DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
About us

HISTORY

“…the object [of a biographical dictionary of Canada] shall be not only to supply an acknowledged want in Canadian literature, but . . . it should compete with or even surpass works of a similar character produced elsewhere.”

James Nicholson

Foundation: James Nicholson’s Bequest

The Dictionary of Canadian biography/Dictionnaire biographique du Canada was made possible by an imaginative and public-spirited bequest of James Nicholson, a Toronto businessman, who, at his death in 1952, left the residue and bulk of his estate to the University of Toronto for the purpose of creating a biographical reference work for Canada of truly national importance.

Mr Nicholson’s bequest, probably among the most remarkable made thus far in Canada for a literary or historical purpose, arose out of his interest in Canadian and English history, which was maintained through a long life of varied activities. Born in Liverpool, he was the eldest of the three sons of John Nicholson of Forton, North Lancashire, England. In 1891, on the threshold of what must have appeared a promising professional career as an architect, Mr Nicholson came to Canada. The period was one of economic depression and there was little inducement to attempt a career in architecture. After a year of farming near Lindsay, Ontario, he went to the city of London and entered the office of “Bart Cottam & Co., Importer and Manufacturer of Grocer’s Sundries.” First among the numerous items in the firm’s advertisements was “bird seed,” and doubtless it was in Bart Cottam’s employ that Mr Nicholson decided to concentrate upon the product which was in the next half-century to reward his business acumen and make it possible for him to found and endow the Dictionary. In 1895 he settled in Toronto, establishing with J. W. Brock the firm of Nicholson and Brock, with which he was identified during the remainder of his active business life.

Mr Nicholson’s business interests kept him in touch for many years with all parts of Canada, and this was undoubtedly one of the influences which led him to think of what would become a grand project. He learned French at a time when this was certainly an uncommon accomplishment for a Toronto businessman. The idea for a dictionary of Canadian biography appears to have come directly from Mr Nicholson’s pleasure in and admiration for the Dictionary of national biography (now the Oxford dictionary of national biography).

Breaking New Ground

Of special interest and importance is the fact that the Dictionary has been published in two editions, English and French: the Dictionary of Canadian biography by the University of Toronto Press, and Dictionnaire biographique du Canada by Les Presses de l’Université Laval. This arrangement broke new ground since no comparable project of a similar kind in research and publication had previously been undertaken in Canada. At the time of the original announcement of the founding in 1959 it was stated that contributions would be accepted in either French or English and it was hoped that a French edition might also be arranged. An approach was made to the Université Laval, and there was sincere rejoicing at Toronto when the authorities at Laval enthusiastically undertook the responsibility. The formal announcement of the French edition was made at a lancement in Quebec on the evening of 10 March 1961. Since then work on the dictionary has been carried out in English and French by two teams, and under General Editor George W. Brown and Directeur adjoint Marcel Trudel, the first volume was published in both languages in 1966. In 2001 the two universities signed a legal agreement that officially recognizes the collaboration.

Past…and Future

The dcb/dbc has been in existence for more than 50 years – an achievement to be celebrated. Change, as well as continuity, has been a major feature of the project in the first years of the 21st century. Nothing more satisfyingly portrayed continuity than the appearance of volume XV (in 2005) under the sign of Johannes Gutenberg represented by the University of Toronto Press and Les Presses de l’Université Laval. Nothing more dramatically demonstrated change than the electronic versions of the dcb/dbc. First, as a project to celebrate the millennium, a CD-ROM of volumes I to XIV was created and distributed without charge to every high school, CEGEP, college, university, and public library in Canada, and to select university libraries around the world in 2000. In 2001 the federal Department of Canadian Heritage, in conjunction with Library and Archives Canada, approached the two universities about establishing a website, and two years later the texts of the 14 published volumes, together with some additional biographies, including those of 12 significant individuals whose death dates are post-1930, were made available online through LAC, without the fees commonly required to use the online versions of major reference works. Biographies from volume XV were gradually added to the website before and after the release of the printed volume. The staff of the dcb/dbc has been especially pleased to make the results of the work done by hundreds of Canadian scholars, professional and non-professional, accessible to thousands of readers all over the world.

