DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

HIND, WILLIAM GEORGE RICHARDSON – Volume XI (1881-1890)

d. 18 Nov. 1889 at Sussex, N.B.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

FROUDE (Froud), JOHN WILLIAM, miner, fisherman, seafarer, author, and businessman; b. 28 May 1863 in Twillingate, Nfld, son of William Froude and Mary ———; m. 7 Oct. 1893 Lucy Pelly (Pelley) in Tom Hall’s Harbour, Nfld, and they had as many as 12 children; d. 16 March 1940 in Twillingate.

John W. Froude kept a diary primarily between 1887 and 1898 which he wrote in his own style, using words and grammar that echo, as scholar Eric William Sager has commented, “the cadence and rhymes of hymns and sea shanties.” His career demonstrates that Newfoundland’s outports, far from being isolated, were connected by international trade to cities throughout the Atlantic world. During his lifetime Twillingate was one of the great centres of the Labrador cod fishery and seal hunt. Following what he later recalled as a “happy childhood” full of delight, Froude first went to work in 1877 with an uncle at the nearby Little Bay mine. In 1882 he signed on to a schooner for his first trip to Labrador, and in 1887 he spent “a long toilsome summer” on the Grand Banks. That fall, unhappy with poor earnings, he decided to join the crew of an English ship that was to carry salt fish to Italy.

Newfoundland sailors such as Froude often did not intend to travel too far or be too long away from home, but the fish trade in European markets could lead them on voyages that lasted for quite a while, either because their captains looked for good prices and return cargoes, or because they joined other ships. His initial transatlantic voyage took him to Leghorn, Italy, and then to Bristol, England, where he contracted to sail to Cadiz, Spain; from there he visited several ports in Brazil before returning to England, landing in Falmouth in October 1888. Froude liked the country and decided to base himself in London. He often worked on steamers, which by the end of the 19th century were replacing the wooden sailing fleets of the Maritimes and Newfoundland. Over the next four years he journeyed to the ports of the Black Sea, the Mediterranean, the Indian Ocean, southeast Asia, and the South Pacific. Froude was proud of his adventures on the high seas, recalling towards the end of his career, “I have sailed around the great globe over the bounding bellows of the 5 great oceans the 7 seas lakes and rivers of the world to 32 different countries 77 seaportowns and citys one hundred and fifty nine thousand seven hundred miles in my travells of 2270592,000 secons of time.”

Froude’s diary richly describes his experiences, including his many injuries and his carousing and occasional fights ashore, which once led to the threat of being jailed in New York City. He writes about the duties of the crew, the sails and rigging of the vessels he worked on, and the use of log lines for calculating a ship’s speed. He also demonstrates a fundamental curiosity about global geography, history, and people. For example, in Leghorn he “took a great delight in rambling around the town and viewing the great buildings churches music [h]alls theaters circuses and law coarts,” and “got acquainted with the italians greeks and turks which I thought was quite a treat they told me of things I had never heard and of things I had never seen and of strange places in their own country where I had never been.” He usually provides a brief history of the places he visited, and while in Sevastopol (Ukraine), he was particularly inspired to relate the story of the charge of the Light Brigade during the Crimean War.

The curiosity and sense of wonderment about the wider world so evident in Froude’s diary is matched by the appreciation and empathy he felt for the various peoples he met. Froude does not hesitate to point out that he found many of the people native to the places he visited to be “quairous looking,” but he enjoyed such differences. While at the port of Nagasaki, for example, he “had a gay time with the Japanese,” who were “very kind and Friendly the women are very beautiful.” In Asia and Africa he often stayed among those of non-Christian faiths, and he observes, “I have been treated with sevility by lots Of these that bow down to wood and stone And bad by some of these that was Brought up under the sound of the Gosple all their life.” Perhaps reflecting the rough egalitarianism that so many scholars have attributed to Anglo-American seafarers, in 1890 Froude sympathized with the plights of the poor he encountered in Rio de Janeiro and the convict labourers he saw working at the Cape of Good Hope.

For Froude, as for many other Anglo-American mariners, work at sea was a young person’s vocation. Entrepreneurial by inclination, he studied photography while living ashore during the winter. He purchased a magic lantern and made extra money by giving shows for passengers on steamers, or by taking photographs for them. His diary suggests that by May 1891 he had begun to yearn for his hometown, and over the next 16 months he made a long and circuitous voyage back to Twillingate. Froude arrived on 19 Sept. 1892, revealing a more sentimental side of his masculinity when he recalls, “I meet my mother For the first time sence I leaved the old cottage on The hill she threw her arms around my neck and Fondly pressed me to her bosom as if I had been A child of 6 years.”

