DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MACDONALD, JOHN SANDFIELD – Volume X (1871-1880)

b. 12 Dec. 1812 at St Raphael West, Glengarry County, U.C.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Original title:  Photograph of J.C.F. Bown seated at desk in his law office. Annotated on back: "J.C.F. Bown". 
Repository: Legal Archives Society of Alberta
Reference code: LAS las-42-is-las-53-g-3

Source: Link

Bown, John Campbell Ferrie, lawyer, author, editor, and university lecturer; b. 17 July 1856 in Brantford, Upper Canada, son of John Young Bown, a physician, and Rachel Campbell Ferrie, daughter of Adam Ferrie* and Rachel Campbell; m. 25 Dec. 1889 Phoebe Miller in Calgary, and they had two children; d. 27 April 1933 in Edmonton.

In later life John Campbell Ferrie Bown would claim that a signatory to the Magna Carta, Henry de Bohun, Earl of Hereford, was his ancestor. Raised in Brantford, Bown joined the militia as a teenager, serving as a private in the Queen’s Own Rifles. In 1879 he graduated with a ba from the University of Toronto. His interest in law stemmed from his father, who had studied the subject before receiving his md in August 1850 from the University of St Andrews in Scotland. After articling in the Brantford office of Wilson and Smyth, the younger Bown was admitted to the bar in 1882 and immediately moved to Winnipeg. His correspondence suggests that his decision may have been motivated by an estrangement from his father, who had married Margaret Macklem Cummings, of mixed Scots–Chippewa blood, after the death of his first wife in 1857. The marriage produced seven children, and he was said to have given no financial assistance to his eldest son following the completion of the latter’s degree. It is possible that Walter Robert Bown*, an uncle who was vice-president and general manager of the North West Trading Company, facilitated his relocation by helping him obtain a position in the legal department of the Canadian Pacific Railway.

Bown went to Calgary in November 1886. Only once in his life (for the Christmas of 1887) did he return to Ontario. Thereafter, he became a devoted man of the west. Struck by the vast prairie framed by the Rocky Mountains, he wrote to friends about the promise of the region and the rich soils of Edmonton. He also preferred the weather. Bown had several well-known acquaintances in Calgary, including Frederick William Gordon Haultain*, Edward Pease Davis, Charles Coursolles McCaul*, and Hugh St Quentin Cayley, all of whom were recent graduates of his alma mater. Admitted as an advocate of the Law Society of the North-West Territories in 1886, he partnered with Henry Bleecker, Calgary’s first town solicitor. Desiring his own law books, he ordered a collection from Toronto’s Carswell and Company in May 1888. His clients were primarily small retailers; his work was debt collection and homestead registrations. “Notes on the Territories Real Property Act,” an article he co-authored with McCaul, appeared in two parts in the February and March issues of the Canadian Law Times (Toronto) of 1889. He married Phoebe Miller on Christmas Day of the same year, and the couple honeymooned in Banff. Diligent and frugal, Bown tried to improve his financial prospects after his marriage by applying for the position of town clerk, but he was denied. In 1890 he helped found the Calgary Bar Association, and he and Cayley set up a partnership. The firm was dissolved soon after, and the following year he moved to Edmonton on one of the first trains to roll into that town.

Though the descendants of his many practices included the two firms Short and Cross and Milner Fenerty, in the 1890s he worked mostly alone in a floundering practice. He failed to obtain agency work for banks and insurance companies, or a position in the local government as town clerk, town solicitor, or judge. Bown did, however, succeed in being named liquor-ordinance prosecutor, in March 1892, and he also became territorial election clerk. He relied on Antonio Prince, a francophone mla who was briefly his partner, to attract French-speaking clients. Through this contact he expanded into criminal-defence cases and set up an agency for the Standard Loan Company of Toronto. Although his finances improved, he continued to complain about the dearth of business, the surfeit of lawyers, and the cost and hardship of chasing clients and judges from township to township for small sums. Yet word of his renown as a criminal lawyer spread with the Yukon gold rush and the accompanying rash of robberies and petty crime that hit its staging post of Edmonton. In 1902 he would defend the American Charles Bertrand Bullock in the celebrated murder trial that ended with the latter’s hanging.

