DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

MORRIS, CHARLES (1759-1831) – Volume VI (1821-1835)

b. 18 Nov. 1759 in Hopkinton, Mass.

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Early Advocates of Union in British North America
 

1806–26

The idea of a general union of the British North American colonies originated with Nova Scotia’s attorney general, Richard John UNIACKE, in 1806:

In the 1820s he expressed fears that the revolutionary ‘heresies’ of atheism and democracy spreading to the ‘hoards of semi-barbarians’ in the south and west of the United States would engulf New England and then British North America.

To avert such a catastrophe, Uniacke advocated unions of the Maritime colonies and of the Canadas, beginning in 1806 when he presented a memoir on British North America at the Colonial Office. By 1821, however, he had concluded that only a general union would save the colonies from republicanism, atheism, and democracy, and in 1822 the introduction in the British parliament of a bill to bring about the union of the Canadas spurred him to propose a general union to Frederick John Robinson, president of the Privy Council committee for trade.

Others in British North America such as Jonathan Sewell*, John Beverley Robinson*, and John Strachan* were also interested in a general union, although not always for the same reasons, and several such proposals arrived in London about this time. In 1826 Uniacke brought his ‘Observations on the British colonies in North America with a proposal for the confederation of the whole under one government’ to the Colonial Office. The ‘Observations’ read in parts like the British North America Act of 40 years later, and were at once the most persuasive of the various schemes and the last attempt to bring about new intercolonial arrangements until the 1839 report of Lord Durham [Lambton*]. By 1826 proposals for any sort of union were not regarded with much favour in Britain, and the ‘Observations’ were never printed, although Uniacke’s son James Boyle gave a copy to Durham.”  

 

1827–41

John George LAMBTON, 1st Earl of Durham, the high commissioner and governor-in-chief of British North America in 1838, addressed the question of union in his 1839 Report on the affairs of British North America:

After the failure of the Union Bill of 1822, the merchants had asked that Montreal be annexed to Upper Canada, without, however, giving up their basic demand. In his report Durham had sought to recommend solutions to the whole problem of the Canadas, which had been perturbing colonial societies for so long and was reverberating in London. Yet neither the idea of responsible government nor that of a legislative union as he had defined it was accepted by the imperial government. Provided as it was with clauses concerning equal representation, the Union Act of 1840 did not respect the priority of principles set forth by Durham. It is none the less true that the debate in which he had engaged, examining the main points more thoroughly than anyone else before or after him, would not come to an end either in 1841 with the union of Upper and Lower Canada or even in 1848 with the attainment of responsible government.”

 

1842–58

During the 1850s some Liberal-Conservatives introduced parliamentary resolutions for British North American confederation, and the Reformer George BROWN proposed a federated province of Canada West (Upper Canada; present-day Ontario) and Canada East (Lower Canada; present-day Quebec). But their plans went nowhere. By the early 1860s the prospects for a confederation were far from promising. Alexander Tilloch GALT pressed on:

Galt had made his acceptance of office in the new ministry conditional upon its adoption of a plan for federation of the British North American colonies. Like others observing the political scene, he was conscious that it was becoming increasingly difficult to maintain the principles of equal representation of Lower and Upper Canada within the union. But he was one of the few who believed that the solution lay in replacing the union based on equality with a federative system in which New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Newfoundland, Prince Edward Island, and other colonies would participate.… He persuaded his colleagues to make this plan for a federal union an explicit aim of the new government. With the encouragement of Governor Head*, three ministers – Galt, Cartier*, and John Ross* – went to Britain in October 1858 to study the proposal with officials in the Colonial Office. However, the imperial authorities had no great enthusiasm for the plan, and the other colonies made little response. Back in Canada early in 1859, Galt himself admitted before the house the impossibility of moving the plan forward for the time being.”

 

For more information on early advocates for a union of the British North American colonies, please consult the following lists of biographies:

◀◀  1 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

HAY, WILLIAM – Volume XI (1881-1890)

décédé le 30 mai 1888 à Joppa, près d’Édimbourg

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Les premiers promoteurs de l’union dans l’Amérique du Nord britannique


1806–1826

L’idée d’une union générale des colonies de l’Amérique du Nord britannique fut émise pour la première fois par le procureur général de la Nouvelle-Écosse, Richard John Uniacke, en 1806 :

Dans les années 1820, [Uniacke] exprimait la crainte que les « hérésies » révolutionnaires (athéisme et démocratie), après s’être répandues parmi les « hordes de semi-barbares » du sud et de l’ouest des États-Unis, ne déferlent sur la Nouvelle-Angleterre, puis sur l’Amérique du Nord britannique. 