A winner of many prizes, most recently (2012) the Governor General’s Award for Popular History (the Pierre Berton Award), the Dictionary of Canadian Biography has been recognized at home and abroad as a “masterpiece.” Over the years public and private support has been demonstrated by individuals and institutions, most notably in 2011 when, through a contribution agreement, the Department of Canadian Heritage undertook to provide funding for three years.

In the introduction to volume XV, General Editor Ramsay Cook and Directeur général adjoint Réal Bélanger stated: “We believe we have again fulfilled the mandate set for us by our original benefactor and patron saint, Mr James Nicholson, who declared that ‘the object [of a biographical dictionary of Canada] shall be not only to supply an acknowledged want in Canadian literature, but . . . it should compete with or even surpass works of a similar character produced elsewhere.’ Again, we have competed and surpassed.” This is a motto, and a standard, that will remain constant whatever else may change.

There are now almost 8,500 biographies on this website, comprising the complete contents of volumes I to XV, which describe the lives of those whose deaths or whose last-known activities occurred in the years 1000 to 1930. Also included are entries on voyagers whose verifiable dates precede 1000 – Saint Brendan (Bréanainn), Eirikr Thorvaldsson (Eric the Red), and Herjólfsson Bjarni – and more than 70 biographies of individuals who died after 1930. (We even have the story of Peter Kerrivan, a person who never existed!) For information about the date spans of each volume, see below.

In September 2011 the dcb/dbc took over the website from Library and Archives Canada. This development has represented major challenges, but also wonderful opportunities: for example, we have been releasing a new biography each week, mostly from the volume in progress, XVI, which covers the lives of those who died or whose last-known activity was during the 1931–1940 period (click on “New Biographies” in the sidebar to find out more). We invite readers of the dcb/dbc, those who are familiar with our work and those who are learning about it for the first time, to join us in celebrating Canadian history and those who created it.

Period of dates of death or last-known activity by volume

Volume I: 1000–1700

Volume II: 1701–40

Volume III: 1741–70

Volume IV: 1771–1800

Volume V: 1801–20

Volume VI: 1821–35

Volume VII: 1836–50

Volume VIII: 1851–60

Volume IX: 1861–70

Volume X: 1871–80

Volume XI: 1881–90

Volume XII: 1891–1900

Volume XIII: 1901–10

Volume XIV: 1911–20

Volume XV: 1921–30

Volume XVI: 1931–40 (in preparation; some biographies are online)

Volume XVII: 1941–50 (some biographies are online)

Volume XVIII: 1951–60 (some biographies are online)

Volume XIX: 1961–70 (a biography is online)

Volume XX: 1971–80 (some biographies are online)

Volume XXI: 1981–90 (some biographies are online)

Volume XXII: 1991–2000 (some biographies are online)

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+
À notre sujet

HISTOIRE

« Le dictionnaire [biographique du Canada] n’a pas seulement pour but de combler une lacune dûment constatée de l’érudition canadienne ; […] il doit égaler et même dépasser des ouvrages analogues publiés ailleurs. »

James Nicholson

Fondation : le legs de James Nicholson

Le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada/Dictionary of Canadian biography (DBC/DCB) a été rendu possible grâce à la générosité d’un négociant de Toronto, feu M. James Nicholson. Capable de voir grand et dévoué au bien public, il laissa, à sa mort en 1952, la majeure partie de ses biens à la University of Toronto pour permettre la publication d’un dictionnaire biographique du Canada qui serait véritablement une œuvre nationale.

