DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

RAMSAY, GEORGE, 9th Earl of DALHOUSIE – Volume VII (1836-1850)

b. 22 Oct. 1770 at Dalhousie Castle, Scotland

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Photograph Miss Harriet Brooks, nuclear physicist, Montreal, QC, 1898 Wm. Notman & Son 1898, 19th century Silver salts on glass - Gelatin dry plate process 17.8 x 12.7 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-123880 © McCord Museum Keywords:  female (19035) , Photograph (77678) , portrait (53878)

Source: Link

BROOKS, HARRIET (she signed two publications H. T. Brooks) (Pitcher), teacher and nuclear physicist; b. 2 July 1876 in Exeter, Ont., daughter of George Brooks, a commercial traveller, and Elizabeth Agnes Worden; m. 13 July 1907 Frank Henry Pitcher, a civil engineer, in London, England, and they had two sons and one daughter; d. 17 April 1933 in Montreal.

The third of nine children, Harriet Brooks moved with her family around Ontario and Quebec during her youth. At some point she attended the Seaforth Collegiate Institute in Ontario. Her parents finally settled in Montreal, and her mother encouraged Harriet and her sisters to continue their education. Harriet entered McGill University in 1894; her program focused mainly on physics. Academic success brought her prizes and scholarships that enabled her to continue her studies. In 1898 she obtained a ba with first-class honours in mathematics and natural philosophy, and she was awarded the Anne Molson Gold Medal for outstanding performance in mathematics.

After graduation, Brooks was invited to join the research group of Professor Ernest Rutherford who had just arrived from the Cavendish Laboratory at the University of Cambridge, having been lured across the Atlantic by the attraction of the new Macdonald Physics Building at McGill designed by Andrew Thomas Taylor. For her ma thesis, Brooks undertook research in the field of electricity and magnetism. In 1901 she received the first master’s degree awarded to a woman in physics at McGill. While completing her studies, she had taught at the Royal Victoria College, McGill’s institution for women.

In 1900 Brooks commenced work that went in a new direction: the study of the emanation given off by radioactive substances such as thorium. At the time, this material was variously believed to be a gas, a vapour, or a fine powder. Brooks showed that the material was, in fact, a gas, of significantly lower molecular weight than thorium. Thus, it could not be simply a gaseous form of the same element. Her discovery led Rutherford and chemistry instructor Frederick Soddy to realize that one element had transmuted into another. Brooks was the first person to characterize the gas, now known as radon.

Brooks obtained a fellowship in 1901 to study for a doctorate in physics at Bryn Mawr College in Pennsylvania. At that time, Bryn Mawr possessed the fourth largest graduate school for women in the United States. During her year there Brooks was awarded the prestigious Bryn Mawr European Fellowship, which she elected to take at Cambridge in the laboratory of Joseph John Thomson. Although her research on the radiations from radium and thorium went well, she was without a mentor (a role Rutherford had played at McGill); her self-esteem diminished, and she became convinced that her scientific abilities were insufficient to allow her to continue on towards a phd. She returned to McGill to resume her research with Rutherford and her teaching at Royal Victoria College.

Brooks’s next crucial discovery was that radioactivity could be transferred from one surface to another. The phenomenon was later determined to be caused by the recoil of the radioactive atom’s nucleus; that is, when a particle is expelled from a nucleus, the nucleus recoils in the opposite direction, sometimes with enough energy to escape from its location and become embedded on another surface. The recoil effect was used by later researchers such as Otto Hahn and Lise Meitner to separate previously unknown daughter elements in radioactive-decay sequences. The third of Brooks’s findings was that there are sequential releases of radiation when uranium and thorium decay. This information was the centrepiece of Rutherford’s Bakerian Lecture of 1904 before the Royal Society of London, when he expounded on the successive transformations of the heavy radioactive elements during the process of decay. In his presentation he gave due credit to Brooks’s contributions.