Pour éviter pareille catastrophe, Uniacke prônait l’union des Maritimes et celle du Haut et du Bas-Canada ; c’est dans cet esprit qu’en 1806 il présenta au ministère des Colonies un mémoire sur l’Amérique du Nord britannique. Cependant, dès 1821, il concluait que seule l’union de toutes les colonies nord-américaines mettrait en échec le républicanisme, l’athéisme et la démocratie. En 1822, le dépôt au Parlement britannique d’un projet de loi sur l’union des Canadas le poussa donc à proposer une union générale à Frederick John Robinson, président du comité de commerce du Conseil privé. 

En Amérique du Nord britannique, d’autres personnes étaient intéressées à une union générale, notamment Jonathan Sewell*, John Beverley Robinson* et John Strachan*, même si ce n’était pas toujours pour les mêmes raisons. À peu près à la même époque, Londres reçut donc plusieurs propositions en ce sens. En 1826, Uniacke présenta au ministère des Colonies un rapport intitulé « Observations on the British colonies in North America with a proposal for the confederation of the whole under one government ». Ce texte, semblable par certains côtés à l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique qui allait être adopté 40 ans plus tard, représentait à la fois le plus convaincant des plans proposés et la dernière tentative, avant le rapport Durham en 1839, pour renouveler les relations entre les colonies. Mais, en 1826, aucune proposition sur une forme quelconque d’union n’était accueillie avec grand enthousiasme en Grande-Bretagne, et le mémoire de Uniacke ne fut jamais publié. Toutefois, son fils James Boyle en remit un exemplaire à lord Durham [Lambton*].


1827–1841

John George Lambton, 1er comte de Durham, commissaire enquêteur et gouverneur en chef de l’Amérique du Nord britannique en 1838, aborda la question de l’union dans son Report on the affairs of British North America de 1839, comme le mentionne cet extrait de sa biographie :

Après l’échec du projet d’union de 1822, sans cependant abandonner leur revendication de base, [les marchands anglophones de Montréal et de Québec] avaient demandé l’annexion de Montréal au Haut-Canada. C’est de l’ensemble de ces problèmes qui agitaient depuis si longtemps les sociétés coloniales et qui avaient leur résonance dans la métropole que Durham avait voulu traiter dans son rapport afin d’y proposer des solutions. Pourtant, Londres n’accepta ni l’idée d’un gouvernement responsable ni celle d’une union législative telle qu’il l’avait définie. Modifié comme il le fut par les clauses sur l’égalité de la représentation, l’Acte d’Union de 1840 ne respectait pas la priorité des principes qu’avait énoncés Durham. Cela dit, il n’en reste pas moins que le débat dans lequel il s’était engagé et dont il avait tenté, plus que tout autre avant et après lui, de faire le tour, ne devait être clos ni en 1841, avec l’union du Bas et du Haut-Canada, ni même avec l’obtention de la responsabilité ministérielle en 1848.


1842–1858

Pendant les années 1850, quelques libéraux-conservateurs présentèrent des résolutions parlementaires pour une confédération de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, et le réformiste George Brown proposa une province fédérée du Canada-Ouest (Haut-Canada, Ontario actuel) et du Canada-Est (Bas-Canada, Québec actuel). Mais leurs projets restèrent sans suite. Au début des années 1860, les perspectives d’une confédération étaient loin d’être prometteuses. Alexander Tilloch Galt fit pression :

Galt avait en effet lié son acceptation d’un poste dans le nouveau gouvernement à l’adoption par celui-ci d’un projet de fédération des colonies de l’Amérique du Nord britannique. Comme d’autres observateurs de la scène politique, il était conscient des difficultés croissantes à maintenir les principes d’égalité de représentation entre le Bas et le Haut-Canada au sein de l’Union, mais il était un des rares à croire que la solution résidait dans le remplacement de l’union égalitaire par un système fédératif auquel participeraient le Nouveau-Brunswick, la Nouvelle-Écosse, Terre-Neuve, l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard et d’autres territoires […] Il réussit à convaincre ses collègues de faire de ce projet de fédération un objectif avoué du nouveau ministère. En octobre 1858, encouragés par le gouverneur Head, les ministres Galt, Cartier et John Ross* s’embarquèrent pour la Grande-Bretagne afin de discuter de la proposition avec les responsables du ministère des Colonies. Toutefois, les autorités impériales virent ce projet sans grand enthousiasme et les autres colonies ne réagirent guère. Au début de 1859, de retour au Canada, Galt admettait lui-même en chambre l’impossibilité de faire avancer le projet pour l’instant.


Pour en apprendre davantage sur les premiers promoteurs d’une union des colonies de l’Amérique du Nord britannique, nous vous invitons à consulter les listes de biographies qui suivent.

◀◀  1 3 4 5 6 7 8  ▶▶