DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

RAMSAY, GEORGE, 9th Earl of DALHOUSIE – Volume VII (1836-1850)

b. 22 Oct. 1770 at Dalhousie Castle, Scotland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

BROWN, THOMAS DOWRICK, educator, lawyer, and editor; b. 27 Jan. 1875 in Port Hope, Ont., son of John Brown and Elizabeth Jane Dowrick; m. 18 Aug. 1909 Eva (Evelyn) Jane Roberts in Cobourg, Ont.; they had no children; d. 5 Jan. 1931 in Regina.

John Brown, a carpenter, brought his wife and their four children from Cornwall, England, to Canada, where their youngest child, Thomas Dowrick Brown, was born. He was educated in public schools in Ontario and in Killarney, Man., his parents having moved to that province in 1889. He went on to study at Wesley College at the University of Manitoba in Winnipeg, and took a ba with highest honours in 1900; Brown also held a first-class professional teaching certificate and for two years was a teacher and principal at Oak Lake Intermediate School in Manitoba.

After relocating in 1902 to Moosomin (Sask.), he studied law with James Thomas Brown, a future chief justice of the Court of King’s Bench of Saskatchewan. Called to the bar of the North-West Territories on 26 Dec. 1905, Brown worked with his former preceptor until 1907. In that year he moved to Regina. He would practise with the firm Balfour, Martin, Casey, and Brown, and would later be a senior member of Brown, Thomson, McLean, and Davidson in the same city.

As a leading trial lawyer, Brown became a sought-after counsel. A contemporary description attributes to him a solid grasp of legal principles and a “sober, clear judgment, which makes him a formidable adversary in legal combat.” He was deaf, however, and exasperated a number of judges by failing to respond to questions he could not hear. Named a kc in 1914, he would be made director of prosecutions under the Saskatchewan Temperance Act in 1920. The Canadian annual review would note, in 1922, that there had been 810 complaints during the year, and 720 convictions were secured.

In 1907 Brown became the first examiner for the recently founded Law Society of Saskatchewan, a position he would hold for six years. On 4 Sept. 1913 he was appointed dean when the society established a Regina law school. Named in honour of the province’s first chief justice, Edward Ludlow Wetmore*, Wetmore Hall was a professional law school strongly oriented towards producing lawyers for office practice. At about the same time the University of Saskatchewan in Saskatoon created its own college of law, and the two institutions opened their doors to students in the fall term of 1913.

Students at Wetmore Hall followed a demanding three-year curriculum, but did not receive an llb upon completion of their studies; successful results on their examinations, however, led directly to admission to the provincial bar. Conversely, students at the university in Saskatoon did receive an llb but then had to pass the exams administered by the law society before being allowed to practise. Since the two schools’ objectives were essentially similar, the unequal treatment of graduates was invidious, and on 20 March 1919 it was agreed to centralize Saskatchewan legal studies in Saskatoon. Students who had begun their studies at Wetmore Hall would be awarded an llb after concluding their final year at the university. The Regina institution closed its doors on 21 June 1922. The law society had found the school an expensive undertaking and the availability of faculty members with the necessary expertise had been problematic. Nevertheless, during its brief history Wetmore Hall had been noted for having able lecturers – Brown among them – as well as for producing outstanding graduates such as Adrien Doiron.

Brown became a member of the University of Saskatchewan senate in 1916; he also served on Regina College’s board of governors for many years. He helped edit several volumes of the Territories Law Reports and the Saskatchewan Law Reports, an annual publication of important legal decisions rendered in the superior courts. From its inception in 1911 until his death 20 years later, Brown served as associate editor (Saskatchewan) for the Western Weekly Reports, a valuable source of case law.

A Liberal, Brown was active in his community, becoming well known as a public speaker. He and his wife gave much time to the Red Cross Society, and they shared a passion for motoring and golf. Thomas also belonged to the Wascana Country Club and the Assiniboia Club. The Browns were Methodists who became members of the United Church of Canada, and they were involved in the activities of their local congregation, he as a member of the quarterly board, and she as a supporter of its various societies.

Thomas Dowrick Brown died in hospital after several weeks of illness. Contemporaries who knew him within and outside his profession offered tributes to his work and character. Everett Clayton Leslie, then president of the Regina Bar Association, remarked that “the Regina Bar [has] lost one of its outstanding members.” Brown’s contribution to the legal profession was recognized by the establishment of the Thomas Dowrick Brown Prize for the most outstanding law graduate at the University of Saskatchewan. The Reverend William Edgar MacNiven of the Metropolitan United Church described him as “one of the finest Christian gentlemen” he had known.