In 1904 Brooks again left McGill. She accepted an appointment as tutor in physics at Barnard College, a women’s institution associated with Columbia College in New York City. In July 1906 she announced her engagement to Bergen Davis, a professor of physics at Columbia. The dean at Barnard, Laura Drake Gill, believed that a woman could not simultaneously fulfil marital and academic duties, and demanded her resignation. In a private letter to the dean, Brooks wrote a spirited defence, but the issue became irrelevant when she broke off the engagement. She had decided to leave Barnard anyway, and that year she moved to a retreat in the Adirondack Mountains run by Fabian socialists John Martin and his wife, Prestonia Mann Martin. Among their other guests were Russian author Maksim Gorky and members of his entourage. Brooks may have met the Martins after a talk given at Barnard by Gorky’s common-law wife, Mariya Fyodorovna Andreyeva, who was their guest. Brooks travelled with the Gorky party from New York to Capri, Italy. After a brief sojourn there, she left for Paris where she undertook research with Marie Curie at the Institut du Radium.

Early in 1907 Rutherford took up a post at the Victoria University of Manchester in England, and he offered Brooks a prestigious fellowship so that she could rejoin his research group. Brooks resigned her position in Paris, but she then wrote to Rutherford informing him that she was engaged and that she declined the fellowship. The suitor was her former undergraduate laboratory instructor at McGill, Frank Pitcher, who for the previous six months had been sending her letters declaring his romantic interest. The marriage took place in England; the couple moved back to Montreal, where Harriet Pitcher assumed the occupations of wife and mother. She had doubted that she could find long-term employment in physics research, and after Rutherford’s departure, work on radiation at McGill had soon ceased. In addition, her two closest friends, Prestonia Martin and Rutherford’s wife, Mary Georgina, held traditional views on women’s role. Although Pitcher did not continue in physics, she was a charter member of the University Women’s Club of Montreal. In 1907 she joined the Women’s Canadian Club; she would serve as honorary secretary in 1909–10 and 1911–12, and as president in 1923. Active in the Alumnae Society of McGill University, in 1910 she gave a presentation to its members on the work of Marie Curie. She died at age 56, probably as a result of her exposure to radiation. She was inducted into the Canadian Science and Engineering Hall of Fame in 2002.

Marelene Rayner-Canham and Geoff Rayner-Canham

This biography is based on the authorsbook Harriet Brooks: pioneer nuclear scientist (Montreal and Kingston, Ont., 1992). Brooks is the author of “Damping of electrical oscillations,” RSC, Trans., 2nd ser., 5 (1899), sect.iii: 13–15; “A volatile product from radium,” Nature (London), 21 July 1904: 270; and “The decay of the excited radioactivity from thorium, radium, and actinium,” London, Edinburgh, and Dublin Philosophical Magazine and Journal of Science (London), 6th ser., 8 (1904): 373–74. Together with Ernest Rutherford, she published under the name of H. T. Brooks “The new gas from radium,” RSC, Trans., 2nd ser., 7 (1901), sect.iii: 21–25, and “Comparison of the radiations from radioactive substances,” London, Edinburgh, and Dublin Philosophical Magazine and Journal of Science, 6th ser., 4 (1902): 1–23.

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Marelene Rayner-Canham and Geoff Rayner-Canham, “BROOKS, HARRIET (Pitcher),” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed October 22, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brooks_harriet_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/brooks_harriet_16E.html
Author of Article: Marelene Rayner-Canham and Geoff Rayner-Canham
Title of Article: BROOKS, HARRIET (Pitcher)
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: October 22, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

NORWEST, HENRY – Volume XIV (1911-1920)

décédé le 18 août 1918 près d’Amiens, France

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Photograph Miss Harriet Brooks, nuclear physicist, Montreal, QC, 1898 Wm. Notman & Son 1898, 19th century Silver salts on glass - Gelatin dry plate process 17.8 x 12.7 cm Purchase from Associated Screen News Ltd. II-123880 © McCord Museum Keywords:  female (19035) , Photograph (77678) , portrait (53878)

Provenance : Lien

BROOKS, HARRIET (elle signa deux publications H. T. Brooks) (Pitcher), professeure et physicienne nucléaire, née le 2 juillet 1876 à Exeter, Ontario, fille de George Brooks, voyageur de commerce, et d’Elizabeth Agnes Worden ; le 13 juillet 1907, elle épousa à Londres Frank Henry Pitcher, ingénieur civil, et ils eurent deux fils et une fille ; décédée le 17 avril 1933 à Montréal.