John W. Froude decided to remain in Newfoundland and make his living as an entrepreneur. Over the winter of 1892–93 he built a shop, acquired his first schooner, and began to trade in Notre Dame Bay, taking salt cod, cod-oil, and cash for dry goods. In October 1893 Froude married Lucy Pelly, with whom he would have a large family. Like many businessmen in the colony he suffered a financial setback in the bank crash of 1894 [see James Goodfellow*], and by the summer of 1898 the loss of two schooners in gales had led him back to work as a sailor, mostly on voyages to Cape Breton Island. Froude combined seafaring with trading, sawmilling, and boatbuilding throughout the next three decades. Among his riskier endeavours were investments in the Twillingate Coal Company of Newfoundland Limited, which failed in 1908, and the Twillingate Electrical Company of Newfoundland, which suffered the same fate the next year under his own management. By 17 Dec. 1937, perhaps sobered by his business failures and missing his life on the sea, he had retired to prepare his diary for posterity as a record of his “dreary wandering trackless trail Of Life.” In doing so, Froude left evidence of the often-unappreciated cosmopolitan aspects of outport life and of the views of late-19th-century mariners.

Sean T. Cadigan

John William Froude’s diary came into the possession of a relative, Edwin Noftle of Campbellton, Nfld, who arranged to have it published as J. W. Froude, On the high seas: the diary of Capt. John W. Froude, Twillingate, 1863–1939 (St John’s, 1983). The birthdate given in the diary is confirmed by his baptismal record held in RPA, Methodist parish records, Twillingate, Reg. of baptisms, box 1, 1853—68, as is the correct spelling of his surname. However, his death certificate (Nfld, Dept. of Service NL, Govt. services branch, Vital statistics div. (St John’s), no.FD45824) shows that he died one year later than the title of On the high seas … might suggest. A copy of the marriage record of John W. Froude and Lucy Pelly is available at Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, “Newfoundland, vital records, 1840–1949”: https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:QKQF-DYSB (consulted 24 Nov. 2015).

A genealogical database of the Froude family has been maintained by Barbara Froude, a descendant of John W. Froude, at “The Froud family home page”: www.genealogy.com/ftm/f/r/o/Barbara--A-Froude/index.html (consulted 14 Oct. 2015).

The significance of Froude’s work has been well treated in E. W. Sager, Seafaring labour: the merchant marine of Atlantic Canada, 1820–1914 (Kingston, Ont., 1989). On the regional shipping industry see R. E. Ommer, “Ships and shipping, 1863–1914,” plate 39, and C. G. Head et al., “Canadian fisheries, 1850–1900,” plate 37, in Historical atlas of Canada (3v., Toronto, 1987–93), 2 (The land transformed, 1800–1891, ed. R. L. Gentilcore et al., 1993). See also E. W. Sager and J. J. Mannion, “Sea and livelihood in Atlantic Canada,” in Historical atlas of Canada, 3 (Addressing the twentieth century, 1891–1961, ed. Donald Kerr and D. W. Holdsworth, 1990), plate 23.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Sean T. Cadigan, “FROUDE (FROUD), JOHN WILLIAM,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 18, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/froude_john_william_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/froude_john_william_16E.html
Author of Article: Sean T. Cadigan
Title of Article: FROUDE (FROUD), JOHN WILLIAM
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2018
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: November 18, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

CREIGHTON, LETITIA – Volume XII (1891-1900)

décédée le 16 juillet 1896 à Toronto

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

FROUDE (Froud), JOHN WILLIAM, mineur, pêcheur, marin, auteur et homme d’affaires, né le 28 mai 1863 à Twillingate, Terre-Neuve, fils de William Froude et d’une prénommée Mary ; le 7 octobre 1893, il épousa à Tom Hall’s Harbour, Terre-Neuve, Lucy Pelly (Pelley), et ils n’eurent pas moins de 12 enfants ; décédé le 16 mars 1940 à Twillingate.

John William Froude tint un journal, principalement entre 1887 et 1898, qu’il écrivit dans son propre style, en employant des mots et une grammaire qui évoquaient, comme le dirait le chercheur Eric William Sager, « la cadence et les rimes des hymnes et des chansons de marins ». Sa carrière montre que les petits villages de pêche de Terre-Neuve, loin d’être isolés, étaient en contact avec des villes de toute la région atlantique grâce au commerce international. À l’époque où vécut Froude, Twillingate était l’un des principaux centres de transformation de la morue et du phoque attrapés dans les eaux du Labrador. Après une « enfance heureuse » pleine de délices, comme il s’en souviendrait, Froude occupa son premier emploi en 1877 : il partit travailler avec un oncle à la mine de Little Bay, non loin de chez lui. En 1882, il s’engagea sur une goélette et fit son premier voyage au Labrador. En 1887, il passa un « long été exténuant » au Grand-Banc. Cet automne-là, mécontent de son maigre salaire, il décida de se joindre à l’équipage d’un navire anglais qui transportait du poisson salé vers l’Italie.