Le legs de M. Nicholson compte probablement parmi les plus remarquables à avoir été faits jusqu’à présent au Canada pour la réalisation d’une œuvre littéraire ou historique. La générosité du donateur provient de l’intérêt qu’il manifestait pour l’histoire du Canada et l’histoire de l’Angleterre, intérêt qu’il a toujours témoigné durant une longue vie consacrée à des activités si variées. Né à Liverpool, il était l’aîné des trois fils de M. John Nicholson, de Forton, North Lancashire, en Angleterre. En 1891, alors qu’il était au seuil d’une carrière d’architecte qui s’annonçait pleine de promesses, M. Nicholson vint au Canada. On était alors en pleine crise économique, et il était peu tentant d’essayer d’entreprendre une telle carrière. Il se fit embaucher dans une ferme près de Lindsay, en Ontario. Le travail de la terre ne lui plaisant guère, il se rendit à London au bout d’un an, où il trouva un emploi dans les bureaux de Bart Cottam and Company, importateur et fabricant d’articles d’épicerie. En tête des nombreux produits dont cette maison faisait la publicité figuraient des « graines pour oiseaux ». Ce fut sans doute en travaillant pour la maison Bart Cottam que M. Nicholson décida de se consacrer à la vente de ce produit grâce auquel, au cours du demi-siècle suivant, il allait trouver la récompense de son sens des affaires, ainsi que les moyens de fonder et de doter le dictionnaire biographique du Canada. En 1895, il s’établit à Toronto pour fonder, avec J. W. Brock, la firme Nicholson and Brock, à laquelle il se consacra jusqu’à sa retraite.

Par ses affaires, M. Nicholson resta durant de nombreuses années en relation avec les diverses provinces du pays, et ce fut très probablement en partie à cause de cela que lui vint l’idée d’un dictionnaire biographique du Canada. M. Nicholson apprit le français à une époque où c’était certainement rare pour un homme d’affaires de Toronto. Il semble que l’ardent plaisir avec lequel il consultait le Dictionary of National Biography (qui deviendrait l’Oxford Dictionary of National Biography) ait donné naissance à son initiative.

Nouvelles perspectives

Il est particulièrement intéressant et important de constater que, dès le premier volume, le dictionnaire a été publié en deux éditions, l’une française et l’autre anglaise : le Dictionnaire biographique du Canada par les Presses de l’université Laval et le Dictionary of Canadian Biography par la University of Toronto Press. Ces dispositions étaient tout à fait nouvelles, puisqu’aucun projet semblable de recherche et de publication n’avait été précédemment entrepris au Canada. Dans les premières communications en vue de préparer le dictionnaire, en 1959, on indiquait qu’on accepterait des articles en français ou en anglais, ce qui permettrait de publier une édition française. Un comité consultatif franco-canadien a suggéré de consulter l’université Laval, dont les autorités ont accepté avec enthousiasme d’entreprendre ce travail. L’édition française fut officiellement annoncée à Québec dans la soirée du 10 mars 1961. Depuis, deux équipes préparent le dictionnaire, l’une en français, l’autre en anglais. Le premier volume a été publié dans les deux langues en 1966, sous la direction de George W. Brown, general editor, et de Marcel Trudel, directeur adjoint. En 2001, les deux universités ont signé un accord pour officialiser cette collaboration.

Le passé… et l’avenir

Le DBC/DCB existe donc depuis plus de 50 ans. Voilà une réalisation qui mérite d’être saluée. Le changement et la continuité ont constitué un thème dominant dans la vie du projet pendant les premières années du xxie siècle. Rien n’a évoqué la continuité de façon aussi juste que la parution du volume XV (en 2005) en une version imprimée par les Presses de l’université Laval et la University of Toronto Press, selon la pratique héritée de Gutenberg. Rien non plus n’a illustré plus éloquemment le changement que les versions électroniques du DBC/DCB. D’abord, à titre de projet pour souligner le passage au nouveau millénaire, un CD-ROM des volumes I à XIV a été produit et donné à chaque école secondaire, cégep, collège, université et bibliothèque publique du Canada, ainsi qu’à certaines bibliothèques universitaires dans le monde en 2000. L’année suivante, le ministère fédéral du Patrimoine canadien, en collaboration avec Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, proposa aux deux universités de créer une version en ligne du DBC/DCB. En 2003, les textes des 14 volumes publiés, de même que certaines biographies additionnelles, dont celles de 12 personnages importants morts après 1930, ont été mis en ligne par l’intermédiaire de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada ; les usagers n’ont jamais eu à payer les frais normalement exigés pour la consultation en ligne d’ouvrages de référence de cette envergure. Les biographies du volume XV ont été graduellement ajoutées, avant et après la publication de l’ouvrage imprimé. Le personnel du DBC/DCB est particulièrement heureux d’avoir pu rendre accessibles à des milliers de lecteurs dans le monde les résultats du travail de centaines d’érudits canadiens, professionnels et non professionnels.