Troisième de neuf enfants, Harriet Brooks passa son enfance avec sa famille à différents endroits en Ontario et au Québec. À une certaine époque, elle fréquenta le Seaforth Collegiate Institute, en Ontario. Ses parents finirent par élire domicile à Montréal, et sa mère l’encouragea, ainsi que ses sœurs, à continuer ses études. En 1894, Harriet s’inscrivit à la McGill University ; son programme se concentrait principalement sur la physique. Ses succès scolaires furent couronnés de prix et de bourses qui lui permirent de poursuivre sa formation. En 1898, elle reçut une licence ès arts avec mention très bien en mathématiques et philosophie de la nature, et remporta la médaille d’or Anne Molson pour résultats exceptionnels en mathématiques.

Une fois son diplôme obtenu, Mlle Brooks fut invitée à se joindre au groupe de recherche du professeur Ernest Rutherford qui venait d’arriver du Cavendish Laboratory de la University of Cambridge. Ce dernier avait été attiré outre-Atlantique par le nouveau Macdonald Physics Building de McGill, conçu par Andrew Thomas Taylor. Pour son mémoire de maîtrise, Brooks entreprit des recherches dans le domaine de l’électricité et du magnétisme. En 1901, elle reçut le premier diplôme de maîtrise accordé à une femme en physique à la McGill University. Tout au long de ses études, elle avait enseigné au Royal Victoria College, établissement pour femmes affilié à McGill.

En 1900, Mlle Brooks amorça des travaux dans une nouvelle voie : l’étude des émanations de substances radioactives telles que le thorium. À l’époque, les avis étaient partagés sur la nature de ces émissions : gaz, vapeur ou fines particules. Mlle Brooks démontra qu’il s’agissait en fait d’un gaz de poids moléculaire beaucoup plus faible que celui du thorium. Ce ne pouvait donc être simplement la forme gazeuse du même élément. Sa découverte amena Rutherford et Frederick Soddy, moniteur de chimie, à se rendre compte qu’un élément s’était transmué en un autre. Mlle Brooks fut la première personne à décrire les caractéristiques de ce gaz, qu’on appellerait le radon.

Mlle Brooks obtint une bourse de recherche en 1901 pour faire des études de doctorat en physique au Bryn Mawr College, en Pennsylvanie. À cette époque, ce collège abritait la quatrième plus grande école d’études supérieures pour femmes aux États-Unis. Au cours de l’année qu’elle y passa, Mlle Brooks reçut le prestigieux Bryn Mawr European Fellowship, qu’elle choisit d’utiliser à Cambridge, au laboratoire de Joseph John Thomson. Même si ses recherches sur les rayons émis par le radium et le thorium avançaient bien, elle n’avait pas de mentor (rôle que Rutherford avait joué à McGill) ; elle perdit confiance en elle-même et en vint à croire que ses compétences scientifiques étaient insuffisantes pour lui permettre de poursuivre ses études de doctorat. Elle retourna à McGill pour reprendre ses travaux de recherche avec Rutherford et son enseignement au Royal Victoria College.

La découverte suivante de Mlle Brooks, aussi essentielle que la précédente, portait sur le fait que la radioactivité pouvait être transférée d’une surface à une autre. Plus tard, on expliquerait le phénomène par le recul du noyau de l’atome radioactif ; autrement dit, quand une particule est expulsée d’un noyau, celui-ci se projette dans la direction opposée, parfois avec suffisamment d’énergie pour s’échapper de sa position et pénétrer une autre surface. L’effet de recul fut utilisé ultérieurement par des chercheurs tels qu’Otto Hahn et Lise Meitner pour isoler des éléments de filiation précédemment inconnus dans des séquences de désintégration radioactive. La troisième découverte de Mlle Brooks avait trait à la libération séquentielle de radiations pendant la désintégration de l’uranium et du thorium. Cette information constitua le thème de la Bakerian Lecture de 1904, que Rutherford prononça devant la Royal Society de Londres. Le chercheur exposa les transmutations successives des éléments radioactifs lourds pendant le processus de désintégration. Dans son discours, il reconnut comme il se devait la contribution de Mlle Brooks.