Howard McConnell

The DCB wishes to thank Mr Iain Mentiplay for his assistance in verifying some of the information in the text.

AO, RG 80-2-0-69, no.13650; RG 80-5-0-398, no.15470. Leader-Post (Regina), 6 Jan. 1931. John Hawkes, The story of Saskatchewan and its people (3v., Regina, 1924), 3. W. H. McConnell, Prairie justice (Calgary, 1980). Pioneers and prominent people of Saskatchewan (Winnipeg and Toronto, 1924). Saskatchewan Law Reports (Toronto and Calgary), 1914/15–1921/22. Territories Law Reports (Toronto), 1892–1907. Western Weekly Reports (Calgary), 1911–31. Who’s who in Canada, 1925/26.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Howard McConnell, “BROWN, THOMAS DOWRICK,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 22, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brown_thomas_dowrick_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brown_thomas_dowrick_16E.html
Author of Article: Howard McConnell
Title of Article: BROWN, THOMAS DOWRICK
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2015
Year of revision: 2015
Access Date: October 22, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

MURRAY, LOUISA ANNIE – Volume XII (1891-1900)

née le 23 mai 1818 à Carisbrooke, Angleterre

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

BROWN, THOMAS DOWRICK, éducateur, avocat et rédacteur, né le 27 janvier 1875 à Port Hope, Ontario, fils de John Brown et d’Elizabeth Jane Dowrick ; le 18 août 1909, il épousa à Cobourg, Ontario, Eva (Evelyn) Jane Roberts, et ils n’eurent pas d’enfants ; décédé le 5 janvier 1931 à Regina.

John Brown, charpentier, quitta la Cornouailles, en Angleterre, avec sa femme et leurs quatre enfants pour aller vivre au Canada, où naquit leur petit dernier, Thomas Dowrick. Ce garçon fréquenta des écoles publiques en Ontario et à Killarney, au Manitoba, où ses parents s’installèrent en 1889. Brown poursuivit ses études au Wesley College à l’université de Manitoba, à Winnipeg, et il obtint un baccalauréat ès arts avec grande distinction en 1900. Il possédait aussi un brevet d’enseignement de première classe et fut, pendant deux ans, professeur et directeur à l’Oak Lake Intermediate School, au Manitoba.

Après s’être établi, en 1902, à Moosomin (Saskatchewan), Brown étudia le droit avec James Thomas Brown, futur juge en chef de la Cour du banc du roi de Saskatchewan. Admis au Barreau des Territoires du Nord-Ouest le 26 décembre 1905, Brown travailla avec son ancien précepteur jusqu’en 1907. Cette année-là, il partit pour Regina. Il exercerait au sein du cabinet Balfour, Martin, Casey, and Brown, et serait plus tard doyen chez Brown, Thomson, McLean, and Davidson, dans la même ville.

Avocat plaidant de premier plan, Brown devint un conseiller juridique très recherché. À l’époque, on dit de lui qu’il avait une solide connaissance des principes du droit et un « jugement réfléchi et clair, qui fai[sait] de lui un formidable adversaire dans un combat juridique ». Il était sourd, cependant, et il exaspéra un certain nombre de juges en ne répondant pas à des questions qu’il ne pouvait entendre. Nommé conseiller du roi en 1914, il deviendrait directeur des poursuites engagées en vertu du Saskatchewan Temperance Act en 1920. La Canadian annual review rapporterait, en 1922, que 810 plaintes avaient été déposées dans le courant de l’année et que 720 condamnations avaient été prononcées.

En 1907, Brown devint le premier examinateur de la Law Society of Saskatchewan, fondée peu de temps auparavant ; il occupa ce poste pendant six ans. Le 4 septembre 1913, il fut engagé comme directeur de l’école de droit que la société mit sur pied à Regina. Nommée Wetmore Hall en l’honneur du premier juge en chef de la Saskatchewan, Edward Ludlow Wetmore*, cette école à vocation professionnelle formait principalement des avocats pour travailler au sein de cabinets. À peu près à la même époque, la University of Saskatchewan de Saskatoon créa sa propre école de droit et les deux établissements ouvrirent leurs portes aux étudiants au trimestre d’automne de 1913.