Au Canada et à l’étranger, le DBC/DCB est considéré comme un « chef d’œuvre ». Il a reçu de nombreux prix, dont le Prix d’histoire du gouverneur général pour les médias populaires (prix Pierre-Berton) en 2012. Au fil des ans, le DBC/DCB a bénéficié du soutien financier de particuliers et d’organismes, à titre privé et public. En 2011, notamment, le ministère du Patrimoine canadien s’est engagé, en vertu d’un accord de contribution, à lui fournir une aide financière pendant trois ans.

Dans l’introduction du volume XV, Réal Bélanger et Ramsay Cook, respectivement directeur général adjoint et general editor, ont écrit : « Nous avons le sentiment d’avoir encore une fois rempli le mandat que nous a confié l’instigateur de notre projet, et notre premier bienfaiteur, M. James Nicholson, qui déclarait : “ Le dictionnaire [biographique du Canada] n’a pas seulement pour but de combler une lacune dûment constatée de l’érudition canadienne ; […] il doit égaler et même dépasser des ouvrages analogues publiés ailleurs.” Encore une fois, nous avons atteint cet objectif. » Ceci est une devise, et une norme, qui subsistera parmi tous les changements.

Dans le DBC/DCB en ligne figurent aujourd’hui près de 8 500 biographies : le contenu de la version imprimée des volumes I à XV, qui décrivent la vie de personnages morts entre l’an 1000 et l’an 1930 ou dont la dernière date d’activité connue se situe dans cette période, ainsi que des biographies de voyageurs dont les activités auraient eu lieu avant l’an 1000 (saint Brendan (Bréanainn), EirikrThorvaldsson (Érik le Rouge) et HerjólfssonBjarni), et plus de 70 personnages décédés après 1930. (Il s’y trouve même l’histoire d’un personnage légendaire, Peter Kerrivan !) Veuillez consulter la liste ci-dessous pour connaître la période de décès ou de dernière activité connue couverte par chaque volume.

En septembre 2011, le DBC/DCB a pris l’entière responsabilité de la version en ligne, qui n’est plus hébergée par Bibliothèque et Archives Canada. Cette nouvelle orientation constitue un grand défi, mais offre également de merveilleuses possibilités, telles que le lancement hebdomadaire d’une biographie, la plupart du temps tirée du volume en cours de production, soit le volume XVI. Pour en consulter la liste, cliquez, dans le volet latéral, sur « Nouvelles biographies ». Les lecteurs du DBC/DCB, les habitués comme les nouveaux, sont invités à découvrir cette nouvelle version en ligne qui, à sa manière, rend hommage à l’histoire du Canada et à ceux qui la créent.

Volume I : 1000–1700

Volume II : 1701–1740

Volume III : 1741–1770

Volume IV : 1771–1800

Volume V : 1801–1820

Volume VI : 1821–1835

Volume VII : 1836–1850

Volume VIII : 1851–1860

Volume IX : 1861–1870

Volume X : 1871–1880

Volume XI : 1881–1890

Volume XII : 1891–1900

Volume XIII : 1901–1910

Volume XIV : 1911–1920

Volume XV : 1921–1931

Volume XVI : 1931–1940 (en cours de production ; un certain nombre de biographies sont en ligne)

Volume XVII : 1941–1950 (quelques biographies sont en ligne)

Volume XVIII : 1951–1960 (quelques biographies sont en ligne)

Volume XIX : 1961–1970 (une biographie est en ligne)

Volume XX : 1971–1980 (quelques biographies sont en ligne)

Volume XXI : 1981–1990 (quelques biographies sont en ligne)

Volume XXII : 1991–2000 (quelques biographies sont en ligne)