En 1904, Mlle Brooks quitta de nouveau la McGill University. Elle accepta un poste de directrice d’études en physique au Barnard College, établissement pour femmes affilié au Columbia College de New York. En juillet 1906, elle annonça ses fiançailles avec Bergen Davis, professeur de physique au même collège. Convaincue qu’une femme ne pouvait pas remplir simultanément des responsabilités maritales et professionnelles, la doyenne du Barnard College, Laura Drake Gill, exigea sa démission. Dans une lettre à sa supérieure, Mlle Brooks se défendit brillamment, mais le problème perdit sa pertinence quand elle rompit ses fiançailles. Elle avait décidé de laisser le Barnard College de toute façon. Elle partit cette année-là s’installer dans un refuge tenu dans les Adirondacks par les socialistes fabiens John Martin et sa femme, Prestonia Mann Martin. Parmi les autres invités se trouvaient l’écrivain russe Maxime Gorki et des membres de son entourage. Mlle Brooks avait peut-être fait la connaissance des Martin après une causerie donnée au Barnard College par leur invitée, Maria Fiodorovna Andreïeva, conjointe de fait de Gorki. Mlle Brooks voyagea de New York à Capri, en Italie, avec le groupe de Gorki. Après un bref séjour dans cette île, elle se rendit à Paris où elle entreprit des recherches avec Marie Curie, à l’Institut du radium.

Au début de 1907, Rutherford accepta un poste à la Victoria University de Manchester, en Angleterre, et offrit à Harriet Brooks une bourse prestigieuse afin qu’elle puisse se joindre à son groupe de recherche. Elle démissionna de son poste à Paris, mais écrivit ensuite à Rutherford pour l’informer qu’elle était fiancée et qu’elle refusait la bourse. Le prétendant était son ancien moniteur de laboratoire au premier cycle à la McGill University, Frank Henry Pitcher, qui, depuis six mois, lui envoyait des lettres dans lesquelles il lui déclarait sa flamme. Le mariage eut lieu en Angleterre, puis le couple retourna à Montréal, où Harriet Pitcher assuma les responsabilités d’épouse et de mère. Elle avait douté de la possibilité de trouver du travail à long terme comme chercheuse en physique et, après le départ de Rutherford, les recherches sur la radioactivité à McGill avaient vite cessé. De plus, ses deux amies intimes, Mme Martin et la femme de Rutherford, Mary Georgina, partageaient des points de vue traditionnels sur le rôle des femmes. Même si Mme Pitcher abandonna la physique, elle fut membre fondatrice du University Women’s Club de Montréal. En 1907, elle adhéra au Women’s Canadian Club ; elle y agirait à titre de secrétaire honoraire en 1909–1910 et en 1911–1912, et de présidente en 1923. Elle participa aux activités de l’Alumnae Society de la McGill University et, en 1910, prononça devant les membres une conférence sur les travaux de Mme Curie. Elle mourut à l’âge de 56 ans, probablement à cause de son exposition aux éléments radioactifs. Elle fut intronisée au Panthéon canadien des sciences et du génie en 2002.

Marelene Rayner-Canham et Geoff Rayner-Canham

Cette biographie repose sur notre ouvrage intitulé Harriet Brooks : pioneer nuclear scientist (Montréal et Kingston, Ontario, 1992). Harriet Brooks est l’auteure de : « Damping of electrical oscillations », SRC, Mémoires, 2e sér., 5 (1899), sect. iii : 13–15 ; « A volatile product from radium », Nature (Londres), 21 juill. 1904 : 270 ; et « The decay of the excited radioactivity from thorium, radium, and actinium », London, Edinburgh, and Dublin Philosophical Magazine and Journal of Science (Londres), 6e sér., 8 (1904) : 373–374. Sous la signature H. T. Brooks, elle a publié avec Ernest Rutherford : « The new gas from radium », SRC, Mémoires, 2e sér., 7 (1901), sect. iii : 21–25, et « Comparison of the radiations from radioactive substances », London, Edinburgh, and Dublin Philosophical Magazine and Journal of Science, 6e sér., 4 (1902) : 1–23.

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Marelene Rayner-Canham et Geoff Rayner-Canham, « BROOKS, HARRIET (Pitcher) », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 18 août 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brooks_harriet_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/brooks_harriet_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Marelene Rayner-Canham et Geoff Rayner-Canham
Titre de l'article:   BROOKS, HARRIET (Pitcher)
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   18 août 2017