DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  When An Old House Whispers...: East End Irredenta - Strathcona North of Hastings - Part 2

Source: Link

CALORI, ANGELO BATTISTA, labourer, hotelier, real-estate investor, and community leader; b. 19 Feb. 1862, probably near Genoa, Italy, of unknown parents; m. 1888 Teresa Martina (d. 1934), probably of Italy; he adopted her daughter and they had a second daughter; d. 7 May 1940 in Vancouver.

In many ways, Angelo Calori was typical of the early Italian immigrants who arrived in British Columbia between 1858 and the early 1880s: he was born in the Italian northwest, he probably left because of desperate poverty, and he emigrated to California and later moved north to find unskilled work in the province’s labour-short, resource-based economy. Calori’s first years in Canada are undocumented. He is said to have come from San Francisco to Victoria in 1882, worked as a coalminer in Nanaimo, gone to the lower mainland in 1884 to work as a section foreman on the construction of the Canadian Pacific Railway, and returned briefly to Vancouver Island to work again as a miner in 1886, but none of these details can be confirmed.

Calori’s activities later in 1886 and after are easier to trace. A fire in June destroyed every structure in Vancouver with the exception of one wooden building, which Calori purchased and transformed into the European Hotel. Five years later, after the city’s population had increased from approximately 1,000 to over 13,000, the establishment became known as the Hotel Europe. A photograph of Calori taken in 1893 reveals a confident businessman with dark eyes and a neatly trimmed full moustache. By that time a severe depression was undermining the North American economy; the discovery of gold in the Yukon territory in 1896 would help to bring the downturn to an end. According to family tradition, Calori got rich in the Klondike gold rush, but the only evidence possessed by his heirs is the gold-nugget jewellery he left them in his will. It is not known whether he made his wealth by staking a claim, selling supplies to prospectors, or providing them with accommodation or transportation.

A dandy who had more than enough money to support his taste in clothing and jewellery, Calori, in appearance and status, contrasted sharply with the majority of Italian men living in the boarding houses of Vancouver’s Little Italy. Many of the city’s inhabitants, 85 per cent of whom had British roots, placed Italians in the same category as the Chinese: foreign, single men with strong backs who would work for low wages. These labourers had left their families in their native land and often had no one to care for them when they were sick or to bury them when they died. Accordingly, in 1905 Calori, with Agostino Gabriele Ferrera and 57 other men, founded the Sons of Italy, a mutual-benefit society. Calori suggested the original name, Società di Mutuo Soccorso Figli d’Italia (Sons of Italy Mutual Benefit Society), and served for years on its board of directors; he would remain a member throughout his life.

Italians constituted a small part of Vancouver’s population and Calori was one of only a handful of successful Italian businessmen. In 1908 he exhibited his prosperity by commissioning architects John Edmeston Parr and Thomas Arthur Fee to design a grand addition to his hotel. Built of reinforced concrete, which was a recent innovation, the four-storey building still commands the triangular block at the junction of Alexander and Powell streets. Calori moved his extended family, including his wife, daughter, son-in-law, grandson, his own brother, and perhaps his step-daughter, into the hotel, and in 1912 he took them to Italy. When they returned to Vancouver in 1915, they went to live in a 25-room house at 1281 Burnaby Street in the city’s West End.

A large home far from Little Italy and the acquisition of much more real estate, such as the Lux Theatre and other properties on East Hastings Street, did not buy Calori acceptance in Anglo-Saxon Vancouver. His business and social life seems to have focused on his compatriots. In 1937 he was one of the community leaders who welcomed the new Italian consul, Dr Giuseppe Brancucci, in an announcement placed in the newspaper L’Eco Italo-Canadese [Italo-Canadian Echo] (Vancouver). Since the late 1920s the consuls had encouraged Italian-Canadians to join clubs called fasci (political groups), which were part of Fascist leader Benito Mussolini’s plan to enlist the support of the Italian diaspora. Calori’s son-in-law, William Gennaro Ruocco, was one of the men to fall naively into line. By the time Ruocco became a member, Calori was too frail to participate. He died on 7 May 1940, at age 78. His funeral was held two days later from Our Lady of the Holy Rosary Cathedral, and he was interred in Mountain View Cemetery. On 10 June Italy declared war on Great Britain and its allies, and the Royal Canadian Mounted Police began to arrest Italians suspected of being potential traitors. Ruocco, who was the executor of Calori’s will, and 40 other Italian men from Vancouver were interned at Kananaskis, Alta. He divided the fruits of Calori’s years in Canada among his father-in-law’s heirs while behind a barbed-wire fence.

Calori stood out among the few Italian immigrants in British Columbia who achieved success beyond owning a small business or working in a low-paying job. His example and his community leadership would be an inspiration to the thousands of Italians who arrived after World War II and who found places in Canadian society undreamed of by their predecessors.

