DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

GIROD, AMURY – Volume VII (1836-1850)

d. 18 Dec. 1837 in Pointe-aux-Trembles (Montreal)

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

FIELDS, JOHN CHARLES, mathematician, university professor, and founder of the international medal for mathematics research known as the Fields Medal; b. 14 May 1863 in Hamilton, Upper Canada, son of John Charles Fields and Henrietta (Harriet) Bowes; d. unmarried 9 Aug. 1932 in Toronto and was buried two days later in Hamilton Cemetery.

J. C. Fields’s maternal forebears came from the village of Newbliss (Republic of Ireland) and settled in Upper Canada on a farm near Milton. Of his paternal family, less is known; his father was born in Coteau-du-Lac, Lower Canada. In 1858 Fields Sr opened what became a successful leather business, directed mainly at the shoe trade, on King Street in Hamilton. That year he lost his first wife, and in 1859 he married Harriet Bowes, a schoolteacher in Oakville. Over time he purchased other property in downtown Hamilton that he rented out. After he died suddenly in 1874 at the age of 40, his widow oversaw family affairs until her own early death in 1881, when Fields was 18. His parents’ careful financial management left a sufficient income for their three children to retain the family home and for Fields to attend university.

In Fields’s youth, Hamilton was known for the excellence of two of its public schools, Central School and Hamilton Collegiate Institute, and he was a pupil at both. The institute’s students repeatedly won awards in classics and mathematics, their success due chiefly to principal and classicist George Dickson and mathematics teacher William Henry Ballard. In 1880 Fields took the gold medal in mathematics at the matriculation examinations for the University of Toronto. Since his mother was seriously ill, however, he remained in Hamilton, completing his first academic year through independent study. Following her death, he enrolled at the university in his second year; he would graduate as the gold medallist in mathematics in 1884.

He proceeded immediately to Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, Md, and obtained his phd in 1887. After two further years there as a teaching fellow, he took up an appointment in mathematics at Allegheny College in Meadville, Pa, where he stayed until 1892. Realizing that his interests lay in research, and aided by his small inheritance, he moved to Europe as a postdoctoral scholar; he spent two years in Paris, six months in Göttingen (Germany) studying under Felix Klein, and five years in Berlin. As a record of his time in Berlin, he kept 111 books of lecture notes, now in the archives of the University of Toronto. His observations on higher education in Germany were put forward in an article entitled “The German university and German university mathematics” (1903). Fields’s linguistic skills, amiability, and social ease brought him a large circle of friends and scientific contacts with whom he would renew his acquaintance during frequent travels to Europe and the United States. In 1901, his former mathematics professor James Loudon*, who had become president of the University of Toronto, hired Fields to give a series of lectures. The following year Fields received a permanent appointment as special lecturer in his discipline.

Over the years Fields published 38 mathematical articles. These would be listed by his phd student Samuel Beatty as an addendum to an obituary written for the Royal Society of London by Fields’s friend and colleague John Lighton Synge. In 1906 Fields brought out his only book, Theory of the algebraic functions of a complex variable (Berlin), which affirmed his reputation as the pre-eminent mathematician in Canada before World War I. Promotions at the university followed quickly, and he was elected a fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (1909) and the Royal Society of London (1913). It is not, however, as a scientist that Fields is remembered. In an era of great mathematicians such as Klein, David Hilbert, and Henri Poincaré in Europe and of a strong emerging research tradition in the United States, Fields was a minor figure. His work was overtaken even during his lifetime by a modern algebraic approach and is now seen as a footnote by those interested in the Fields Medal.

What Fields brought to the University of Toronto in 1902 was his conviction of the significance of scientific research arising from his experiences at Johns Hopkins and the University of Berlin. Toronto lagged in experimental work despite Loudon’s efforts to encourage it. The university lacked money. Its professors were overloaded by the need to teach a growing student body. There was as yet no understanding of the importance of research to a strong industrial economy, although this situation was to change with the outbreak of World War I in 1914. Among the voices linking research and industry, Fields’s was foremost within the university, at the Canadian Institute (Royal Canadian Institute from 1914), and in local newspapers. Fields also brought to Canada an international outlook on the unity of science and the need for international cooperation.

