DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

DCB/DBC News

New Biographies

Updated Biographies

Biography of the Day

HUSTON, JAMES – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

d. 21 Sept. 1854 at Quebec

Confederation

Responsible Government

Sir John A. Macdonald

From the Red River Settlement to Manitoba (1812–70)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports

The Fenians

Women in the DCB/DBC

The Charlottetown and Quebec Conferences of 1864

Introductory Essays of the DCB/DBC

The Acadians

For Educators

The War of 1812 

Canada’s Wartime Prime Ministers

The First World War

Central Government and Westward Expansion
 

The Fathers of Confederation envisaged a country that would extend from the Atlantic to the Pacific. Their objective was rapidly realized with the acquisition of the Rupert’s Land and the North-West Territories from the Hudson’s Bay Company in 1869, the creation of Manitoba in 1870, and the inclusion of British Columbia in 1871 [see Territorial Expansion: The March Westward and The Acquisition of Rupert’s Land]. The increase of federal power, however, generated resistance from several quarters [see The Red River Rebellion and the Creation of Manitoba (1869–70) and The North-West Rebellion of 1885]. Among the western proponents of provincial rights was the Manitoba politician Thomas GREENWAY, who had objections that were shared by his constituents:

“[He opposed] federal disallowance of Manitoba railway legislation [see Norquay] and [supported] provincial control of natural resources, especially land, withheld by Ottawa when Manitoba entered confederation in 1870. In the provincial election of January 1883 Greenway and 15 others ran as Provincial Rights candidates, campaigning primarily on the issue of disallowance. After challenges to election results were settled, 21 Conservatives confronted a combined opposition of 9, made up of Provincial Rights candidates, Liberals, and independents, who quickly coalesced under the Liberal banner with Greenway as their leader.”


For more information on the entries of Manitoba and British Columbia into confederation and on the campaigns for provincial rights in western Canada, consult the biographies that can be found in the following lists.

The Red River Rebellion
The Manitoba School Question
◀◀  12 13 14 15 16 17 18  ▶▶

DCB/DBC Mobile beta
+

Nouvelles du DBC/DCB

Nouvelles biographies

Biographies mises à jour

Biographie du jour

McKENZIE, NANCY – Volume VIII (1851-1860)

décédée le 24 juillet 1851 au fort Victoria (Victoria)

La Confédération

Le gouvernement responsable

Sir John Alexander Macdonald

De la colonie de la Rivière-Rouge au Manitoba (1812–1870)

Sir Wilfrid Laurier

Sir George-Étienne Cartier

Sports et sportifs

Les fenians

Les femmes dans le DBC/DCB

Les conférences de Charlottetown et de Québec en 1864

Les textes introductifs du DBC/DCB

Les Acadiens

Module éducatif

La guerre de 1812

Les premiers ministres du Canada en temps de guerre

La Première Guerre mondiale

Le gouvernement central et l’expansion vers l’ouest


Les Pères de la Confédération imaginaient un pays qui s’étendrait de l’Atlantique au Pacifique. Leur objectif ne tarda pas à se réaliser avec l’achat de Rupert’s Land et des Territoires du Nord-Ouest à la Hudson’s Bay Company en 1869, la création du Manitoba en 1870 et l’adhésion de la Colombie-Britannique en 1871 [V. L’acquisition de Rupert’s Land ; L’expansion territoriale : la marche vers l’ouest]. Cependant, l’augmentation du pouvoir fédéral suscita la résistance dans plusieurs milieux [V. Rébellion de la Rivière-Rouge et création du Manitoba (1869–1870) ; La rébellion du Nord-Ouest de 1885]. L’homme politique manitobain Thomas Greenway était l’un des défenseurs des droits provinciaux dans l’Ouest. Il souleva des objections partagées par ses électeurs :

Outre qu’il était toujours antiprotectionniste, il s’élevait contre le refus du gouvernement fédéral de reconnaître les lois manitobaines relatives à la création de nouveaux chemins de fer [V. Norquay] et revendiquait pour la province la compétence en matière de richesses naturelles – surtout en matière foncière –, compétence qu’Ottawa lui avait refusée quand le Manitoba était entré dans la Confédération en 1870. Au scrutin provincial de janvier 1883, Greenway et 15 autres candidats se présentèrent sous la bannière des « droits provinciaux » et firent campagne principalement contre le droit d’annulation dont jouissait le gouvernement fédéral à l’égard des lois provinciales. Après règlement des contestations d’élections, les 21 députés conservateurs se trouvèrent devant une opposition formée de 9 députés (défenseurs des droits provinciaux, libéraux et indépendants) qui ne tardèrent pas à s’unir sous la bannière libérale et à prendre Greenway pour chef.

 

Pour en apprendre davantage sur l’entrée du Manitoba et de la Colombie-Britannique dans la Confédération, et sur les campagnes en faveur des droits provinciaux dans l’Ouest canadien, nous vous invitons à explorer les listes de biographies suivantes.

La rébellion de la Rivière-Rouge
La question des écoles du Manitoba
◀◀  12 13 14 15 16 17 18  ▶▶