ; « Purification of sewage – sludge digestion », Canadian Engineer (Toronto), 48 (janvier–juin 1925) : 579–581 (avec G. G. Nasmith) ; « The Border Cities’ new filter plant », Contract Record and Engineering Rev. (Toronto), 3 mars 1926 : 202–206 (avec J. C. Keith) ; City of Toronto report on proposed extensions to the water works system, May 15th, 1926 ([Toronto, 1926]) (avec H. G. Acres) ; « Supply, intakes and storage », American Water Works Assoc., Journal (Baltimore, Md), 15 (janvier–juin 1926) : 531–545 ; « Fourteen million dollar extension to Toronto’s water supply system », Contract Record and Engineering Rev., 19 juin 1929 : 726–730 ; « Ottawa’s water purification problems », Contract Record and Engineering Rev., 19 mars 1930 : 343–345 ; « Modern water works pumping stations », Canadian Engineer, 22 mars 1932 : 5–8 ; « A $4,000,000 water supply system for the city of Calgary : part 1 – the dam, reservoir, screen house and pumping plant », Engineering and Contract Record (Toronto), 48 (1934) : 359–368 ; et « Calgary’s new water works system », American Water Works Assoc., Journal, 26 (1934) : 977–1014. Le DBC conserve une liste complète de ses articles parus dans les périodiques mentionnés ci-dessus, ainsi que dans American Soc. of Civil Engineers, Proc. (New York), Engineering News (New York) et Instit. of Civil Engineers, Minutes of proc. (Londres).

BAC, R3492-0-5, vol. 91, membership file for William Gore.— GRO, Reg. of marriages, King’s Lynn, Norfolk, 2 janv. 1899.— New York Times, 8 juin 1934 : 21.— Toronto Daily Star, 8 juin 1934 : 4.— Letty Anderson, « l’Approvisionnement en eau », dans Bâtir un pays : histoire des travaux publics au Canada, Gérard Boulad et al., trad., sous la dir. de N. R. Ball (Montréal, 1988), 209–235.— M. N. Baker, « Highlights reflecting Canadian waterworks practice », Engineering News-Record (New York), 5 juin 1941 : 77.— A. E. Berry, « Developments in Canadian waterworks practice, 1850–1940 », Water and Sewage (Toronto), 78 (1940), no 12 : 9–18, 42–45.— Tom Davey, Recollections of water pollution control in Ontario (Aurora, Ontario, 1985).— Office de la propriété intellectuelle du Canada, « Base de données sur les brevets canadiens », brevets nos 146827, 148307, 159657, 176682, 213108 : www.ic.gc.ca/opic-cipo/cpd/fra/introduction.html (consulté le 6 juin 2017).— William Storrie, « William Gore, M. Am. Soc. C. E. », American Soc. of Civil Engineers, Trans. (New York), 100 (1935) : 1660–1662.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Wayne Reeves, « GORE, WILLIAM », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 25 juin 2022, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/gore_william_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique


Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/gore_william_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:    Wayne Reeves
Titre de l'article:    GORE, WILLIAM
Titre de la publication:    Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:    Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:    2022
Année de la révision:    2022
Date de consultation:    25 juin 2022