DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

The American Dimension
Original title:  ARCHIVED - The American Civil War - The Anti-Slavery Movement in Canada - Library and Archives Canada

Source: Link

 

Richard John UNIACKE’s concerns [see Early Advocates of Union in British North America] persisted into the mid 19th century. Early advocates feared political developments in the United States and their implications for British North America. Thomas Heath HAVILAND shared such concerns:

Haviland entered the 1860s profoundly fearful of what the rupture in the American republic might imply for British North America. Speaking in the house in favour of a bill to grant £400 to the volunteer militia in 1862, his scepticism about the republic surfaced. ‘Let us thankfully contrast our privileges with those of the people in the United States, where the press is shackled, editors imprisoned and Habeas Corpus unconstitutionally suspended,’ he argued, pointing to the need for strong colonial militias to fend off a potentially hostile United States.”

 

The Threat

With the outbreak of the American Civil War (1861–65), the growing military power of the United States, and increasing tensions between that country and Great Britain, the defence of Canada became an issue of paramount importance for Britain and its North American colonies.

In the early 1860s Sir William Fenwick WILLIAMS took on a heavy responsibility:

“He then accepted appointment as commander-in-chief of the British forces in British North America, and was thus in a position to organize the defences of the Province of Canada when the American Civil War broke out in April 1861. Williams believed Southern independence was permanent, and that in consequence the North would seek in British North America, especially Canada West, ‘a balance for lost theatres of ambition.’ As he wrote to the Duke of Cambridge, ‘our danger begins when their war ends. . . .’ Three additional British regiments were sent to Canada at Williams’ request and, in December 1861, at the time of the Trent crisis, a further 15,000 troops followed. Williams ordered heavy batteries set up at Toronto and Kingston. In fact, Governor General Lord Monck* had trouble holding Williams in and convincing the old warhorse that Britain was not yet actually at war with the United States.”

 

The Lesson

Some delegates to the Charlottetown and Quebec City conferences believed that the inherent structural weaknesses of the American republic had made its civil war inevitable. Such concerns explain John A. MACDONALD’s early opposition:

“[Macdonald] had always been cool to the idea [of confederation] because, he stated in a public address in 1861, he feared a federation would have the defects in the Constitution of the United States’ – a weak central government.”

 

To learn more about how views of the United States affected perspectives among politicians in British North America towards confederation, please consult the following lists of biographies:

 

◀◀  1 2 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

KERR, WILLIAM JOHNSON – Volume VII (1836-1850)

décédé le 23 avril 1845 à Wellington Square (Burlington, Ontario)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

La dimension américaine
Titre original :  ARCHIVED - The American Civil War - The Anti-Slavery Movement in Canada - Library and Archives Canada

Provenance : Lien


Les inquiétudes de Richard John Uniacke [V. les Premiers Promoteurs de l’union dans l’Amérique du Nord britannique] persistèrent jusqu’au milieu du xixe siècle. Les premiers promoteurs de la confédération craignaient des changements politiques aux États-Unis et leurs conséquences pour l’Amérique du Nord britannique. Thomas Heath Haviland partageait ces inquiétudes :

Haviland ne vit pourtant pas s’amorcer les années 1860 sans craindre énormément les conséquences que pourrait avoir, pour l’Amérique du Nord britannique, le conflit qui déchirait les États-Unis. Le scepticisme que lui inspirait la République américaine apparaît dans ces mots prononcés à l’Assemblée en 1862 : « Soyons reconnaissants du contraste qui existe entre nos privilèges et ceux dont bénéficie le peuple des États-Unis, où la presse est entravée, les rédacteurs en chef jetés en prison et l’habeas corpus suspendu au mépris de la Constitution. » Cette déclaration faisait partie d’un discours dans lequel il appuyait un projet de loi visant à octroyer £400 à la milice volontaire et soulignait la nécessité, pour les colonies, d’avoir des milices puissantes pour se défendre contre l’éventuelle hostilité des États-Unis.


La menace

Avec le déclenchement de la guerre de Sécession (1861–1865), la puissance militaire croissante des États-Unis et les tensions grandissantes entre ce pays et la Grande-Bretagne, la défense du Canada devenait un enjeu vital pour la Grande-Bretagne et ses colonies nord-américaines.

Au début des années 1860, sir William Fenwick Williams accepta une lourde responsabilité :

Williams accepta alors le poste de commandant en chef des forces britanniques en Amérique du Nord britannique et eut, à ce titre, à organiser la défense de la province du Canada lorsque la guerre de Sécession éclata, en avril 1861. Williams pensait que le Sud avait acquis définitivement son indépendance et qu’en conséquence le Nord allait chercher en Amérique du Nord britannique, et particulièrement au Haut-Canada, « une compensation pour les théâtres de ses ambitions [qu’il avait] perdus ». Il écrivit au duc de Cambridge : « c’est dès que leur guerre prendra fin que nous serons en danger ». Trois régiments supplémentaires furent envoyés au Canada à la demande de Williams et, en décembre 1861, au moment de la crise du Trent, 15 000 soldats vinrent s’y ajouter. Williams ordonna d’établir des batteries lourdes à Toronto et à Kingston. De fait, le gouverneur général lord Monck* avait du mal à retenir Williams et à convaincre le vieux soldat que la Grande-Bretagne n’était pas encore vraiment en guerre avec les États-Unis.


La leçon

Certains délégués aux conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec croyaient que la faiblesse structurelle inhérente à la république américaine avait inévitablement provoqué la guerre de Sécession. De telles préoccupations expliquent l'opposition initiale de John Alexander Macdonald à une confédération :

[C]omme il l’avait déclaré dans un discours en 1861, [Macdonald] craignait qu’une union fédérale n’ait « les défauts de la Constitution des États-Unis » : un gouvernement central faible.


Pour savoir comment l'opinion que l'on avait sur les États-Unis influença celle que l'on avait sur la confédération, nous vous invitons à lire les listes de biographies qui suivent.

◀◀  1 2 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