Lynne Bowen

City of Vancouver Arch., Add. mss 957. Private arch., Lynne Bowen (Nanaimo, B.C.), Interview with J. A. Ruocco. Vancouver Daily Province, 30 March 1909, 8 May 1940. Ancestry.com, “Ancestry”: www.ancestry.com (consulted 5 Oct. 2009). Lynne Bowen, Three dollar dreams (Lantzville, B.C., 1987). Building the west: the early architects of British Columbia, comp. Donald Luxton (Vancouver, 2003). Raymond Culos, Vancouver’s society of Italians (v.1, Madeira Park, B.C., 1998; v.2, Vancouver, 2002; v.3, Montreal, 2006), 1. Enemies within: Italian and other internees in Canada and abroad, ed. Franca Iacovetta et al. (Toronto, 2000). R. F. Foerster, The Italian emigration of our times (Cambridge, Mass., and London, 1919). R. A. J. McDonald, Making Vancouver: class, status, and social boundaries, 1863–1913 (Vancouver, 1996). Souvenirs = Ricordi: of the progress and activities of the members of the Italian colony of Vancouver, 1935 [ed. Marino Culos] ([Vancouver, 1935]). “viHistory”: www.vihistory.ca (consulted 5 Oct. 2009).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Lynne Bowen, “CALORI, ANGELO BATTISTA,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 15, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/calori_angelo_battista_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/calori_angelo_battista_16E.html
Author of Article: Lynne Bowen
Title of Article: CALORI, ANGELO BATTISTA
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: December 15, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BEST, EDNA MAY WILLISTON (Sexton) – Volume XV (1921-1930)

née le 25 juin 1880 à Shediac, Nouveau-Brunswick

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  When An Old House Whispers...: East End Irredenta - Strathcona North of Hastings - Part 2

Provenance : Lien

CALORI, ANGELO BATTISTA, ouvrier, hôtelier, investisseur immobilier et leader communautaire, né le 19 février 1862, probablement aux environs de Gênes, Italie, de parents inconnus ; en 1888, il épousa Teresa Martina (décédée en 1934), probablement d’Italie ; il adopta la fille de celle-ci, et ils eurent une deuxième fille ; décédé le 7 mai 1940 à Vancouver.

À de nombreux égards, Angelo Battista Calori était un exemple typique des premiers immigrants italiens qui arrivèrent en Colombie-Britannique entre 1858 et le début des années 1880 : né dans le nord-ouest de l’Italie, il avait probablement quitté son pays à cause de la pauvreté désespérée qui y régnait et avait émigré en Californie avant de se diriger vers le nord pour trouver du travail non spécialisé dans l’économie de ressources naturelles de la province, où sévissait une pénurie de main-d’œuvre. On ne sait rien des premières années de la vie de Calori au Canada. Il serait parti de San Francisco pour se rendre à Victoria en 1882, aurait travaillé comme mineur de charbon à Nanaimo, serait allé dans les basses terres continentales en 1884 pour occuper un poste de contremaître cantonnier dans la construction du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique et serait retourné pendant une brève période sur l’île de Vancouver en 1886 pour travailler de nouveau en tant que mineur. Aucun de ces éléments ne peut cependant être confirmé.

Les activités de Calori vers la fin de 1886 et après sont plus faciles à trouver. En juin, un incendie détruisit tous les bâtiments à Vancouver, à l’exception d’une structure en bois, que Calori acheta, transforma et nomma European Hotel. Cinq ans plus tard, la population de la ville était passée d’environ 1 000 habitants à plus de 13 000 et l’établissement était connu sous le nom d’Hotel Europe. Une photographie de Calori prise en 1893 montre un homme d’affaires sûr de lui, avec des yeux noirs et une moustache fournie soigneusement taillée. À cette époque, une grave dépression ébranlait l’économie nord-américaine ; la découverte d’or dans le territoire du Yukon en 1896 aiderait à mettre fin à cette récession. Selon l’histoire familiale, Calori fit fortune pendant la ruée vers l’or du Klondike, mais les seules preuves que ses héritiers possédaient étaient les bijoux en pépites d’or qu’il leur légua dans son testament. On ignore s’il acquit ses richesses en investissant dans une concession, en vendant des approvisionnements aux prospecteurs, ou en leur fournissant des logements ou des moyens de transport.

Calori, un dandy qui pouvait largement satisfaire ses goûts en matière de vêtements et de bijoux, était, relativement à son apparence et à sa situation, nettement différent de la majorité des Italiens vivant dans les maisons de pension du quartier italien de Vancouver. De nombreux habitants de la ville, dont 85 % avaient des racines britanniques, mettaient les Italiens dans la même catégorie que les Chinois : des étrangers célibataires aux reins solides qui travailleraient pour un maigre salaire. Ces gens, qui avaient laissé leur famille dans leur pays d’origine, avaient rarement quelqu’un pour prendre soin d’eux lorsqu’ils étaient malades ou pour les enterrer quand ils mouraient. Par conséquent, Calori, Agostino Gabriele Ferrera et 57 autres hommes fondèrent en 1905 la Sons of Italy, pour laquelle Calori suggéra le nom original de Società di Mutuo Soccorso Figli d’Italia (Société de secours mutuel des fils d’Italie) ; il fit partie de son conseil d’administration pendant des années et resterait membre de la mutuelle toute sa vie.