Souvent, les marins de Terre-Neuve comme Froude n’avaient pas l’intention de voyager trop loin ou de s’éloigner trop longtemps de la maison. L’industrie de la pêche destinée aux marchés européens pouvait cependant les entraîner dans des traversées d’assez longue durée, soit parce que leur capitaine cherchait de bons prix et des cargaisons de retour, soit parce qu’ils s’engageaient sur d’autres bateaux. Le premier voyage transatlantique de Froude le conduisit à Livourne, en Italie, puis à Bristol, en Angleterre, où il signa un contrat pour naviguer jusqu’à Cadix, en Espagne ; à partir de là, il se rendit dans plusieurs ports au Brésil avant de revenir en Angleterre, à Falmouth, en octobre 1888. Froude aimait ce pays et décida de s’installer à Londres. Il travaillait souvent sur des navires à vapeur qui, à la fin du xixe siècle, étaient en voie de remplacer les bateaux à voiles en bois des Maritimes et de Terre-Neuve. Au cours des quatre années suivantes, il s’arrêta dans les ports de la mer Noire, de la Méditerranée, de l’océan Indien, de l’Asie du Sud-Est et du Pacifique Sud. Froude était fier de ses aventures en haute mer et, vers la fin de sa carrière, raviva ses souvenirs : « J’ai vogué autour de l’immense globe par-delà les frontières mugissantes des cinq grands océans[,] des sept mers[,] lacs et fleuves du monde vers 32 différents pays[,] 77 villes portuaires[,] [parcourant] cent cinquante-neuf mille sept cents milles pendant les 2 270 592 000 secondes [que durèrent] mes voyages. »

Dans son journal, Froude décrit abondamment ses expériences, y compris ses nombreuses blessures, ses beuveries et bagarres occasionnelles à terre, qui faillirent une fois le conduire en prison à New York. Il parle des tâches de l’équipage, des voiles et des gréements des navires à bord desquels il travaillait, et de l’usage des lignes de loch pour calculer la vitesse d’un navire. Il fait également preuve d’une curiosité naturelle pour la géographie, l’histoire et les habitants des pays du monde. À Livourne, par exemple, il « prit grand plaisir à se balader dans la ville et à voir les grands édifices[,] les églises[,] les music-halls[,] les théâtres[,] les cirques et les palais de justice ». Il écrit aussi : « [J’]appris à connaître les Italiens[,] les Grecs et les Turcs[,] ce qui, à mon avis, était fort agréable [;] ils me parlèrent de choses dont je n’avais jamais entendu parler et de choses que je n’avais jamais vues et de lieux étranges dans leur propre pays où je n’avais jamais été. » Il donne en général un bref historique des endroits qu’il visitait et, tandis qu’il était à Sébastopol (Ukraine), il fut particulièrement inspiré pour relater l’histoire de la charge de la Light Brigade pendant la guerre de Crimée.

La curiosité et le sens de l’émerveillement pour le vaste monde si manifestes dans le journal de Froude vont de pair avec la reconnaissance et l’empathie qu’il ressentait à l’égard des diverses personnes qu’il rencontrait. Froude n’hésite pas à dire que, parmi les gens originaires des endroits qu’il visitait, beaucoup lui parurent « d’allure étrange », mais il appréciait ces différences. Pendant qu’il était au port de Nagasaki, par exemple, il passa « un moment agréable avec les Japonais », qui furent « très gentils et amicaux ». « Les femmes sont très belles », ajoute-t-il. En Asie et en Afrique, il séjourna souvent avec des non-chrétiens et fit la remarque suivante : « J’ai été traité avec courtoisie par nombre de ceux qui se prosternent devant le bois et la pierre et mal[traité] par certains de ceux qui ont entendu la parole de l’Évangile toute leur vie. » Reflet possible de l’égalitarisme brut que tant de chercheurs attribueraient aux marins anglo-américains, en 1890, Froude compatit à la détresse des pauvres qu’il rencontra à Rio de Janeiro et à celle des condamnés qu’il vit travailler au cap de Bonne-Espérance, en Afrique du Sud.

