DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

DORION, JACQUES, doctor, mha, Patriote; b. 22 Nov. 1798 at Quebec, illegitimate son of Paul Dorion, merchant, and an unknown mother; d. 30 Dec. 1877 at Saint-Ours, Richelieu County, Que., and was buried 1 Jan. 1878 in the cemetery of the parish of L’Immaculée-Conception-de-Saint-Ours.

Jacques Dorion began his studies at the Petit Séminaire of Quebec in 1810 and abandoned them in 1816 after completing the fourth year of his classical course, as was common at the time. According to written tradition he studied medicine in Paris under Guillaume Dupuytren and Marie-François-Xavier Bichat, but his name appears neither in the registration book nor in the list of doctors of the faculty of the Université de Paris. No doubt he was one of the 15 Canadians who studied medicine in Paris between 1816 and 1822. On his return to Canada he took up residence in the parish of L’Immaculée-Conception-de-Saint-Ours, where he practised his profession competently and with dedication for more than 55 years. In 1835 he founded the Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste of Saint-Ours.

As mha for Richelieu County from 26 Oct. 1830 to 27 March 1838, he was associated with the Patriotes; he took part in the great assembly of the six counties, signed the Ninety-two Resolutions, and played an active role in the 1837 rebellion. He was arrested on 12 December for high treason by the sheriff Édouard-Louis-Antoine-Charles Juchereau Duchesnay, and imprisoned at Montreal, during which time Charles Stephen Gore* had Dorion’s house ransacked. Dorion was accused of having given orders to fire on the boat Varennes between Saint-Denis and the parish of L’Immaculée-Conception-de-Saint-Ours; it may have been bringing supplies to Gore’s troops. Thanks to the influence of his friends, notably François-Roch de Saint-Ours, sheriff of Montreal and his wife’s cousin, he was set free on 3 March 1838 after paying bail of £1,000.

Raised by his aunt Marie-Anne Dorions, sister of Paul (Jacques’s father died on 20 Nov. 1811), Jacques Dorion was able to get a classical education, and even to travel to France to learn medicine. Having gone to live in the prosperous Richelieu region, he married, on 30 June 1824 in the parish of L’Immaculée-Conception-de-Saint-Ours, Catherine-Louisa Lovell, niece of the seigneur Charles de Saint-Ours*, was elected a member of the assembly, and led his children to the top of the social and professional hierarchy. Edmond-Jacques was a doctor and journalist; Eugène-Philippe was head of the French translators in the House of Commons; Joseph-Adolphe, married to Henriette-Amélie de Saint-Ours, was a notary, coroner, justice of the peace, mha, and legislative councillor; Charles was a lawyer at Sorel and a district judge.

Claude Galarneau

Archives de l’université de Paris, Faculté de médecine, Catalogue des docteurs en médecine, I; Faculté de médecine, Registre des inscriptions, 1816–1822. Archives paroissiales de Notre-Dame (Québec), Registres des baptêmes, mariages et sépultures, 1795–1796, 1797–1798, 1799–1800. ASQ, Fichier des anciens du séminaire; Séminaire CIII, 56, 61; Séminaire CIV, 3, 6. Desjardins, Guide parlementaire. [Azarie Couillard-Després], Histoire de la seigneurie de Saint-Ours (2v., Montréal, 1915–17), II, 285–94. Fauteux, Patriotes, 217–18. [L.-O. David], “Les hommes de 37–38, le Dr Jacques Dorion,” L’Opinion publique (Montréal), 7 févr. 1878.

Revisions based on:
Bibliothèque et Arch. Nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de Québec, CC301, S1, D11 001; CE301-S1, 22 nov. 1798, 23 nov. 1811; Bibliothèque et Arch. Nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. du Vieux-Montréal, CE603-S6, 30 juin 1824, 1er janv. 1878. Édith Bédard, “Qui étaient les vrais parents de Jacques Dorion?”: edithbedard.ca/121-jacques-dorion-patriote-de-1837-3 (consulted 5 March 2018).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Claude Galarneau, “DORION, JACQUES,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 10, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed November 19, 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dorion_jacques_10E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/dorion_jacques_10E.html
Author of Article: Claude Galarneau
Title of Article: DORION, JACQUES
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 10
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 1972
Year of revision: 2018
Access Date: November 19, 2018

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

LABATT, JOHN – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

né le 11 décembre 1838 dans le canton de Westminster, Haut-Canada

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

DORION, JACQUES, médecin, député, patriote, né à Québec le 22 novembre 1798, fils naturel de Paul Dorion, marchand, et d’une mère inconnue ; décédé à Saint-Ours, comté de Richelieu, le 30 décembre 1877 et inhumé le 1er janvier 1878 dans le cimetière de la paroisse L’Immaculée-Conception-de-Saint-Ours.