In Canada, none of Fields’s personal papers survive and little of his other correspondence. There are, however, letters and records in archives around the world that indicate the wide range of his communications. In addition to his article on the German university, Fields wrote on the Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel, the American philanthropist John Davison Rockefeller, and the connection of science to industry. Shortly before his death, he compiled a retrospective account of mathematics in Canada. As president of the Royal Canadian Institute (1919–25), he was tireless in his efforts to make the organization a centre of active research rather than a forum for scientific discussion. He sought to establish a graduate school at the University of Toronto with its own separate faculty. He also attempted to gain support for a national academy of science modelled on European academies. Ahead of Canadian opinion in all these matters, he was unsuccessful.

World War I fractured international mathematical cooperation along battle lines. At war’s end the rift continued, and it was formalized in 1918–19 when Allied scientists established the International Research Council. Its founding declaration, adopted in 1918 at the Inter-Allied Conference on International Scientific Organizations in London, attributed all war guilt to Germany. The purpose of the IRC was to exclude scientists from the former Central Powers – Germany, Austria, Hungary, Bulgaria, and Turkey – from international scientific associations. A number of scientists from neutral and Allied countries objected to the policy. Among these were mathematicians Magnus Gustaf (Gösta) Mittag-Leffler (Sweden) and Godfrey Harold Hardy (Great Britain) and astronomer Jacobus Cornelius Kapteyn (Netherlands). Despite their objections, at the International Congress of Mathematicians in Strasbourg in 1920, the International Mathematical Union was founded along discriminatory lines. Leadership of the IMU was in the hands of Charles-Jean de La Vallée Poussin (Belgium) and Émile Picard (France), both strong exclusionists. The atmosphere at Strasbourg was bitter. During the congress Leonard Eugene Dickson (United States) proposed holding the 1924 ICM in New York, away from the difficult European atmosphere. He hoped that by then the rupture among mathematicians would be resolved, but it was not. When the American Mathematical Society could not agree to the ban on mathematicians from Germany and its allies, a casual suggestion was made that the congress should take place in Toronto. Fields jumped at the chance.

Fields accepted the stricture on participation by mathematicians from the former Central Powers, but was determined to make the meeting as international as possible under the circumstances. He travelled to Europe in 1923 and 1924 to encourage attendance. Fields raised $70,000 from the Ontario and Canadian governments to offset the high cost of travel for mathematicians from abroad. He also increased the scope of the congress by broadening the definition of mathematics so that practical users of its lessons in such areas as engineering, insurance, and meteorology could be included. The International Mathematical Congress in Toronto, the only ICM so named, was unexpectedly successful within its limitations: 444 mathematicians from 33 countries were present. The exertions of organizing the congress and editing the Proceedings that followed, however, undermined the health of the 61-year-old Fields.

Disregarding the exclusionist policy of the IMU, Salvatore Pincherle invited mathematicians from all countries to attend the 1928 ICM in Bologna, Italy. Among the more than 800 delegates were 76 German mathematicians, 56 from France, and 10 from Belgium. Although Germany had been asked to join the IMU in 1925, its mathematicians remained outside the organization because of the 1918 statement on war guilt. Therefore the rift continued. Fields considered himself to be persona grata to French and Germans alike, and he would go to Europe in 1929, 1930, and 1931 to see what he might do to mend relations. Though unsuccessful in this endeavour, during these years of quiet diplomacy he conceived the idea of an international medal in mathematics.

When the final financial reckoning was made after the publication in 1928 of the Toronto Proceedings, there was a balance of around $2,700, which Fields proposed using for the medal. In December 1930 he successfully sought support from the AMS for his idea and he subsequently enlisted mathematical societies in Europe as well. He also consulted widely on the design of the medal and in 1932 corresponded with Robert Tait McKenzie, a Canadian physician and sculptor at the University of Pennsylvania. Whether Fields saw a preliminary sketch or a prototype of McKenzie’s model has not been ascertained. He died on 9 Aug. 1932. His friend and colleague John Lighton Synge completed Fields’s arrangement with McKenzie and with the IMU, which accepted the medal in October 1932 at the Zürich ICM.

The earliest known facsimile of the medal, cast in bronze and dated 1933, is held at the Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Science, Toronto. In his will Fields had specified two small personal annuities, leaving the rest of his estate of some $45,000 to provide a modest prize to accompany each medal. The first Fields medals were awarded at the Oslo ICM in 1936, and the first with prize money at the 1950 ICM in Cambridge, Mass. According to Fields’s wishes, an international committee of the IMU selects the winners, but the medal itself can be considered to be peculiarly Canadian. The residue of Fields’s estate used to support it continues to be administered by the University of Toronto, and the medal is struck at the Royal Canadian Mint every four years from McKenzie’s original dies. Inaugurated in the early 1930s, in the midst of renewed and rising nationalism, Fields’s medal was a singular international gesture.