Pour Froude, comme pour beaucoup d’autres marins anglo-américains, le travail en mer était une profession de jeunes. Entrepreneur par nature, il étudia la photographie tandis qu’il vivait sur la côte durant l’hiver. Il acheta une lanterne magique et arrondit ses fins de mois en offrant des spectacles aux passagers des vapeurs ou en prenant des photos pour eux. Son journal porte à croire qu’en mai 1891, il avait commencé à se languir de sa ville natale et, au cours des 16 mois subséquents, il accomplit un long et tortueux voyage de retour vers Twillingate. Il arriva le 19 septembre 1892 et révéla un aspect plus sentimental de sa personnalité virile : « Je revis ma mère pour la première fois depuis que j’avais quitté la vieille maison sur la colline [;] elle jeta ses bras autour de mon cou et me pressa affectueusement contre son sein comme si j’avais été un enfant de six ans. »

John William Froude décida de rester à Terre-Neuve et de gagner sa vie comme entrepreneur. Durant l’hiver de 1892–1893, il construisit un atelier, acheta sa première goélette et commença à faire du commerce dans la baie de Notre-Dame, échangeant de la morue salée, de l’huile de morue et de l’argent liquide contre des marchandises sèches. En octobre 1893, il épousa Lucy Pelly, avec qui il aurait une famille nombreuse. Comme bien des hommes d’affaires de la colonie, il subit un revers financier lors de la faillite bancaire de 1894 [V. James Goodfellow*] et, à l’été de 1898, la perte de deux goélettes dans des tempêtes l’amena à retravailler comme marin, principalement vers l’île du Cap-Breton. Froude combina la navigation avec le commerce, le sciage de bois d’œuvre et la construction navale pendant encore 30 ans. Parmi ses entreprises les plus risquées figurent ses investissements dans la Twillingate Coal Company of Newfoundland Limited, qui fit faillite en 1908, et dans la Twillingate Electrical Company of Newfoundland, qui connut le même sort l’année suivante sous sa propre direction. Le 17 décembre 1937, à la retraite, et peut-être refroidi par ses échecs en affaires et en mal de sa vie en mer, il préparait son journal pour la postérité, comme récit de son « parcours de vie sinueux de morne errance ». Ce faisant, Froude rendit compte des aspects cosmopolites, souvent méconnus, de la vie dans les villages de pêcheurs et du point de vue des marins de la fin du xixe siècle.

Sean T. Cadigan

Un membre de la famille de John William Froude, Edwin Noftle, de Campbellton, à Terre-Neuve, est entré en possession de son journal personnel et l’a fait publier sous le titre On the high seas : the diary of Capt. John W. Froude, Twillingate, 1863–1939 (St John’s, 1983). L’acte de baptême de Froude, conservé aux RPA, Methodist parish records, Twillingate, Reg. of baptisms, box 1, 1853–1868, confirme la date de naissance donnée dans son journal, ainsi que l’orthographe de son nom de famille. Cependant, la date inscrite sur son certificat de décès (T.-N., Dept. of Service NL, Govt. services branch, Vital statistics div. (St John’s), no.FD45824) indique qu’il est mort un an plus tard que ce que laisse supposer le titre On the high seas. Un exemplaire du certificat de mariage de Froude et Lucy Pelly est accessible en ligne : Église de Jésus-Christ des saints des derniers jours, « Newfoundland, vital records, 1840–1949 » : https://familysearch.org/ark:/61903/1:1:QKQF-DYSB (consulté le 24 nov. 2015).

Barbara Froude, descendante de John William Froude, tient à jour une banque de données généalogiques en ligne sur la famille Froude : « The Froud family home page » : www.genealogy.com/ftm/f/r/o/Barbara--A-Froude/index.html (consulté le 14 oct. 2015).

L’importance du travail de Froude est bien présentée dans : E. W. Sager, Seafaring labour : the merchant marine of Atlantic Canada, 1820–1914 (Kingston, Ontario, 1989). Pour obtenir quelques renseignements sur l’industrie régionale des transports et du commerce maritimes, on peut consulter : R. E. Ommer, « Navires et Navigation, 1863–1914 », planche 39, et C. G. Head et al., « les Pêches canadiennes, 1850–1900 », planche 37, dans Atlas historique du Canada (3 vol., Montréal, 1987–1993), 2 (la Transformation du territoire, 1800–1891, R. L. Gentilcore et al., édit., Marcel Paré, trad., 1993), ainsi que E. W. Sager et J. J. Mannion, « la Mer et le Mode de vie sur la côte canadienne de l’Atlantique », dans Atlas historique du Canada, 3 (Jusqu’au cœur du xxe siècle, 1891–1961, Donald Kerr et al., édit., Marcel Paré, trad., 1990), planche 23.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Sean T. Cadigan, « FROUDE (FROUD), JOHN WILLIAM », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 16 juill. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/froude_john_william_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/froude_john_william_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Sean T. Cadigan
Titre de l'article:   FROUDE (FROUD), JOHN WILLIAM
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2018
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   16 juillet 2018