Jacques Dorion commence ses études au petit séminaire de Québec en 1810 et les abandonne en 1816, après sa classe de troisième, comme il arrivait fréquemment à l’époque. La tradition écrite veut qu’il ait fait ses études de médecine à Paris sous Guillaume Dupuytren et Marie-François-Xavier Bichat, mais son nom n’apparaît ni au livre des inscriptions ni au catalogue des docteurs en médecine de la faculté. Il est sans doute l’un des 15 Canadiens étudiant la médecine à Paris entre 1816 et 1822. Rentré au Canada, il s’installe dans la paroisse L’Immaculée-Conception-de-Saint-Ours, où il exerce sa profession avec compétence et dévouement pendant plus de 55 ans. En 1835, il fonde la Société Saint-Jean-Baptiste de Saint-Ours.

Député du comté de Richelieu du 26 octobre 1830 au 27 mars 1838, il s’associe aux Patriotes, participant à la grande assemblée des six comtés, signant les Quatre-vingt-douze résolutions et prenant une part active à la rébellion de 1837. Arrêté le 12 décembre pour haute trahison par le shérif Édouard-Louis-Antoine-Charles Juchereau Duchesnay, il est emprisonné à Montréal pendant que Charles Stephen Gore* fait piller sa maison. Dorion est accusé d’avoir fait tirer sur le vapeur Varennes entre Saint-Denis et la paroisse L’Immaculée-Conception-de-Saint-Ours, bateau qui aurait apporté du ravitaillement aux troupes de Gore. Grâce à l’influence de ses amis, notamment de François-Roch de Saint-Ours, shérif de Montréal et cousin de sa femme, il est libéré le 3 mars 1838 après avoir versé un cautionnement de £1 000.

Élevé par sa tante Marie-Anne Dorions, sœur de Paul – père de Jacques décédé le 20 novembre 1811 –, Jacques Dorion a pu faire des études classiques et même se rendre en France apprendre la médecine. Établi dans la riche région du Richelieu, il épouse le 30 juin 1824, dans la paroisse L’Immaculée-Conception-de-Saint-Ours, Catherine-Louisa Lovell, nièce du seigneur Charles de Saint-Ours*, se fait élire député et conduit ses enfants au sommet de la hiérarchie sociale et professionnelle. En effet, Edmond-Jacques fut médecin et journaliste ; Eugène-Philippe, chef des traducteurs français aux Communes ; Joseph-Adolphe, marié à Henriette-Amélie de Saint-Ours, fut notaire, coroner, juge de paix, député et conseiller législatif ; Charles fut avocat à Sorel et juge de district.

Claude Galarneau

Archives de l’université de Paris, Faculté de médecine, Catalogue des docteurs en médecine, I ; Faculté de médecine, Registre des inscriptions, 1816–1822.— Archives paroissiales de Notre-Dame (Québec), Registres des baptêmes, mariages et sépultures, 1795–1796, 1797–1798, 1799–1800.— ASQ, Fichier des anciens du séminaire ; Séminaire, CIII : 56, 61 ; Séminaire, CIV : 3, 6.— Desjardins, Guide parlementaire.— [Azarie Couillard-Després], Histoire de la seigneurie de Saint-Ours (2 vol., Montréal, 1915–1917), II : 285–294.— Fauteux, Patriotes, 217s.— [L.-O. David], Les hommes de 37–38, le Dr Jacques Dorion, L’Opinion publique (Montréal), 7 févr. 1878.

Bibliographie de la version révisée :
Bibliothèque et Arch. nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. de Québec, CC301, S1, D11 001 ; CE301-S1, 22 nov. 1798, 23 nov. 1811 ; Bibliothèque et Arch. nationales du Québec, Centre d’arch. du Vieux-Montréal, CE603-S6, 30 juin 1824, 1er janv. 1878.Édith Bédard, « Qui étaient les vrais parents de Jacques Dorion ? » : edithbedard.ca/121-jacques-dorion-patriote-de-1837-3 (consulté le 5 mars 2018).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Claude Galarneau, « DORION, JACQUES », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 10, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 11 déc. 2018, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dorion_jacques_10F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/dorion_jacques_10F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Claude Galarneau
Titre de l'article:   DORION, JACQUES
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 10
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   1972
Année de la révision:   2018
Date de consultation:   11 décembre 2018