Les Italiens constituaient une petite partie de la population de Vancouver et Calori fut l’un des rares hommes d’affaires de cette communauté culturelle à connaître le succès. En 1908, il afficha sa prospérité en commandant aux architectes John Edmeston Parr et Thomas Arthur Fee la conception d’une adjonction à son hôtel. Le bâtiment de quatre étages fut construit en béton armé, ce qui était alors innovateur. Au début du xxie siècle, il dominerait toujours l’îlot triangulaire situé à l’angle des rues Alexander et Powell. Calori installa à l’hôtel des membres de sa famille élargie, dont sa femme, sa fille, son gendre, son petit-fils, son propre frère et peut-être sa belle-fille, et les emmena en Italie en 1912. Quand ils revinrent à Vancouver en 1915, ils allèrent vivre dans une maison de 25 pièces au 1281 de la rue Burnaby, dans l’ouest de la ville.

Malgré sa vaste demeure éloignée du quartier italien et un grand nombre d’autres biens immobiliers, comme le Lux Theatre et d’autres propriétés de la rue Hastings Est, Calori ne put se faire accepter au sein de la communauté anglo-saxonne de Vancouver. Ses affaires et sa vie sociale se concentraient apparemment sur ses compatriotes. En 1937, il fut l’un des leaders communautaires qui accueillirent le nouveau consul d’Italie, Giuseppe Brancucci, dans une annonce parue dans le journal l’Eco italo-canadese (l’Écho italo-canadien), publié à Vancouver. À partir de la fin des années 1920, les consuls avaient encouragé les Italo-Canadiens à devenir membres de clubs appelés fasci (groupes politiques), ce qui faisait partie du plan du leader fasciste Benito Mussolini visant à s’assurer le concours de la diaspora italienne. Le gendre de Calori, William Gennaro Ruocco, fut l’un des hommes qui entrèrent naïvement dans les rangs de ces groupes. À l’époque où Ruocco en devint membre, Calori avait la santé trop fragile pour pouvoir faire de même. Il mourut le 7 mai 1940, à l’âge de 78 ans. Ses funérailles eurent lieu deux jours plus tard à la cathédrale Our Lady of the Holy Rosary et il fut enterré au cimetière Mountain View. Le 10 juin, l’Italie déclara la guerre à la Grande-Bretagne et à ses alliés, et la Gendarmerie royale à cheval du Canada commença à arrêter des Italiens qu’on soupçonnait de trahison possible. Ruocco, qui était l’exécuteur testamentaire de Calori, ainsi que 40 autres hommes d’origine italienne de Vancouver furent internés à Kananaskis, en Alberta. Il divisa le fruit des années de travail de Calori au Canada entre les héritiers de son beau-père pendant qu’il se trouvait derrière une clôture en fil barbelé.

Angelo Battista Calori figurait parmi les quelques immigrants italiens de la Colombie-Britannique dont le succès dépassait l’acquisition d’un petit commerce ou l’obtention d’un travail peu rémunéré. Son exemple et ses qualités de leader dans la communauté seraient une source d’inspiration pour les milliers d’Italiens qui arriveraient après la Deuxième Guerre mondiale et qui trouveraient une place dans la société canadienne que jamais leurs prédécesseurs n’auraient pu espérer.

Lynne Bowen

Arch. privées, Lynne Bowen (Nanaimo, C.-B.), Entrevue avec J. A. Ruocco.— City of Vancouver Arch., Add. mss 957.— Vancouver Daily Province, 30 mars 1909, 8 mai 1940.— Ancestry.com, « Ancestry » : www.ancestry.com (consulté le 5 oct. 2009).— Lynne Bowen, Three dollar dreams (Lantzville, C.-B., 1987).— Building the west : the early architects of British Columbia, Donald Luxton, compil. (Vancouver, 2003).— Raymond Culos, Vancouver’s society of Italians (3 vol., Madeira Park, C.-B., 1998, Vancouver, 2002, Montréal, 2006), 1.— Enemies within : Italian and other internees in Canada and abroad, Franca Iacovetta et al., édit. (Toronto, 2000).— R. F. Foerster, The Italian emigration of our times (Cambridge, Mass., et Londres, 1919).— R. A. J. McDonald, Making Vancouver : class, status, and social boundaries, 1863–1913 (Vancouver, 1996).— Souvenirs = Ricordi : of the progress and activities of the members of the Italian colony of Vancouver, 1935, [Marino Culos, édit.] ([Vancouver, 1935]).— « viHistory » : www.vihistory.ca (consulté le 5 oct. 2009).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Lynne Bowen, « CALORI, ANGELO BATTISTA », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 25 juin 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/calori_angelo_battista_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/calori_angelo_battista_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Lynne Bowen
Titre de l'article:   CALORI, ANGELO BATTISTA
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   25 juin 2017