À Wetmore Hall, les étudiants suivaient un programme d’études exigeant d’une durée de trois ans, mais n’obtenaient pas de baccalauréat en droit à la fin de ce cycle ; leur réussite aux examens, cependant, leur permettait d’accéder directement au barreau provincial. À l’inverse, les étudiants de la University of Saskatchewan recevaient un baccalauréat en droit, mais devaient ensuite être reçus aux examens de la Law Society of Saskatchewan avant de pouvoir exercer. Puisque les objectifs poursuivis par les deux écoles étaient fondamentalement similaires, le traitement inégalitaire réservé aux finissants était injuste et, le 20 mars 1919, on décida de centraliser les études de droit en Saskatchewan à Saskatoon. Les étudiants qui avaient commencé leurs études à Wetmore Hall se verraient décerner un baccalauréat en droit à l’issue de leur dernière année à l’université. L’établissement de Regina ferma ses portes le 21 juin 1922. Pour la Law Society of Saskatchewan, l’école avait été une entreprise coûteuse et la disponibilité des professeurs possédant les compétences nécessaires avait fait problème. Néanmoins, durant sa brève histoire, Wetmore Hall s’était distinguée par la qualité de ses maîtres de conférences, dont Brown faisait partie, ainsi que par la formation détudiants remarquables, comme Adrien Doiron.

Brown était devenu membre du conseil universitaire de la University of Saskatchewan en 1916 ; il fut également membre du conseil d’administration du Regina College pendant de nombreuses années. Il contribua à l’édition de plusieurs volumes des Territories Law Reports et des Saskatchewan Law Reports ; cette dernière publication, annuelle, consignait des décisions importantes rendues par les cours supérieures. Brown fut le rédacteur en chef adjoint (en Saskatchewan) d’une précieuse référence en matière de jurisprudence, les Western Weekly Reports, dès sa première parution en 1911 ; il le resterait jusqu’à sa mort, 20 ans plus tard.

D’allégeance libérale, Brown s’impliqua dans sa communauté, où il se fit bien connaître en tant qu’orateur. Sa femme et lui consacrèrent beaucoup de temps à la Croix-Rouge et partageaient une passion pour la conduite automobile et le golf. Brown fut membre du Wascana Country Club et de l’Assiniboia Club. Les Brown étaient méthodistes. Ils adhérèrent à l’Église unie du Canada et s’investirent dans les activités locales de leur congrégation : lui, en participant au conseil trimestriel, et elle, en apportant son soutien à ses nombreuses œuvres.

Thomas Dowrick Brown mourut à l’hôpital à la suite d’une maladie qui dura plusieurs semaines. Des gens de son époque, qui le connaissaient dans un contexte professionnel ou non, firent l’éloge de son travail et de sa personnalité. Everett Clayton Leslie, alors président de la Regina Bar Association, souligna que « le barreau de Regina [avait] perdu un de ses membres exceptionnels ». Sa contribution à la profession juridique fut reconnue par la création du prix Thomas Dowrick Brown, décerné au plus remarquable diplômé en droit de la University of Saskatchewan. Le révérend William Edgar MacNiven, de l’église unie Metropolitan, le décrivit comme « un des meilleurs gentilshommes chrétiens » qu’il eût rencontrés.

Howard McConnell

Le DCB souhaite remercier Iain Mentiplay pour son aide dans la vérification de certains renseignements contenus dans le texte.

AO, RG 80-2-0-69, no 13650 ; RG 80-5-0-398, no 15470.— Leader-Post (Regina), 6 janv. 1931.— John Hawkes, The story of Saskatchewan and its people (3 vol., Regina, 1924), 3.— W. H. McConnell, Prairie justice (Calgary, 1980).— Pioneers and prominent people of Saskatchewan (Winnipeg et Toronto, 1924).— Saskatchewan Law Reports (Toronto et Calgary), 1914–1922.— Territories Law Reports (Toronto), 1892–1907.— Western Weekly Reports (Calgary), 1911–1931.— Who’s who in Canada, 1925–1926.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Howard McConnell, « BROWN, THOMAS DOWRICK », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 23 mai 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brown_thomas_dowrick_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brown_thomas_dowrick_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Howard McConnell
Titre de l'article:   BROWN, THOMAS DOWRICK
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2015
Année de la révision:   2015
Date de consultation:   23 mai 2017