Reputation and prosperity brought new partnerships, positions, and rewards. In 1902 he became the local editor of the Canada Law List, and the following year he published Synopsis of the laws of the North-West Territories. By the next year he and three other lawyers had formed Bown, Dawson, Kennedy, and Hyndman. His civil-law work expanded: he acted as an agent for the Canadian Northern Railway and handled legal paperwork for investments with the Excelsior Life Insurance Company in Winnipeg. In 1907 he was made a kc and was elected a bencher of the new Law Society of Alberta, for which he worked in the areas of education, bar exams, and ethics. He was also appointed Edmonton’s city solicitor in the same year. A studious man, he would become a recognized expert in municipal law throughout Canada within a decade.

By 1911 Bown had retired from private practice to focus on his duties as city solicitor, a difficult job in the first two decades of the province’s existence. He drafted by-laws on licensing, land development, and building codes, and helped engineer them through city council. Additionally, he oversaw the legal aspects of waterworks, land title, road building, and civic employment, as well as all related litigation matters. In a centre that served a wide agricultural area experiencing harsh financial times, Bown frequently acted as a bill collector; he was also a major resource for Edmonton’s police court, where he worked with inexperienced and underpaid crown prosecutors. Frustration with the highly politicized environment of city council would lead him to apply several times after 1915 for judgeships, without success. Satisfaction came instead from his volunteer work with the law society, where he felt he was fully appreciated. He would be its vice-president in 1926 and president, succeeding Charles Frederick Pringle Conybeare*, from 1928 until his death.

On a number of occasions in the 1920s he spoke out against corruption in his profession. Premier John Edward Brownlee*, a barrister himself, tried to persuade the law society to allow an appointee of his choosing to sit in on disciplinary proceedings against its members, but many in the self-governed society objected to what was seen as political interference. When the vote came to the floor in convocation in July 1928, Bown broke the tie by voting for Brownlee’s request. In 1930 he received an honorary lld from the University of Alberta, where he lectured in the faculty of law.

A meticulous and diligent practitioner, Bown revelled in the details of fact finding and legal minutiae. He kept copies of all his notes, as well as correspondence written after 1916, and maintained his practices in a frugal manner; when he reached the end of a letter-book, he would work towards the front again, writing on the backs of the used pages. The extensive files he left give the impression that Bown was a bookworm who spent much of his time reading legal texts. It seems likely that, despite his attempts at securing higher and better-paid positions, his career aspirations were actually quite modest, and the career path he followed suited his attitudes, work habits, and personality. Bown had many outside interests. An Anglican, he was active in various organizations, such as the Scottish Rite, the Oddfellows, the Knights of Pythias, the Edmonton Club, and the Edmonton Liberal-Conservative Association. He passed away after a severe attack of influenza.

Louis A. Knafla

John Campbell Ferrie Bown was the editor of Canada Law List (n.p., 1902) and the author of Synopsis of the laws of the North-West Territories (n.p., 1903).

This biography is based on the extensive correspondence and papers in the John C. F. Bown fonds (M 119, M 1923, M 4540, NA 55, NA 295, NA 876, NA 898, NA 989, NA 1296, NA 1912, NA 2411, NA 2651, NA 3439, PA 20, PA 41, PA 58, PA 153, PB 19) at GA. Bown was an avid collector of photographs; the many images of aboriginals and pioneers that he amassed are now held at the Glenbow Museum in Calgary. He himself is thought to be the subject of a photographic portrait at the Legal Arch. Soc. of Alta (Calgary).

Brantford Weekly Expositor (Brantford, Ont.), 3 Oct. 1890. Edmonton Journal, 28 April 1933. J. W. McClung, Law west of the Bay ([Edmonton?], 1997). P. M. Sibenik, “The doorkeepers: the governance of territorial and Alberta lawyers, 1885–1928” (ma thesis, Univ. of Calgary, 1984).

General Bibliography

Cite This Article

Louis A. Knafla, “BOWN, JOHN CAMPBELL FERRIE,” in Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16, University of Toronto/Université Laval, 2003–, accessed December 12, 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bown_john_campbell_ferrie_16E.html.