Frances Hoffman and Elaine McKinnon Riehm

This biography is based on the authors’ full-length study Turbulent times in mathematics: the life of J. C. Fields and the history of the Fields medal (Providence, R.I., 2011).

John Charles Fields’s mathematical publications are listed by Samuel Beatty on the final three pages of J. L. Synge’s “John Charles Fields, 1863–1932,” Royal Soc. of London, Obit. notices of fellows, 1 (1932–35): 131–38. His non-mathematical publications are “The Abel centenary,” Univ. of Toronto Monthly, 3 (1902–3): 184–91; “The German university and German university mathematics,” Ont. Educational Assoc., Proc. (n.p.), 1903: 274–95; Science and industry ([Toronto?, 1918?]) (address to the members of the Board of Trade in Toronto, 28 March 1918); Universities, research and brain waste (Toronto, 1920) (president’s address, Royal Canadian Instit., 8 Nov. 1919); “Rockefeller’s service to mankind,” Saturday Night, 2 Nov. 1929: 2; and “The Royal Society of Canada and Canadian mathematics,” in RSC, Fifty years retrospect: anniversary volume, 1882–1932 (Toronto, 1932), 107–12.

Fields’s extant correspondence and other letters bearing on the 1924 mathematical congress in Toronto may be found in the James Loudon papers (B1972-0031/014(12)) and the Robert Falconer papers (A1967-0007/RSIN 0002) at UTARMS, and in the R. B. Bennett fonds (R11336-0-7) and the International Mathematical Congress file (R219-100-6, vol.1373, no.1924—347) at LAC. Correspondence and records related to the Royal Canadian Instit. are in ms coll. 00193 at the Univ. of Toronto, Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, and in F 1052-6-0-8 at AO.

Studies of Fields and his medal are presented in H. S. Tropp, “The origins and history of the Fields Medal,” Historia Mathematica (Toronto), 3 (1976): 167–81; Carl Riehm, “The early history of the Fields Medal,” American Mathematical Soc., Notices (Providence), 49 (2002): 778–82; and J. L. Synge, “John Charles Fields,” London Mathematical Soc., Journal (London), 8 (1933): 153–60 (copy at the Dublin Instit. for Advanced Studies, School of Theoretical Physics, Arch., J. L. Synge papers).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Frances Hoffman and Elaine McKinnon Riehm, “FIELDS, JOHN CHARLES,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 18, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fields_john_charles_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/fields_john_charles_16E.html
Author of Article: Frances Hoffman and Elaine McKinnon Riehm
Title of Article: FIELDS, JOHN CHARLES
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2017
Year of revision: 2017
Access Date: December 18, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

RICHARDSON, ROBERT LORNE – Volume XV (1921-1930)

né le 28 juin 1860 près de Balderson, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

FIELDS, JOHN CHARLES, mathématicien, professeur d’université et fondateur de la médaille internationale pour la recherche en mathématiques connue sous le nom de médaille Fields, né le 14 mai 1863 à Hamilton, Haut-Canada, fils de John Charles Fields et de Henrietta (Harriet) Bowes ; décédé célibataire le 9 août 1932 à Toronto et inhumé deux jours plus tard au cimetière de Hamilton.

Les ancêtres maternels de John Charles Fields étaient originaires du village de Newbliss (république d’Irlande) et s’étaient établis dans le Haut-Canada dans une ferme près de Milton. On connaît moins bien sa famille paternelle ; son père naquit à Coteau-du-Lac, dans le Bas-Canada. En 1858, ce dernier ouvrit, dans la rue King, à Hamilton, une entreprise de tannage qui deviendrait prospère, destinée principalement au commerce des chaussures. Cette année-là, il perdit sa première femme et, en 1859, il épousa Henrietta Bowes, institutrice à Oakville. Au fil du temps, il acheta dans le centre-ville de Hamilton d’autres propriétés, qu’il mettait en location. Après sa mort subite en 1874, à l’âge de 40 ans, sa veuve veilla aux affaires de la famille jusqu’à sa propre mort prématurée en 1881, quand John Charles avait 18 ans. Grâce à une gestion financière rigoureuse, les parents laissèrent un revenu suffisant pour que leurs trois enfants gardent la maison familiale et que John Charles poursuive des études universitaires.

Quand John Charles était jeune, Hamilton était connue pour l’excellence de deux de ses écoles publiques, la Central School et le Hamilton Collegiate Institute, qu’il fréquenta. Les élèves du collège remportaient régulièrement des prix en lettres classiques et en mathématiques, en grande partie grâce au directeur et classiciste George Dickson et au professeur de mathématiques William Henry Ballard. En 1880, Fields remporta la médaille d’or en mathématiques à l’examen d’admission de la University of Toronto. Comme sa mère était gravement malade, il resta toutefois à Hamilton pour suivre sa première année universitaire de façon indépendante. Après la mort de celle-ci, il s’inscrivit en deuxième année à l’université et reçut son diplôme en 1884, avec la médaille d’or en mathématiques.

Fields partit immédiatement étudier à la Johns Hopkins University, à Baltimore, au Maryland, et obtint son doctorat en 1887. Après deux autres années dans le même établissement à titre d’adjoint à l’enseignement, il accepta un poste de professeur de mathématiques à l’Allegheny College, à Meadville, en Pennsylvanie, où il demeura jusqu’en 1892. S’étant rendu compte que ses intérêts le portaient vers la recherche et soutenu par son petit héritage, il partit pour l’Europe comme chercheur postdoctoral ; il passa deux ans à Paris, six mois à Göttingen (Allemagne), où il étudia sous la direction de Felix Klein, et cinq années à Berlin, pendant lesquelles il tint 111 cahiers de notes de lecture qui seraient déposés aux archives de la University of Toronto. Ses observations sur l’éducation supérieure en Allemagne furent publiées en 1903 dans un article intitulé « The German university and German university mathematics ». Les talents de Fields pour les langues, son amabilité et son entregent lui amenèrent un vaste cercle d’amis et de scientifiques avec lesquels il renouerait à l’occasion de ses fréquents voyages en Europe et aux États-Unis. En 1901, son ancien professeur de mathématiques, James Loudon*, devenu président de la University of Toronto, l’engagea pour donner une série de conférences. L’année suivante, Fields fut nommé à un poste permanent comme maître de conférences spécialisé dans sa discipline.

Au fil des ans, Fields publia 38 articles en mathématiques dont la liste, préparée par son étudiant au doctorat Samuel Beatty, figurerait en annexe d’un avis de décès rédigé pour la Royal Society de Londres par son ami et collègue John Lighton Synge. En 1906, Fields publia à Berlin son seul livre, Theory of the algebraic functions of a complex variable, qui affirma sa réputation de mathématicien le plus éminent au Canada avant la Première Guerre mondiale. Des promotions à l’université suivirent bientôt et il fut élu membre de la Société royale du Canada en 1909 et de la Royal Society de Londres en 1913. Ce ne serait toutefois pas comme scientifique qu’il resterait dans les mémoires. À une époque qui connut de grands mathématiciens, tels Klein, David Hilbert et Henri Poincaré en Europe, et où s’implantait une forte tradition de recherche aux États-Unis, Fields représentait une figure mineure. Son travail fut dépassé même de son vivant par une approche algébrique moderne, et il n’est plus mentionné que de façon anecdotique par ceux qui s’intéressent à la médaille Fields.

À la suite de ses expériences à la Johns Hopkins University et à l’université de Berlin, Fields apporta à la University of Toronto, en 1902, sa conviction de l’importance de la recherche scientifique. En dépit des efforts de Loudon, Toronto avait pris du retard en matière de recherche expérimentale. L’université manquait d’argent. Ses professeurs étaient surchargés en raison du besoin d’enseigner à une population étudiante croissante. On ne comprenait pas encore l’importance qu’avait la recherche dans une économie industrielle forte, mais cette situation changerait après le déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale en 1914. Parmi les partisans du lien entre la recherche et l’industrie, Fields était le plus actif au sein de l’université, au Canadian Institute (qui deviendrait le Royal Canadian Institute en 1914) et dans des journaux locaux. Fields apporta aussi au Canada un éclairage international sur l’unité de la science et le besoin de coopération internationale.

Au Canada, aucun document personnel de Fields ne subsiste et il reste peu de chose de sa correspondance. Il existe toutefois des lettres et des rapports, conservés dans des archives à travers le monde, qui indiquent la grande diversité de ses communications. En plus de son article sur l’université allemande, Fields écrivit sur le mathématicien norvégien Niels Henrik Abel, sur le philanthrope américain John Davison Rockefeller, et sur la relation entre la science et l’industrie. Peu de temps avant sa mort, il élabora une rétrospective de l’histoire des mathématiques au Canada. À titre de président du Royal Canadian Institute, de 1919 à 1925, il consacra des efforts inlassables pour faire de l’organisme un centre de recherche actif plutôt qu’un forum de discussion scientifique. Il tenta d’établir, à la University of Toronto, une école d’études supérieures disposant de son propre corps professoral. Il essaya également de rassembler des appuis pour créer une académie nationale des sciences sur le modèle des académies européennes. Avant-gardiste par rapport à l’opinion canadienne sur tous ces sujets, il échoua.