The citation above shows the format for footnotes and endnotes according to the Chicago manual of style (16th edition). Information to be used in other citation formats:

Permalink: http://www.biographi.ca/en/bio/bown_john_campbell_ferrie_16E.html
Author of Article: Louis A. Knafla
Title of Article: BOWN, JOHN CAMPBELL FERRIE
Publication Name: Dictionary of Canadian Biography, vol. 16
Publisher: University of Toronto/Université Laval
Year of publication: 2016
Year of revision: 2016
Access Date: December 12, 2017

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

BALLANTYNE, ROBERT MICHAEL – Volume XII (1891-1900)

né le 24 avril 1825 à Édimbourg

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Titre original :  Photograph of J.C.F. Bown seated at desk in his law office. Annotated on back: "J.C.F. Bown". 
Repository: Legal Archives Society of Alberta
Reference code: LAS las-42-is-las-53-g-3

Provenance : Lien

Bown, John Campbell Ferrie, avocat, auteur, rédacteur en chef et chargé de cours, né le 17 juillet 1856 à Brantford, Haut-Canada, fils de John Young Bown, médecin, et de Rachel Campbell Ferrie, fille d’Adam Ferrie* et de Rachel Campbell ; le 25 décembre 1889, il épousa à Calgary Phoebe Miller, et ils eurent deux enfants ; décédé le 27 avril 1933 à Edmonton.

Dans les dernières années de sa vie, John Campbell Ferrie Bown prétendrait être le descendant d’un signataire de la Grande Charte, Henry de Bohun, comte de Hereford. Élevé à Brantford, il s’engagea dans la milice alors qu’il était adolescent ; il servit comme simple soldat dans le régiment des Queen’s Own Rifles. En 1879, il obtint une licence ès arts de la University of Toronto. Son intérêt pour le droit lui venait de son père, qui avait étudié cette matière avant de recevoir, en août 1850, son doctorat en médecine de la University of St Andrews, en Écosse. Après son stage au cabinet Wilson and Smyth de Brantford, le jeune Bown fut reçu au barreau en 1882, puis partit immédiatement pour Winnipeg. Sa correspondance laisse entendre qu’il avait peut-être pris cette décision parce qu’il s’était brouillé avec son père, qui avait épousé Margaret Macklem Cummings, de sang écossais et sauteux, après la mort de sa première femme en 1857. De ce mariage naquirent sept enfants ; le père, dit-on, n’aurait fourni aucun soutien financier à son fils aîné une fois que ce dernier eut été diplômé. Walter Robert Bown*, un oncle qui était vice-président et directeur général de la North West Trading Company Limited, facilita sans doute le déménagement de son neveu en l’aidant à obtenir un poste au sein du service juridique de la Compagnie du chemin de fer canadien du Pacifique.

Bown se rendit à Calgary en novembre 1886. Il ne retourna en Ontario qu’une seule fois dans sa vie (pour Noël, en 1887). Par la suite, il devint très attaché à l’Ouest. Impressionné par la vaste prairie encadrée par les montagnes Rocheuses, il écrivit à des amis à propos du potentiel de la région et des sols riches d’Edmonton. Il préférait aussi le climat de l’endroit. Bown avait plusieurs relations bien connues à Calgary, dont Frederick William Gordon Haultain*, Edward Pease Davis, Charles Coursolles McCaul* et Hugh St Quentin Cayley, qui avaient tous récemment obtenu leur diplôme de l’université qu’il avait fréquentée. Admis à titre d’avocat au sein de la Law Society of the North-West Territories en 1886, il s’associa à Henry Bleecker, le premier conseiller juridique de la municipalité de Calgary. Désirant avoir ses propres livres de droit, Bown commanda une collection auprès de Carswell and Company de Toronto en mai 1888. Ses clients étaient surtout de petits détaillants ; son travail consistait à effectuer des recouvrements de créances et des enregistrements de concessions statutaires. Un article qu’il cosigna avec McCaul, « Notes on the Territories Real Property Act », fut publié en deux parties dans les numéros de février et de mars 1889 du Canadian Law Times à Toronto. Le jour de Noël de la même année, il épousa Phoebe Miller et le couple passa son voyage de noces à Banff. Minutieux et économe, Bown tenta d’améliorer sa situation financière après son mariage en posant sa candidature pour le poste de greffier municipal ; il ne fut pas retenu. En 1890, il aida à fonder la Calgary Bar Association et établit un partenariat avec Cayley. Le cabinet fut dissous peu de temps après et, l’année suivante, Bown partit pour Edmonton à bord de l’un des premiers trains à être entré dans cette ville.