La Première Guerre mondiale fractionna la coopération internationale en mathématiques selon les lignes de combat. À l’issue du conflit, le clivage persista et s’officialisa en 1918–1919, quand des scientifiques des pays alliés fondèrent l’International Research Council. La déclaration fondatrice, adoptée à Londres en 1918, à l’Inter-Allied Conference on International Scientific Organizations, incrimina l’Allemagne comme responsable de la guerre. L’objectif de l’International Research Council était d’exclure des associations scientifiques internationales les scientifiques des anciennes puissances centrales : Allemagne, Autriche, Hongrie, Bulgarie et Turquie. Un certain nombre de scientifiques des pays neutres et alliés s’opposèrent à cette politique, notamment les mathématiciens Magnus Gustaf (Gösta) Mittag-Leffler et Godfrey Harold Hardy, respectivement de Suède et de Grande-Bretagne, ainsi que l’astronome Jacobus Cornelius Kapteyn, des Pays-Bas. Malgré leurs objections, l’International Mathematical Union (IMU) fut fondée sur des bases discriminatoires au Congrès international de mathématiciens qui eut lieu à Strasbourg en 1920. La direction du nouvel organisme reposait entre les mains de Charles-Jean de La Vallée Poussin, de Belgique, et d’Émile Picard, de France, tous deux fervents partisans de l’exclusion. À Strasbourg, l’atmosphère était imprégnée d’amertume. Pendant le congrès, Leonard Eugene Dickson, des États-Unis, proposa de tenir le congrès de 1924 à New York, loin de l’ambiance pénible de l’Europe. Il espérait qu’entre-temps la scission entre les mathématiciens se serait dissipée, mais tel ne fut pas le cas. Quand l’American Mathematical Society signifia son désaccord pour bannir les mathématiciens d’Allemagne et de ses pays alliés, on suggéra de façon informelle de tenir le congrès à Toronto. Fields sauta sur l’occasion.

Fields accepta la restriction quant à la participation des mathématiciens des anciennes puissances centrales, mais il était déterminé à rendre la réunion la plus internationale possible dans les circonstances. Il voyagea en Europe en 1923 et 1924 pour encourager les inscriptions. Il recueillit 70 000 $ auprès des gouvernements ontarien et canadien pour atténuer les coûts élevés des déplacements des mathématiciens qui viendraient de l’étranger. Il amplifia aussi l’envergure du congrès en élargissant la définition des mathématiques afin que les utilisateurs pratiques de cette science dans des domaines tels que le génie, l’assurance et la météorologie soient inclus. Contre toute attente, le Congrès international de mathématiques de Toronto, qui ne porta ce nom qu’à cette seule occasion, fut un succès malgré ses restrictions : 444 mathématiciens de 33 pays y assistèrent. La fatigue causée par l’organisation du congrès et ensuite par l’édition des Proceedings mina cependant la santé de Fields, alors âgé de 61 ans.

Passant outre à la politique d’exclusion de l’IMU, Salvatore Pincherle invita des mathématiciens de tous les pays à assister au Congrès international des mathématiciens de 1928, à Bologne, en Italie. Parmi les plus de 800 délégués se trouvaient 76 mathématiciens allemands, 56 français et 10 belges. Même si on avait demandé à l’Allemagne d’adhérer à l’IMU en 1925, ses mathématiciens restèrent à l’extérieur de l’organisation en raison de la déclaration de 1918 sur la responsabilité de la guerre. Le clivage se poursuivait donc. Fields se considérait comme persona grata chez les Français autant que chez les Allemands, et il irait en Europe en 1929, 1930 et 1931 pour voir ce qu’il pouvait faire pour arranger les choses. Même s’il échoua dans cette entreprise, ce fut au cours de ces années de diplomatie tranquille qu’il conçut l’idée d’une médaille internationale en mathématiques.