Même si les firmes Short and Cross et Milner Fenerty étaient issues des nombreux cabinets fondés par Bown, ce dernier exerça sa profession, dans les années 1890, principalement seul dans une entreprise qui battait de l’aile. Il ne réussit pas à obtenir de travail comme agent pour des banques et des compagnies d’assurances, ni de poste au sein de l’administration locale en tant que greffier municipal, conseiller juridique ou juge. Néanmoins, Bown parvint à être nommé procureur en matière d’ordonnances sur l’alcool, en mars 1892, et devint également secrétaire du scrutin territorial. Il compta sur l’aide d’Antonio Prince, député provincial francophone qui fut son associé pendant une courte période, pour attirer des clients de langue française. Grâce à cette relation, il élargit sa pratique en agissant à titre d’avocat de la défense dans des affaires criminelles et créa un bureau pour la Standard Loan Company de Toronto. L’état de ses finances s’améliorait, mais il continua de se plaindre de la rareté des contrats, du trop grand nombre d’avocats, ainsi que des coûts et des difficultés liés à la poursuite de clients et de juges d’une municipalité à l’autre pour récupérer de petites sommes. Cependant, sa renommée de criminaliste se répandit au moment de la ruée vers l’or au Yukon, qui fut accompagnée d’une éruption de vols et de délits mineurs dans le point de ravitaillement que constituait Edmonton. En 1902, il défendrait l’Américain Charles Bertrand Bullock dans le célèbre procès pour meurtre qui se termina par la pendaison de ce dernier.

La réputation et la prospérité de Bown lui assurèrent de nouveaux partenariats, postes et récompenses. Il devint le rédacteur en chef local de la Canada Law List en 1902 et publia Synopsis of the laws of the North-West Territories en 1903. Pas plus tard que l’année suivante, Bown et trois autres avocats avaient fondé le cabinet Bown, Dawson, Kennedy, and Hyndman. Le nombre de ses dossiers de droit civil augmenta : il agit à titre de représentant de la Canadian Northern Railway Company et s’occupa de documents juridiques pour des investissements de l’Excelsior Life Insurance Company à Winnipeg. En 1907, il fut nommé conseiller du roi et élu membre du conseil de la nouvelle Law Society of Alberta, pour laquelle il travailla dans les domaines de l’éducation, des examens du barreau et de la déontologie. La même année, il fut également nommé conseiller juridique de la municipalité d’Edmonton. Homme d’études, Bown deviendrait un spécialiste reconnu en droit municipal partout au Canada en l’espace d’une décennie.

En 1911, Bown s’était déjà retiré de la pratique privée pour se concentrer sur ses fonctions de conseiller juridique municipal, travail qui fut difficile dans les 20 premières années d’existence de la province. Il rédigea des règlements sur les permis, le développement foncier et les codes du bâtiment, qu’il aida à faire adopter au conseil municipal. En outre, il supervisa les aspects juridiques relatifs aux réseaux d’aqueducs, aux titres fonciers, à la construction des routes et aux emplois municipaux, ainsi que toutes les questions litigieuses les concernant. Comme il se trouvait dans un centre qui servait une vaste région agricole aux prises avec de graves difficultés économiques, Bown agissait fréquemment à titre d’agent de recouvrement ; il fut aussi une ressource importante pour le tribunal de la police d’Edmonton, où il travailla avec des procureurs de la couronne inexpérimentés et sous-payés. Frustré par le milieu très politisé du conseil municipal, il poserait plusieurs fois sa candidature au poste de juge après 1915, en vain. Il trouva de la satisfaction en participant aux activités bénévoles de la Law Society of Alberta, où il se sentait pleinement apprécié. Il en deviendrait d’ailleurs le vice-président en 1926, puis le président, succédant à Charles Frederick Pringle Conybeare*, en 1928 et le resterait jusqu’à sa mort.