Quand on fit les comptes après la publication des Proceedings de Toronto, en 1928, il restait un solde d’environ 2 700 $ que Fields proposa d’utiliser pour la médaille. En décembre 1930, il obtint pour son projet le soutien de l’American Mathematical Society, puis celui de sociétés européennes de mathématiciens. Il fit également de nombreuses consultations au sujet de la conception de la médaille et, en 1932, il correspondit avec Robert Tait McKenzie, physicien canadien et sculpteur à la University of Pennsylvania. Il n’est pas certain que Fields ait vu une esquisse préliminaire ou un prototype du modèle de McKenzie. Il mourut le 9 août 1932. Son ami et collègue John Lighton Synge termina les arrangements de Fields avec McKenzie et avec l’IMU, qui accepta la médaille en octobre 1932, au Congrès international des mathématiciens à Zurich.

Le premier fac-similé connu de la médaille, coulé en bronze et daté de 1933, est conservé au Fields Institute for Research in Mathematical Science, à Toronto. Dans son testament, John Charles Fields avait prévu deux petites rentes viagères personnelles et laissait le reste de sa fortune, soit quelque 45 000 $, pour fournir un prix modeste avec chaque médaille. Les premières médailles Fields furent décernées au congrès d’Oslo, en 1936, et les premières à être accompagnées d’un prix en argent furent attribuées à celui de 1950, à Cambridge, au Massachusetts. Selon les volontés de Fields, un comité international de l’IMU choisit les gagnants, mais la médaille elle-même peut être considérée comme proprement canadienne. Le reste de l’héritage de Fields utilisé pour soutenir la médaille continue d’être administré par la University of Toronto et elle est frappée par la Monnaie royale canadienne tous les quatre ans à partir des moules métalliques originaux de McKenzie. Inaugurée au début des années 1930, au beau milieu d’un renouveau et d’une montée du nationalisme, la médaille de Fields représentait un geste international singulier.

Frances Hoffman et Elaine McKinnon Riehm

La biographie de John Charles Fields repose sur notre étude intégrale intitulée Turbulent times in mathematics : the life of J. C. Fields and the history of the Fields medal (Providence, R.I., 2011).

Une liste des publications de Fields en mathématiques, colligée par Samuel Beatty, constitue les trois dernières pages de l’article de J. L. Synge « John Charles Fields, 1863–1932 », Royal Soc. of London, Obit. notices of fellows, 1 (1932–1935) : 131–138. Les autres publications de Fields sont :« The Abel centenary », Univ. of Toronto Monthly, 3 (1902–1903) : 184–191 ; « The German university and German university mathematics », Ontario Educational Assoc., Proc. (s.l.), 1903 : 274–295 ; Science and industry ([Toronto ?, 1918 ?]) (allocution aux membres du Board of Trade à Toronto, 28 mars 1918) ; Universities, research and brain waste (Toronto, 1920) (allocution du président, Royal Canadian Instit., 8 nov. 1919) ; « Rockefeller’s service to mankind », Saturday Night, 2 nov. 1929 : 2 ; et « The Royal Society of Canada and Canadian mathematics », dans SRC, Rétrospective de cinquante ans : volume anniversaire, 18821932 (Toronto, 1932), 107–112.

La correspondance de Fields qui subsiste et d’autres lettres portant sur le congrès de mathématiques à Toronto en 1924 peuvent être consultées aux UTARMS, dans les James Loudon papers (B1972-0031/014(12)) et les Robert Falconer papers (A1967-0007/RSIN 0002), et à BAC, dans le fonds R. B. Bennett (R11336-0-7) et le dossier International Mathematical Congress (R219-100-6, vol. 1373, no 1924-347). De la correspondance et des documents liés au Royal Canadian Instit. se trouvent à la Univ. of Toronto, Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library (ms coll. 00193) et aux AO (F 1052-6-0-8).

On trouve des études sur Fields et sa médaille dans : H. S. Tropp, « The origins and history of the Fields Medal », Historia Mathematica (Toronto), 3 (1976) : 167–181 ; Carl Riehm, « The early history of the Fields Medal », American Mathematical Soc., Notices (Providence), 49 (2002) : 778–782 ; et J. L. Synge, « John Charles Fields », London Mathematical Soc., Journal (Londres), 8 (1933) : 153–160 (exemplaire au Dublin Instit. for Advanced Studies, School of Theoretical Physics, Arch., J. L. Synge papers).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Frances Hoffman et Elaine McKinnon Riehm, « FIELDS, JOHN CHARLES », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 28 juin 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fields_john_charles_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/fields_john_charles_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Frances Hoffman et Elaine McKinnon Riehm
Titre de l'article:   FIELDS, JOHN CHARLES
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2017
Année de la révision:   2017
Date de consultation:   28 juin 2017