Dans les années 1920, Bown s’éleva à plusieurs occasions contre la corruption dans sa profession. Le premier ministre John Edward Brownlee*, qui était lui-même avocat, tenta de persuader la Law Society of Alberta de permettre à une personne qu’il aurait nommée d’assister aux procédures disciplinaires contre ses membres, mais les objections à cette mesure, perçue comme de l’ingérence politique, furent nombreuses au sein de cette société autonome. Quand la question fut soumise au vote lors d’une assemblée qui se tint en juillet 1928, Bown brisa l’égalité en donnant sa voix à la requête de Brownlee. En 1930, Bown reçut un doctorat honorifique en droit de la University of Alberta, où il enseignait à la faculté de droit.

Praticien méticuleux et appliqué, John Campbell Ferrie Bown adorait la minutie que demandait la recherche de faits, ainsi que les menus détails du domaine du droit. Il conserva des copies de toutes ses notes et de l’ensemble de sa correspondance écrite après 1916. Il maintint ses cabinets de façon économe ; quand il atteignait la fin d’un cahier de correspondance, il partait de la dernière page pour remonter jusqu’à la couverture, en écrivant au verso des feuilles déjà utilisées. Les dossiers complets qu’il laissa donnent l’impression que Bown était un rat de bibliothèque qui passait une bonne partie de son temps à lire des textes juridiques. Même s’il essaya d’obtenir des postes plus élevés et mieux payés, il avait probablement des aspirations professionnelles plutôt modestes, et suivit le chemin qui convenait à ses humeurs, à ses habitudes de travail et à sa personnalité. Il avait de multiples intérêts en dehors de son métier. De confession anglicane, il était actif au sein de diverses organisations, dont le Scottish Rite, la société des Oddfellows, les Knights of Pythias, l’Edmonton Club et l’Edmonton Liberal-Conservative Association. Il mourut après avoir été gravement malade de la grippe.

Louis A. Knafla

John Campbell Ferrie Bown fut le rédacteur en chef de Canada Law List (s.l., 1902) et a écrit Synopsis of the laws of the North-West Territories (s.l., 1903).

Cette biographie repose sur la correspondance et les papiers, très complets, conservés dans le fonds John C. F. Bown (M 119, M 1923, M 4540, NA 55, NA 295, NA 876, NA 898, NA 989, NA 1296, NA 1912, NA 2411, NA 2651, NA 3439, PA 20, PA 41, PA 58, PA 153, PB 19) aux GA. Bown fut un collectionneur de photographies passionné ; les nombreuses images d’autochtones et de pionniers qu’il a accumulées sont au Glenbow Museum de Calgary. Il semble avoir lui-même fait l’objet d’un portrait photographique qui se trouve à la Legal Arch. Soc. of Alta (Calgary).

Brantford Weekly Expositor (Brantford, Ontario), 3 oct. 1890.— Edmonton Journal, 28 avril 1933.— J. W. McClung, Law west of the Bay ([Edmonton ?], 1997).— P. M. Sibenik, « The doorkeepers : the governance of territorial and Alberta lawyers, 1885–1928 » (mémoire de m.a., Univ. of Calgary, 1984).

Bibliographie générale

Comment écrire la référence bibliographique de cette biographie

Louis A. Knafla, « BOWN, JOHN CAMPBELL FERRIE », dans Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16, Université Laval/University of Toronto, 2003– , consulté le 24 avril 2017, http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bown_john_campbell_ferrie_16F.html.

Information à utiliser pour d'autres types de référence bibliographique

Permalien: http://www.biographi.ca/fr/bio/bown_john_campbell_ferrie_16F.html
Auteur de l'article:   Louis A. Knafla
Titre de l'article:   BOWN, JOHN CAMPBELL FERRIE
Titre de la publication:   Dictionnaire biographique du Canada, vol. 16
Éditeur:   Université Laval/University of Toronto
Année de la publication:   2016
Année de la révision:   2016
Date de consultation:   24 avril 2017